Skip to main content

Full text of "History of the Lutheran Church in North Carolina, 1803-1953"

See other formats


W'0'% 


Mfl 


COMPLIMENTARY 

United  Evangelical  Lutheran  Synod 
Carolina 

President 


:f......^USiecvetaTy 


1803  Sesqiiicentennial  1953 


/ 


Vp. 


HISTORY 


>■>. 


of  the 


LUTHERAN  CHURCH 


In 


NORTH  CAROLINA 


Edited  bij:  Jacob  L.  Morgan,  D.D.,  LL.D., 
Bachman  S.  Brown,  Jr.,  D.D.,  and  John  Hall,  D.D. 

Published  by  the  authority  of  tJie 

UNITED    EVANGELICAL    LUTHERAN    SYNOD    OF 
NORTH  CAROLINA 


1803  - 1953 


PREFACE 


This  volume  is  the  outgrowth  of  a  series  of  actions  taken  by  the 
United  Evangelical  Lutheran  Synod  of  North  Carolina  dating  back  to  the 
year  1925.  At  its  convention  that  year,  the  Synod  adopted  the  following: 
"That  a  committee  of  five  be  appointed  whose  duty  shall  be  to  seek  and 
secure  such  source  material  as  will  be  valuable  in  the  making  of  a  true  and 
accurate  history  of  the  North  Carolina  Synod,  of  the  Tennessee  Synod,  and 
of  the  United  Evangelical  Lutheran  Synod  of  North  Carolina.  That  the 
personnel  of  said  committee  be  not  changed,  except  from  necessity,  for  a 
period  of  ten  years."  The  Reverends  C.  A.  Linn,  D.  I.  Offman,  P.  J.  Bame, 
George  H.  Cox,  D.D.,  and  Prof.  W.  T.  Whitsett,  Ph.D.,  were  appointed  as 
the  committee. 

In  1932,  this  committee  recommended  that  a  committee  of  six,  two 
from  each  conference,  be  appointed  to  write  a  history  of  the  United 
Evangelical  Lutheran  Synod  of  North  Carolina,  the  said  history  to  be  com- 
pleted within  the  next  five  years;  and  that  Dr.  W.  T.  Whitsett  be  Editor-in- 
Chief  of  said  history.  This  was  adopted,  and  the  following  were  appointed 
as  the  committee:  Editor-in-Chief,  Dr.  W.  T.  Whitsett;  from  the  Eastern 
Conference,  The  Reverends  D.  I.  Offman  and  B.  S.  Brown,  Jr.;  from  the 
Southern  Conference,  The  Reverends  P.  E.  Monroe,  D.D.  and  L.  L.  Lohr, 
D.D.;  from  the  Western  Conference,  The  Reverends  A.  R.  Beck,  D.D.  and 
M.  L.  Stirewalt,  D.D.  Upon  the  death  of  Dr.  Whitsett  in  1934,  Dr.  M.  L. 
Stirewalt  was  appointed  Editor-in-Chief.  The  committee  was  confronted 
with  difficulties  that  made  progress  slow;  and  in  its  report  to  Synod  in  1947, 
it  suggested  the  desirability  of  a  joint  meeting  with  the  Committee  on 
Historical  Work  to  consider  methods  and  plans  of  procedure  for  further 
prosecution  of  the  work.  In  his  1948  report,  the  President  of  Synod 
recommended  that  the  Executive  Committee  of  Synod  be  authorized  and 
instructed  to  delegate  to  a  present  committee  of  Synod,  or  a  special  committee 
which  shall  be  appointed,  full  responsibility  for  planning  and  directing  an 
appropriate  celebration  of  the  Sesquicentennial  of  Synod  in  1953,  including 
the  publication  of  the  history  of  Synod  to  be  ready  for  distribution  the  year 
of  the  celebration.  This  recommendation  was  adopted  with  the  specific 
understanding  that  the  action  conferred  upon  the  Executive  Committee 
authority  to  change,  merge  or  discontinue  the  existing  committee  on  writing 
the  history  of  Synod.  At  a  joint  meeting  of  the  Committee  on  Historical 
Work  and  the  Committee  to  write  the  History  of  Synod  held  August  25, 
1948,  it  was  decided  that  the  best  way  to  handle  the  matter  of  writing  a 
history  of  Synod  would  be  to  place  the  work  in  the  hands  of  an  Editorial 
Committee,  and  the  following  were  selected  to  serve  as  this  committee:     Dr. 


Div.S, 

w '/'  ^  4 

Jacob  L.  Morgan,  Chairman;  Dr.  M.  L.  Stirewalt  and  Dr.  C.  L.  Miller. 
This  action  was  approved  by  the  Synod  at  its  1949  convention,  and  it  was 
further  voted  by  the  Synod,  to  discontinue  the  old  Committee  to  Write  the 
History  of  Synod.  Responsibility  for  directing  the  work  was  placed  in  the 
hands  of  the  Committee  on  Historical  Work,  and  the  writing  of  the  history 
was  delegated  to  the  Editorial  Committee. 

In  December,  1950,  Dr.  Stirewalt  indicated  that  he  would  not,  for 
various  reasons,  be  able  to  proceed  with  the  work;  and  in  January,  1951,  the 
condition  of  Dr.  Miller's  health  became  such  that  it  was  necessary  to  relieve 
him  of  his  duties.  Both  of  these  men  had  done  advance  work  which  proved 
helpful  to  their  successors.  In  January,  1951,  the  Reverend  B.  S.  Brown,  Jr., 
D.D.,  was  appointed  to  take  the  place  of  Dr.  Stirewalt  and  the  Reverend 
John  Hall,  D.D.,  that  of  Dr.  Miller.  The  passage  of  time  had  also  necessi- 
tated changes  in  the  personnel  of  the  Committee  on  Historical  Work. 
Members  of  this  committee,  as  of  1952,  are  the  Reverends  Jacob  L.  Morgan, 
D.D.,  LL.D.,  B.  S.  Brown,  Jr.,  D.D.,  John  Hall,  D.D.,  George  F.  Schott, 
Jr.,  C.  N.  Yount,  and  Professors  H.  R.  Greenholt,  Ph.D.,  and  R.  Brown  Mc- 
Allister. Members  of  this  committee  have  given  valuable  assistance  to  the 
Editorial  Committee  in  many  ways. 

The  outline  of  the  book  is  indicated  in  the  table  of  contents.  The 
Narrative  Section  was  written  by  the  Reverend  B.  S.  Brown,  Jr.,  D.D.  and  the 
section  on  Educational  Development  by  the  Reverend  John  Hall,  D.D.  The 
Sketches  of  Congregations  were  written  by  Dr.  Jacob  L.  Morgan,  and  the 
material  in  the  Tabulated  Section  was  also  assembled  and  arranged  by 
him.  Acknowledgement  should  be  made  to  Pastor  C.  N.  Yount,  a  member  of 
the  Committee  on  Historical  Work,  and  also  other  pastors  and  laymen,  for 
their  valuable  assistance. 

Sketches  of  congregations  located  in  territory  now  embraced  by  the 
South  Carolina  and  Virginia  Synods  are  not  included,  since  these  may  be 
found  in  the  histories  of  those  Synods.  The  sketches  of  the  several  Auxiliary 
Organizations  were  prepared  by  members  of  those  organizations.  Mrs. 
Aubrey  Mauney  wrote  the  History  of  the  Women's  Missionary  Society, 
The  Reverend  Leroy  C.  Trexler  that  of  the  Luther  League,  and  Mr. 
Leon  M.  Rivers  that  of  the  Brotherhood.  Material  on  the  Children's  Work 
was  prepared  by  Mrs.  E.  K.  Bodie. 

Limited  space  does  not  permit  the  listing  of  all  titles  and  authors  of 
material  that  has  been  consulted  in  the  preparation  of  this  volume.  The 
committee  and  the  church  are  indebted  to  Dr.  M.  L.  Stirewalt,  Sr.,  for  the 
preparation  of  a  comprehensive  bibliography  of  books,  articles  in  periodicals, 
etc.,  which  are  related  to  the  period  under  review;  and  a  copy  of  this  will  be 
preserved  in  the  Archives  of  the  Synod  for  future  reference.     The  largest 


single  source  from  which  material  has  been  drawn  is  the  Minutes  of  the  two 
Synods.  Complete  files  of  which  are  preserved  in  the  Archives.  Much  infor- 
mation was  also  obtained  from  the  following  histories:  History  of  the  German 
Settlements  and  the  Lutheran  Church  in  North  and  South  Carolina,  by  Dr. 
G.  D.  Bernheim  (1872);  History  of  the  Evangelical  Lutheran  Tennessee 
Synod,  by  Dr.  Socrates  Henkel,  (1890) ;  History  of  the  Evangelical  Lutheran 
Synod  and  Ministerium  of  North  Carolina,  by  Bernheim  and  Cox  (1902); 
History  of  the  Evangelical  Lutheran  Synod  of  South  Carolina  (1924); 
History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  Virginia  and  East  Tennessee  (1930).  The 
Moravian  Records,  the  N.  C.  Colonial  Records,  the  Helmstaedt  Reports, 
and  the  Diaries  of  Paul  Henkel  and  J.  G.  Arends  are  a  few  of  the  other 
sources  which  have  furnished  valuable  background  information. 

The  committee  recognizes  the  incompleteness  of  its  work.  The  desire 
of  the  Synod  to  have  the  history  ready  for  distribution  at  its  Sesquicentennial 
celebration  did  not  give  its  present  members  time  for  research  and  investi- 
gation that  might  have  resulted  in  the  discovery  of  important  information; 
and  the  lack  of  space  made  it  necessary  to  omit  much  available  information 
that  would  have  been  of  interest  and  value.  Nor  is  it  unmindful  that  in 
a  work  of  this  character,  errors  of  fact  and  unintentional  omissions  are 
inevitable.  In  view  of  these  things,  it  would  suggest  that  such  errors  and 
omissions,  wherever  possible,  be  corrected  in  official  copies  preserved  by  the 
Synod,  and  that  provision  be  made  for  continued  research  and  investigation. 

— By  The  Committee. 


Table  of  Contents 


PART  ONE 
Preface  —  Background  and  Synodical  Developments 
I.     Germans  Come  To  North  Carolina 
II.     The  Lutheran  Church  Is  Planted 

III.  Synods  Are  Organized 

IV.  Dissension  And  Division 

V.     The  North  Carolina  Synod  —  1820  -  1920 
VI.     The  Tennessee  Synod  —  1820  -  1920 
VII.     Reunion 

PART  TWO 
Educational  Developments 

PART   THREE 
Auxiliary  Organizations 
I.     Women's  Missionary  Society 
II.     Children's  Organizations 

III.  Luther  League 

IV.  Brotherhood 

PART   FOUR 

Historical  Shetches  of  Congregations 

I.     Active  Churches 

II.     Discontinued  Or  Merged  Churches 

III.     List  of   Parishes,   Congregations,   and   Pastors 
of  both  Synods  at  the  time  of  the  Merger, 
March  2,  1921. 

PART   FIVE 
Tables 
I.     Of  Ministers 
II.     Of  Synodical  Meetings 


DEDICATION 


TO   THE   GLORY   OF   GOD,    AND 
IN  MEMORY  OF 


Adolph  Nussmann  and  Johann  Gottfried  Arends 

the  first  regularly  called  ministers  in  North  Carolina 
this  volume  is  dedicated 


The  Rev.  Jacob  L.  Morgan, 
D.D.,   LL.D.,   Chairman 


The  Rev.  Bachman  Storch  Brown,  ^j^^  ^^^    t^-^^  Hall,  D.  D. 

D.D.  ^ 


COMMITTEE    ON    HISTORICAL    WORK 

The.  Rev.  Jacob  L.  Morgan,  D.D,,  LL.D.,  Chairman 

The  Rev.  John  Hall,  D.D. 

The  Rev.  B.  S.  Brown,  D.D. 

The  Rev.  Geo.  Frederick  Schott,  Jr. 

The  Rev.  C.  N.  Yount 

Professor  R.  Brown  McAllister 

Professor  H.  R.  Greenholt,  PhD. 


GENERAL 
NARRATIVE 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  13 

CHAPTER  I 

Germans  Come  to  North  Carolina 

History  is  more  than  a  record  of  events  arranged  in  chronological 
order.  Back  of  these  events  are  people;  and  back  of  these  people  are 
heredity  and  environment,  training  and  experience.  Events  are  related 
to  each  other  and  to  the  people  who  have  a  part  in  bringing  them  about. 
The  history  of  Lutheranism  in  North  Carolina  had  its  beginning  in  the 
land  of  Luther.  Early  Lutherans  who  found  a  home  in  this  State  came 
either  directly  from  Germany  or  from  that  country  by  way  of  England 
and  Pennsylvania.  Unlike  some  of  the  first  settlers  'in  America,  these 
people  were  not  adventurers,  but  men  and  women  who  sought  escape 
from  intolerable  conditions  and  an  opportunity  to  live  and  work  and 
worship  as  a  free  and  God-fearing  folk.  Some  knowledge  of  conditions 
in  the  land  from  whence  they  came  is  necessary  to  an  understanding  of 
subsequent  developments  in  the  land  of  their  adoption. 

Rivers,  and  territories  adjacent  to  them,  have  been  closely  assoc- 
iated with  the  course  of  human  history.  The  valleys  of  the  Nile,  Eu- 
phrates, Jordan,  and  many  others,  immediately  come  to  mind.  Famous 
in  the  history  of  Europe  is  the  valley  of  the  Rhine.  Its  scenic  beauty,  its 
natural  resources,  and  its  historic  associations  are  such  that  one  has 
not  seen  Europe  until  he  has  seen  the  valley  of  the  Rhine.  One  section 
of  this  territory,  now  making  up  parts  of  Bavaria  and  Baden,  was  once 
known  as  the  Palatinate.  Its  inhabitants  were,  by  nature,  industrious 
and  peaceful;  but  its  natural  resources  and  its  strategic  location  made  it 
the  frequent  scene  of  political  and  religious  conflict.  Such  was  the 
condition  during  the  first  half  of  the  eighteenth  century.  However  inter- 
esting and  enlightening  it  might  be  to  trace  the  steps  b.y  which  such 
a  condition  was  brought  about,  the  purpose  of  this  narrative  will  be 
served  by  referring  to  the  recognized  historical  fact  that  the  ravages  of 
war  and  the  cruelty  of  religious  persecution  forced  many  Palatinates 
and  other  Germans  to  seek  an  asylum  in  the  New  World. 

Perhaps  the  first  German  to  enter  the  territory  that  is  now  North 
Carolina  was  John  Lederer.  He  did  not  come  as  a  colonist  but  as  an 
explorer  interested  only  in  charting  the  new  country.  During  the  years 
1669  and  1670,  he  was  sent  by  Sir  William  Barkley,  Governor  of  the 
colony  of  Virginia,  on  three  different  expeditions  to  explore  the  lands 
lying  South  and  West  of  the  James  River.  The  expedition  during  the 
summer  of  1670  carried  him  as  far  south  as  the  Santee  River  and  at 
least  as  far  west  as  Trading  Ford  north  of  what  is  now  Salisbury.  We 
do  not  know  his  church  affiliations,  but  he  deserves  mention,  not 
only  because  he  was  the  first  German  to  visit  Carolina,  but  particularly 
because  his  maps  and  description  of  the  country  which  he  had  explored 
must  have  been  circulated  among  his  fellow  countrymen  who  were 
Lutherans  and  who  were  seeking  a  place  in  which  they  might  establish 
new  homes. 


14  History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

Reference  should  also  be  made  to  the  first  Germans  who  actually 
settled  in  North  Carolina.  People  from  Germany  had  begun  to  come  to 
America  prior  to  1700,  but  the  immigration  that  concerns  this  history 
began  in  earnest  about  1708.  Conditions  in  the  Palatinate,  to  which 
reference  has  already  been  made,  had  forced  large  numbers  of  its  in- 
habitants to  seek  refuge  in  England  where  they  were  given  temporary 
asylum  by  Queen  Anne.  Later,  arrangements  were  made  to  transfer 
many  of  them  to  her  colonies  in  America.  One  group  settled  in  the 
Colony  of  New  York,  another  on  the  banks  of  the  Congree  River  in  South 
Carolina,  and  still  another  landed  at  the  present  site  of  New  Bern,  North 
Carolina  in  December  of  1710.  This  last  group  of  almost  700  people  had 
joined  a  company  of  Swiss  immigrants  under  the  leadership  of  Baron 
Christopher  de  Graffenreid.  The  contract  under  which  they  came  to  North 
Carolina  was  a  generous  one,  and  there  was  every  hope  that  they  would 
soon  be  able  to  establish  themselves  comfortably  and  become  economic- 
ally independent.  However,  a  series  of  unfortunate  experiences,  which 
included  an  Indian  massacre  the  year  following  their  arrival  and  the 
failure  on  the  part  of  de  Graffenreid  to  fulfill  the  terms  of  his  agreement, 
left  them  in  great  distress.  No  record  has  been  found  to  indicate  what 
became  of  these  people,  but  the  fact  that  many  names  of  German  origin 
are  still  found  in  Eastern  North  Carolina  would  lead  to  the  conclusion 
that  numbers  of  them  survived  and  were  absorbed  into  the  growing 
population  of  the  Colony.  Evidently  there  were  Lutherans  among  them, 
for  it  would  be  strange,  in  deed,  if  at  least  some  of  these  Palatinates 
were  not  of  that  faith.  Dr.  H.  E.  Jacobs  states  that  twelve  families  of 
Palatinates  who  had  escaped  from  the  massacre  in  North  Carolina 
joined  other  Germans  in  the  establishment  of  a  parish  in  Spotsylvania 
County,  Virginia.  This  was  the  historic  Hebron  Lutheran  Church  now  in 
Madison  County.* 

It  was  not,  however,  until  some  forty  years  later  that  the  Germans 
who  were  destined  to  have  a  part  in  the  permanent  establishment  of 
the  Lutheran  Church  in  North  Carolina,  South  Western  Virginia,  and 
East  Tennessee  began  to  arrive  in  this  territory.  The  Colony  of  New 
York  first  welcomed  the  German  immigrants;  but  this  friendly  attitude 
soon  changed,  and  around  1712,  the  current  turned  to  Pennsylvania, 
where  large  numbers  found  permanent  homes.  But  conditions  there 
were  also  not  altogether  satisfactory.  Quit  rent  (taxes)  was  high,  and 
the  best  farming  land  had  already  been  taken  by  earlier  settlers  before 
the  later  ones  arrived;  and  before  long  many  began  to  think  of  finding 
new  homes  elsewhere.  Lederer's  reports  had  been  circulated  among  the 
Pennsylvania  Germans,  and  it  is  not  improbable  that  they  created  an 
interest  in  the  territory  which  was  described  therein.  However  that 
may  be,  a  definite  southward  movement  had  begun  before  the  year  1750. 

This  migration  followed  a  well  established  course.  In  the  Library 
of  Congress  at  Washington  may  be  seen  an  old  map  by  Fry  and  Jefferson, 
dated  1751,  which  is  of  peculiar  interest.  It  shows  an  old  wagon  road 
starting  in  Berks  County,  Pennsylvania,  fifty  miles  west  of  Philadelphia, 
and  running  south  for  440  miles.    It  comes  down  through  Lancaster  and 

*  History  of  the  Evangelical  Lutheran   Church  in  the  U.   S.,  p.   184. 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  15 

York  Counties  in  Pennsylvania,  crosses  Maryland,  and  enters  Virginia 
north  of  Winchester.  From  there  it  follows  the  Shenandoah  Valley, 
then  bears  to  the  left  until  it  crosses  the  Dan  River  not  far  from  the 
present  town  of  Danville,  on  by  the  Old  Red  House  in  Caswell  County, 
North  Carolina,  and  into  what  are  now  Guilford  and  Alamance  Counties. 
Here  it  joins  the  Trading  Path  from  eastern  Virginia  and  North  Carolina 
which  continues  in  a  South-westerly  direction  and  crosses  the  Yadkin 
River  at  Trading  Ford.  Another  route  lay  to  the  West,  passed  through 
Salem,  North  Carolina,  and  joined  the  Trading  Path  near  Salisbury.  Still 
another  branched  off  near  the  present  city  of  Roanoke,  Virginia,  and 
followed  a  South-westerly  direction  into  East  Tennessee. 

Down  these  wagon  roads  came  the  new  settlers.  Horseback  riders 
made  the  trip  in  a  week;  others,  walking  or  traveling  in  blundering 
wagons,  sometimes  required  as  much  as  a  month  for  the  journey. 
Movement  was  further  retarded  by  the  fact  that  many  of  the  settlers 
brought  household  goods,  equipment,  supplies,  and  live  stock  with 
them.  This  immigration  began  soon  after  1740  and  continued  until 
interrupted  by  the  Revolutionary  War.  While  this  narrative  is  primarily 
concerned  with  those  who  found  homes  in  North  Carolina,  reference 
should  also  be  made  to  others  who  settled  in  South  Western  Virginia 
and  East  Tennessee,  since  the  original  territory  covered  by  the  North 
Carolina  Synod  embraces  both  of  these  areas.  There  were  German  settle- 
ments in  Botetourt  and  Montgomery  Counties,  Virginia,  as  early  as  1750; 
and  a  little  later  others  were  established  in  territory  west  of  the  New 
River  now  embracing  Wythe,  Smythe,  Bland,  and  Washington  Counties. 
By  the  year  1800,  the  movement  had  extended  along  the  Holston  River 
and  its  tributaries  into  Tennessee  and  had  reached  as  far  west  as  Knox 
and  Monroe  Counties  in  that  state. 

The  main  stream  of  emigrants  moved  south  over  the  roads  that 
led  across  the  Blue  Ridge  into  Piedmont  North  Carolina.  In  the  case  of 
the  Moravian  Brethren,  preparation  had  been  made  in  advance  of  their 
arrival.  Leaders  of  that  Church  who  maintained  headquarters  in  London 
had  arranged  to  purchase  a  100,000  acre  tract  of  land  from  the  Earl  of 
Granville  who  had  a  claim  to  most  of  the  northern  half  of  what  is  now 
North  Carolina.  In  the  summer  of  1752,  a  Commission  from  Pennsylvania 
came  south  and,  after  extended  explorations,  selected  a  site  in  what 
is  now  Forsyth  County.  The  movement  was  well  organized,  under  the 
direction  of  religious  leaders,  and  the  plans  included  provision  for  both 
the  spiritual  and  material  needs  of  the  colonists,  who  had  been  selected 
with  the  utmost  care.  This  group  encountered  many  difficulties  but 
soon  succeeded  in  establishing  a  strong,  self-supporting  community. 

Other  German  settlers  did  not  enjoy  the  benefits  of  such  careful 
planning.  No  official  organization  directed  the  movement;  and  in  the 
absence  of  official  records,  the  time  at  which  it  began  and  the  course 
which  it  followed  must,  for  the  present,  remain  matters  of  conjecture. 
Tradition,  supported  by  some  evidence,  indicates  that  the  first  immigrants 
began  to  arrive  about  1740.  One  group  located  along  the  Haw  River  in 
the  part  of  Orange  County  which  was  later  cut  off  to  form  Alamance 
and  Guilford,  and  others  found  homes  in  what  are  now  Davidson,  Davie, 


16 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 


Rowan,  and  Cabarrus  Counties,  all  prior  to  1750.  Settlements  along  the 
Catawba  and  its  tributaries  followed  within  the  next  twenty-five  years. 
Occasionally,  a  small  group  would  settle  elsewhere;  but  the  tendency 
was  to  concentrate  in  the  areas  indicated.  Original  groups  continued  to 
be  augmented  by  the  arrival  of  relatives  and  friends  from  Pennsylvania 
who  were  also  seeking  relief  from  unfavorable  conditions  in  the  older 
colony.  All  were  Protestants  and  by  far  the  larger  number  were  ad- 
herents of  either  the  Lutheran  or  German  Reformed  Churches. 

Familiarity  with  some  of  their  peculiar  traits,  characteristics  and 
customs  is  necessary  to  an  understanding  of  these  people  and  their  sub- 
sequent history.  First  of  all,  they  were  Germans,  and  they  possessed  the 
strength  and  weakness  common  to  that  ethnic  group.  Heredity  and 
environment  had  played  an  important  part  in  making  them  what  they 
were,  and  they  brought  with  them  both  the  strength  and  weaknesses  of 
their  background.  They  retained  their  language  and  customs  with  a 
tenacity  bordering  on  stubbornness  which  had  both  advantages  and 
disadvantages.  Their  conservatism  and  individualism  prevented  them 
from  keeping  pace  with  a  rapidly  changing  order,  but  it  also  did  much 
to  keep  them  from  falling  victims  to  many  of  the  abuses  and  excesses 
so  prevalent  at  the  time,  and  from  being  absorbed  by  other  racial  and 
religious  groups. 

By  occupation,  these  German  settlers  were  chiefly  agriculturists. 
Fertility  of  soil  and  an  adequate  supply  of  water  were  prime  considera- 
tions in  the  choice  of  sites  for  their  new  homes.  However,  they  possessed 
other  knowledge  and  skills  essential  to  the  establishment  of   a  self- 


The  John  Stirewalt  Home 

John  Stirewalt  built  the  famous  Pipe  Organ  for  Organ  Church. 

Date  1766  on  brick.  —  Located  on  Beatty  Ford  Road 

about  three  miles  from  Organ  Church 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  17 

sustaining  community,  and  among  them  were  artisans  and  craftsmen 
of  no  mean  ability.  Perhaps  the  first  buildings  were  crude  houses  and 
barns  erected  near  some  fresh  water  spring,  but  soon  each  community 
had  its  water-driven  grist  mill  and  its  community  building  for  worship 
and  instruction.  A  little  later,  the  first  crude  structures  were  replaced 
by  more  substantial  and  convenient  buildings.  Substantial  homes  and 
churches  of  stone,  brick,  and  logs  encased  with  weather-boarding  and 
celling  still  stand  which  were  erected  less  than  fifty  years  after  the 
arrival  of  the  first  settlers.  Spinning  wheels,  weaving  looms,  Dutch 
ovens,  and  other  devices  were  standard  equipment  in  almost  every 
home.  One  congregation  was  the  distinguished  possessor  of  a  pipe  organ 
built,  probably  before  1790,  by  one  of  its  own  members.  All  of  this  bears 
eloquent  testimony  to  the  ingenuity  and  skill  of  these  people.  Their 
achievements  are  all  the  more  remarkable  when  the  inevitable  diffi- 
culties with  which  they  were  confronted  are  recalled,  difficulties  that 
were  the  common  lot  of  the  American  pioneer.  A  climate  to  which  they 
were  unaccustomed,  the  ravages  of  disease,  the  menace  of  hostile  Indians, 
and  the  loneliness  of  strangers  in  a  strange  land  are  but  a  few  of  the 
many  which  might  be  mentioned. 

Certain  traits  of  character  which  these  German  settlers  seemed  to 
possess,  admirably  fitted  them  for  the  role  in  which  they  were  cast. 
They  were  industrious  and  honest,  thrifty  and  economical,  intelligent 
and  determined.  They  were  not  ashamed  or  afraid  of  hard  labor;  and 
while  they  were  ruggedly  individualistic,  they  were  ready  to  cooperate 
with  others  where  community  interests  were  involved.  However,  their 
lack  of  familiarity  with  the  English  language,  their  memory  of  dis- 
tressing experiences  in  the  old  country,  and  their  desire  to  preserve  their 
own  way  of  life,  made  it  difficult  for  them  to  become  active  and  in- 
fluential in  the  broader  fields  of  trade  and  politics,  activities  in  which 
their  English  and  Scotch  Irish  neighbors  were  most  proficient.  They 
settled  in  the  country  and  long  remained  a  rural  people  who  spoke  the 
language  of  their  forefathers  and  retained  their  customs  and  their 
religious  faith. 

Unsympathetic  and  prejudiced  writers  have  sometimes  accused  the 
German  settlers  of  being  at  least  indifferent  to  the  American  cause  in 
the  War  for  Independence.  That  such  an  attitude  might  have  prevailed 
on  the  part  of  some  is  understandable.  People  whose  parents  and 
grandparents  had,  less  than  three  quarters  of  a  century  before,  ex- 
perienced the  horrors  of  a  war  that  had  driven  them  from  their  homes 
could  hardly  be  expected  to  become  enthusiastic  over  a  struggle  that 
would  set  them  against  a  government  whose  former  queen  had  been 
their  benefactor.  On  the  other  hand,  they  were  a  courageous  and  liberty 
loving  people  who  were  quick  to  resent  injustice  and  to  resist  oppression. 
There  is  abundant  evidence  to  show  that  they  were  not  only  sympathetic 
to  the  American  side,  but  that  they  provided  a  fair  proportion  of  officers 
and  private  soldiers  in  the  Colonial  army,  and  that  their  pastors  en- 
couraged them  to  fight  for  independence.  At  least  one  of  these.  Pastor 
Nussmann,  suffered  indignities  at  the  hands  of  the  Tories  because  of  his 
outspoken  support.     Nor  is  there  any  support  for  the  suggestion  that 


18  History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

the  members  of  one  religious  group  were  more  loyal  and  patriotic  than 
those  of  another. 

These  German  pioneers  also  brought  with  them  a  definite  religious 
heritage.  The  resurgence  of  Catholic  power  in  that  part  of  Europe  from 
which  they  came,  and  their  unwillingness  to  give  up  their  Protestant 
faith,  had  served  to  deepen  their  consciousness  of  this  heritage.  They 
had  learned  the  value  of  preserving  their  heritage,  and  among  the  few 
possessions  which  they  were  able  to  carry  with  them  were  Bibles,  hymn 
books,  catechisms,  and  other  books  of  devotion.  Many  factors  served  to 
dim  clear-cut  denominational  lines  and  to  promote  cooperative  religious 
activities;  but  they  did  not  obliterate  these  lines,  and  Lutherans  and 
German  Reformeds  continued  to  maintain  separate  congregational  or- 
ganizations. Historian  Conner  states  that,  as  a  rule,  the  Germans  came 
into  North  Carolina  in  search  of  religious  freedom  and  fields  of  mission- 
ary activity.  He  estimates  that  in  1771  the  total  German  population  of 
Rowan,  Mecklenburg  and  Tryon  Counties  must  have  been  not  less  than 
15,000.*  These  would  include  10,000  Lutherans,  4,000  Reformeds,  and  1,000 
Moravians. 

From  these  German  pioneers  and  their  descendants  came  most 
of  those  who  were  to  plant,  support,  and  extend  the  Lutheran  Church  in 
North  Carolina.  Since  they  were  so  closely  related  in  origin  and 
characteristics,  passed  through  such  similar  experiences,  spoke  a  common 
language,  and  frequently  worshipped  together,  only  those  things  which 
they  had  in  common  have  been  presented  in  this  effort  to  introduce  them 
to  the  reader.  Reference  to  religious  or  denominational  groups  has 
been  incidental,  but  these  had  developed  in  the  old  country  and  were 
carried  over  into  the  new.  From  this  point  on,  the  development  of 
Lutheranism  will  be  traced;  and  only  such  reference  to  other  groups  as 
may  be  necessary  to  complete  the  picture  will  be  included. 


*  "North   Carolina"   by  R.   D.   W.    Conner,   Vol.    1,   p.    159 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  19 


CHAPTER  II 


The  Lutheran  Ct-iurch  is  Planted 

The  German  settlers  who  first  came  to  North  Carolina  were  more 
intent  upon  making  history  than  in  recording  it.  Their  immediate 
concern  was  to  build  houses  for  shelter  and  clear  fields  from  which  they 
might  gain  a  livelihood.  With  the  exception  of  the  Moravians,  they 
were  not  part  of  a  well  organized  society  and  were  not  under  obligation 
to  keep  records  and  make  reports.  There  are  indications  that  they  often 
did  not  even  bother  to  secure  legal  title  to  the  lands  on  which  they  settled 
until  they  had  established  themselves  and  were  satisfied  that  they  wished 
to  remain  in  that  particular  location.  Conclusions  as  to  what  actually 
happened  during  the  thirty  years  following  the  arrival  of  the  first 
comers  must,  therefore,  be  based  upon  three  things:  first,  that  which 
might  naturally  be  expected  under  the  circumstances;  second,  generally 
accepted  traditions;  and  third,  such  records  as  have  been  preserved. 
This  is  particularly  true  of  their  religious  activities  during  that  period 
and  for  many  years  thereafter. 

The  presence  of  Lutherans  among  these  German  settlers  has  never 
been  questioned,  and  the  concensus  is  that  they  were  in  the  majority. 
They  brought  with  them  the  heritage  of  their  Lutheran  faith;  and  Bibles, 
catechisms,  hymn  books,  and  other  books  of  devotion  were  among  their 
prized  possessions.  They  had  been  trained  to  appreciate  the  necessity  of 
the  means  of  Grace,  and  they  recognized  the  importance  of  providing  for 
their  orderly  administration.  With  such  a  background,  they  were  not 
likely  to  be  indifferent  to  religious  needs  and  responsibilities.  It  is 
true  that  they  were  not  able  to  bring  pastors  with  them.  They  came 
in  small  groups  and  even  had  pastors  been  available,  they  were  in  no 
position  to  assure  them  adequate  support.  There  was  no  resident  pastor 
in  North  Carolina  until  1773,  but  there  is  indisputable  evidence  that 
Lutheran  congregations  had  been  organized  long  before  that  date.  Dr. 
W.  T.  Whitsett  observes  that,  "Contrary  to  the  rule  with  certain  other 
denominations,  the  Lutherans  did  not  think  it  necessary  to  wait  for 
regular  ministers  in  order  to  begin  their  church  work;  they  set  up  their 
church  services  upon  their  arrival,  and  with  their  duly  elected  deacons 
and  elders  conducted  regular  religious  worship."*  Historian  R.  D.  W. 
Conner  states  that  there  was  at  least  one  Lutheran  congregation  on  Haw 
River  as  early  as  1745.**  This  may  have  been  Frieden's,  St.  Paul's  or 
Low's,  all  of  which  were  organized  at  an  early  date.  These  observations 
are  supported  by  tradition  and  by  the  fact  that  certain  congregations 
were  known  to  have  been  in  existence  prior  to  1773.  In  1768,  John  L. 
Beard  of  Salisbury  executed  a  title  to  a  lot  containing  144  square  poles 
to  the  Trustees  of  the  Evangelical  Lutheran  congregation  in  the  Town- 

*  Pioneer  Lutherans  of  N.   C,  p.   21  **  "North  Carolina"  Vol.  I,  p.   159 


20  History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

ship  of  Salisbury,  Rowan  County.  Organ  Church  in  Rowan  County,  and 
St.  John's  Church  in  Cabarrus  County,  were  organized  congregations 
when,  in  1772,  Christopher  Rintleman  and  Christopher  Layerly  were  sent 
to  Europe  to  secure  assistance  for  North  Carolina  Lutherans.  Tradition, 
supported  by  some  factual  evidence,  would  indicate  that  at  least  four 
congregations  were  in  existence  prior  to  1750,  and  that  others  were 
organized  during  the  next  twenty  years.  Frieden's  in  Guilford  County, 
St.  John's  and  Zion  (Organ)  in  Rowan,  and  St.  John's  in  Cabarrus,  all 
claim  organization  dates  prior  to  1750;  and  Low's,  St.  Paul's  in  Alamance, 
Philadelphia  in  Gaston,  St.  Paul's  in  Catawba,  Pilgrim  in  Davidson,  and 
Cold  Water  in  Cabarrus,  were  probably  organized  before  1770.  More 
detailed  information  will  be  found  in  the  sketches  of  individual  congre- 
gations, but  there  is  little  reason  to  doubt  that  all  were  organized 
congregations  at  the  time  of  the  arrival  of  the  first  permanent  pastors. 

During  this  formative  period,  the  need  for  regular  pastors  was 
desperately  felt.  Consecrated  laymen  could  effect  organizations  and  do 
much  to  hold  the  people  together,  but  they  were  not  authorized  to 
administer  the  sacraments  and  to  cultivate  the  spiritual  development  of 
an  increasing  number  of  needy  souls.  For  these  services  they  were 
dependent  upon  the  ministrations  of  traveling  pastors  who,  on  rare 
occasions,  visited  the  territory.  Dr.  Whitsett  states,  "For  sometime  before 
1755  Rev.  Samuel  Burgell  had  been  preaching  to  Lutherans  on  Haw- 
River,  and  in  that  year  went  to  Montgomery  County,  Virginia.  Rev. 
George  Soelle,  a  native  of  Denmark,  born  1709,  was  called  and  ordained 
a  Lutheran  minister  in  1741."  Later,  he  was  associated  with  the  Moravians. 
These  and  others  who  had  relatives  or  friends  in  the  colony,  but  whose 
names  have  not  been  preserved,  evidently  did  what  they  could;  but 
their  services  were  entirely  inadequate.  Repeated  efforts  were  made  to 
secure  pastors  from  Pennsylvania  without  success,  for  even  in  that  favored 
province  the  supply  of  ministers  was  insufficient  to  meet  the  needs 
at  home. 

The  newly  organized  Lutheran  congregations  in  North  Carolina 
had  only  one  other  recourse,  to  send  to  Europe  for  pastors  and  teachers. 
Accordingly,  in  1772,  about  sixty  families,  adherents  of  the  Augsburg 
Confession,  from  Organ  (Zion)  Church  in  Rowan  County  and  St.  John's 
Church  in  Mecklenburg  (now  Cabarrus)  County  resolved  to  make  such 
an  appeal.  (It  has  long  been  assumed  that  St.  John's,  Cabarrus,  co- 
operated and  that  Christopher  Layerly  was  a  member  of  that  con- 
gregation; but  positive  proof  of  this  is  lacking,  and  there  are  some 
indications  that  Layerly  may  have  been  a  member  of  Organ  or  of  St. 
John's,  Salisbury.)  Realizing  that  correspondence  would  likely  not 
prove  effective,  they  arranged  to  send  two  representatives  to  present  the 
appeal  in  person.  Whereupon  Christopher  Rintleman  and  Christopher 
Layerly  volunteered  to  undertake  the  task  and  to  make  the  long  and 
hazardous  journey  at  their  own  expense.  Their  offer  was  gratefully 
accepted,  and  they  were  commissioned  to  go  to  Germany  in  search  of  a 
regular  pastor  and  a  well  qualified  school  teacher  and  to  ask  for  financial 

*  "Pioneer    Lutherans   of  North    Carolina"    p.    22. 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  21 

assistance  in  supporting  them.  A  Commission  from  Governor  Tryon, 
and  a  letter  of  recommendation  to  "Tiie  Society  for  the  Spread  of  the 
Gospel  in  Foreign  Parts",  in  London,  was  secured.  This  Commission, 
written  in  beautiful  script  and  officially  signed,  has  been  preserved  in 
a  little  book  now  in  the  possession  of  Dr.  Jacob  L.  Morgan.  Contributions 
received  from  individuals  and  organizations  in  England  and  Germany 
are  also  entered  in  this  book.  Its  contents  would  indicate  that  the  two 
men  carried  this  very  book  with  them  on  their  mission. 

Supplied  with  their  credentials,  they  left  their  homes  in  1772  and 
traveled  horseback  to  Charleston,  South  Carolina.  There  they  took  a  ship 
for  London  where  they  were  most  cordially  received.  The  Missionary 
Society  to  which  they  appealed  endorsed  their  cause;  and  the  King, 
members  of  his  court,  and  St.  James'  Lutheran  Chapel  in  London  made 
cash  contributions  equivalent  to  more  than  eight  hundred  dollars. 

From  London,  the  Commissioners  went  to  Hannover,  Germany, 
where  they  were  again  favorably  received.  The  Consistory  of  Hannover 
readily  granted  their  petition  for  a  pastor  and  a  school  teacher  and 
officially  called  the  Rev.  Adolph  Nussmann  as  pastor  and  Mr.  John 
Gottfried  Arends  as  school  teacher.*  Bibles,  hymn  books,  catechisms, 
other  books,  and  a  communion  set  were  also  provided.  The  communion 
set  has  been  preserved  and  is  still  in  the  possession  of  Organ  Lutheran 
Church.  Their  mission  having  been  successfully  completed,  the  Com- 
missioners and  their  new  pastor  and  school  teacher  made  the  return  trip 
by  way  of  London,  and  arrived  in  North  Carolina  in  1773. 

Both  Nussmann  and  Arends  proved  to  be  eminently  fitted  for  the 
work  to  which  they  had  been  called.  Much  of  the  authentic  information 
about  Pastor  Nussmann  which  has  been  preserved  is  contained  in  the 
Helmstedt  Reports  which  include  letters  and  comments  upon  him  and 
his  work,  by  Dr.  Johann  Casper  Velthusen  of  the  Julius  Charles  University, 
at  Helmstaedt,  Dutchy  of  Brunswick,  Germany.  Dr.  Velthusen  at  first 
questioned  the  wisdom  of  the  selection  on  the  ground  that  Pastor  Nuss- 
mann had  at  one  time  been  a  Catholic  Priest;  but  after  he  had  associated 
with  him  in  London,  he  became  convinced  that  a  better  selection  could 
not  have  been  made.  Little  is  known  of  the  early  life  of  Arends  other 
than  that  he  was  born  in  Germany  in  1741  and  was  educated  at  Teachers' 
Seminary  in  Hannover.  The  record  of  his  work,  however,  attests  to  the 
wisdom  of  this  selection  also. 

Upon  their  arrival,  these  men  located  near  Organ  Church  and 
immediately  began  their  work  as  pastor  and  teacher,  respectively.  In 
1774,  Nussmann  moved  to  Cabarrus  County  and  established  his  home 
near  St.  John's  Church  where  he  remained  until  his  death  in  1794.  Arends 
continued  to  live  in  Rowan  County  until  1785.  He  then  moved  to  Lincoln 
County  and  labored  there  until  his  death  in  1807.  It  would  be  a  mistake, 
however,  to  infer  that  these  men  and  others  who  came  later  confined  their 
efforts  to   the   immediate   communities   in   which   they   resided.     Their 

*  Variant  spellings  of  these  names  are:     Nussman,  Neussmann  ;    Arend,  Arndt,  Ahrnd, 
Arnd.     What  appears  to  have  been  the  original  is  used  throughout  this  narrative. 


22 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 


The  Gottfried  Arends   (Arndt)    Home 

Located  Near  Lincolnton,  North  Carolina 


activities  included  the  organization  of  new  congregations  and  occasional 
visits  to  those  which  had  no  regular  pastor,  activities  that  necessitated 
much  travel  and  long  absences  from  their  homes.  They  were  more  than 
pastors.  They  were  missionaries,  evangelists  and  organizers;  and  their 
labors  resulted  in  the  preservation  and  extention  of  the  Lutheran  Church 
in  this  new  land. 

But  the  securing  of  a  resident  pastor,  a  school  teacher  and  much 
needed  books  and  funds  was  not  all  that  the  two  Commissioners 
accomplished.  So  effectively  did  they  present  the  needs  and  opportunities 
in  the  Province  of  North  Carolina  that  the  Consistory  of  Hannover  and 
the  University  of  Goettegen  undertook  the  supervision  and  support  of  the 
Lutheran  congregations  in  the  Colony  and  promised  financial  assistance 
and  a  further  supply  of  pastors  and  teachers.  For  some  unknown 
reason,  this  arrangement  did  not  become  immediately  effective.  There 
is  no  record  of  any  correspondence  between  Nussmann  and  the  Hann- 
over authorities;  no  additional  pastors  and  teachers  were  sent  over;  and 
there  is  no  indication  that  the  promise  of  financial  support  was  carried 
out.  The  outbreak  of  the  Revolutionary  War  a  few  years  later  stopped 
all  communication  with  Europe  for  a  period  of  eight  years,  and  the 
North  Carolina  churches  were  deprived,  at  least  temporarily,  of  the 
benefits  that  would  naturally  have  resulted  from  such  an  arrangement. 

In  the  meantime,  the  needs  in  the  new  field  had  become  so  great 
that  Pastor  Nussmann  could  not  possibly  meet  them.  The  only  solution 
seemed  to  be  to  have  the  school  teacher,  Arends,  ordained.    The  circum- 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  23 

stances  attending  this  ordination  and  the  procedure  followed  remain  in 
doubt.  The  History  of  the  North  Carolina  Synod,  Bernheim  and  Cox, 
contains  the  following:  "Upon  the  request  of  the  congregation  (Organ) 
and  with  the  approval  of  Pastor  Nussmann,  he  was  ordained  to  the 
Gospel  ministry,  on  the  eleventh  Sunday  after  Trinity  as  attested  by  his 
Ordination  Certificate."*  This  Certificate  is  dated  "Second  Creek,  Rowan 
County,  N.  C,  August  28,  Anno  Christi,  1775,  being  the  eleventh  Sunday 
after  Trinity."  It  is  signed  by  Joachim  Buelow,  "Missionary  and  In- 
spector over  South  and  North  Carolina."  No  records  have  been  found  to 
indicate  on  what  authority  he  acted  as  "Missionary  and  Inspector."  A 
Rev.  Joachim  Buelow  is  said  to  have  founded  the  Lutheran  Church  in 
the  Newberry  District  of  South  Carolina,  and  to  have  been  preaching  at 
St.  Paul's  Church  in  1775.**  The  place  at  which  this  ordination  took 
place  is  generally  supposed  to  have  been  Organ  Church;  and  the  Cer- 
tificate seems  to  support  this,  since  it  was  issued  at  "Second  Creek, 
Rowan  County,  N.  C."  The  regularity  of  Pastor  Arends'  ordination  may 
be  questioned,  but  there  can  be  no  doubt  as  to  his  faithfulness  and 
effectiveness  as  a  pastor  and  churchman. 

After  the  close  of  the  Revolutionary  War,  Pastor  Nussmann  again 
turned  to  the  mother  country  for  help.  It  had  been  the  Consistory  of 
Hannover  and  the  University  of  Goettegen  which  had  responsed  to  the 
appeal  of  Commissioners  Rintleman  and  Layerly;  but  for  some  reason 
the  supervision  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  North  Carolina  was  now  placed 
in  the  hands  of  the  professors  of  the  Julius  Charles  University  of  Helm- 
staedt,  in  the  Dutchy  of  Brunswick,  possibly  because  the  revolt  of  the 
American  Colonies  had  been  against  the  reigning  House  of  Hannover  to 
which  King  George  III  belonged.  At  any  rate,  a  society  for  the  super- 
vision and  care  of  the  Lutheran  Churches  in  the  State  was  organized 
at  Helmstaedt;  and  Dr.  Velthusen,  a  member  of  the  Theological  Faculty, 
became  its  leading  spirit.*** 

On  May  11,  1786,  Nussmann  wrote  the  first  of  a  series  of  letters 
to  Dr.  Velthusen  in  which  he  presented  the  cause  of  the  churches  in 
North  Carolina  and  appealed  for  help.  He  stressed  the  need  for  more 
ministers,  and  the  Society  responded  by  sending,  almost  immediately, 
three  additional  pastors.  He  further  requested  that  literature  be  provided, 
especially  a  catechism  designed  to  meet  the  needs  of  his  people,  and 
indicated  the  nature  of  the  material  which  should  be  included.  This 
request  also  received  prompt  and  favorable  attention,  and  among  the 
books  that  were  supplied  was  one  known  as  the  Helmstaedt  Catechism 
which  Dr.  Velthusen  himself  had  prepared.  A  second  edition  containing 
254  pages  was  called  the  North  Carolina  Catechism  and  was  extensively 
used  among  the  congregations  of  the  State.  Still  another  request  was 
that  money  which  had  been  collected  in  Hannover  for  the  benefit  of 
St.  John's  Church,  Cabarrus  County,  and  which  it  was  feared  might  have 
been  forfeited  because  of  the  sympathy  of  its  members  toward  the 
American  cause  in  the  recent  war,  be  turned  over  to  the  congregation. 

♦  History  of  N.    C.    Synod,   p.    16.     *♦  History   of   S.    C.    Synod    (1924)    p.    130. 
•**  Bernheim.      German    Settlements   and    Lutherans   in   the    Carolinas,    p.    258. 


24 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 


This  was  also  done,  and  the  principal  of  the  fund  was  kept  intact  until 
1843  when  it  was  used  toward  the  erection  of  the  present  church  building. 

The  first  of  the  ministerial  recruits  to  arrive  was  the  Rev.  Christian 
Eberhard  Bernhardt,  a  native  of  Stuttgart  in  the  Kingdom  of  Wurtem- 
berg.  He  was  ordained  in  Wurtemberg  about  1785  and  came  to  Georgia 
in  1786.  The  following  year,  he  moved  to  North  Carolina,  and  for  one 
year  he  served  congregations  in  what  is  now  Davidson  County.  In  1788, 
he  became  pastor  of  congregations  in  Forsyth  and  Stokes  Counties  which 
had  been  organized  and  frequently  visited  by  Pastor  Nussmann.  The 
following  year,  he  moved  to  Guilford  County  where  he  served  until  the 
close  of  the  year  1800.  At  that  til^e,  he  accepted  a  call  to  Zion  and  other 
Lutheran  Churches  in  the  vicinity  of  Lexington,  South  Carolina.  Here  he 
remained  until  his  death  in  1809.  He  approved  of  the  organization  of 
the  North  Carolina  Synod,  and  at  the  time  of  his  death,  he  and  his 
congregations  were  members  of  the  Synod. 

The  Rev.  Carl  Augustus  Gottlieb  Storch  was  the  next  to  arrive.  He 
was  born  in  Helmstaedt,  Germany,  on  June  16,  1764,  and  received  his 
education  in  the  schools  and  University  of  his  native  city.  In  1788,  he 
received  a  call  to  serve  as  a  pastor  in  North  Carolina,  was  ordained,  and 
immediately  sailed  for  America.    He  arrived  in  Baltimore  on  June  27  of 


Storch  Home 

Right  Section  with  modern  weatherboard  integument  is  the  original 
house  where  Pastor  C.  A.  G.  Storch  lived.  Located  on  Old  Salis- 
bury-Concord highway,  one  mile  north  of  Ebenezer  Church.  The 
Oak  tree,  estimated  to  be  over  300  years  old,  measures  152  feet 
from  bough-tip  to  bough-tip. 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  25 

that  year.  From  there  he  traveled  by  sea  to  Charleston,  South  Carolina, 
where  he  purchased  a  horse  and  proceeded  overland  to  North  Carolina 
and  arrived  at  the  home  of  Pastor  Nussmann  in  September.  He  had  been 
called  to  the  churches  in  Guilford  and  Alamance  Counties,  but  for  some 
reason,  his  plans  were  changed  and  he  became  the  pastor  of  St.  John's, 
Salisbury,  Organ,  and  Pine  (Union)  Churches.  Savitz  Church  (now 
Lutheran  Chapel)  located  in  what  was  called  the  Irish  Settlement,  was 
soon  included  in  his  parish.  His  native  gifts,  his  superior  education, 
and  his  consecrated  life  soon  won  for  him  a  place  in  the  hearts  of  his 
own  people  and  the  respect  of  the  community  at  large;  and  his  ministry 
of  forty-one  years  was  a  fruitful  one. 

The  third  of  these  recruits,  the  Rev.  Arnold  Roschen,  was  born, 
educated,  ordained,  and  married  in  Bremen,  Germany.  He  arrived  in 
Charleston,  South  Carolina,  November  28,  1788,  and  in  North  Carolina 
February  20,  1789.  For  the  next  ten  years,  he  served  churches  in  what 
is  now  Davidson  County.  Much  information  about  conditions  in  his 
new  field  of  labor  are  contained  in  a  letter  which  he  wrote  his  friend 
and  preceptor,  the  Rev.  Nicolai  of  Bremen,  in  the  spring  of  1789,  and  in 
his  report  to  the  Helmstaedt  Society.  At  first,  he  seemed  to  be  happy  in 
his  new  work;  but  later  he  became  dissatisfied,  and  returned  to  Germany 
in  1800.  The  Rev.  Paul  Henkel,  a  good  judge  of  men,  makes  the 
comment  in  his  diary  that  Pastor  Roschen  was  a  misfit. 

In  1794,  the  name  of  Robert  Johnson  Miller  was  added  to  the  list 
of  those  pastors  who  were  serving  in  Lutheran  congregations  in  the 
State.  He  was  born  near  Dundee,  Scotland,  July  11,  1758.  His  parents 
desired  that  he  enter  the  ministry,  and  to  this  end  they  sent  him  to  a 
classical  school  in  Dundee.  After  he  had  completed  his  education,  but 
before  he  had  entered  the  ministry,  he  migrated  to  America  and  ar- 
rived at  Charlestown,  Massachusetts,  in  1774.  Later,  he  enlisted  in  the 
American  Army  and  took  part  in  many  of  its  engagements.  His  service 
carried  him  to  the  South  where  he  remained  after  peace  had  been 
declared  and  the  Army  had  been  disbanded.  Influenced  by  his  former 
training  and  perhaps  by  gratitude  that  his  life  had  been  preserved, 
he  applied  to  the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church  for  a  license  to  preach  the 
Gospel.  Under  this  authority,  he  began  preaching  in  the  western 
counties  of  North  Carolina.  One  of  the  congregations  which  he  served 
was  Whitehaven  in  Lincoln  County.  This  was  nominally  a  Protestant 
Episcopal  Church,  but  Lutherans  and  possibly  German  Reformeds  partici- 
pated in  its  activities;  and  the  congregation  had,  for  some  time,  been 
dependent  upon  Pastor  Arends  for  the  administration  of  the  Word  and 
Sacraments.  The  Episcopalians  were  highly  pleased  with  the  services 
of  Mr.  Miller;  but  since  his  license  did  not  authorize  him  to  administer 
the  sacraments,  and  since  there  was  no  Episcopal  Diocese  in  the  state 
at  that  time,  they  petitioned  the  Lutheran  pastors  of  Cabarrus  and 
Rowan  Counties  to  ordain  him.  In  compliance  with  the  wishes  of  the 
petitioners,  a  meeting  was  held  in  St.  John's  Church,  Mecklenburg 
(Cabarrus)  County  on  May  20,  1794,  at  which  the  Revs.  Nussmann, 
Arends,  Storch,  Roschen,  and  Bernhardt,  the  five  pastors  then  on  the 
field,  were  present.    All  participated  in  the  examination  and  ordination 


26  History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

and  signed  their  names  to  an  Ordination  Certificate  which,  in  mutilated 
form,  has  been  preserved.*  On  the  reverse  side  of  this  certificate,  the 
Lutheran  ministers  gave  their  reasons  for  ordaining  a  member  of  the 
Episcopal  Church  as  a  minister  of  that  denomination.  According  to 
the  standards  of  any  well  organized  ecclesiastical  society,  such  a  pro- 
cedure would  have  been  highly  irregular;  but  these  pastors  must  have 
felt  that  circumstances  justified  their  action.  However  that  may  be, 
Pastor  Miller  rendered  a  valuable  service  to  the  Lutheran  Church  in 
North  Carolina.  He  possessed  the  rare  faculty  of  being  able  to  serve 
its  interests  faithfully  even  though  he  continued  to  have  a  deep  interest 
in  his  mother  church.  As  a  result  of  his  pastoral  efforts,  many 
individuals  and  even  whole  congregations  were  preserved  to  the  Lutheran 
Church. 

Still  another  pastor  whose  labors  reached  back  into  this  period 
was  the  Rev.  Paul  Henkel,  a  great-grandson  of  the  Rev.  Gerhard  Henkel 
who  was  one  of  the  pioneer  Lutheran  ministers  in  America  and  who 
had  arrived  about  1718.  He  was  born  on  Dutchman's  Creek  in  what  is 
now  Davie  County,  North  Carolina,  about  sixteen  miles  north  of  Salis- 
bury, December  15,  1754,  and  thus  was  the  first  native  born  pastor  to  serve 
in  the  state.  In  1760,  the  family  moved  to  Virginia,  and  it  was  there  he 
began  his  preparation  for  the  ministry.  He  was  licensed  to  preach  by  the 
Ministerium  of  Pennsylvania  and  was  ordained  by  that  body,  in  Phila- 
delphia, June  6,  1792.  The  early  years  of  his  ministry  were  spent  in  Vir- 
ginia, but  in  1800  he  accepted  a  call  from  a  group  of  congregations  in 
Rowan  and  adjoining  counties  and  continued  to  serve  them  until  1805  at 
which  time  he  returned  to  Virginia.  His  influence  upon  the  development  of 
Lutheranism  in  his  native  state  extended,  however,  far  beyond  the  parish 
which  he  served  and  the  time  during  which  he  resided  within  the  bounds 
of  the  State.  He  was  inbued  with  the  missionary  spirit  so  prevalent 
among  the  pastors  of  his  day,  and  was  endowed  with  a  restless  energy 
that  drove  him  to  almost  unbelievable  activities  in  behalf  of  his  church 
and  its  scattered  adherents.  He  made  repeated  missionary  tours  through 
western  Virginia,  Tennessee,  Kentucky,  Ohio,  Indiana,  and  North  and 
South  Carolina.  His  diary,  which  has  been  translated  by  Dr.  W.  J.  Finck, 
covers  385  typewritten  pages  and  is  an  invaluable  source  of  material 
for  the  historian  who  is  interested  in  that  period. 

Under  the  leadership  of  these  men,  the  Lutheran  Church  gained 
a  foothold  among  the  fertile  hills  and  valleys  of  Piedmont  North  Carolina, 
It  is  noteworthy  that,  in  at  least  two  particulars,  the  Lutheran  develop- 
ment in  North  Carolina  differed  from  that  in  other  Southern  Provinces. 
The  first  is  that  Lutheran  settlers  who  came  to  North  Carolina  during 
this  period  were  all  Palatinates  and,  with  the  exception  of  the  group  at 
New  Bern,  had  lived  at  least  for  a  short  time  in  Pennsylvania,  while 
many  of  those  who  settled  in  other  provinces  came  directly  to  their  new 
homes  from  different  parts  of  Europe.  Another  was  that  such  assistance 
and  supervision  as  was  received  came  directly  from  the  mother  country. 
Even  the  Patriarch  Muhlenberg  missed  North  Carolina  entirely  when 

•  Bernheim,   p.   339. 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  27 

he  made  his  tours  of  inspection  in  other  southern  colonies;  and  all 
pastors,  with  the  exception  of  the  Rev.  Paul  Henkel,  were  born  and 
educated  in  Germany.  The  one  contributed  to  the  close  community  of 
interests  which  prevailed,  and  the  other  did  much  to  determine  the 
type  of  Lutheranism  which  developed.  Both  are  reflected  in  the  manifest 
concern  which  pastors  felt  for  the  spiritual  needs  of  their  unchurched 
brethren,  irrespective  of  parish  lines,  and  in  the  fine  spirit  of  fellowship 
which  prevailed  among  them. 

The  foregoing  paragraphs  reveal,  in  barest  outline,  the  process 
by  which  the  Lutheran  Church  took  root  in  North  Carolina.  For  thirty 
years  there  were  no  regular  pastors,  but  consecrated  laymen  organized 
congregations  and  managed  to  hold  the  faithful  together.  Then,  with 
the  coming  of  Nussmann  and  Arends  in  1773  and  the  promise  of  continued 
support  from  the  church  in  Germany,  a  new  day  seemed  to  be  dawning. 
But  the  bright  prospects  were  darkened  by  the  outbreak  of  the  war  with 
England;  and  for  fourteen  long  years,  these  two  men  were  left  to  care 
for  the  spiritual  needs  of  thousands  of  souls  living  in  an  area  which 
now  comprises  ten  counties.  The  reestablishment  of  contact  with  the 
mother  church,  and  the  arrival  of  Pastors  Bernhardt,  Storch,  and  Roschen 
in  1787-1788  improved  the  situation  somewhat;  but  the  resources  of  men 
and  materials  were  still  entirely  insufficient  to  meet  the  needs  and 
opportunities.  Had  these  been  available,  the  story  of  Lutheranism  in  the 
State  might  have  been  quite  different;  but  the  heroism  and  devotion 
of  those  who  did  live  and  serve  under  such  serious  handicaps  might 
not  have  stood  out  so  conspicuously. 

The  record  of  what  was  actually  accomplished  prior  to  the  year 
1800  is  pitifully  incomplete.  It  is  impossible  even  to  estimate  with  any 
degree  of  accuracy  the  number  of  Lutherans  who  came  into  the  territory 
or  the  smaller  number  who  were  gathered  into  congregations.  Some 
idea,  however,  may  be  gained  from  the  list  of  congregations  that  were 
organized  during  the  period.  The  list  which  follows  may  not  be  complete, 
and  the  dates  of  organization  may  not  be  exact;  but  both  are  based  on 
such  information  as  is  available: 

Approx. 
Name  of   Congregation  Location  Date  Org. 

Beck's Davidson  County 1787 

Bethany Davidson  1789 

Bethel Gaston  (Crouse)  1790 

Cold  Water Cabarrus  1768 

Daniel's Lincoln    1774 

Emmanuel Lincon  (Lincolnton)  1787 

Frieden's Guilford  1745 

Grace Catawba   1797 

Low's   (Lau's) Guilford  1760 


28  History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N,  C. 

Lutheran  Chapel  (Savitz) Rowan   1780 

Morning  Star  (Crooked  Creek) Mecklenburg  1797 

Nazareth Forsyth    1778 

Organ  (Zion) Rowan   1745 

Pilgrim  (Leonard's) Davidson  1757 

Philadelphia Gaston  1767 

Reformation    (Dutchman's  Creek)...  Davie   1785 

Richland Randolph    3780 

Salem Lincoln    1796 

Shiloh   (Muddy  Creek) Forsyth    1777 

St.  John's Catawba   1799 

St.  John's Cabarrus  1745 

St.  John's Rowan   (Salisbury)   1747 

St.  Luke's  (Sandy  Creek) Davidson  1788 

St.  Luke's  (Ore  Bank) Gaston  1785 

St.  Mark's Gaston  1791 

St.  Paul's Alamance  1760 

St.  Paul's Catawba   1768 

Union  (Pine) Rowan   1774 

White  Haven Lincoln    1794 

Zion Catawba    1790 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  29 


CHAPTER  III 


A  Synod  is  Organized 

History  abounds  in  dates  that  are  of  outstanding  importance.  Such 
dates  are  usually  associated  with  specific  events,  but  they  may  also  be 
used  to  mark  the  transition  from  one  stage  of  development  to  another. 
Three  significant  dates  in  early  North  Carolina  Lutheran  history  are 
1743,  1773,  and  1803.  Each  initiates  a  distinct  period  in  the  growth  of  the 
Lutheran  Church  in  this  state.  The  first  is  only  approximate,  as  the  year 
in  which  Lutherans  began  permanent  settlements  in  what  is  now  North 
Carolina  can  not  be  established  with  absolutely  certainty.  During  the 
years  that  followed,  consecrated  laymen,  almost  entirely  unsupported  by 
outside  assistance,  kept  the  faith  alive  and  organized  congregations.  No 
permanent  pastors  were  available,  no  material  support  could  be  obtained, 
and  no  guiding  hand  was  extended.  Lutherans  to  the  North  had  so  many 
problems  of  their  own  that  they  could  not  offer  help,  and  the  Church  in 
the  Fatherland  had  not  yet  become  concerned  about  their  plight.  Only 
the  loyalty  of  men  and  women  thoroughly  grounded  in  the  faith  and 
guided  by  the  Holy  Spirit  enabled  the  church  to  survive  during  these 
trying  years. 

The  second  period,  which  began  in  1773,  witnessed  the  arrival  of 
pastors  from  Europe  and  the  assumption,  to  at  least  some  extent,  of  re- 
sponsibility for  support  and  guidance  by  the  mother  Church.  While  this 
arrangement  undoubtedly  did  much  to  preserve  and  strengthen  the  Church 
in  the  new  land,  its  possibilities  were  never  fully  realized.  It  was  almost 
immediately  interrupted  by  the  outbreak  of  war;  and  when  it  was  later 
resumed,  the  support  was  irregular  and  never  adequate  to  the  needs, 
and  by  the  end  of  the  century,  it  seems  to  have  ceased  entirely.  The 
outstanding  mark  of  the  period  was  the  untiring  service  of  the  few  pastors 
who  did  answer  the  Macedonian  call.  The  far-reaching  and  effective  min- 
istry of  Nussmann,  Arends,  Storch,  and  Paul  Henkel,  in  particular,  would 
compare  favorably  with  that  of  other  American  Lutheran  patriarchs  whose 
activities  have  received  much  wider  recognition. 

The  third  period  began  with  the  formation  of  the  North  Carolina 
Synod  in  1803.  It  is  marked  by  organization  for  co-operative  effort  and 
by  the  difficulties  that  were  incident  thereto.  Official  relationship  with 
the  Church  in  Germany  seems  to  have  lapsed  after  the  Helmstaedt  So- 
ciety disbanded.  Just  when  that  occurred  is  not  known.  Shortly  before 
1790,  Professor  Klugel  and  Dr.  Velthusen,  two  of  the  Society's  most  active 
leaders,  removed  to  other  fields  of  labor;  and  the  Society  evidently  dis- 
banded or  lost  interest  in  the  mission  field  in  North  Carolina.  Corre- 
spondence between  Dr.  Velthusen  and  Pastor  Storch  continued  for  more 
than  a  decade,  but  it  seems  not  to  have  been  of  an  official  nature.     Pastor 


30  History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N,  C. 

Storch  wrote  Dr.  Velthusen  as  late  as  February  25,  1803;  but  the  fact 
that  this  letter  is  published  in  one  of  Dr.  Velthusen's  individual  works, 
and  not  in  the  Helmstaedt  Report,  indicates  that  the  Society  was  no 
more.*  Thus  the  Lutheran  pastors  and  congregations  were  again  thrown 
entirely  upon  their  own  resources. 

In  the  meantime,  problems  had  arisen  which  clearly  indicated  the 
need  for  some  authoritative  organization.  Due  partly  to  the  aftermath 
of  war  and  partly  to  the  spirit  of  rationalism  and  infidelity  which  was 
so  prevalent  in  Europe  and  America,  both  the  faith  and  morals  of  the 
people  had  deteriorated  to  an  alarming  degree.  This  was  followed  by  an 
outburst  of  intensive  religious  activity  which  manifested  itself  in  the  wave 
of  extremely  emotional  revivalism  whch  began  about  1801.  Pastor  Storch 
described  its  nature  and  effect  in  his  letter  to  Dr.  Velthusen  in  1803,  and 
Pastor  Paul  Henkel  deals  with  the  same  subject  at  length  in  a  report 
to  the  Virginia  Conference  held  in  1806  which  is  recorded  in  its  German 
Minutes.**  In  his  report,  Henkel  states,  "The  German  ministers  were  at 
first  divided  in  their  opinions  on  the  subject;  nevertheless,  it  drove  them 
to  more  intimate  communion  with  each  other  in  their  official  acts,  and 
they  had  thus  the  opportunity  to  investigate  the  matter  more  closely." 

Another  problem  grew  out  of  the  pressing  need  for  more  ministers. 
Pastor  Nussmann  had  died  in  1794,  and  the  ministerial  ranks  in  North 
Carolina  had  been  further  depleted  by  the  return  of  Roschen  to  Germany 
and  the  removal  of  Bernhardt  to  South  Carolina.  The  serious  nature 
of  this  problem  had  been  brought  forcibly  to  the  attention  of  the  Church 
by  the  petition  for  the  ordination  of  Mr.  R.  J.  Miller,  to  which  reference 
has  already  been  made.  The  unanimous  concurrence  of  the  resident  pas- 
tors in  his  examination  and  ordination  gave  these  actions  some  official 
standing;  but  the  fact  that  they  felt  impelled  to  justify  their  actions 
testifies  to  their  realization  that  no  properly  constituted  body  for  the 
training  and  ordination  of  much  needed  ministers  was  available,  since  re- 
lations with  the  church  in  Germany  were  no  longer  active  and  since  the 
Pennsylvania  Ministerium,  the  only  other  body  to  which  they  could  turn, 
had  not  extended  its  jurisdiction  south  of  Virginia.  There  is,  however, 
no  evidence  that  any  other  business  was  transacted  at  this  meeting  held 
in  St.  John's  Church,  May  20,  1794,  or  that  any  steps  were  taken  looking 
to  closer  co-operation  through  an  official  organization;  but  the  need 
must  have  been  discussed,  at  least  informally,  by  this  group  of  consecrated 
men  who  faced  such  grave  problems. 

If  such  a  step  was  contemplated,  the  death  of  Pastor  Nussmann, 
which  occurred  a  few  months  later,  might  well  have  served  to  delay 
action.  However  that  may  be,  there  is  no  record  of  further  agitation 
until  nine  years  later.  In  his  diary  for  1803,  Paul  Henkel  writes,  "March 
20th  I  went  to  Pastor  Storch  and  made  this  proposition  to  him:  That 
we  arrange  a  kind  of  Conference  for  the  union  of  our  (Lutheran)  min- 
isters in  the  state,  in  order  that  we  might  further  the  education  of  the 
young  men  that  have  the  ministry  in  view.     Pastor  Storch  agreed  to  the 

*  Bernheim  History,   pp.   348,   355.  **  Bernheim,  pp.   350-354. 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  31 

plan.  I  next  went  to  Pastor  Miller  in  Lincoln  County  and  he  agreed  to 
the  plan,  and  then  together  we  went  to  Pastor  Arends,  who,  though  old 
and  almost  totally  blind,  agreed  to  attend.  Thereupon  over  the  third 
Sunday  after  Easter,  services  were  held  in  the  so-called  Pine  Church,  four 
miles  from  Salisbury,  Friday,  Saturday,  and  Sunday,  to  which  a  vast 
host  of  people  came.  On  Monday  the  preachers  met  with  a  number  of 
delegates  in  a  house  in  town.  Thus  the  foundation  of  the  institution  was 
laid  to  which  up  to  the  present  time  the  parts  of  a  building  have  been 
added."* 

The  minutes  of  this  meeting  state  that  Pastors  J.  G.  Arends,  Carl 
A.  Storch,  R.  J.  Miller,  and  Paul  Henkel  were  present,  together  with 
fourteen  lay  delegates  from  the  congregations  of  the  Revs.  Arends,  Storch, 
Henkel,  and  from  vacant  congregations.  The  names  of  the  congregations 
represented  are  not  given,  but  Drs.  Bernheim  and  Cox  state  "that  there 
are  good  reasons  for  believing  that  Organ,  St.  John's  of  Salisbury,  Union, 
Lutheran  Chapel,  St.  John's  of  Lincoln  County,  Reformation,  St.  Luke's 
and  Pilgrim  of  Davidson  County,  Richland,  St.  Paul's  of  Alamance  County, 
Lau's,  Frieden's,  Beck's,  and  Nazareth  congregations  were  represented.** 
In  the  absence  of  positive  evidence,  this  list  must  be  taken  as  a  mere 
supposition.  St.  John's,  Cabarrus,  did  not  take  part  in  the  organization, 
possibly  because  its  Constitution  provided  that  it  should  be  placed  under 
the  supervision  of  the  Consistory  of  Hannover.  In  case  this  relationship 
was  interrupted,  the  congregation  was  then  to  apply  to  the  ministry  in 
connection  with  the  Pennsylvania  Synod.*** 

Little  business  was  transacted  at  the  meeting  in  Salisbury  other 
than  that  which  was  necessary  to  effect  an  organization.  Pastor  Arends 
was  elected  president,  and  Pastor  R.  J.  Miller  secretary.  Consideration 
of  the  proposed  constitution  according  to  which  the  Lutheran  Church 
should  be  governed  was  postponed  until  the  annual  meeting  of  Synod.  It 
was  decided  that  the  annual  meeting  be  held  on  the  third  Monday  in  Octo- 
ber and  that  the  first  regular  yearly  meeting  be  held  in  Lincolnton.  This 
meeting  was  held  on  October  17,  1803,  at  Lincolnton,  and  the  proposed 
constitution  was  adopted.  This  constitution  contained  nine  brief  articles. 
Articles  I,  II,  III,  and  VII  cover  meetings,  membership,  and  the  annual 
election  of  a  president.  Membership  was  to  consist  of  ministers,  and  one 
lay  delegate  from  each  congregation.  All  lay  delegates  from  various 
congregations  served  by  one  pastor,  taken  together,  were  to  have  but 
one  vote.  Articles  IV,  VI,  and  IX  deal  with  the  qualifications  and  require- 
ments of  pastors.  Articles  V  and  VIII  suggest  the  responsibilities  of  the 
Synod  toward  vacant  congregations  and  "towards  relieving  the  necessities 
and  granting  the  reasonable  requests  of  all  congregations  in  this,  and 
also  all  other  states."  It  is  concerned  almost  entirely  with  matters  of  a 
practical  nature  with  which  the  Church  was  confronted  and  makes  no 
direct  reference  to  a  doctrinal  basis.  However,  the  following  resolution 
was  among  several  that  were  adopted  at  the  second  convention  and 
added  to  the  constitution:  "Resolved,  that  the  twenty-one  articles  of 
the  Augsburg  Confession  be  published  for  the  benefit  of  the  church." 

*  Diary,   p.   81.     **  History  of  N.   C.   Synod,   p.   25.     ***  Bernheim  History,   p.   251. 


32  History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

Naturally,  some  time  elapsed  before  the  new  Synod  became  well 
established  and  began  to  function  regularly  and  effectively.  The  second 
annual  convention  was  held  at  Leonard's  Church  near  Lexington  on 
October  21,  1804.  Pastors  Storch,  R.  J.  Miller,  and  Paul  and  Philip 
Henkel  together  with  lay  delegates  from  Rowan,  Guilford,  and  Lincoln 
Counties  were  present.  Philip  Henkel  had  been  licensed  by  the  Minis- 
terium  of  Pennsylvania  and  was  serving  churches  in  Guilford  and  neigh- 
boring counties.  Paul  Henkel  was  elected  president  and  R.  J.  Miller 
secretary.  Arrangement  was  made  for  the  holding  of  a  special  confer- 
ence in  March  of  the  next  year  in  Pine  Church,  to  consider  the  propriety 
of  Philip  Henkel's  going  to  Lincoln  in  Pastor  Arends'  place;  he  having 
been  called  there.  This  conference  was  held  as  planned,  and  arrange- 
ments were  evidently  made  for  the  ordination  of  Philip  Henkel.  He  was 
ordained  by  Pastor  Storch  at  "My  Second  Church"  (Pilgrim),  April  28, 
1805.* 

No  records  of  a  regular  meeting  of  the  Synod  in  1805  have  been 
found.  On  October  20,  1806,  Synod  met  in  Organ  Church.  Requests  from 
Buffalo  Creek  (St.  John's,  Cabarrus)  and  Indian  Creek  (St.  Mark's,  Gaston 
County)  that  they  be  received  were  unanimously  granted.  No  proceedings 
were  reported  for  the  years  1807  and  1808.  The  attendance  of  ministers  was 
so  limited  that  business  could  not  be  properly  transacted.  However,  John 
Ludwig  Markert  was  ordained  at  the  meeting  held  in  Abbot's  Creek  Church 
in  October,  1808.  Synod  met  at  Lau's  Church  on  August  7,  1809.  Only  three 
ministers  and  eight  delegates  were  present.  The  Rev.  C.  A.  Storch  was 
elected  president,  and  the  Rev.  L.  Markert  was  elected  secretary.  These 
must  have  been  discouraging  years  for  that  band  of  faithful  men  who, 
in  1803,  had  covenanted  together  to  work  for  the  advancement  of  the 
Kingdom.  Physical  conditions  made  it  difficult  to  hold  regular  and  well 
attended  meetings,  and  much  of  the  time  at  such  meetings  as  were  held 
was  taken  up  in  an  effort  to  correct  prevailing  abuses  rather  than  in 
constructive  action. 

But  in  spite  of  discouraging  conditions,  the  churcli  had  been  grow- 
ing. The  eighth  convention,  held  in  Organ  Church,  October  22,  1810, 
gave  evidence  of  renewed  interest  and  a  determination  to  prosecute  the 
work  more  vigorously.  Pastors  present  were:  C.  A.  G.  Storch,  R.  J. 
Miller,  Philip  Henkel,  Ludwig  Markert,  and  Gotlieb  Shober,  who,  was, 
by  the  consent  of  all  the  pastors,  ordained  at  this  convention.  Candidates 
and  Catechists  present  were:  J.  M.  Rickert,  Jacob  Grieson,  Jacob  Scherer, 
Godfrey  Dreher,  and  William  Hauk.  Six  lay  delegates  were  present. 
Actions  taken  provided  for  more  adequate  records  and  an  expansion  of 
evangelistic  effort.  Instructions  were  given:  to  the  president,  to  procure 
a  seal  for  the  Synod;  to  the  president  and  secretary,  to  print  extracts 
from  the  protocol  which  should  include  the  names  of  every  minister,  of 
each  congregation,  and  the  names  of  elders  and  deacons  of  each  church; 
to  every  pastor,  to  submit  a  report  to  the  next  meeting  of  Synod  on  the 
number  of  children  he  had  baptized  during  his  entire  ministerial  activity, 

*  Paul   Henkel's   Diary,   p.    110. 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  33 

also  a  short  report  about  his  various  visits  (journeys)  so  that  an  abstract 
might  be  sent  to  each  pastor.  Provision  was  made  for  the  holding  of 
three-day  preaching  services  throughout  the  Synod  at  which  voluntary 
collections  should  be  taken  to  be  applied  to  the  support  of  traveling 
ministers.  A  resolution  was  also  adopted  to  the  effect  that  a  traveling 
missionary  be  sent  out,  annually,  and  that  in  the  event  that  he  failed 
to  secure  enough  to  support  himself,  he  be  aided  from  the  above  proposed 
collections.  The  Rev.  R.  J.  Miller's  offer  to  serve  as  missionary  until 
the  next  convention  of  Synod  was  accepted  with  thanks,  and  he  was  duly 
appointed  and  commended  to   the  guidance  of  God. 

The  ninth  convention  was  held  in  St.  John's  Church,  Lincoln  County, 
on  September  24,  1811.  Due  to  a  misunderstanding  about  the  time  of 
meeting,  only  three  pastors  were  present.  Officers  were  elected  and  rou- 
tine business  was  transacted;  but  because  not  all  pastors  were  present, 
the  following  resolution  was  adopted:  "That  this  meeting  of  Synod  be 
continued  by  the  holding  of  another  meeting  on  the  first  Sunday  in 
April  of  the  next  year  (1812),  and  that  the  proceedings  of  the  two  meet- 
ings be  considered  as  the  convention  of  the  year  1811."  Parochial  re- 
ports which  had  been  called  for  at  the  previous  convention  contained  the 
following  information:  Five  pastors  in  North  Carolina  serving  30  congre- 
gations reported  that,  during  their  total  of  51  and  one-half  years  of  service 
2,071  persons  had  been  confirmed  and  100  adults  baptized.  The  minutes 
of  this  convention  also  contained  the  first  financial  report.  Receipts 
from  collections  taken  at  the  three  days'  preaching  services  amounted  to 
$43.39,  and  Pastor  Miller  reported  that  he  had  received  $70.44  toward  his 
support  as  missionary  from  free-will  offerings.  Disbursements  included 
$18.39  for  printing  minutes  and  $5.00  paid  toward  the  support  of  Candi- 
date D.  Moser.  The  Rev.  G.  Shober  was  elected  treasurer,  and  was  in- 
structed to  keep  an  account  of  funds  and  to  make  an  annual  report  to 
Synod.  The  list  of  congregations,  together  with  their  elders  and  deacons, 
was  also  submitted  and  is  deemed  of  sufficient  interest  to  be  included  here. 
The  five  congregations  in  South  Carolina,  all  without  pastors,  which  were 
reported,  are  not  included.  Congregations  in  Virginia  and  Tennessee, 
which  were  later  added  to  the  list,  are  also  omitted. 


34 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 


CHURCH 


COUNTY 


ELDERS 


DEACONS 


Zion    (Organ) 


Rowan 


Theobold  Lentz 
Geo.   Michael  Heiliff 
Adam   Steuerwald 
Adam  Gruss 


GeorKe  Huthman 
John   Miller 
John  Edelman 
Nicholas   Beringer 


Buffalo   Creek 
(St.    John's) 


Cabarrus 


Nicholas  Ridenauer 
John  Beringer 
Jacob  Bast 
Jacob  Miller 


Peter   Thiem 
Paul    Beringer 
Martin    Blackwalder 
John   Ridohr 


Irish   Settlement  Rowan 

(Lutheran   Chapel) 


Conrad   Schlup 


John    Setzer 
Michael   Bastian 
John   Kistler 
Tobias  Guthmann 


Pine    (Union) 

Rowan 

Jacob   Braun 
Andrew   Bauer 
George  Froelich 

Crooked  Creek 

Mecklenburg 

Ludwig  Hardess 

(Morning  Star) 

Bear   Creek 

Stanly 

John   Bernhard, 

Christopher  Leyerli 

(Bethel) 

Lay  Reader 

Henry  Zeits 

Pilgrim 


Davidson 


Christian  Meyer 
Valentine  Tag 


Henry  Conrad 
Peter  Lapp 


Beck's 


Davidson 


John  Beck 
David  Beyrer 


Ephraim  Gass 


Swicegood's 
(St.   Luke'.s) 

Davidson 

Adam   Schweisguth 
John   Gabel 

Henry  Ratz 
Philip  Beck 

Lau's 

Guilford 

John  Gobel 
Jacob  Krieson 

Ludwig   Lau 
John   Philippi 

Frieden's 

Guilford 

John    Gebel 
John   Kob 

Grave's 

(St.     Paul's) 

Alamance 

John   Fogelman 
Melchior  Essley 

Richland 

Randolph 

John   Schwartz 
Jacob  Krieson, 
Lay  Reader 

Joseph   Staley 

Muddy    Creek 
(Shiloh) 

Forsyth 

Henry  Holder 
Samuel    Vogler 
John  Krausser 

Dutchman's   Creek 
(Reformation) 


Rowan 
(Davie) 


Nicholas  Gluck 


Benjamin   Henkel 
Henry  Clement 


Lincoln 
(Catawba) 


John   Eisenhauer 
John   Stein 
Christopher   Siegman 
Jacob  Volbrecht 


Bernhard   Siegman 
John   Schmidt 


Old   Church 

Lincoln 

John    Schmeyer 

Salem 

School  House 

Thomas  Huber 

Jacob  Klein 

(Daniel's) 

Abraham  Hefner 

Peter   Heil 
Daniel   Lutz 

Kassner's 

Gaston 

John   Huffman 

Jacob   Straub 

(Philadelphia) 

Peter  Rein 

Michael  Kassner 

Lebanon 

Gaston 

Mathias  Kilian 

Moses   Baumgartner 

(Ore  Bank) 

Emmanuel 

Lincoln 

G.   G.   Gerding 

George  Risch 

Ludwig  Hefner 

David  Mastaller 

Hebron 

Cleveland 

Nicholas  Eiler 

Zion 

Lincoln 

Benjamin   Weitner 

( Catawba) 

Jacob  Hahn 

History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  35 

Synod  met  again  on  October  18,  1812,  in  Lau's  Church,  Guilford 
County.  According  to  previous  action,  this  was  regarded  as  the  regular 
meeting  for  1812  and  as  the  tenth  annual  convention.  During  the  years 
that  followed,  Synod  met  annually  until  1817.  No  meeting  was  held  in 
1818,  and  the  one  held  in  1819  is  known  as  the  sixteenth  convention. 
Much  that  was  done  at  these  meetings  would  be  of  interest,  but  only 
enough  can  be  included  here  to  suggest  the  process  through  which  the 
Synod  developed  into  an  effective  organization.  When  such  conditions 
as  bad  roads,  poor  means  of  communication,  epidemics  of  sickness,  and 
other  handicaps  are  recalled,  the  progress  which  its  members  made  in 
their  organized  activities  is  remarkable. 

Even  more  remarkable  is  the  story  of  growth  and  expansion.  Indi- 
vidual pastors  had  long  felt  a  responsibility  for  development  along  these 
lines  and  had  endeavored  to  minister  to  the  needs  of  groups  far  beyond 
the  bounds  of  their  own  parishes,  but  they  realized  only  too  clearly  that 
their  most  strenuous  efforts  were  entirely  inadequate  to  meet  these  needs. 
The  burden  of  this  responsibility  and  the  belief  that  it  could  be  more 
adequately  met  through  organized  effort,  no  doubt,  had  an  important 
part  in  bringing  about  the  organization  of  a  Synod  on  the  territory. 
Their  belief  was  justified  by  the  results  that  followed.  The  church  was 
aroused  and  enthused,  and  the  result  was  a  rapid  growth  in  numbers  and  in 
expanding  territory.  A  glance  at  the  early  records  will  show  how  rapidly 
the  new  Synod  grew.  At  the  fourth  convention,  St.  John's,  Cabarrus,  and 
Indian  Creek  (St.  Mark's,  Gaston  County)  were  received,  and  19  lay  dele- 
gates were  present.  The  minutes  of  the  eighth  convention  indicate  that  one 
congregation  in  North  Carolina  and  three  in  South  Carolina  had  been  re- 
ceived during  the  year.  At  the  ninth  convention,  nine  congregations  in 
Tennessee  were  received;  and  at  the  tenth  convention,  Hopewell  and  Bethel 
congregations  in  Stokes  County,  North  Carolina,  and  Sandy  Run,  in  South 
Carolina,  were  added.  At  the  eleventh  convention  twenty  congregations  in 
Virginia  were  admitted.  During  the  next  few  years,  others  were  added,  and 
petitions  were  received  from  as  far  away  as  Ohio  and  Indiana,  requesting 
that  ministers  visit  them.  In  a  letter  which  was  read  to  the  tenth  conven- 
tion in  1812,  the  Rev.  Paul  Henkel  described  his  active  labors  in  Ohio,  and 
acknowledged  himself  still  to  be  a  member  of  the  North  Carolina  Synod. 
Reports  of  the  traveling  missionaries  of  the  Synod  reveal  the  wide  extent 
and  effectiveness  of  their  services.  Incomplete  records  make  it  impossible 
to  measure  the  growth  with  any  degree  of  accuracy;  but  there  is  no  lack 
of  evidence  to  indicate  that,  during  this  period,  the  hopes  and  prayers 
and  labors  of  the  Founding  Fathers  and  their  successors  were  abundantly 
rewarded. 

But  challenging  needs  and  a  rapidly  expanding  program  brought 
the  new  Synod  face  to  face  with  serious  problems.  Not  the  least  of 
these  arose  from  the  ever  increasing  demand  for  pastors  to  supply  vacant 
congregations  and  to  open  new  fields.  As  was  the  case  in  other  parts 
of  America,  the  Church  in  North  Carolina  had  been  entirely  dependent 
upon  the  Church  in  Europe  for  its  supply  of  ministers.  These  men  were 
well  educated  and  thoroughly  prepared  for  their  work;    but   the   supply 


36  History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

was  never  adequate,  and  by  the  end  of  the  eighteenth  century  it  had 
almost  entirely  ceased.  The  Church  was,  therefore,  faced  with  the  ne- 
cessity of  providing  a  native  ministry.  Since  there  were  no  colleges  and 
seminaries  in  this  country  in  which  they  might  be  trained,  and  since 
there  were  practical  difficulties  which  made  it  virtually  impossible  to  send 
men  to  Germany  for  training,  it  was  apparent  that  some  plan  must  be 
devised  whereby  the  need  could  be  met  until  the  time  came  when  such 
institutions  could  be  provided. 

The  plan  adopted,  first  by  the  Ministerium  of  Pennsylvania,  and 
later  by  other  Synods,  came  to  be  known  as  "The  License  System,"  a 
policy  purely  American  in  so  far  as  the  Lutheran  Church  was  concerned. 
Under  this  system,  men  who  appeared  to  have  the  necessary  spiritual 
qualifications  and  natural  endowments  were  selected  and  were  licensed 
to  perform  certain  ministerial  functions,  within  prescribed  limits  and 
for  some  fixed  length  of  time,  while  they  were  preparing  for  ordination. 
During  this  preparatory  period,  they  were  always  under  the  supervision 
and  instruction  of  one  or  more  ordained  ministers  of  the  Synod.  The  system 
was  not  designed  to  provide  an  easy  way  through  which  men  might  enter 
the  ministry,  but  to  furnish  a  practical  means  by  which  the  need  of  the 
Church  for  pastors  could  be  supplied  until  more  adequate  facilities  were 
available.  While  the  plan  admittedly  fell  far  short  of  the  high  standards 
usually  established  by  the  Lutheran  Church,  and  was  open  to  abuse,  it 
seemed  to  the  leaders  of  that  day  to  provide  the  only  solution  to  the 
problem  with  which  they  were  confronted;  and  perhaps  its  severest 
critics,  had  they  been  faced  with  similar  conditions,  could  not  have  offered 
a  better  one. 

Since  the  plan  was  already  an  established  policy  in  other  parts  of 
the  Church  at  the  time  of  the  organization  of  the  North  Carolina  Synod, 
it  was  apparently  accepted  without  question  by  the  men  who  formed  the 
new  body.  At  the  convention  held  in  Lincolnton,  October  17,  1803,  a 
petition  from  a  Mr.  Krieson,  asking  for  the  ordination  of  Philip  Henkel, 
was  presented;  but  in  view  of  the  candidate's  youth,  the  request  was  not 
granted.  At  the  second  convention,  John  M.  Rikert  and  Ludwig  Markert 
were  authorized  to  read  sermons  in  vacant  congregations,  to  pray,  and 
in  cases  of  necessity,  to  baptize  children;  and  the  license  of  Philip  Henkel 
as  a  Catechist  was  renewed.  At  the  convention  in  1810,  Candidates  J.  M. 
Rickert,  Jacob  Grieson,  Jacob  Scherer,  and  Godfrey  Dreher  received  writ- 
ten license  to  preach,  to  baptize  and  instruct  children  in  all  Lutheran 
churches  for  one  year. 

At  first  there  were  no  published  definite  regulations  under  which 
licenses  might  be  granted.  Each  case  was  considered  on  its  merits,  and 
action  was  determined  by  what,  under  the  circumstances,  seemed  best; 
but  the  necessity  for  fixed  and  definite  regulations  soon  became  apparent. 
Prior  to  1813,  it  was  the  custom  to  allow  any  two  ministers,  at  their  own 
will,  and  upon  their  own  judgment,  between  conventions  of  Synod,  to 
license  young  men  to  preach  until  the  next  meeting  of  Synod.  At  the 
convention  that  year,  the  following  action  was  taken:      "That  it  should 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  37 

no  longer  be  the  custom  to  allow  two  ministers  the  privilege,  or  power, 
to  authorize  a  young  man  to  preach  and  baptize.  That,  furthermore, 
hereafter  no  one  receive  full  ministerial  authority  except  alone  by  the 
Synod,  and  that  after  an  examination,  that  every  catechist  and  beginner 
shall  be  appointed,  and  that  if  found  qualified  and  faithful,  and  acceptable 
to  the  congregations,  he  shall  be  considered  and  received  as  a  candidate 
for  the  ministry,  and  shall  receive  written  authority  to  preach  for  one 
year  and  administer  the  sacraments  to  his  congregations,  but  no  where 
else."  The  following  resolution  was  adopted  in  1814:  "That  hereafter 
no  uneducated  person  shall  receive  license  to  preach  until  he  has  studied 
with  one  of  our  pastors  and  is  twenty-one  years  of  age."  From  time  to 
time  it  was  found  necessary  to  adopt  other  regulations,  usually  as  a 
result  of  differences  of  opinion  as  to  some  of  the  practices  that  were 
current  under  the  plan,  but  it  was  not  until  1869  that  the  License  System 
was  discontinued  by  the  North  Carolina  Synod. 

The  pressing  need  for  ministers  prompted  at  least  two  other  actions 
that  have  often  been  questioned.  Reference  has  already  been  made  to 
the  ordination,  in  1794,  of  Robert  Johnson  Miller,  a  member  of  the  Epis- 
copal Church,  who  was  serving  a  mixed  congregation  in  Lincoln  County 
known  as  White  Haven.  Pastor  Arends,  who  was  serving  a  number  of 
other  congregations  at  the  time,  held  occasional  services  there  and  evi- 
dently welcomed  the  assistance  that  Mr.  Miller  was  able  to  give,  and 
approved  of  the  petition  for  his  ordination.  Sixteen  years  later,  Gottlieb 
Shober,  a  member  of  the  Moravian  Church  was,  by  the  consent  of  all 
the  pastors,  ordained  a  Lutheran  minister.  Pastors  present  at  this  con- 
vention were:  Storch,  Philip  Henkel,  R.  J.  Miller,  and  Ludwig  Markert. 
At  the  time,  Mr.  Shober  was  caring  for  Lutheran  congregations  in  Stokes 
and  neighboring  counties  who  were  without  the  services  of  a  regular 
pastor.  Whatever  may  have  been  his  faults.  Pastor  Shober  did  give 
years  of  faithful  service  to  the  Lutheran  Church  in  North  Carolina  and 
saved  some  of  its  congregations  from  complete  disintegration,  for  example, 
St.  John's,  Salisbury. 

Perhaps  neither  the  plan  adopted  to  prepare  more  men  for  the 
ministry  nor  the  actions  by  which  two  men  who  were  not  members  of  the 
Lutheran  Church  were  ordained  could  be  justified  by  a  strict  interpreta- 
tion of  Lutheran  policy.  In  each  instance,  however,  the  course  was  ap- 
proved by  men  who  were  faced  with  the  practical  problems  of  Kingdom 
building;  men  who  were  extending  their  efforts  far  beyond  the  ordinary 
call  of  duty,  men  who  carried  upon  their  hearts  the  burden  of  unchurched 
multitudes  to  whom  they  could  not  minister  adequately;  men  who, 
wherever  they  turned,  heard  the  oft-repeated  call,  "Send  us  a  minister." 
Whether  or  not  the  course  which  they  pursued  was  wise  will  always  be 
a  debatable  question.  That  it  was  the  source  of  much  dissatisfaction 
and  misunderstanding  during  the  years  that  were  to  follow  cannot  be 
denied.  On  the  other  hand,  there  is  no  means  of  determining  what  the 
fate  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  this  new  land  would  have  been  had  the 
established  standards  and  usages  of  the  Mother  Church  been  strictly 
adhered  to.  Christian  charity  demands  that  at  least  the  sincerity  of  their 
motives  be  recognized  and  respected. 


38  History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

But  these  deviations  from  historic  practice  were,  in  part,  the  out- 
growth of  a  more  serious  departure.  It  is  generally  agreed  that  the 
founders  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  America  brought  with  them  a  strong 
Lutheran  consciousness  and  a  high  regard  for  her  distinctive  doctrines 
and  usages.  Dr.  Socrates  Henkel  states  that,  "The  most  authentic  records 
seem  clearly  to  indicate  that  the  church  generally  adhered  to  the  doc- 
trines and  principles  of  the  Bible,  as  set  forth  and  confessed  in  the  Un- 
altered Augsburg  Confession  and  Luther's  Catechism."*  It  is  also  a  gen- 
erally recognized  fact  that,  by  the  end  of  the  eighteenth  century,  the 
confessional  position  of  the  church  had  been  modified,  and  that  distinctive 
doctrinal  emphasis  was  discounted  or  neglected.  Again,  various  condi- 
tions had  much  to  do  with  bringing  this  about.  Various  trends  had  de- 
veloped in  Europe  ranging  from  extreme  rationalism  which  questioned 
the  authority  of  the  Bible  to  extreme  Pietism  which  placed  the  emphasis 
upon  pious  living  rather  than  on  doctrinal  purity.  These  disturbing  ele- 
ments found  their  way  to  America  and  exerted  a  harmful  influence  upon 
the  teaching  of  the  Church.  The  environment  into  which  the  Church  was 
thrust  in  the  new  land  also  contributed  to  this  changed  attitude.  Indi- 
viduals had  found  it  necessary  to  adjust  themselves  to  an  environment 
in  which  they  were  often  closely  associated  with  the  adherents  of  other 
Faiths.  Pastors,  who  were  frequently  poorly  trained  and  always  over- 
worked, felt  the  pressure  to  co-operate  with  those  of  other  churches  and 
to  soften  doctrinal  distinctions.  It  is  not  strange,  therefore,  that  organ- 
ized groups  followed  the  same  trend.  Their  constitutions  were  designed 
to  meet  practical  problems,  not  to  establish  confessional  principles. 

To  a  certain  extent,  developments  in  North  Carolina  paralleled 
those  in  other  sections  of  the  country.  Lutherans  who  first  came  to  the 
state  reached  here  before  the  influences  which  did  so  much  to  undermine 
distinctive  Lutheranism  had  become  effective.  It  is  to  be  assumed,  there- 
fore, that  they  still  preserved  their  strong  Lutheran  consciousness.  The 
Commission  of  Rintleman  and  Layerly  states  that  about  sixty  families, 
"adherents  of  the  Augsburg  Confession,"  sent  them.  Early  pastors,  who 
came  a  quarter  century  later,  had  been  trained  in  Germany  where  strict 
orthodoxy  was  already  being  modified  by  current  trends  of  thought. 
However,  Nussmann,  the  first  to  arrive,  had  been  trained  as  a  Catholic 
priest,  but  had  become  confirmed  in  the  doctrines  and  convictions  of  the 
Evangelical  religion;**  and  the  Constitution  of  St.  John's,  which  he  wrote, 
requires  that  the  pastor  "Accept  with  heart  and  mouth  the  Symbolical 
Books  of  the  Evangelical  Church;  also  to  preach  the  doctrines  contained 
in  them."  Arends  did  not  have  the  benefit  of  a  complete  theological 
training  and  was  no  theologian,  but  he  was  loyal  to  the  Lutheran  Con- 
fessions. Storch  received  a  thorough  theological  training  in  Germany, 
and  in  a  letter  to  Velthusen  in  1803  he  writes,  "I  continue  to  preach  the 
doctrines  of  Jesus  Christ  the  Crucified,  in  simplicity,  and  have  experienced 
the  power  of  His  grace  upon  myself  and  others."  Paul  Henkel  never 
had   the  advantages  afforded  by   a   theological   school,   but   he  was  well 

*  History  of  the  Tennessee  Synod,  p.   1. 
**Velthusen'3   Report. 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  39 

grounded  in  the  Confessions  of  the  Lutheran  Church  and  strictly  adhered 
to  them.  However,  his  relationships  with  pastors  and  people  of  other 
denominations  were  cordial  and  often  co-operative,  as  is  evidenced  by 
many  entries  in  his  diary.  Under  the  leadership  of  such  men,  a  positive 
type  of  Lutheranism  continued  to  prevail  much  longer  than  in  some 
other  sections  of  the  country,  notably  New  York  and  Pennsylvania,  and 
never  lost  as  much  ground. 

It  must  be  admitted,  however,  that  Lutheranism  in  North  Carolina 
did  not  entirely  escape  the  effect  of  forces  that  were  at  work  in  both 
the  European  and  American  churches.  These  resulted  in  a  tendency  to- 
ward latitudinarianism  and  a  lack  of  emphasis  upon  a  distinctive  confes- 
sional position.  Neither  the  "North  Carolina  Catechism"  which  was  gen- 
erally used  before  the  Synod  was  organized,  nor  the  book  "Luther"  which 
later  received  the  approval  of  the  Synod,  are  above  criticism;  and  the 
absence  from  the  first  constitution  of  any  clear  cut  doctrinal  basis  might 
be  regarded  as  indicative  of  the  lack  of  emphasis.  This  omission  was 
not  necessarily  deliberate,  for  those  who  drafted  the  Constitution  followed 
the  precedent  which  had  been  established  by  the  two  Synods  which  had 
already  been  organized;  and  the  Constitutions  of  the  Ministeriums  of 
New  York  and  Pennsylvania  did  not  contain  such  a  basis  then  nor  for 
many  years  thereafter.  On  the  contrary,  this  weakness  was  recognized 
and,  to  some  extent,  corrected  by  subsequent  actions.  At  the  second  con- 
vention the  following  was  adopted:  "Resolved,  that  twenty-one  Articles 
of  the  Augsburg  Confession  be  published  for  the  benefit  of  the  church." 
The  minutes  of  the  1812  convention  contain  this:  "In  answer  to  the  ques- 
tion, which  catechism  should  be  the  basis  of  instruction?  It  was  unani- 
mously resolved  that  Luther's  Smaller  Catechism  must  ever  be  the  basis 
of  catechetical  instruction;  and  the  catechism  of  Ambrosius  Henkel,  ex- 
plaining Luther's,  can  be  used,  but  this  is  left  to  each  pastor  to  do  as 
he  pleases."  The  Constitution  was  revised  and  enlarged  in  1817  and 
Article  I  was  made  to  read:  "The  first  twenty-one  articles  of  the  Con- 
fession delivered  to  the  assembled  Diet  at  Augsburg,  in  Germany,  by  the 
Lutheran  divines,  known  by  the  name  of  the  Augsburg  Confession,  as 
extracted  from  the  Bible,  is  the  point  of  union  of  our  church.  Every 
minister,  before  ordination,  pledges  himself  to  the  same."  This  revised 
constitution,  twenty-two  articles  of  the  Augsburg  Confession,  and  other 
material,  were  included  in  a  book  popularly  called  "Luther"  which  after- 
ward became  the  subject  of  much  controversy  because  of  its  supposedly 
compromising  and  unionist  tenor. 

This,  in  brief  outline,  is  the  story  of  the  Synod's  formative  years.  It 
was  inevitable  that  the  new  Synod  would  not  be  able  to  solve  all  prob- 
lems and  meet  all  expectations  over  night.  The  problems  were  too  great, 
the  resources  were  too  limited,  and  the  organization  was  too  imperfect 
for  that.  Nevertheless,  definite  advance  marked  its  early  years.  Its 
organization  was  strengthened,  its  boundaries  were  enlarged,  and  its 
influence  was  extended.  Its  founders  were  not  super-men;  but  in  most 
respects    they   built   wisely   and   well,    and    the   work   that   they   did   was 


40  History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

destined  to  endure.  The  Lutheran  Church  in  North  Carolina  will  always 
be  indebted  to  them  for  their  foresight  and  faith  and  courage  and  for 
the  foundation  which  they  laid,  a  foundation  that  was  to  be  shaken  but 
not  destroyed. 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  41 

CHAPTER  IV 
Dissension  and  Division 


The  young,  active,  and  rapidly  growing  Synod  had  not  yet  reached 
its  majority  when  a  situation  developed  that  resulted  in  the  formation 
of  a  new  Synod  and  left  scars  which  time  alone  could  efface.  Avail- 
able records  of  what  transpired  at  the  time  of  the  break  and  during 
the  years  that  immediately  preceded  and  followed  it  are  so  evidently 
colored  by  the  feelings  of  those  who  wrote  them  that  it  is  difficult 
to  determine  the  cause  of  this  unhappy  separation  or  to  place  responsi- 
bility for  it.  Undoubtedly  questions  of  doctrine  and  practice  at  issue 
justified  grave  concern  and  called  for  clarifying  and  constructive  action. 
As  has  already  been  noted,  the  men  who  organized  the  Synod 
were  more  concerned  about  the  practical  problems  with  which  they 
were  confronted  than  about  questions  of  doctrine,  which  were  no 
v.'here  in  America  being  agitated  at  that  time.  Such  declarations  as 
were  adopted  from  time  to  time,  were  not  altogether  adequate,  and 
considerable  latitude  was  allowed  in  their  interpretation.  Add  to  this 
the  fact  that  two  of  the  leading  ministers  of  this  period,  the  Rev.  R. 
J.  Miller  and  Gottlieb  Shober,  did  not  have  a  Lutheran  background 
and  never  completely  identified  themselves  with  the  Lutheran  Church 
either  formally  or  in  spirit;  and  add  the  further  fact  that  others  who 
were  admitted  to  membership  had  not,  under  the  circumstances, 
received  a  thorough  and  systematic  training  in  the  finer  points  of 
Lutheran  Theology;  and  you  have  a  situation  that  was  not  altogether 
condusive  to  the  preservation  of  distinctively  Lutheran  doctrine.  It  is 
not  strange,  therefore,  that  unionistic  and  compromising  tendencies 
had  developed  which  called  for  correction,  and  that  un-Lutheran  prac- 
tices were  followed  which  needed  to  be  checked. 

Questions  at  issue  regarding  practice  centered  in  the  so-called 
License  System.  This  purely  American  practice  was  apparently  ac- 
cepted without  question  by  the  Synod's  organizers.  Philip  Henkel, 
whose  name  is  included  in  the  list  of  ministers  who  attended  the 
Convention  in  Lincolnton  on  October  17,  1803,  had  been  licensed  by  the 
Ministerium  of  Pennsylvania,  as  had  been  his  father,  Paul  Henkel.  A 
request  that  he  be  ordained  at  that  meeting  was  not  granted,  in 
view  of  his  youth;  but  his  license  as  a  catechist  was  renewed.  He 
was  not  ordained  until  1805.  Custom,  rather  than  rules,  was  at 
first  generally  followed;  and  regulations  governing  the  practice  were 
adopted  only  as  problems  connected  with  specific  cases  arose.  The 
indefiniteness  which  characterized  the  terms  under  which  the  licenses 
were  granted  and  the  power  which  they  conferred  was  sure  to  give 
rise  to  misunderstandings  and  differences  of  opinion,  and  to  pave 
the  way  for  future  disagreement  involving  not  only  principles  but 
also  personalities.  Thus  a  plan  generally  accepted  in  principle  could 
and  did  prove  troublesome  in  practice. 


42  History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

The  case  of  David  Henkel  served  to  bring  out  the  weakness  of 
the  system  as  it  was  practiced.  In  accordance  with  the  prevailing  cus- 
tom, he  was  licensed,  ad  interim,  as  a  catechist  by  two  ministers.  At 
the  regular  meeting  in  1813,  he  presented  himself  before  the  Synod 
with  a  petition  from  Lincoln  County,  asking  for  the  renewal  of  his 
license.  There  was  apparently  some  hesitancy  about  doing  this  on 
account  of  his  age.  He  was  at  the  time  only  eighteen  years  old, 
the  youngest  man  who  had  ever  asked  the  Synod  for  a  license.  In 
spite  of  his  youth,  he  passed  a  creditable  examination  and  was  granted 
a  license  for  one  year.  This  license  was  renewed  in  1814,  but  a  reso- 
lution was  adopted  at  that  convention  providing,  "That  hereafter  no 
uneducated  person  should  receive  license  to  preach  until  he  has  studied 
with  one  of  our  pastors  and  is  twenty-one  years  of  age."  Action  had 
been  taken  the  previous  year  to  the  effect,  "That  after  this  it  should 
no  longer  be  the  custom  to  allow  two  ministers  the  privilege,  or  power, 
to  authorize  a  young  man  to  preach  and  baptize."  Had  these  and  other 
regulations  which  were  adopted  within  the  next  few  years  been  in 
effect  previously,  much  confusion  and  misunderstanding  would 
undoubtedly  have  been  avoided.  As  it  was,  the  whole  vexing  question 
had  to  be  considered  under  circumstances  which  were  calculated  to 
engender  further  misunderstanding  rather  than  to  contribute  to  a  sound 
and  wise  policy. 

Had  the  issue  been  sound  Lutheran  doctrine  and  practice  alone, 
and  had  the  lines  been  clearly  drawn,  then  the  break  would  have  been 
inevitable;  and  the  full  responsibility  would  have  rested  upon  those 
who  had  deviated  from  the  true  Lutheran  position.  A  fair  appraisal 
of  the  records  will,  however,  show  that  the  conflict  cannot  be  reduced 
to  such  simple  terms  and  that  neither  side  can  be  made  to  bear  the 
whole  responsibility.  There  is  much  to  indicate  that  personal  differ- 
ences between  individual  members  were,  after  all,  one  of  the  under- 
lying causes  which  led  to  the  rupture,  and  that  these  differences  were 
most  pronounced  between  Gottlieb  Shober  on  the  one  side  and  David 
Henkel  on  the  other,  neither  of  which  was  disposed  to  yield  to  the  other 
in  any  way.  Dr.  G.  D.  Bernheim,  who  wrote  just  fifty  years  after  the 
final  break,  gives  the  following  description  of  these  men: 

"Rev.  Shober  was  a  man  of  decided  opinions,  unyielding  in 
everything  which  he  considered  right,  as  may  be  seen  from  a  sketch  of 
his  life  in  the  Evangelical  Review,  vol.  viii,  pp.  412-44;  'With  a  mind 
that  knew  no  dissimulation,  a  lofty  independence,  an  ardent  temper, 
and  a  character  decidedly  affirmative,  he  frequently  experienced  diffi- 
culties, and  encountered  points  other  than  pleasant,  in  his  pilgrimage 
through  life,  and  which  a  disposition  more  pliant  could  have  averted.' 
'He  was  one  of  the  most  active  defenders  of  (the)  General  Synod,  as 
he  had  also  been  prominent  among  its  early  founders.' 

"But  Rev.  Shober  was  no  Lutheran,  he  was  a  member  of  the  Mo- 
ravian Church,  and  never  disconnected  himself  from  communion  with 
the  same;  he  lived  and  died  a  member  of  that  church.  This  informa- 
tion the  writer  received  from  his  own  daughter,  the  widow  of  Bishop 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  43 

Herrman.  He  merely  served  the  Lutheran  Church  in  the  capacity  of 
one  of  its  ministers,  being  the  pastor  of  several  neglected  Lutheran 
congregations  in  the  vicinity  of  his  residence,  Salem,  N.  C.  It  may  be 
readily  perceived  that  no  compromise  could  be  expected  on  his  part, 
ii)  the  difficulties  which  distracted  the  Lutheran  Church  at  that  time. 

"Firm  as  was  the  Rev.  G.  Shober,  he  found  his  equal,  in  that 
respect,  in  Rev.  David  Henkel,  who,  though  a  young  man  then,  was 
equally  as  decided  and  unyielding  in  his  opinions.  He  was  a  hard 
student  and  well  educated,  not  only  in  the  German  and  English 
languages,  but  also  in  Latin,  Greek,  Hebrew  and  Theology,  all  of 
which  he  had  principally  acquired  by  private  study  and  close  appli- 
cation. He  was  the  best  informed  candidate  for  the  ministry  the  North 
Carolina  Synod  had  at  that  time,  and  wielded  even  then  a  considerable 
influence  in  the  church.  It  is  not  to  be  supposed  that  he  would  readily 
y:eld  his  opinions  to  others,  or  permit  himself  to  be  led  about  at  the 
will  of  even  those  who  were  older  than  himself,  when  he  believed  his 
cause  to  be  just.  In  him  the  Tennessee  Synod  had  a  champion  who 
could  not  be  easily  overcome.  He  had  a  mind  that  was  clear,  active 
and  penetrating;  he  was  quick  in  discerning  an  advantage,  and  not 
slow  to  make  use  of  it.  These  characteristics  are  gathered  principally 
from  his  own  writings."* 

In  fairness  to  all,  it  should  be  noted  that  Gottlieb  Shober  was  not  a 
Lutheran  Theologian  and  that  the  distinctive  doctrines  and  the  historic 
practices  of  the  Lutheran  Church  were  not  regarded  by  him  as  of 
primary  importance,  his  views,  however,  did  not  represent  the  official 
position  of  the  North  Carolina  Synod,  and  there  is  no  evidence  that  this 
position  of  the  Synod  was  ever  at  variance  with  the  historic  doctrines  of 
the  Lutheran  Church.  He  was  conscientiously  interested  in  the  growth 
of  the  church  and  served  faithfully  to  that  end.  He  was  president  of 
the  North  Carolina  Synod  for  nine  terms.  He  believed,  however,  that 
the  desired  end  could  be  accomplished  best  by  cooperating  with  other 
Lutheran  groups  and  with  other  denominations  even  though  this  might 
call  for  compromise  on  questions  of  doctrine.  He  felt  the  need  of  a 
united  Lutheran  Church  and  a  united  Protestantism  in  America,  and  he 
worked  untiringly,  often  unwisely,  to  bring  this  about.  He  failed  to 
see  that  the  real  strength  of  the  Lutheran  Church  always  had  and 
always  would  depend  upon  its  fidelity  to  the  truth  as  interpreted  in  its 
Confessions. 

On  the  other  hand,  David  Henkel  was  familiar  with  the  historic 
Confessions  and  practices  of  his  church  and  came  to  believe  that  only 
by  faithful  adherence  to  them  could  the  Lutheran  Church  hope  to  sur- 
vive and  grow.  He  became  their  champion  and  worked  zealously,  some- 
times unwisely,  to  preserve  and  protect  them  and  the  church  which 
he  loved. 

Both  of  these  men  were  fundamentally  sincere,  but  neither  of 
them  seenred  to  realize  the  extent  to  which  he  was  influenced  by  his 
personal  views  and  experiences,  or  to  recognize  the  inconsistencies  of 

♦  Bernheim,    p.    441-443. 


44  History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

his  own  activities.  Shober  was  "no  Lutheran",  yet  he  undertook  to 
determine  the  policy  which  the  Lutheran  Church  should  follow.  Henkel 
was  a  "strict  Lutheran",  yet  he  and  his  associates  originally  gave  their 
approval  to  the  book  called  "Luther"  which  Shober  had  prepared  and 
which  they  later  so  severely  critcized.  The  committee  appointed  at  the 
fifteenth  Convention  (1817)  to  examine  the  manuscript  of  this  book  was 
composed  of  R.  J.  Miller,  Philip  Henkel,  and  Joseph  E.  Bell  who  re- 
ported, "That  they  recommended  that  1,500  be  printed  and  bound, 
as  they  considered  it  a  very  useful  and  much  needed  work  and  calculated 
to  make  our  church  known  better  and  they  also  recommended  that  it 
be  published  at  Synod's  expense."  This  report  was  adopted  without  any 
opposition.  The  same  inconsistency  is  revealed  on  the  question  of  ordi- 
nation. David  Henkel  was  first  licensed  through  an  arrangement  that  had 
only  custom  to  support  it,  and  not  until  he  was  later  disappointed  by 
Synod's  failure  to  ordain  him  did  he  openly  question  the  soundness  of  the 
system  under  which  he  had  been  granted  privileges  which  he  un- 
hesitatingly exercised. 

It  would,  however,  be  unfair  to  place  all  responsibilities  for  the 
division  on  these  two  men,  or  on  either  of  them.  While  they  were  the 
recognized  leaders  of  the  two  factions,  and  while  each  allowed  personal 
feelings  and  prejudices  to  drive  him  to  extremes  that  made  reconcilia- 
tion difficult;  the  points  at  issue  were  vital,  and  so  long  as  they  remained 
undecided,  no  harmony  was  possible.  However,  had  the  personalities 
of  Storch  on  the  one  side,  and  Paul  and  Philip  Henkel  on  the  other, 
been  dominant  at  the  time,  the  outcome  might  have  been  different.  The 
unity  of  the  church  in  North  Carolina  might  have  been  preserved,  and 
the  needed  changes  might  have  been  worked  out  within  the  one  Synod. 
But  Storch  was  in  poor  health  and  had  been  forced  to  allow  others  to 
assume  much  of  the  responsibility  of  leadership;  Paul  Henkel  was 
advanced  in  years  and  was  no  longer  living  in  the  state;  and  Philip 
Henkel  lacked  some  of  the  intellectual  brilliance  and  unyielding  aggres- 
siveness of  his  young  brother  David. 

Paul  Henkel,  who  usually  wrote  so  fully  in  his  Diary  about  his 
activities  and  experiences,  is  strangely  silent  about  much  that  took 
place.  The  following,  a  part  of  which  seems  to  have  been  supplied  by 
the  translator,  is  the  only  entry  covering  the  momentous  period  from 
May  to  September,  1820: 

"Sunday,  May  the  28th.  Attended  the  annual  convention  of  the 
North  Carolina  Synod.  After  religious  exercises,  all  participated  in 
the  first  business  session  of  the  Synod,  after  which  the  separation  took 
place:  all  the  members  living  in  Tennessee  (except  J.  E.  Bell),  and  Paul 
and  David  Henkel,  with  their  lay  delegates,  decided  to  meet  in  Ten- 
nessee in  July  to  form  a  new  Synod.  This  was  the  last  meeting  of  the 
North  Carolina  Synod  attended  by  the  Henkels.  Philip  Henkel  was 
absent  but  was  included  as  one  of  the  pastors  living  in  the  state 
cf  Tennessee.  May  29th  to  July  17th,  Paul  Henkel  and  his  wife  spent 
the  time  visiting  their  sons  Philip  and  David. 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  45 

"Monday,  July  17,  1820.  Paul  Henkel  and  the  pastors  interested 
in  the  formation  of  a  Lutheran  Synod  for  the  State  of  Tennessee  met 
and  discussed  a  plan  of  union,  which  was  adopted.  For  the  third  time 
Paul  Henkel  participated  as  a  leader  in  the  organization  of  a  Synod: 
North  Carolina  in  1803;  Ohio  in  1818;  and  now  Tennessee  in  1820. 

"Saturday,  August  12,  1820.  Wife  and  I  drove  off  for  our  home  in 
New  Market  today."* 

The  actual  break  did  not  come  until  1820,  but  events  which  led 
up  to  it  and  circumstances  which  attended  these  events  are  an  essential 
part  of  the  story.  They  are  presented  here  in  sequence  and  with  an 
effort  to  preserve  a  degree  of  objectivity  that  should  be  possible  after 
tne  lapse  of  more  than  130  years. 

At  the  eleventh  Convention  (1813),  the  question  was  raised  as 
to  whether  candidates  should  be  allowed  to  administer  the  sacraments 
before  ordination.  It  had  previously  been  the  custom  to .  permit  them 
lo  do  this.  The  point  was  referred  to  the  next  meeting  of  Synod,  and 
Vi'hen  it  was  again  brought  up,  a  previous  action  permitting  them  to  do 
this  was  reaffirmed.  At  the  thirteenth  Convention,  the  question  as  to 
whether  all  who  are  admitted  or  authorized  to  serve  in  our  congrega- 
tions should  be  consecrated  (ordained)  by  the  laying  on  of  hands  was 
brought  before  the  Synod.  Again,  action  was  deferred  until  the  next 
meeting  of  Synod,  and  at  this  meeting  Synod's  position  on  the  License 
System  was  reaffirmed  and  it  was  resolved,  "To  follow  the  practice  of 
cur  honored  ministerial  brethren  in  Pennsylvania  in  regard  to  grades  or 
orders."  As  a  concession  to  the  petitioners  from  Lincoln  county  who 
contended  that  no  one  should  be  permitted  to  administer  the  sacra- 
ments without  having  been  fully  ordained  by  the  laying  on  of  hands, 
3  new  procedure  effective  for  one  year  was  approved.  President  Storch 
alone  dissenting.  In  accordance  with  the  provisions  of  this  action,  all 
candidates,  including  David  Henkel,  were  handed  their  usual  licenses 
with  full  powers,  with  the  benediction  and  imposition  of  hands,  but 
were  not  regarded  as  ordained  ministers.  David  Henkel  had  expected 
t«.-  be  ordained  at  this  Convention  but,  in  view  of  the  agitation  over 
the   ordination   question,   the   request   was    not   granted. 

The  next  Convention  (1817)  marked  the  three  hundredth  anniver- 
sary of  the  Reformation,  and  a  reasonable  degree  of  harmony  seemed 
to  prevail.  However,  several  actions  were  taken  which  were  destined 
to  have  a  bearing  on  future  developments.  At  its  Convention  the  previous 
year.  Synod  had  instructed  its  Secretary  to  prepare  the  manuscript  for 
a  book  containing  a  history  of  the  Reformation,  the  growth  and  exten- 
sion of  the  church,  its  cultus,  rules  and  regulations,  with  short  ab- 
stracts thereof,  also  the  Augsburg  Confession,  and  citations  and  stories 
from  Luther's  writings  regarding  his  doctrines  and  character.  This  is 
the  book  which  was  later  known  as  "Luther".  The  manuscript  sub- 
mitted was  reviewed  by  a  committee  and  approved  for  publication  and 

*  Paul   Henkel's  Diary,   p.   386. 


46  History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

distribution.  The  question  as  to  whether  the  rule  and  regulation  (prac- 
tice) granting  permission  to  candidates  to  administer  the  sacraments 
(doing  so  without  the  laying  on  of  hands,  i.  e.,  without  ordination)  be 
continued  was  considered  and,  by  vote,  it  was  decided  that  it  be  retained 
in  force.  Five  ministers  voted  for  it  and  the  Rev.  R.  J.  Miller  against  it. 
A  desire  was  expressed  that,  since  the  fall  was  so  often  a  sickly  time, 
the  time  for  holding  the  Convention  of  Synod  be  changed  to  the  Spring. 
This  was  done  with  the  consent  of  all  the  delegates,  and  the  time  for 
the  next  meeting  was  fixed  on  the  first  Trinity  Sunday  in  1819. 

This  last  action  proved  to  be  particularly  unfortunate.  As  a  result, 
ii-j  meeting  of  Synod  was  provided  for  during  the  year  1818.  Had  there 
been  a  meeting  at  the  usual  time  of  year,  at  least  some  of  the  circum- 
stances which  led  up  to  the  rupture  might  have  been  avoided.  The 
proposal  of  the  Ministerium  of  Pennsylvania  that,  if  possible,  a  more 
intimate  union  of  all  Synods  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  the  United 
States  be  effected,  might  have  received  due  and  deliberate  consideration 
at  a  full  meeting;  the  matter  of  ordaining  candidates  could  have  been 
disposed  of  in  regular  order;  and,  further,  there  would  have  been  no 
occasion  for  a  change  in  the  "firmly  fixed"  time  for  the  next  meeting 
of  Synod.  Unfortunately,  no  one  seemed  to  have  anticipated  these 
problems  when   all   delegates   consented   to   the   change. 

In  the  meantime,  the  call  from  the  Pennyslvania  Synod  to  consult 
v/ith  that  body,  during  its  sessions  in  Baltimore  on  Trinity  Sunday, 
1819,  about  the  propriety  of  organizing  a  general  Synod  was  officially 
received  by  the  Secretary.  Since  compliance  with  this  request  on  the 
part  of  the  North  Carolina  Synod  would  necessitate  an  earlier  meeting, 
the  officers  of  Synod  decided  to  advance  the  time  of  meeting  six  weeks, 
and  to  notify  the  ministers  of  this  change.  Although  there  was  no 
authority  for  such  a  change,  it  would  most  likely  have  been  allowed 
to  pass  unchallenged  had  it  not  been  for  the  strained  relations  that 
already  existed  within  the  Synod  which  were  further  aggravated  by 
actions  taken  at  the  meeting.  This  meeting,  sometimes  referred  to  as 
"the  untimely  meeting",  was  held  in  St.  John's  church,  Cabarrus  county, 
beginning  on  April  26,  1819.  Six  pastors,  three  candidates,  five  catechists 
and  twelve  lay  delegates  were  present.  Four  pastors  and  six  candidates 
and  catechists  were  absent.  The  reason  for  the  change  in  time  of  meet- 
ing was  explained  and  it  was  unanimously  agreed  to  allow  and  sanction 
this  Synod  as  the  Synod  of  1819.  Secretary  G.  Shober  was  elected  to 
attend  the  meeting  of  the  Pennyslvania  Synod  and,  if  possible,  favor, 
in  the  name  of  the  Synod,  the  proposed  union.  He  was  given  power 
to  act,  provided  the  Constitution  adopted  should  be  in  accordance  with 
iiistructions  which  he  had  received  from  the  Synod.  In  case  resolu- 
tions were  adopted  differing  from  his  instructions,  such  resolutions 
were  to  be  presented  at  the  next  meeting  o'^  Synod  for  ratification  or 
rejection.  Complaints  were  made  to  the  Synod  against  David  Henkel, 
especially  by  Andrew  Hoyle,  Esq.  and  by  several  Presbyterian  preachers. 
These  complaints,  which  seem  to  have  arisen  as  a  result  of  the  youthful 
ardor  with  which   David  Henkel  had  championed  his  views  on  Luth- 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  47 

eran  doctrines  and  practices  which  had  produced  discord  within  his  own 
congregations  and  resentment  on  the  part  of  other  members  of  the 
community,  were  examined  and  discussed  at  length  in  the  pres- 
ence of  the  accused  David  Henkel.  In  view  of  the  fact  that  some  of 
the  charges  were  substantiated,  others  were  not,  he  was  reduced  from 
the  position  of  candidate  to  that  of  catechist,  and  was  given  a  license  for 
twelve  months  with  the  provision  that,  "If  at  the  expiration  of  six  monhs, 
he  can  bring  a  written  statement  from  his  congregations  that  peace 
among  them  had  been  restored,  and  no  more  serious  complaints  be 
presented  against  him,  then  the  President  of  Synod  shall  grant  him  a 
license  as  candidate."  With  this  decision  David  Henkel  expressed  him- 
self as  being  satisfied,  promised  to  do  better,  and  according  to  all  ap- 
pearances reconciled  himself  with  Mr.  Hoyle* 

The  actions  of  this  convention  were  in  order  and  could  not  have 
been  questioned  if  it  had  been  held  at  the  time  decided  upon  at  the 
previous  meeting.  That  such  a  change  was  irregular  cannot  be  dis- 
puted, and  that  it  was  unwise  is  fully  borne  out  by  events  that  followed. 
On  the  following  Trinity  Sunday,  the  time  agreed  upon  in  1817  for  this 
ye:ar's  meeting,  the  Rev.  Philip  Henkel,  Candidate  Joseph  E.  Bell,  Catechist 
David  Henkel,  and  seven  lay  delegates  met  at  St.  John's  church,  Cabar- 
rus county,  the  place  appointed  in  1817  for  the  1819  convention.  A  dele- 
gation was  appointed  to  visit  President  Storch  who  was  then  living  in 
nearby  Rowan  county,  with  a  written  request  that  he  come  to  the 
church,  "In  order  that  everything  might  be  arranged  and  done  in  a 
regular  and  orderly  manner."  Storch  excused  himself  on  the  ground 
that  he  was  not  very  well,  but  called  their  attention  to  the  fact  that  the 
Synod  had  already  been  held  and  that  there  was  no  need  for  holding 
it  over  again.  He  finally  agreed  that  the  church  might  be  opened  for 
preaching  but  not  for  any  Synodical  business.  Services  were  held  in 
the  church  after  which  the  group  met  under  r.everal  shade  trees  nearby. 
Petitions  from  David  Henkel's  congregations  requesting  that  he  be 
oidained  were  considered.  Whereupon  David  Henkel  and  Candidate 
J.  E.  Bell  were  oidained  by  the  Rev.  Philip  Henkel.*  This  action  was 
justified  on  the  ground  that  Synod,  at  its  1817  convention,  had  provided 
foi  the  ordination  of  David  Henkel  and  other  candidates  on  Trinity 
Sunday,  1819.  The  charges  that  had  been  brought  against  David  Henkel 
at  the  meeting  held  six  weeks  earlier  were  apparently  ignored. 

The  seventeenth  convention  of  Synod,  which  began  on  May  28, 
1820,  was  held  in  Emmanuel  Church,  at  Lincolnton.  Services  were 
held  in  both  German  and  English  and  the  Holy  Communion  was 
celebrated.  It  was  announced  that  Synod  would  meet  for  business 
at  nine  o'clock  the  next  day.  At  this  session,  the  Minutes  of  the 
convention  held  on  April  26,  1819,  were  read  in  both  languages.  Presi- 
dent Storch's  suggestion  that  since  mistakes   had  been  made  on  both 

*  The   facts   presented    in   this   paragraph    were   gathered    from    the    Minutes   of   the 
1819   Convention  of  the  North   Carolina  Synod. 

*  History  of  the  Tennessee  Synod,   pp.   16-17. 


48  History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

sides  everything  be  forgotten,  precipitated  an  angry  discussion  which 
was  only  ended  by  the  adoption  of  a  resolution  to  adjourn  to  meet 
again  in  the  afternoon.  The  one  party  to  which  David  Henkel  be- 
longed, remained  in  the  building;  and  after  some  deliberation  and 
consultation,  adjourned.  The  other  withdrew  to  a  nearby  hotel  and 
proceeded  to  organize  the  convention  by  electing  the  Rev.  C.  A.  G. 
Storch,  President,  and  Gottlieb  Shober,  Secretary.  On  Tuesday,  May 
30,  the  Synod  met  in  the  church.  Seven  pastors,  three  candidates, 
and  three  catechists,  and  eighteen  lay  delegates  were  present.  By 
more  than  a  two-thirds  majority  of  the  members  present,  everything 
done  in  the  Synod  of  1819  was  ratified  anew  as  was  the  Constitution, 
as  contained  in  the  book  "Luther",  with  the  exception  of  principles  or 
rules  changed  since  then.  Candidate  J.  E.  Bell  presented  himself  before 
the  Synod,  acknowledged  his  error  in  submitting  to  ordination  by  the 
Rev.  Philip  Henkel,  contrary  to  the  regulations  of  Synod,  and  asked 
to  be  reinstated.  The  Synod  then  decided,  first,  that  his  previous  ordi- 
nation was  illegal  and  invalid;  and,  second,  that  in  view  of  his  repent- 
ence  and  confession,  and  his  promise  to  remain  loyal  to  the  Lutheran 
church  and  faithful  to  his  ordination  vows,  his  ordination  be  made  valid 
by  the  Synod.  The  proposal  that  David  Henkel's  ordination  be  made 
valid  was  rejected,  since  he  himself,  had  shown  no  inclination  to  submit 
to  the  regulations  of  Synod  and  had  made  no  request  for  reinstatement. 

The  final  break  toward  which  events  had  been  leading  took  place 
at  the  convention  in  Lincolnton  on  May  29,  1820.  The  one  group  con- 
tinued as  the  North  Carolina  Synod  and  proceeded  with  the  transaction 
of  its  regular  business.  The  other  group  met  again  on  July  17  of  the 
same  year,  in  Solomon's  church,  Greene  county,  Tennessee,  and  organized 
a  new  Synod.  The  separation  between  the  two  contending  parties  was 
now  fully  effected,  and  both  Synods  continued  to  labor  industriously  in 
their  chosen  spheres  of  operation;  but  the  bitter  spirit  which  had  devel- 
oped continued  to  manifest  itself  for  many  years,  and  the  overlapping 
fields  of  activity  gave   frequent  occasion  for   its  continued   expression. 

An  effort  has  been  made  to  trace  the  steps  which  led  up  to  and 
accompanied  this  first  outward  break  among  the  Lutherans  who,  for 
nearly  twenty  years,  had  worked  together  in  one  organization.  This 
has  not  been  easy,  and  perhaps  not  too  successful,  for  such  original 
records  as  are  available  clearly  reflect  the  paitisan  sympathies  of  their 
authors.  Any  effort  at  interpretation  would  encounter  the  same  diffi- 
culties, and  it  is  perhaps  better  to  follow  the  example  of  Paul  Henkel 
and  omit  any  such  effort  entirely.  Members  of  a  reunited  body  who  have 
worked  together  in  harmony  for  more  than  thirty  years  can  well  afford 
to  forget  much  of  the  unpleasantness  of  those  days.  The  unfortunate 
effects  of  what  took  place  are  so  obvious  and  so  well  known  that  they 
need  not  be  recounted  here.  Less  obvious  is  the  fact  that  its  effects  were 
not  altogether  negative.  Many  have  recognized  this  but  none  more 
clearly  than  did  Dr.  G.  D.  Bernheim.  Sufficient  time  had  lapsed  when 
he  wrote  to  allow  the  constructive  results  to  become  apparent  and  not 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  49 

enough  to  obscure  them.     His  observations  are,  therefore,  of  sufficient 
merit  to  be  recorded  here.     He  writes: 

"Although  divisions  in  the  church  are  always  to  be  dreaded,  and, 
except  in  cases  of  doctrinal  differences,  always  to  be  avoided,  never- 
theless, when  they  do  occur,  they  sometimes  effect  good  in  vitalizing 
dormant  energies,  and  in  re-establishing  the  pure  faith  of  the  Gospel. 
Such  was  the  case  in  this  division;  it  increased  the  number  of  ministers, 
it  provided  for  the  wants  of  so  many  neglected  congregations,  it  made 
ministers  and  laymen  all  the  more  energetic,  zealous  and  faithful  in 
the  discharge  of  their  duties,  and  it  resulted  in  an  enlarged  increase  in 
the  strength  of  the  church."* 

He  then  goes  on  to  point  out  that  God  made  use  of  this  division 
in  the  church  to  accomplish  a  special  purpose  for  the  Lutheran  church 
in  America.  It  served  to  attract  attention  once  more  to  the  pure  doc- 
trines of  the  Lutheran  church  as  confessed  by  the  early  Reformers,  and 
to  arrest  a  gradual  yet  evident  departure  from  the  confessed  faith  and 
practices  of  the  church.  It  further  resulted  in  the  translation  of  the 
Symbols  of  the  Lutheran  church  into  the  English  lauguage.  While  there 
was  a  manifest  desire  on  the  part  of  many  to  make  the  Lutheran  church 
in  America  an  English  church,  as  well  as  a  German  church,  no  effort 
had  been  made  to  Anglicize  its  faith,  that  is,  to  translate  its  Confessions 
and  Theology  into  the  English  language.  Special  credit  is  due  the  Ten- 
nessee Synod  for  undertaking  this  work  which  has  done  so  much  in  pre- 
serving the  faith  of  the  fathers  in  this  country,  and  to  the  Henkel 
Publishing  House  at  New  Market,  Virginia,  for  undertaking  its  publi- 
cation  and   distribution. 

These  constructive  efforts  extended  far  beyond  the  bounds  of  the 
two  Synods,  although  theii  effect  was  noticeable  in  the  development 
ar;d  work  of  both.  Indirectly,  they  did  much  to  influence  the  American 
Lutheran  church  to  follow  the  course  which  ultimately  led  to  a  truly 
Lutheran  position.  Whether  these  ends  could  have  been  attained  by  a 
smoother  process  and  with  less  bitterness  will  never  be  known,  for  "What 
might  have  been"  is  not  a  part  of  history. 

Prior  to  1820,  Lutheran  development  in  North  Carolina  followed 
a  single  course.  The  first  congregations  maintained  informal  relation- 
ships and  the  early  pastors  enjoyed  a  similarly  informal  fellowship. 
The  organization  of  a  Synod  drew  both  pastors  and  congregations  closer 
together  and  enabled  them  to  serve  the  interests  of  the  church  in  the 
state  more  effectively  and  to  extend  their  efforts  into  adjacent  states. 
This  situation  made  a  unity  and  continuity  of  treatment  both  possible  and 
natural.  The  separation  in  1820  resulted  in  an  entirely  different  situa- 
tion, and  for  a  century  two  distinct  Synods  operated  on  the  same  field, 
each  engaging  in  its  own  activities  and  pursuing  its  own  course  of  devel- 
opment.    To  a  certain  extent,  the  fields  of  the  two  Synods  overlapped, 

*  History  of  the  Tennessee  Synod,   pp.   443-444. 


50  History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

and  the  development  was  parallel:  but  their  activities  were  entirely 
distinct  and  must  be  followed  through  separately  until  they  again  con- 
verge at  the  end  of  the  period.  During  the  first  half  of  this  period,  three 
additional  Synods,  made  up  in  part  of  congregations  that  had  at  one 
time  been  a  part  of  the  original  North  Carolina  Synod,  were  organized; 
but  they  need  to  be  considered  only  in  connection  with  the  Synod  of  which 
they  were  a  part  at  the  time  of  their  organization. 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  51 

CHAPTER  V 

The  North  Carolina  Synod 
1820  - 1920 

The  line  of  development  in  the  North  Carolina  Synod  after  1820 
was,  in  reality,  a  continuation  of  the  phase  which  had  begun  with 
the  organization  in  1803.  The  Synod  continued  to  operate  under  the 
rules  and  regulations  already  adopted.  At  the  convention  held  in  1820, 
it  elected  its  officers  and  transacted  its  regular  business  as  though 
nothing  had  happened.  Subsequent  changes  in  its  constitution  and 
policies  were  simply  the  result  of  later  developments  and  were  effected 
in  a  normal  procedure.  Twice  within  the  next  quarter  century  it  lost 
ministers  and  congregations  through  the  organization  of  new  Synods; 
but  its  essential  identity  was  not  affected,  and  its  development  was 
pot  seriously  retarded  or  deflected.  To  a  certain  extent,  the  same  may 
be  said  about  the  formation  of  the  Tennessee  Synod.  The  chief  differ- 
ences were  that  this  separation  resulted  from  internal  conditions  rather 
than  from  normal  territorial  expansion,  and  that  it  was  attended  by 
bitterness  rather  than  by  fraternal  understanding  and  good  will.  This 
left  the  two  bodies  each  emphasizing  points  of  difference  and  each  con- 
tending for  the  same  fields  even  down  to  the  congregational  and 
individual  level:  and  while  it  did  give  rise  to  vexing  problems,  it  did 
not  radically  change  the  course  of  developmient  in  the  mother  Synod. 

The  formation  of  the  Tennessee  Synod  resulted  in  the  immediate 
loss  to  the  North  Carolina  Synod  of  two  ordained  ministers,  three 
licentiates,  and  nine  congregations  located  in  Tennessee.  Other  con- 
gregations, especially  those  west  of  the  Catawba  river,  united  with  the 
new  Synod  within  a  few  years.  Still,  the  parochial  report  of  the  North 
Carolina  Synod  for  1821  carried  the  names  of  eleven  ordained  ministers, 
and  twelve  deacons,  candidates,  and  catechists.  These  reported  578 
children  and  39  adults  baptized  and  189  young  people  confirmed.  No 
list  of  congregations  is  given,  and  it  is  impossible  to  determine  the 
exact  number;  but  it  has  been  estimated  that  there  were  about  fifty 
with  a  membership  of  between  four  and  five  thousand.*  This  included 
congregations  in  Virginia  and  South  Carolina  and  possibly  in  other 
states.  The  report  would  indicate  that,  in  spite  of  the  losses  suffered, 
the  numerical  strength  of  the  Synod  was  not  seriously  reduced  at 
that  time. 

Conditions  existed,  however,  that  were  not  conducive  to  a  smooth 
and  progressive  development.  Losses  were  by  no  means  limited  to 
those  suffered  in  1820-1821.  Pastors  and  entire  congregations  continued 
to  withdraw,  and  in  other  instances,  congregations  were  disrupted. 
One  group  of  members  would  remain  loyal  to  the  North  Carolina  Synod 

*  History  of  N.  C.  Synod,  p.  41. 


52  History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

while  another  would  become  affiliated  with  the  Tennessee  Synod. 
This  resulted  in  material  losses  and  kept  alive  and  stirred  up  the  fires 
of  controversy. 

Further  than  that,  the  withdrawal  of  the  more  conservative 
leaders  served  to  unbalance  the  relative  strength  of  groups  represent- 
ing divergent  trends,  and  to  give  an  advantage  to  those  who  were  more 
concerned  about  the  promotion  of  ecclesiastical  union  than  the  preser- 
vation of  sound  Lutheranism.  This  was  evident  from  the  action  of 
the  Synod  taken  at  the  1820  convention  after  the  break  had  occurred. 
Pastor  Shober  presented  his  report  as  Synod's  representative  to  the 
Pennsylvania  Synod  at  its  meeting  the  previous  year.  He  stated  that  a 
plan  had  been  agreed  upon  setting  forth  how  all  Synods  could  join  in 
one  General  Synod;  but  he  called  attention  to  the  fact  that  the  plan, 
which  had  been  printed  and  had  been  circulated  among'  members  of 
the  Synod,  did  not  fully  agree  with  instructions  by  the  Synod.  He 
further  pointed  out  that  the  Synod  was  under  no  obligation  to  adopt  it. 
The  desire  for  such  a  union,  however,  was  so  strong  that  the  plan  was 
considered  by  item  and  was  adopted  by  a  vote  of  sixteen  yeas  and 
six  nays.  Two  ministers  and  two  lay  delegates  were  elected,  according 
to  the  provisions  of  the  plan,  to  meet  with  the  representatives  of  other 
Synods  that  same  year,  in  Hagerstown,  Maryland,  to  unite  with  them 
in  the  adoption  of  a  constitution  and  the  formation  of  a  General  Synod. 

An  even  more  radical  action  was  to  follow.  For  some  time,  a 
cordial  relationship  had  been  maintained  between  the  Synod  and  mem- 
bers of  the  Protestant  Episcopal  church  in  the  state.  This  had  been 
due,  in  part,  to  the  influence  of  the  Rev.  R.  J.  Miller.  At  the  convention 
of  Synod  held  in  1821,  it  was  reported,  "That  the  Rev.  R.  J.  Miller, 
who  for  many  years,  faithfully  served  our  church  as  a  minister,  took 
friendly  leave  of  our  Ministerium,  in  view  of  the  fact  that  he  had 
united  with  the  English  Episcopal  church,  and  had  been  consecrated 
priest  by  the  Bishop."  Whereupon,  the  Synod,  "Resolved,  that  the  presi- 
dent, in  the  name  of  our  church,  tender  him  thanks  for  his  many  years 
of  service."  The  extent  and  value  of  this  service  was  outstanding. 
For  more  than  a  quarter  of  a  century,  he  served  faithfully  as  a  pastor 
and  was  one  of  the  four  ministers  who  took  part  in  the  organization  of 
the  Synod  in  1803.  At  various  times,  he  served  as  its  secretary  or  its 
president,  and  as  its  traveling  missionary.  His  journals  covering  his 
activities  in  the  latter  capacity,  which  were  handed  in  at  the  annual 
meetings  of  Synod  and  were  printed  in  its  Minutes,  gave  detailed 
information  about  his  work  and  are  a  source  of  valuable  information 
about  conditions  at  that  time.  From  1821  until  his  death  in  1834,  he 
continued  to  serve  Episcopal  congregations  in  Caldwell,  Iredell  and 
Rowan  counties.  He  was  a  man  of  sterling  character  and  was  highly 
respected  by  all  who  knew  him,  regardless  of  their  church  affiliations. 
One  daughter,  Catherine,  married  the  Rev.  Godfrey  Dreher. 

At  this  same  convention  in  1821,  the  Revs.  Adam  Empie  and  G.  T. 
Bedell,  and  Duncan  Cameron,  representing  the  English  Episcopal  church, 
appeared   before  the  Synod  with   a   proposal  that  if  possible,   a  union 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  53 

between  the  churches  be  effected.  In  connection  with  their  appoint- 
ment, the  Journal  of  the  Episcopal  North  Carolina  Convocation  refers 
to,  "That,  truly  respectable  denomination,  the  Lutherans."  *  This 
delegation  was  affectionately  received,  and  a  committee  consisting  of 
The  Revs.  G.  Shober  and  M.  Rauch,  and  Henry  Ratz,  Esq.,  was  chosen 
to  consult  with  them  on  a  plan  of  union.  The  next  day  they  submitted 
the  following  plan: 

"I.  Resolved,  That  we  deem  it  expedient  and  desirable  that  the 
Lutheran  Synod  and  the  Protestant  Episcopal  church  of  North  Carolina 
should  be  united  together  in  closest  bonds  of  friendship. 

"II.  Resolved,  That  for  this  purpose  we  will  mutually  make  such 
consessions  as  may  not  be  inconsistent  with  the  rules  and  regulations 
of  our  respective  churches,  for  the  purpose  of  promoting  a  friendly 
intercourse. 

"III.  Resolved,  That  the  convention  of  the  Protestant  Episcopal 
church  may  send  a  delegation  of  one  or  more  persons  to  the  annual  Synod 
01  the  Lutheran  church,  which  person  or  persons  shall  be  entitled  to 
an  honorary  seat  in  that  body,  and  to  the  privilege  of  expressing  their 
opinions  and  voting  in  all  cases  except  when  a  division  is  called  for; 
in  which  case  they  shall  not  vote. 

"IV.  Resolved,  That  the  Lutheran  Synod  may,  in  like  manner, 
send  a  deputation  to  the  convention  of  the  Protestant  Episcopal  church, 
who  in  all  respects  shall  be  entitled  to  the  same  privileges. 

"V.  Resolved,  That  all  the  ministers  of  the  Lutheran  church 
in  union  with  the  Synod  shall  be  entitled  to  honorary  seats  in  the 
convention  of  the  Protestant  Episcopal  church;  and  the  clergymen  of 
the  said  last-mentioned  church  shall,  in  like  manner,  be  entitled  to 
honorary  seats  in  the  Synod  of  the  Lutheran  church. 

"The  committee  respectfully  recommended  to  the  convention  of 
the  Protestant  Episcopal  church,  and  to  the  Synod  of  the  Lutheran 
church    the    adoption    of    the    foregoing    resolutions." 

This  report  was  adopted  by  the  Synod  at  that  convention,  and 
b}  the  convention  of  the  Episcopal  church  held  in  Raleigh,  April  18, 
1822.  Representatives  were  elected  by  each  body  to  attend  the  meeting 
of  the  other.  The  plan  of  union  must  not  have  proven  feasible,  for 
nothing  more  about  it  appears  in  the  Minutes.  However,  there  is 
no  record  of  its  having  ever  been  revoked. 

Efforts  to  strengthen  and  enlarge  the  work  of  the  Synod  through 
the  establishment  of  relations  with  other  groups  were,  to  a  certain 
extent,  offset  by  losses  due  to  the  organization  of  new  Synods.  The 
first  occurred  in  1824.  The  pastors  of  North  Carolina  had,  almost 
from  the  beginning,  manifested  an  interest  in  their  brethren  in 
the  faith  who  had   settled  in  South  Carolina,   and  some  of  them  had 

*  Bernheim's  History,   p.   458. 


54  History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

made  frequent  visits  to  that  state.  As  a  result  of  their  efforts,  a  num- 
ber of  congregations  were  organized,  particularly  in  the  Lexington  and 
Orangeburg  districts.  After  the  organization  of  the  North  Carolina  Synod, 
these  congregations  and  their  pastors  gradually  became  affiliated  with  the 
new  body.  The  name  of  the  Rev.  Christopher  Bernhardt  is  listed  among 
the  pastors  who  attended  the  fourth  convention,  and  he  was  elected  its 
secretary  at  that  meeting.  The  minutes  of  the  eighth  convention  state 
that,  "The  following  congregations  from  South  Carolina  have  united 
with  our  Synod:  Bethel  church,  St.  Peter's  church,  and  Zion  church." 
Among  the  candidates  present  at  the  ninth  convention  were  J.  P. 
Franklow  and  Godfrey  Dreher  from  South  Carolina.  By  the  year  1824, 
the  work  in  that  state  had  developed  to  a  point  where  the  organization 
of  a  new  Synod  seemed  desirable,  "Accordingly,  on  January  14,  1824,  the 
following  clergymen  of  the  Evangelical  Lutheran  church  met  at  St. 
Michael's  church,  Lexington  district,  with  the  intention  of  organizing  a 
Synod  for  South  Carolina  and  adjacent  states,  namely:  Revs.  John  P. 
Franklow,  John  Y.  Meetze,  Godfrey  Dreher,  Michael  Rauch,  Jacob  Moser, 
all  residing  in  the  Lexington  district,  and  Rev.  Samuel  Herscher  of  the 
Orangeburg  district.  South  Carolina."*  All  these  men  were,  at  the 
time,  members  of  the  North  Carolina  Synod.  After  due  consideration, 
those  present  unanimously  resolved,  "That  the  situation  and  wants 
of  the  Evangelical  Lutheran  churches  in  'South  Carolina'  require  that 
a  Synod  be  now  organized." 

The  minutes  of  the  North  Carolina  Synod  (1825)  contain  the  fol- 
lowing: "The  ministers  in  South  Carolina  have  since  our  last  conven- 
tion organized  themselves  into  a  body  of  their  own,  and  report  now 
in  our  letter  that  they  wish  to  cooperate  v/ith  us  in  love  and  unity. 
Our  president  will  report  to  them  that  this  is  our  wish."  Thus  the  first 
normal  and  peaceful  separation  from  the  mother  Synod  of  the  South 
was  consummated,  and  the  harmony  which  was  desired  by  all  con- 
tinued to  prevail.  While  it  resulted  in  a  substantial  loss  to  the  North 
Carolina  Synod  in  members  and  territory,  its  salutary  effect  upon  the 
whole  church  fully  justified  the  policy  which  it  initiated. 

Eighteen  years  later,  the  Synod  was  again  confronted  with  a 
similar  situation.  As  has  been  previously  indicated,  Lutherans  in  Vir- 
ginia and  East  Tennessee  south  and  west  of  the  James  river  early  sought 
fellowship  with  their  brethren  in  North  Carolina,  and  North  Carolina 
pastors  felt  a  definite  responsibility  toward  them.  Paul  Henkel  made 
several  trips  through  this  territory  and  did  much  to  hold  them  together. 
R.  J.  Miller  included  it  in  his  itinerary  as  traveling  missionary;  and 
he  and  his  associate,  Jacob  Scherer,  turned  the  attention  of  the  shep- 
herdless  congregations  in  South  Western  Virginia  to  the  North  Carolina 
Synod.  As  a  result,  twenty  congregations  applied  for  admission  into 
the  Synod  and  were  received  at  its  convention  held  in  1813.  These 
were  served,  partly  by  the  Rev.  Peter  Schmucker  and  partly  by  visiting 
pastors.    The  Synod  held  its  twenty-third  convention  in  Zion   church, 

*  Bernheim's  History,  p.  467. 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  55 

Botetourt  county,  Virginia.  Its  twenty-sixth  was  held  in  St.  John's; 
its  thirty-first  in  St.  Paul's;  its  thirty-fifth  in  Zion,  and  its  thirty- 
eighth  in  St.  Peter's,  all  churches  in  Wythe  county,  Virginia. 

According  to  the  history  of  the  Lutheran  church  in  Virginia  and 
East  Tennessee,  "At  the  thirty-seventh  convention  of  the  North  Carolina 
Synod  held  in  St.  Michael's  church,  Iredell  county,  N.  C,  October  3, 
1840,  a  petition  was  presented  by  the  ministers  and  lay  delegates  in 
southwest  Virginia,  asking  permission  to  form  their  congregations  into 
a  separate  Synod.  The  petition  was  signed  by  the  pastors  Jacob 
Scherer  and  Elijah  Hawkins,  the  licentiates  John  J.  Greever  and  Gideon 
Scherer,  and  the  lay  delegates  Michael  Brown  of  Wythe  county,  John 
Grosclose  of  Smythe  county,  and  Stephen  Sprecher  of  Burke's  Garden. 
The  Synod  in  a  generous  spirit  granted  the  request,  and  the  persons 
named  agreed  to  meet  in  St.  John's  church,  Wythe  county,  Va.,  on 
the  20th  day  of  September,  1841,  in  order  to  make  preliminary  arrange- 
ments for  the  contemplated  union.  This  was  done;  a  committee  was 
appointed  to  draft  a  constitution  and  the  congregations  were  requested 
to  elect  lay  delegates  for  the  first  meeting  to  be  held  in  May,  1842,  in 
Zion  church,  Floyd  county,  Va. 

"Fifteen  congregations  which  had  previously  been  members  of  the 
North  Carolina  Synod  united  to  form  the  new  Synod.  Their  names  and 
county  locations  are  as  follows:  In  Wythe  county,  Zion,  St.  Paul's, 
St.  Peter's,  Kimberling,  St.  John's,  Bethel,  and  Sharon;  in  Tazewell  coun- 
ty, Burke's  Garden;  in  Botetourt  county;  Union  and  Cop's;  in  Roanoke 
county,  Zion  and  Glade  Creek;  in  Floyd  county,  Zion;  in  Smythe  county. 
Pleasant  Hill  and  Chilhowie.  At  the  first  convention,  two  more  applied 
for  admission  and  were  gladly  received."* 

Of  the  six  ministers  who  took  part  in  the  organization  meeting 
on  September  20,  1842,  two,  Jacob  Scherer  and  Elijah  Hawkins, 
were  ordained  ministers  of  the  North  Carolina  Synod;  and  two,  J.  J. 
Greever  and  Gideon  Scherer,  were  licentiates  of  the  same  Synod. 
Again  the  North  Carolina  Synod  had  suffered  the  loss  of  members  and 
territory;  but  once  more  the  new  organization  carried  with  it  the  bless- 
ings of  the  mother  Synod  under  whose  care  it  had  reached  the  age  of 
self-determination  and  self-support. 

In  this  connection,  reference  should  be  made  to  a  third  Synod 
v/hich  was  formed  under  the  guidance  and  with  the  blessing  of  the 
North  Carolina  Synod,  even  though  it  did  not  come  into  existance 
until  a  much  later  period.  Almost  from  the  beginning,  the  Synod 
recognized  its  responsibility  for  the  spiritual  care  of  members  of  the 
Negro  race  who,  under  the  institution  of  slavery,  were  so  closely  con- 
nected with  the  people  who  made  up  its  congregations.  At  its  twelfth 
convention,  the  following  was  adopted:  "Resolved,  That  it  is  our  duty 
to  preach  the  Gospel  to  Negroes,  and  after  proper  instruction  to  admit 
them  to  all  the  means  of  Grace  of  the  church,  and  for  this  purpose  to 

*  History  of  Lutheran  Church  in  Va.,  East  Tenn.,  p.  114-115. 


56  History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

make  room  for  them  in  our  churches."  It  was  further  declared,  "That 
Masters  are,  in  love,  requested  to  grant  liberty  to  their  slaves  for  this 
purpose,  and  herewith  it  is  placed  on  record  that  it  is  the  duty  of 
masters  to  have  them  instructed  in  Christianity."  For  several  years, 
beginning  in  1819,  the  num.ber  of  slaves  was  reported  separately.  Fifty 
baptisms  were  reported  in  1819,  forty  in  1820,  seven  slaves  and  one  In- 
dian in  1822,  and  three  in  1824.  No  further  separate  reports  are  given, 
but  the  practice  of  receiving  slaves  and  of  allowing  them  to  worship 
with  their  masters  was  continued  until  after  the  close  of  the  War  Be- 
tween the  States. 

Changed  conditions  that  followed  the  freeing  of  the  slaves  made 
some  other  arrangement  necessary.  At  the  convention  of  the  North 
Carolina  Synod  in  1868,  the  following  action  was  taken:  "Resolved, 
That  a  committee  of  two  clergymen  be  appointed  to  prepare  a  report 
on  the  Relation  of  the  Church  to  the  Freedmen."  The  committee  com- 
posed of  the  Revs.  W.  Artz  and  G.  D.  Bernhei.m  was  appointed  and  re- 
ported that  at  the  time  it  could  offer  nothing  better  than  the  plan 
adopted  by  the  Evangelical  Lutheran  Synod  of  Tennessee.  This  plan 
which  was  adopted  by  the  Tenenssee  Synod  in  1867  and  is  included  in 
the  sketch  of  that  Synod  elsewhere  in  this  narative,  was  immediately 
adopted  unanimously.  At  the  same  convention  in  1868,  Michael  M. 
Coble  presented  a  certificate  of  recommendation  signed  by  a  number 
ot  responsible  persons,  members  of  the  Lutheran  church,  and  applied 
for  license  to  preach  the  Gospel  and  administer  the  sacraments.  The 
ministerium  referred  the  application  to  a  special  committee  with  power 
to  act.  The  committee  granted  him  a  license  which  provided  that  he 
should  work  under  the  care  and  advice  of  the  Rev.  C.  H.  Bernheim 
who  was  instructed  to  withdraw  the  license  if  at  any  time  the  condi- 
tions under  which  it  was  granted  were  not  strictly  observed.  The  com- 
mittee reported  to  the  ministerium  the  next  year  that  the  said  Coble 
had  served  two  congregations  acceptably  and  recommended  the  renewal 
or  continuance  of  his  conditional  license.  This  procedure  was  followed 
for  several  years,  although  the  Synod  had  discontinued  the  practice 
of  granting  licenses  to  white  candidates  in  1869.  Negroes  who  were 
later  ordained  were  D.  J.  Koontz  in  1880,  Nathan  Clapp  and  Samuel 
Holt  in  1884,  and  W.  P.  Phifer,  who  was  approved  in  1889  and  ordained 
in  1890. 

These  four  Negro  ministers,  together  with  the  lay  representatives 
from  their  congregations,  at  the  meeting  of  Synod  in  1889,  asked  to 
be  formed  into  a  separate  Synod  of  their  own.  A  special  committee, 
consisting  of  the  Revs.  W.  G.  Campbell,  F.  W.  E.  Peschau,  George  H.  Cox, 
and  T.  S.  Brown,  was  appointed,  who  reported  to  Synods   as  follows: 

"We  your  committee  apponted  to  organize  the  Colored  Evangelical 
Lutheran  Synod,  met  in  the  council  room  of  St.  John's  Evangelical 
Lutheran  congregation,  Cabarrus  county,  N.  C,  on  Wednesday,  May  8th, 
1889,  at  11:30  A.  M.  Rev.  W.  G.  Campbell,  the  chairman,  called  the 
committee  to  order.  Rev.  George  H.  Cox  was  elected  secretary.  After 
prayer  by  Rev.  F.  W.  E.  Peschau,  the  colored  brethren  were  organized 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  57 

and  constituted  under  the  name  and  title  of  'The  Alpha  Synod  of  the 
Evangelical  Lutheran  Church  of  Freedmen  in  America.' 

"The  Constitution  of  the  North  Carolina  Synod  was  then  adopted 
as  the  constitution  of  this  Synod.  Rev.  D.  J.  Koontz  was  elected  presi- 
dent, W.  P.  Phifer,  recording  and  corresponding  secretary,  and  Rev. 
S.  Holt,  treasurer." 

Upon  the  adoption  of  this  report,  the  members  of  the  new  Synod 
offered  the  following,  which  was  unanimously  adopted: 

"Resolved,  That  we,  the  members  of  the  Alpha  Synod,  hereby 
tender  our  most  hearty  and  sincere  thanks  to  the  officers  and  members 
of  the  honorable  Synod  of  North  Carolina  for  the  kind  interest  they 
have  manifested  to  us,  the  first  Colored  Lutherans  of  North  Carolina, 
and  we  pray  that  they  may  ever  cherish  toward  us  the  same  kindly 
feelings,  and  help  us  in  oui  work.     God  bler.t-  you!" 

Later  the  Colored  Lutheran  pastors  and  churches  voluntarily  united 
with  the  Missouri  Synod,  which  had  launched  upon  an  extensive  mis- 
sionary program  among  the  Negroes  of  the  South.  While  the  North 
Carolina  Synod  had  always  shown  a  sympathetic  interest  toward  work 
among  the  Negroes  and,  beginning  in  1880,  had  given  some  financial 
support,   the   results   were   r  ever  too   encouraging. 

Local  conditions  and  territorial  expansion  had  made  the  forma- 
tion of  new  Synods  inevitable  and  desirable.  At  the  same  time,  there 
existed  a  feeling  that,  in  broader  spheres  of  activity,  some  sort  of 
cooperation  between  Synods  was  necessary.  This  became  increasingly 
apparent  as  the  church  expanded  its  program.  Practical  minded  men 
in  the  North  Carolina  Synod  felt  this  need  even  before  1820,  and  were 
perhaps  inclined  to  surrender  some  things  that  were  even  more  im- 
portant in  order  to  make  such  cooperation  possible.  Their  willingness 
to  compromise  and  their  impatient  determination  to  bring  about  a 
union  with  other  Synods  were  unfortunate,  but  their  motives  were 
honorable  and  the  ends  which  they  sought  seemed  desirable.  At  any 
rr.te,  the  relation  of  the  Synod  to  other  Synods  and  its  connection  with 
General  Lutheran  Bodies  became  an  important  factor  in  its  development. 

To  the  Ministerium  of  Pennsylvania  belongs  the  honor  of  having 
inaugurated  this  movement.  As  early  as  1807,  a  letter  was  addressed 
by  that  body  to  the  North  Carolina  Synod:  but  this  letter  was  not 
acknowledged  for  reasons  explained  in  the  following  action  taken  in  1812: 

"A  fervent  wish  being  expressed  to  enter  into  nearer  and  more 
cordial  connection  wth  the  brethren  professing  our  faith  in  Pennsylvania, 
a  letter  of  the  year  1807,  addressed  to  our  ministry,  from  the  ministry 
of  Pennsylvania,  then  in  Synod  assembled,  was  read.  We  felt  sorrow 
that  because  in  said  and  the  succeeding  year  no  full  Synod  had  here 
assembled,  and  the  same  had  been  mislaid,  and  the  receipt  never 
acknowledged   and  the   same   never  answered. 


58  History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

"Revs.  Storch  and  Shober  were  hereupon  appointed  in  the  name 
of  this  ministry  to   answer  the   said   letter." 

The  next  step  was  taken  in  1818  when  a  call  was  issued  by 
the  Ministerium  of  Pennsylvania  asking  that  representatives  from  various 
Synods  assemble  in  Baltimore,  Maryland,  at  the  time  of  the  regular 
annual  meeting  of  the  ministerium  during  Trinity  week,  1819,  to  con- 
sider a  plan  to  be  proposed  for  the  closer  union  of  all  the  Lutheran 
Synods  in  America.  Unfortunate  developments  which  attended  the 
action  of  the  Synod  with  respect  to  this  call  have  already  been  pre- 
sented in  another  connection,  and  mention  has  been  made  of  the  fact 
that  the  Synod,  in  1820,  voted,  by  more  than  a  two-thirds  majority,  to 
become  a  part  of  the  organization  which  became  known  as  the  General 
Synod.  It  remained  a  member  of  this  body  and  continued  to  take 
an  active  and  influential  part  in  its  deliberations  and  work  until  after 
the  beginning  of  the  War  Between  the  States. 

With  the  outbreak  of  war,  the  physical  impossibility  of  continuing 
a  relationship  that  had  so  long  proven  beneficial  and  pleasant  became 
apparent;  and,  at  its  convention  held  in  Wilmington,  May  2,  1861,  the 
North  Carolina  Synod  took  measures  to  meet  the  situation.  A  special 
committee  on  "Church  Relations",  consisting  of  the  Revs.  D.  H.  Bittle, 
Joseph  A.  Linn  and  S.  Rothrock,  was  appointed.  This  committee  pre- 
sented the  following  preamble  and  resolutions  which  were  unanimously 
adopted: 

"Whereas,  In  the  distracted  condition  of  our  once  happy  country, 
we  deem  it  impracticable  to  send  our  delegates  to  the  next  meeting  of 
the  General  Synod,  about  to  convene  at  Lancaster,  Pennsylvania;  and, 
feeling  that  other  Synods  South  are  in  a  similar  situation  with  this 
body,  therefore, 

"Resolved,  That  we  recommend  a  convention  of  all  Southern 
delegates  to  the  General  Synod  to  meet  at  Salisbury,  N.  C,  on  Thursday 
preceding  the  third  Sabbath  in  May,  1862,  for  the  purpose  of  endorsing 
the  proceedings  of  the  next  meeting  of  the  General  Synod,  if  prac- 
ticable; otherwise  to  take  such  steps  as  may  best  promote  the  future 
harmony  and  prosperity  of  the  portion  of  the  church  represented  by 
the  absent  delegates. 

"Resolved,  That  we  hereby  commission  our  present  delegates  to  the 
General  Synod  to  attend  the  said  convention. 

"Resolved,  That  the  Corresponding  Secretary  of  this  body  be 
instructed  to  inform  all  our  Synods  in  the  South  of  this  action  and  ask 
their  cooperation." 

The  Synod  held  its  1862  meeting  before  the  time  set  for  the 
proposed  convention  of  delegates  had  arrived.  In  the  meantime,  con- 
ditions had  continued  to  grow  worse,  and  it  now  seemed  altogether 
unlikely  that  any  further  relations  with  the  Northern  body  could  be 
maintained.    The  Synod,  therefore,  took  action  dissolving  its  connec- 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  59 

tion  with  the  "Northern  General  Synod"  and  declared  itself  in  favor  of 
forming  a  General  Synod  of  the  Confederate  States,  on  the  basis  of  the 
Augsburg  Confession.  Delegates  who  were  elected  to  the  Salisbury  con- 
vention were  empowered  to  vote  for  such  an  organization;  and  in  the 
event  of  the  formation  of  a  Southern  General  Synod,  were  authorized 
to  represent  the  Synod  in  it. 

The  meeting  was  held  at  the  appointed  time  and  the  Southern 
General  Synod  was  organized.  The  new  organization  proved,  in  many 
respects,  to  be  a  disappointment  to  those  who  had  suggested  it.  Not 
all  of  the  Southern  Synods  cooperated,  and  its  spirit  and  outlook  were 
provincial  rather  than  general.  The  North  Carolina  Synod,  however, 
continued  to  be  a  part  of  the  body  until  1870.  The  delegation  which 
had  attended  the  meeting  held  in  Winchester,  Virginia,  June  9th  of  that 
year  submitted  a  very  discouraging  report  which  closed  with  the  ques- 
tion, "Will  it  not  be  well  to  enquire,  at  this  time,  what  advantage 
to  the  church  will  it  be  to  continue  in  connection  with  a  body  which  has, 
m  all  probability,  served  its  day?"  The  report  was  unanimously  adopted, 
and  the  Synod  at  once  severed  its  relations  with  the  Southern  General 
Synod. 

For  the  first  time  in  fifty  years,  the  Synod  now  stood  independent 
of  all  general  bodies  and  was  free  to  devote  the  greater  part  of  its 
energies  to  the  development  of  its  internal  interests.  This  was,  how- 
ever, so  foreign  to  its  spirit  and  principles  that  such  a  condition  could 
not  long  continue;  and  in  1881  the  Synod  again  became  a  member 
of  the  Southern  General  Synod. 

This  Synod,  however,  was  general  in  name  only.  The  Tennessee 
Synod,  which  represented  no  inconsiderable  part  of  the  strength  of 
the  Lutheran  church  in  the  South,  had  never  become  a  member;  and 
in  1872,  the  Holston  Synod  withdrew,  and  in  1874,  united  with  the  Gen- 
eral Council.  The  desire  for  a  more  truly  representative  body  led  to 
the  proposition  that  a  Church  Diet  be  held  at  some  suitable  time  and 
place  for  the  purpose  of  inaugurating  a  more  general  organic  union 
properly  based  on  the  confessions  of  the  church,  invested  with  proper 
powers,  among  the  Lutheran  Synods  in  the  South.  The  proposition 
met  with  such  an  encouraging  response  that  the  two  Lutheran  journals 
in  the  South,  Our  Church  Paper  and  the  Lutheran  Visitor,  were  asked 
to  set  the  time  and  place  and  to  issue  the  call.  This  was  done,  and 
the  Diet  was  held  in  Salisbury,  North  Carolina,  November  12-13,  1884. 
Representatives  from  all  Southern  Synods  were  present;  and  a  Doctrinal 
Basis,  soundly  Scriptural  and  truly  Lutheran,  was  unanimously  adopted. 
A  proposed  constitution  for  the  new  organization  was  also  drafted  and 
approved.  The  Diet  met  again  in  Roanoke,  Virginia,  June  23-28,  1886, 
at  the  time  of  the  meeting  of  the  General  Synod;  and  the  two  bodies 
were  merged  into  one  under  the  name  of  "The  United  Synod  of  the 
Evangelical  Lutheran  Church  in  the  South." 

Thus,  for  the  first  time,  all  Synods  in  the  South  were  united 
in  one  General  Body.    This  organization  did  much  to  draw  the  Lutherans 


60  History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

cf  this  part  of  America  together  and  to  promote  the  general  interests 
of  the  church.  A  Board  of  Home  and  Foreign  Missions  was  created, 
The  Lutheran  Theological  Southern  Seminary  was  strengthened,  a  pub- 
lication house  was  established  and  church  periodicals  were  merged,  and 
other  causes  were  advanced.  The  United  Synod  did  not  accomplish 
all  of  this  at  once,  but  it  continued  to  function  effectively  until,  in 
1918,  it  joined  with  the  General  Synod  and  the  General  Council  in  the 
formation  of  the  United  Lutheran  Church  in  America.  In  all  of  this, 
the  North  Carolina  Synod  was  an  active  participant  and  a  loyal  sup- 
porter. 

The  missionary  activities  of  the  Synod  would  make  a  story  in 
themselves.  The  first  Lutheran  ministers  in  North  Carolina  were  more 
than  pastors  of  local  congregations;  they  were  traveling  missionaries 
who  set  an  example  and  established  a  precedent  for  those  who  should 
follow.  The  founders  of  the  Synod  were  filled  with  the  missionary 
spirit.  Available  records  of  the  missionary  activities  of  Nussmann, 
Arends,  Storch,  Paul  Henkel,  and  R.  J.  Miller  would  fill  a  large  volume, 
but  much  that  they  did  was  never  recorded  and  other  records  have  been 
lost.  These  men  evidently  imparted  some  of  this  same  spirit  to  the 
people  whom  they  served.  While  established  congregations  may  have 
little  direct  financial  support,  they  made  the  work  possible  through  their 
willingness  to  share  with  others  the  time  and  energies  of  their  pastors. 
It  was  only  natural,  therefore,  that  the  newly  organized  Synod  should 
take  steps  to  continue  and  enlarge  this  work  under  its  official  super- 
vision and  by  its  support.  The  first  traveling  missionary  appointed  by 
the  Synod  was  the  Rev.  R.  J.  Miller,  whose  home  was  in  Burke  county. 
On  the  eighteenth  day  of  June,  1811,  he  started,  by  private  conveyance, 
on  his  first  missionary  tour.  His  route  carried  him  through  Wilkes, 
Surry,  and  Stokes  counties  in  North  Carolina;  Pendleton,  Bath,  Green- 
briar,  Monroe,  Montgomery,  Wythe,  and  Washington  counties  in  Vir- 
ginia; Sullivan,  Carter,  Washington  and  Greene  counties  in  Tennessee; 
thence  through  the  mountains  of  western  North  Carolina  to  his  home, 
where  he  arrived  about  the  middle  of  October.  A  little  later  in  the 
same  year  he  made  a  trip  into  South  Carolina.  Philip  Henkel,  Jacob 
Scherer,  and  L.  Markert  were  other  appointed  missionaries  who  traveled 
as  far  west  as  Ohio  and  Indiana. 

These  missionary  activities  were  suspended  or  at  least  curtailed 
during  the  years  immediately  preceding  and  following  1820;  but  in 
1824,  the  Rev.  Jacob  Scherer  reported  that,  according  to  previous  instruc- 
tions, he  had  visited  Bedford  county,  Tennessee,  had  traveled  2,200  miles, 
preached  thirty-eight  times,  and  had  received  offerings  amounting  to 
$45.60.  He  reported  expenses  totaling  $20.69.  The  same  year.  The  Rev. 
William  Jenkens  reported  that  he  had  visited  Lutheran  congregations 
near  Duck  River,  Tennessee;  that  he  had  preached  in  two  organized 
congregations  and  had  organized  two  additional  churches  in  Franklin 
and  Lincoln  counties.  He  concludes  his  report,  "Since  the  last  Synod 
I  rode  2,000  miles,  preached  175  times,  baptized  84  children,  7  adults, 
and  7  Negroes,  received  34  into  the  church,  and  buried  eight  persons." 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  61 

Even  at  this  early  date  the  migration  of  Lutherans  to  "The  West", 
which  was  to  affect  many  North  Carolina  congregations  so  seriously, 
had  begun.  Lutherans  in  Illinois  had  appealed  to  the  Synod  for  help 
in  1819,  but  conditions  within  the  Synod  itself  were  so  disturbed  that  no 
aid  could  be  given.  Their  destitute  condition  was  again  presented  to 
the  Synod  in  1825,  and  The  Rev.  William  Jenkins  was  authorized  to  visit 
there  and  give  them  such  assistance  as  he  could.  The  Rev.  John  C.  A. 
Schoenberg,  who  had  been  sent  out  in  1827,  returned  in  1828  to  be 
ordained  and  reported  to  the  Synod  that,  there  were  hundreds  of 
Lutherans  scattered  through  Illinois,  Indiana,  and  Missouri,  entirely 
destitute  of  preaching  by  our  ministers. 

In  1832,  the  Rev.  Daniel  Scherer,  who  had  been  pastor  of  St. 
John's  church,  Cabarrus  county,  felt  it  his  duty  to  labor  as  a  missionary 
in  the  State  of  Illinois.  He  located  in  Hillsboro  and  soon  had  a  con- 
gregaton  organized  and  in  a  flourishing  condition.  In  1834,  Synod 
adopted  the  following: 

"Resolved,  That  we  express  our  approbation  of  the  laudable  efforts 
of  the  Rev.  Daniel  Scherer  in  collecting  and  organizing  a  Lutheran 
congregation   in   Hillsboro,   Illinois. 

"Resolved,  That  we  receive  the  same  into  full  connection  with 
this  Synod."  In  1836,  Pastor  Scherer  was  dismissed  from  the  North 
Carolina  Synod  to  unite  himself  with  the  "Synod  of  the  West",  and  his 
congregation  naturally  went  with  him. 

Missionary  operations  were  carried  on  in  parts  of  Virginia  until 
the  organization  of  the  South  West  Virginia  Synod,  in  1842;  but  from 
then  on,  such  activities  were  confined  to  the  State  of  North  Carolina, 
presumably  because  other  Synods  had  been  organized  and  were  more 
favorably  located  for  the  continuance  of  such  work.  A  practice  estab- 
lished quite  early  in  the  life  of  the  Synod  resulted  in  the  organization 
of  many  new  congregations.  According  to  this  practice,  pastors  were 
expected  to  use  the  extra  Sunday  in  months  having  five  Sundays  for 
holding  services  in  communities  in  which  there  was  no  organized  con- 
gregation. With  the  exception  of  the  years  between  1820  and  1830, 
each  decade  witnessed  the  organization  of  new  churches;  but,  with  a 
few  exceptions,  those  organized  prior  to  1900  were  in  rural  areas  adjacent 
to  well  established  congregations.  The  number  organized  during  each 
decade  is  as  follows:  1831-1840,  five;  1841-1850,  three;  1851-1860,  five; 
1861-1870,  five;  1871-1880,  seven;  1881-1890,  three;  1891-1900,  eleven.  At 
the  beginning  of  the  period,  St.  John's,  Salisbury  was  the  only  congrega- 
tion located  in  a  town  of  any  size.  St.  James',  Concord,  was  organized  in 
1842;  St.  Paul's,  Wilmington,  in  1858;  St.  Mark's,  Charlotte,  in  1859;  First 
church,  Albemarle,  in  1880;  Augsburg,  Winston-Salem,  in  1891;  but  it 
was  not  until  the  beginning  of  the  present  century  that  the  Synod  became 
actively  interested  in  establishing  congregations  in  the  centers  of 
population. 

At  its  Centennial  convention  in  1903,  the  Synod  referred  the  mat- 
ter of  employing  a  Synodical  Field  Missionary  to  the  Executive  Com- 


62  History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

mittee.  This  committee  reported  to  the  next  convention  that,  for  lack 
of  funds  it  had  been  unable  to  carry  out  Synod's  wish,  and  that  for 
the  same  reason  it  had  been  kept  from  undertaking  work  at  Lexington. 
The  Committee  on  the  Executive's  Committee's  Report  recommended 
the  adoption  of  these  items  but  offered  a  further  recommendation  to 
the  effect  that,  "The  Executive  Committee  for  the  ensuing  year  take  steps 
to  place  a  synodical  missionary  in  the  field  at  an  early  date."  This 
was  adopted,  but  no  provision  was  made  for  financing  the  undertaking. 
At  a  later  session,  a  motion  was  made  to  reconsider;  and  in  the  dis- 
cussion that  ensued,  a  proposition  was  made  by  delegate  J.  H.  Rehder 
of  St.  Paul's  church,  Wilmington,  to  raise  $1,000.00  for  the  salary  of 
such  a  missionary.  The  matter  took  definite  shape  in  a  motion  to 
have  the  roll  of  pastorates  called  for  pledges  to  this  object.  This  was 
done  and  the  amount  pledged  was  $720.00.  A  committee  consisting  of 
Messrs.  J.  A.  Cline,  W.  F.  Aberly,  W.  F.  Snider,  J.  A.  Davidson,  E.  E. 
Workman,  and  J.  H.  Rehder  was  appointed  to  solicit  additional  pledges 
to  the  fund.  This  action  was  significant  because  it  marked  the  be- 
ginning of  a  new  era  in  Home  Mission  work  and  because  it  was  initiated 
by  the  laymen  of  the  church.  Pastor  Edward  Fulenwider  was  later 
called  as  missionary,  and  after  a  survey  of  the  field  had  been  made, 
was  instructed  to  concentrate  his  efforts  at  Lexington  but  to  give 
such  attention  as  possible  to  other  points.  A  congregation  was  organ- 
ized at  Lexington  in  190.5,  and  in  February,  1907,  Missionary  Fulenwider 
resigned  in  order  to  accept  a  call  to  become  its  regular  pastor.  The 
Rev.  Jacob  L.  Morgan,  having  accepted  the  call  to  become  Synodical 
Missionary,  entered  upon  his  work  July  1,  1907,  and  continued  to  serve 
in  that  capacity  until  he  was  elected  the  Synod's  first  full  time  presi- 
dent in  1919. 

Missionary  Morgan  possessed  a  deep  interest  in  the  cause,  un- 
bounded energy,  and  a  rare  organizing  ability.  As  a  direct  result  of 
his  labors,  churches  were  organized  at  High  Point,  Greensboro,  Moores- 
vills,  Landis,  Raleigh,  and  Liberty.  He  also  had  supervision  of  other 
mission  congregations  of  the  Synod.  In  addition  to  the  work  of  organ- 
izing and  building  new  congregations,  he  raised  most  of  the  money  to 
provide  them  with  church  buildings. 

Under  this  new  program  of  Home  Mission  work,  the  church  be- 
came firmly  established  in  the  growing  centers  of  population,  large 
numbers  were  saved  to  the  Lutheran  church  who  would  otherwise  have 
been  lost  to  other  denominations,  and  larger  numbers  of  unchurched 
people  were  reached.  Due  credit  should  be  given  to  the  members  of 
the  Women's  Missionary  Society  and  to  the  active  laymen  of  the 
church  for  their  loyal  support  of  the  entire  program. 

The  Synod's  activities  in  Foreign  Mission  work  were  limited  to 
its  participation  in  the  programs  carried  on  by  the  General  Bodies 
to  which  it  belonged,  and  to  the  activities  of  the  Women's  Missionary 
Society.  No  column  for  Foreign  Missions  was  carried  in  the  financial 
tables  until  1883.  From  that  time  on,  the  cause  received  increasing 
emphasis.    Prior  to  the  opening  of  the  Field  in  Japan  by  the  United 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  63 

Synod,  contributions  had  been  made  to  the  General  Synod's  work  in 
India  and  Africa.  The  following  native  sons  and  daughters  of  the 
Synod  had  entered  service  in  the  Foreign  Field  up  to  1920:  The  Revs. 
Clarence  E.  Norman  and  John  K.  Linn  and  Misses  Maud  and  Annie 
Powlas.  The  Synod  also  had  a  special  interest  in  the  Revs.  C.  K. 
Lippard,  D.D.,  and  A.  J.  Stirewalt,  D.D.,  who  were  from  the  Tennessee 
Synod,  and  in  the  Rev.  C.  L.  Brown,  D.D.,  who  was  a  North  Carolinian 
by  birth. 

The  period  under  review  was  also  marked  by  a  progressive  devel- 
opment in  the  Confessional  position  of  the  Synod,  and  in  its  Lutheran 
practices.  This  development  may  be  indicated  briefly  by  a  presentation 
of  the  successive  changes  that  were  made  in  its  constitution,  without 
specific  reference  to  the  situations  out  of  which  they  grew. 

The  revised  constitution  which  was  adopted  in  1817  and  continued 
to  remain  in  force  for  many  years,  contained  the  following: 

"Article  I.  The  first  twenty- one  articles  of  the  confession  deliv- 
ered to  the  assembled  Diet  at  Augsburg,  in  Germany,  by  the  Lutheran 
divines,  known  by  the  name  of  the  Augsburg  Confession,  as  extracted 
fiom  the  Bible,  is  the  point  of  union  of  our  church.  Every  minister, 
before  ordination,  pledges  himself  to  the  same. 

"Article  XI.  It  is  the  duty  of  every  preacher  to  instruct  all  chil- 
dren of  our  members  from  twelve  years  old  and  upwards,  in  the  Catechism, 
and  to  confirm  them,  or  have  them  conflmed,  in  their  baptismal  vow,  by 
authorized  ministers,  and  admit  them  to  the  sacrament,  when  they  are 
sufficiently  enlightened.  The  Small  Catechism  of  Dr.  Luther,  in  the 
German  language,  and  the  Christian  Catechism,  in  the  English  language, 
are  to  be  used  for  such  instruction,  and  the  doctrine  is  to  be  explained 
foi  six  weeks  prior  to  the  confirmation,  if  possible." 

In  1846,  Synod  adopted  the  following  questions  to  be  propounded 
to  all  candidates  for  ordination: 

"1.  Do  you  believe  the  Scriptures  of  the  Old  and  New  Testaments 
to  contain  the  Word  of  God,  and  that  it  is  the  only  infallible  rule  of 
faith  and  practice? 

"2.  Do  you  believe  that  the  fundamental  doctrines  of  the  Word 
of  God  are  taught  in  a  manner  substantially  correct  in  the  doctrinal 
articles  of  the  Augsburg  Confession?" 

The  constitution  adopted  in  1869  contains  the  following  Doctrinal 
Basis: 

"1.  We  believe  that  the  Cannonical  Books  of  the  Old  and  New 
Testament  Scriptures  are  given  by  inspiration  of  God  and  are  the  perfect 
and  only  rule  of  faith  and  practice. 

"2.  We  believe  that  the  three  general  creeds,  the  Apostles,  Nicene, 
and  Athanasian,  exibit  the  faith  of  the  church  universal,  in  accordance 
with  this  rule. 


64  History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

"3.  We  believe  that  the  unaltered  Augsburg  Confession  is,  in 
all  its  parts,  in  harmony  with  the  Word  of  God,  and  is  a  correct 
exhibition  of  doctrine. 

"4.  We  believe  that  the  Apology,  the  Catechisms  of  Luther,  the 
Smalcald  Articles,  and  the  formula  of  Concoid,  are  a  faithful  develop- 
ment and  defence  of  the  doctrine  of  the  Word  of  God,  as  set  forth  in 
the  Augsburg  Confession." 

This  basis  was  revised  in  1889  to  read: 

"The  Evangelical  Lutheran  Synod  of  North  Carolina  confesses  that 
the  Cannonical  Books  of  the  Old  and  New  Testaments  are  the  Word  of 
God,  given  by  inspiration  of  the  Holy  Ghost,  and  are  the  clear,  only, 
and  sufficient  rule  of  faith;  that  the  three  general  creeds.  Apostles', 
Nicene,  and  Athanasian,  exhibit  the  faith  of  the  church  universal,  in 
accordance  with  this  rule;  that  the  unaltered  Augsburg  Confession  is, 
in  all  its  parts,  in  harmony  with  this  rule  of  faith,  and  is  a  correct 
exhibition  of  its  doctrine;  and  that  the  Apology,  the  Large  and  Small 
Catechisms  of  Luther,  the  Smalcald  Articles  and  the  Formula  of  Con- 
cord are  a  faithful  development  and  defense  of  the  doctrines  of  God's 
Word  and  of  the  Augsburg  Confession.  All  her  questions  concerning  the 
faith  of  the  church,  its  ministers  or  congregations,  and  the  administra- 
tion of  the  Word  and  sacraments,  shall  be  judged  and  decided  according 
to  this  rule  and  these  Confessions." 

A  growing  appreciation  of  distinctive  Lutheran  doctrines  and  of 
the  Confessions  as  a  doctrinal  basis  resulted  in  a  similar  development 
in  Lutheran  practices.  Since,  in  the  Lutheran  church,  unity  has  always 
been  dependent  upon  agreement  on  doctrinal  questions  rather  than  on 
uniformity  in  such  practices  as  organization,  worship,  and  other  means 
used  for  carrying  out  its  divinely  appointed  mission;  and  since  a  great 
deal  of  latitude  has  always  been  permitted  in  the  latter  field,  the  term 
''Lutheran  Practice"  cannot  be  defined  with  any  degree  of  exactness. 
However,  principles  inherent  in  the  Confessions  of  the  church  have 
always  exerted  an  influence  upon  its  practices;  and  growth  in  an  appre- 
ciation of  the  one  will  result  in  development  in  the  other.  The  same 
conditions  that  caused  the  early  Lutheran  Church  in  America  to  neglect 
a  clear-cut  statement  of  its  Confessional  position  also  led  it  to  follow 
practices  not  altogether  in  harmony  with  the  spirit  and  principles  of 
those  Confessions. 

The  first  constitution,  adopted  in  1803,  not  only  did  not  contain  a 
basic  confessional  statement;  it  failed  to  cover  many  practical  situa- 
tions with  which  the  new  organization  would  inevitably  be  confronted. 
This  should  not  be  interpreted  as  a  criticism  of  the  document  or  of  the 
men  who  drafted  it  but  as  evidence  that  a  long  process  of  development 
lay  ahead,  a  process  which  resulted  in  frequent  changes  in  the  consti- 
tution. It  was  amended  at  the  second  anni'.al  convention  and  again 
in  1817.  In  1832,  a  second  and  very  lengthy  constitution  was  adopted; 
in  1840  a  third;  in  1846,  a  fourth;  in  1855,  a  fifth;  in  1870,  a  sixth;  and 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  65 

from  that  time  en  it  was  frequently  amended.  In  1869,  the  "License 
System"  was  abolished,  "on  the  ground  that  no  authority  for  it  had 
been  found  in  the  Word  of  God,  nor  any  warrant  for  the  same  in  our 
I  utheran  articles  of  faith  and  practice;  but  that  it  had  only  been 
introduced  into  this  country  as  a  provisional  custom  for  the  speedy 
supply  of  ministers." 

The  liturgical  usages  of  the  church  were  also  influenced  by  prac- 
tical conditions  and  underwent  many  changes.  The  material  for  formal 
V,  orship  was  at  first  limited  and  hard  to  obtain;  but  in  spite  of  prac- 
tical difficulties,  a  definite  liturgical  consciousness  prevailed.  St.  John's 
church,  in  Cabarrus  county,  as  early  as  1782,  adopted  the  Order  of  Ser- 
vices used  in  the  German  Lutheran  Court  Chapel  of  St.  James',  in  Lon- 
don, England.*  In  1813,  Synod  considered  the  matter  a  common  "Agenda" 
(Liturgy  or  Mode  of  Service)  and  resolved,  "That  we  first  write  our 
brethren  in  Pennsylvania,  to  ascertain  what  they  think  and  say  con- 
cerning  such  a  book  which  could  be  used  in  all  the  States."  At  its  next 
convention,  Synod  was  informed  that  the  Pennsylvania  Synod,  "Had 
resolved  to  prepare  and  complete  an  'Agenda'  (liturgy)  by  its  next 
meeting."  Synod,  therefore,  decided  to  await  the  result  of  their  labors, 
in  the  hope  that  they  give  the  church  a  spiritual  and  consecrated 
book.  In  1817,  Synod  adopted  the  following,  "The  hymn  book  (Gemein- 
schaftliche  Gesangbuch)  printed  or  issued  by  Shaefer  and  Mann,  was 
recommended  for  introduction  and  use  in  our  churches,  and  so  also 
the  English  liturgy  of  New  Work,  and  the  English  hymn  book  by  Paul 
Henkel,  were  recommended  " 

In  the  years  that  followed,  the  difficulty  experienced  in  obtaining 
suitable  books,  together  with  the  influence  of  surrounding  groups 
who  were  outspoken  in  their  objections  to  all  liturgical  worship,  resulted 
in  the  almost  complete  abandonment  of  the  Church's  rich  liturgical 
heritage,  and  it  was  not  until  many  years  later  that  a  new  interest 
was  awakened.  The  publication  of  a  new  Book  of  Worship  did  much 
to  renew  this  interest,  and  the  report  of  the  president,  in  1868,  contains 
the  following:  "It  is  with  devout  gratitude  to  God  we  announce  the 
favorable  reception  of  the  General  Synod's  new  Book  of  Worship  within 
our  bounds.  A  number  of  our  ministers  are  conducting  worship  accord- 
ing to  its  prescribed  forms,  to  the  entire  satisfaction  of  their  congrega- 
tion, and  we  are  very  hopeful  that  in  a  little  while  the  book  will  be 
in  general  use.  It  is  proper  that  some  recommendatory  notice  be  made 
of  this  book  at  our  present  meeting."  Such  action  was  taken  by  the 
adoption  of  the  following:  "Resolved,  That  we  have  heard  with  pleasure 
and  unfeigned  gratitude  the  favorable  reception  of  our  'Book  of 
Worship',  and  urge  that  each  individual  member  of  our  church  procure 
a  copy  as  soon  as  practicable." 

The  next  step  in  this  development  was  taken  when,  in  1878,  the 
General  Synod  South  proposed  to  the  General  Synod  and  the  General 
Council  that  they  unite  in  the  preparation  of  a  Common  Service  Book 

*  Bernheim  History  p.   453. 


66  History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

for  all  English  speaking  Lutherans.  The  proposal  was  accepted,  and 
the  work  was  completed  in  1888.  In  1893,  this  service,  together  with 
other  liturgical  material  and  a  selection  of  hymns,  was  published  as, 
"The  Book  of  Worship  for  the  use  of  the  United  Synod  of  the  Evangelical 
Lutheran  Church  in  the  South".  It  immediately  received  wide  accept- 
ance in  the  North  Carolina  Synod.  A  second  Book  of  Worship  contain- 
i)ig  a  materially  revised  hymnal  was  published  in  1912.  This  was  fol- 
lowed, in  1919,  by  the  Common  Service  Book  which  is  still  in  use. 

Available  statistical  records  are  so  incomplete  and  follow  such 
varying  patterns  that  it  is  almost  impossible  to  determine,  with  any 
degree  of  accuracy,  the  numerical  growth  of  the  Synod  or  its  develop- 
ment in  benevolent  giving;  but  the  figures  given  below  will  indicate 
the  trend.  The  quarter-century  years  which  are  used  may  not  always 
be  typical,  but  when  combined,  they  should  represent  a  reasonable 
average.  The  starting  year,  1825,  marks  the  lowest  point;  for  the  min- 
isters and  congregations  in  South  Carolina  had  just  been  transferred 
to  the  new  Synod  in  that  State,  and  the  full  effects  of  the  losses  to  the 
Tennessee  Synod  were  apparent  by  that  time.  Figures  in  the  last  two 
columns,  prior  to  1900,  are  undoubtedly  incomplete;  and  their  chief 
value,  as  stated  above,  is  to  indicate  the  trend. 

Number  of  Number  of  Members  Total 

Year  Ministers  CJongregations  Communing  Benevolences 

1825  10  37  1,335  $        25.94 

1850  12  26  2,482  189.19 

1875  22  37  4,131  348.24 

1900  34  62  8,161  2,658.46 

1920  55  77  12,035  65,987.00* 

During  this  period,  developments  in  the  field  of  education  kept 
fully  abreast  of  the  advances  in  other  areas  of  the  Synod's  life  and 
activity,  and  added  immeasurably  to  its  effectiveness.  Auxiliary  or- 
ganizations, which  functioned  in  the  congregations  and  in  the  general 
activities  of  the  church,  also  did  much  to  awaken  interest,  promote 
causes,  and  provide  channels  through  which  the  talents  of  a  conse- 
crated laity  might  be  more  fully  utilized.  But  these  are  stories  in 
themselves  and  will  be  adequately  presented  in  other  sections  of  this 
history. 

During  this  same  period,  the  names  of  not  fewer  than  200  ministers 
appeared  on  the  roll  of  the  Synod.  The  contribution  which  they  made 
toward  its  development  can  scarcely  be  overemphasized.  Some  served 
in  the  Synod  for  many  years,  others  for  only  a  brief  period;  some  ren- 
dered outstanding  service  in  an  official  capacity  or  as  leaders  in  its 
deliberations,  others  served  humbly  as  pastors  and  exerted  little  influ- 
ence beyond   the   bounds  of  the   parishes   in   which  they   labored;    but 

*   Benevolence,   Apportioned  and  Unapportioned,   including  $27,470  paid 
to  college.     $5,927.00  was  paid  on   Apportionment. 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  67 

each,  in  his  own  way,  made  a  definite  contribution  toward  the  exten- 
sion of  the  Kingdom  and  the  building  up  of  the  Body  of  Christ.  It  is 
obviously  impossible  to  include  a  biographical  sketch  of  each  of  them 
in  this  narrative,  or  to  give  due  recognition  to  the  work  which  they 
did.  Their  names  and  their  official  relationships  to  the  Synod  will 
be-  found  in  the  tabulated  sections  of  this  book,  but  the  full  measure 
of  their  service  must  remain  unknown  save  to  the  Master  Whom  they 
served.  The  same  is  true  of  the  thousands  of  consecrated  men  and 
women  who,  through  theii  loyal  support  and  unselfish  service,  did 
so  much  to  promote  the  work  of  the  church  in  their  own  congregations 
and  in  the  larger  areas  of  operation  undertaken  by  the  Synod.  Under 
God,  these  pastors  and  people,  great  and  small,  made  the  history  of 
this  period,  only  a  small  part  of  which  can  be  recorded  here. 


68  History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N,  C. 


69 


CHAPTER  VI 

The  Tennessee  Synod 

1820  - 1920 

Events  and  circumstances  which  led  to  the  organization  of  the 
Tennessee  Synod  were  presented  in  a  preceding  chapter  and  need  not 
be  repeated.  Differences  which  had  been  developing  within  the  North 
Carolina  Synod  came  to  a  head  at  the  Seventeenth  Convention  held  in 
Lincolnton,  beginning  on  May  28,  1820^  and  resulted  in  the  formation 
of  a  new  Synod  which,  under  the  name  of  the  Evangelical  Lutheran 
Tennessee  Synod,  continued  to  operate  for  a  full  century,  to  maintain  its 
own  identity,  to  make  a  very  definite  contribution  to  the  development  of 
the  Lutheran  Church  in  North  Carolina  and  other  states,  and  to  exert 
a  positive  influence  upon  American  Lutheranism._  As  was  the  case  in 
the  North  Carolina  Synod,  its  development  followed  a  distinct  line 
until  the  bodies  were  again  merged  into  one.  The  experiences  and 
problems  of  the  two  Synods  were,  in  many  respects,  much  alike;  and 
a  certain  degree  of  sameness  in  their  presentation  is  unavoidable.  How- 
ever, each  carried  on  its  own  work  in  its  own  way  and  made  its  own 
history,  and  each  merits  separate  consideration. 

As  has  already  been  stated,  the  two  parties  were  unable  to 
reconcile  their  differences  at  the  meeting  in  Lincolnton.    The  one  party 


Present  Building 

Solomon's  Church,  Cove  Creek 

Greene  County,  Tennessee 


70  History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

withdrew  to  a  nearby  hotel  and  continued  with  the  business  of  Synod. 
The  other,  after  some  consultation  and  deliberation,  adjourned.  On 
July  17,  1820,  a  meeting  was  held  in  Solomon's  Churchy  Cove  Creek, 
Greene  County,  Tennessee,  "To  organize  a  Conference  or  Synod,  in  ac- 
cordance with  the  teachings,  doctrines,  and  policy  of  the  Word  of  God, 
as  set  forth  in  the  Confessions  of  the  Evangelical  Lutheran  Church."* 

The  following  ministers  were  present  at  this  meeting:  Jacob  Zink 
of  Washington  County,  Virginia;  Paul  Henkel  of  New  Market,  Shenan- 
doah County,  Va.;  Adam  Miller  of  Sullivan  County,  Tenn.,  and  Philip 
Henkel  and  George  Easterly  of  Greene  County,  Tenn.  David  Henkel 
of  Lincoln  County,  N.  C,  who  could  not  be  present  in  person,  acquiesced 
in  the  object  of  the  meeting  and  was  recognized  as  a  member.  The 
lay  delegates  representing  congregations  were:  From  Emmanuel  Churchy 
Washington  County,  Tenn.,  John  and  Conrad  Keicher;  from  Union  Church 
in  the  same  county  and  state,  Michael  Kapp;  from  Jacob's  (St.  James') 
Church,  Greene  County,  Tenn.,  John  Nehs  (Neas),  John  Ottinger,  Philip 
Easterly  and  John  Renner;  from  Solomon's  Church,  same  county  and 
state,  Frederick  Gottschall,  John  Koch,  Philip  Ebert  and  John  Froschaur; 
from  Sinking  Spring  Church  in  the  same  county  and  state,  John  feauer, 
Frederick  Schaeffer,  Peter  Gobel  and  John  Hermann;  from  three  churches 
in  Sullivan  County^  Tenn.,  Henry  Herchelroth  and  Jacob  Deck;  from 
Golden  Spring  Church,  Greene  County,  Tenn.,  Nicholas  Fley  and  George 
Boessinger.* 

The  meeting  was  opened  in  a  regular,  churchly  manner  with 
singing  and  praying;  a  basis  and  regulations  were  adopted;  and  an 
organization  was  effected,  under  the  name  and  title  of  the  Evangelical 
German  Lutheran  Tennessee  Conference  or  Synod.  This  "Basis  and 
Regulations"  contained  fourteen  sections  which  may  be  summarized  as 
follows: 

1.  German  shall  be  the  language  used  both  in  the  proceedings  of 
the  Synod  and  in  its  written  records. 

2.  All  teachings  relative  to  faith.  Christian  conduct,  and  all  books 
publicly  used  in  the  church  in  the  service  or  worship  of  God,  shall  be  in 
harmony  with  the  doctrines  of  the  Holy  Scriptures  and  the  Augsburg 
Confession. 

3.  Whoever  desires  to  be  a  teacher  or  otherwise  an  officer  in  the 
church  shall  obligate  himself  to  teach  according  to  the  Word  of  God, 
the  Augsburg  Confession,  and  the  doctrines  of  our  church;  and  shall 
not  be  allowed  to  stand  in  connection  with  the  so-called  Central  or 
General  Synod. 

4.  Members  of  our  churches  shall  be  those  who  have  been  baptized 
according  to  the  command  of  Christ,  confirmed  by  the  imposition  of 
hands,  and  participate  in  the  celebration  of  the  Holy  Supper. 

5.  Not  more  than  two  ranks  or  grades  in  the  office  of  teaching,  or 
the  ministry,  are  necessary  for  the  preservation  and  perpetuation  of  the 

*  Tennessee  Synod  History,  p.  24. 

♦  History  Tennessee  Synod,  pp.  24-25. 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  71 

church,  namely:  Pastors  and  Deacons.  A  Pastor  is  one  who  has  been 
ordained  with  prayer  and  the  imposition  of  hands  by  one  or  more 
pastors.     He  is  authorized  to  perform  all  ministerial  acts. 

6.  A  Deacon  is  also  a  servant  in  the  Word  of  God,  but  he  is 
not  fully  invested  with  the  ministerial  office  as  is  the  Pastor.  He  may 
give  instructions  in  the  Catechism,  read  sermons^  attend  to  funerals, 
admonish,  and  in  cases  of  necessity,  baptize  children.  Officers  in  the 
congregation  shall  be  as  they  were  heretofore  customary  in  our  church: 
Elders,  Deacons,  etc. 

7.  At  each  Conference,  pastors  shall  be  named  who  shall  conduct 
ordinations,  sign  certificates  and  affix  seals,  and  see  that  good  order  is 
maintained.  Ministers  and  lay  delegates  may  appoint  one  of  the  pastors 
chairman,  and  in  the  same  manner  one  may  be  appointed  secretary; 
but  it  is  not  to  be  understood  that  these  must  serve  in  these  positions 
throughout  all  sessions. 

8.  Conference  or  Synod  shall  meet  annually  on  the  third  Sunday 
in  October,  preferably  in  Tennessee;  but  the  name  Tennessee  Conference 
or  Synod  shall  always  be  retained  although  it  may  have  ministers  and 
lay  delegates  in  other  states. 

9.  The  Conference  shall  be  composed  of  ministers  and  lay  dele- 
gates, but  there  shall  not  be  more  votes  cast  by  lay  delegates  than  a 
number  equal  to  the  number  of  preachers  present. 

10.  Each  congregation  shall  have  a  treasury  for  such  money  as 
may  be  collected  to  defray  the  expenses  of  publishing  the  minutes,  of 
traveling  ministers,  etc. 

11.  Each  pastor  should  keep  a  record  of  the  number  of  baptisms, 
confirmations,  communicants,  and  funerals,  so  that  they  may  appear  in 
the  proceedings  of  the  Conference  each  year. 

12.  All  possible  diligence  should  be  used  in  the  instruction  of 
children  in  all  our  doctrines  of  faith  in  the  German  language. 

13.  None  of  the  teachers  of  our  Conference  can  take  a  seat  and 
vote  in  the  present  Synod  of  North  Carolina^  because  we  cannot  regard 
it  as  a  true  Lutheran  Synod. 

14.  Necessary  additions  to  these  principles  and  regulations  may 
be  made  by  a  majority  of  the  votes,  but  in  such  a  manner  as  not  to 
come  in  conflict  with  the  design  and  intention  of  the  foregoing 
principles.* 

The  Revs.  Adam  Miller  and  Jacob  Zink,  who  had  been  licensed 
by  the  North  Carolina  Synod,  were  ordained  at  this  meeting.  George 
Easterly  was  evidently  continued  as  a  deacon  since  he  is  listed  as  such 
in  the  minutes  of  the  next  convention.  This  made  a  total  of  six  ministers. 
No  list  of  congregations  is  given.    After  transacting  other  necessary  busi- 

*  Summarized   from  Tennessee   Synod   History,   pp.    25-29. 


72  History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

ness,  the  Conference  adjourned  to  meet  in  one  of  Rev.  Adam  Miller's 
congregations  in  Sullivan  County,  Tennessee,  beginning  on  the  third 
Sunday  in  October,  1821. 

Thus  the  history  of  the  nev^^  Synod  began.  The  name  "Tennessee" 
was  not  intended  to  indicate  boundary,  but  to  distinguish  the  Conference 
or  Synod  from  other  Synods  already  in  existance.  This  is  clearly  stated 
in  the  revised  basis  adopted  in  1827  which  states,  "This  body  shall 
continue  to  bear  the  title  Evangelical  Lutheran  Tennessee  Synod.  But 
this  title  shall  not  be  so  construed  as  to  give  members  who  reside  in 
Tennessee  any  prerogatives  or  advantages  over  others;  for  this  body 
consists  for  the  most  part  of  members  in  other  states;  but  simply  to  dis- 
tinguish it  from  the  North  Carolina  Synod,  which  belongs  to  the  General 
Synod."  As  a  matter  of  fact,  its  chief  strength  soon  lay  in  other  states, 
principally  in  Virginia  and  North  and  South  Carolina.  After  the  organi- 
zation of  the  Holston  Synod  in  1860,  it  no  longer  had  churches  in 
Tennessee. 

Since  the  reasons  set  forth  for  organizing  the  new  Synod  were 
based  chiefly  on  differences  in  doctrine,  its  immediate  emphasis  on  sound 
doctrine  was  quite  natural.  Its  leaders  were  men  who  had  a  knowledge 
and  appreciation  of  the  historic  Confessions  of  the  Lutheran  Church  far 
greater  than  that  possessed  by  the  average  minister  of  the  day;  and 
they  were  quick  to  realize  the  importance  of  a  positive  Lutheran  Con- 
fessional Basis  and  strict  adherence  to  it.  The  basis  and  regulations 
adopted  at  the  first  Convention  provide  that,  "All  teachings  relative  to 
faith,  and  all  doctrines  concerning  Christian  conduct,  as  well  as  all 
books,  publicly  used  in  the  church  in  its  service  or  worship  of  God,  shall 
be  arranged  and  kept,  as  nearly  as  it  is  possible  to  do,  in  accordance 
with  the  doctrines  of  the  Holy  Scriptures  and  the  Augsburg  Confession, 
and  especially  shall  the  young  and  others  who  need  it,  be  instructed  in 
Luther's  Small  Catechism,  according  to  the  custom  of  the  church 
hitherto  .  .  .  Whoever  desires  to  be  a  teacher,  shall  also  take  a 
solemn  obligation,  that  he  will  teach  according  to  the  Word  of  God  and 
the  Augsburg  Confession  and  the  doctrines  of  our  church."*  The  entire 
twenty-eight  articles  of  the  Unaltered  Augsburg  Confession,  in  German, 
are  also  included  in  the  minutes  of  this  first  convention. 

The  Constitution  was  revised  in  1827,  but  no  material  changes 
were  made  in  its  Confessional  Basis.  In  the  revised  Constitution  adopted 
in  1866,  the  Confessional  Basis  is  stated  as  follows:  "The  Holy  Scriptures^ 
the  inspired  writings  of  the  Old  and  New  Testaments,  shall  be  the  only 
rule  and  standard  of  doctrine  and  church  discipline.  As  a  true  and 
faithful  exhibition  of  the  doctrines  of  the  Holy  Scriptures,  in  regard  to 
matters  of  faith  and  practice,  this  Synod  receives  the  three  Ancient 
Symbols:  the  Apostolic,  Nicene,  and  Athanasian  creeds;  the  Unaltered 
Augsburg  Confession  of  Faith.  It  receives  also  the  other  Symbolical 
Books  of  the  Evangelical  Lutheran  Church,  viz.:  the  Apology,  the 
Smalcald  Articles,  the  Smaller  and  Larger  Catechisms  of  Luther,  and  the 

•  Sections  2  and  3. 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  73 

Formula  of  Concord  —  as  true  Scriptural  developments  of  the  doctrines 
taught  in  the  Augsburg  Confession." 

This  emphasis  upon  a  sound  Confessional  Lutheranism  was  not 
limited  to  the  formal  declarations  embodied  in  its  Confessional  Basis 
and  printed  in  its  minutes.  From  the  very  beginning,  the  Synod  sought 
to  develop  and  preserve  a  strong  and  vital  confessional  consciousness 
in  ministers  and  laymen  alike  by  concentrating  their  attention  upon  the 
great  doctrines  of  the  church  through  discussion  at  the  meetings  of 
Synod,  thorough  instruction  of  catechumens,  and  the  distribution  of 
printed  material.  Doctrinal  sermons  and  discussions  were  printed  in 
the  minutes,  and  at  the  eighth  convention,  provision  was  made  for  the 
distribution  of  publications  and  good  books  by  appointing  special  agents 
who  were  to  be  aided  by  the  ministers  and  others. 

The  Synod  was  very  fortunate  in  having  at  its  disposal  the  fa- 
cilities of  the  Henkel  Press  which  had  been  founded  in  1806  by  members 
of  the  Henkel  family.  Among  the  numerous  publications  of  a  doctrinal 
character  were:  the  Unaltered  Augsburg  Confession  in  both  German  and 
English;  the  Book  of  Concord,  first  edition  in  1851  and  a  second  and 
revised  edition  in  1854;  Luther's  Small  and  Large  Cathechisms,  to- 
gether with  a  Historical  Introduction^  to  which  were  added  hymns  and 
prayers  adapted  to  catechetical  instruction,  translated  from  the  German, 
1852;  Luther  on  the  Sacraments,  or  the  Distinctive  Doctrines  of  the 
Evangelical  Lutheran  Church  respecting  Baptism  and  the  Lord's  Supper, 
1853;  Luther's  Church  Postil,  sermons  on  the  Epistles  for  the  different 
Sundays  and  Festivals  of  the  Church  Year,  translated  from  the  German, 
1859;  and  many  briefer  treatises. 

The  doctrinal  stand  of  the  Tennessee  Synod,  together  with  the 
wide  circulation  of  the  material  which  issued  from  the  Henkel  Press, 
did  much  to  turn  the  tide  toward  a  conservative  Lutheranism  through- 
out the  Lutheran  Church  in  America,  and  the  church  has  not  hesitated 
to  give  credit  where  credit  is  due.  While  the  zeal  of  some  of  its  members 
may  have  led  them  to  extremes,  and  while  a  more  tolerant  attitude 
might  have  resulted  in  the  attainment  of  their  objective  with  less  friction 
and  ill  will,  particularly  among  the  Lutherans  in  North  Carolina;  the 
ultimate  result  was  a  united  church  truly  Lutheran  in  its  doctrine  and 
practice. 

The  basis  and  regulations  adopted  at  the  first  session  were,  in 
effect,  the  Constitution  of  the  new  Conference  or  Synod,  and  the  prin- 
ciples set  forth  in  them  were  largely  to  determine  the  nature  and 
polity  of  the  organization  through  the  years  that  followed.  Some  changes 
in  form  and  arrangement  were  made  at  the  Eighth  Session;  and  it  was 
published,  along  with  explanatory  remarks  by  David  Henkel,  but  no 
material  changes  were  made.  The  Constitution  was  again  revised  in 
1866  and  in  1889    but  again  no  material  changes  were  made. 

The  basis  and  regulations  adopted  at  the  First  Session  indicate, 
by  inference  rather  than  by  direct  statement,  the  views  which  its  authors, 
in  particular,  and  the  founders,  in  general,  held  with  regard  to  the 
nature  and  functions  of  a  Synodical  organization.     They  recognized  the 


74  History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

need  for  some  general  organization,  but  they  also  accepted  the  principle 
of  ultimate  congregational  authority  and  responsibility  so  long  as  these 
were  in  conformity  with  the  Confessional  principles  and  practices  of  the 
Church.  Further,  these  men  were  familiar  with  the  evils  of  an 
ecclesiastical  hierarchy,  and  they  were  determined  to  avoid  the  concen- 
tration of  power  in  the  hands  of  any  individual  or  group.  The  mem- 
bership of  Synod  was  to  consist  of  ministers,  and  lay  delegates  duly 
elected  by  their  congregations.  Such  officers  as  might  be  needed  for 
the  orderly  conducting  of  business  might  be  chosen,  but  their  tenure  of 
office  and  their  power  were  to  be  strictly  limited.  Beginning  with  the 
eighth  convention,  a  secretary  was  elected  annually  to  serve  through 
the  Synodical  Year.  A  president  and  secretary  were  elected  at  the 
thirteenth  convention,  but  the  idea  long  prevailed  that  the  president 
held  office  only  during  the  sessions  of  Synod.  The  handling  of  money 
received  through  collections  was  reserved  to  the  congregations,  and 
the  Synod  had  no  treasurer  until  a  much  later  time. 

The  so-called  License  System  is  not  mentioned  directly  in  the  basis 
and  regulations,  but  Sections  5  and  6  do  recognize  and  approve  grades 
or  ranks  in  the  ministry,  namely,  Deacons  and  Pastors.  However^  the 
Synod  did  return  to  this  system  in  1862  in  order  to  meet  conditions  which 
had  arisen  as  a  result  of  the  state  of  war  that  prevailed.  Mr.  D.  E.  Fox 
was  licensed  to  preach  after  having  been  examined  by  the  Rev.  P.  C. 
Henkel.  In  1863,  Messrs.  L.  A.  Fox  and  D.  E.  Fox  were  authorized,  in 
special  cases,  to  exercise  the  functions  of  a  pastor.  The  next  year 
Licentiate  L.  A.  Fox  was  ordained  to  the  office  of  Pastor,  and  D.  S. 
Henkel  and  D.  A.  Goodman  were  licensed  to  perform  the  functions  of 
the  ministry.  In  1865,  Synod  approved  a  form  for  the  public  licensing 
of  young  men  for  the  ministry  which  had  been  prepared  by  the  Revs. 
A.  J.  Fox,  P.  C.  Henkel  and  Timothy  Moser.  This  practice  was  continued 
until  1876,  at  which  time  the  action  of  Synod  which  had  approved  it 
was  rescinded. 

The  position  of  the  Synod  regarding  policy  was  so  clearly  stated 
by  Dr.  Socrates  Henkel  in  his  History  of  the  Evangelical  Lutheran  Ten- 
nessee Synod  that  it  merits  presentation  in  this  connection.  After  call- 
ing attention  to  the  twenty-eighth  article  of  the  Augsburg  Confession,  he 
makes  these  observations: 

"1.  In  its  policy,  it  took  the  position,  in  the  outset,  that  the  rules 
and  principles  of  church  government  are  contained  in  the  Holy  Scrip- 
tures, and  no  Christian  organization  has  the  right  to  make  rules  or 
regulations  which  are  not  strictly  in  accord  with  the  Bible.  It  con- 
demned and  rejected  all  human  traditions  or  rules  or  regulations  imposed 
on  the  church  as  necessary  to  Christian  fellowship,  which  are  not  well 
and  clearly  founded  in  the  Holy  Scriptures.  It  even  denied  the  right 
of  a  majority  to  decide  or  control  matters  relative  to  doctrine  and  church 
discipline.  The  only  standard  by  which  such  things  can  be  decided,  is 
the  Word  of  God.  The  fact  that  a  majority  might  decide  against  a 
doctrine  clearly  taught  in  Divine  Revelation,  should  be  no  sufficient 
reason  that  the  minority  should  reject  or  denounce  such  doctrine. 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  75 

"2.  Its  position  is  that  Synods  are  only  advisory  bodies,  and  that 
they  have  no  right  to  receive  appeals  from  the  decisions  of  congregations, 
or  make  rules  or  regulations  which  are  absolutely  binding  on  congre- 
gations. Of  course,  Synods  may  recommend  certain  regulations  for 
the  conduct  of  congregations,  and  advise  them  to  adopt  such  rules,  but 
they  have  no  right  to  enforce  them  contrary  to  the  will  of  the  people. 
The  chief  business  of  Synods,  according  to  its  position,  is  to  impart 
useful  advice,  to  employ  the  proper  means  for  the  promotion  and  per- 
petuation of  the  Gospel  of  Jesus  Christ,  to  detect  and  expose  erroneous 
doctrines  and  false  teachers,  and,  on  application,  to  examine  candi- 
dates for  the  ministry;  and  if  they  sustain  a  suitable  examination,  and 
there  are  applications  for  their  services  in  a  congregation  or  congrega- 
tions, to  ordain  them  to  the  office  of  the  ministry,  in  regular,  churchly 
way.  Synods  are  composed  of  congregations,  represented  by  ministers 
and  lay-delegates;  and  when  persons  representing  these  classes  are 
present^  the  one  class  shall  not  transact  business  without  the  presence 
and  co-operation  of  the  other.  The  right  to  examine  and  ordain  candi- 
dates to  the  ministerial  office,  does  not,  however,  belong  exclusively  to 
Synods.  Congregations  have  the  right  to  choose  fit  persons  for  the 
ministry,  and  individual  pastors  have  the  right  to  ordain  them  to 
such  office. 

"3.  It  was  opposed  to  the  incorporation  of  Synods  by  civil  gov- 
ernments, or  of  their  holding,  as  incorporated  bodies,  any  institutions. 
For  this  would  be  blending  of  civil  and  ecclesiastical  authority.  It  would 
give  Synods  power  to  sue  and  be  sued,  and  to  levy  taxes  on  their  mem- 
bers, and  to  compel  them  to  pay  them,  just  the  same  as  any  civil  in- 
corporation. It  is  amply  sufficient  for  the  best  interests  of  the  church, 
for  civil  government  to  protect  the  property  of  the  church  by  its  acts 
of  legislation  and  incorporation  of  certain  individuals  as  trustees,  to  hold 
its  institutions,  against  damage  and  infringement,  for  the  purposes  for 
which  they  were  intended.  The  incorporation  of  a  Synod,  holding  with- 
in its  own  corporate  limits  certain  property,  is  one  thing,  and  lending 
its  influence  and  patronage  in  favor  of  colleges^  or  other  instiutions  so 
incorporated  and  held  by  trustees,  for  certain  purposes,  without  any  legal 
claim  on  Synods  as  incorporated  bodies,  is  something  very  different,  and 
can  lead  to  no  conflict  between  the  Church  and  the  State. 

"4.  For  the  purpose  of  raising  funds  for  the  promotion  of  the 
Gospel  and  the  extension  of  the  Kingdom  of  Christ,  the  Synod  suggests 
the  propriety  of  each  congregation  having  a  treasury  for  itself,  in  which 
to  deposit  all  the  money  that  each  member  or  other  person  might  freely 
give.  The  monies  thus  contributed  were  used  to  defray  the  cost  of  print- 
ing the  minutes  of  Synod,  to  aid  traveling  ministers,  and  for  other 
purposes  which  would  best  enhance  the  interests  of  the  churches  or  con- 
gregations. The  manner  in  which  these  treasuries  were  to  be  kept,  and 
the  disbursements  made,  was  left  to  the  good  judgment  of  the  church 
councils  and  the  ministers  acquiescing.  The  monies  were  to  be  gathered 
at  every  meeting,  each  month  or  every  three  months.  At  every  meeting 
of  Synod  the  council  of  each  church  was  expected  to  make  a  report  of 
the  amounts  thus  collected.     The   contributions  were   generally   quite 


76  History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

liberal,  judging  from  the  amount  of  printing  that  was  done  and  the 
extensive  traveling  expenses,  and  other  matters,  that  were  defrayed 
from  such  collections.  It  is  true,  there  may  not  have  been  as  much 
boasting  about  liberality  during  the  former  period  of  the  Synod,  as  there 
is  at  the  present  age^  but  the  probability  is,  that  there  were  more  real 
charity  and  free  giving."* 

Upon  a  positive  doctrinal  basis  and  within  the  framework  of  this 
policy,  the  Synod  carried  on  its  work.  A  trained  ministry  was  provided, 
the  missionary  enterprise  was  fostered  and,  in  due  time,  cooperation 
with  other  Synods  was  established.  Some  of  its  activities  and  a  few 
of  its  problems  will  be  presented  in  the  remaining  part  of  this  chapter. 
Other  information  is  contained  in  the  general  sections  on  Educational 
Developments,  Auxiliaries,  Sketches  of  Congregations  and  Tabulations. 

The  new  Synod  entered  upon  its  work  with  certain  distinct  ad- 
vantages. First  of  all,  it  stood  on  the  firm  ground  of  a  strictly  Con- 
fessional Lutheranism.  This  gave  it  a  strength  and  a  unity  that  was 
sadly  lacking  in  much  of  the  American  Lutheran  Church  of  that  day. 
In  the  second  place,  it  possessed  a  vitality  and  an  enthusiasm  peculiar 
to  youth  and  to  young  organizations.  Its  leaders  were  fired  with  a  sense 
of  mission.  They  considered  themselves  both  defenders  and  propagators  of 
the  faith,  and  they  approached  their  task  with  the  zeal  of  crusaders. 
And  finally,  it  recognized  no  geographical  or  territorial  boundaries.  With- 
in a  few  years,  it  had  established  itself  in  Virginia,  Tennessee,  and 
North  and  South  Carolina,  and  was  maintaining  outposts  in  other  states 
as  far  west  as  Missouri. 

With  its  doctrinal  basis  established  and  its  policy  determined,  the 
new  Synod  applied  itself  to  its  challenging  task.  The  second  conven- 
tion was  held  in  Zion  Church,  Sullivan  County^  Tennessee.  Those  present 
included  Revs.  Paul  Henkel,  Adam  Miller,  Philip  Henkel,  David  Henkel, 
and  Deacon  George  Easterly;  and  fifteen  lay  delegates,  including  John 
Smith,  Daniel  Lutz  and  Peter  Boger  from  North  Carolina,  and  Ambrose 
Henkel  from  Virginia.  Joseph  Harr  was  present  as  an  applicant  for  the 
ministry.  Letters  were  presented  from  the  Revs.  Jacob  Larros  of  Ohio, 
Antonius  Weyer,  a  member  of  the  Lutheran  Synod  of  Ohio  and  adjacent 
states,  Henry  A.  Kurtz  of  Kentucky,  and  Daniel  Moser  and  Jacob  Grieson 
of  North  Carolina  in  which  they  expressed  themselves  to  be  in  sympathy 
with  the  doctrinal  position  of  the  new  Synod.  Petitions  were  also  re- 
ceived from  seven  congregations  in  North  Carolina  and  Tennessee,  asking 
for  ministerial  services.  A  letter  from  Messrs.  John  Beck,  Charles  Greim, 
Henry  Conrad,  George  Greim,  Daniel  Conrad^  Philip  Hedrich  and  Jacob 
Conrad,  Elders  and  members  of  several  Lutheran  congregations  in  Rowan 
(Davidson)  County,  North  Carolina,  declared  their  steadfastness  in  the 
Evangelical  doctrine,  and  petitioned  for  a  minister  to  serve  them,  since 
they  were  not  satisfied  with  the  one  they  had.  The  Rev.  Gottlieb  Shober 
was  supplying  these  congregations  at  that  time. 

These  letters  and  petitions  were  typical  of  many  that  continued 
to  claim  the  attention  of  the  Synod  for  many  years.     It  was  ill  pre- 

•  History   Tennessee  Synod,   pp.   262-264. 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  77 

pared  to  meet  their  challenge,  for  it  had  no  field  missionary,  and  no 
treasury  from  which  necessary  funds  might  be  drawn.  Consequently,  it 
had  to  call  upon  its  already  overworked  pastors  to  minister  to  the  needs 
of  these  scattered  groups,  to  organize  new  congregations,  and  to  open 
new  fields.  A  letter  from  the  Rev.  Jacob  Zink,  received  at  the  third 
convention,  stated  that  he  had  baptized  twenty-eight  adults  and  sixty- 
nine  infants  in  the  State  of  Louisiana  and  many  more  than  that  number 
in  the  State  of  Indiana;  and  there  is  evidence  that  others  rendered  an 
equally  effective  service.  At  the  ninth  convention,  twenty-six  petitions 
were  received  from  congregations  located  in  the  following  states:  Virginia, 
North  Carolina,  Tennessee^  Georgia,  Indiana,  and  Ohio;  and  arrange- 
ments were  made  to  supply  the  petitioners  with  at  least  some  services. 
It  is  impossible  to  determine  the  permanent  results  of  these  far-flung 
activities,  but  they  represent  a  valiant  effort  to  preserve  to  the  Lutheran 
Church  its  scattered  adherents,  and  to  reach  others  who  were  without 
the  means  of  Grace. 

Some  idea  of  the  Synod's  activities  and  growth  during  the  early- 
decades  of  its  life  may  be  obtained  from  the  minutes  of  the  period. 
Parochial  reports  covered  only  a  few  items  and  were  often  incomplete, 
inaccurate,  and  confusing;  and  the  minutes,  while  they  do  give  an  over 
all  picture  of  what  was  undertaken  and  accomplished,  often  fail  to 
give  information  that  would  be  extremely  interesting  and  valuable 
today.  A  few  facts  and  figures  drawn  from  the  decade  summaries  given 
in  the  History  of  the  Tennessee  Synod,  by  Dr.  S.  Henkel,  will  serve  to 
make  this  picture  stand  out. 

During  the  first  decade,  the  number  of  ministers  was  increased 
from  six  to  seventeen.  Two  ministers,  Paul  Henkel  and  Jacob  Zink, 
passed  to  their  eternal  reward,  and  one  was  dropped  from  the  roll.  No 
list  of  congregations  is  given,  but  Dr.  Henkel  estimates  the  number  at 
approximately  thirty.  A  total  of  6,175  baptisms  was  reported  which  in- 
cluded 5,517  infants,  443  adults,  and  205  slaves.  The  number  of  con- 
firmations reported  was  1,902.  Not  more  than  two-thirds  of  the  ministers 
gave  reports. 

The  summary  for  the  second  decade  indicates  that  there  were 
twelve  applicants  for  the  ministry  and  seventeen  ordinations,  including 
those  to  the  office  of  Deacon.  Four  ministers,  the  Revs.  David  and 
Philip  Henkel,  John  N.  Stirewalt,  and  Daniel  Moser,  were  removed  by 
death.  Accessions  by  baptism  include  6,690  infants,  408  adults,  and  250 
slaves. 

During  the  first  twenty  years  of  its  life,  the  Synod  lost  six  ministers 
by  death,  three  of  them  before  they  had  reached  the  age  of  fifty 
years.  Four  had  participated  in  the  organization  of  the  Synod.  Limited 
space  makes  it  impossible  to  give  even  brief  biographical  sketches  of  the 
many  men  who,  through  the  years,  served  faithfully  as  pastors  in  the 
Synod,  but  special  recognition  should  be  given  to  these  pioneers  whose 
lives  were  so  definitely  woven  into  that  of  the  new  organization. 

The  Rev.  Jacob  Zink  was  licensed  by  the  North  Carolina  Synod  at 
Organ  Church,   October  18^  1815,   and  was  ordained  by  the  Tennessee 


78  History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

Synod  at  its  first  meeting  in  1820.  Little  is  know  of  him  or  of  his 
work  other  than  that  he  served  churches  in  Virginia  and  East  Tennessee, 
and  that  he  made  at  least  one  extensive  missionary  tour.  He  died  in 
1829,  but  the  exact  time  and  place  are  not  known. 

The  Rev.  Paul  Henkel  died  at  New  Market,  Shenandoah  County, 
Virginia,  November  17,  1825,  at  the  age  of  seventy-one  years.  Reference 
has  been  made  elsewhere  to  his  extensive  ministerial  activities  and  to 
his  outstanding  service.  Five  of  his  six  sons  became  Lutheran  ministers 
and  carried  on  the  tradition  established  by  their  distinguished  father. 
The  oldest  son  was  a  practicing  physician. 

Philip  Henkel,  a  son  of  Paul  Henkel  and  Elizabeth  Negley,  was 
born  in  Pendleton  County,  Virginia,  September  23,  1779,  and  died  in 
Randolph  County,  North  Carolina,  October  9,  1833  while  on  a  visit  to 
old  friends  and  parishioners.  He  was  licensed  by  the  Ministerium  of 
Pennsylvania  in  1800,  and  ordained  by  the  North  Carolina  Synod  in  1805. 
The  thirty-three  years  of  his  fruitful  ministry  were  spent  almost  entirely 
in  serving  churches  in  North  Carolina  and  East  Tennessee.  He  was 
present  at  the  adjourned  meeting  of  the  North  Carolina  Synod  at  Lincoln- 
ton  in  1803,  and  was  one  of  the  organizers  of  the  Tennessee  Synod. 

David  Henkel,  another  son  of  Paul  Henkel,  was  born  at  Staunton, 
Virginia,  May  4,  1795,  and  died  in  Lincoln  County,  North  Carolina,  June 
15,  1831.  He  was  licensed  by  the  North  Carolina  Synod  in  1813,  at  the 
early  age  of  eighteen  years,  and  was  ordained  on  June  6,  1819.  He 
possessed  a  brilliant  intellect  and  unbounded  energy,  and  crowded  an 
enormous  amount  of  work  into  the  eighteen  years  of  his  active  ministry. 
During  this  time,  he  preached  upwards  of  3,200  sermons,  baptized  2,997 
infants  and  243  adults,  and  confirmed  1,105  persons.  In  addition  to  this, 
he  carried  on  an  extensive  correspondence  and  wrote  nine  distinct 
treatises  which  were  published. 

The  Rev.  John  N.  Stirewalt  departed  this  life  August  13,  1836,  in 
Rowan  County,  North  Carolina,  at  the  age  of  thirty-four  years.  He 
entered  the  ministry  in  1827  as  a  Deacon  and  was  ordained  to  the  office 
of  Pastor  on  August  10,  1829,  by  the  Tennessee  Synod.  Little  is  known 
of  his  active  ministry,  although  his  obituary  states  that  he  had  made 
known  the  Gospel  of  the  crucified  Saviour,  with  efficiency,  to  many  who 
had  been  deprived  of  it,  both  in  his  native  State  and  in  adjoining  States. 

The  Rev.  Daniel  Moser  was  born  in  Orange  County^  North  Carolina, 
May  8,  1790,  and  was  licensed  to  preach  by  the  North  Carolina  Synod 
in  1812.  He  was  ordained  by  the  same  Synod  at  its  convention  in 
Lincolnton  in  1820.  He  was  received  as  a  member  of  the  Tennessee 
Synod  at  its  meeting  in  1824  and  continued  to  serve  as  one  of  its  pastors 
until  his  death  on  July  11,  1839. 

The  Rev.  Adam  Miller,  Sr.,  whose  earthly  life  came  to  an  end 
during  the  next  decade,  was  born  in  York  County,  Pennsylvania,  April 
18,  1760.  Later,  he  moved  to  Sullivan  County,  Tennessee,  where  he 
continued  to  lead  the  life  of  a  consecrated  layman  until  he  was  fifty- 
three  years  old.    His  native  ability  and  his  exemplary  life  commended 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  79 

him  to  his  fellow  Lutherans,  and  since  they  were  unable  to  secure  a 
regular  pastor,  they  induced  him  to  enter  the  Gospel  ministry.  He  was 
licensed  as  a  Catechist  by  the  North  Carolina  Synod  October  17,  1815,  and 
was  ordained  by  the  Tennessee  Synod  on  July  19,  1820  thus  becoming 
one  of  its  original  members.  He  was  highly  esteemed  by  his  parish- 
ioners and  by  his  ministerial  brethren  and  continued  to  render  faithful 
service  until  his  death  on  July  6,  1844,  in  his  eighty-fifth  year.  He 
preached  his  last  sermon  six  days  before  his  death. 

During  the  next  three  decades,  the  Synod  continued  to  develop 
along  the  lines  which  it  had  previously  followed.  Thirty-six  pastors 
were  ordained  and  seven  were  licensed;  18,471  infants,  1,143  adults  and 
340  slaves  were  baptized;  and  9,260  were  received  by  confirmation.  Many 
of  the  pastors,  sometimes  as  many  as  one-third,  did  not  report;  other- 
wise these  figures  would  have  been  larger.  Twenty-six  congregations 
were  received  during  the  fourth  decade  and  eight  during  the  fifth. 

This  period  also  brought  the  first  material  loss  of  pastors  and 
congregations  to  the  Synod  through  the  organization  of  a  new  Synod. 
From  time  to  time,  a  few  pastors  and  congregations  had  been  dismissed 
to  newly  organized  Synods,  but  it  was  not  until  1860  that  a  new  Synod 
composed  entirely  of  members  of  the  Tennessee  Synod,  was  formed.  At 
the  fortieth  convention  which  was  opened  on  Saturday  before  the  third 
Sunday  in  October,  1860,  the  following  ministers  belonging  to  the  Synod 
and  residing  in  the  State  of  Tennessee,  viz.:  A.  J.  Brown,  J.  K.  Hancher. 
J.  C.  Barb,  J.  M.  Shaffer,  J.  Cloninger,  James  Fleenor  and  J.  B.  Emmert, 
with  the  congregations  under  their  charge,  laid  a  petition  before  the 
Synod,  for  an  honorable  dismission  from  this  body  for  the  purpose  of 
forming  a  new  Synod  in  East  Tennessee.  They  stated  that  they  were 
prompted  to  take  this  step  by  practical  considerations  and  that,  "We 
are  by  no  means  disaffected  toward  our  brethren  with  whom  we  have 
been  so  long  and  pleasantly  connected  .  .  .  Nor  do  we,  in  the  formation 
of  a  new  Synod,  contemplate  any  change  in  the  doctrinal  basis  upon 
which  our  Synod  was  organized,  nearly  half  a  century  ago,  and  upon 
which  she  has  ever  since  uniformly  and  firmly  stood.  With  this  we  are 
satisfied,  and  upon  this  we  intend  still  to  stand." 

The  Synod  answered  this  petition  by  adopting  the  following:  "Re- 
solved, that  while  we  are  sincerely  sorry  to  sever  the  ties  which  have 
bound  them  to  us  as  a  part  of  our  Synod,  we  feel  it  to  be  our  duty 
to  grant  their  request,  with  the  fervent  prayer^  that  the  smiles  and 
rich  blessings  of  the  great  Head  of  the  Church  may  rest  upon  them, 
and  that  all  their  efforts  to  extend  the  Redeemer's  Kingdom  may  be 
crowned  with  abundant  success." 

The  pastors  in  East  Tennessee  and  the  delegates  from  their  con- 
gregations met  in  Zion  Church,  Sullivan  County,  Tennessee,  on  December 
29,  1860,  and  continued  in  session  until  January  2,  1861,  and  unanimously 
resolved  to  organize  themselves  into  a  Synod  to  be  known  as  the 
Evangelical  Lutheran  Holston  Synod.  At  the  time,  there  were  at  least 
sixteen  congregations  in  Sullivan,  Washington,  Greene,  Cocke,  Sevier, 
Knox,  and  Monroe  Counties. 


80  History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

The  practical  problems  which  prompted  the  people  in  East  Ten- 
nessee to  organize  a  Synod  of  their  own  were  not  confined  to  that 
particular  area,  for  the  territory  of  Synod  still  extended  from  northern 
Virginia  into  South  Carolina.  Distances  involved  made  it  difficult  for 
members  to  attend  its  meetings  and  to  promote  many  of  its  activities. 
This  was  particularly  true  in  the  ordination  of  candidates  for  the 
ministry.  As  early  as  1850,  a  called  session  of  a  part  of  the  members  of 
Synod  was  held  in  Koiner's  Church,  Augusta  County,  Virginia,  at  which 
Applicant  Socrates  Henkel  was  examined,  and  ordained  to  the  office 
of  Deacon.  In  answer  to  the  petitions  that  were  not  infrequently  ad- 
dressed to  the  body,  Synod,  at  its  convention  in  1854,  adopted  the 
following:  "Resolved,  That  a  committee  be  appointed  to  devise  a  plan 
for  the  division  of  this  Synod  into  District  Synods,  and  report  to  the 
next  meeting  of  Synod."  This  committee  failed  to  report,  whereupon 
Dr.  S.  G.  Henkel  offered  the  following  preamble  and  resolution  which 
were  unanimously  adopted. 

"Inasmuch  as  the  committee,  appointed  last  year,  to  report  a 
plan  for  districting  the  Synod,  failed  to  report,  and  as  there  are 
letters  and  petitions  now  before  Synod,  in  reference  to  this  matter,  and 
which  require  our  notice,  therefore^  as  the  best  answer  we  can  return 
for  the  present,  be  it 

"Resolved,  That,  in  order  to  meet  the  inconveniences  which  seem 
to  present  themselves  for  want  of  some  annual  meeting  of  our  clergy, 
where  young  men  may  be  examined  and  ordained,  and  also  to  give  an 
opportunity  to  interchange  views  in  reference  to  the  wants  of  the  church, 
and  also  to  give  occasion  for  united  efforts  in  preaching — we  would 
recommend  that  the  members  of  this  Synod,  who  reside  near  enough 
to  each  other  for  that  purpose,  hold  some  annual  meeting,  according  to 
their  own  appointment,  where  they  may  transact  such  matters  as  would 
not  seem  to  call  for  the  united  advice  of  Synod.  This  meeting  might  be 
termed  a  Special  Conference." 

The  ministers  living  in  the  Valley  of  Virginia  promptly  acted 
upon  the  recommendation  and,  on  May  17,  1856,  organized  such  a 
conference.  In  1866,  Synod  granted  the  request  of  this  conference  that 
they  be  allowed  to  organize  a  Synod.  Sentiment  in  the  group,  however^ 
was  divided,  and  at  the  time  appointed  for  the  organization  only  three 
pastors.  Revs.  James  E.  Seneker,  Henry  Wetzel,  and  George  Schumaker, 
together  with  their  lay  delegates,  appeared.  After  some  discussion,  they 
proceeded  to  organize  The  Evangelical  Lutheran  Concordia  Synod  of 
Virginia.  The  Synod  was  not  sufficiently  strong  to  maintain  a  separate 
existence  and  was  eventually  absorbed  by  the  Joint  Synod  of  Ohio. 
Pastor  Wetzel  later  returned  to  the  Tennessee  Synod,  as  did  some  of 
the  congregations  that  had  participated  in  the  organization.  Twenty 
years  earlier,  the  Rev.  Adam  Miller,  Jr.  had  withdrawn  from  the  Synod, 
while  under  serious  charges,  and  had  formed  the  so-called  Tennessee 
Synod  Reorganized.  Most  of  the  congregations  which  followed  him  also 
came  back  to  the  Synod,  but  some  did  not  and  later  united  with  the 
Joint  Synod  of  Ohio,  among  them  the  historic  St.  Paul's  near  Newton, 
North  Carolina. 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  81 

An  unfortunate  situation  developed  in  North  Carolina  some  years 
later  which  resulted  in  the  loss  of  still  other  congregations,  this  time 
to  the  Missouri  Synod.  At  its  convention  in  1875,  the  Synod  received 
the  information,  through  a  letter  from  the  Rev.  J.  M.  Smith,  that  the 
congregations  of  Catawba  County,  North  Carolina,  had  decided  to  es- 
tablish a  high  school  of  a  strictly  Lutheran  character.  Synod  approved 
of  the  move  and  highly  commended  the  enterprise.  Considerable  differ- 
ence of  opinion  existed  among  the  pastors  and  congregations  who  were 
interested  in  the  proposals  as  to  where  the  school  should  be  located; 
but  it  was  finally  opened  at  Conover,  N.  C,  in  1877,  and  in  1883,  it 
was  taken  under  the  care  of  the  Synod.  This  school  was  first  called 
Concordia  High  School  and  later  Concordia  College. 

The  question  of  location  was  again  raised  in  1890  and  resulted  in 
the  establishment  of  a  second  school  at  Hickory,  N.  C,  known  as  Lenoir 
College.  That  part  of  the  Board  of  Trustees  of  Concordia  College  which 
favored  the  continuation  of  the  school  at  Conover  then  entered  into  an 
agreement  with  the  Mission  Board  of  the  English  Synod  of  Missouri  by 
which  the  school  passed  under  the  control  of  the  Missouri  Synod.  As 
a  result,  that  Synod  gained  a  foothold  in  the  territory,  and  the  Tennessee 
Synod  ultimately  lost  some  of  its  older  congregations  to  it.  Among 
them  were  St.  John's,   St.  Peter's,   Bethel,   and   Concordia. 

In  1866,  a  plan  to  create  a  conference  made  up  of  pastors  and 
churches  in  South  Carolina  and  to  divide  those  in  North  Carolina  into 
three  districts  was  approved;  but  these  conferences  were  not  to  be 
allowed  to  transact  any  business  that  properly  belonged  to  the  Synod. 
The  South  Carolina  Conference  was  duly  formed;  but  in  1868,  Synod 
rejected  the  proposal  to  divide  the  North  Carolina  territory  and,  instead, 
formed  the  North  Carolina  Conference  of  the  Tennessee  Synod.  These 
three  conferences:  Virginia,  North  Carolina,  and  South  Carolina,  con- 
tinued to  exist  until  mergers  with  other  Synods  were  effected. 

Two  other  noteworthy  developments  fall  within  this  period,  both 
brought  about  by  conditions  incident  to  the  War  Between  the  States. 
They  grew  out  of  the  responsibility  felt  for  the  spiritual  welfare  of 
men  in  the  armed  services  and  for  the  Negroes  who  had  been  freed  at 
the  end  of  the  war.  At  the  convention  held  in  1863,  a  committee  con- 
sisting of  the  Revs.  A.  J.  Cox,  P.  C.  Henkel  and  Henry  Goodman  and 
Mr.  J.  F.  Plonk  was  appointed  to  prepare  a  plan  for  missionary  work  in 
the  Confederate  Army.  After  careful  study,  the  committee  submitted  the 
following: 

"Whereas,  this  Synod  is  fully  aware  of  the  great  necessity  of 
doing  something  to  supply  our  own  soldiers  in  the  Confederate  Army  with 
the  preaching  of  the  Gospel  by  our  own  ministers,  be  it  resolved, 

"1.  That  we  establish  an  Army  Mission  in  the  following  manner: 
Let  as  many  ministers  in  connection  with  this  Synod  as  will  subscribe  this 
resolution,  be  obligated  to  perform  missionary  labors  in  the  Confederate 
Army,  for  the  period  of  one  month  in  each  year,  if  our  funds  and  the 
situation  of  the  army  will  permit. 


82  History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

"2.  That  two  ministers  go  at  the  same  time,  and  that  in  rotation, 
being  chosen  by  lot  at  each  annual  meeting  of  Synod. 

"3.  That  their  expenses,  at  least,  be  defrayed  by  contributions 
obtained  from  the  congregations  by  solicitation. 

"4.  That  those  ministers,  having  performed  such  missionary  visits 
as  herein  required,  shall  make  a  return  of  their  traveling  expenses  to  the 
treasurer  hereinafter  provided,  who  shall  pay  said  expenses  out  of  the 
funds  he  may  have  in  hands  for  said  purpose. 

"5.  That  a  treasurer  be  appointed  whose  duty  it  shall  be  to  re- 
ceive such  money  as  may  be  collected  for  the  purpose  herein  stated. 

"6.  That  it  be  the  duty  of  ministers,  associated  with  the  enterprise, 
to  take  up  collections  in  their  several  congregations,  semi-annually;  and 
that  they  forward  said  collections  to  the  treasurer." 

This  was  adopted,  and  Mr.  Moses  Harmon  was  elected  treasurer  and 
Rev.  P.  C.  Henkel  corresponding  secretary. 

The  concern  for  the  spiritual  welfare  of  Negroes  was  not  new. 
At  its  third  convention,  held  in  St.  James'  Church,  Greene  County, 
Tennessee^  delegate  Conrad  Keicher  had  proposed  the  question,  "Is 
slavery  to  be  considered  an  evil?"  In  reply.  Synod  unanimously  resolved, 
"That  it  is  to  be  regarded  a  great  evil  in  our  land  and  that  it  desires 
the  government,  if  possible,  to  devise  some  way  by  which  this  evil  can  be 
removed."  Synod  further  advised  every  minister  to  admonish  every 
master  to  treat  his  slaves  properly,  and  to  exercise  his  Christian  duties 
toward  them.  At  its  convention  in  1866,  the  following  action  with 
respect  to  Freedom  was  taken: 

"Whereas,  The  Colored  people  among  us  no  longer  sustain  the 
same  relation  to  the  white  man  they  did  formerly,  and  that  change 
has  transferred  the  individual  obligations  and  responsibility  of  owners 
to  the  whole  church,  and, 

"Whereas,  Some  of  them  were  formerly  members  of  our  congre- 
gations and  still  claim  membership  in  them,  but  owing  to  the  plainly 
marked  distinctions  which  God  has  made  between  us  and  them,  giving 
different  colors,  etc.,  it  is  felt  by  us,  and  them  also,  that  there  ought 
to  be  separate  places  of  worship^  and  also,  separate  ecclesiastical  or- 
ganizations, so  that  everyone  could  worship  God  with  the  least  possible 
embarrassment;  and 

"Whereas  these  colored  people  are  considered  firm  adherents  of 
our  church,  and  we  feel  it  our  imperative  duty  to  assist  them  in  adopting 
such  measures  as  will  meet  best  the  necessities  of  their  present  condition; 
be  it,  therefore  resolved, 

"1.  That  whenever  any  of  our  colored  brethren  desire  to  preach, 
they  may  make  application  to  some  one  of  the  ministers  of  our  Synod, 
who  shall  inform  the  president,  when  it  shall  be  the  president's  duty 
to  appoint  two  ordained  ministers  who,  in  connection  with  two  laymen 
whom  they  may  choose,  shall  constitute  a  committee  to  examine  the 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  83 

candidate  upon  his  motives  and  mental  and  moral  qualification,  and,  if 
they  are  satisfied,  to  license  him  to  preach,  catechise,  baptize,  and 
celebrate  the  rites  of  matrimony  among  those  of  his  own  race,  according 
to  the  usages  of  our  church,  until  the  next  regular  session  of  Synod 
thereafter^  when  said  committee  shall  report.  This  license,  however, 
does  not  authorize  them  to  preach  in  our  churches,  or  to  take  part  in 
our  ecclesiastical  meetings;  nevertheless,  they  are  permitted  to  worship 
with  us  as  heretofore,  yet  we  advise  them  to  erect  houses  for  them- 
selves in  which  they  may  worship. 

"2.  That  we  will  use  every  reasonable  means  to  aid  them  in 
organizing  and  building  up  congregations." 

Apparently  this  plan  did  not  prove  too  effective.  There  is  no 
indication  that  capable  leaders  were  found  or  that  congregations  were 
organized.  In  1881,  this  further  action  was  taken:  "Resolved,  That  the 
ministers  of  this  Synod  make  all  efforts  in  their  power  to  educate  re- 
ligiously the  colored  people  by  preaching,  lecturing,  and  catechization, 
with  a  view  sooner  or  later  of  getting  men  of  their  own  color  to 
look  after  the  spiritual  interests  of  their  race  in  connection  with  the 
Lutheran  Church." 

The  numerical  growth  of  the  Synod  during  the  first  half  century 
of  its  history  was  encouraging.  Figures,  if  they  were  available,  could 
not  begin  to  tell  the  story  of  what  was  accomplished;  for  they  are 
only  the  material  evidence  of  growth  and  do  not  always  reflect  the 
resistance  overcome  or  the  spiritual  strength  developed.  However,  such 
records  as  do  exist  give  evidence  of  the  progress  made.  During  the 
period,  the  Synod  grew  from  nine  congregations  in  East  Tennessee  to 
approximately  eighty  congregations  in  four  states;  and  this  does  not 
take  into  account  the  congregations  that  were  transferred  to  other 
Synods. 

This  growth  continued  through  the  second  half  century.  During 
this  period,  fifty-four  new  congregations  were  organized,  and  the  num- 
ber of  active  pastors  was  materially  increased.  Changed  conditions 
made  the  call  for  Home  Missionary  work  beyond  the  normal  bounds  of 
the  Synod  less  pressing  and  gave  an  opportunity  for  concentrated  effort 
in  a  more  restricted  field.  The  church  began  to  recognize  the  importance 
of  establishing  congregations  in  the  growing  towns  and  cities  of  the 
territory,  and  of  giving  them  financial  assistance  where  the  prospect 
for  development  was  good.  At  the  convention  in  1875,  a  committee 
was  appointed  to  prepare  a  constitution  and  regulations  for  Home  Mis- 
sionary operations.  Its  report,  submitted  and  adopted  at  the  next  con- 
vention^ provided:  That  Synod  shall  elect  annually  an  Executive  Com- 
mittee which  shall  have  charge  of  missionary  work  between  the 
conventions  of  Synod.  This  committee  shall  elect  one  of  its  members 
treasurer  who  shall  hold  and  disburse  the  missionary  moneys  according 
to  the  direction  of  the  committee.  It  may  establish  or  discontinue 
missions,  employ  or  dismiss  missionaries,  and  shall  have  the  superin- 
tendence and  control  of  all  missionary  operations  during  its  term  of 
office.    It  shall  keep  a  clear  and  correct  account  of  all  its  transactions 


84  History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

and  shall  report  annually  to  Synod.  Every  pastor  in  connection  with 
the  Synod  shall  be  required  to  take  up  collections  in  each  of  his 
congregations,  in  the  most  judicious  manner,  for  missions.  All  moneys 
collected  from  congregations  or  otherwise,  and  donations  for  the  purpose 
of  missions,  shall  be  paid  over  to  the  chairman  of  the  committee,  for 
which  he  shall  give  his  receipt. 

In  1882,  a  committee  was  appointed  to  meet  with  a  similar 
committee  from  the  North  Carolina  Synod  to  make  some  arrangements 
to  prevent  conflict  in  church  work.  This  committee,  which  was  com- 
posed of  Revs.  L.  A.  Bikle  and  S.  Rothrock  and  Mr.  D.  R.  Hoover,  from 
the  North  Carolina  Synod,  and  Revs.  A.  J.  Fox  and  P.  C.  Henkel  and  Mr. 
Ambrose  Costner,  from  the  Tennessee  Synod,  worked  together  amicably 
and  was  able  to  agree  unanimously  upon  a  report  to  be  submitted 
to  the  two  Synods.  This  report,  which  had  been  adopted  by  the  North 
Carolina  Synod  earlier  in  the  year,  was  submitted  to  the  Tennessee 
Synod  at  its  meeting  in  October,  1883.  It  was  carefully  considered  and 
adopted  by  item  and  then^  with  great  readiness  and  unanimity,  it  was 
adopted  as  a  whole. 

This  newly  arounsed  interest  in  Home  Missions  began  to  bear 
fruit  immediately.  Holy  Trinity,  Hickory,  and  St.  Mattrew's,  Kings 
Mountain,  were  organized  in  1876;  The  Church  of  the  Good  Shepherd, 
Mount  Holly,  in  1881;  St.  John's,  Cherry ville,  in  1883;  Holy  Communion, 
Dallas,  in  1886;  St.  John's,  Statesville,  in  1888;  St.  Lukes,  Monroe,  in 
1890;  and  Holy  Trinity,  Gastonia,  in  1898.  Similar  activity  was  also 
manifested  in  the  Virginia  and  South  Carolina  Conferences  of  the  Synod. 

This  activity  also  reflected  a  growing  concern,  on  the  part  of  the 
Synod,  in  the  administrative  work  of  the  church.  Changing  conditions 
were  making  necessary  a  modification  of  the  long  established  policy  that 
Synod  was  only  an  advisory  body.  Now  it  was  assuming  responsibility 
for  the  active  promotion  and  direction  of  missionary  activity.  The  same 
was  true  with  regard  to  Beneficiary  Education.  For  many  years,  the 
Synod  did  nothing  more  than  to  encourage  its  congregations  to  assist 
young  men  in  their  preparation  for  the  ministry.  In  1852,  Synod  re- 
solved, "That,  in  reference  to  Beneficiary  Education  and  Missionary 
operations,  societies  for  these  purposes  be  founded  disconnected  with 
the  Synod."  In  1856,  it  was  earnestly  recommended  that  the  congre- 
gations connected  with  the  Synod  establish  congregational  treasuries 
for  the  purpose  of  aiding  domestic  missionaries^  and  young  men  of  hope- 
ful piety  and  promising  talents  who  are  laboring  to  qualify  themselves 
for  the  work  of  the  Gospel  ministry  in  the  Lutheran  Church.  The  next 
year,  the  following  was  presented  by  the  Rev.  Henry  Wetzel  and  was 
adopted: 

"Whereas,  it  has  been  customary  in  this  Synod,  when  applied  to, 
to  receive  under  her  care,  as  students  of  theology,  young  men;  and 
whereas,  we  wish  to  make  this  as  beneficial  to  them  and  as  safe  to 
ourselves  as  possible,  therefore, 

"Resolved,  That  young  men  making  application  to  be  received 
under  the  care  of  this  Synod,  as  students  of  theology,  be  examined  as 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  85 

to  the  motives  by  which  they  are  prompted  in  seeking  their  way  into 
the  ministry;  and  the  extent  to  which  they  are  willing  to  qualify  them- 
selves for  this  high  and  holy  calling. 

"Resolved,  That^  if  any  young  man  of  good  report,  suitable  talents, 
and  a  willingness  to  qualify  himself  suitably  for  the  ministry,  make 
application  as  above,  but  has  not  the  means  to  qualify  himself,  we  then 
exert  ourselves  to  secure  to  him  the  needed  assistance. 

"Resolved,  That  the  examination  be  conducted  by  a  committee  of 
three  ministers  and  four  laymen,  and  that  they  report  to  Synod." 

At  its  convention  in  1869,  the  Synod  adopted  a  plan  by  which  funds 
for  Beneficiary  Education  were  to  be  collected  and  applied;  and  by  such 
action,  it  formally  assumed  responsibility  for  this  work. 

In  the  foregoing  review  of  the  Synod's  missionary  activities,  its 
territorial  expansion,  and  its  numerical  growth,  it  has  been  necessary  to 
omit  much  material  that  would  have  been  interesting  and  informative. 
Some  of  this  is  contained  in  the  sketches  of  individual  congregations, 
in  the  tabulated  information  about  pastors  who  were  at  one  time  con- 
nected with  the  Synod,  and  in  the  sections  devoted  to  educational  de- 
velopments and  auxiliary  organizations,  all  of  which  are  included  in 
this  book.  To  this  might  be  added  the  following  information  gathered 
from  the  final  Parochial  Report  of  the  Synod  printed  in  the  Minutes  of 
the  Merger  Convention  in  1921: 

Number  of  Ministers  60 

Number  of  Congregations 134 

Baptized  Members  21,503 

Confirmed  Members  15,228 

Communing  Members  9,870 

Total  Expended  for  Local  Work  $,75,823 

Total  Expended  for  Benevolence  $27,672 

Total  for  All  Purposes  $103,495 

Foremost  in  the  minds  of  the  Synod's  founders  was  the  need  of 
preserving  sound  Lutheran  doctrine  and  practices,  and  of  administering 
the  means  of  Grace  to  widely  scattered  and  often  unchurched  Lutherans. 
In  the  prosecution  of  these  aims,  they  early  realized  the  importance  of 
making  available  for  general  distribution  basic  materials  for  indoctri- 
nation and  orderly  worship.  Reference  has  already  been  made  to  steps 
taken  to  circulate  the  Cathechism,  the  Augsburg  Confession,  and  other 
material  dealing  with  the  historic  doctrines  of  the  Lutheran  Church. 
This  was  a  long  process  which  did  not  reach  its  full  fruition  until  the 
publication  of  the  Book  of  Concord  in  1851. 

Developments  in  the  field  of  worship  were  positive  but  even  more 
gradual.  Action  was  taken  at  the  second  convention  to  the  effect  that 
a  liturgy  be  prepared  for  the  use  of  the  congregations  of  the  Synod, 


86  History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

arranged  according  to  the  Scriptures  and  the  Augsburg  Confession;  that 
Rev.  Paul  Henkel  be  appointed  to  attend  to  this  matter  as  soon  as  prac- 
ticable; that  300  copies  be  printed,  and  that  the  expense  be  defrayed  by 
the  several  treasuries.  Pastor  Henkel  had,  in  1810,  published  a  German 
hymnal  containing  246  hymns  and,  in  1816,  another  in  English  which 
was  later  improved  and  enlarged.  There  is  no  evidence  that  he  was 
able  to  carry  out  Synod's  instruction  that  he  prepare  a  liturgy.  In  1838, 
the  Revs.  Ambrose  Henkel,  Jacob  Killian  and  Jacob  Stirewalt  were  in- 
structed to  prepare  a  liturgy  for  the  use  of  the  church.  This  was  done 
and  the  liturgy  was  approved  by  the  Synod  and  published  in  1840.  It 
was  revised  in  1858  and  continued  to  be  the  approved  liturgy  of  the  Synod 
for  many  years. 

In  the  meantime  other  Lutheran  bodies  had  become  interested  in 
the  historic  heritage  of  the  church.  The  Southern  General  Synod  had 
published  a  Book  of  Worship,  and  in  1868,  the  Church  Book  of  the  General 
Council  had  made  its  appearance.  The  need  of  some  such  book  for  use 
in  the  churches  of  the  Tennessee  Synod  was  realized,  and  in  1871,  a 
committee  consisting  of  the  Revs.  S.  Henkel,  A.  J.  Fox,  and  A.  Costner, 
Esq.,  was  appointed  to  examine  various  hymn  books  and  liturgies,  and 
to  report  at  the  next  meeting  of  Synod.  This  committee  reported  that  it 
had  examined  different  hymn  books  and  liturgies  then  in  use  (among 
them  the  Book  of  Worship  which  it  regarded  as  a  work  of  decided  merit); 
and  that  it  would  recommend  to  the  congregations  in  need  of  hymn 
books  or  books  outlining  the  service  of  the  church,  "The  Church  Book 
for  the  Use  of  Evangelical  Lutheran  Congregations"  which  had  been 
published  by  authority  of  the  General  Council  in  1868.  This  Church 
Book  was  generally  accepted  by  the  congregations  of  the  Synod  and 
continued  to  be  used  until  "The  Common  Service  Book"  was  published 
in  1919. 

It  is  interesting  to  note  that,  at  this  same  convention  in  1871,  the 
president  recommended,  in  his  report,  the  propriety  of  reviving  the 
ancient  custom  of  installation,  and  that  the  following  action  was  taken: 
"Resolved,  That  it  be  the  duty  of  the  president^  with  the  consent  of  the 
pastor-elect  and  the  congregation,  to  appoint  a  committee  of  installation 
in  all  succeeding  changes  in  the  pastoral  relations  in  our  Synod,  to 
perform  this  ceremony." 

At  the  beginning  of  its  history,  the  Synod  adopted  a  policy  of 
avoiding  entangling  alliances  with  other  Synods,  a  policy  to  which  it 
strictly  adhered  for  more  than  sixty  years.  There  were  good  and 
sufficient  reasons  for  this  at  that  time,  for  such  Synods  as  were  then  in 
existence  did  not  fully  share  with  it  the  feeling  that  the  preservation  of 
a  Conservative  Lutheranism  was  a  matter  of  the  highest  importance.  Its 
relationships  with  other  Synods  and  general  bodies  were  limited  to  an 
infrequent  written  communication  and  an  occasional  exchange  of  fraterna  ■ 
visitors.  Some  effort  was  made  on  both  sides  to  effect  a  reconciliation 
between  the  North  Carolina  and  Tennessee  Synods,  but  the  unwavering 
attitude  of  the  latter  on  questions  of  doctrine  and  practice  made  it 
evident  that  no  immediate  agreement  could  be  reached;  and  for  many 
years  there  was  not  even  an  exchange  of  fraternal  visitors.     Efforts  to 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  87 

bring  about  official  cooperation  with  other  Synods  were  attended  with 
little  more  success.  Such  cooperation  with  various  "Old  School"  or  more 
conservative  Synods  which  were  not  a  part  of  the  General  Synod  was 
occasionally  suggested,  but  nothing  was  accomplished.  In  1851,  the 
following  was  adopted:  "Resolved,  That  in  reference  to  closer  and  more 
efficient  connection  between  the  Joint  Synod  of  Ohio  and  this  Synod, 
it  is  deemed  inexpedient  for  Synod  at  present  to  propose  any  plan 
further  than  that  of  sending  delegates."  The  question  came  up  again 
in  1866,  when  the  Tennessee  Synod  was  invited  to  become  a  member 
of  the  Southern  General  Synod.  Sincere  interest  in  this  proposition  was 
manifested,  but  investigations  carried  on  through  several  years  finally 
resulted  in  a  decision  to  decline  the  invitation.  In  1876,  the  General 
Synod  asked  the  Tennessee  Synod  to  reconsider  its  previous  action,  but 
it  declined  to  do  so  and  took  the  following  action:  "Resolved,  That,  under 
existing  circumstances,  we  regard  it  inexpedient  to  take  any  steps  either 
toward  uniting  with  or  in  any  way  connecting  ourselves  to  any  one  of 
the  General  Lutheran  Bodies  in  this  Country." 

But  the  desire  for  closer  cooperation  among  all  of  the  Lutheran 
Synods  in  the  South  was  so  strong  that  it  could  not  be  successfully 
resisted.  Even  the  more  conservative  members  of  the  Synod  came  to 
realize  this,  and  at  its  1883  convention,  it  appointed  the  following 
delegates  to  represent  it  at  a  proposed  diet  to  be  held  in  Salisbury: 
Rev.  S.  Henkel,  D.D.,  Rev.  A.  L.  Crouse,  Maj.  A.  Koiner,  from  Virginia; 
Rev.  P.  C.  Henkel,  D.D.,  Rev.  C.  H.  Bernheim,  Rev.  M.  L.  Little,  A.  Costner, 
Esq.,  from  North  Carolina;  Rev.  J.  S.  Koiner  and  H.  A.  Meetze,  Esq.,  from 
South  Carolina.  These  representatives  attended  the  diet  in  Salisbury 
and,  at  the  convention  in  1885,  submitted  the  proposed  basis  for  a 
more  general  union  among  the  Evangelical  Lutheran  Synods  in  the 
South  and  also  the  Constitution,  both  of  which  had  been  adopted  by  the 
diet.  The  Synod  adopted  both  of  these  documents  and  elected  delegates 
to  the  next  diet.  The  following  is  a  part  of  the  report  of  these 
delegates: 

".  .  .  We,  the  undersigned  delegates  to  said  diet,  held  at  Roanoke, 
cast  the  vote  of  the  Evangelical  Lutheran  Tennessee  Synod,  which  we  had 
the  honor  to  represent,  in  accordance  with  her  instructions,  in  favor  of 
the  more  general,  organic  union  contemplated,  and  the  actions  of  the 
other  Synods  concerned  being  favorable  to  such  union,  it  was  effected, 
on  the  Basis  and  Constitution  indicated,  under  the  name  and  title  of 
the  United  Synod  of  the  Evangelical  Lutheran  Church  in  the  South.  Thus 
with  the  Evangelical  Lutheran  Tennessee  Synod  and  the  Holston  Synod, 
the  Southern  General  Synod  was  merged  into  one  general  body. 

"We  have  reason  to  thank  the  Great  Head  of  the  Church,  that  the 
true  confessions  have  been  thus  again  formally  recognized  and  ack- 
nowledged. The  scriptural  premises  have,  in  this  way,  been  laid 
down  and  agreed  to,  and  by  prudence,  brotherly  love,  and  the  influence 
of  the  Holy  Spirit,  the  conclusions  must  be,  ultimately  inevitable.  But  it 
will  require  patience  and  much  judicious  work,  to  attain  that  higher  and 
more  churchly  plan  in  regard  to  doctrine  and  practice. 


88  History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

"After  its  organization,  important  business  was  transacted  by  the 
United  Synod,  —  some  of  which  will  require  the  attention  of  our  Synod; 
as,  foreign  missions,  important  home  missionary  work,  etc.  We  trust 
Synod  will  take  such  action  in  regard  to  these,  as  she  may  deem  proper. 


"S.  Henkel 
A.  Koiner 
A.  L.  Crouse 


E.  L.  Lybrand 

C.  M.  Efird 

C.  H.  Bernheim" 


This  report,  together  with  two  resolutions  explaining  more  fully 
the  position  of  the  Tennessee  Synod  with  regard  to  some  disputed  ques- 
tions such  as:  Ecclesiastical  Union,  Exchange  of  Pulpits,  Promiscuous 
Communion  or  Altar  Fellowship,  Secret  Society  Worship,  Chiliasm,  and 
the  maintenance  of  pure  Lutheran  doctrines  and  practices,  were  received 
and  adopted  by  a  rising  vote.  Thus,  for  the  first  time,  the  Synod 
had  committed  itself  to  organic  cooperation  with  other  Lutheran  Synods. 
This  action  was  not  a  repudiation  of  its  past  policy,  but  a  recognition 
of  the  fact  that  a  new  order  of  things  made  cooperation  both  desirable 
and  possible.  It  did  not  result  in  the  loss  of  any  of  the  essential  things 
for  which  the  Synod  had  stood  throughout  its  history;  but  it  did  make 
possible  a  broader  and  more  sympathetic  appreciation  of  the  work  which 
other  Lutherans  were  doing  in  the  maintenance  and  propagation  of  the 
Faith,  and  it  paved  the  way  for  the  ultimate  reunion  of  Lutherans  in 
North  Carolina  into  one  great  body  with  a  common  faith  and  a  common 
task. 


Rev.  Willis  A.  Deaton,  D.D. 

President  Tennessee  Synod  at 
Time  of  the  Merger 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  89 

Throughout  its  history^  the  Synod  enjoyed  the  benefit  of  strong 
leadership.  Henkel,  Stirewalt,  Moser,  Fox  and  others  are  names  which 
are  woven  into  the  fabric  of  this  history.  These  are  mentioned  because, 
in  each  instance,  families  who  bore  them  furnished  several  generations 
of  outstanding  leaders  and  because  their  representatives  were  active 
throughout  almost  the  entire  period  of  its  existence.  The  men  who  bore 
these  names,  and  many  others  who  were  associated  with  them,  deserve 
fuller  recognition  than  can  be  given  in  the  pages  of  this  brief  history. 
Their  names  may  be  forgotten  by  all  execpt  the  few  who  dig  into  the 
musty  records  of  the  past,  but  the  fruits  of  their  labors  will  live  on. 
for  they  served  faithfully  and  built  well.  Such  records  as  are  available 
attest  to  their  ability,  their  zeal,  their  energy,  and  not  infrequently,  to 
their  human  frailties.  Often  in  these  records  there  is  an  outcropping  of 
what  might  be  called  a  doctrinal  complex  which,  in  some  instances, 
made  them  appear  narrow  and  intolerant.  However  that  may  be,  the 
members  of  the  United  Evangelical  Lutheran  Synod  of  North  Carolina 
and  of  the  United  Lutheran  Church  in  America  owe  them  a  debt  that  can 
only  be  paid  by  a  loyalty  to  the  truth  which  they  so  valiantly  defended. 


President   Evangelical    Lutheran    Synod    and    Ministerium   of    North    Carolina,    1919-1921, 

President     United     Evangelical     Lutheran     Synod     of     North     Carolina,      1921-1947, 

President  Emeritus  United  Evangelical  Lutheran  Synod  of  North  Carolina,  1947- 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C,  91 

CHAPTER  VII 
Reunion 

On  Friday,  Saturday  and  Sunday,  April  29tii  to  May  1st,  1803,  a 
group  of  four  Lutheran  ministers  who  were  serving  congregations  in 
North  Carolina  met  at  Pine  (Union)  Church,  four  miles  east  of  Salisbury, 
and  held  a  series  of  preaching  services.  On  the  following  Monday,  May 
2nd,  they,  together  with  lay  representatives  from  fourteen  congregations, 
met  in  Salisbury  and  organized  the  North  Carolina  Synod.  On  Monday, 
July  17th,  1820,  five  ministers,  together  with  nineteen  lay  representatives 
from  nine  congregations,  met  in  Solomon's  Church,  Greene  County,  Ten- 
nessee, and  organized  the  German  Evangelical  Lutheran  Tennessee  Con- 
ference or  Synod.  On  Tuesday  evening,  March  1st,  1921,  eighty-eight 
ministers,  together  with  eighty  lay  delegates,  of  the  North  Carolina  and 
Tennessee  Synods,  met  in  St.  John's  Church,  Salisbury,  North  Carolina, 
for  divine  services.  At  ten  o'clock  the  following  morning  they  met  again 
for  divine  services  at  which  time  the  Order  for  Public  Confession  was 
used  and  the  Lord's  Supper  was  administered.  In  the  afternoon  of  the 
same  day,  they  met  once  more  and  effected  a  merger  of  the  two  bodies. 

Historic  events  may  be  set  down,  as  has  been  done  in  the  foregoing 
paragraph,  without  adornment  or  explanation.  But  history  is  more  than 
a  collection  of  figures  and  dates,  of  official  actions  and  approved  docu- 
ments. Such  are  usually  the  outcome  of  much  that  has  gone  before;  of 
hopes  and  prayers,  of  plans  and  patient  effort.  They  are  associated  with 
the  names  of  men  and  women  who  refuse  to  be  satisfied  with  things  as 
they  are  and  seek  to  bring  about  that  which  they  believe  should  be. 
This  is  eminently  true  of  the  three  landmarks  in  the  history  of  organized 
Lutheranism  in  North  Carolina.  Circumstances  which  preceded  and  at- 
tended the  first  two  have,  in  so  far  as  they  are  known  and  as  space 
would  permit,  already  been  given.  Much  that  is  associated  with  the  third 
is  a  matter  of  common  knowledge  for,  at  the  time  this  is  written,  almost 
half  of  the  ministers  who  took  part  in  the  Merger  Convention  are  still 
living,  including  four  of  the  six  members  of  the  Joint  Committee  on  Ar- 
rangements; and  a  record  of  much  that  transpired  is  preserved  in  the 
minutes  of  the  two  merging  Synods.  However,  for  the  benefit  of  those 
who  did  not  share  this  privilege,  and  of  others  who  may  not  have  easy 
access  to  the  records,  some  effort  must  be  made  to  present  the  story  here. 

As  complete  as  was  the  break  in  1820,  there  were  those  on  both 
sides  who  deplored  the  unhappy  situation  and  hoped  for  a  reconciliation. 
Dr.  S.  Henkel,  in  his  History  of  the  Tennessee  Synod,  has  this  to  say: 
"It  is  hardly  just  to  conclude  that  all  those  who  followed  out,"  the  North 
Carolina  Synod  group,  "were  in  full  sympathy  with  this  move  and  the 
doctrines  of  the  leader,  but  were  carried  along  rather  by  the  force  of 
circumstances  and  their  situation."*     Certainly  there  was  a  desire  within 

*  History  of  Tennessee  Synod,  p.   22. 


92  History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

the  North  Carolina  Synod  to  reach  an  understanding  for,  at  the  Conven- 
tion held  in  Organ  Church  in  1823,  "A  committee  was  appointed  to  cor- 
respond with  Paul  Henkel  for  the  purpose  of  attempting  to  do  away  with 
the  quarrels  that  have  broken  out  between  us  and  the  ministers  who 
have  separated  themselves  from  us."  During  the  next  few  years,  ap- 
proaches were  made  by  both  sides;  but  these  efforts  were  without  avail, 
and  were  soon  abandoned;  and  for  thirty  years,  each  Synod  held  aloof 
from  the  other.  In  1858,  the  Rev.  S.  Rothrock  attended  the  meeting  of 
the  Tennessee  Synod  and  was  received  as  an  advisory  member;  but 
it  was  not  until  ten  years  later  that  definite  steps  were  taken  to  establish 
fraternal  relations  between  the  two  bodies.  The  report  of  President  N. 
Aldrich  of  the  North  Carolina  Synod,  1868,  contains  this  item,  "My  resi- 
dence in  Charlotte  has  furnished  frequent  opportunities  for  interviews 
with  our  brethren  of  the  Tennessee  Synod,  in  which  the  disposition  to 
lose  sight  of  old  issues  was  quite  manifest.  We  recommend  that  a  cor- 
responding delegate  be  elected  to  represent  this  Synod  at  the  next  annual 
convention  of  that  body  and  to  convey  our  friendly  and  Christian  greet- 
ings to  them  as  brethren  of  the  same  household  of  faith,  and  to  request 
that  a  delegate  be  appointed  in  turn  to  meet  with  this  Synod  at  its  next 
Convention."  The  Rev.  Prof.  L.  A.  Bikle  was  elected  as  delegate  and 
the  Rev.  N.  Aldrich,  alternate.  The  Minutes  of  the  Tennessee  Synod, 
1868,  state  that  Rev.  N.  Aldrich  presented  his  credentials  as  a  delegate 
from  the  North  Carolina  Synod,  and  was  received  as  such.  Rev.  J.  M. 
Smith  was  chosen  as  a  delegate  to  the  next  convention  of  the  North 
Carolina  Synod. 

This  exchange  of  delegates  soon  resulted  in  an  effort  to  bring 
about  a  union  between  the  two  bodies.  At  its  convention  in  1870,  the 
North  Carolina  Synod  adopted  the  following,  "Resolved,  That  the  Evan- 
gelical Lutheran  Synod  of  North  Carolina,  do  at  the  present  meeting, 
appoint  a  committee  of  three  ministers  and  two  intelligent  laymen  to 
confer  with  a  like  committee  from  the  Evangelical  Lutheran  Tennessee 
Synod,  and  that  these  committees,  if  possible,  agree  upon  terms  of  union, 
to  be  submitted  to  their  respective  Synods,  for  adoption  or  rejection,  at 
their  next  annual  meeting  thereafter."  The  President  appointed  the  Rev. 
L.  C.  Groseclose,  N.  Aldrich  and  S.  Scherer  and  Dr.  P.  A.  Sifford  and 
Captain  J.  A.  Fisher  as  the  North  Carolina  Synod  representatives.  Mem- 
bers appointed  by  the  Tennessee  Synod  were  the  Revs.  A.  J.  Fox,  J.  M. 
Smith  and  Timothy  Moser  and  Messrs.  Alexander  Conrad  and  A.  Costner. 
This  committee  met  in  Mt.  Pleasant,  N.  C,  April  25,  1871,  and  agreed  on 
a  Basis  of  Union  which  was  recommended  for  adoption  by  both  Synods. 
The  North  Carolina  Synod  adopted  it  without  change,  and  the  Tennessee 
Synod  also  adopted  it,  but  with  a  few  modifications.  Subsequent  action 
by  the  North  Carolina  Synod  to  the  effect  that  all  action  in  regard  to 
union  with  other  ecclesiastical  bodies  be  postponed  for  five  years  put 
an  end  to  the  matter  for  the  time  being. 

Although  the  contemplated  union  failed  to  materialize,  the  two 
Synods  continued  to  exchange  delegates,  and  their  members  were  drawn 
still  closer  together  through  various  co-operative  activities.  Their  rep- 
resentatives worked  together  in  the  United  Synod.     In  1900,  the  first  of 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  93 

a  series  of  annual  reunions  was  held.  These  were  attended  by  large 
numbers  from  both  Synods.  A  free  conference  was  held  in  St.  John's 
Church,  Salisbury,  September  21-22,  1904,  which  was  attended  by  fourteen 
ministers  from  the  North  Carolina  Conference  of  the  Tennessee  Synod 
and  twenty-five  from  the  North  Carolina  Synod.  In  1908,  the  first  of  a 
series  of  joint  Sunday  School  normals  was  held  at  St.  James'  Church, 
Concord.     The  second  was  held  at  Lenoir  College  in  Hickory. 

It  was  not  until  1914,  however,  that  the  next  and  final  movement 
toward  the  long  desired  union  of  the  two  bodies  got  under  way.  At  its 
meeting  the  previous  year,  the  North  Carolina  Synod  had  appointed  a 
committee  consisting  of  the  Revs.  C.  P.  MacLaughlin,  B.  S.  Brown,  Sr., 
and  R.  L.  Patterson,  D.D.,  to  prepare  plans  and  a  program  for  the  proper 
celebration  of  the  400th  anniversary  of  the  Reformation  and  to  report 
to  the  next  convention.  In  its  report,  the  committee  recommended,  among 
other  things,  "That  the  President  of  this  Synod  appoint  a  commission  of 
three  pastors  and  two  laymen,  to  meet  a  similar  commission  from  the 
Evangelical  Lutheran  Tennessee  Synod,  this  Joint  Commission  to  be 
herewith  authorized  to  consider  the  proposition  to  unite  all  Lutherans  of 
the  state  of  North  Carolina  into  one  synodical  body,  this  same  to  be 
entered  upon  with  the  earnest  hope  and  prayers  of  the  church  that  it 
may  be  consummated  at  such  a  date  so  as  to  celebrate  the  400th  anni- 
versary of  the  Reformation  at  some  central  place  by  a  united  Lutheranism 
in  the  state  of  North  Carolina." 

Synod  adopted  this  recommendation,  and  the  following  were  ap- 
pointed as  its  members  on  the  joint  commission:  the  Revs.  C.  P.  Mac- 
Laughlin, B.  S.  Brown  and  R.  L.  Patterson,  D.D.,  and  Prof.  G.  F.  McAllister 
and  Mr.  A.  H.  Snider.  The  Tennessee  Synod  also  acted  favorably  on  this 
overture  and  appointed  as  its  members  on  the  joint  commission  the  Revs. 
E.  H.  Kohn,  Ph.D.,  J.  H.  Wannemacher  and  W.  J.  Boger,  and  Messrs. 
John  M.  Rhodes  and  J.  H.  C.  Huitt.  The  commission  held  three  meetings, 
the  last  on  May  4,  1915,  and  formulated  a  tentative  basis  of  union  to  be 
submitted  to  the  Synods  concerned.  It  further  reported  that,  "It  is  the 
conviction  of  the  joint  commission  that  the  time  is  ripe  for  the  union  of 
the  two  Synods."  The  North  Carolina  Synod  adopted  the  basis,  but 
the  Tennessee  Synod  made  changes  that  necessitated  the  continuance  of 
negotiations. 

At  times  it  looked  as  though  the  whole  effort  would  again  fail; 
but  in  1919,  the  recommendation  of  the  Tennessee  Synod  that  a  new  Com- 
mission on  Basis  and  Constitution  be  appointed  was  accepted  by  the 
North  Carolina  Synod,  and  the  following  were  named  as  its  representa- 
tives on  the  commission:  The  Revs.  M.  L.  Stirewalt,  N.  D.  Bodie,  G.  H.  L. 
Lingle,  and  Prof.  G.  F.  McAllister  and  Mr.  P.  M.  Barger.  Representa- 
tives from  the  Tennessee  Synod  were  the  Revs.  W.  A.  Deaton,  D.D., 
V.  L.  Fulmer,  W.  J.  Roof  and  Messrs.  J.  J.  George  and  B.  F.  Campbell. 

This  joint  commission  held  two  meetings,  on  August  15th  and  23rd, 
respectively.  An  organization  was  effected  by  the  election  of  Prof.  G.  F. 
McAllister,  chairman,  and  the  Rev.  M.  L.  Stirewalt,  secretary.  It  rec- 
ommended to  each  of  the  two  Synods  that  the  constitution  and  by-laws 


94  History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

appended  to  its  report  be  adopted  without  change,  as  a  Basis  of  Union 
and  Constitution  for  the  new  Synod,  or  that  it  be  rejected.  In  this 
connection,  it  called  attention  to  the  fact  that  said  constitution  and  by- 
laws contained  provision  for  amendment  later  when  desired.  It  further 
recommended  that  this  adoption  be  effected  by  the  passing  of  certain 
resolutions  which  it  proposed;  and  that,  in  the  event  of  adoption,  a  Com- 
mittee on  Arrangements  be  appointed  composed  of  three  members  from 
each  Synod,  whose  duty  it  should  be: 

"(a)  To  inquire  into  and  provide  for  the  legality  of  the  entire 
movement  toward  union;     and,   if  necessary,  to  employ  legal  counsel. 

"(b)  To  arrange  and  perfect  all  details  incident  to  the  formation 
of  the  union  and  the  holding  of  the  first  convention." 

The  report  was  submitted  to  the  two  Synods  by  their  respective 
members  on  the  joint  commission.  The  Tennessee  Synod,  at  its  99th  con- 
vention, held  in  Solomon's  Church  near  Forestville,  Virginia,  September 
10-14,  1919,  adopted  the  report  after  amending  it  by  the  addition  of  an- 
other by-law.  The  report  was  presented  to  the  North  Carolina  Synod  at 
its  convention  held  in  St.  Mark's  Church,  China  Grove,  N.  C,  May  11-15, 
1920.  The  secretary  of  the  joint  commission  submitted  an  additional 
report  which  indicated  the  changes  that  had  been  made  and  stated  that, 
with  these  changes,  the  Tennessee  Synod  adopted  the  report  of  the  joint 
commission  by  items  and  as  a  whole  and  continued  the  committee." 
Whereupon  the  report  of  the  joint  commission  on  basis  and  union  was 
adopted  by  items  and  as  a  whole,  and  the  additional  report  was  received 
as  information  and  ordered  printed  in  the  minutes.  The  Revs.  M.  L. 
Stirewalt  and  G.  H.  L.  Lingle  and  Prof.  G.  F.  McAllister  were  appointed 
as  Synod's  members  on  the  Committee  on  Arrangements. 

At  its  100th  convention  held  in  Emmanual  Church,  Lincolnton, 
N.  C,  beginning  on  October  20,  1920,  its  members  of  the  joint  commission 
offered  the  following: 

"In  view  of  the  action  of  the  North  Carolina  Synod  in  adopting 
the  report  as  presented  by  the  commission,  we,  your  committee,  make 
the  following  recommendations: 

"1st.  That  the  Synod  reconsider  its  action  at  its  last  session  in 
the  adoption  of  the  amended  report  of  the  commission  on  union  with 
the  North  Carolina  Synod. 

"2nd.  That  this  Synod  adopt  the  report  as  it  was  presented  to  the 
Synod  at  its  last  session  without  amendment." 

These  recommendations  were  adopted,  and  the  following  were  ap- 
pointed on  the  joint  committee  on  arrangements:  the  Revs.  J.  C.  Dietz 
and  O.  W.  Aderholdt  and  Mr.  J.  J.  George. 

Upon  the  adoption  of  the  proposed  constitution  and  by-laws  as  a 
basis  of  union  by  both  Synods,  and  upon  the  appointment  of  the  joint 
committee  on  arrangements,  the  way  was  clear  for  the  consummation 
of  the  union.     The  committee  immediately  prepareo  to  carry  out  its  as- 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N,  C.  95 

signment,  and  held  its  first  meeting  November  29,  1920.  The  Rev.  J.  C. 
Dietz  was  elected  chairman  and  the  Rev.  M.  L.  Stirewalt  secretary.  The 
Honorables  L.  M.  Swink  and  Bismark  Capps,  and  Judge  C.  M.  Efird 
were  elected  a  committee  of  legal  advisers.  Three  other  meetings  of 
the  committee  were  held  at  which  all  details  necessary  to  the  completion 
of  the  union,  including  the  time  and  places  for  called  meetings  of  the 
Synods  and  the  Merger  convention  were  worked  out. 

On  Tuesday,  March  1,  1921,  the  North  Carolina  Synod  held  a  called 
meeting  in  Haven  Lutheran  Church,  and  the  Tennessee  Synod  met  in 
adjourned  session  of  its  100th  Convention,  in  St.  John's  Lutheran  Church, 
both  in  Salisbury.  Each  Synod  received  and  adopted  the  report  of  the 
joint  committee  on  arrangements,  and  such  resolutions  as  were  necessary 
to  prepare  the  way  for  the  actual  merger.  An  evening  service  was  held 
in  St.  John's  Church  which  was  attended  by  the  members  of  both  Synods. 
Dr.  R.  B.  Peery  was  the  Liturgist,  and  the  sermon  was  preached  by  the 
Rev.  A.  G.  Voigt,  D.D.,  on  the  subject,  "Remembej-  Jesus  Christ."  At 
ten  o'clock  Wednesday  morning,  March  2,  representatives  of  the  two 
Synods,  visitors  and  Lutherans  of  the  community,  assembled  to  participate 
in  Divine  services.  The  Rev.  J.  L.  Morgan,  president  of  the  North  Caro- 
lina Synod,  and  the  Rev.  W.  A.  Deaton,  D.D.,  president  of  the  Tennessee 
Synod,  conducted  the  service  and  administered  the  Lord's  Supper.  The 
sermon  was  preached  by  the  Rev.  M.  G.  G.  Scherer,  D.D.,  secretary  of 
the  United  Lutheran  Church  in  America,  who  had  at  one  time  been  a 
member  of  the  North  Carolina  Synod  and  whose  ancestors  had  been 
among  the  early  Lutherans  who  came  to  North  Carolina  from  Pennsyl- 
vania. He  used  as  the  subject  of  his  sermon,  "The  Church  for  These 
Critical  Times." 

The  Merger  convention  was  called  to  order  at  1:30  p.m.,  March  2, 
1921,  by  the  Rev.  J.  C.  Dietz,  chairman  of  the  committee  on  arrange- 
ments. Pastor  Dietz  was  then  elected  temporary  chairman,  and  the  Rev. 
M.  L.  Stirewalt  was  elected  temporary  secretary.  The  Revs.  H.  B.  Shaef- 
fer,  secretary  of  the  Tennessee  Synod,  and  G.  H.  L.  Lingle,  secretary  of 
the  North  Carolina  Synod,  presented  certified  lists  of  ministers  and  ac- 
credited delegates  from  their  respective  Synods.  The  roll  call  showed 
96  ministers  and  88  lay  delegates  present,  with  twenty  ministers  and  three 
lay  delegates  absent. 

The  secretary  of  the  committee  on  arrangements  then  presented  a 
program  of  procedure  for  the  Merger  convention.  This  included  reading 
of  the  Bill  of  Enactment  and  approval  of  the  charter,  consideration  and 
adoption  of  the  constitution  and  by-laws  with  proposed  amendments,  per- 
manent organization  under  the  new  constitution  and  by-laws,  and  the 
adoption  of  proposed  resolutions.  The  several  items  were  considered  and 
the  necessary  action  taken.  The  election  of  officers  resulted  as  follows: 
president,  Rev.  Jacob  L.  Morgan,  Salisbury,  N.  C;  secretary.  Rev.  H.  B. 
Schaeffer,  Kings  Mountan,  N.  C;  statistical  secretary,  Rev.  E.  H.  Kohn, 
Mt.  Holly,  N.  C;  treasurer,  James  D.  Heilig,  Esq.,  Salisbury,  N.  C. 
Upon  the  completion  of  its  agenda,  the  convention  adjourned  subject  to 
the  call  of  the  president  at  a  time  and  place  to  be  determined  by  the 
committee  on  arrangements. 


96  History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

Since  the  Evangelical  Lutheran  Tennessee  Synod  was  not  an  in- 
corporated body,  it  was  necessary,  in  order  to  make  the  merger  legal, 
that  it  be  ratified  by  at  least  a  majority  of  the  congregations  of  that 
Synod.  Identical  copies  of  the  Resolutions  of  Merger  were  submitted  to 
each  congregation  of  that  Synod  for  ratification  or  rejection,  the  votes 
thereon  to  be  returned  to  the  secretary  on  or  before  May  1,  1921.  By  the 
time  appointed,  94  congregations  had  voted  to  confirm  and  ratify  them, 
and  three  had  voted  not  to  confirm  and  ratify  them.  Thus  the  merger 
of  the  Evangelical  Lutheran  Synod  and  Ministerium  of  North  Carolina 
and  the  Evangelical  Lutheran  Tennessee  Synod  into  the  United  Evangeli- 
cal Lutheran  Synod  of  North  Carolina  was  made  effective  as  of  March  2, 
1921. 

Separate  adjourned  meetings  of  the  two  Synods  were  held  in  Bur- 
lington, N.  C,  June  7-8,  1921,  to  transact  all  necessary  business  incident 
to  the  closing  of  their  records  as  individual  Synods.  The  adjourned  ses- 
sion of  the  Merger  convention  of  the  United  Evangelical  Lutheran  Synod 
of  North  Carolina  was  held  in  Macedonia  Church,  Burlington,  on  June 
8-10,  at  which  time  it  proceeded  to  take  over  the  work  of  the  old  Synods. 
Three  young  men,  Messrs.  Earl  K.  Bodie,  Paul  L.  Miller  and  George  W. 
Nelson,  were  ordained  to  the  office  of  the  ministry. 

A  full  record  of  proceedings  connected  with  the  merger  of  the 
two  bodies  is  contained  in  the  minutes  for  1921.  The  cover  page  carries 
a  reproduction  of  the  seal  of  the  merged  Synods.  In  its  center  is  a  picture 
of  Martin  Luther  under  which  are  clasped  hands  bearing  the  dates  1803 
and  1820.  Encircling  the  center  are  the  words,  The  United  Evangelical 
Lutheran  Synod  of  North  Carolina,  and  the  date  1921.  The  wording  on 
the  cover  is,  "Minutes  of  the  One  Hundred  and  Eighteenth  Annual  Con- 
vention of  the  United  Evangelical  Lutheran  Synod  of  North  Carolina, 
together  with  the  minutes  of  the  called  conventions  of  the  Evangelical 
Lutheran  Synod  and  Ministerium  of  North  Carolina  and  of  the  Evangeli- 
cal Lutheran  Tennessee  Synod  held  in  connection  with   the  merger. 

Salisbury,  N.  C,  March  1-2,  1921. 

Burlington,   N.   C,   June  7-10,    1921. 

Included  in  the  merger  were  pastors  and  congregations  of  the 
South  Carolina  and  Virginia  conferences  of  the  Tennessee  Synod.  At 
their  own  request,  those  of  the  South  Carolina  conference  were  transferred 
to  the  South  Carolina  Synod  in  1922,  and  those  in  the  Virginia  conference 
to  the  Virginia  Synod  in  1924.  The  territory  of  the  Synod  was  thus  re- 
stricted, for  the  firs+  time  since  1803,  to  the  State  of  North  Carolina. 
This  was  a  normal  and  desirable  arrangement,  but  it  was  not  accom- 
plished without  a  feeling  of  sadness  on  the  part  of  those  who  had  so 
long  been  associated  with  each  other  in  a  common  fellowship  and  labor. 

The  transactions  of  1921  resulted  in  a  United  Lutheran  Synod  in 
North  Carolina  in  at  least  two  respects.  Its  members  were  united  on  a 
common  Doctrinal  Basis  true  to  the  historic  confessions  of  the  Lutheran 
Church;    and  they  were  bound  together  in  a  single  organization  for  the 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  97 

promotion  of  the  entire  program  of  the  church.  But,  as  has  already 
been  indicated,  the  separate  lines  of  development  which  had  been  followed 
since  1820,  had  resulted  in  traditions,  fellowships,  methods  of  operation, 
and  even  prejudices,  that  were  peculiar  to  each  group.  Much  had  already 
been  done  through  multiplied  contacts  and  cooperative  activities  to  mini- 
mize these  divisive  elements  and  to  draw  the  groups  closer  together;  but 
it  was  important  that  this  process  be  continued  and  accelerated  in  order 
to  bring  about  a  deeper  and  more  binding  unity.  Mention  should  be 
made  of  a  few  ways  in  which  the  officials  of  the  new  organization  sought 
to  accomplish  this. 

The  first  of  these  was  the  arrangement  of  conference  lines  so  that, 
in  as  far  as  possible,  each  of  the  conferences  in  North  Carolina  would 
embrace  congregations  and  pastors  from  both  of  the  merging  Synods. 
While  there  was  some  overlapping,  practically  all  of  the  congregations 
of  the  old  North  Carolina  Synod  were  located  east  of  a  line  running 
approximately  north  and  south  through  Statesville  and  Charlotte;  and 
the  majority  of  the  Tennessee  Synod  congregations  were  in  territory  west 
of  that  line.  The  work  of  establishing  conference  lines  was  placed  in 
the  hands  of  a  special  committee  on  districts  and  work  of  conferences, 
composed  of  the  Revs.  V.  C.  Ridenhour,  M.  L.  Pence,  P.  D.  Brown  and 
B.  D.  Wessinger.  In  its  report  which  was  adopted  at  the  adjourned  meet- 
ing in  Burlington,  it  recommended  three  conferences  in  North  Carolina, 
as  follows : 

"a.  The  Eastern  Conference  shall  comprise  all  territory  of  the 
United  Evangelical  Lutheran  Synod  of  North  Carolina  east  of  the  fol- 
lowing geographical  line:  the  Yadkin  river  and  the  western  boundaries 
of  Davie,  Surry  and  Yadkin  counties. 

"b.  The  Southern  Conference  shall  comprise  all  territory  of  the 
United  Evangelical  Lutheran  Synod  of  North  Carolina  included  within 
the  following  boundary  lines:  The  Yadkin  river  north  to  the  main  line 
of  the  Southern  railroad;  the  Southern  railroad  south  to  the  Cabarrus 
county  line;  west  along  the  northern  boundaries  of  Cabarrus,  Mecklen- 
burg, Lincoln  and  Cleveland  counties;  and  the  western  boundary  of 
Cleveland  County. 

"c.  The  Western  Conference  shall  comprise  all  territory  of  the 
United  Evangelical  Lutheran  Synod  of  North  Carolina  west  of  the  western 
boundaries  of  the  Eastern  Conference,  not  included  in  the  Southern  Con- 
ference." 

The  primary  consideration  in  this  arrangement  was  not  compact- 
ness or  convenience,  but  the  obliteration  of  old  Synod  lines,  and  provision 
for  more  frequent  contacts  between  congregations  and  pastors  which  had 
once  belonged  to  one  of  the  two  groups.  It  served  its  purpose  admirably 
and  was  continued  until  1936,  when  it  was  no  longer  considered  necessary. 
In  that  year,  the  territory  was  redistricted  into  four  more  compact  con- 
ferences. These  have  continued  to  serve  the  Synod  effectively  in  the 
carrying  out  of  its  program. 


98  History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

The  process  of  amalgamation  was  further  advanced  by  the  practice, 
where  conditions  justified  it,  of  encouraging  parishes  which  had  formerly 
belonged  to  one  group,  when  they  became  vacant,  to  call  a  former  member 
of  the  other  group.  These  new  associations  contributed  materially  to  a 
closer  fellowship  and  a  more  complete  understanding  between  pastors 
and  people  who  had  once  been  separated  by  Synodical  lines  and  afRiliations. 

Still  another  means  used  to  consolidate  the  union  made  official  by 
the  merger  was  the  publication  of  a  Synodical  paper.  At  the  1922  con- 
vention, memorials  were  received  from  four  of  the  five  conferences,  each 
asking  for  the  establishment  of  a  Synodical  monthly  parish  paper.  A 
recommendation  was  adopted  to  the  effect  that  this  be  done,  and  that 
a  committee  of  three  be  appointed  to  act  in  cooperation  with  the  Executive 
Committee  of  Synod  who  should  be  empowered  to  carry  this  recommen- 
dation into  effect.  The  committee  elected  the  Rev.  A.  R.  Beck,  editor  of 
the  paper,  to  be  known  as  the  North  Carolina  Lutheran,  and  the  first 
issue  was  published  in  January,  1923.  Dr.  Beck  continued  to  serve  as 
editor  until  1937,  when  he  asked  to  be  relieved.  Rev.  B.  E.  Petrea  was 
chosen  as  his  successor  and  served  until  1950,  when  he,  too,  asked  to  be 
relieved.  The  present  editor  is  the  Rev.  David  F.  Cooper  who  took  the 
place  of  the  Rev.  Roscoe  B.  Fisher  when  he  moved  beyond  the  bounds  of 
the  Synod.  The  paper  has  served  as  a  splendid  medium  for  the  promo- 
tion of  the  work  of  the  Synod  and  its  auxiliaries  and  for  the  dissemination 
of  news  about  the  various  congregations  and  their  activities. 

But  it  was  perhaps  the  united  effort  in  behalf  of  the  great  causes 
of  the  church  that  did  more  than  anything  else  to  weld  the  former  mem- 
bers of  the  two  Synods  into  one  truly  united  body.  When  people  are 
challenged  by  some  great  objective  and  work  together  to  attain  it,  they 
are  irresistibly  drawn  closer  to  each  other.  Two  causes  from  among 
many  may  be  used  to  illustrate  this.  Neither  Synod  had  been  indifferent 
to  the  causes  of  higher  education  and  of  church  extension,  but  when  their 
efforts  were  united,  a  new  day  had  dawned  and  a  new  challenge  had 
been  accepted. 

In  the  field  of  higher  education,  there  were  difficulties  to  be  over- 
come and  a  common  interest  in  one  great  institution  to  be  developed,  but 
Lenoir  Rhyne  College  soon  became  a  real  challenge  to  united  effort  in 
its  behalf.  In  return,  this  institution  began  to  pour  into  the  churches 
of  the  Synod  an  increasingly  large  stream  of  trained  leaders  who  had 
learned  to  know  and  appreciate  each  other. 

The  president  of  the  new  Synod  was  deeply  interested  in  the  cause 
of  Home  Missions  and  Church  Extension;  and  he  soon  imparted  to  its 
members  some  of  his  own  enthusiasm  and  enriched  it  with  his  counsel 
made  all  the  more  valuable  because  it  grew  out  of  his  many  years  of 
experience  as  developer  and  organizer  on  the  field.  As  a  result,  the 
interest  and  activity  which  already  existed  in  both  Synods  was  intensified 
and  broadened.  Two  field  missionaries  were  soon  at  work,  one  in  the 
eastern  part  of  the  state  and  the  other  in  the  western.  These  mission- 
aries, the  Rev.  S.  White  Rhyne  and  the  Rev.  N.  D.  Yount,  had  their 
headquarters  at  Rocky  Mount  and  Shelby,   respectively. 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  99 

Further  evidence  of  the  growing  interest  in  the  Home  Mission 
Causo  was  provided  at  the  1922  convention,  held  in  St.  Matthew's  Church, 
Kings  Mountain.  In  his  report,  the  President  recommended  that  Synod 
give  consideration,  at  that  convention,  to  the  matter  of  providing  an  en- 
dowment fund  for  Synodical  Home  Missions.  The  consideration  of  this 
recommendation  together  with  the  appeals  for  home  mission  work  pre- 
sented on  the  floor  of  Synod,  resulted  in  a  proposal  so  unusual  and  so 
challenging  that  it  is  quoted  in  full.  It  was  presented  by  Mr.  W.  A. 
Ridenhour. 

"November   17th,  1922 

"Having  heard  the  appeals  for  Home  Missions  and  Church  Extension 
as  presented  on  the  floor  of  Synod  and  having  seen  the  need  graphically 
illustrated  through  a  map  of  the  Lutheran  churches  of  North  Carolina, 
a  number  of  members  of  St.  Matthew's  Lutheran  Church,  Kings  Mountain, 
N.  C,  at  their  own  initiative,  met  in  the  Sunday  School  building  last 
night  and  took  the  following  action :  We,  the  undersigned,  do  hereby 
agree  to  give  $100.00  each  for  ten  consecutive  years;  thus  underwriting 
ten  shares  of  $1,000.00  each  toward  a  Permanent  Loan  Fund  to  be  es- 
tablished by  the  United  Lutheran  Synod  of  North  Carolina  for  Home 
Mission  and  Church  Extension  Work  within  the  bounds  of  this  state. 
Provided : 

1.  That  the  said  Synod  establish  a  Permanent  Loan  Fund  of  $100,- 
000.00,  the  remaining  ninety  shares  to  be  secured  by  the  Synod  from 
laymen  within  the  state.  The  first  payment  to  become  due  when  the 
total  one  hundred  shares  have  been  subscribed. 

2.  That  this  fund  be  used  in  Home  Mission  and  Church  Extension 
work  in  this  state  not  already  organized. 

3.  That  this  fund  be  held  and  handled  under  the  direction  of  the 
constituted  authorities  of  this  Synod." 

This  was  the  initial  step  toward  what  later  became  known  as 
the  Brotherhood  Loan  and  Gift  Fund,  since  its  promotion  was  subsequently 
taken  over  as  a  project  of  the  State  Brotherhood.  The  Women's  Mis- 
sionary Society  and  the  Luther  League  also  became  staunch  supporters 
of  the  Home  Mission  cause  and,  each  in  its  own  way,  worked  to  promote  it. 

The  merging  of  the  two  Synods  in  1921  was  the  answer  to  many 
prayers.  The  obstacles  that  had  for  so  long  stood  in  its  way  could  not 
have  been  removed  had  it  not  been  for  the  Divine  guidance  and  help 
which  its  advocates  so  evidently  received.  It  was  also  a  venture  in 
faith.  Naturally,  there  were  misgivings  in  the  minds  of  those  who  had 
embarked  upon  such  a  bold  adventure;  but  again,  they  were  ready  to 
go  forward  together,  relying  on  God's  guidance  and  blessing.  It  is  doubt- 
ful, however,  whether  the  most  hopeful  envisioned  the  progress  that  would 
be  made  during  the  next  thirty  years.  The  men  of  today  live  too  close 
to  the  period  to  be  able  to  view  it  from  the  detached  perspective  of 
the   historian   and   to  appreciate  the   real   significance  of  much  that  has 


100  History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

transpired.    However,  this  narrative  would  not  be  complete  without  some 
reference  to  trends,  developments,  and  accomplishments  since  1921. 

The  United  Lutheran  Synod  of  North  Carolina  began  its  work  under 
the  leadership  of  a  full-time  president.  The  historic  position  of  the 
Lutheran  Church  is  and  always  has  been  that  any  minister  chosen  to 
fill  a  special  office  is  first  among  equals;  that  he  is  entitled  to  exercise 
no  powers  or  privileges  not  inherent  in  the  office  to  which  he  has  been 
appointed  by  his  equals  in  the  church;  and  that  he  is  accountable  to 
them  for  all  his  official  actions.  Further  than  that,  it  has  been  the 
policy  of  the  Lutheran  Church  to  limit  these  powers  and  privileges  to 
those  which  were  essential  to  the  promotion  of  its  interests  and  work. 
The  Constitution  of  the  North  Carolina  Synod,  adopted  at  its  first  con- 
vention in  1803,  simply  states  "Each  Convention  of  Synod  elects  its  presi- 
dent." The  only  specific  duty  mentioned  is  that,  "The  president  will  ap- 
point each  day  the  pastor  who  shall  offer  prayer."  Some  duties  and 
privileges  were  evidently  regarded  as  inherent  in  the  office,  and  others 
were  added  later;  but  at  no  time  were  they  so  numerous  as  to  require 
more  than  a  fraction  of  the  incumbent's  time  and  effort.  The  Tennessee 
Synod  was  even  more  fearful  of  a  concentration  of  authority.  Its  basis  and 
regulations,  adopted  at  the  first  session,  provided  for  the  appointment  of  a 
chairman  and  secretary,  and  adds,  "But  it  is  not  to  be  understood  that 
these  must  serve  in  their  positions  throughout  all  sessions."  So  unimport- 
ant was  the  office  of  president  regarded  that,  for  many  years  the  name 
or  names  of  the  presiding  officers  were  not  given  in  the  minutes  of  the 
Tennessee  Synod,  and  only  in  later  years  did  this  office  resume  real 
significance. 

At  its  1919  convention,  the  North  Carolina  Synod  adopted  a  recom- 
mendation of  the  Finance  Committee  to  the  effect  that  the  president 
of  this  Synod  be  relieved  of  local  pastoral  work,  and  be  put  on  a  salary. 
It  also  conferred  upon  the  president  additional  rights,  powers,  and  duties. 
By  this  action,  it  became  the  second  Synod  in  the  United  Lutheran  Church 
to  employ  the  full-time  services  of  its  president.  The  United  Lutheran 
Synod  of  North  Carolina  continued  this  arrangement  and,  in  its  constitu- 
tion, provided  that  the  term  of  office  should  be  five  years. 

At  its  Merger  Convention,  the  Synod  elected  the  Rev.  Jacob  L. 
Morgan  to  this  office,  a  choice  that  proved  to  be  a  very  happy  one.  Presi- 
dent Morgan,  a  native  of  Rowan  County,  N.  C,  was  a  graduate  of  North 
Carolina  College  and  the  Lutheran  Theological  Southern  Seminary  and 
had  been  ordained  by  the  North  Carolina  Synod  in  1902.  His  first  parish 
was  composed  of  Haven  Church,  Salisbury,  and  Christ  Church,  Spencer, 
both  mission  congregations;  and  his  second  was  St.  Enoch  and  Trinity 
Churches  in  Rowan  and  Cabarrus  Counties.  In  1907,  he  accepted  a  call 
to  become  field  missionary  of  the  North  Carolina  Synod  and  continued 
to  serve  in  that  capacity  until  he  was  elected  full-time  president  of  the 
Synod  in  1919.  His  natural  gifts  for  leadership,  his  experience  as  a 
full-time  president,  and  his  familiarity  with  the  problems  of  the  field, 
all  fitted  him  for  the  new  position.  Much  of  the  progress  made  by  the 
Synod  during  the  next  quarter  century  may  be  attributed  to  his  pro- 
gressive spirit,  wise  leadership,  and  untiring  efforts. 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  101 

President  Morgan's  annual  reports  to  Synod  are,  in  themselves,  a 
history  of  this  period;  but  a  few  figures  gleaned  from  his  personal  records 
will  reveal  something  more  of  the  nature  and  extent  of  his  official  activi- 
ties. These  cover  his  two  years  as  president  of  the  North  Carolina  Synod, 
and  his  twenty-six  years  as  president  of  the  United  body.  Some  are  esti- 
mates, but  they  are  quite  evidently  conservative.  During  this  time,  he 
preached  3,000  sermons,  held  1450  conferences  with  congregational  offi- 
cials, attended  500  meetings  of  church  councils,  presided  over  151  meet- 
ings of  the  Executive,  Mission,  and  Ministerial  Education  committees,  at- 
tended 135  meetings  of  college  and  seminary  boards,  served  as  delegate 
to  all  conventions  of  the  United  Lutheran  Church  and  served  on  its  Board 
of  Foreign  Missions,  Board  of  American  Missions,  and  Executive  Board. 
He  also  attended  most  of  the  meetings  of  Conferences  and  of  the  Synodical 
Auxilaries  and  consulted  with  their  leaders  in  their  committee  meetings. 
Further  than  that,  he  carried  on  a  voluminous  official  correspondence; 
and  he  became  the  pastor  of  the  pastors  of  Synod,  advising  with  them 
in  their  ministerial  problems  and  sharing  their  personal  joys  and  sorrows. 

During  the  same  period,  his  official  acts  included:  ordination  of 
123  candidates  for  the  ministry;  installation  of  368  pastors;  participation 
in  117  dedications,  34  rededications,  30  blessings,  and  68  corner  stone 
layings.  Under  his  administration,  37  congregations  were  organized,  78 
new  houses  of  worship  were  built,  and  116  church  plants  were  equipped 
with   additional   educational   facilities. 

These  facts  and  figures,  and  many  others  that  might  have  been  in- 
cluded, are  definitely  a  part  of  the  history  of  the  period.  They  are  indi- 
cative of  the  way  in  which  the  organized  activities  of  the  Synod  were  ex- 
panding and  becoming  increasingly  effective.  More  than  that,  they  set 
up  standards  and  established  precedents  for  administrative  work  which 
have  been  effectively  continued  under  the  administration  of  Presidents 
Cromer  and  Conrad. 

The  administrative  work  of  the  Synod  so  carefully  planned  and 
capably  directed  by  President  Morgan,  has  been  continued  and  expanded 
during  the  administrations  of  his  successors.  At  the  1947  convention, 
the  Rev.  Voigt  R.  Cromer  was  elected  president  and  Dr.  Morgan  was 
elected  president  emeritus.  President  Cromer,  whose  father,  the  Rev. 
J.  L.  Cromer,  had  at  one  time  been  a  pastor  in  the  Tennessee  Synod, 
was  ordained  by  the  South  Carolina  Synod  in  1928,  and  served  as  a  pastor 
in  that  Synod  until  1930.  From  then  until  the  time  of  his  election  to 
its  presidency,  he  served  continuously  as  a  pastor  in  the  North  Carolina 
Synod,  first  at  Emmanuel,  Lincolnton;  then  at  St.  James',  Concord;  and 
finally,  at  Holy  Trinity,  Hickory.  He  continued  to  servo  the  Synod  most 
acceptably  until  the  convention  in  1949,  when  he  submitted  his  resigna- 
tion in  order  to  accept  the  presidency  of  Lenoir  Rhyne  College. 

The  Synod  accepted  this  resignation  with  regret  and  proceeded  to 
the  election  of  a  successor  to  fill  out  the  remainder  of  the  five-year  term. 
Dr.   P.  D.   Brown  was  elected,   but  after  prayerful  consideration,   he  de- 


Rev.  F.  L.  Conrad,  Sr.,  D.D. 
President  United  Evangelical  Lutheran  Synod  of  North  Carolina 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  103 

clined  to  accept  the  office.  Whereupon,  the  Synod  elected  its  secretary, 
the  Rev.  Flavius  L.  Conrad,  D.D.,  who  was  re-elected  in  1952  to  a  full 
five-year  term. 

President  Conrad,  a  native  of  Davidson  County,  N.  C,  and  a  de- 
scendent  on  both  his  father's  and  his  mother's  side,  of  early  German 
Lutheran  settlers  in  that  section  of  the  State,  was  educated  at  Lenoir 
Rhyne  College  and  the  Lutheran  Theological  Southern  Seminary,  from 
which  institutions  he  graduated  in  1916  and  1919,  respectively.  He  was 
ordained  by  the  Tennessee  Synod  in  1919  and  served  as  pastor  of  the 
Granite  Falls  Parish  until  1921.  From  1921  until  1949,  he  was  pastor 
of  Emmanuel  Church,  High  Point.  For  twelve  years  prior  to  his  election 
to  the  presidency  of  the  Synod,  he  had  served  as  its  secretary  and  had, 
as  such,  gained  an  intimate  knowledge  of  its  operation  that  was  to  prove 
helpful  to  him  in  his  new  office.  Under  his  leadership,  the  Synod  has 
continued  to  develop  most  encouragingly. 

It  is  more  difficult  to  write  the  story  of  other  leaders  whose 
work  has  contributed  so  largely  to  the  forward  movement  of  the  Synod. 
Their  number  is  so  large  and  their  contributions  are  so  varied  that  they 
must  be  recognized  as  groups  rather  than  individuals,  groups  which  in- 
cluded pastors  and  laymen,  men  and  women.  These  have  served  loyally 
as  members  of  boards  and  committees,  as  leaders  in  conferences  and  in 
Synodical  auxiliary  organizations,  and  in  many  other  capacities.  In  the 
promotion  of  any  cause  and  in  the  consummation  of  any  undertaking, 
the  individual  pastors  have  been  recognized  as  the  key  men.  Among 
them  have  been  some  of  outstanding  ability;  but  the  average  has  been 
high,  and  the  support  which  they  have  given  has  been  loyal  and  effective. 
The  same  may  be  said  about  the  leaders  among  the  lay  membership 
of  the  Synod.  Their  spirit  of  co-operation  has  been  commendable,  and 
at  times,  their  vision  and  their  faith  have  exceeded  that  of  the  pastors 
themselves. 

The  Synod  has  profited  immeasurably  from  the  consecrated  ser- 
vices of  these  leaders,  from  the  president  on  down;  and  the  result  has 
been  an  advance  all  along  the  line.  A  well-rounded,  closely  integrated, 
and  highly  effective  organization  has  been  developed;  new  congregations 
have  been  organized  and  large  parishes  have  been  broken  up  into  more 
effective  units,  and  the  total  membership  has  steadily  increased;  a  grow- 
ing sense  of  responsibility  for  the  use  of  time,  talents  and  material 
possessions  has  been  manifested  through  multiplied  service  activities  arid 
increased  financial  contributions;  commendable  progress  has  been  made 
in  the  field  of  education  from  the  parish  level  up  to  its  institutions  of 
higher  learning;  and  last  but  not  least,  the  inner  spiritual  life  of  the 
members  has  been  fostered  by  providing  more  pastors,  more  frequent 
and  varied  services  of  worship,  and  by  a  more  consistent  use  of  the 
means  of  Grace. 

It  is  not  always  possible  to  measure  the  progress  in  some  of  these 
fields.  The  reports  on  the  state  of  the  church,  once  a  part  of  every 
Synod  and  conference   program,  were  often   so   general  and  stereotyped 


1922 

1951 

99 

167 

153 

179 

79 

130 

20,644 

41,385 

13,805 

30,383 

$43,059 

$199,909 

88,562 

629,689 

391,906 

2,090,034 

104  History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

as  to  be  of  little  value,  and  they  have  largely  been  discontinued.  On 
the  other  hand,  modern  statistical  reports  are  a  reasonably  accurate  index 
to  membership  changes  and  financial  contributions.  An  effort  is  made 
here  to  show  progress  made  during  the  thirty-year  period  by  a  comparison 
of  some  items  in  the  reports  carried  in  the  minutes  for  1922  and  1951. 
Figures  of  the  Virginia  and  South  Carolina  Conferences  have  been  sub- 
tracted from  the  totals  given  in  the  1922  report,  as  their  inclusion  would 
not  present  a  true  picture  of  normal  growth. 

Number  of  Ministers 
Number  of  Congregations 
Number  of  Parishes 
Confirmed   Members 
Communing  Members 
Paid  on  Apportionment 
Total  Benevolence 
Total  Expended 

The  influence  and  activities  of  the  Synod  have  extended  far  beyond 
its  territorial  limits  and  its  local  organization.  Both  the  North  Carolina 
and  Tennessee  Synods  took  part  in  the  formation  of  the  United  Lutheran 
Church  in  America  in  1918;  and  when  the  United  Evangelical  Lutheran 
'Synod  of  North  Carolina  was  formed  in  1921,  it  took  its  place  in  that 
body  as  the  third  oldest  of  the  constituent  Synods.  In  1950,  it  ranked 
tenth  among  the  thirty-three  Synods  in  both  confirmed  and  communing 
membership.  It  has  participated  in  all  activities  of  the  general  body, 
and  its  members,  both  ministers  and  laymen,  have  repeatedly  served  on 
all  of  its  major  boards  and  committees.  At  the  present  time,  nine  min- 
isters and  five  laymen  are  serving  in  such  a  capacity. 

The  Synod  shares  with  other  Southern  Synods  responsibility  for  the 
maintenance  and  operation  of  the  Lutheran  Theological  Southern  Semi- 
nary at  Columbia,  South  Carolina;  the  Lutheran  Children's  Home  of  the 
South  at  Salem,  Virginia;  and  the  Lowman  Home  for  the  Aged  and 
Helpless  at  White  Rock,  South  Carolina.  Together  with  the  South  Caro- 
lina and  Georgia-Alabama  Synods,  it  supports  and  operates  Lutheridge, 
a  summer  assembly  ground,  at  Arden,  North  Carolina.  The  Synod  is  also 
privileged  to  have  two  directors  on  the  board  of  the  Sipes  Orchard 
Home,  an  institution  for  the  care  and  training  of  underpriviledged  boys, 
located  near  Hickory,  North  Carolina,  and  gives  this  institution  its  moral 
support. 

In  1935,  the  North  Carolina  Council  of  Churches  was  organized 
for  the  purpose  of  promoting  Christian  fellowship  among  the  Protestant 
communions  in  North  Carolina,  and  of  serving  as  a  medium  of  inter- 
church  counsel  and  advise  in  matter  affecting  the  progress  of  Christianity 
in  the  State.  The  Synod  agreed  to  enter  into  a  consultative  relationship 
with  this  body,  subject  to  the  approval  of  the  United  Lutheran  Church, 
and  to  send  representatives  to  its  meetings.     This  relationship  has  con- 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  105 

tinued,  and  in  this  way,  the  Synod  has  been  able  to  exert  an  influence 
upon  the  trend  of  Protestant  development  in  the  state  and  to  share  in 
the  benefits  of  a  broader  contact  without  compromising  its  distinctive 
position. 

More  than  two  hundred  years  have  passed  since  the  first  Lutherans 
established  permanent  settlements  in  North  Carolina  and  organized  con- 
gregations based  on  the  faith  and  doctrines  of  their  Lutheran  forefathers. 
The  difficulties  which  they  encountered,  the  heroic  and  successful  effort 
which  they  made  to  establish  themselves  and  their  church  in  a  new  land, 
the  strength  of  their  faith  and  the  enduring  quality  of  their  work,  are 
now  history.  Almost  one  hundred  and  fifty  years  have  gone  by  since  a 
few  pioneer  ministers  and  laymen  banded  together  to  establish  an  organ- 
ized Lutheran  body  in  the  State.  The  difficulties  which  they  and  their 
successors  had  to  overcome,  the  breach  which  left  them  a  house  divided 
against  itself,  the  century  of  separate  development,  and  the  ultimate 
realization  of  the  long  cherished  desire  for  a  united  Lutheran  body  in 
North  Carolina,  are  also  matters  of  history.  Thirty  years  of  additional 
history  have  been  made  since  the  pioneers  of  a  new  day  joined  hands  in 
the  United  Lutheran  Synod  of  North  Carolina  and  faced  the  future  to- 
gether. Under  God's  guidance,  and  with  His  blessing,  those  men  and  their 
successors  have  been  able  to  build  up  a  strong  and  united  force  such  as 
even  the  most  hopeful  men  of  fifty  years  ago  would  have  believed  impos- 
sible. Their  achievements,  and  those  of  a  long  line  of  consecrated  men 
and  women  who  preceded  them,  are  a  part  of  the  rich  heritage  that  has 
been  passed  on  to  those  who  live  today.  The  future  and  the  making  of 
its  history  lie  ahead. 


106  History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 


EDUCATIONAL 
DEVELOPMENTS 


Rev.  Voigt  Rhodes  Cromer,  D.D. 

President  Lenoir  Rhyne  College 

President  United  Evangelical  Lutheran   Synod 

of  North  Carolina,  1947-1949 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  109 

Educational  Developments 

Where  there  is  an  Evangelical  Lutheran  there  is  Christian  edu- 
cation, born  of  the  Word  and  nourished  by  it.  The  Holy  Scriptures  are 
inseparably  woven  into  hie  life.  The  family  Bibles  brought  by  the 
migrants  from  Pennsylvania  to  the  territory  which  is  now  North  Caro- 
lina were  the  textbooks  from  which  the  children  learned  to  read.  Well 
worn  copies,  some  of  which  are  now  in  the  Lenoir  Rhyne  College  library, 
testify  to  constant  use  made  of  these  volumes.  But  the  early  settlers  who 
are  the  spiritual  ancestors  of  those  v/ho  compose  the  membership  of 
our  Synod  were  not  content  with  lay  teaching  by  parents  and  com- 
munity leaders.  They  pressed  the  matter  of  an  ordained  ministry 
upon  the  mother  church  until  pastors  were  sent  to  preach  and  to  teach 
the  Word.  The  pastors  who  finally  came  had  been  carefully  examined 
v/ith  respect  to  their  educational  and  spiritual  attainments  and  found 
worthy.  The  difficulty  of  securing  pastors  from  the  homeland  was  so 
great  that  it  became  evident  that  members  of  the  local  church  must 
be  trained.  Resources  for  sending  candidates  for  the  ministry  to 
established  schools  were  lacking,  therefore  the  well  trained  men 
who  had  come  began  to  teach  others  to  follow  them.  Faculties 
were  small  and  facilities  meager  but  standards  were  high.  Those 
first  candidates  were  required  to  translate  the  New  Testament  from 
the  Greek  to  the  vernacular.  An  accurate  account  of  those  first  schools 
is  unobtainable,  and  a  complete  list  has  not  been  preserved. 

During  the  one  and  three-quarter  centuries  since  the  Pennsylvania 
German  migrants  settled  the  central  and  western  parts  of  North  Cro- 
lina,  the  customary  means  of  education  have  been  used.  {The  early 
instruction  of  children  came  through  family  worship  and  the  use  of 
the  Bible  in  the  home  to  teach  reading;  then  followed  catechization 
and  the  preaching  of  the  Word.  Sunday  schools  were  established  to 
teach  reading  and  worship,  while  printed  discourses  and  essays  were 
distributed  freely.  The  American  Bible  Society  was  fostered  with  its 
program  of  the  distribution  of  the  printed  Word.  Schools  were  founded 
to  train  pastors  and  to  promote  culture  among  the  laity. 

There  was  always  an  insistence  upon  an  educated  ministry. 
The  sending  of  a  delegation  to  Germany  to  secure  the  services  of  edu- 
cated pastors  is  sufficient  evidence  of  the  depth  of  this  desire.  When 
suitable  men  were  brought  to  the  field  the  great  difficulty  of  bringing 
them  so  far  led  to  early  efforts  to  train  others  locally. 

Sunday  Schools.  Sunday  schools  of  a  catechetical  nature  are  said 
to  have  been  founded  in  America  as  early  as  1764.  The  movement  be- 
gun by  Robert  Raikes  in  1780  soon  found  its  way  to  America  to  serve 
underprivileged  children  by  teaching  reading  and  writing.  These 
schools,  fostered  by  the  churches,  were  under  religious  leadership.  Me- 
moirs of  the  Moravians  in  North  Carolina  reports  under  date  of  February 
7,  1813  with  respect  to  Beaverdam  and  Bethlehem  Lutheran  churches,  near 


110         History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 


Rev.  Robert  A.  Yoder,  D.D. 

First  President  of 
Lenoir  College 


Prof.  S.  A.  Wolf 

Principal 
Gaston  Female  College 


Rev.  J.  H.  C.  Fisher 

President  Mont  Amoena 

Female  Seminary 


Prof.  H.  T.  J.  Ludwig,  Ph.D. 

First  Graduate  of  North 

Carolina  College 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  Ill 

Salem,  N.  C:  "Pastor  Shober  serves  these  churches  every  four  weeks, 
and  on  the  other  Sundays  free  school  is  held  there  and  the  young 
people  are  instructed  in  reading  and  singing;  adults  also  attend." 
No  record  can  be  found  showing  when  these  schools  began.  In  the 
minutes  of  the  Lutheran  Synod  of  N.  C.  1833  the  president  reports  two 
Sunday  schools.  Early  parochial  reports  do  not  list  such  items  so  it  is 
impossible  to  follow  closely  the  extension  of  this  work.  There  are 
occasional  exhortations  in  the  minutes  of  Synod  to  provide  Sunday 
schools  in  all  congregations. 

Sunday  schools  were  instruments  of  the  emotional  religious  revival 
of  the  early  years  of  the  nineteenth  century  and  were  not  readily  accepted 
by  some  Lutherans.  In  1861  a  committee  was  appointed  by  the  Ten- 
nessee Synod  to  consider  the  advisability  of  establishing  them  and 
was  discharged  in  1863  without  a  recorded  report.  Prior  to  this  there 
v/as  discussion  and  recommendation  in  the  North  Carolina  Synod  with 
respect  to  suitable  literature  for  use  in  the  schools. 

By  the  end  of  the  nineteenth  century  Sunday  schools  were  estab- 
lished in  practically  all  Lutheran  congregations  in  the  state  and  a  fairly 
wide  choice  of  literature  was  available.  At  this  time  there  was  general 
effort  throughout  the  country  to  improve  literature  for  the  schools  and 
teaching  in  them.  Much  of  this  interest  centered  in  grading  the  les- 
son material.  In  the  General  Council  of  the  Lutheran  Church  the  Rev. 
Dr.  Theodore  E.  Schmauk  began  to  produce  and  edit  a  graded  series 
of  lesson  helps.    This  was  introduced  in  some  schools  in  North  Carolina. 

In  November,  1907  the  N.  C.  Conference  of  the  Tennessee  Synod 
resolved:  "That  a  committee  be  appointed  to  consider  the  matter  of 
a  Summer  Normal  for  Sunday  school  workers;  to  learn  how  many  con- 
gregations will  furnish  one  or  more  students  for  this  school;  consult  with 
the  Trustees  of  Lenoir  College  concerning  the  use  of  the  college  build- 
ings and  consider  the  problem  of  securing  competent  instructors.  This 
committee  to  report  at  next  meeting  of  Conference."  The  committee 
reported  favorably  in  March,  1908  and  recom.mended  that  the  Lutheran 
Synod  of  North  Carolina  be  invited  to  join  in  the  effort.  The  North 
Carolina  Synod  appointed   a  co-operating  committee. 

Pastors  John  Hall  and  James  F.  Deal  and  Mr.  John  J.  George  from 
the  N.  C.  Conference  of  the  Tennessee  !7ynod  and  pastors  M.  M.  Kinard, 
Ph.D.  and  H.  A.  McCullough  and  Prof.  G.  F.  McAllister  began  the  work. 
This  committee  had  the  task  of  developing  and  organizing  a  new  ven- 
ture of  faith  and  of  allaying  mutual  distrust  of  individuals  in  each  Synod. 
This  was  the  first  united  work  on  a  state-wide  basis  undertaken 
by  the  two  Synods  since  1820.  It  succeeded  because  of  the  deep 
interest  of  each  group  in  Christian  education. 

The  first  school  met  in  St.  James  Church,  Concord,  N.  C,  in  July 
1908.  The  congregation  provided  free  entertainment.  About  150  reg- 
istered, others  attended.  The  Rev.  W.  L.  Hunton,  an  assistant  to  Dr. 
Schmauk,  came  from  Philadelphia  and  the  Rev.  E.  C.  Cronk  and  Mrs. 
Cronk    (nee  Scherer)    from  Atlanta.     Other   leaders  were   found  within 


112  History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

the  state.  The  success  of  the  first  school  made  annual  repetition  es- 
sential. The  second  session  was  held  at  Lenoir  Rhyne  College  with 
free  entertainment.  In  succeeding  years  a  moderate  charge  for  enter- 
tainment was  made.  The  war  years  saw  the  work  interrupted.  Resuming 
the  sessions  in  1920  the  name  was  changed  from  Sunday  School  Normal  to 
Summer  School  for  Church  Workers.  There  was  also  a  recommendation 
for  an  assembly  ground  which,  after  many  years,  resulted  in  the  estab- 
lishment of  Lutheridge  Assembly  Grounds,  Arden,  N.  C,  as  our  assembly 
center  for  the  Lutheran  Church  in  the  Southeast. 

In  August,  1925  a  Lutheran  State  Sunday  School  Association  was 
formed  in  connection  with  the  Summer  School  for  Church  Workers.  Synod 
had  approved  this  organization  at  the  session  of  the  preceding  year. 
In  order  that  the  Sunday  Schools  might  receive  proper  emphasis  the 
Synod  was  divided  into  fourteen  regional  districts.  In  1928  it  was  decided 
to  have  a  meeting  separate  and  apart  from  the  Summer  School.  Synod 
urged  all  schools  to  participate  in  the  work  of  the  convention.  A 
Committee  on  Parish  Education  included  this  work  of  the  convention 
in  its  program.  The  convention  served  the  Synod  faithfully  for  ten 
years  and  was  again  united  to  the  Summer  School. 

Latest  available  statistics  report  166  schools  within  the  bounds 
of  the  United  Lutheran  Synod  of  North  Carolina,  3547  staff  members, 
32483  pupils  in  attendance  and  716  in  the  home  department.  Excellent 
literature  is  available  with  many  trained  teachers. 

The  printed  word.  North  Carolina  Lutheranism  has  always  been 
conscious  of  the  value  of  the  printed  word.  In  1817  Synod  ordered  the 
printing  of  the  "Book  Called  Luther"  in  English,  "Containing  a  history 
of  the  Reformation,  the  growth  and  extension  of  the  church,  its  cultus, 
rules  and  regulations  with  short  extracts  thereof,  also  the  Augsburg 
Confession  and  citations  and  stories  from  Luther's  writings  regarding 
his  doctrines  and  character."  These  books  were  sold  throughout  the 
Carolinas  and  in  adjacent  states  to  inform  Lutherans  and  to  show 
non-Lutherans  what  the  church  belie\ed  and  taught. 

It  was  the  custom  to  append  sermons  and  theological  disserta- 
tions to  the  published  minutes  of  Synod  and  to  have  like  matter  printed 
in  pamphlets  for  free  distribution  or  for  sale  at  cost.  Very  early  there 
appeared  periodicals  to  inform  the  people  and  to  stimulate  church 
loyalty  and  active  Christian  faith.  A  complete  list  is  not  available. 
"The  Lutheran"  from  the  General  Council,  the  "Observer"  from  the  Gen- 
eral Synod,  "Our  Church  Paper"  from  New  Market  and  the  "Lutheran 
Church  Visitor"  from  Columbia  served  the  people  with  news  and  doctrinal 
discussions,  sometimes  also  as  media  for  controversy.  At  New  Market 
the  Henkels  published  the  first  American  English  Book  of  Concord  in 
1851.  Translations  from  the  German  and  Latin  were  made  by  the  Revs. 
Ambrose  and  Socrates  Henkel,  the  Rev.  J.  Stirewalt,  the  Rev.  H.  Wetzel 
and  the  Rev.  J.  R.  Moser,  using  a  translation  of  the  Smaller  Catechism 
made  by  the  Rev.  David  Henkel. 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  113 

Pamphlets  of  a  controversial  nature  are  to  be  found  from  the 
beginning  to  our  own  time 

Teaching  and  preaching.  In  the  minutes  of  1806  it  is  "Resolved: 
that  no  pastor  in  our  connection  shall  confirm  children,  except  in  case 
of  absolute  necessity,  without  a  six  weeks  preparation  beforehand." 
Dr.  Bernheim  quotes  Rev.  Roschen:  "My  catechumens,  whom  I  have 
instructed  three  days  in  every  week  for  seven  weeks,  consist  partly  of 
married  persons,  some  of  them  as  old  as  thirty  years,  and  young  per- 
sons from  sixteen  to  twenty  years  of  age."  The  need  for  an  educated 
ministry  was  imperative  because  the  pastors  must  educate.  With  them 
church  membership  must  be  more  than  the  impulse  of  an  aroused 
conscience  or  hysterical  fear  of  eternal  damnation.  It  must  be  an  in- 
formed understanding  of  salvation  through  the  blood  of  a  divine  Redeem- 
er and  an  abiding  trust  in  a  loving  Father  in  heaven.  A  German  monk 
had  agonized  that  his  fellowmen  might  be  led  into  the  faith  which  would 
free  them  from  slavish  obedience  to  arbitrary  laws  and  bring  them  into 
the  glorious  freedom  of  love  for  righteousness  through  love  of  and  for  a 
benevolent  Creator. 

Luther's  Smaller  Catechism  was  the  accepted  text.  It  was  mem- 
orized with  proof  texts.  An  annotated  Smaller  Catechism  known  as  the 
Carolina  Catechism  was  published  in  Germany  and  supplied  to  the 
Lutherans  in  the  Carolinas. 

Catechising  must  have  been  exhc^usting  labor.  Illiteracy  of  cate- 
chumens, the  fewness  of  catechists  and  the  scattered  population  all 
added  to  the  burden.  One  of  the  constant  calls  of  those  without  a 
pastor  was  for  a  catechist.  Later  in  the  life  of  the  Synod  some  pastors 
must  have  neglected  this  teaching  because  one  finds  numerous  exhor- 
tations to  practice  it. 

Sermons  were  numerous  and  lengthy.  At  Synods  and  Conferences 
one  preacher  followed  another  immediately.  Often  two  pastors  preached 
at  the  same  time,  one  in  the  building  and  another  in  the  grove.  Travel- 
ing missionaries  preached  daily  or  several  times  in  a  day  if  groups 
could  be  gathered  in  a  home  or  at  some  central  location.  The  pastor's 
visit  by  the  fireside  was  an  occasion  for  "godly  discourse".  Sermons 
were  discussions  of  fundamentals  in  faith  and  life.  Few  were  shorter 
than  an  hour  and  many  were  much  longer.  Some  were  strongly 
inclined  toward  a  pessimistic  view  of  life  and  exhortation  to  beware 
of  eternal  damnation.  The  funeral  sermons  preserved  for  our  reading 
seem  gruesome  in  warning  against  c<^ernal  damnation.  The  pastors 
met  the  rugged  conditions  of  a  rude  frontier  civilization  with  boldness 
and  arduous  effort,  determined  to  minister  salvation  in  such  manner 
as  to  save  their  fellow  men  by  the  grace  of  God. 

Schools.  The  difficulty  of  securing  educated  leaders  from  the 
mother  church  in  Europe  made  it  imperative  to  train  men  locally.  Dr. 
G.  D.  Bernheim  quotes  the  patriarch  Muhlenberg:  "True,  enough  teach- 
ers and  false   apostles  may  be  found,  who  pervert  the  Word  of   God, 


114  History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

The  Southern  Seminary  is  one  of  the  oldest  Lutheran  schools  in 
this  country.  It  was  opened  in  1830,  in  Colonel  John  Eichelberger's 
home,  near  Pomaria,  S.  C.  From  there  it  was  moved  to  Lexington,  New- 
berry, and  Columbia,  S.  C,  Salem,  Va.,  Newberry,  Charleston,  and  Co- 
lumbia, S.  C.  This  Seminary  has  made  a  large  and  lasting  contribution 
to  the  life  and  growth  of  the  Lutheran  Church,  especially  so  in  the  South- 
land. 

Among  those  who  headed  this  school  were:  Rev.  J.  G.  Schwartz, 
Dr.  E.  L.  Hazelius,  Rev.  William  Berly,  Dr.  Lewis  Eichelberger,  Dr.  J.  A. 


Rev.  Andrew  George  Voigt, 
D.D.,  LL.D. 

Dean  Lutheran  Theological 
Southern  Seminary 

Brown,  Dr.  J.  P.  Smeltzer,  Dr.  A.  R.  Rude,  Dr.  S.  A.  Repass,  Dr.  A.  G. 
Voigt,  Dr.  J.  A.  Morehead,  Dr.  M.  G.  G.  Scherer,  Dr.  C.  A.  Freed,  Dr.  C, 
K.  Bell,  Dr.  E.  C.  Cooper,  and  now  Dr.  J.  L.  Yost.  Dr.  M.  L.  Stirewalt 
and  Dr.  J.  B.  Moose  each  served  as  Dean  for  a  few  years.  Others  who 
served  on  the  faculty  deserve  mention  here  also,  but  lack  of  space  forbids. 

Dr.  A.  G.  Voigt  was  Professor  of  Systematic  Theology  in  this  school 
for  a  total  of  forty-one  years,  and  was  Dean  for  thirty  of  those  years.  He 
was  a  thorough  scholar,  a  master  teacher,  and  withal  a  man  of  God.  He 
was  a  loyal  member  of  the  North  Carolina  Synod  from  1898  to  the  time  of 
his  death,  January  2,  1933.  He  still  lives  in  the  lives  of  the  men  whom 
he  trained  in  this  School  of  the  Prophets  for  soul  saving  service. 

J.  L.  M. 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  115 

and  manufacture  the  most  baneful  sects  with  it!  O  how  necessary, 
useful  and  consolatory  would  it  not  be,  if  we  were  able  to  erect  a  long 
wished  for  institution,  in  which  catechists  could  be  trained  who  would 
be  capable  and  willing  to  teach  a  school  during  the  week,  and  to  deliver 
a  discourse  (vertrag)  on  the  Lord's  day.  It  would  not  be  necessary 
to  torment  such  subjects  many  years  with  foreign  languages;  it  would 
be  sufficient  if  they  possessed  mother  wit,  a  compendious  knowledge 
and  experience  of  the  marrow  and  sap  of  theology,  could  write  a  toler- 
able hand,  understand  their  vernacular  (German)  and  the  English 
tongues,  and  the  elements  of  Latin.  They  should  also  possess  a  robust 
bodily  constitution,  able  to  endure  every  kind  of  food  and  weather, 
and  especially  have  a  heart  that  sincerely  loves  Jesus  and  His  lambs." 

In  writing  history  many  records  are  not  available  and  many  of 
the  elements  which  enter  into  success  or  failure  have  been  deliberately 
omitted.  One  good  woman  could  never  forget  that  an  estimable  and 
successful  pastor  wiped  his  brow  with  a  red  bandana  handkerchief  while 
delivering  a  baccalaureate  sermon.  On  such  things  does  the  reputation  of 
an  institution  rise  or  wane.  The  following  pages  are  not  satisfactory  to 
the  writer  and  will  be  found  unsatisfactory  by  many.  The  paucity  of 
records  does  not  permit  a  complete  story  and  many  factors  entering 
into  the  picture  cannot  be  accurately  portrayed. 

The  primary  aim  of  Christian  education  in  the  Lutheran  Church 
has  been  to  supply  the  church  with  trained  leaders,  particularly  with 
pastors  thoroughly  furnished  to  every  good  work.  But  our  church  has 
never  lost  sight  of  civilization's  need  of  general  culture  and  learning 
for  the  preservation  of  a  proper  social  order  which  is  at  its  best  only 
when  the  elements  of  a  Christian  faith  and  ethic  are  included  in  edu- 
cation. Therefore  Christian  education  is  essential  to  the  life  of  the 
church. 

It  seems  evident  that  the  extension  of  catechization  to  selected 
individuals  to  prepare  them^  to  assist  the  pastors  was  practically  contempo- 
raneous with  the  arrival  of  the  first  pastors  and  the  teacher,  John  Arndt, 
who  became  a  pastor.  This  was  first  done  by  individual  pastors.  In 
1817  there  appears  a  report  of  the  "Tennessee  Academy"  under  the  care 
of  the  Rev.  Philip  Henkel  and  Joseph  E.  Bell,  teaching  Greek,  Hebrew, 
and  English.  It  appealed  to  the  North  Carolina  Synod  for  financial 
support.  Evidence  of  divided  counsel  is  present  and  aid  was  withheld 
until  there  was  assurance  that  the  "seminary's"  constitution  met  Synod's 
approval.  The  break  of  1820  came  and  nothing  further  is  heard  of  the 
school.  Individual  pastors  continued  to  train  men  who  were  licensed 
to  teach  catechumens,  to  exhort,  to  perform  emergency  baptisms  accord- 
ing to  each  man's  attainment  of  education.  Some  went  through  long 
apprenticeship  before  their  literary  and  theological  education  was  judged 
adequate  for  ordination.  Annual  examination  of  these  candidates  for 
pastoral  office  was  held  by  the  Ministerium  or,  in  the  interim,  by 
two  or  more  pastors,  and  they  were  solemnly  set  apart  for  service  with 
written  license  indicating  their  permissible  duties  and  their  obligations. 


116         History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 


Col.  Geo.  F.  McAllister 
Principal   Mount   Pleasant    Collegiate  Institute 
Mount  Pleasant,  North  Carolina 


Main  Building,  North  Carolina  College  and  Later 
Mount  Pleasant  Collegiate  Institute 

Mount  Pleasant,  N.  C. 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  117 

A  little  later  when  seminaries  had  been  established  some  were  trained 
in  them.  The  North  Carolina  Synod  appointed  trustees  for  the  Gettys- 
burg Seminary.  Definite  courses  of  study  were  prescribed  for  those  who 
studied  on  the  field,  and  examinations  were  not  easy. 

By  way  of  provision  for  the  laity  there  was  a  resolution  in  1812 
to  regulate  "Schools  for  Orphans"  which  evidently  included  others  than 
orphans  and  indigent  children  since  those  who  could  afford  it  were  to 
pay  tuition.  All  trustees  of  these  schools  were  required  to  be  members  of 
the  church  in  good  standing.  Teachers  were  subject  to  the  same  require- 
ment and  to  approval  by  the  pastors. 

At  various  times  there  were  private  schools,  academies  and 
parochial  schools.  Interesting  as  it  would  be  to  name  and  locate 
them,  incomplete  records  make  a  list  impossible.  These  schools  were 
the  expression  of  the  strong  desire  of  the  people  to  instruct  their 
children  in  the  faith  and  to  develop  a  strong  Christian  culture  which 
would  enable  them  to  maintain  a  Christian  society  and  advance  the 
Kingdom  of  God. 

The  minutes  of  1828  record  the  organization  of  a  Missionary  Society 
which  in  1834  became  the  Missionary  and  Education  Society  which  for 
many  years  contributed  to  the  support  of  beneficiary  students  for  the 
Gospel  ministry.  In  1835  there  was  considered  the  Manual  Labor  Plan 
by  which  students  could  earn  while  they  learned  but  the  committee 
appointed  reported  that  it  was  impracticable.  In  1836  a  proposal  was 
received  from  the  South  Carolina  Synod  that  the  North  Carolina  Synod 
join  in  support  of  a  theological  seminary  at  Lexington,  S.  C,  and  have 
representation  on  the  Board  of  Trustees  in  proportion  to  the  financial 
support  given.  After  some  negotiation  this  support  was  given  and 
continued  until  the  establishment  of  the  school  at  Mt.  Pleasant,  N.  C. 
Two  years  after  this  arrangement  was  made  a  classical  department  was 
added  to  this  school.  This  school  taught  Greek,  Hebrew,  Evidences  of 
Christianity,  Natural  and  Revealed  Theology,  Church  History,  Pastoral 
Theology,  Church  Government  and  Homiletics.  When  a  school  was 
established  at  Salem,  Virginia,  students  from  North  Carolina  enrolled, 
ten  being  recorded  in  1851. 

Throughout  these  years  there  was  a  longing  for  an  educational 
institution  within  the  state  that  more  of  the  youth  of  the  church  could 
attend  and  to  prevent  loss  of  pastors  by  drainage.  The  Rev.  Joseph 
A.  Linn,  president,  in  his  report  to  Synod  in  1852  says:  "We  have  but 
one  subject  which  we  would  recommend  to  your  wisdom  and  discretion, 
one  which  we  conceive  of  vital  importance  to  the  interests  of  our  church 
in  North  Carolina.  ***BeIieving,  with  many  others,  that  the  resources 
necessary  to  the  establishment  of  a  High  School  of  a  Collegiate  charac- 
ter, are  amply  sufficient,  and  adding  to  this  the  general  wish  of  our 
Laity,  and  their  expressed  willingness  to  support  such  an  institution, 
the  time,  we  believe,  has  come  when  we  should  nobly  act  on  this  sub- 
ject."    At  a  special  session  of  Synod  meeting  at  Concord,  N.  C,  July  21, 


118         History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

1852  it  was  resolved  to  plant  Western  Carolina  Male  Academy  at  Mt. 
Pleasant,  N.  C.  A  contract  was  let  for  a  three-story  building  seventy- 
five  by  forty  feet  in  size.  The  Rev.  William  Gerhardt  accepted  the 
call  to  be  president  and  first  professor.  He  was  inaugurated  May  24, 
1853.  In  1859  a  charter  was  secured  converting  the  Academy  into 
North  Carolina  College.  The  first  Board  of  Trustees  was  composed  of 
pastors  William  Artz,  Daniel  I.  Dreher,  G.  D.  Bernheim,  John  S.  Heilig, 
Levi  C.  Groceclose,  Jacob  Crim,  B.  C.  Hall,  Joseph  A.  Linn  and  Samuel 
Rothrock,  laymen  Messrs.  C.  Melchor,  esq..  Col.  John  Shimpoch,  Dr.  Paul 
A  Seaford,  A.  Brown,  esq.,  John  A.  Miller,  esq.,  Ludwig  Summers,  P.  N. 
Heilig,  Mathias  Barrier  and  Daniel  Barrier. 

Two  years  later  the  War  Between  the  States  interrupted  the  work. 
It  was  resumed  in  1867.  The  endowment  had  been  invested  in  Con- 
federate and  state  bonds  and  was  lost  but  another  endowment  was 
raised.  In  1871  the  first  class  was  graduated.  During  the  next  twenty- 
nine  years  sixty-six  degrees  were  granted  to  men,  most  of  whom  entered 
the  learned  professions.  At  least  twenty-eight  of  these  became  Lutheran 
pastors.  Hundreds  of  others  had  their  horizons  broadened  and  their 
usefulness  enlarged  by  the  culture  brought  into  their  lives  through  this 
school. 

After  1900  the  school,  under  the  care  of  the  Rev.  H.  A.  McCul- 
lough  and  Prof.  G.  F.  McAllister,  became  a  junior  college  under  the 
name  of  Mt.  Pleasant  Collegiate  Institute.  It  continued  under  the  fos- 
tering care  of  the  North  Carolina  Synod  and  pursued  the  same  aims 
as  fomerly,  continuing  to  supply  candidates  for  the  ministry.  Pastor 
McCullough  returned  to  full  time  pastoral  service  and  soon  after  Prof. 
McAllister  became  wholly  responsible  for  administration.  A  modified 
form  of  military  training  was  introduced.  Prof  McAllister  was  highly 
acceptable  as  a  leader  and  found  warm  friends  of  the  school  to  tide 
over  emergencies,  but  the  problem  of  adequate  equipment  and  income 
was  constant. 

Upon  the  merger  of  the  North  Carolina  and  Tennessee  Synods  edu- 
cational agencies  were  merged  and  all  the  schools  came  under  one 
board.  The  schools  at  Mt.  Pleasant  were  under  the  special  care  of  a 
committee  of  that  Board  and  Lenoir  College  under  another  committee. 
Several  efforts  were  made  to  provide  for  the  needs  of  the  schools  at  Mt. 
Pleasant,  but  were  only  partially  successful.  It  was  not  possible  to 
rally  enough  support  to  meet  the  situation  as  it  was  affected  by  chang- 
ing conditions.  The  rapid  development  of  public  education  produced 
competition  which  made  maintenance  of  church  supported  schools  very 
difficult.  In  1931  Mt.  Pleasant  Collegiate  Institute  was  leased  to  Prof. 
McAllister  on  reasonable  terms.  Four  years  later  he  surrendered 
his  lease  and  the  school  closed.  For  the  times  in  which  the  schools 
at  Mt.  Pleasant  operated  considerable  sums  of  money  were  expended 
upon  them.  The  impetus  they  gave  to  the  life  of  the  church,  the  ser- 
vice rendered  to  society  and  the  church  by  the  men  and  women  coming 
under  their  influence  has  brought  to  state  and  church  values  far  in 
excess  of  all  that  was  spent. 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  119 

presidents  of  north  carolina  college 

Rev.  W.   Gerhardt,   D.D 1855-1858 

Rev.  D.  H.  Bittle,  D.D 1859-1861 

Rev.  L.  A.  Bikle,  D.D 1866-1867 

Rev.  C.  F.  Bansemer 1867-1868 

Rev.  L.  A.  Bikle,  D.  D 1868-1874 

Rev.  J.  B.  Davis,  D.D 1875-1877 

Rev.  L.  A.  Bikle,  D.D 1878-1881 

Rev.  G.  H.  Bernheim,  D.D 1882-1883 

Rev.  G.  F.  Schaeffer,  D.D 1883-1887 

Rev.  J.  G.  Schaidt,  D.D 1887-1889 

Rev.  J.  D.  Shirey,  D.D 1889-1896 

Rev.  M.  G.  G.  Scherer,  D.D 1896-1899 

Prof.  Edgar  Bowers   (Acting  President) 1899-1900 

Rev.  W.  A.  Lutz 1900-1902 

PRESIDENTS  OF  COLLEGIATE  INSTITUTE 

Col.  George  F.  McAllister,  Ped.  D 1902-1935 

Rev.  L.  E.  Busby,  D.D.,  Co-Principal 1902-1903 

Rev.  H.  A.  McCullough,  D.D.,  Co-Principal 1903-1907 

Mont  Amoena  Seminary.  As  early  as  1858  the  President  of  the 
North  Carolina  Synod  mentioned  the  need  of  a  school  for  young  women. 
The  first  effort  resulted  in  the  establishment  of  such  a  school,  under 
private  control,  with  Mrs.  D.  F.  Bittle,  Principal.  In  1868  the  Rev.  G.  D. 
Bernheim,  who  was  then  in  control  of  the  undertaking,  offered  to  trans- 
fer the  school  to  the  Synod  on  favorable  terms;  and  in  1869  the  transfer 
was  effected,  and  a  Board  of  Trustees  elected.  This  school,  first  known  as 
Mount  Pleasant  Female  Seminary  and  later  as  Mont  Amoena  Seminary, 
continued  to  prosper  for  more  than  half  a  century.  Its  contribution  to  the 
culture  of  its  time  cannot  be  estimated  adequately.  Homes  were  the 
better  for  lessons  learned  there;  it  sent  forth  leaders  for  the  work  of 
Lutheran  and  other  churches;  it  trained  women  who  became  the  wives 
and  co-laborers  of  pastors.  When  the  public  schools  were  poorly  equip- 
ped, and  terms  were  too  short  for  adequate  preparation  of  the  pupils, 
it  supplemented  their  work.  It  was  an  island  of  culture  in  the  difficult 
years  following  the  War  Between  the  States.  Finally  the  public  schools 
provided  an  education  in  keeping  with  the  desires  of  Mont  Amoena's 
patrons,  and  high  schools  took  over  its  work.  Its  doors  were  closed  in 
1927.  During  its  period  of  service,  the  following  persons  served  as 
Principals  or  Presidents  of  the  Institution: 

Mrs.  D.  H.  Bittle 1859-1868 

Rev.  G.  D.  Bernheim 1868-1870 

Rev.  D.  1.   Drehr 1870-1871 

Prof.  W.  A.  Barrier 1871-1872 

Mrs..  W.  E.   (Nee  Ribble)   Hubbart 1872-1874 

Prof.  L.  H.  Rothrock 1876-1882 

Rev.  G.  F.  Shaeffer 1882-1883 

Rev.  J.  Adolphus  Linn 1885-1891 


120  History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 


Mont  Amoena  Seminary 

Mount  Pleasant,  North  Carolina 

Burned  November  30,  1911 


Mont  Amoena  Seminary 

Mount  Pleasant,  N.  C. 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  121 

Rev.  C.  L.  T.  Fisher 1892-1897 

(School  named  Mont  Amoena  in  1892) 

Rev.  H.   N.   Miller 1897-1902 

Rev.  J.  H.  C.  Fisher 1902-1914 

Rev.  R.  a.  Goodman 1914-1921 

Rev.  J.  H.  C.  Fisher 1921-1927 

Prof.  H.  A.  Fisher 1921-1923  V.P. 

At  Dallas,  North  Carolina,  on  territory  of  the  Tennessee  Synod, 
the  Rev.  M.  L.  Little  established  a  high  school.  After  his  death  other 
leadership  was  found  for  the  school.  It  developed  into  Gaston  College 
for  Girls  and  Young  Women.  For  many  years  Prof.  S.  A.  Wolf  was 
principal.  Free  tuition  was  offered  to  one  pupil  from  each  congregation 
of  the  Synod.  As  the  public  schools  improved  schools  of  this  nature 
were  unable  to  maintain  themselves. 

The  Tennessee  Synod  did  not  neglect  education.  From  its  begin- 
ning in  1820  it  strove  for  an  educated  ministry.  Evidence  of  the  stan- 
dard desired  is  found  in  the  early  requirement  that  the  ability  to  trans- 
late the  New  Testament  from  the  Greek  into  the  vernacular  was  re- 
quisite for  ordination.  However,  this  standard  could  not  be  maintained. 
When  a  course  of  training  for  pastors  was  published  it  contained: 
"Kerne's  Introduction,  Hutter's  Compend,  Book  of  Concord,  Krauth's 
Conservative  Reformation,  Knapp's  Christian  Theology,  Mann's  Schmidt's 
Christian  Ethics,  Kurtz's  Sacred  History,  Kurtz's  Church  History,  Ripley's 
Sacred  Rhetoric,  Vinet's  Homiletics,  Vinet's  Pastoral  Theology,  Exegesis, 
Catechetics,  Liturgies  and  Ecclesiastical  Polity.  These  courses  were 
to  be  read  under  the  supervision  of  one  or  more  pastors  with  examina- 
tion by  the  same.  Some  of  the  candidates  attended  established  semi- 
naries. Parochial  schools  were  established.  Dr.  Yoder  says:  "The 
parochial  school  came  from  the  fatherland  only  with  the  Lutheran 
Church.  A  congregation  without  its  school  was  hardly  to  be  thought  of 
even  when  there  was  no  pastor,  the  congregation  must  have  its  teacher." 

As  indicated  in  a  former  paragraph,  Sunday  Schools  were 
not  generally  introduced  until  after  the  War  Between  the  States. 
Catechizing  was  stressed  and  thorough  preparation  of  the  candidates 
for  confirmation  insisted  upon.  The  Henkei  Printing  Company  pub- 
lished annotated  editions  of  Luther's  Smaller  Catechism  and  some  pas- 
tors published  short  catechisms.  When  Henkel's  translation  of  the  Book 
of  Concord  appeared  it  was  published  at  popular  prices  and  went  into 
many  homes.  Preaching  was  usually  of  a  doctrinal  character  and  was 
as  frequent  as  the  limited  number  of  men  available  made  possible. 
Here  also,  as  in  the  North  Carolina  Synod,  one  sermon  immediately 
followed  another  when  groups  could  be  gathered  to  hear.  What  has 
been  said  of  the  use  of  the  printed  word  is  particularly  applicable. 
However  there  was  no  church  school  serving  any  considerable  portion 
of  the  Synod  until  after  the  War  Between  the  States. 


122 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 


In  1877  Mr.  R.  A.  Yoder,  the  Synod's  first  beneficiary  student, 
was  graduated  from  North  Carolina  College.  His  struggle  for  a  col- 
lege degree  had  been  long  and  strenuous,  having  led  him  to  Illinois 
where  he  had  brothers,  but  had  finally  brought  him  back  to  Mt.  Pleasant. 
The  Rev.  Dr.  P.  C.  Henkel  and  the  Rev.  John  M.  Smith,  serving  pastorates 
in  and  near  Conover,  N.  C,  had  for  some  time  desired  a  high  school 
at  Conover.  Mr.  Yoder  went  to  Conover  after  graduation  and  taught  a 
"subscription"  school  and  then  a  term  of  public  school.  At  the  same 
time  he  began  the  study  of  theology  under  pastors  Henkel  and  Smith. 

In  1878  Conover  High  School  was  organized  under  direction  of  the 
local  pastors  and  Mr.  Yoder  was  elected  principal.  The  Tennessee  Synod 
appointed  a  committee  to  investigate  the  advisability  of  making  this 
school  a  synodical  enterprize.  The  committee  made  a  favorable  report 
and  another  committee  was  appointed  to  endeavor  to  reach  an  agree- 
ment with  the  local  sponsors.  There  is  no  record  of  a  report  by  this 
committee.  R.  A.  Yoder  was  ordained  in  1879  and  in  1883  resigned  as 
principal  to  attend  the  seminary  in  Philadelphia.  Dr.  P.  C.  Henkel  suc- 
ceeded him  and  the  Rev.  J.  C.  Moser  succeeded  him.  The  high  school 
was  chartered  as  a  college  in  1880.  The  Tennessee  Synod  received  the 
college  under  its  fostering  care  with  the  privilege  of  nominating  trustees 
to  fill  any  vacancies  occurring  on  the  Board.    The  college  agreed  to  have 


"Old  Main". Lenoir  College 
Hickory,  North  Carolina 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  123 

the  president  and  board  of  trustees  make  annual  report  to  Synod.  In 
1888  the  Rev.  J.  C.  Moser  returned  to  full  time  pastoral  work  in  Hickory, 
N.  C,  and  was  succeeded  by  the  Rev.  R.  A.  Yoder. 

Since  1875  there  had  been  a  desire  on  the  part  of  some  members  of 
Synod  to  accept  property  offered  for  school  use  by  Col.  Walter  W.  Lenoir. 
This  property  lay  across  the  Eastern  boundary  line  of  Hickory.  Col  Le- 
noir wished  a  school  established  to  give  young  people  an  opportunity  to 
get  an  education.  A  little  more  than  fifty  years  ago  many  rural  public 
schools  in  North  Carolina  had  not  more  than  a  three  months  session  in  the 
year.  In  1890  Mr.  J.  G.  Hall,  trustee  of  this  property  under  the  terms  of 
Col.  Lenoir's  will,  renewed  the  offer  to  the  Tennessee  Synod  and  interested 
local  pastors  in  the  proposition.  Pastors  J.  C.  Moser,  R.  A.  Yoder,  W. 
P.  Cline  and  A.  L.  Crouse  agreed  to  a  joint  acceptance  of  the  offer  with- 
out the  approval  of  Synod.  With  support  from  a  few  of  their  laymen 
these  four  men  pledged  all  their  earthly  possessions  to  comply  with 
the  terms  of  the  will  and  dedicated  their  lives  to  the  establishment  of 
a  college.  They  were  in  advance  of  their  times  in  both  Concordia  and 
Lenoir  Colleges  in  that  they  provided  co-education  when  most  other 
schools  frowned  upon  it.  In  both  of  these  schools  Synod  provided  a 
professor  of  theology  to  prepare  pastors  for  service.  Notes  aggregating 
$10,000  were  given  for  deposit  in  the  First  National  Bank  and  a  deed  was 
recorded  to  pastors  J.  C.  Moser,  R.  A.  Yoder,  W.  P.  Cline  and  A.  L.  Crouse 
and  Mr.  J.  G.  Hall  as  trustees  for  a  school  to  prepare  students  for  at 
least  the  freshman  year  in  a  standard  college  or  university,  Mr.  Hall 
to  be  a  life  member  of  the  Board  of  Trustees  and  to  have  the  privilege  of 
nominating  annually  an  indigent  young  man  for  free  tuition. 

A  majority  of  the  Board  of  Trustees  of  Concordia  College  invited 
the  Missouri  Synod  to  operate  that  school.  They  accepted  the  invitation 
and  operated  a  school  in  Conover  for  some  years. 

The  new  college  was  named  Lenoir  College.  The  Rev.  R.  A.  Yoder 
was  elected  president.  In  1891  it  opened  its  doors  in  a  frame  building 
which  had  been  used  as  an  academy.  A  substantial  brick  building, 
known  later  as  Old  Main,  was  built. 

The  pastors  who  founded  the  college  were  at  one  with  Col.  Lenoir  in 
wishing  to  provide  a  sound  education  within  reach  of  the  young  people 
ot  that  time.  They  were  not  primarily  interested  in  founding  an 
educational  institution.  They  considered  teaching  and  learning  as  the 
doorway  to  a  richer  and  fuller  life  and  greater  usefulness.  Each  had 
struggled  to  secure  an  education  under  adverse  conditions  and  they 
had  acquired  sufficient  education  to  put  them  in  the  forefront  of  the 
circles  in  which  they  moved  and  served.  They  were  dedicated  to  pass- 
ing on  to  others  what  they  had  acquired.  Dr.  Moser  was  absorbed  in 
his  work  as  pastor  and  taught  very  little.  The  Rev.  Crouse  soon  returned 
to  pastoral  service.  Pastors  Yoder  and  Cline  remained  with  the  school 
ten  years,  resigning  in  1901. 

In  1901  the  Rev.  R  L.  Fritz,  professor  in  Elizabeth  College  and 
formerly  professor  in  Lenoir  College,  accepted  a  call  to  the  presidency. 


124  History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 


Daniel  Efird  Rhyne  Administration  Building 

Lenoir  Rhyne  College 
Hickory,  North  Carolina 


Gaston  Female  College 
Dallas,  North  Carolina 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  125 

The  educational  program  was  rapidly  changing  throughout  America 
but  particularly  in  North  Carolina.  In  1900  Charles  B.  Aycock  became 
governor  of  the  State  and  began  to  redeem  his  campaign  pledge  to 
improve  the  public  schools.  With  great  courage  and  boldness  Presi- 
dent Fritz  exerted  himself  to  keep  pace  with  the  general  educational 
progress.  Marked  advances  were  made  in  equipment  and  curriculum. 
Oakview  Dormitory  for  girls,  Highland  Hall  for  boys  and  the  Yoder 
Science  Building  were  built  and  $50,000  for  endowment  was  raised. 
Some  of  the  lots  near  the  campus  which  had  been  sold  in  the  needy 
days  of  the  beginning  returned  to  college  ownership.  The  college  was 
given  an  A  grade  rating  by  the  State  Board  of  Education.  Dr.  Fritz 
resigned  the  presidency  in  1919  but  continued  as  professor.  He  and 
Mrs.  Rosa  E.  Yoder,  widow  of  the  Rev.  R.  A.  Yoder,  canvassed  success- 
fully for  an  endowment  of  $300,000.  Presidents  succeeded  him  as  fol- 
lows: The  Rev.  Dr.  John  C.  Peery,  1920-1925;  the  Rev.  Dr.  P.  E.  Monroe, 
acting  president,  1925-1926;  the  Rev.  Dr.  H.  Brent  Schaeffer,  1926-1934; 
the  Rev.  Dr.  P.  E.  Monroe,  1934-1949;  the  Rev.  Dr.  Voigt  R.  Cromer,  1949. 

When  the  two  Synods  within  the  state  were  merged  a  Board  of 
Trustees  was  elected  to  have  the  care  of  all  the  educational  institutions 
formerly  belonging  to  both  Synods.  North  Carolina  College,  operated  as 
Mt.  Pleasant  Collegiate  Institute,  was  listed  as  having  property  valued 
at  $65,000  with  endowment  of  $5,000  plus  $15,000  in  subscriptions  secured 
by  notes.     At  that  time  it  was  a  junior  college  of  recognized  standing. 

Mont  Amoena  Female  Seminary  reported  property  valued  at  $66,000 
with  a  fund  of  $4,000  on  hand  and  a  debt  of  $7,000. 

Lenoir  College  reported  property  valued  at  $230,000  with  an 
endowment  totaling  $338,000  and  a  debt  of  $30,000.  The  college  was 
ranked   class   A   by  the   State   Board    of   Education. 

Mr.  Daniel  E.  Rhyne  had  given  $100,000  to  Lenoir  College  in 
1919  as  a  part  of  the  $300,000  campaign.  In  1922  he  proposed  a  gift 
of  $300,000  if  the  Synod  would  raise  a  like  sum.  His  offer  was  accepted. 
In  appreciation  of  Mr.  Rhyne's  benefactions  it  was  voted  to  name  the 
school  Daniel  Rhyne  College.  At  his  request,  however,  the  name  was 
changed  in  1923  to  Lenoir  Rhyne  College.  The  Rhyne  offer  of  $300,000 
resulted  in  a  campaign  for  a  goal  of  $850,000— $600,000  to  be  for  the 
endowment  and  $250,000  for  buildings.  The  appeal  was  only  partially 
successful. 

The  financial  collapse  of  1929  and  the  ensuing  depression  made 
fund  raising  difficult.  For  several  years  the  endowment  of  the  college 
failed  to  yield  adequate  returns.  Sharply  curtailed  income  made  the 
financial  condition  of  the  school  precarious.  With  the  return  of  better 
business  conditions  in  the  later  thirties,  and  under  the  careful  manage- 
ment of  President  Monroe,  the  college  gained  a  firmer  financial  footing 
and  was  able  to  meet  its  obligations  in  full.  It  is  now  free  of  debt 
and  has  not  incurred  an  operating  deficit  for  some  years. 


126  History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

When  the  United  Lutheran  Church  in  America  put  on  its  Christian 
Higher  Education  Year  Appeal  in  1950  for  $6,000,000  to  aid  its  educa- 
tional institutions,  the  North  Carolina  Synod  was  in  the  forefront  with 
its  response,  raising  more  than  $500,000  for  Lenoir  Rhyne  College  plus 
an  additional  amount  for  the  Southern  Seminary.  This  response  is  a 
testimony  to  the  favor  in  which  the  college  is  held  by  the  members 
of  the  North  Carolina  Synod. 

At  present  the  Lenoir  Rhyne  campus  consists  of  forty-two  acres 
lying  within  the  city  of  Hickory.  The  plant  includes  eleven  major 
buildings.  In  addition  to  those  already  named  there  are  the  Cline  Gym- 
nasium, 1924;  Daniel  Efird  Rhyne  Administration  Building  erected  in 
1928  to  replace  Old  Main  which  was  destroyed  by  fire  January  6,  1927; 
Mauney  Hall  (dormitory  for  women),  1928;  College  Refectory,  1928; 
Schaeffer  Hall  (dormitory  for  women),  1941;  Carl  Augustus  Rudisill 
Library,  1943;  Dr.  Robert  Lindsay  Fritz  Hall  (dormitory  for  men),  1950; 
St.  Andrew's  Church  and  John  D.  Mauney  Education  Building,  owned 
by  St.  Andrew's  Congregation,  the  Synod  and  the  College,  1951.  A 
residence  for  the  president  was  completed  in  1951  and  nine  other  resi- 
dences are  owned  by  the  college.  The  former  St.  Andrew's  Church  build- 
ing was  purchased  and  is  used  as  an  assembly  building.  Four  tem- 
porary buildings  on  the  campus  contain  twelve  apartments  for  married 
students.  The  stadium  on  the  Athletic  Field  seats  6,000.  The  library 
contains  35,350  volumes  and  subscribes  to  eleven  daily  newspapers  and 
274  periodicals. 

Funds  are  accumulating  for  several  new  buildings  and  the  amount 
on  hand  now  totals  $535,211.  The  endowment  is  $752,097.  Including 
St.  Andrew's  Church  and  Education  Building,  total  assets  are  $3,000,000. 
Annual  operating  expenses  have  exceeded  $500,000  for  several  years. 

The  past  several  years  the  enrollment  for  the  regular  session  has 
exceeded  750  students  with  the  two  sessions  of  Summer  School  enrolling 
from  300  to  450.  Recent  increases  in  the  number  of  applicants  have 
made  it  impossible  to  accept  all  who  seek  admission.  From  1891-1952 
the  college  has  conferred  2,758  degrees  and  about  2,200  others  have 
been  enrolled  who  were  not  graduated.  A  high  percentage  of  the 
graduates  have  entered  the  Gospel  Ministry  and  other  full  time  church 
work. 

Lenoir  Rhyne  grants  A.  B.  and  B.  S.  degrees  and  is  fully  accredited 
by  the  Southern  Association  of  Colleges  and  Secondary  Schools.  In 
addition  to  its  sound  academic  program,  the  college  has  made  an 
enviable  record  in  such  extra-curricular  activities  as  dramatics,  forensics, 
choir,  band  and  athletics. 

Through  her  educational  programs  and  institutions  the  North 
Carolina  Synod  has  been  zealous  for  the  truth  which  makes  men  free, 
insisting  that  Christ  must  be  central  and  paramount  in  education.  By 
continuing  in  this  conviction  she  will  go  on  training  Christian  leaders 
for  tomorrow  and  furnishing  that  leaven  which  is  indispensable  to 
individual  salvation  and  a  Christian  social  order  in  a  world  of  many 
hostile  forces. 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  127 


AUXILIARY 
ORGANIZATIONS 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  129 

I.    WOMEN'S    MISSIONARY    SOCIETY 

1.  The  First  Twenty  Years 

"With  joy  and  thanksgiving  we  are  met  together  —  to  review  the 
labors  of  the  past  year  —  the  first  of  our  existence  as  a  Synodical  Society." 
With  these  words  Mrs.  J.  S.  Fisher,  of  Concord,  first  President  of  the 
Woman's  Home  and  Foreign  Missionary  Society  of  the  North  Carolina 
Lutheran  Synod,  began  her  report  at  the  first  annual  convention  of  the 
organization  in  Concord,  April  29,  1886.  "When  our  missionary,  Rev. 
W.  P.  Swartz,  organized  the  Executive  Committee  on  the  24th  of  April, 
1885,"  she  continued,  "there  were  six  auxiliary  societies  within  the  bounds 
of  this  Synod." 

By  April,  1886,  the  number  had  increased  to  fourteen:  St.  Luke's, 
Bear  Poplar;  St.  Mark's,  Charlotte;  St.  Paul's,  Wilmington;  St.  Enoch, 
Enochville;  Lutheran  Chapel,  China  Grove;  Holy  Trinity,  Mt.  Pleasant; 
Union,  Salisbury;  Grace,  Salisbury;  Bethel,  Franklin;  St.  James,  Concord; 
Trinity,  Concord;  Prosperity,  Concord;  St.  John's,  Cabarrus;  and  Center 
Grove,  Kannapolis. 

Twenty-four  delegates  were  present  for  that  historic  convention, 
representing  three  hundred  twenty-five  members,  whose  contributions  for 
that  first  year  amounted  to  $275.00.  The  Wilmington  Society  had  sent 
a  box  to  the  "Guntoor"  Mission  in  India,  by  Missionary  Swartz  —  our  first 
box  work!  The  non-designated  funds  were  divided  equally  between 
Home  and  Foreign  Missions.  A  Constitution  and  By-Laws  were  adopted, 
the  latter  providing  for  life  memberships  at  ten  dollars,  and  an  Order 
of  Business  for  a  meeting.  Subscribers  to  the  Missionary  Journal  number- 
ed more  than  fifty.  Officers  elected  were:  President,  Mrs.  J.  S.  Fisher; 
vice-presidents,  Mrs.  J.  S.  Heilig,  Mrs.  J.  B.  Davis,  Mrs.  J.  D.  Shirey, 
Mrs.  R.  A.  Brown,  Mrs.  A.  M.  Brown;  corresponding  secretary.  Miss  Julia 
Shirey;  recording  secretary.  Miss  Lillian  Slough;  treasurer,  Mrs.  John 
A.  Cline. 

Concerning  reports  given  by  representatives  of  the  societies,  Mrs. 
Fisher  declared,  "These  reports  are  full  of  interest.  Thank  God,  North 
Carolina  has  already  a  goodly  number  of  Lutheran  women,  ready,  will- 
ing, even  anxious,  to  work  for  the  promulgation  of  the  blessed  Gospel." 

The  minutes  of  this  historic  meeting  were  printed  along  with  the 
1886  Minutes  of  Synod.  The  next  year,  however,  much  to  the  chagrin  of 
the  ladies,  Synod  failed  to  publish  their  minutes,  and  devoted  only  one 
page  to  an  "Abstract  of  the  Proceedings  of  the  Women."  The  record  for 
that  year  was  preserved  in  manuscript  form.  The  women  voted  to  print 
the  minutes  of  the  third  annual  convention  at  their  own  expense,  and 
have  done  so  ever  since. 

Growing  pains  were  evident  during  the  first  twenty  years  of  the 
Woman's  Home  and  Foreign  Missionary  Society.  In  the  corresponding 
secretary's   report   of  the  fifth   convention   we   read,   "We   have   among 


130         History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

us  some  weak  and  struggling  societies  that  have  not  come  up  to  their 
opportunity  and  duty,  and  we  might  pertinently  ask,  of  how  many  could 
it  be  said,  'She  hath  done  what  she  could'?  Taking  matters  as  a  whole, 
there  were  few  disagreements,  and  the  minutes  of  the  eighth  convention 
closed  with  the  words,  "Thus  ended  a  profitable  and  harmonizing 
meeting." 

In  1889  a  constitution  was  adopted  and  printed  with  the  minutes 
of  that  year.  It  was  agreed  at  the  fourth  convention  to  change  the  time 
of  the  annual  meeting  to  August  so  as  not  to  conflict  with  the  meeting 
of  Synod  in  April.  At  first,  seven  women  constituted  a  quorum  at  the 
annual  convention!  This  number  was  later  increased  to  thirteen.  In  the 
early  years,  each  society  was  allowed  two  delegates.  The  nominating 
Committee  offered  two  names  for  each  office.  Presidents  of  the  "Con- 
ferential  Conventions"  made  oral  reports  at  the  annual  meeting,  as  well 
as  a  delegate  from  each  society.  By  1905,  a  series  of  programs  was 
furnished  by  the  state  organization. 

An  early  attempt  was  made  to  organize  the  societies  into  Northern 
and  Southern  Conferential  Conventions.  The  names  of  Mrs.  G.  H.  Cox, 
Mrs.  J.  L.  Morgan,  and  Misses  Jennie  Cook,  Mattie  Miller,  and  Laura 
Efird  —  women  prominent  in  various  capacities  of  the  state  organization 
—  appear  as  chairmen  of  the  organizing  committees.  While  the  Southern 
Conference  began  having  semi-annual  meetings  as  early  as  1891,  the 
attempts  to  weld  the  Northern  societies  into  a  union  met  with  repeated 
failure. 

Children's  Missionary  Societies  were  in  existence  as  early  as  1886. 
Eleven  years  later  with  Miss  Ella  Belle  Shirey  as  first  children's  secretary, 
it  was  decided  that  the  Children's  Bands  should  endeavor  to  raise  $100 
annually  as  their  portion  of  the  Foreign  Mission  Fund,  and  that  this 
amount  should  be  used  toward  the  support  of  a  native  Japanese  worker, 
to  be  known  as  the   "Children's  Helper". 

The  Young  People  came  into  prominence  in  1888,  with  a  group  of 
Young  Women  reported  organized  at  Mont  Amoena  Seminary  in  Mt. 
Pleasant.  In  1902,  the  Girls'  Guild  of  Charlotte  assumed  support  of  a 
teacher  in  Japan. 

During  the  first  two  decades,  we  note  the  evidences  of  depart- 
mental work  in  the  society.  First  to  be  mentioned,  in  1888,  was  the 
Week  of  Prayer  observance,  which  was  set  at  that  time  for  the  last 
week  in  October.  Twenty  years  later,  however,  the  time  was  changed 
to  the  first  full  week  in  Lent.  Thank  Offering  envelopes  were  ordered 
printed  and  distributed  in  connection  with  the  observance.  Delegates 
at  these  first  conventions  were  encouraged  to  read  periodicals  and  tracts, 
such  as  "Miss  Prescott's  Mite  Box";  later,  "The  Gist  of  Japan",  by  Dr. 
R.  B.  Peery. 

In  1888,  the  use  of  the  Mite  Box  was  encouraged,  as  well  as  a 
special  birthday  offering.  Five  years  later  this  recommendation  appears 
in  the  minutes:  "That  we  ask  ministers'  wives  of  this  Synod  to  give 
the  marriage  fees  received  on  the  date  nearest  Christmas  to  the  Winston 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  131 

Mission."  One  dollar  given  by  a  lady  or  gentleman  entitled  the  donor  to 
an  honorary  membership  for  one  year.  This  ruling,  made  in  1889,  lasted 
for  sixty  years.  The  expenses  of  the  annual  convention  were  defrayed 
by  the  payment  of  five  cents  per  menber  per  year.  This  was  the  probable 
forerunner  of  the  Synodical  fee. 

For  the  first  five  years,  all  undesignated  funds  were  equally 
divided  between  Home  and  Foreign  Missions  and  sent  to  the  Board  of 
Missions  of  the  United  Synod,  South.  Beginning  in  1892,  it  became  the 
policy  of  the  Woman's  Home  and  Foreign  Mission  Society  to  appropriate 
$700  annually  to  the  board  to  be  divided  between  Home  and  Foreign 
Missions.  As  faith  and  funds  multiplied,  and  interest  became  keener  in 
North  Carolina,  all  receipts  over  this  amount  were  remitted  to  the  North 
Carolina  Synod  for  mission  points  in  the  state.  Mrs.  Wertz,  in  her  report 
of  1900,  declared  that  the  women  were  still  without  a  project  of  their 
own,  and  the  only  thing  they  had  to  show  for  their  prayers  and  gifts 
was  the  memorial  window  in  Augsburg  Church,  Winston-Salem.  Burl- 
ington soon  became  the  "Women's  Special". 

This  growing  interest  in  Home  Missions  did  not  exclude  work  in 
the  foreign  field.  In  1892,  the  Board  of  the  United  Synod,  South,  had 
sent  out  Dr.  J.  A.  B.  Scherer  and  Dr.  R.  B.  Peery  to  Japan.  They  were 
followed  by  Rev.  C.  L.  Brown,  Rev.  C.  K.  Lippard,  and  Rev.  A.  J.  Stirewalt, 
in  successive  years.  In  1904,  originated  the  Forward  Movement  among 
the  members  of  the  Southern  Women's  Synodical  Societies.  By  their 
twentieth  anniversary,  the  North  Carolina  women  had  raised  $1,000,  half 
of  which  went  to  Japan  and  the  other  half  to  N.  C.  Missions. 

In  1903,  an  attempt  was  made  by  the  North  Carolina  women  to 
cooperate  with  the  other  Women's  Synodical  groups  in  the  South  in  form- 
ing a  General  Society  of  the  United  Synod,  South;  but  they  received  no 
encouragement  in  this  venture  from  the  N.  C.  Synod. 

Before  the  turn  of  the  century,  a  historian  was  included  among 
the  officers,  and  in  1905,  Mrs.  M.  C.  Bowman  had  written  a  comprehensive 
history  of  the  society's  first  twenty  years,  which  was  printed  with  the 
minutes  of  that  year. 

During  the  first  twenty  years  of  the  Society's  existence,  we  notice 
gains  in  every  direction.  Though,  in  the  early  days,  it  was  deplored 
that  only  two  fifths  of  the  congregations  in  the  Synod  could  boast  of 
missionary  circles,  still  the  number  of  societies,  during  this  period, 
increased  from  6  to  44,  the  membership  from  160  to  997,  the  contributions 
from  $275  to  $2,635. 


2.  1905  To  The  Merger 

Five  presidents  conducted  the  affairs  of  the  Woman's  Home  and 
Foreign  Missionary  Society  from  1905  until  the  merger. 

At  the  beginning  of  this  period,  a  hope  of  long  duration  became 
a  reality.  There  was  organized  at  Dallas,  N.  C,  a  Woman's  Missionary 
Conference  of  the  Southern  Lutheran  Church    (in  connection  with  the 


132  History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

United  Synod,  South).  Six  delegates  from  the  N.  C.  Society  were  elected  to 
attend.  Officers  from  other  states,  members  of  the  Board  of  Missions 
of  the  United  Synod,  Editors  of  Tidings  and  the  Women's  page  in  the 
Visitor,  were  often  in  attendance  at  these  conventions.  It  was  recom- 
mended at  one  meeting  that  "some  gentleman  deliver  a  discourse  on 
'Woman  and  the  World's  Evangelization'!" 

It  was  decided  in  1914  that  no  officer,  except  the  treasurer,  could 
hold  office  more  than  two  terms.  In  1916,  we  find  the  Contingent  fee 
of  25c  per  person  mentioned.  In  this  year  the  name  Woman's  Home 
and  Foreign  Missionary  Society  was  shortened  to  Women's  Missionary 
Society.  Just  before  the  merger,  a  constitution,  suggested  for  societies 
by  the  United  Synod,  South,  was  adopted  with  changes.  North  Carolina 
was  the  first  unit  to  have  a  field  secretary;  Miss  Constance  Cline  was 
the  first,  followed  by  Mrs.  Y.  Von  A.  Riser,  and  Mrs.  John  M.  Cook.  The 
official  family,  at  this  time,  consisted  of  a  president,  three  vice-presidents, 
recording  secretary,  corresponding  secretary,  a  president  and  treasurer  of 
Young  People's  Work,  a  secretary-treasurer  of  Children'  Work,  archivist, 
field  secretary,  three  department  secretaries  (Thank  Offering,  Mission 
Study,  Life  Membership),  a  literature  committee,  and  conference  organiz- 
ing committees. 

Gradually,  departments  were  beginning  to  evolve.  Mission  study 
periods  were  worked  into  crowded  convention  schedules.  A  literature 
exhibit  became  an  important  attraction  at  conventions.  Thank  offerings 
were  collected  four  times  a  year  —  a  custom  to  which  we  reverted  in 
1950.  The  Thank  Offering,  as  well  as  the  Life  Membership  Fund,  was 
divided  between  Home  and  Foreign  Missions. 

Finally,  in  1911,  the  Northern  Conference  Convention  was  organized 
through  the  efforts  of  Mrs.  George  H.  Cox;  whereupon,  the  two  conference 
presidents  became  members  of  the  executive  committee. 

The  Young  People,  and  Children's  Bands  were  making  their  presence 
felt.  Greatly  instrumental  in  helping  to  organize  the  Young  People,  was 
Miss  Laura  Efird.  Eventually,  these  two  groups  merged  with  the  Luther 
League  of  the  North  Carolina  Conference  of  the  Tennessee  Synod  and 
became  the  North  Carolina  Luther  League  of  today. 

Foreign  Missions  were  perhaps  the  first  love  of  the  women  from 
1905  to  1918.  Reverend  L.  S.  G.  Miller  went  to  Japan  during  this  period, 
and  by  1909  there  were  six  missionaries  in  the  field.  In  1913,  while  Mrs. 
R.  L.  Patterson  was  president,  the  Women's  and  Young  People's  Societies 
of  the  United  Synod,  South,  undertook  the  support  of  two  women  mis- 
sionaries. Miss  Mary  Lou  Bowers,  and  Miss  Martha  Akard.  In  1917, 
the  board  sent  out  Misses  Annie  and  Maud  Powlas.  The  $4,000  goal, 
pledged  for  the  Women  Missionaries'  home  in  Japan,  was  well  on  the 
way  to  being  realized.  The  society  was  asked  to  assume  the  entire 
support  of  kindergarten  work  at  $600  a  year.  The  Holland  Memorial 
Scholarship  Fund,  $75  annually  for  a  Japanese  theological  student, 
was  established. 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  133 

In  1907,  Dr.  J.  L.  Morgan  succeeded  Rev.  Edward  Fulenwider  as 
'•Home  Missionary".  Woman's  Memorial  Church  at  High  Point,  became 
a  reality  in  1909.  It  was  the  first  church  built  by  the  Woman's  Home 
and  Foreign  Missionary  Society  alone,  except  for  the  generous  contri- 
butions of  the  local  church  and  friends.  In  explaining  how  a  committee 
of  women  had  met  previously  with  the  executive  committee  of  Synod 
to  make  these  plans,  Mrs.  J.  A.  Linn,  in  her  report  of  1908,  says,  "It  was 
decided  to  build  at  High  Point  —  a  brick  church,  to  cost  not  less  than 
$5,000,  to  be  known  as  the  'Woman's  Memorial  Church'."  A  total  amount 
of  $4,130  was  given  for  the  High  Point  Church  (now  Emmanuel),  by  the 
women. 

The  largest  annual  offering  made  by  the  women  was  given  in 
1909,  $4,515.  This  included  the  Children's  and  Young  People's  offerings. 
For  the  25th  anniversary  celebration  in  1910,  for  which  Miss  Constance 
Cline  wrote  a  historical  sketch,  the  delegates  set  a  goal  of  $200  for  each 
year  of  the  society's  life.     They  raised  $4,182. 

The  most  important  event  directly  affecting  the  Women's  Mis- 
sinoary  Society  up  to  now,  was  the  merging,  in  1918,  of  three  leading 
Lutheran  bodies,  at  a  historic  meeting  in  New  York  City.  At  the  same 
time,  the  Women's  Missionary  Societies  of  the  three  merged  bodies  met 
to  form  the  Women's  Missionary  Society  of  the  United  Lutheran  Church 
in  America.  Four  delegates  from  North  Carolina  attended  the  first  con- 
vention of  the  united  society:  Miss  Constance  Cline,  Mrs.  John  M.  Cook, 
Mrs.  G.  W.  McClanahan,  and  Mrs.  Y.  Von  A.  Riser. 

Mrs.  John  M.  Cook,  president  of  the  society  in  1918,  urged  loyalty 
to  the  General  Society.  A  recommendation  of  the  convention  was  to 
"pledge  cooperation  in  the  general  work  of  the  Women's  Missionary 
Society  of  the  United  Lutheran  Church  in  America,  and  that  all  funds 
for  the  general  work  of  the  society  be  sent  to  its  treasurer."  The  North 
Carolina  women  also  approved  the  General  Society's  suggestion  of  dues 
of  ten  cents  per  member  per  month;  and  that  all  dues.  Life  Membership 
Funds,  and  regular  Thank  Offerings  be  given  to  the  General  Fund  of 
the  Women's  Missionary  Society  of  the  United  Lutheran  Church  in 
America.  As  for  the  Week  of  Prayer  and  its  offering,  Mrs.  Cook  recom- 
mended: "That  this  society  urge  the  Executive  Board  of  the  Women's 
Missionary  Society  of  the  United  Lutheran  Church  to  recommend  to  all 
Synodical  Societies  the  observance  of  the  first  week  of  Lent  as  a  Week 
of  Prayer  and  Self-Denial  for  Missions,  and  that  each  Synodical  Society 
be  privileged  to  designate  the  objects  to  which  funds  resulting  therefrom 
be  applied."  Since  then  the  North  Carolina  Society  has  continued  to 
claim  a  part  of  this  offering  for  Home  Mission  work  in  her  own  state. 


3.  From  The  Merger  To  The  Golden  Jubilee 

Just  three  years  after  the  merger  of  the  general  societies,  there 
occurred  a  synodical  merger  within  the  bounds  of  the  state.  In  line  with 
this,  the  Women's  Missionary  Societies  of  the  North  Carolina  and  Ten- 
nessee Synods  joined  forces. 


134         History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

The  Women's  Missionary  Society  of  the  Tennessee  Synod  was  eight 
years  old  at  this  time,  having  been  organized  in  1913.  Prior  to  1908, 
however,  societies  in  this  area  were  meeting  as  individual  units,  com- 
posing their  own  programs,  and  dividing  their  offerings  equally  between 
Home  and  Foreign  Missions.  When  the  Tennessee  Synod  met  at  Holy 
Trinity,  Hickory,  in  October,  1913,  it  was  recommended  that  a  Synodical 
Women's  Society  be  organized,  and  a  constitution  was  drawn  up. 

The  next  month,  during  Thanksgiving  week,  the  organizational 
meeting  was  held  in  St.  Andrew's  Church,  Hickory.  Twenty  delegates 
were  present,  including  two  from  South  Carolina.  In  1914,  twenty-two 
societies  were  enrolled.  The  loyalties  of  the  Tennessee  Women's  Mis- 
sionary Society  were  also  to  both  Home  and  Foreign  Missions.  The 
Monroe  and  Statesville  Churches  were  financially  aided.  Overseas 
interest  was  in  the  Japan  Home  for  Women  Missionaries,  and  by  1916 
the  society  was  helping  to  support  Misses  Bowers  and  Akard.  Week  of 
Prayer  was  an  important  observance,  and  strides  were  being  made  in 
Thank  Offering,  Mission  Study,  and  Life  Memberships.  Offerings  for  the 
year  1920  were  $1,510.  At  the  time  of  the  merger  of  the  two  North 
Carolina  units  there  were  35  societies.  Mrs.  R.  L.  Fritz  of  Hickory  has 
written  a  detailed  history  of  the  Tennessee  Synodical  Society. 

In  August,  1921,  the  Tennessee  women  met  in  the  A.  R.  P.  Church 
in  Mooresville,  while  the  North  Carolina  group  met  at  St.  Mark's.  A 
ways  and  means  committee  had  been  appointed  to  supervise  the  merger 
and  a  constitution  was  adopted  for  the  joint  organization.  Greetings 
were  brought  by  Mrs.  F.  A.  Bissinger,  president  of  the  North  Carolina 
Society,  and  Mrs.  A.  P.  Rudisill,  of  the  Tennessee  Synodical  Society. 
Naturally,  membership  and  offerings  reached  a  new  high,  the  following 
year. 

In  1922,  the  Eastern  and  Western  Conferences  appeared  on  the 
scene.  In  1923,  the  conference  presidents  took  over  the  duties  of  field 
secretary  for  the  state,  and  that  office  was  no  longer  needed. 

About  the  same  time  that  the  Tennessee  and  North  Carolina 
women  combined  interests,  the  Children's  Societies  received  a  new 
name  —  that  of  the  Light  Brigade  —  and  Mrs.  Julia  Hall  was  its  first 
Superintendent.  One  session  at  the  1926  Convention  was  given  over 
entirely  to  the  Young  Women. 

In  1924,  the  North  Carolina  Society  entertained  the  national 
organization  at  St.  John's  Church  in  Salisbury.  The  Synodical  Society 
was  signally  honored  in  1928,  when,  at  the  Johnstown  Biennial  Convention, 
Mrs.  John  M.  Cook  was  elected  general  treasurer.  Nine  years  later  she 
was  made  statistical  secretary  of  the  General  Society. 

The  number  of  department  secretaries  dropped  from  22  in  1922 
to  6  in  1928!  They  were  Thank  Offering  and  Magazine,  Mission  Study 
and  Literature,  Life  Membership  and  Annuity,  West  Indies  and  India 
Lace,  Box  Work,  and  Young  Women  (headed  by  Miss  Clara  Sullivan). 
By  1929  the  Week  of  Prayer  and  Self-Denial,  with  its  offerings,  had 
become  so  important,  that  on  Mrs.  J.  L.  Morgan's  recommendation,  it 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  135 

was  made  a  department.     The  following  year  the  Patron  and  Protege 
Department  was  added. 

In  1922,  a  50c  Synodical  Fee  was  requested.  Through  the  years 
this  fee,  coming  from  each  individual  member  of  the  society,  has  provided 
for  the  printing  and  mailing  of  literature,  including  the  monthly  pro- 
grams and  Week  of  Prayer  material;  stationery;  travel  expenses  of 
officers;  expenses  of  speakers  at  the  state  conventions,  and  other 
miscellaneous  items. 

In  1929,  under  the  leadership  of  Mrs.  J.  F.  Crigler,  president,  an 
important  decision  was  made  by  the  Women  of  North  Carolina.  They 
voted  to  assume  the  support  of  their  first  mxissionary,  Miss  Clara 
Sullivan,  for  one  term  of  five  years  in  the  China  field.  Local  societies 
made  one  or  more  pledges  of  $5  each  to  cover  her  support,  which  would 
amount  to  $1,000  annually.  Another  most  unusual  event  took  place 
six  years  later,  when  Dr.  Gladys  Morgan  was  commissioned  as  the  first 
medical  missionary  from  North  Carolina.  Her  mother,  Mrs.  J.  L.  Morgan, 
representing  the  General  Board  (she  was  a  board  member  at  that  time) 
presented  her  daughter  for  the  commissioning! 

During  these  sixteen  years  an  unbelievable  amount  of  Home 
Mission  work  was  done  by  the  North  Carolina  Women's  Missionary 
Society.  Interest  in  mountain  missions  grew,  as  the  General  Society 
took  for  its  Biennial  Objective  one  term  of  work  in  Watauga  county.  North 
Carolina,  and  Konnarock,  Virginia.  Miss  Cora  Pearl  Jeffcoat  was  com- 
missioned as  parish  worker  in  Watauga  county  in  1923  and  later.  Miss 
Amy  Fisher,  daughter  of  Mrs.  J.  H.  C.  Fisher,  a  former  President,  went  to 
Boone  as  parish  nurse. 

The  Blowing  Rock  Church  was  erected  by  the  North  Carolina 
Women's  Missionary  Society  in  memory  of  Miss  Constance  Cline,  and 
the  pews  in  the  Asheville  Church  are  a  memorial  to  Miss  Ella  Belle 
Shirey.  The  Synodical  Society  contributed  to  the  Lippard  Memorial 
Church  in  Hudson,  in  memory  of  Rev.   and  Mrs.  C.  O.  Lippard. 

The  Golden  Jubilee  of  the  Synodical  Society  was  fittingly  cele- 
brated in  St.  Mark's  Church,  Charlotte.  Mrs.  J.  A.  Moretz  served  as 
chairman  of  the  anniversary  committee  and  wrote  the  historical  sketch 
that  appears  in  the  booklet.  Much  appreciation  was  due  Mrs.  Pearl 
Setzer  Deal  for  writing  and  directing  "Lighting  the  Cross  for  Fifty 
Years."  The  end  of  the  first  fifty  years  found  the  Women's  Missionary 
Society  of  the  North  Carolina  Synod  with  a  total  of  130  societies,  2,480 
active  members,   and   gifts  for  that  year  totaling  $11,803. 


4.  1936  To  The  Present 

The  last  fifteen  years  of  our  history  have  seen  many  changes,  on 
the  state  and  national  level,  and  a  greater  advance  in  membership  and 
gifts.  Membership  and  offerings  have  more  than  tripled  over  the  figure 
given  for  the  previous  period. 


136  History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

Synod,  in  1936,  had  set  the  boundaries  of  its  four  conferences; 
the  Women's  Society  did  likewise. 

Mrs.  L.  E.  Blacl^welder  announced  in  her  report  of  1938  that  the 
Light  Brigade  had  been  placed  under  the  jurisdiction  of  the  Parish  and 
Church  school  board  of  the  ULCA  and  would  be  called  the  Children 
of  the  Church. 

In  the  early  forties,  three  young  North  Carolina  women  emerged 
on  the  scene  as  full  time  Christian  workers:  Miriam  Shirey  and  Elizabeth 
Cress  graduated  from  the  Baltimore  Motherhouse,  and  Inez  Seagle  was 
commissioned  as  Missionary  to  the  Jews  in  Baltimore. 

Mrs.  G.  W.  McClanahan  and  Mrs.  L.  E.  Blackwelder  were  responsible 
for  the  first  convention  bulletin,  which  has  added  so  much  to  the  delegates' 
understanding  of  convention  business. 

The  constitution  was  amended  to  provide  for  one  delegate  to  the 
state  convention  for  every  forty  members  of  a  society,  or  major  fraction 
thereof,  and  that  each  society  could  send  one  delegate,  no  matter  how 
small  in  membership. 

In  1944  and  1945,  during  the  presidency  of  Mrs.  Aubrey  Mauney, 
the  Synodical  Society  underwent  an  experience  that  it  hopes  will  be 
unique  in  its  history.  Infantile  paralysis  struck  in  1944,  and  reduced 
the  convention  to  a  one-day  meeting.  Gasoline  rationing  the  following 
year  ruled  out  the  annual  meeting  completely.  Consequently,  the 
celebration  of  the  sixtieth  anniversary  of  the  society  had  to  be  postponed 
until  the  following  year.  Mrs.  J.  L.  Morgan  wrote  up  and  presented 
a  highly  informative  compendium,  dealing  principally  with  home  mission 
work  done  by  the  organization  in  sixty  years,  but  also  giving  milestones 
of  the  society's  history. 

Changes  in  policy  and  procedure  continued  to  be  made.  The 
United  Program  of  the  Women  of  the  Church,  approved  by  the  National 
Society,  was  gaining  in  popularity.  The  society  voted  at  the  1951  con- 
vention to  cooperate  with  Lenoir  Rhyne  College  in  sending  one  or  more 
young  women  to  the  triennial  convention  in  1952. 

A  study  has  recently  been  made  with  a  view  to  giving  conferences 
more  responsibilities  and  privileges.  Since  1946  the  conferences  have 
been  taking  turns  in  entertaining  the  convention  with  Lenoir  Rhyne 
College  as  host.  One  local  change  in  the  constitution,  made  in  1947, 
is  the  election  of  department  secretaries  by  the  administrative  committee 
prior  to  the  convention,  instead  of  by  the  members  at  large.  In  1951, 
Mrs.  Aubrey  Mauney  was  appointed  historian  of  the  Women's  Missionary 
Society  for  the  one  hundred  fiftieth  anniversary  celebration  of  Synod 
in  1953. 

Lutheran  Woman's  Work  has  been  sent  out  to  students  in  our 
Southern  Seminary  since  1947,  and  graduating  students  are  usually  made 
life  members  by  women  of  their  home  churches. 

The  North  Carolina  Society  has  been  signally  honored  by  the 
invitation  to  four  North  Carolina  women  to  write  the  Week  of  Prayer 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  137 

programs.     They   were   Mrs.   John   M.   Cook,    Mrs.   J.    F.    Crigler,    Sister 
Catherine  Stirewalt  and  Miss  Inez  Seagle. 

Recently,  the  departments  have  been  grouped  in  three  divisions, 
according  to  the  plan  used  by  the  General  Society:  educational,  promotion 
and  special  gifts. 

In  view  of  its  increasing  importance,  North  Carolina  Missions  was 
made  a  department  in  1938.  Mrs.  E.  C.  Cooper  was  made  its  secretary, 
and  it  continued  to  grow  in  importance  as  a  department.  The  mission 
in  Durham  was  aided  for  some  years,  and,  in  1941,  Mrs.  E.  R.  Trexler, 
as  president,  cooperating  with  representatives  from  other  auxiliaries 
and  the  Durham  congregation,  helped  to  work  out  a  method  for  liqui- 
dating the  debt  on  this  project.  A  total  of  $8,636  was  given  Dur- 
ham by  the  Women's  Missionary  Society.  A  pledge  of  $10,000  was 
made  to  the  Chapel  Hill  project,  with  an  individual  contributing  $2,000 
of  this  amount.  Two  hundred  dollars  were  given  for  several  years  to 
the  North  Carolina  Council  of  Churches  toward  the  salary  of  a  weekday 
religious  education  consultant. 

The  Foreign  Missions'  picture  showed  equally  as  much  progress 
over  this  period.  One  thousand  dollars  of  the  Winecoff  bequest  went 
to  the  Janice  James  School  in  Japan,  in  memory  of  Mrs.  A.  W.  Winecoff, 
with  the  balance  for  the  Morganton  Mission.  With  the  commissioning 
of  Miss  Virginia  Aderholdt  for  Japan  in  1936,  and  Miss  Catherine  Stire- 
walt for  China  in  1939,  the  list  of  N.  C.  missionaries  grew.  In  1940, 
over  $400  was  contributed  to  Lutheran  World  Action.  Ruth  Sigmon  and 
Kathleen  Ragan  became  two  of  the  "Triennial  Fifteen"  missionaries  in 
1946.  During  that  year,  the  societies  had  been  trying  to  give  enough 
additional  offerings  to  make  it  possbile  to  buy  Clara  Sullivan  a  station 
wagon  for  use  in  the  China  field.  At  the  convention  the  women  had 
brought  in  their  donations,  amounting  to  over  $1,200,  plus  the  Luther 
League's  contribution  of  $75.  Great  was  the  excitement  when  Mrs.  Clar- 
ence Whisnant  of  Hickory  stepped  to  the  platform  and  handed  the  presi- 
dent a  check  for  $1,500  to  cover  the  cost!  It  was  decided  that  the  money 
given  by  the  women  should  consequently  be  used  in  the  China  Mission  as 
the  missionaries  saw  fit.  In  1950,  it  was  voted  that  the  former  Sullivan 
Fund  be  known  by  the  names  of  missionaries  it  supports.  Mrs.  M.  C. 
Yoder's  report  in  1947  states  that  Mrs.  L.  L.  Minges'  support  of  Virginia 
Aderholdt  is  the  first  instance  in  our  Synodical  Society  of  an  individual 
supporting  a  woman  missionary.  At  the  same  time  Mrs.  J.  S.  Efird 
gave  $1,000  to  be  divided  among  four  missionaries.  Mention  is  made 
in  1948  of  the  Rev.  and  Mrs.  Harold  Deal's  sailing  for  Japan.  By  1951, 
five  missionaries  were  being  supported  in  whole  or  in  part  by  the  North 
Carolina  Women's  Missionary  Society.  Miss  Elizabeth  Huddle  has  been 
the  most  recent  North  Carolina  girl  to  go  to  the  foreign  field,  Japan, 
and  she  is  supported  by  her  congregation,  Kimball  Memorial,  Kannapolis, 
and  St.  John's,  Salisbury. 

In  1950,  a  revolutionary  change  was  wrought  in  the  policy  of  the 
ULCA  Missionary  Society,  and  our  North  Carolina  organization  followed 
suit.    The  constitution  adopted  in  1950  states  that  there  will  be  no  more 


138         History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

dues,  no  more  Sy nodical  fees,  but  free-will  offerings  will  take  the  place 
of  these  former  "essentials".  Eighty  per  cent  of  the  free-will  offering 
goes  to  the  General  Fund  of  the  W.  M.  S.  of  the  U.  L.  C.  A.;  20%  remains 
in  the  N.  C.  Administrative  Fund  (replacing  the  Synodical  fee).  Active 
members  are  defined  as  those  attending  meetings  and  making  a  contri- 
bution. 

Also,  in  1950,  the  Patterson  Memorial  Fund,  whose  income  is  to 
be  used  solely  by  the  Synodical  Society,  was  established  by  the  sons 
and  daughters  of  I.  Frank  and  Maria  Patterson. 

In  Mrs.  M.  C.  Yoder's  last  year  as  president,  the  Maud  and  Annie 
Powlas  Scholarship  was  set  up,  in  honor  of  our  first  single  women 
missionaries  from  North  Carolina.  This  is  an  annual  $200  scholarship 
at  Lenoir  Rhyne  College  for  a  worthy  young  woman  planning  to  enter 
full  time  Christian  service. 

During  Mrs.  E.  R.  Lineberger's  administration,  the  women  of  three 
Southern  Synods,  North  Carolina,  South  Carolina,  and  Georgia-Alabama, 
voted  to  raise  $20,000  toward  the  erection  of  a  Mission  Hall  at  Lutheridge. 
North  Carolina's  proportionate  part  is  $12,000,  and  on  March  20,  1952, 
$8,642  had  been  paid. 

The  past  has  been  a  glorious  adventure,  the  present  holds  con- 
tinuous reward  for  those  at  work  in  the  Lord's  vineyard,  and  the  future, 
God  willing,  may  see  a  world  at  peace  under  the  banner  of  the  Prince 
of  Peace.  Thus  our  history  of  sixty-six  fruitful  years  comes  to  an  end, 
and  we  anticipate  with  high  hope  the  Diamond  Jubilee  in  1960! 


Presidents  of  The  N.  C.  Synodical  Society 

1886-1888 Mrs.  J.  S.  Fisher,  Concord 

1888-1889 Mrs.  W.  G.  Campbell,  Concord 

1889-1891 Mrs.  W.  R.  Brown,  Heilig's  Mills 

1891-1893 Miss  Ella  Belle  Shirey,  Mt.  Pleasant 

1893-1894 Mrs.  W.  R.  Brown,  Organ  Church 

1894-1896 Mrs.  J.  Q.  Wertz,  China  Grove 

1896-1898 Mrs.  J.  H.  C.  Fisher,  Mt.  Pleasant 

1898-1900 Mrs.  J.  Q.  Wertz,  China  Grove 

1900-1902 Miss  Ella  Belle  Shirey,  Bear  Poplar 

1902-1904 Mrs.  J.  A.  Linn,  Mt.  Pleasant 

1904-1906 Mrs.  V.  Y.  Boozer,  Salem 

1906-1912 Mrs.  J.  A.  Linn,  Rockwell 

1912-1915 Mrs.   R.   L.   Patterson,   Charlotte 

1915-1917 Miss  Constance  Cline,  Concord 

1917-1919 Mrs.  John  M.  Cook,  Concord 

1919-1921 Mrs.  F.  A.  Bissinger,  Wilmington 

1921-1922 Mrs,  John  M.  Cook,  Concord 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  139 

1922-1925 Mrs.  G.  W.  McClanahan,  Gibsonville 

1925-1928 Mrs.  J.  L.  Morgan,  Salisbury 

1928-1931 Mrs.  J.  F.  Crigler,  Charlotte 

1931-1934 Mrs.  J.  A.  Moretz,  Hickory 

1934-1937 Mrs.  G.  W.  McClanahan,  Granite  Quarry 

1937-1940 Mrs.  L.  E.  Blackwelder,  Mooresville 

1940-1943 Mrs.  E.  R.  Trexler,  China  Grove 

1943-1946 Mrs.  Aubrey  Mauney,  Kings  Mountain 

1946-1949 Mrs.  M.  C.  Yoder,  Hickory 

1949-1952 Mrs.   E.   R.   Lineberger,   Lumberton 

1952-         Mrs.  Ray  R.  Fisher,  Winston-Salem 

Treasurers  of  The  N.  C.  Synodical  Society 

1885-1888 Mrs.  John  A.  Cline,  Concord 

1888-1904 Mrs.  P.  N.  Heilig,  Salisbury 

1904-1905 Mrs.  J.  S.  Brown,  Salisbury 

1905-1920 Mrs.  A.  W.  Winecoff,  Salisbury 

1920-1927 Mrs.  Fred  Shepherd,  Concord 

1927-1929 Mrs.  John  M.  Cook,  Concord 

1929-1934 Miss  Jo  Lipe,  Landis 

1934-1939 Mrs.  D.  W.  Moose,  Concord 

1939-1942 Mrs.  J.  H.  Weddington,  Charlotte 

1942-1946 Miss  Rosa  Sox,  Hickory 

1946-1947 Mrs.  E.  R.   Lineberger,  Spencer 

1947-1952 Mrs.  Charles  B.  Gilbert,  Catawba 

1952-         Miss  Aileen  Aderholdt,  Hickory 

Presidents  and  Treasurers  of  Tennessee 
Synodical  Society 

presidents 

1913-1915 Mrs.  W.  J.  Boger,  Mt.  Holly,  N.  C. 

1915-1916 Mrs.  J.  K.  Efird,  New  Brookland,  S.  C. 

1916-1917 Mrs.  E.  H.  Kohn,  Mt.  Holly,  N.  C. 

1917-1920 Mrs.  W.  J.  Boger,  Newton,  N.  C. 

1920-1921 Mrs.  A.  P.  Rudisill,  Dallas,  N.  C. 

TREASURERS 

1913-191.5 Mrs.  W.  H.  Kimball 

1915-1916 Mrs.  E.  H.  Kohn 

1916-1917 Mrs.  J.  D.  Mauney 

1917-1921 Mrs.  J.  A.  Costner 


140         History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 


Officer  and  Board  Members  From  North  Carolina  Who 

Have  Served  and  Are  Serving  The  Women's  Missionary 

Society  of  The  United  Lutheran  Church  in  America 

Mrs.   John   M.   Cook  —  Treasurer,   1928-1937; 
Statistical  Secretary,  1937-1940 

Miss  Constance  Cline  —  Board  Member,  1918-1919 

Mrs.  John  M.  Cook  —  Board  Member,  1919-1922 

Mrs.  G.  W.  McClanahan  —  Board  Member,  1922-1928 

Mrs.  J.   L.   Morgan  — Board   Member,   1932-1940 

Mrs.  L.  E.   Blackwelder  —  Board  Member,  1940-1946 

Mrs.  E.  R.  Trexler  —  Board  Member,  1946-1952. 


Our  North  Carolina  Women  in  Christian  Service 
missionaries  and  parish  v^orkers 

Maud  Powlas,  Japan 

Annie  Powlas,  Japan 

Marie  Martens,  Africa 

Cora  Jeffcoat,  N.  C.  Mountains 

Amy  Fisher,  Parish  Nurse,  Boone,  N.  C. 

Clara  Sullivan,  China 

Gladys  Morgan-Happer,   India 

Virginia  Aderholdt,  Japan 

Catherine  Stirewalt,  China 

Inez  Seagle,   Missionary   to  Jews,   Baltimore,   Maryland 

Ruth  Sigmon,  India 

Kathleen  Ragan,  China 

Elizabeth  Huddle,  Japan 


deaconesses 

Sister  Pearl  Lyerly  Sister  Miriam  Shirey 

Sister  Clara  Smyre  Sister  Elizabeth  Cress 

Sister  Lucile  Lyerly  Sister  Pearl  Eckard 

Sister  Nora  McCombs  Sister  Sophie  Moeller 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  141 

Offerings  of  Women's  Missionary  Society 
Of  North  Carolina 

(Not  including  Children's  Offerings) 

1885-1930  $288,001.54      1942  20,685.03 

1931  14,963.35      1943  23,873.41 

1932  12,876.13      1944  27,599.15 

1933  10,335.72      1945  33,445.76 

1934  11,247.67      1946  43,620.91 

1935  11,803.07      1947  48,362.94 

1936  15,525.30      1948  49,719.29 

1937  13,452.89      1949  57.172.66 

1938  14,199.60      1950  56,885.84 

1939  15,541.56      1951  72,577.45 

1940  16,494.57      1952  72,856.38 

1941  20,633.73  $951,873.95 


II.    THE    CHILDREN'S    ORGANIZATIONS 

The  children's  work  in  the  Synod  was,  in  the  beginning,  closely 
linked  with  that  of  the  women.  The  minutes  of  Synod  for  the  year 
1886  record  the  adoption  of  the  resolution:  "that  we  endorse  the  plans  and 
constitutions  used  in  the  organization  of  Children's  Societies  and  Women's 
Societies  —  that  the  money  from  the  Children's  Missionary  Societies  be 
sent  to  the  treasurer  of  Synod  marked  Children's  Fund  for  Foreign 
Missions  and  that  the  amounts  thus  collected  be  accredited  upon  the 
assessments  of  the  various  congregations   for   Foreign    Missions." 

In  harmony  with  this  resolution,  Mrs.  J.  D.  Shirey,  Bear  Poplar, 
organized  the  first  Children's  Missionary  Society  at  St.  Luke's  in  1886. 
A  charter  member  of  this  society  has  in  his  possession  one  of  the  early 
certificates  of  membership  which  reads:  "This  is  to  certify  that  Bachman 
Miller  of  St.  Luke's  Sunday  School  has  contributed  25c  to  the  Children's 
Foreign  Missionary  Society  of  the  Lutheran  Church  and  is  thereby 
constituted  a  member  for  one  year."  The  second  Children's  Society  was 
organized  at  Holy  Trinity,  Mt.  Pleasant  in  1889. 

At  the  convention  of  the  Women's  Missionary  Society  in  1893,  the 
president,  Miss  Ella  Belle  Shirey,  expressed  concern  over  there  being  so 
few  children's  missionary  bands  and  called  for  action.  Accordingly, 
a  constitution  for  the  Children's  Missionary  Society  of  the  North  Carolina 
Synod  was  drafted  and  adopted  at  this  convention.    Article  I  reads:    "The 

name  of  this  society  shall  be  the Children's  Home  and  Foreign 

Missionary  Society  of  the  Lutheran  Sunday  School  of "    Each 

member  was  to  pay  25c  a  year  and  the  moneys  were  to  be  forwarded 
to  the  Board  of  Missions  of  the  United  Synod  of  the  South. 


142         History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

The  first  tabulated  report  of  the  Children's  Societies  was  given  in 
1895.  The  societies  were:  Grace,  St.  Luke's,  St.  Mark's  (China  Grove), 
Trinity,  Salem,  Holy  Trinity,  St.  John's  (Cabarrus),  St.  John's  (Salisbury), 
Center  Grove.     Members,  265.     Offerings,  $93.17. 

The  convention  of  1897  was  marked  by  several  progressive  steps. 
Miss  Ella  Belle  Shirey  was  elected  as  secretary  of  the  children's 
societies;  her  duty  being  to  supervise  the  work  of  the  children.  The 
first  public  children's  service,  at  which  children  participated,  was  held 
at  this  convention.  It  was  voted  that  the  children  endeavor  to  raise 
$100  for  the  support  of  a  native  helper  in  Japan.  This  amount  was 
raised  with  a  surplus  of  $8.35. 

By  1898  some  societies  were  holding  regular  monthly  meetings; 
others  were  working  through  the  Women's  Society  and  Sunday  School.  In 
1899  societies  were  urged  to  subscribe  to  the  Children's  Missionary,  which 
gave  "a  program  and  study  in  full  for  each  monthly  meeting."  A  few 
years  later  Tidings  became  the  official  paper.  The  amount  of  $50  was 
included  in  the  children's  budget  for  home  missions  in  1899.  While  it 
was  not  raised  that  first  year,  gradually  funds  exceeded  the  amount 
pledged  for  foreign  missions  and  the  children  contributed  to  various 
home  mission  projects.  There  was  a  decided  increase  in  offerings  after 
1903,  when  specified  dues  were  changed  to  the  "payment  of  any  sum 
annually  or  in  monthly  installments  until  paid".  In  1906  there  were  22 
societies  contributing  $374.93.  The  practice  of  giving  a  banner  to  the 
society  having  the  largest  per  capita  offering  was  begun  in  1907.  The 
following  year  mite  boxes  were  used.  Kept  in  the  home  for  the  children's 
offerings,  they  were  collected  once  a  year.  In  1909  the  children  in  North 
Carolina  cooperated  with  the  children  of  the  United  Synod  in  the  support 
of  the  Reverend  A.  J.  Stirewalt,  a  missionary  in  Japan,  who  became 
known  as  the  Children's  Missionary.  By  1910  the  Children's  Society  of 
the  N.  C.  Synod  was  the  largest  in  the  United  Synod,  South.  In  her  1911 
report,  the  secretary  states  that  nearly  all  societies  had  monthly  meet- 
ings. Congregational  public  meetings  given  by  the  children  were  also 
becoming  popular. 

The  work  of  the  children  continued  to  grow.  The  birth  of  the 
Women's  Missionary  Society  of  the  U.L.C.A.  in  1918  had  its  impact  upon 
the  children's  work  in  the  Synod.  Horizons  widened  and  the  children  were 
given  increased  opportunities  for  service. 

Two  factors  gave  a  boost  to  children's  work  again  in  1921:  (1)  The 
merger  of  the  Missionary  Societies  of  the  Tennessee  Synod,  and  the 
Synod  of  North  Carolina.  (2)  The  beginning  of  a  new  children's 
program  under  the  name.  Light  Brigade.  At  the  merger  convention 
North  Carolina  reported  50  Light  Brigades,  1,428  members,  $2,517.96; 
Tennessee  13  Light  Brigades,  464  members,  $158.84.  Mrs.  Julia  Hall  was 
elected  Synodical  Superintendent  of  the  Light  Brigade  at  this  convention. 

The  Light  Brigade  programs  were  based  upon  the  mission  study 
books  prepared  by  an  interdenominational  committee  now  known  as 
the  Friendship  Press.     Guides  were  prepared  by  Lutheran  leaders  for 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  143 

the  three  divisions,  Little  Lights,  Lamplighters,  and  Torchbearers. 
The  mite  box  became  a  thank  offering  box  and  even  the  Little  Lights, 
who  did  not  regularly  attend  meetings,  were  given  thank  offering  boxes 
in  the  shape  of   a  candle.     There  were  regular  monthly   dues. 

Missionaries  supported  by  the  Light  Brigade  were:  Miss  Annie 
Powlas,  Japan;  Miss  Christina  Erickson,  India;  Miss  Mary  Bauer,  Africa, 
and  Miss  Cora  Pearl  Jeffcoat,  Watauga.  Some  of  the  other  projects 
were:  the  milk  fund,  Puerto  Rico,  and  the  Queen  Louise  Home,  Virgin 
Islands. 

By  1922  the  Light  Brigade  had  taken  on  definite  form.  There 
was  a  12-point  efficiency  standard.  Some  of  the  points  were:  an  increase 
in  membership,  at  least  12  meetings  a  year,  a  public  thank  offering 
program,  a  life  membership,  and  subscription  to  Lutheran  Boys  and  Girls. 
In  1923,  four  of  the  92  Brigades  in  North  Carolina  reached  the  12  points 
while  15  others  made  the  honor  roll  with  10  points.  Mrs.  E.  C.  Cronk, 
superintendent  of  the  Light  Brigade  of  the  U.L.C.A.,  is  quoted  as  saying, 
"North  Carolina  is  doing  splendidly  and  is  far  in  the  lead." 

It  was  announced  that,  at  the  convention  in  1924,  the  banner 
would  go  to  the  Light  Brigade  reaching  the  greatest  number  of 
efficiency  points;  in  case  of  a  tie,  to  the  one  with  the  highest  per 
capita  offering.  Twelve  societies  reported  a  perfect  score.  The  offerings 
were  $3,803.24  eclipsed  only  by  the  1929  offering,  $57  larger.  Having  111 
Brigades  in  1926,  North  Carolina  was  the  first  to  reach  the  goal,  a 
Light  Brigade  in  every  W.M.S.  The  rally,  at  which  there  was  a  program 
given  for  the  children  and  largely  by  the  children,  was  introduced 
November  4,  1928  when  five  rallies  were  held  in  various  sections  of  the 
state;  57  Brigades  were  represented  with  1,122  children.  Banners  were 
given  to  Churches  having  the  highest  attendance  at  the  second  rally  in 
1929.  In  1932,  Mrs.  Mabel  B.  Fenner,  superintendent  of  the  Light  Brigade 
of  the  U.L.C.A.,  spoke  to  the  children  at  the  rallies.  The  climax  of  the 
rallies,  which  continued  through  1936,  seemed  to  be  reached  in  1935  when 
there  were  11  rallies,  91  Brigades  represented  with  2,000  children,  17 
Brigades  100%  present.  From  1930-1938  more  than  half  the  Brigades  in 
North  Carolina  were  on  the  honor  roll.  In  1938  there  were  112  Brigades, 
4,124  children  and  $2,617.59. 

In  January  1939,  there  was  put  into  operation  in  the  U.L.C.A.,  a 
new  program  for  the  children  known  as  The  Children  of  the  Church. 
The  parish  and  church  school  board  was  the  directing  agency  while 
the  Women's  Missionary  Society  promoted  the  program  during  the 
transition  period.  In  January  1941,  full  responsibility  for  the  program 
was  assumed  by  the  parish  and  church  school  board,  who  directed  and 
promoted  the  work  through  the  parish  education  committees  of  the 
Synods.  By  this  time  the  Children  of  the  Church  was  as  widely  planted 
in  North  Carolina  as  the  Light  Brigade  had  been.  Mrs.  J.  Lewis  Thorn- 
burg,  the  first  Synodical  Secretary,  promoted  the  program  through  the 
formative  period. 

The  Children  of  the  Church,  emphasized  as  a  program  rather  than 
an  organization,  was  set  up  for  weekly  weekday  sessions.     It  was  not 


144  History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

distinctly  missionary  but  rather  all-church.  Ten-session  units  of  study 
were  provided  for  the  beginner,  primary  and  junior  departments.  Free- 
will offerings  were  taken  at  each  meeting. 

District  festivals  were  held  in  November,  at  which  time  a  program 
was  rendered  by  the  children  and  offering  boxes  were  gathered.  The 
free-will  and  festival  offerings  were  distributed  through  the  boards  of 
the  church.  Objectives  of  specific  interest  to  children  were  selected. 
One  year  the  Board  of  Foreign  Missions'  project  was  building  children's 
wards  in   a   hospital   in   China. 

The  Parish  and  Church  School  Board  has  repeatedly  given 
recognition  to  the  Children  of  the  Church  work  in  the  North  Carolina 
Synod.  In  1941  and  1942  North  Carolina  had  the  largest  festival 
attendance  and  offering  in  the  U.L.C.A.,  111  churches  participating  in 
1941.  In  1941  N.  C.  rose  to  the  top  in  total  offerings  and  maintained 
that  status  through  1951,  except  in  the  year  1945. 

From  the  beginning,  week-day,  weekly  meetings  were  stressed. 
In  1941  there  were  active  groups  in  112  congregations,  six  meeting  weekly 
and  11  on  a  week-day.  Restrictions  during  the  war  years  retarded  the 
progress  of  the  work. 

In  1944  emphasis  was  placed  upon  meeting  weekly  for  a  unit  of 
study  in  the  fall  and  one  again  in  the  spring.  Six  congregations  followed 
such  a  procedure  that  first  year. 

Also  beginning  with  1944,  children  using  Children  of  the  Church 
literature  in  the  Vacation  Church  School  were  counted  in  the  program. 
In  1946,  137  congregations  were  participating  in  the  program  (41  only  in 
vacation  school).  A  more  intensive  program  was  in  operation  in  some 
congregations;  nine  held  weekly  meetings,  mostly  week-day;  seven 
spring  and  fall  schools  and  six  either  a  spring  or  fall  school.  In  1947 
more  year-round  groups  were  added  and  a  total  of  6,573  children 
participated  in  the  program.    The  largest  offering  was  in  1950  —  $4,383.16. 

The  North  Carolina  Synod  was  signally  honored  when  the  service 
for  the  dedication  of  the  Children  of  the  Church  gifts  was  held  in  St. 
John's  Church,  Salisbury,  January  27,  1946.  Representatives  from  the 
boards  were  present  to  receive  the  gifts  from  the  hands  of  North  Caro- 
lina children,  representaing  the  Children  of  the  Church  of  the  U.L.C.A. 
There  were  1,360  present,  more  than  800  being  children. 

The  one-day  convention  of  the  leaders  of  the  Children  of  the 
Church,  first  held  in  St.  John's  Church,  Salisbury,  May  16,  1942,  became 
a  yearly  event.  It  was  not  attended  by  children,  except  for  a  few  who 
took  part  in  the  program.  The  convention  was  solely  for  information 
and  inspiration.  Teachers  of  the  children  in  the  Sunday  School  were 
also  invited  to  attend.  Mrs.  Mabel  B.  Fenner,  Miss  Eleanor  Stelzner, 
Miss  Catherine  Juram,  all  general  secretaries  of  the  Children  of  the 
Church,  and  Dr.  S.  White  Rhyne,  executive  secretary  of  the  board,  spoke 
at  various  conventions.  Much  of  the  success  of  the  Children  of  the 
Church  program  may  be  attributed  to  these  conventions. 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  145 

CHILDREN'S  MISSIONARY  SOCIETY 

The  following  have  served  at  officers  of  the  various  children's 
organizations: 

Secretary:  Miss  Ella  Belle  Shirey,  August  1897- August  1900;  Miss 
Virgie  Shoup,  August  1900-August  1901;  Mrs.  J.  A.  Linn,  August  1901- 
August  1902;  Mrs.  R.  C.  Holland,  August  1902-1910. 

Secretary  and  Treasurer:  Mrs.  V.  Y.  Boozer,  1910-September  1915 
(began  serving  as  treasurer,  1911);  Miss  Wilhelmina  Rock,  September 
1915-August.  1918;  Mrs.  Hubert  Patterson,  August  1918-August  1921. 


LIGHT  BRIGADE 

Superintendent:  Mrs.  Julia  Hall,  August  1921-July  1928  (secretary 
and  treasurer  until  June  1925);  Mrs.  J.  L.  Thornburg,  July  1928- July  1931; 
Mrs.  J.  F.  Crigler,  July  1931-October  1933;  Mrs.  E.  R.  Trexler,  October  1933- 
October  1936;  Mrs.  R.  L.  Conrad,  October  1936- January  1939. 

Treasurer:  Mrs.  John  M.  Cook,  June  1925- June  1927;  Mrs.  Fred 
Shepherd,  June  1927-July  1932;  Mrs.  C.  O.  Lippard,  July  1932-1933. 


CHILDREN  OF  THE  CHURCH 

Secretary:  Mrs.  J.  Lewis  Thornburg,  January  1939-April  1941;  Mrs. 
J.  D.  Sheppard,  April  1941-August  1942;  Mrs.  Earl  K.  Bodie,  August  1942- 
August  1947;  Mrs.  Olin  W.  Sink,  August  1947-October  1949;  Mrs.  Barbara 
Yount  Rudisill,  October  1949- June  1952;  Mrs.  Jacob  L.  Lackey,  June  1952-. 

Treasurer:  Mrs.  R.  L.  Conrad,  January  1939-April  1941;  Mrs.  H.  P. 
Barringer,  April  1941- January  1942;  Mrs.  Maurice  E.  Miller,  January  1942- 
January  1948;  Mrs.  James  C.  Grimes,  January  1948-. 


III.    THE    LUTHER    LEAGUE 
Chapter  I  —  Before  1900 

EARLY  BEGINNINGS 

We  have  no  actual  record  of  the  beginnings  of  young  people's  work 
in  our  Synod.  But  from  the  Minutes  of  the  North  Carolina  Synod  in  1894 
President  George  H.  Cox  reported:  "From  many  parts  of  our  church 
there  comes  cheering  news  of  the  good  work  being  done  by  the  organi- 
zation amongst  the  young  people  known  as  'The  Luther  League'."  The 
Rev.  Cox  went  on  to  praise  the  work  being  done  by  these  groups  in 
making  the  young  people  better  acquained  with  the  history  and  doctrines 
of  the  church.    Then  he  urged  all  congregations  to  effect  such  organi- 


146         History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

zations,  and  he  set  up  a  committee  to  study  the  matter  and  report  back 
to  the  Synod  at  that  convention.  Later  in  the  convention,  the  committee, 
composed  of  M.  G.  G.  Scherer  and  J.  D.  Shirey,  made  the  following  report: 
"Resolved,  that  the  Synod  looks  with  favor  upon  the  organization  of  our 
young  people  into  societies  for  effective  work  in  the  kingdom  of  our 
Lord,  and  that  we  heartily  recommend  that  a  Luther  League  be  formed 
in  each  of  our  congregations  as  soon  as  possible.  Resolved,  that  we 
recommend  the  circulation  of  the  Luther  League  Revievj,  as  a  valuable 
adjunct  to  the  organization  and  upbuilding  of  such  Luther  Leagues." 
That  the  young  people  and  their  work  were  on  the  minds  of  many 
by  1894  is  further  seen  in  the  report  of  the  committee  on  the  state  of 
the  church  to  that  same  convention  of  Synod  when  they  asked,  "And 
why  should  not  our  male  members  also  have  their  work  to  do  in 
forming  Luther  Leagues  and  making  the  Lutheran  Church,  her  doctrines, 
history,  and  usages  more  generally  known  and  loved  throughout  the 
land?"  Thus  we  know  that  the  young  people's  work  of  our  Synod  goes 
back  to  1894,  and  undoubtedly  before  that.  How  much  before,  we 
shall  never  know  for  certain.     No  records  are  available  to  tell  us. 

It  was  the  Rev.  B.  S.  Brown,  Sr.,  who  could  report  to  the  92nd 
annual  convention  of  Synod  the  following  year,  in  1895,  in  his  Presi- 
dent's Report,  that  "a  number  of  congregations  have  complied  with 
the  Synod's  recommendation  to  form  Luther  Leagues.  They  are  proving 
very  helpful  auxiliaries  to  the  church  in  its  work.  I  recommend  that  a 
committee  be  appointed  by  Synod  to  effect  the  organization  of  a  Synodical 
or  State  Luther  League,  if  practicable,  during  the  coming  summer  or 
fall." 

The  committee  on  Luther  Leagues  must  have  functioned,  for  in  the 
Minutes  of  Synod  for  1896  we  read  that  "a  State  Luther  League  was 
organized  at  St.  James,  Concord,  and  its  constitution  and  by-laws  will 
be  presented  to  this  body  for  ratification".  Concerning  the  relationship 
of  this  early  state  organization  to  the  National  Luther  League,  we 
have  no  state  records.  But  in  his  book,  The  Youth  Movement  In  the 
American  Lutheran  Church,  written  in  1928,  Gerald  Jenny  says,  in  the 
chapter  on  ULCA,  "Ohio,  Indiana,  North  Carolina,  Iowa,  and  Wisconsin 
State  Luther  Leagues  organized  and  joined  the  National  League  in 
1896".  How  many  meetings  this  state  organization  held,  and  how 
effective  it  was,  as  well  as  how  long  it  continued  to  function,  we  do  not 
know.  There  are  no  minutes  in  the  Archives.  Difficulties  of  transporta- 
tion and  communication,  as  well  as  the  lack  of  good  literature,  hampered 
its  work  greatly.  Yet  we  know  from  the  Minutes  of  Synod  that  in  1896 
eight  leagues  reported  231  members.  This  is  the  first  listing  of  leagues 
we  have  available.  The  churches  having  leagues  were:  St.  John's, 
Salisbury;  Holy  Trinity,  Mt.  Pleasant;  Macedonia,  Burlington;  St.  James, 
Concord;  St.  Mark's,  Charlotte;  St.  Andrew's,  Concord;  Augsburg,  Winston- 
Salem,  and  St.  Paul's,  Asheville  (no  longer  existent).  Holy  Trinity,  Mt. 
Pleasant  reported  the  largest  number  of  members  —  fifty-four.  There 
were  undoubtedly  leagues  elsewhere  which  were  not  reported  to  the 
Synod.  The  records  prior  to  1900  are  unfortunately  incomplete,  and  many 
times,  inaccurate. 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  147 

Each  copy  of  the  Minutes  of  Synod  thereafter  carried  a  listing  of 
Luther  Leagues  in  the  year's  Parochial  Report  until  1918,  giving  evidence 
of  the  existence  of  youth  work  continuously  through  these  years.  Just 
how  true  a  picture  they  give  of  the  extent  of  Luther  League  work  is 
hard  to  determine.  We  have  no  reports  of  Luther  League  activities  in 
the   Minutes    of   the    North    Carolina    Synod    after    1918. 

If  we  must  say  that  the  early  records  of  young  people's  work  in 
the  old  North  Carolina  Synod  are  sadly  lacking  and  inaccurate,  we 
shall  have  to  admit  that  they  are  doubly  so  for  that  portion  of  the 
church  which  belonged  to  the  Tennessee  Synod.  In  the  Minutes  of  the 
Tennessee  Synod  for  1901,  we  have  the  first  listing  of  Young  People's 
Societies  in  the  North  Carolina  Conference.  Those  reported  were  St. 
Matthew's,  King's  Mountain,  with  20  members;  Holy  Trinity,  Hickory, 
with  40  members;  and  Emmanuel  (presumably  Lincolnton)  with  no 
listing  of  members,  but  an  $18  contribution  for  benevolences.  The 
District  Luther  League  of  Western  North  Carolina  was  formally  organized 
in  Statesville  on  November  20th,  1913.  It  had  been  the  St.  John's  League 
that  took  the  initiative  and  invited  delegates  from  young  people's  groups 
in  several  nearby  counties  to  effect  the  organization.  St.  John's  president, 
M.  F.  P.  Troutman,  became  the  first  district  president.  Meetings  of  this 
body  were  held  semi-annually  until  the  first  annual  convention,  which 
was  held  with  St.  Michael's  League,  Troutman,  N.  C,  on  September  2, 
1920. 

The  second  and  last  annual  convention  of  the  Luther  League  of 
the  Tennessee  Synod  was  held  at  Holy  Communion,  Dallas,  on  August 
24,  1921.  Only  a  one-day  session  was  held,  for  it  was  to  be  joined  by 
the  Young  People's  Federation  of  the  North  Carolina  Synod  the  very 
next  day  to  effect  the  merger  of  the  two  bodies.  It  is  to  be  noted  that 
in  addition  to  regular  leagues,  there  were  also  Junior  Luther  Leagues 
for  the  younger  boys  and  girls.  But  only  two  such  groups  were  carried 
on  the  rolls  of  the  league  in  1921.  These  two  Junior  Leagues  were 
at  St.  Stephen's  and  Holy  Trinity,  Hickory. 


YOUNG  PEOPLE'S  SOCIETIES,  N.  C.  SYNOD 

If  we  might  say  that  the  father  of  the  youth  movement  among 
Lutheran  young  people  in  North  Carolina  is  the  Synod,  we  can  equally 
call  the  Women's  Missionary  Society  the  mother.  For  during  this  period, 
1900-1920,  there  existed  in  many  churches  a  youth  group,  sponsored  by 
the  Women's  Society,  known  as  the  "Young  People's  Missionary  Society", 
or  in  some  cases,  the  "Girl's  Guild".  Some  churches  tried  to  maintain 
both  a  Luther  League  and  a  Young  People's  Society,  but  in  most  churches 
it  was  a  case  of  either,  or.  A  Guild  existed  at  St.  Mark's,  Charlotte,  as 
early  as  1903,  which  had  as  its  chief  project  the  support  of  Missionary 
work  in  Japan.  Besides  missionary  endeavors,  another  project  of  the 
Young  People's  Society  was  the  annual  presentation  of  a  banner  to  the 
best  Children's  Society  during  the  year. 


148         History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

In  addition  to  St.  Mark's,  Charlotte,  we  know  that  a  Girl's  Guild 
was  organized  at  St.  James,  Concord,  in  1906,  a  Young  People's  Society 
that  same  year  at  St.  Mark's,  China  Grove,  and  a  Girl's  Guild  at  St. 
Peter's,  Rowan,  in  1907.  These  were  the  first  beginnings  which  grew 
into  25  societies  by  1912. 

The  Young  People's  Societies  had  no  separate  convention,  but  sent 
one  delegate  for  each  society  to  the  annual  conventions  of  the  Women's 
Society.  The  first  general  secretary  of  Young  People's  Work  was  Miss 
Marie  Yeager,  of  Charlotte,  N.  C,  elected  to  that  position  in  1910.  In 
1912,  Miss  Yeager  was  succeeded  by  Miss  Constance  Cline,  who  held 
the  office  until  1916. 

The  first  steps  toward  a  breaking  away  was  at  the  31st  annual  con- 
vention of  the  Women's  Society,  held  at  Macedonia,  Burlington,  August 
23-27,  1916.  Miss  Laura  Efird,  who  had  succeeded  Constance  Cline  as 
the  secretary  and  treasurer  of  Young  People's  Societies,  introduced  the 
following:  "That  the  representatives  of  the  Young  People's  Societies  be 
allowed  to  organize  at  their  business  session  of  this  convention."  Miss 
Ida  Brown  Efird  of  Winston-Salem  was  elected  the  first  president,  and 
Miss  Mary  Cline  of  Concord,  the  first  treasurer.  Miss  Constance  Cline 
was  elected  Young  People's  Field  Secretary.  The  next  year,  1917,  she 
was  so  favorably  impressed  by  the  growth  of  the  work  and  the  interest 
shown  in  the  new  set-up  that  she  recommended  to  the  convention  that  the 
Young  People's  organization  be  allowed  to  hold  a  separate  convention 
in  1918,  the  time  and  place  to  be  decided  by  their  executive  committee; 
and  that  this  committee  have  the  privilege  of  making  their  own 
appropriations  and  disbursements  in  the  future.  This  request  was 
granted. 

On  August  13,  14,  and  15,  1918,  at  Sharon  and  Frieden's,  Gibsonville, 
the  young  people  held  their  first  separate  convention.  They  now  became 
know  as  "The  Young  People's  Federation".  The  retiring  president.  Miss 
Efird,  reported,  "We  no  doubt  started  out  on  our  first  year's  voyage  with 
fear  and  trembling,  but  I  am  proud  to  say  that  this  first  year  has 
been  a  most  successful  one  for  us  in  every  respect.  This  is  the  first 
year  in  the  history  of  the  Young  People's  Work  that  we  have  ever 
raised  our  full  apportionment,  and  this  year  we  have  gone  far  beyond 
that  point."  Thirty-eight  societies  were  on  roll  that  year.  The  practice 
was  continued  to  divide  the  funds  equally  between  Home  and  Foreign 
Missions.  A  steady  increase  in  giving  is  noted  in  these  years.  Professor 
L.  L.  Smith  of  China  Grove  was  elected  the  new  president,  but  he 
did  not  serve  out  the  year,  and  was  succeeded  by  Miss  Ruth  Brown. 
S.  White  Rhyne,  of  Charlotte,  succeeded  her  as  president  in  1920,  and 
proved  to  be  the  last  president  of  the  federation. 

On  August  16,  1921,  at  the  fourth  annual  convention  of  the  Young 
People's  Federation  at  Salem,  Salisbury,  President  Rhyne  recommended 
that  "We  declare  our  Young  People's  Federation  an  independent  Organi- 
zation, amenable  to  and  under  the  jurisdiction  of  the  United  Evangelical 
Lutheran  Synod  of  North  Carolina".  This  was  adopted,  and  the  federation 
now  stood  ready  to  merge  with  the  Tennessee  Synod  Young  People  to 
form  the  State  Luther  League  of  North  Carolina. 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  149 


YOUNG  PEOPLE'S  SOCIETIES,  TENNESSEE  SYNOD 

The  first  annual  convention  of  the  Women's  Missionary  Society 
of  the  Tennessee  Synod  was  held  at  St.  John's,  Statesville,  October  9-11, 
1914.  At  that  time,  there  were  seven  Young  People's  Missionary  Societies 
listed  on  the  rolls.  They  were:  Good  Shepherd,  Mt.  Holly;  Oakview, 
Lenoir  College;  Zion,  Hickory;  Holy  Communion,  Dallas;  St.  Andrews, 
Hickory;  St.  John's,  Statesville,  and  Bessemer  City.  The  first  secretary 
of  Young  People's  Societies  of  the  Tennessee  Synod,  and  a  guiding  star 
in  those  early  years,  was  Miss  Pearl  Setzer  of  Hickory.  Luther  Leagues 
existed  in  many  churches  of  the  Tennessee  Synod  in  addition  to  the 
Young  People's  Missionary  Societies.  Statistical  reports  in  the  1916 
minutes  indicate  that  the  first  Young  People's  Society  of  the  Tennessee 
Synod  was  organized  at  Good  Shepherd,  Mt.  Holly,  in  1909.  By  1917, 
eleven  Young  People's  Societies  were  carried  on  the  rolls  of  the  Mis- 
sionary Society,  with   a  total   membership   of  120. 


FROM  THE  MERGER  OF  1921  THROUGH  1951 

Meeting  in  convention  at  Washington,  D.  C.  in  1920,  the  United 
Lutheran  Chuich  endorsed  the  Luther  League  as  its  official  organization 
to  coordinate  all  youth  activities  in  the  church.  It  furthermore  urged 
the  organization  of  leagues  along  Synodical  lines.  The  newly-merged 
United  Evangelical  Lutheran  Synod  of  North  Carolina,  meeting  in  con- 
vention on  June  7-10  at  Burlington  in  1921,  took  the  following  action: 
"That,  whereas  the  Luther  League  is  the  recognized  organization  of 
young  people  in  the  United  Lutheran  Church  in  America,  this  Synod 
looks  with  favor  upon  the  present  effort  to  unite  with  the  forces  of 
young  people  within  the  Synod  into  one  united  body,  and  that  this 
effort  among  the  young  people  be  encouraged  and  heartily  endorsed". 
But  already  the  merger  of  the  Luther  League  of  the  old  Tennessee  Synod 
and  the  Young  people's  Federation  of  the  North  Carolina  Synod  was 
underway.  Early  in  1921,  George  Nelson,  president  of  the  Tennessee 
Synod  organization,  had  sent  in  invitation  to  the  officers  of  the  Federa- 
tion to  join  with  it  in  setting  up  a  committee  to  draw  up  a  constitution 
and  make  the  necessary  plans  for  a  merger.  This  invitation  was  readily 
accepted,  and  a  committee  from  the  Federation  consisting  of  S.  White 
Rhyne,  Lena  Moose,  and  Mrs.  Roy  T.  Troutman  met  with  George  Nelson, 
Eva  Peeler,  and  Paul  Lentz  from  the  Luther  League.  Two  sessions 
were  held,  the  first  in  Salisbury  on  February  28,  and  the  second  in 
Hickory,  July  27.  They  recommended  "that  the  Young  People's  Fed- 
eration, having  concluded  its  regular  conventional  sessions,  adjourn  to 
meet  in  a  merger  meeting  with  the  Luther  League  of  North  Carolina 
at  Dallas,  N.  C,  on  August  25,  at  2  P.M.,  and  that  the  Luther  League, 
having  concluded  conventional  sessions,  adjourn  to  meet  in  a  merger 
meeting  with  the  federation  at  Dallas,  N.  C,  on  August  25,  at  2  P.M." 
The  report  of  the  merger  committee  was  heartily  adopted  by  the 
federation  at  its  fourth  annual  convention  at  Salem,  Salisbury,  on 
August  16-18;  and  then  by  the  Luther  League,  meeting  in  its  second 
annual  convention  at  Holy  Communion,  Dallas,  on  August  24.    Thus,  on 


150 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 


the  next  day  the  rendezvous  was  kept,  the  merger  effected,  and  there 
were  no  longer  four  different  youth  groups  of  Lutheran  young  people 
in  North  Carolina,  nor  even  two,  but  the  "Luther  League  of  the  United 
Evangelical  Lutheran  Synod  of  North  Carolina".  Fifty-four  federation 
societies  had  joined  with  twenty-four  leagues  to  form  the  new  organi- 
zation. 


PRESIDENTS   AND   STATE    CONVENTIONS   OF   THE 
LUTHER  LEAGUE   FROM  1921  -  1951 


YEAR 

PRESIDENT 

1921 

S.  White  Rhyne 

1922 

E.  R.  Lineberger 

1923 

E.  R.  Lineberger 

1924 

Curtis  Wise 

1925 

Curtis  Wise 

1926 

Frank  Cauble 

1927 

Frank  Cauble 

1928 

Herman  Fisher 

1929 

Luther  Mauney 

1930 

Luther  Mauney 

1931 

Luther  Mauney 

1932 

Joe  Moretz 

1933 

Joe  Moretz 

1934 

Catherine  Stirewalt 

1935 

Catherine  Stirewalt 

1936 

Irene  Sox 

1937 

Irene  Sox 

1938 

David  Cooper 

1939 

David  Cooper 

1940 

Elmer  Troutman 

1941 

Elmer  Troutman 

1942 

Carl  Litaker 

1943 

Carl  Litaker 

1944 

Mabel  Seagle 

1945 

Mabel  Seagle 

1946 

Evelyn  Troutman 

1947 

Evelyn  Troutman 

1948 

Betty  Scott  Lentz 

1949 

Betty  Scott  Lentz 

1950 

Ray  Cline 

1951 

Jeff  Norris 

PLACE   OF   CONVENTION 

St.  Paul's,  Wilmington 

Emmanual,  Lincolnton 

St.  James,  Concord 

St.  Matthew's,  Kings  Mountain 

St.  Mark's,  China  Grove 

First  Church,  Albemarle 

Holy  Trinity,  Gastonia 

Macedonia,  Burlington 

Augsburg,  Winston-Salem 

St.  John's,  Statesville 

Holy  Trinity,  Hickory 

St.  John's,  Salisbury 

St.  Mark's  China  Grove  (2) 

Emmanuel,  Lincolnton   (2) 

Macedonia,  Burlington  (2) 

Holy  Trinity,  Mt.  Pleasant 

Lenoir  Rhyne  College 

St.  Paul's,  Wilmington  (2) 

Beth  Eden,  Newton 

Kimball  Memorial,  Kannapolis 

St.  Mark's,  Charlotte 

St.  John's,  Salisbury  (2) 

Kimball  Memorial,  Kannapolis  (2) 

Emmanuel,  Lincolnton  (3) 

Macedonia,  Burlington  (3) 

Holy  Trinity,  Hickory  (2) 

St.  John's,  Concord 

St.  Paul's,  Wilmington  (3) 

St.  James,  Concord  (2) 

First  Church,  Albemarle  (2) 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  151 

One  national  convention  has  been  held  within  the  bounds  of 
North  Carolina.  The  seventeenth  convention  of  the  Luther  League  of 
America  was  held  at  St.  John's,  Salisbury,  July  2-5,  1927.  Three  of  our 
state  leaguers  have  held  offices  in  the  National  League.  Miss  Rosa  Sox 
was  second  vice-president  in  1927,  Eva  Peeler,  recording  secretary  1929- 
1933,  and  J.  W.  Cobb  held  that  same  office  10  years  later.  In  1951,  Ray 
Cline,  of  Concord,  became  the  first  national  president  from  North 
Carolina. 


FINANCES 

If  it  is  true  that  "where  a  man's  treasure  is,  there  his  heart  will 
be  also,"  we  might  say  that  the  youth  of  the  church  have  their  hearts 
in  their  work.  In  the  30  year  period  from  January  1,  1922  until  July 
1951,  they  have  contributed  $171,261.38.  The  only  time  they  failed  to 
make  the  books  balance  was  during  the  years  of  the  great  depression. 
The  only  year  the  receipts  fell  below  the  $3,000  mark  was  1933.  A  peak 
was  reached  in  1926,  when  over  $6,000  was  contributed.  It  took  until  1944 
to  again  reach  and  exceed  that  goal.  The  greatest  financial  year  was 
1948,  when  $13,864.86  was  given.  Since  then,  there  has  been  a  slight 
decrease.  Also,  in  the  past  two  years,  1950-51,  we  note  that  disburse- 
ments have  again  exceeded  receipts. 

Many  and  varied  have  been  the  projects  which  have  benefitted 
from  the  League.  There  has  always  been  a  Foreign  Mission  Objective, 
and  many  Home  Mission  Churches  have  been  aided  through  the  years. 
These  include  Calvary,  Concord;  Grace,  Thomasville;  Trinity,  Sanford; 
St.  Paul's,  Durham;  St.  John's,  Asheboro;  St.  Paul's,  Hamlet;  Trinity, 
Rocky  Mount;  Holy  Trinity,  Chapel  Hill;  St.  David's,  Kannapolis;  Mes- 
siah, Salisbury;  St.  Andrew's,  New  Bern;  Good  Shepherd,  Brevard;  and 
Advent,  Spindale.  The  Southern  Seminary  was  remembered  each  year 
with  a  gift  for  the  library.  And  on  five  different  occasions,  contributions 
have  been  made  to  the  Lowman  Home.  The  State  League  has  con- 
tributed towards  the  purchase  and  development  of  the  Lutheridge  As- 
sembly Grounds.  A  scholarship  fund  has  been  awarded  a  foreign 
student  at  Lenoir  Rhyne  College,  in  honor  of  Missionary  Clara  Sullivan. 
During  the  war  years  a  selective  service  fund  aided  those  churches 
in  our  state  where  service  centers  were  set  up.  In  addition,  the  league 
has  always  met  her  obligations  to  the  National  Luther  League,  and  is 
looked  upon  as  one  of  the  finest  State  Leagues  in  the  United  Lutheran 
Church. 


152  History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

IV.    THE    BROTHERHOOD 


The  North  Carolina  Synodical  Brotherhood  is  stated  upon  good 
authority  to  have  grown  directly  out  of  the  Lutheran  Laymen's  Missionary 
Movement.  This  movement,  intended  to  bring  the  men  into  more  active 
participation  in  the  program  of  our  church,  had  gained  great  headway 
by  1913.  Dr.  E.  C.  Cronk,  one  of  the  leaders,  directed  the  holding  of 
rallies  by  the  laymen  at  many  places  in  the  South.  One  of  these  rallies 
occurred  in  a  theater  in  Salisbury,  N.  C,  during  that  year. 

At  a  meeting  of  the  Executive  Committee  of  the  Laymen's  Mis- 
sionary Movement,  held  in  Columbia,  S.  C,  on  April  16,  1914,  the  follow- 
ing resolutions  were  unanimously  adopted: 

"Resolved  that  the  Laymen's  Missionary  Movement  direct  its 
efforts  during  1914-15  chiefly  along  three  lines,  namely: 

1.  A  church-wide  campaign  similar  to  that  of  1913-14,  but  with 
concentrated   effort. 

2.  Missionary  training  conferences  in  Lutheran  centers  with  special 
reference  to  the  simultaneous  "Every  Member  Canvass"  in  March 
1915;  and, 

3.  Deputation  work  through  teams  of  laymen  working  out  from 
Lutheran  centers  and  strong  congregations,  cultivating  the 
contiguous  fields." 

In  the  same  year,  1914,  at  a  meeting  of  the  North  Carolina  Synod, 
the  following  resolution  was  adopted: 

"Resolved  that  Synod  of  North  Carolina  endorse  the  Lutheran 
Brotherhood  Movement;  that  a  committee  be  appointed  from  a  congre- 
gation having  a  Brotherhood;  This  committee  to  be  at  the  disposal  of 
any  congregation  desiring  to  organize  a  Lutheran  Brotherhood." 

A  further  development  came  at  the  Synod  meeting  held  on  Sat- 
urday, May  15,  1915,  when  a  paper  was  presented  by  Dr.  W.  M.  Cook, 
and  was  adopted  as  follows: 

"In  view  of  the  splendid  meeting  held  here  Thursday  night  by  the 
laymen,  I  desire  to  offer  the  following: 

Resolved  1.  That  the  Synod  of  North  Carolina  heartily  approves 
the  work  of  the  Lutheran  Brotherhood,  and  that  we  again  cordially 
commend  it  to  the  confidence  and  cooperation  of  the  congregations 
of  the  Synod  as  an  agency  of  great  good  in  the  work  of  the  church. 
Resolved  2.  That  this  Synod  provide  for  a  similar  meeting  to  be 
held  at  the  next  convention  of  this  body,  and  that  a  committee  of 
three  be  appointed  to  arrange  a  program  for  such  meeting,  subject 
to  the  approval  of  the  officers  of  this  Synod." 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  153 

The  committee  seems  to  have  been  inactive  during  the  war  years, 
as  no  mention  is  made  concerning  Brotherhood  activity  during  the  three 
following  years.  But  in  the  president's  message  to  Synod  in  1919,  Rev. 
J.  L.  Morgan,  newly  elected  president,  made  the  following  statement: 

"Quoting  from  a  letter  recently  received  from  the  (U.L.C.A.) 
Brotherhood:  'The  time  is  here  for  the  manhood  of  the  Lutheran  Church 
to  make  itself  felt  in  the  councils  of  the  nation,  and  to  take  its  larger 
place  in  the  great  work  of  extending  the  Kingdom  of  Jesus  Christ. 
Shall  we  not  meet  the  challenge  of  the  day  and  rise  to  our  opportunity? 

The  Lutheran  Brotherhood  of  America  has  come  into  existence  for 
this  purpose.  It  is  here  to  serve  our  church  and  our  nation.  It  is  a 
National  Lutheran  Brotherhood." 

I  most  hearily  commend  this  organization  to  the  manhood  of  our 
Synod,  and  urge  them  to  a  hearty  cooperation  with  same'." 

Beginning  in  1920,  the  Brotherhood  movement  had  found  ready 
support  in  a  restricted  area  of  North  Carolina  centering  around  Gaston 
county  and  those  adjacent  to  it.  The  first  Brotherhoods  to  be  formed 
in  the  state  were  two  which  began  almost  simultaneously  at  S't. 
Matthew's,  Kings  Mountain  and  Holy  Trinity,  Gastonia.  These  were 
initiated  by  The  Honorable  Bismarck  Capps  and  Mr.  William  K.  Mauney. 
These  two  then  lent  aid  and  encouragement  to  other  nearby  congre- 
gations to  do  likewise,  so  that  in  rapid  succession  six  other  Brother- 
hoods began  at  Holy  Communion,  Dallas;  St.  John's,  Cherry ville;  Lutheran 
Chapel,  Gastonia;  Emmanuel,  Lincolnton;  St.  Mark's  Charlotte;  and 
Christ  Church,  Stanley.  These  Brotherhoods  formed  a  group  which  came 
to  be  known  as  the  Gaston  District  Brotherhood.  Many  of  the  early 
meetings  were  held  in  mild  weather  as  picnics,  and  a  favorite  spot  for 
these  was  at  Dallas,  N.  C.  Later  the  district  meetings  were  set  for 
the  fifth  Sundays,  a  formula  which  is  still  being  followed  today. 

The  first  Synod  Committee  on  Brotherhoods  was  appointed  March 
1,  1921  and  its  members  were:  Rev.  E.  A.  Shenk,  Rev.  H.  B.  Shaeffer, 
Mr.  P.  M.  Edge,  Mr.  J.  H.  Dinglehoff  and  Mr.  Leon  E.  Sloop.  In  its 
report  to  Synod  in  1922,  this  committee  spoke  of  the  difficulty  of  forming 
new  Brotherhoods.  It  commended  the  good  work  being  done  in  the 
counties  of  Gaston,  Cleveland,  Lincoln  and  Mecklenburg,  where  there 
existed  a  group  of  eight  local  Brotherhoods. 

Dr.  Morgan  continued  to  urge  formation  of  a  Synodical  Brother- 
hood. In  his  report  to  Synod  in  1922  he  commended  the  strong  District 
Brotherhood  in  Gaston  and  adjacent  counties,  and  several  other  local 
organizations  in  different  parts  of  the  Synod. 

At  the  regular  district  meeting,  held  at  Holy  Trinity  Lutheran 
Church,  Gastonia,  on  the  fifth  Sunday  in  April,  1923,  a  temporary 
Synodical  Brotherhood  was  organized.  The  Hon.  Bismarck  Capps  was 
named  president  and  Mr.  O.  B.  Robinson,  secretary.  These  officers 
and  other  interested  laymen  then  met  with  Mr.  Avery  R.  Rhyne,  president 
of  the   Gaston    District   Brotherhood,    at   St.    Mark's    Lutheran    Church, 


154  History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

Charlotte.  The  date  of  this  important  meeting  in  Brotherhood  history 
was  November  6,  1923,  and  its  business  was  to  complete  the  permanent 
Synodical  Brotherhood  organization.  A  constitution  and  by-laws,  written 
by  Mr.  Harry  E.  Isenhour  of  Salisbury,  was  adopted,  and  the  following 
officers  were  elected  for  the  ensuing  year:  president,  Honorable  Bis- 
marck Capps;  vice-president,  Avery  R.  Rhyne;  secretary,  Harry  E.  Isen- 
hower;  treasurer,  R.  W.  Graeber. 

On  May  4,  1924,  a  second  district  was  organized  at  Salisbury 
which  encompassed  the  six  local  Brotherhoods  in  that  vicinity.  This 
was  then  known  as  the  Central  District  Brotherhood.  Later  that  year, 
when  its  report  was  made  to  Synod,  this  district  reported  six  new 
Brotherhoods  formed  in  the  preceding  six  months,  making  a  total  of 
twelve  for  the  first  year  of  its  existence.  On  November  19,  1924,  the 
first  Synodical  Brotherhood  banquet  was  held  at  Lutheran  Chapel, 
Gastonia,  with  an  attendance  of  approximately  300.  Immediately  after- 
ward the  annual  Synodical  Brotherhood  meeting  was  held  in  Holy 
Trinity  Church,  Gastonia. 

President  J.  L.  Morgan,  at  the  1922  Convention  of  the  Synod  in 
Kings  Mountain,  recommended  that  the  Synod  establish  a  Loan  and  Gift 
Fund  for  Home  Missions.  Acting  upon  the  President's  recommendation, 
ten  interested  laymen  of  St.  Matthew's  Church,  Kings  Mountain,  proposed 
to  give  $1,000  each  for  Home  Mission  purposes  on  condition  that  the 
Synod  raise  $90,000  to  provide  a  Loan  Fund  of  $100,000  for  Home  Mission 
expansion.    The  challenge  of  the  laymen  was  accepted  by  the  Synod. 

During  the  convention  held  at  St.  James',  Concord,  on  November 
8,  1928,  the  National  Efficiency  Standard  for  Brotherhoods  was  adopted. 
This  standard  has  since  been  revised  and  modified,  but  originally  it 
had  four  objectives. 

During  the  1924  Convention  the  Brotherhood  passed  resolutions, 
addressed  to  the  Synod,  offering  to  assume  management  of  the  Synodical 
Loan  and  Gift  Fund.  The  Synod,  at  a  later  Convention,  approved  the 
resolutions,  and  the  Loan  and  Gift  Fund  became  the  chief  aim  of  the 
Brotherhood. 

In  1927  committees  were  appointed  to  effect  organization  of 
Northern  and  Western  District  Brotherhoods.  At  a  meeting  in  Hickory  on 
January  30,  1927,  90  men  representing  five  Brotherhood  organizations, 
set  up  the  Western  District  Brotherhood.  The  final  details  were  com- 
pleted on  the  fifth  Sunday  in  May  of  that  year.  The  Northern  District 
was  not  formed  until  a  later  date,  but  by  1928  the  Eastern  District 
had   been   added   and  there  were  four  districts  in  the  Synod. 

The  year  1929  marked  completion  of  the  first  phase  of  the  Loan 
and  Gift  Fund  drive  when  Mr.  W.  K.  Mauney  announced  that  pledges 
had  passed  the  $100,000.00  mark.  While  the  total  goal  of  the  Loan  and 
Gift  Fund  had  been  subscribed,  the  current  depression  made  payment 
of  the  pledges  a  slow  and  disappointing  task,  with  a  total  of  $7,307.94 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  155 

at  the  end  of  1930  and  $13,165.08  a  year  later.    The  first  loans  to  mission 
churches  were  made  in  1931. 

By  1930  the  Synodical  Brotherhood  had  grown  to  57  local  Brother- 
hoods or  about  one  to  every  three  congregations.  Of  these  38  were  using 
the  monthly  topics  in  Lutheran  Men  mazagine. 

The  Efficiency  Standard  was  in  use  throughout  the  Synod  with 
many  Brotherhoods  showing  excellent  results. 

The  state  constitution  and  by-laws  were  amended  to  add  the 
offices  of  assistant  secretary,  statistical  secretary  and  extension  secre- 
tary to  the  state  organization. 

An  important  recommendation  of  the  Synodical  Brotherhood  of 
1930,  was  the  adoption  of  an  extension  program  calling  for  "the  establish- 
ment of  an  active  Brotherhood  in  every  congregation  within  the  Synod". 
The  plan  was  adopted  at  the  1931  convention  and  became  an  important 
Brotherhood  project,  on  an  equality  with  the  Loan  and  Gift  Fund. 

In  1935  the  Synodical  Brotherhood  Convention  amended  its  by-laws, 
giving  the  executive  committee  the  power  to  set  up  a  definite  state 
budget.  They  were  to  apportion  this  budget  among  local  Brotherhoods 
and  regulate  dues.    A  budget  of  $1,000.00  was  adopted  for  the  first  year. 

Provision  was  also  made  for  a  Brotherhood  Archivist  and  Historian, 
to  edit  and  preserve,  in  suitable  form,  all  minutes  and  other  material 
relating  to  the  history  of  the  Brotherhood  from  the  beginning. 

A  recommendation  was  adopted  to  effect  a  better  alignment  of 
the  boundaries  of  the  Brotherhood  Districts  and  the  Synodical  Conferences. 
During  the  year  1936  the  convention  also  approved  legislation  setting 
forth  the  official  method  of  forming  new  districts  within  the  present 
Synodical   Brotherhood. 

By  the  last  of  this  year  the  four  objectives  of  the  Brotherhood, 
which  had  been  adopted  in  1928,  had  been  replaced  by  the  "Six  Objectives 
of  the  Whole  Church.  These  new  objectives  were  adopted  by  the  con- 
vention at  Springfield,  Ohio,  in  October  1936,  as  follows: 

1.  Win  the  unsaved  for  Christ. 

2.  Bring  back  the  lapsed  member. 

3.  Develop  the  church  life  of  our  boys. 

4.  Increase  the  attendance  of  men  at  the  services. 

5.  Practice  and  promote  Christian  Citizenship. 

6.  Meet  the  obligation  of  the  whole  church. 

By  1939  the  treasury  of  the  Loan  and  Gift  Fund  had  received 
$30,000.00.  Working  with  this  rather  limited  capital,  the  Brotherhood 
had  made  such  splendid  contributions  to  the  Home  Mission  work  in 
the  Synod  that  the  men  of  the  church  were  voted  special  commen- 
dation at  the  annual  meeting  of  Synod. 


156  History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

At  this  time  two-thirds  of  the  churches  of  this  Synod  did  not  yet 
have  an  active  Brotherhood,  so  extension  worl^,  as  originated  in  1930, 
was  again  brought  forward  as  a  prime  objective. 

Through  the  boundary  realignment  work  which  had  been  approved 
in  1936,  the  fifth  district,  known  as  the  Central  District,  was  formed, 
and  all  district  boundaries  were  changed  so  that  none  would  overlap 
the  Synodical  Conference  lines.  This  change  resulted  in  better  attendance 
due  to  shorter  travel  distance  to  district  meetings. 

By  1941  the  drive  for  the  extension  of  the  Brotherhood,  which  had 
been  underway  since  1930,  had  reaped  a  goodly  harvest  of  80  local 
organizations  in  active  operation.  By  the  end  of  1951  there  were  124  in 
operation  with  about  50  churches  not  yet  organized. 

In  1943  a  new  office  of  Director  of  Projects  and  Publicity  was 
authorized.  Lutheran  World  Action  was  made  the  special  objective 
of  the  Brotherhood  for  the  duration  of  the  war.  A  revised  constitution  and 
by-laws  was  brought  to  the  state  convention  for  study,  and  further  action 
in  1944.  The  fiscal  year  of  the  Brotherhood  was  established  as  extending 
from  November  1st  to  October  31st. 

At  the  end  of  this  year  the  Loan  and  Gift  Fund  had  total  assets 
of  $52,977.09. 

Nineteen  forty-four  was  indeed  a  banner  year  for  our  fast  grow- 
ing organization.  Extension  work  produced  22  new  Brotherhoods  with 
653  additional  members.  The  total  of  105  Brotherhoods  in  good  standing 
made  this  the  largest  Synodical  Brotherhood  in  the  U.L.C.A.  Lutheran 
Men  subscriptions  increased  by  646  to  a  total  of  1,744.  Congregational 
gifts  to  the  Loan  and  Gift  Fund  increased  from  18  in  1943  to  74  in 
1944,  bringing  the  fund  assets  to  $65,093.52. 

During  the  year  the  Brotherhood  accepted  the  request  of  the  Synod, 
that  the  Laymen  raise  $50,000.00  with  which  to  build  a  church  at  Chapel 
Hill.  The  executive  committee  pledged  the  Brotherhood  to  this  task  and, 
after  several  years  of  delay  due  to  enormously  increased  costs,  one  of 
the  most  beautiful  churches  in  North  Carolina  was  formally  opened  in 
January   1952. 

In  1945  the  Eastern  District,  largest  in  area  in  the  Synod,  was 
divided  into  two  parts  to  form  a  new  unit,  the  Piedmont  District.  This 
made  six  districts  in  the  state. 


During  1946  a  plan  was  inaugurated  to  further  unify  Brother- 
hood work  with  church  work;  topics  were  adopted  for  each  district 
meeting  by  the  Synodical  Convention  each  year.  Topics  for  the  first 
year  were:  1.  Lutheran  World  Action,  2.  Loan  and  Gift  Fund,  3. 
Evangelism,    4.  Stewardship. 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  157 

The  Synodical  Convention  approved  the  dues  paying  plan  adopted 
by  the  Fifteenth  Biennial  Convention  of  the  U.L.C.A.  Brotherhood,  at 
Erie,  Pa.,  on  October  2  of  this  year.    The  plan  is  as  follow^s: 

"  'To  meet  the  expenses  of  the  executive,  administrative  and  pro- 
motional work  of  the  Brotherhood  of  the  U.L.C.A.,  every  congregational 
Brotherhood,  or  men's  organization  in  the  United  Lutheran  Church  in 
America,  shall  contribute  annually,  dues  into  the  treasury  of  the  Brother- 
hood of  the  U.L.C.A.,  in  proportion  to  its  membership  as  reported  on 
June  30th  of  each  year,  a  minimum  of  one  dollar  ($1.00)  per  each  mem- 
ber reported.  Payment  to  be  made  not  later  than  November  1st  in  each 
year.'  That  a  similar  plan  be  adopted  to  meet  the  needs  of  the  North 
Carolina  Brotherhood." 

The  happiest  event  to  occur  in  1947  was  final  completion  of  pay- 
ment of  the  pledges  to  the  $100,000.00  Loan  and  Gift  Fund.  After  25 
years  of  steady  work  a  dream  was  now  a  reality.  Mr.  A.  W.  Fisher 
and  his  associates  contributed  much  to  the  gratifying  results  of  this 
pioneer  effort  in  providing  finances  for  mission  churches  in  our  Synod. 
For  several  years  now  a  gift  fund  has  been  raised  each  year  for  additional 
support  where  it  is  most  needed.  The  goal  for  the  Loan  and  Gift  Fund 
each  year  is  recommended  by  the  state  executive  committee  and  approved 
by  the  Synodical  Brotherhood  Convention. 

In  1948  the  ten  new  objectives  of  the  National  Brotherhood,  as 
adopted  at  the  Allentown,  Pa.,  convention  were  adopted  by  our  Synodical 
Brotherhood.    They  were  as  follows: 


EVANGELIZE 

1.  Win  the  unsaved  for  Christ  and  bring  back  the  lapsed  member. 

2.  Deepen  and  enrich  the  Spiritual  and  Intellectual  life  of  the  men. 

3.  Increase  attendance  at  church  services. 


EDUCATE 

Foster  an  intelligent  and  appreciative  understanding  of  the  whole 
work  of  the  whole  church. 


ENERGIZE 

5.  Promote  Christian  Fellowship  —  locally,  nationally,  internationally. 

6.  Encourage  men  of  the  various  Lutheran  bodies  to  draw   close  to- 
gether in  understanding  and  cooperation. 

7.  Stimulate  the  practice  of  Stewardship  of  time,  talents  and  money. 

8.  Strengthen  the  home  so  that  it  may  be  a  real  school  for  Christian 
living. 


158         History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

9.    Promote    aggressively    a    Christ-centered,    experience    centered    and 
guided  Boy's  Work  program,  such  as  Scouting. 

10.  Encourage  our  men  as  Christian  citizens  to  exert  an  individual  and 
collective  Christian  influence  in  the  community  and  to  participate 
actively  in  the  affairs  of  government. 

In  1949,  after  four  years  of  continuous  work,  the  Brotherhood 
Handbook,  prepared  by  Mr.  Leon  M.  Rivers,  was  declared  ready  for 
publication.  The  convention  approved  the  publication  on  condition  that 
the  executive  committee  of  Synod  give  its  approval.  This  was  done 
as  directed  and  the  finished  work  met  the  needs  of  the  Brotherhood  to 
the  extent  that  more  than  500  copies  were  distributed  during  1951. 

During  1950  a  new  venture  for  the  Synodical  Brotherhood  was 
tried  at  Lenoir  Rhyne  College.  This  was  a  Lay  Retreat,  held  in  August 
just  prior  to  the  annual  Brotherhood  rally.  The  laymen  who  attended 
were  so  enthusiastic  that  arrangements  were  made  to  repeat  it  as  an 
annual  feature  of  the  summer  session.  Action  was  taken  to  change 
the  statistical  year  of  the  Brotherhood  to  begin  on  October  1st,  and 
to  close  on  September  30th. 

For  several  years  the  Brotherhood  had  been  the  official  representa- 
tive of  the  United  Lutheran  Church  in  America  in  the  handling  of  the 
Boy's  Work  program  of  the  church.  This  work  was  mainly  with  the 
Boy  Scouting  program  and  the  laymen  of  the  Brotherhood  had  been  so 
successful  that,  by  the  end  of  1950,  there  were  54  Scout  Troops  operating 
under  its  direction. 

In  1952  the  ceiling  of  $100,000.00  was  removed  from  the  Brother- 
hood Loan  Fund  and  set  at  twice  that  amount.  The  total  membership 
of  the  Synodical  Brotherhood  reported  during  1952  was  3,017. 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  159 


HISTORICAL  SKETCHES 
OF  CONGREGATIONS 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  161 


Historical  Sketches  of  Congregations 


I.  ACTIVE  CHURCHES 

Because  of  the  size  of  this  volume,  these  sketches  have  been 
limited  to  churches  within  the  present  geographical  bounds  of  this  Synod. 
However,  reference  is  made  in  the  General  Narrative  of  this  book,  to 
churches  that  once  belonged  to  either  the  North  Carolina  Synod  or  to 
the  Tennessee  Synod,  which  were  located  i:i  Virginia,  South  Carolina, 
or  Tennessee,  but  which  later  transferred  to  one  of  the  other  Synods. 
Further  reference  to  those  churches  may  be  found  either  in  the  History 
of  the  Virginia  Synod,  or  in  the  South  Carolina  Synod  History. 


ADVENT,    SPINDALE 

Advent  Lutheran  Church  is  located  on  East  Main  Street  in  Spin- 
dale,   Rutherford   County,    N.   C. 

Rev.  J.  D.  Sheppard,  pastor  of  Ascension  Church  in  Shelby,  made 
a  preliminary  survey  of  this  field  during  August  1946.  The  first  service 
was  held,  with  thirty  present,  on  August  15.  Services  were  continued 
in  the  afternoons  in  the  Community  Center  at  Spindale  by  Pastor  Shep- 
pard. The  church  was  organized  on  Advent  Sunday,  December  15, 
1946  with  sixteen  names  enrolled.  Pastor  Sheppard  had  charge  of  the 
organization,  and  Dr.  J.  L.  Morgan  preached  the  sermon. 

On  April  5,  1948,  a  large  dwelling  house  and  lot  were  purchased 
by  the  Synod  for  this  work  at  a  cost  of  $18,000.00.  The  money  was  bor- 
rowed from  the  Brotherhood  Loan  and  Gift  Fund. 

Pastor  Sheppard  continued  serving  this  mission  until  August  1, 
1948,  at  which  time  Rev.  H.  G.  Fisher  was  called  as  pastor,  supported 
largely  for  the  first  year  by  the  Board  of  Missions. 

A  second  lot  has  since  been  purchased,  and  a  church  has  been 
built  on  it  at  a  cost  of  $42,000.00. 

List  of  Pastors: 
J.  D.  Sheppard,  S.,  1946-1948  H.  G.  Fisher,  1948- 


162  History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 


ALAMANCE,  ALAMANCE 

Alamance  Lutheran  Church  is  located  in  Alamance  County  in 
the  town  of  Alamance. 

A  union  church  program  was  carried  on  in  this  town  for  some 
years,  chiefly  by  Lutherans  and  Methodists.  Services  were  held  in  a 
small  frame  community  church,  but  no  organized  congregation  was 
effected.  Lutheran  services  were  conducted  by  Rev.  H.  W.  Jeffcoat,  with 
Miss  Cora  Jeffcoat  assisting,  Rev.  D.  I.  Offman,  and  later  on  by  Rev. 
Q.  O.  Lyerly. 

In  1929,  a  canvass  was  made  to  learn  who  might  be  interested 
i.'.i  organizing  a  Lutheran  Church  in  this  place.  Encouragement  was 
given  to  the  movement  by  two  leading  proprietors  of  the  Standard  Hosiery 
Mill  in  Alamance — John  Shoffner  and  John  Black.  Rev.  F.  L.  Conrad 
of  High  Point  assisted  in  this  canvass.  The  whole  movement  was  car- 
ried out  orderly,  under  the  direction  of  the  president  of  Synod. 

On  Sunday,  June  9,  1929,  a  Lutheran  church  was  organized  with 
48  members.  Dr.  J.  L.  Morgan,  president  of  Synod,  preached  the  ser- 
mon for  the  occasion,  and  assisted  in  the  organization.  Student  Herman 
G.  Fisher  was  secured  as  supply  pastor  for  about  two  years,  when,  on 
June  1,  1931,  he  was  called  as  regular  pastor  and  served  until  1938. 

In  the  meantime,  under  the  leadership  of  Mr.  John  Black,  the 
frame  building  was  enlarged,  brick  veneered,  and  refinished  for  use 
by  the  newly  organized  Lutheran  congregation.  Rev.  C.  Lee  Shipton 
was  called  September  1,  1938.  Under  his  leadership  further  enlarge- 
ments were  made  to  the  building.  An  educational  unit  with  class  rooms 
was  added  in  1939.  In  1939,  a  new  brick  parsonage  was  built  on  a  lot 
next  to  the  church. 

Pastor  Shipton  resigned  June  1,  1949  and  was  succeeded  by  Rev. 
Paul     B.   Cobb  on  July  15. 

List  of  Pastors: 
H.  G.  Fisher,  S.,  1929-1931  C.  Lee  Shipton,  1938-1949 

H.  G.  Fisher,  1931-1938  P.  B.  Cobb,  1949 


AMITY  LUTHERAN   CHURCH 

Amity  Lutheran  Church  is  located  in  Iredell  County,  about  twelve 
miles  south  from  Statesville  and  some  eight  miles  north  from  Moores- 
ville.  This  congregation  was  organized  April  11,  1885,  by  Rev.  H.  M. 
Brown,  while  he  was  pastor  of  St.  Michael's  Church  in  Troutman.    The 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 


163 


house  of  worship  was  erected  in  1888-1889.     It  was  dedicated  April  30, 
1893,  by  Rev.  D.  W.  Michael  and  Dr.  W.  S.  Bowman. 

For  a  long  time  this  congregation  was  at  a  disadvantage  by  be- 
ing in  a  parish  with  too  many  other  churches,  which  limited  the  ser- 
vices for  each  place,  but  at  present  it  is  in  a  parish  with  Lebanon 
only.  The  parsonage  is  located  at  Lebanon.  Within  the  past  year 
Sunday  School  rooms  have  been  added  to  the  Amity  building. 


List  of  Pastors: 


H.  M.  Brown,  1885-1888 
Whitson  Kimball,  1888-1889 
T.  H.  Strohecker,  1889-1890 
D.  W.  Michael,  1890-1894 
H.  W.  Jeffcoat,  1894-1895 

B.  S.  Brown,  1895-1899 
R.  a.  Helms,  1899-1900 

V.  C.  Ridenhour,  S.,  1901-1902 
V.  C.  Ridenhour,  1902-1905 
R.  R.  Sowers,  1906-1907 

C.  R.  Pless,  1907-1908 

H.  W.  Jeffcoat,  1909-1912 


T.  C.  Parker,  1913-1915 
Jno.  L.  Morgan,  1916-1926 
E.  F.  Troutman,  1926-1929 
C.  F.  Kyles,  1929-1932 
R.  H.  Kepley,  1932-1935 
O.  G.  Swicegood,  1935-1937 
H.  A.  Kistler,  1937-1938 
C.  A.  Misenheimer,  1938-1939 
J.  D.  Stoner,  1939-1944 
L.  P.  Boland,  S.,  1945- 
L.  R.  Sloop,  1948-1950 
Supply,  1951-1952 


ANTIOCH,  DALLAS 

Antioch  Lutheran  Church  is  located  in  Gaston  County,  about 
two  miles  west  from  Dallas. 

Early  records  would  indicate  that  a  meeting  of  Ohio  Synod  Luth- 
erans was  held  here  on  September  26,  1853.  It  appears  that  for  a 
number  of  years  the  work  was  carried  on  by  supply  pastors,  among  whom 
were  Rev.  Andrew  Rader,  Rev.  George  L.  Hunt,  and  Rev.  Adam  Miller, 
Jr.  The  first  regular  pastor  here,  of  whom  we  have  record,  was  Rev, 
M.  L.  Little,  who  began  his  work  in  March  1881.  Pastor  Little  being  a 
members  of  the  Tennessee  Synod  proposed  to  the  Antioch  congregation 
that  they  become  affiliated  with  that  Synod  and  build  a  new  house  of 
worship,  both  of  which  were  agreed  upon  by  the  congregation. 

Their  first  church  had  been  built  of  logs,  but  it  was  weather- 
boarded  some  years  later.  It  was  located  a  short  distance  south  from 
the  present  church,  where  the  old  graveyard  is.  Their  second  and 
present  building  is  a  brick  structure,  which  was  constructed  under 
the  pastoral  guidance  of  Rev.  Mr.  Little.  The  bricks  were  made  near 
the  church,  under  the  supervision  of  Mr.  Ambrose  Rhyne.  The  first 
service  held  in  the  brick  church  was  on  August  16,  1883.  There  were 
thirty-six  members  on  the  church  roll  at  that  time. 


164  History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

Rev.  Mr.  Little,  who  was  endeared  to  these  people,  was  killed  by 
a  train  accident  in  1891,  and  Rev.  L.  L.  Lohr  was  called  to  succeed  him. 

During  the  pastorate  of  Rev.  B.  L.  Westenberger,  who  was  con- 
nected with  the  Ohio  Synod,  a  small  group  withdrew  from  Antioch  and 
built  a  temporary  church  and  united  with  the  Ohio  Synod,  but  a  little 
later  they  disbanded  and  returned  to  Antioch. 

Sunday  School  rooms,  tower,  and  other  valuable  additions  were 
made  to  the  church,  in  1939-1940,  under  the  pastoral  leadership  of  Rev. 
F.  M.  Speagle.  Their  modern  new  parsonage  was  built  about  the  time 
that  Rev.  W.  H.  Button  became  pastor  in  1947.  A  newly  acquired  tract 
of  land  has  been  added  to  their  property  holdings,  on  which  a  new 
church  will  be  built. 

For  a  number  of  years  Antioch  was  in  a  parish  with  St.  Paul's 
and  Philadelphia  congregations,  but  in  1947  Antioch  and  Philadelphia 
formed  a  parish,  with  the  parsonage  at  Antioch. 

List  of  Pastors: 

M.  L.  Little,  1881-1891  C.  E.  Fritz,  1917-1919 

L.  L.  Lohr,  1892-1893  C.  N.  Yount,  1919-1922 

J.  A.  Rudisill,  1893-1895  J.  L.  Thornburg,  S,  1922- 

B.  L.  Westenberger,  1896-1898  C.  K.  Rhodes,  1922-1928 

W.  A.  Deaton,  1898-1906  B.  E.  Petrea,  1928-1932 

P.  D.  Risinger,  1907-1911  F.  M.  Speagle,  1932-1947 

Student  C.  K.  Rhodes,  1911-  W.  H.  Dutton,  1947- 
A.  R.  Beck,  1912-1916 


ASCENSION.  SHELBY 

Ascension  Lutheran  Church  is  located  on  North  Lafayette  Street 
m  Shelby,  N.  C. 

This  church  v/as  organized  with  13  members,  in  the  Presbyterian 
Church  in  Shelby,  on  Palm  Sunday,  March  25,  1923,  by  Rev.  H.  B.  Schaef- 
fer,  D.D.,  pastor  of  St.  Matthews  Church  in  Kings  Mountain;  and  Rev. 
E.  D.  Wessinger,  D.D.,  pastor  of  St.  John's  Church  in  Cherryville. 

On  June  17,  1923,  Rev.  N.  D.  Yount  took  charge  of  the  work  as 
Field  Missionary  of  Synod.  A  Sunday  School  was  started  at  that  time. 
Services  were  held  at  first  in  a  school  house  and  then  in  an  Episcopal 
Chapel. 

On  January  25,  1925,  this  mission  and  the  church  in  Bessemer 
City  were  placed  in  a  parish,  with  Pastor  Yount  in  charge  until  1932, 
when  Dr.  E.  C.  Cooper,  Field  Missionary,  began  work  in  Shelby.  The 
lot  on  North  Lafayette  was  purchased  for  $7,000.00  on  April  10,   1924 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  165 

through  contributions  from  members  of  St.  Matthews  Church  in  Kings 
Mountain. 

A  groundbreaking  service  for  a  church  was  held  August  23,  1932 
by  Dr.  Cooper,  Rev.  J.  F.  Davis,  and  Rev.  C.  K.  Derrick.  The  cornerstone 
laying  was  carried  out  in  connection  with  the  opening  of  the  new  church 
on  December  18,  1932.  Dr.  Cooper  was  in  charge  of  services,  assisted  by 
Rev.  J.  F.  Davis,  and  Dr.  H.  B.  Schaeffer  preached  the  opening  sermon. 
Greetings  were  brought  by  Dr.  Morgan  and  auxiliary  representatives. 

The  building  with  furnishings  cost  approximately  $11,000.00  for 
which  the  Missionary  Society  gave  $2,500.00,  and  the  Brotherhood  loaned 
$2,500.00.     Other   donations   came   from   various  sources. 

The  North  Carolina  Synod  met  in  this  church  May  25-27,  1937. 
On  November  21,  1937,  Rev.  J.  Frank  Davis  was  called  as  regular 
pastor.  In  1938  a  nice  brick  parsonage  was  built  by  the  side  of  the 
church.    Rev.  Davis  resigned  in  February,  1943. 

Rev.  J.  D.  Sheppard  was  called  April  1,  1943.  A  pipe  organ  was 
installed  and  dedicated  April  25,  1948.  During  1949-1950  this  congre- 
gation, under  the  leadership  of  Pastor  Sheppard,  was  quite  active  in 
the  resettlement  of  displaced  persons.  On  January  1,  1945,  the  church 
assumed  full  self  support. 

List  of  Pastors: 
N.  D.  Yount,  1923-1932  J.  F.  Davis,  1937-1943 

E.  C.  Cooper,  1932-1937  J.  D.  Sheppard,  1943-1952 


ATONEMENT,    NORTH    WILKESBORO 

For  a  number  of  years,  a  small  number  of  Lutherans  in  North 
Wilkesboro  have  longed  for  a  church  of  their  faith  in  that  place.  Dif- 
ferent ministers  and  students  have  given  them  supply  preaching  ser- 
vices, but  they  have  not  had  the  advantage  of  a  resident  pastor. 

On  June  3,  1951  a  church  was  organized  by  Rev.  C.  A.  Phillips 
with  26  members.  The  name  chosen  is  The  Church  of  the  Atonement. 
Services  are  held  in  a  funeral  home. 


AUGSBURG,  WINSTON-SALEM 

Augsburg  Church  is  located  on  West  Fifth  Street  in  Winston-Salem. 
The  original  location  was  on  the  corner  of  West  Fourth  and  Spruce 
Streets. 

This  church  was  organized  on  September  27,  1891,  by  Rev.  W.  A. 
Lutz  while  he  was  pastor  at  Enochville,  North  Carolina.  Student  J.  I. 
Goodman  assisted  in  the  work  the  latter  part  of  that  year.    Pastor  Lutz 


166  History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

took  full  charge  of  the  mission  January  1,  1892.  Services  were  held  in 
the  second  story  Reform  Club  Room  across  the  street  from  the  south 
side  of  the  Court  House.  A  Sunday  School  was  started  right  away,  and 
Louis  M.  Swink,  in  his  teen  age,  was  the  first  and  only  person,  besides 
the  pastor  who  came  that  first  Sunday.  That  young  man  lived  to  become 
a  great  leader  in  church  and  state. 

The  lot  for  their  first  church  was  purchased  in  1893,  and  the  cor- 
nerstone of  their  brick  church  was  laid  July  9  that  same  year.  Work 
was  delayed  on  account  of  a  country- wide  financial  depression;  how- 
ever, the  church  was  completed  and  dedicated,  free  of  debt,  in  1895. 

By  1925,  the  congregation  had  outgrown  the  capacity  of  the  church 
building,  so  a  new  lot  was  purchased  150x200  feet  on  West  Fifth  Street, 
at  a  cost  of  $25,500.00  for  a  new  church.  A  Building  Committee  com- 
posed of  C.  M.  Miller,  A.  W.  Lentz,  George  Roediger,  T.  L.  Stryker,  and 
L.  M.  Swink,  with  the  Pastor,  S.  W.  Hahn,  was  appointed  to  have  charge 
of  the  building  program.  The  contract  for  the  new  church  was  let  June 
22,  1926  for  a  consideration  of  $126,566.00. 

The  cornerstone  was  laid  November  7,  1926,  and  the  building  was 
completed  and  opened  for  services  September  4,  1927. 

Soon  after  Rev.  Ray  R.  Fisher  became  pastor,  in  December,  1942, 
a  new  parsonage  was  purchased  and  paid  for  the  following  year. 
The  remaining  debt  on  the  church  was  paid  off  by  1944,  and  the  build- 
ing was  dedicated  March  12,  1944. 

List  of  Pastors: 

Stu.  J.  I.  Goodman,  1891-  E.  A.  Shenk,  1908-1915 

W.  A.  Lutz,  1892-1900  I.  E.  Long,  1916-1920 

E.  L.  Folk,  1901-1902  M.  M.  Kinard,  1920-1924 

Stu.  C.  A.  Ritchie,  1902-1903  F.  C.  Longaker,  Sup.,  1924 

E.  P.  Conrad,  1904-1905  S.  W.  Hahn,  1925-1942 

G.  S.  Bearden,  1905-1908  R.  R.  Fisher,  1942- 


BECK'S,  LEXINGTON 

Beck's  Lutheran  Church  in  Davidson  County  was  first  located 
about  six  miles  east  from  Lexington,  but  in  1937  a  new  location  was 
secured  a  few  miles  north  from  the  original  place,  and  four  or 
five  miles  east  from  Lexington,  where  a  new  church  has  been  built. 

It  is  not  definitely  known  when  this  church  was  first  started; 
however,  the  deed  for  their  land  throws  some  light  on  that  inquiry. 
It  reads  in  part  as  follows:  This  indenture  made  November  5,  1787, 
between  John  Billings,  doctor,  and  Leonard  Smith,  etc.  of  the  one  part, 
and  Martin  Frank  and  Frederick  Billings  of  the  Profession  of  the  Church 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  167 

of  England,  and  David  Smith  and  Henry  Lookinbee  of  the  Profession  of 
the  Church  in  the  Dutch  Settlement  on  Abbotts  Creek,  of  the  other 
part,  "Witnesseth  that  for  five  shillings — hath  sold — all  that  piece  or 
parcel  of  land,  containing  fifty-three  acres,  including  the  meeting  house 
and  burying  grounds,  near  Abbotts  Creek  in  said  congregation."  The 
expression  in  the  deed,  "of  the  Church  of  England,"  refers  to  the  Luth- 
erans, and  that  of  "the  Church  in  the  Dutch  Settlement"  refers  to  the 
German  Reformed. 

Two  significant  statements  are  noted  in  this  deed;  namely,  first 
that  the  land  was  purchased  by  the  two  congregations  in  the  year 
1787;  and  secondly,  that  there  was  already  a  meeting  house  and  a 
burying  ground  there  when  it  was  purchased.  So  the  congregation 
w^as  organized  as  far  back  as  1787  at  least,  if  not  earlier. 

The  first  building  was  a  log  house  which  was  there  when  the 
land  was  purchased.  It  is  possible  that  a  second  log  structure  was  put 
up  soon  after  the  congregation  was  organized.  Then  about  1878,  a 
frame  building  was  erected.  It  was  about  that  time  the  Lutherans 
decided  to  build  a  church  for  themselves,  and  so  a  lot  was  received, 
by  donation  from  Mr.  George  Smith,  one  of  their  members,  adjoining 
the  original  tract,  and  a  frame  church  was  erected  on  it.  It  would 
appear  that  this  forward  venture  was  carried  out  largely  by  the  Ten- 
nessee Lutheran  congregation  for  it  was  about  that  time  that  the 
North  Carolina  Synod  congregation  disbanded  and  united  with  other 
congregations.  It  was  during  these  developments  that  the  Reformed 
congregation  raised  the  question  of  ownership  by  the  Lutherans  in  any 
part  of  the  old  church  property,  due  to  a  lapse  of  time  in  filling  vacancies 
in  the  list  of  Trustees  for  the  Lutheran  Synod.  The  matter  was  referred 
to  court,  which  upheld  the  contentions,  and  so  the  property  passed  out 
of  Lutheran  hands  after  about  ninety  years  of  undisputed  joint  owner- 
ship. 

In  1937  the  Lutheran  congregation  secured  a  new  location  a  few 
miles  north  from  the  old  grounds  and  erected  a  new  brick  church 
which  is  equipped  with  basement,  classrooms,  and  all  modern  furnish- 
ings throughout  the  building. 

Since  then,  about  1948,  a  tract  of  land  and  a  house  were  purchased 
for  a  parsonage  right  near  the  church.  For  a  number  of  years  Beck's 
congregation  shared  in  the  ownership  and  upkeep  of  the  parsonage  at 
Holly  Grove,  but  that  was  disposed  of  when  the  new  parsonage  was 
secured  at  Beck's  church. 

We  do  not  have  a  complete  list  of  the  ministers  who  served  this 
church,  but  we  give  herewith  all  names  that  we  learned  of,  for  both 
the  North  Carolina  Synod  group,  and  also  for  that  of  the  Tennessee  Synod. 

NORTH  CAROLINA  SYNOD 

List  of  Pastors: 

Adolph  Nussman,  1773-1787  C.  E.  Bernhardt,  1787-1788 

J.  G.  Arends,  1775-1785  Arnold  Roschen,  1788-1800 


168  History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

Paul  Henkel,  1800-1805  Jacob  Crim,  1839-1842 

Ludwig  Markert,  1805-1816  J.  B.  Anthony,  1847-1848 

J.  W.  Meyer,  1816-1817  L.  C.  Groseclose,  1849-1854 

Daniel  Walcher,  1817-1821  W.  A.  Julian,  1854-1863 

Gotlieb  Schober,  Supply  W.  H.  Cone,  1864-1865 

Jacob  Miller,  1824-1827  A.  D.  L.  Moser,  1867- 

D.  P.  Rosenmiller,  1830-1831  J.  D.  Bowles,  1870-1874 

Daniel  Jenkins,  1833-1834  C.  H.  Bernheim,  1874-1878 
Benjamin  Arey,  1837- 

TENNESSES  SYNOD 

Paul   Henkel,    George    Easterly,  and   others   rendered   occasional 

supply  services  in  this  section  during  1822-1832. 

List  of  Pastors: 

Henry  Goodman,  1832-1849  Jacob  Wike,  1891-1893 

Adam  Efird,  1849-1854  A.  R.  Beck,  1893-1895 

J.  M.  Wagoner,  1854-1860  J.  L.  Deaton,  Sup.,  1897- 

J.  E.  Seneker,  1860-1861  C.  L.  Miller,  1898-1903 

I.  Conder,  1861-1866  J.  C.  Wessinger,  1904-1905 

Thomas  Grouse,  1868-1875  A.  L.  Boliek,  1906-1909 

C.  H.  Bernheim,  1877-1882  J.  F.  Deal,  1911-1912 

W.  P.  Cline,  1883-1891  J.  M.  Senter,  1912-1918 

UNITED  SYNOD  OF  NORTH  CAROLINA 

R.  B.  Sigmon,  1919-1928  J.  L.  Morgan,  Sup.,  1948- 

R.  L.  Fisher,  1928-1942  D.  B.  Summers,  1949- 
C.  F.  Kyles,  1942-1947 


BETHANY.  DAVIDSON 

Bethany  Lutheran  Church  was  located  in  Davidson  County  near 
the  present  town  of  Midway,  between  Lexington  and  Winston-Salem. 
The  deed  for  the  church  land  was  made  by  Frederick  Miller,  a  Lutheran, 
August  1,  1789  to  the  inhabitants  of  Brushy  Fork  belonging  to  the 
Society  of  the  Church  and  the  Presbyterian  Parties  for  the  sum  of  one 
pound  and  thirteen  shillings.  The  Society  of  the  Church  refers  to 
the  Lutherans,  and  the  Presbyterian  Parties  to  the  German  Reformed. 
These  two  congregations  held  the  property  jointly.  The  church  was  at 
first  called  Frederictown  Church  out  of  respect  for  the  man  who  con- 
veyed the  land  and  took  a  leading  hand  building  the  first  church. 

The  first  building  was  of  logs,  about  30x40  feet,  with  a  gallery  on 
three  sides.  This  building  was  replaced  in  1861  by  a  frame  structure, 
and  the  name  was  changed  to  Bethany.     Regular  services  were  held  here 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  169 

by  our  Lutheran  pastors  with  encouraging  success  for  many  years.  Rev. 
Arnold  Roschen,  who  was  pastor  here  in  1789,  said  this  church  had  come 
to  be  the  largest  of  his  four  congregations  in  that  area.  The  North 
Carolina  Synod  met  here  in  1855.  But  for  some  cause  or  other  the 
congregation  began  to  decline  after  the  period  of  the  Civil  War,  until 
in  1902,  a  division  was  made  of  the  property,  and  the  Lutherans  dis- 
continued services  at  that  place,  while  the  Reformed  congregation  went 
ahead  and  built  a  new  church  for  themselves.  There  is  a  small  tract 
of  land  there  which  belongs  to  the  Lutheran  Church,  as  well  as  a 
half  interest  in  the  burying  ground.  We  do  not  have  a  complete  list 
of  the  names  of  the  pastors  who  served  this  congregation;  however, 
the  following  were  associated  with  that  work  at  one  time  or  another: 

List  of  Pastors: 
Arnold  Roschen  C.  H.  Bernheim 

Paul  Henkel  J.   D.   Bowles 

Ludwig  Markert  E.  P.  Parker 

Daniel  Jenkins  W.  A.  Lutz 

John  Swicegood  H.  A.  Trexler 

Whitson  Kimball  R.  L.  Bame 


BETHANY  LUTHERAN  CHURCH,  HICKORY 

Bethany  Church  is  located  on  the  corner  of  Main  Avenue  and 
17th  Street,  in  the  City  of  Hickory,  N.  C.  This  church  was  organized  on 
October  2,  1910,  with  thirty-six  charter  members,  by  Rev.  W.  A.  Deaton, 
D.D.,  who  was  then  Synodical  Missionary  of  the  Tennessee  Synod. 

Their  first  house  of  worship  was  a  frame  structure,  erected  in 
1912,  at  a  cost  of  $1500.00.  In  1927  additions  were  built  to  the  church, 
which  also  cost  about  the  same  amount,  Rev.  R.  M.  Carpenter,  pastor. 

In  1926,  a  house  and  lot  were  purchased  for  a  parsonage,  at  a 
cost  of  $4,000.00.  During  Rev.  S.  L.  Sox's  pastorate  here  this  house  was 
practically  made  over,  in  1937,  at  an  added  cost  of  $5,000.00  Their  Rec- 
reational Hall  was  built  in  1938,  at  a  cost  of  around  $2,000.00. 

After  Rev.  G.  Dwight  Conrad  became  pastor  here,  a  new  Sunday 
School  assembly  hall  and  basement  were  constructed  in  the  year  1941. 
Then,  in  1948,  with  Pastor  Conrad's  continued  wise  leadership,  a  new 
Educational  Building,  with  modern  equipment,  was  constructed  at  a 
cost  of  $65,000.00.  At  about  the  same  time,  additions  were  made  to 
the  church  itself  at  a  cost  of  $35,000.00.  This  congregation  has  enjoyed 
a  healthy  development,   and  is  making  commendable  progress. 

List  of  Pastors: 
W.  A.  Deaton,  1910-1925  S.  L.  Sox,  1932-1940 

R.  M.  Carpenter,  1925-1932  G.  D.  Conrad,  1940- 


170  History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 


BETHANY,   KANNAPOLIS 

Bethany  Lutheran  Church  is  located  in  Rowan  County  on  North 
Juniper  at  Eighth  Street,  Kannapolis,  N.  C. 

A  survey  was  made  in  April  1928  by  Dr.  E.  C.  Cooper,  Field  Mis- 
sionary of  the  North  Carolina  Synod,  in  which  89  families  were  found 
with  Lutheran  connections.  A  report  of  the  survey  was  given  at  a 
meeting  of  the  Mission  Committee  of  Synod,  and  they  voted  to  begin 
work  here  and  authorized  Dr.  J.  L.  Morgan,  President  of  Synod,  to 
secure  a  seminary  student  as  pastor  for  the  summer.  Student  C.  F 
Kyles  was  secured,  and  his  salary  was  paid  by  the  Rowan  County 
Lutheran  Ministers  Association. 

The  church  was  organized  on  June  24,  1928  by  Student  Kyles  and 
Dr.  Cooper.  This  congregation  was  received  into  Synod  in  February 
1929  and  was  called  the  Evangelical  Lutheran  Church  of  North  Kan- 
napolis. Dr.  Cooper  conducted  services  during  the  fall  and  winter  months 
on  the  first  and  third  Sundays  while  seminary  students  filled  the  other 
Sundays.  Rev.  J.  F.  Davis  was  extended  a  call  and  began  his  pastoral 
duties  on  April  1,  1929. 

The  Cannon  Mills  Company  deeded  a  lot  75x150  feet,  at  the 
corner  of  North  Juniper  and  Eighth  Streets,  to  the  congregation  on  which 
to  build  a  church.  Services  were  held  temporarily  in  the  Woodrow 
Wilson  School  Building. 

Groundbreaking  services  for  the  church  were  held  on  September 
14,  1930  with  Pastor  J.  F,  Davis  and  Dr.  E.  C.  Cooper  in  charge.  Pastor 
Davis'  resignation  became  effective  that  same  day,  and  Dr.  Cooper 
took  over  the  work  as  supply  pastor  and  directed  the  building  program 
of  the  church.  The  building  is  a  brick  structure  with  full  basement 
and  cost  approximately  $15,000.00. 

The  first  service  in  the  new  church  was  conducted  on  May  3,  1931 
by  Rev.  M.  L.  Kester.  This  was  his  first  service  as  pastor  of  the  con- 
gregation. On  August  16,  1931,  the  congregation  voted  to  change  the 
name  of  the  church  to  Bethany  Evangelical  Lutheran  Church. 

The  cornerstone  of  the  church  was  laid  on  Sunday,  December  6, 
1931,  with  the  service  in  charge  of  Pastor  M.  L.  Kester;  assisted  by 
Dr.  J.  L.  Morgan,  who  preached  the  sermon,  and  Dr.  E.  C.  Cooper. 

A  ten-room  brick  veneer  parsonage  was  built  in  the  spring  of  1932 
at  a  cost  of  $3,000.00.  The  lot  was  donated  by  Mr.  and  Mrs.  J.  W. 
Kimball.  Pastor  Kester  resigned  this  congregation  on  February  1,  1935 
and  was  succeeded  by  Rev.  J.  D.  Sheppard  on  June  1,  1935. 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  171 

The  church  was  dedicated,  free  of  debt,  on  Sunday,  December  15, 
1935,  by  Pastor  Sheppard  with  Dr.  J.  L.  Morgan  preaching  the  dedica- 
tion sermon.  On  November  12,  1938,  a  Moller  pipe  organ  was  purchased 
for  $2,675.00.  Pastor  Sheppard  served  this  congregation  until  1943  when 
he  resigned  and  Rev.  E.  K.  Bodie  was  called  as  its  pastor  and  served 
until  July,  1952. 

List  of  Pastors: 
Student  C.  F.  Kyles,  1928-  Rev.  J.  F.  Davis,  1929-1930 

Dr.  E.  C.  Cooper  assisted  by  Rev.  M.  L.  Kester,  1931-1935 

seminary   students,  Rev.  J.  D.  Sheppard,  1935-1943 

Supply,  1928-1929  Rev.  E.  K.  Bodie,  1943-1952 


BETH  EDEN,  NEWTON 

Beth  Eden  Church  is  located  in  the  city  of  Newton,  in  Catawba 
County,  N.  C.  The  first  reference  that  we  have  found  of  this  work  is 
in  the  Minutes  of  the  North  Carolina  Synod  for  1848,  page  22,  where  New- 
ton is  listed  as  a  part  of  Rev.  Benjamin  Arey's  parish.  Rev.  B.  N. 
Hopkins,  a  licentiate  minister  of  the  North  Carolina  Synod,  took  charge 
of  the  mission  in  1850,  and  it  appears  that  he  organized  the  congre- 
gation that  year. 

The  North  Carolina  Synod  held  its  annual  meeting  at  Newton 
in  1853,  as  the  guest  of  this  congregation. 

The  deed  for  the  church  lot  is  dated  January  30,  1856,  and  was 
made  by  A.  T.  Bost  to  Jonas  Bost  and  Jacob  Lutz,  Trustees  of  the  Luth- 
eran Church,  etc.     (Register  of  Deeds,  Book  5,  page  631). 

We  have  not  found  any  report  on  the  building  of  the  church; 
however,  it  was  a  brick  structure  and  stood  where  the  Educational 
Building  now  stands. 

Rev.  Simeon  Scherer  became  pastor  here  in  1860  and  dedicated 
the  church  on  September  30,  1861,  and  named  it  Beth  Eden  Lutheran 
Church.  Pastor  Scherer  was  the  father  of  Dr.  M.  G.  G.  Scherer,  the  first 
Secretary  of  the  United  Lutheran  Church  in  America. 

During  the  time  of  the  Civil  War,  and  for  some  years  following 
that  time,  this  work  was  carried  on  most  of  the  time  by  supply  pastors. 
Following  the  resignation  of  Pastor  J.  A.  Linn  in  1883,  the  North  Caro- 
lina Synod  Committee  on  Mission  work  advised  the  Newton  congrega- 
tion to  solicit  the  services  of  Rev.  J.  C.  Moser  of  the  Tennessee  Synod, 
which  was  done  and  Pastor  Moser  took  the  work  in  1884.  From  that 
time  on,  Beth  Eden  was  served  by  pastors  of  the  Tennessee  Synod. 
However,  the  property  remained  in  the  hands  of  the  North  Carolina 


172  History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

Synod  until  1902  when  it  was  turned  over  to  the  Tennessee  Synod  free 
of  charge.  This  building  was  used  until  the  present  new  church  was 
constructed. 

The  new  church  is  a  brick  building  of  Gothic  design,  with  base- 
ment for  Sunday  School.  The  planning  and  construction  were  carried 
out  under  the  supervision  of  Dr.  A.  R.  Beck,  pastor  at  that  time.  The 
building  cost  about  $35,000.00.  It  was  completed  May  1,  1929.  On  May 
28,  1939,  it  was  dedicated  free  of  debt. 

Meanwhile  the  old  parsonage  was  moved  and  fitted  up  for  a 
home  for  Dr.  and  Mrs.  Beck,  and  the  house  and  lot,  purchased  about 
1944,  adjoining  the  church  property,  has  become  the  parsonage. 

A  new  $100,000.00  Educational  Building  was  erected  in  1949, 
while  Rev.  H.  D.  Hawthorne  was  pastor  there.  The  work  of  this  con- 
gregation is  in  splendid  shape,  and  is  making  fine  progress. 

List  of  Pastors: 

Benjamin  Arey,  1848-1849  J.  C.  Moser,  1884-1886 

B.  N.  Hopkins,  1850-1853  B.  S.  Brown,  1887-1891 
Supply,  1854-  Supply,  1892-1894 
John  Swicegood,  1855-  R.  A.  Yoder,  1894-1896 
Paul  Kistler,  1856-1858  J.  L.  Cromer,  1896-1899 
Prof.  Lentz,  1859-  F.  K.  Roof,  1899-1905 
Simeon  Scherer,  1860-1861  R.  A.  Yoder,  1905- 

J.  L.  Smithdeal,  1862-1865  J.  D.  Mauney,  1906-1909 

Supply,  1865-1869  B.  L.  Stroup,  1909-1915 

J.  H.  Fesperman,  1870-1872  V.  L.  Fulmer,  1915-1920 

J.  G.  Neifer,  1873-1875  A.  R.  Beck,  1921-1944 

Supply,  1876-1877  H.  D.  Hawthorne,  1945-1949 

C.  H.  Bernheim,  1878-1880  R.  N.  Peery,  1950- 
J.  A.  Linn,  1881-1883 


BETHEL,  CATAWBA  COUNTY 

Bethel  Lutheran  Church  is  located  in  the  Oxford  Ford  section 
of  Catawba  County  about  five  miles  northeast  of  Claremont.  From 
its  beginning  until  1897  it  was  connected  with  the  Tennessee  Synod, 
but  in  that  year  withdrew  and  remained  independent  of  synodical 
connection  for  several  years.     It  then  united  with  the  Missouri  Synod. 

The  date  of  organization  is  not  definitely  known.  The  present 
pastor.  Rev.  W.  P.  Hunsucker  says  that  they  are  planning  to  observe 
the  75th  anniversary  in  1953,  which  would  indicate  that  the  church 
was  organized  about  1878.  However  there  are  gravestones  bearing 
much  earlier  dates,  even  as  far  back  as  1793,  thus  showing  that  there 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  173 

might   have   been   some   kind   of   church   services   held   in   the   locality 
at  that  time. 

The  present  church  is  a  modern  brick  structure.  It  was  remodeled 
and  rebuilt  some  years  ago,  and  again  in  1951  was  enlarged  and  more 
tully  equipped. 

There  is  no  complete  list  of  pastors  available,  but  it  is  known  that 
the  present  pastor,  Rev.  Hunsucker,  has  served  that  church  for  the  past 
thirty  years. 


BETHEL,  GASTON  CO. 

Bethel  Church  is  located  in  the  northern  part  of  Gaston  County, 
on  the  old  Dallas-Lincolnton  road,  somewhat  midway  between  those 
two  places. 

This  church  was  started  about  1790,  at  which  time  their  first 
log  church  was  built.  It  was  situated  on  the  west  side  of  the  road, 
north  of  the  Gap  of  Pasour  Mountain.  This  building  was  destroyed 
by  fire.  About  1835  another  log  house  was  built,  but  at  a  different 
place,  near  where  Landers  Chapel  now  is.  This  building  was  used 
jointly  by  Lutherans  and  Methodists.  It  was  referred  to  as  the  Old 
Log  Church.  It  had  a  gallery  for  the  colored  people.  Rev.  Adam 
Miller,  Jr.,  was  pastor  here  about  that  time. 

About  1860,  the  Lutherans,  under  the  pastoral  leadership  of  Rev. 
George  Hunt,  decided  to  build  a  church  for  the  Lutheran  congregation 
at  a  new  location.  A  lot  was  given  by  Mr.  William  Sloan  to  the 
Lutheran  Christian  Society,  and  Mr.  Jonas  Senter  was  employed  to 
build  a  small  church  20  x  24  at  a  total  cost  of  $65.00.  The  church  was 
named  Bethel  at  this  time.  This  seems  to  have  been  but  a  temporary 
building.  Then  about  1870  a  frame  structure  was  built  in  its  place 
on  the  same  lot,  which  is  the  lot  now  owned.  But,  unfortunately,  the 
new  building  was  destroyed  by  fire  in  1892,  just  a  year  after  Rev.  B. 
L.  Westenberger  became  pastor  there.  After  the  church  was  destroyed, 
services  were  held  in  a  house  owned  by  Mr.  M.  S.  Pasour,  until  a  new 
church  could  be  built.  In  1893  the  cornerstone  was  laid  for  a  new 
brick  church,  however,  it  was  not  completed  for  a  few  years,  but  the 
congregation  began  using  it  soon  after  it  was  under  roof. 

When  Rev.  C.  O.  Lippard  was  pastor  here,  in  1923,  this  building 
was  remodeled  and  enlarged  so  as  to  provide  Sunday  School  rooms. 
A  new  Parish  House  was  built  in  1952  under  Pastor  Miller's  leadership, 
which  was  dedicated  in  December  the  same  year. 

This  congregation  was  for  a  number  of  years  without  Synodical 
connection.    Then,  in  1888,  while  Rev.  M.  L.  Carpenter,   a  son  of  this 


174  History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

congregation,  was  pastor,  it  was  united  with  the  Joint  Synod  of  Ohio, 
and  remained  so  until  1912,  when  it  united  with  the  Tennessee  Synod. 

List  of  Pastors: 

J.  G.  Arends,  1790-1807  J.  M.  Senter,  1903-1912 

Philip  Henkel,  1808-1814  J.  C.  Dietz,  1912-1914 

Daniel  Moser,  1814-1821  O.  W.  Aderholdt,  1916-1920 

David  Henkel,  1821-1830  C.  O.  Lippard,  1920-1923 

Adam  Miller,  Jr.,  1831-  F.  M.  Speagle,  1923-1928 

George  Easterly,  1832-  J.  J.  Bickley,  1929-1932 

George  L.  Hunt,  1853-1877  H.  P.  Barringer,  1932-1940 

M.  L.  Carpenter,  1877-1891  W.  N.  Yount,  1940-1942 

B.  L.  Westenberger,  1891-1895  R.  L.  Fisher,  1942-1943 

J.  H.  Wannemacher,  1895-1899  L.  S.  Miller,  1943- 

G.  A.  Derhammer,  1900-1902 


BETHEL,  ROWAN  CO. 

Bethel  Church  is  located  in  Rowan  County,  about  four  miles 
from  Salisbury,  on  the  highway  from  Salisbury  to  Mocksville.  This 
church  was  organized  in  March  1851,  by  Rev.  Jacob  Crim,  with  twenty- 
one  members.  The  new  organization  worshipped  for  the  first  while  in 
the  Presbyterian  Church  in  the  village  and  was  referred  to  as  Franklin 
Church,  built  in  1854  it  was  named  Bethel  Lutheran  Church. 

The  first  house  of  worship  was  built  a  short  distance  east  from 
the  present  church,  where  the  cemetery  is.  It  was  a  small  frame 
building  with  wooden  shutters  covering  the  windows.  The  second 
building  is  located  midway  between  the  old  church  site  and  the  vil- 
lage, in  a  pine  grove.  This  church  is  also  a  frame  structure  40  x  60 
feet.  It  was  completed  in  1883,  and  was  dedicated,  free  of  debt,  on 
April  29  the  same  year  by  Pastor  V.  R.  Stickley  and  Dr.  J.  B.  Davis. 

In  1928  transepts  were  added  to  the  building,  giving  it  a  cruci- 
form shape. 

Back  in  1881  Bethel  and  St.  Paul's  churches  jointly  purchased 
a  house  and  lot  in  the  village  of  Franklin  for  a  parsonage.  But  this 
property  was  later  disposed  of  and  the  pastor  lived  at  St.  Paul's  church. 
Just  recently  Bethel  has  built  a  new  parsonage  near  the  church. 

This  church  has  furnished  many  fine  men  and  women  to  other 
neighboring  congregations,  and  has  sent  six  of  her  fine  young  men  into 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 


175 


the  gospel  ministry — Turner  Earnhardt,   Martin   M.   Miller,  J.   A.   Lock 
Miller,  Wesley  W.  Kennerly,  Pleasant  E.  Monroe,  and  Moses  L.  Kester. 


List  of  Pastors; 


Jacob  Crim,  1851-1858 
J.  L.  Smithdeal,  1858-1860 
Jacob  Crim,  1861-1862 
S.  Scherer,  1862-1872 
S.  Rothrock,  1872-1873 
H.  M.  Brown,  1873-1882 
V.  R.  Stickley,  1882-1884 
C.  A.  Rose,  1884-1899 


V.  Y.  Boozer,  1899-1907 
R.  R.  Sowers,  1907-1911 
M.  L.  Ridenhour,  1911-1916 
E.  A.  Repass,  1917-1918 
C.  E.  Ridenhour,  1919-1928 
W.  H.  Lefstead,  1929-1930 
G.  H.  L.  Lingle,  1931-1950 
J.  J.  Smith,  1951- 


BETHLEHEM,  HICKORY 

Bethlehem  Lutheran  Church  is  located  in  Catawba  County,  three 
miles  southeast  of  Hickory. 

This  church  was  organized  by  Rev.  W.  P.  Cline,  D.D.,  in  the 
Barger  School  House  with  thirty  members  in  the  year  1907.  The  lot 
for  the  church  was  donated  by  Mr.  Abel  Barger  and  his  son,  Gideon. 

The  first  building  was  a  frame  structure  erected  by  free  labor 
at  a  cost  of  $500.00.  In  1936  a  Sunday  School  Annex  was  added  to 
the  back  end  of  this  building,  and  the  entire  structure  was  brick  veneered 
at  a  cost  of  -^,000.00.    Rev  C.  E.  Lutz  was  pastor  at  that  time. 

The  parsonage  was  built  in  1940,  while  Rev.  G.  A.  Phillips  was 
pastor.  The  upstairs  was  finished  by  Rev.  B.  J.  Wessinger.  The  build- 
ing cost  $4,200.00.  A  recreational  building  was  put  up  in  1942  at 
a  cost  of  $2,000.00.  Then  in  1952,  during  Rev.  H.  L.  Whiteside's  pas- 
torate, a  new  Educational  Building  was  constructed  for  $38,000.00  with 
14  rooms  for  class  work. 

This  church  went  on  a  fulltime  pastoral  basis  January  1,  1949. 


W.  P.  Cline,  1907- 

F.  K.  Roof,  1907-1914 

A.  L.  Bolick,  1914-1917 

W.  D.  Haltiwanger,  1917-1925 

E.  J.  Sox,  Supply,  1925-1926 

W.  G.  Cobb,  1926-1927 


List  of  Pastors: 

G.  H.  L.  Lingle,  1927-1831 
C.  E.  Lutz,  1931-1940 
G.  A.  Phillips,  1940-1943 
B.  J.  Wessinger,  1943-1949 
H.  L.  Whitesides,  1950- 


176  History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 


BETHPAGE,  LINCOLN 

Bethpage  Church  is  located  in  Lincoln  County,  seven  miles  west 
from  Lincolnton.  The  church  was  organized  by  Rev.  A.  J.  Fox  on  Sep- 
tember 12,  1858. 

This  congregation  has  had  three  houses  of  worship.  The  first 
one  was  a  low  frame  structure  with  three  doors.  Two  benches  were 
provided  for  Negro  worshipers.  The  second  building  was  erected  in 
1891  at  the  same  place  as  that  of  the  first  one.  This  building  was  also 
a  frame  structure. 

The  third  building,  which  is  the  present  one,  is  a  brick  structure 
which  was  constructed  in  1926  while  Rev.  F.  M.  Speagle  was  pastor. 
It  is  located  across  the  road  from  the  original  location.  It  has  a  base- 
ment and  classrooms  for  Sunday  School  and  is  well  adapted  to  local 
reeds. 

The  old  furniture  was  used  for  a  while.  The  church  was  dedi- 
cated in  1938,  and  new  pews  and  chancel  furniture  were  installed 
in  1941  when  Rev.  W.  N.  Yount  was  pastor. 

This  congregation  has  had  several  different  pastoral  connections. 
At  first  it  was  with  Trinity,  then  later  with  St.  John's  at  Cherryville, 
and  for  a  number  of  years  it  constituted  a  part  of  the  Crouse  parish  which 
continued  until  1950.  Bethpage  and  Cedar  Grove  are  now  in  a  parish 
together,  with  Rev.  L.  Clement  Hahn  as  pastor.  A  new  parsonage  was 
constructed  at  Bethpage  Church  in  1951.  A  new  parish  house  is  now 
being  built. 

List  of  Pastors: 

A.  J.  Fox,  1858-1873  C.  O.  Lippard,  1920-1924 

M.  L.  Little,  1873-1883  F.  M.  Speagle,  1925-1928 

J.  A.  Rudisill,  1883-  J.  J.  Bickley,  1928-1932 

L.   L.   Lohr,   1890-  H.  P.  Barringer,  1932-1940 

J.  J.  George,  1894-  W.  N.  Yount,  1940-1942 

J.  C.  Wessinger,  1895-1903  R.  L.  Fisher,  1942-1943 

R.  H.  Cline,  1903-1904  L.  S.  Miller,  1943-1950 

E.  H.  Kohn,  1904-1909  Keith  Beam,  Sup.,  1950- 

J.  C.  Dietz,  1909-1914  L.  C.  Hahn,  1951- 
O.  W.  Aderholdt,  1916-1920 


CALVARY  LUTHERAN  CHURCH,  CONCORD 

Calvary  Lutheran  Church  in  Concord  is  located  on  Buffalo  Street 
in  the  northern  section  of  the  city. 

This  church  was  organized  with  thirty-five  members  on  April  1, 
1913,  by  Rev.  C.  P.  McLaughlin,  D.D.,  who  was  then  pastor  of  St.  James 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  177 

Church  in  that  city.  A  lot  was  secured  and  a  building  was  started  while 
Rev.  C.  H.  Day  was  pastor,  and  the  church  was  completed  under  the 
pastoral  leadership  of  Rev.  M.  L.  Kester.  It  was  opened  for  services 
on  Sunday,  November  20,  1921. 

A  house  and  lot  by  the  side  of  the  church  were  purchased  for  a 
parsonage  at  about  the  same  time  the  church  was  built.  The  entire 
plant  represented  an  outlay  of  around  $35,000.00.  For  lack  of  sufficient 
funds  for  further  outlay  at  that  time,  temporary  furnishings  were  used 
until  1938,  at  which  time  new  pews  and  chancel  furniture  were  in- 
stalled at  a  cost  of  $900.00,  much  of  which  was  raised  by  the  ladies  of 
the  congregation.  The  church  was  dedicated,  free  of  debt,  February  5, 
1939,  by  the  President  of  Synod  and  Pastor  Goodman. 

A  new  parsonage,  located  on  163  North  Church  Street,  was  pur- 
chased in  1949,  while  Rev.  Paul  B.  Cobb  was  pastor,  at  a  cost  of  $12,000.00, 
but  the  deferred  payments  for  the  same  were  paid  off  while  Rev. 
Glenn  L.  Barger  was  pastor.  A  church  hut  was  built  in  1946  at  a  cosi 
of  $4,000.00. 

Soon  after  Rev.  W.  N.  Yount  became  pastor  here,  the  congrega- 
tion decided  to  relocate  and  build  an  entirely  new  church  plant.  A 
lot,  of  250  feet  frontage,  on  Lake  Concord  Road,  was  purchased  during 
the  summer  of  1952,  and  plans  were  worked  out  for  a  new  church.  The 
lot  itself  is  valued  at  $12,000.00,  located  in  a  new  development  in  the 
northern  section  of  the  city. 

List  of  Pastors: 

C.  P.  McLaughlin,  1913-1914  G.  A.  Miller,  1934-1936 

C.  E.  Norman,  As't,  1913-1914  G.  B.  Goodman,  1936-1945 

B.  S.  Dasher,  1915-1916  Paul  B.  Cobb,  1945-1949 

C.  H.  Day,  1918-1920  G.  L.  Barger,  1949-1950 
M.  L.  Kester,  1921-1928  Supply  Services,  1951- 
F.  M.  Speagle,  1928-1932  W.  N.  Yount,  1951- 

J.  F.  Davis,  Sup.,  1932-1934 


CALVARY,  MORGANTON 

Calvary  Lutheran  Church  is  located  on  King  and  Queen  Streets 
in  Morganton,  Burke  County,  N.  C. 

A  Lutheran  Church  was  started  at  Glen  Alpine,  about  six  miles 
west  of  Morganton,  about  1884.  A  small  frame  church  was  built,  and 
services  were  conducted  by  Rev.  J.  A.  Rudisill  and  other  ministers  of 
the  Tennessee  Synod  for  a  number  of  years.  Mrs.  J.  E.  Garrison  was 
confirmed  in  that  church  in  1886,  but  later  became  a  member  of  Cal- 
vary congregation  in  Morganton.  Services  were  discontinued  at  Glen 
Alpine  sometime  prior  to   1897,   and  the   church   building  was  sold   in 


178  History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

1908,  and  the  lot  was  returned  to  the  original  owner.  But  a  few  faith- 
ful Lutherans  who  lived  in  or  near  Morganton  wanted  a  Lutheran 
Church.  Supply  pastors  from  Concordia  College  at  Conover  held  ser- 
vices at  different  times  and  places.  These  ministers  were  connected 
with  the  Missouri  Synod. 

About  the  year  1908  a  lot  was  purchased  by  the  Lutheran  group 
and  the  Missouri  Synod  brethren;  however,  no  building  was  erected 
on  it.  For  some  reason  the  supply  pastors  from  Conover  stopped  coming. 
Then  pastors  of  the  Tennessee  Synod  at  Hickory  began  holding  services 
in  Morganton.  On  March  2,  1910,  this  group,  under  the  leadership  of 
Dr.  W.  A.  Deaton,  then  Synodical  Missionary,  purchased  the  old  Metho- 
dist church  for  $600.00.  The  title  is  in  the  name  of  the  Lutheran  Church 
in  Morganton  belonging  to  the  Tennessee  Synod,  and  that  of  the  North 
Carolina  Conference  of  the  Tennessee  Synod.  This  building  was  used 
until  1936,  when  it  was  removed  to  build  the  new  church. 

On  September  1,  1932,  Rev.  D.  P.  Rudisill  became  pastor  here. 
The  congregation,  under  his  leadership,  was  re-organized  June  9,  1933 
with  36  members.  By  1937,  the  new  brick  church,  with  full  basement 
had  been  constructed,  and  on  August  8  that  year  was  opened  for  divine 
services.  Pastor  Rudisill  was  assisted  in  this  service  by  Dr.  E.  C.  Cooper 
and  Dr.  J.  L.  Morgan.  The  completion  of  this  work  was  made  possible 
by  the  fine  cooperation  of  the  pastor  and  local  mission,  and  the  different 
major  auxiliaries  of  the  Synod.  The  building,  with  furnishings,  cost 
about  $15,000.00.  The  church  was  dedicated,  free  of  all  indebtedness, 
on  August  10,  1941  by  Pastor  D.  P.  Rudisill,  Rev.  W.  A.  Deaton,  D.D.,  and 
President  Morgan. 

While  Rev.  A.  W.  Lippard  was  pastor,  an  additional  lot  adjoining 
the  church  grounds  was  purchased  for  $6,000.00  in  the  year  1946,  and 
on  April  27,  1948,  a  lot  for  a  parsonage  was  purchased  for  $1,500.00. 

Rev.  John  H.  Sigmon  became  pastor  June  1,  1949.  On  March  27, 
1950,  work  was  begun  on  a  new  parsonage  to  cost  $14,000.00.  On  June 
20,  1951,  the  pastor  and  his  family  moved  into  the  completed  building. 
Beginning  January  1,  1952,  Calvary  congregation  went  on  a  self-sustain- 
ing schedule. 

At  the  beginning  of  this  work.  Rev.  J.  A.  Rudisill  and  other  supply 
pastors  served  the  congregation  from  about  1884  until  around  1897,  at 
which  time  services  were  apparently  discontinued  for  a  time. 

List  of  Pastors: 

W.  A.  Deaton,  1910-1917  D.  P.  Rudisill,  Sup. 

G.  W.  Nelson,  1917-1918  E   C.  Cooper,  1930- 

Students,  1918-1920  S.  L.  Sox,  1931- 

F.  K.  Roof,  1920-1924  E.  C.  Cooper,  1931-1932 

E.  R.  Lineberger,  S.,  1924-  D.  P.  Rudisill,  1932-1942 

W.  A.  Craun,  1924-1927  A.  W.  Lippard,  1942-1949 

Vacant,  1927-1928  J.  H.  Sigmon,  1949- 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  179 

CALVARY,  SPENCER 

Calvary  Lutheran  Church  is  located  near  the  corner  of  Carolina 
Avenue  and  Fifth  Street  in  Spencer,  N.  C. 

Mr.  E.  L.  Ritchie,  Seminary  student,  held  services  here  during  the 
summer  of  1904.  A  Sunday  School  was  organized  August  21,  1904,  and 
carried  on  in  the  Spencer  School  House. 

The  church  was  organized  by  Rev.  Ritchie  on  September  17, 
1905,  in  a  hall  on  the  third  floor  of  the  bank  building.  A  lot  for  a 
church  was  secured  from  the  Southern  Railway  Company  July  7,  1906. 
Services  were  held  at  various  places  by  different  ministers,  and  many 
discouragements  were  experienced  by  long  delays  before  a  church  build- 
ing could  be  provided.  After  a  few  years  the  Episcopal  Church  in  Spen- 
cer offered  us  the  use  of  their  chapel,  which  made  the  services  more 
inviting. 

After  Rev.  G.  H.  Cox,  D.D.,  became  pastor,  conditions  became  more 
settled,  and  it  was  decided  to  start  building.  A  stone  church  was  plan- 
ned for,  and  the  cornerstone  was  laid  August  2,  1914  by  Rev.  M.  M. 
Kinard,  D.D.,  and  Dr.  Cox.  The  building  was  completed  in  February, 
1915  at  a  cost  of  $8,000.00.  A  donation  of  $500.00  was  received  from 
the  Southern  Railway  Company  for  the  building,  and  $1000.00  from 
Synod,  along  with  other  donations  from  various  churches  and  from  dif- 
ferent friends. 

The  first  service  in  the  new  church  was  on  June  6,  1915  with  the 
sermon  by  the  pastor.  Dr.  G.  H.  Cox,  the  text  being  Psalm  122:1. 

The  church  was  dedicated,  free  of  debt,  on  May  17,  1925  by  the 
President  of  Synod,  Pastor  F.  B.  Lingle,  and  Dr.  G.  H.  Cox.  A  house 
and  lot  were  purchased  for  a  parsonage  on  the  corner  of  Fifth  Street 
and  Carolina  Avenue  for  $4,500.00,  while  Rev.  Lingle  was  pastor. 

Rev.  Paul  C.  Sigmon's  pastorate  was  cut  short  by  illness  and  death 
October  25,  1932;  however,  he  did  a  fine  work  while  there.  A  new  stone 
annex  for  Sunday  School  purposes  was  built  under  the  leadership  of 
Rev.  B.  J.  Wessinger,  which  was  opened  for  use  on  December  31,  1933. 

The  congregation  had,  up  to  1944,  been  in  a  parish  with  Christ 
Church  in  East  Spencer,  but  on  February  6,  1944,  the  church  decided  to 
support  its  own  fulltime  pastor.  Rev.  G.  F.  Schott  was  called  as  their 
first  fulltime  man.  Under  his  leadership  their  new  brick  Educational 
Building  was  constructed,  at  a  cost  of  $47,000.00  during  the  year  1950. 
At  about  the  same  time  the  parsonage  building  on  the  church  corner 
was  dismantled,  and  a  new  house  and  lot  for  a  parsonage  were  pur-- 
chased  on  Fifth  Street,   a  short  distance  away,  for  $8,000.00. 

List  of  Pastors: 

E.  L.  Ritchie,  1905-1907  R.  R.  Fisher,  Sup.,  1931- 
R.  A.  Goodman,  S.,  1908-1909  P.  C.  Sigmon,  1931-1932 
R.  A.  Goodman,  1909-1911  B.  J.  Wessinger,  1933-1944 
G.  H.  Cox,  1912-1916                                 W.  B.  Aull,  Sup.,  1944- 

F.  B.  Lingle,  Sup.,  1917-  G.  F.  Schott,  1944-1952 

F.   B.   Lingle,   1918-1931  G.  H.  L.  Lingle,  Sup.,  1952- 

C.  M.  Starr,  1952- 


180  History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 


CEDAR   GROVE,  LINCOLN   COUNTY 

Cedar  Grove  Church  is  located  in  the  western  part  of  Lincoln 
County,  ten  miles  west  of  Lincolnton.  The  church  was  organized  Sep- 
tember 17,  1892,  by  Rev.  J.  A.  Rudisill  and  was  received  into  the  Ten- 
nessee Synod  the  same  year. 

This  church,  a  brick  structure  30  x  50  feet,  was  completed  in 
1892  and  was  dedicated  on  the  fourth  Sunday  in  June  1894  by  Pastor 
Rudisill.  In  1938,  a  Sunday  School  building  30x40  feet  was  added, 
which  has  an  assembly  hall  and  seven  classrooms.  It  is  a  brick  veneered 
structure  and  was  dedicated  June  22,  1941,  by  the  pastor.  Rev.  W.  J. 
Roof,  and  the  President  of  Synod. 

List  of  Pastors: 

J.  A.  Rudisill,  1883-1895  J.  J.  Bickley,  1920-1922 

J.  C.  Wessinger,  1895-1903  B.  J.  Wessinger,  1922-1926 

R.  H.  Cline,  1903-1905  L.  L.  Lohr,  1927-1930 

J.  F.  Deal,  1906-1907  W.  A.  Sigmon,  1931-1937 

M.  L.  Pence,  1908-1914  Wade  Yount,  Sup.,  1937- 

D.  L.  Miller,  1916-1918  W.  J.  Roof,  1938-1950 

J.  A.  Yount,  1919-  L.  C.  Hahn,  1951- 


CENTER  GROVE,  KANNAPOLIS 

Center  Grove  Church  is  located  in  Kannapolis  on  Cannon  Bou- 
levard in  Cabarrus  County.  This  church  was  first  located  about  three- 
fourths  of  a  mile  east  of  this  place,  where  the  cemetery  is.  Services 
were  first  held  under  a  brush  arbor,  about  where  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Flake 
Edminston's  home  is. 

The  church  was  organized  September  9,  1876,  with  twenty-one 
members  by  Rev.  Whitson  Kimball.  A  lot  for  a  church  was  purchased 
from  Mr.  and  Mrs.  P.  W.  Furr  on  April  6,  1878,  where  the  old  church 
stood.  Soon  a  Building  Committee  was  appointed;  namely:  Fred  Cline, 
D.  H.  Winecoff,  J.  I.  Patterson,  W.  H.  Barnhardt,  Peter  Glass,  and  Joseph 
Chambers.  The  building  was  started  right  away.  It  was  a  frame 
structure  30  x  50  feet,  but  was  later  enlarged  by  adding  transepts  and 
Sunday  School  rooms,  while  Rev.  C.  A.  Brown  was  pastor.  The  church 
was  dedicated  the  first  Sunday  in  April  1880,  by  Rev.  W.  H.  Cone  and 
Rev.  V.  R.  Stickley. 

In  1945,  a  lot  for  a  new  church  was  purchased  on  Cannon  Boule- 
vard, and  on  July  25,  1948,  ground  was  broken  for  the  new  church.  The 
service  was  by  the  pastor.  Rev.  D.  F.  Swicegood,  and  President  V.  R. 
Cromer. 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  181 

The  church  was  completed  in  1950  and  was  formally  opened  Oc- 
tober 6,  1950,  and  the  cornerstone  was  laid  that  same  afternoon  by 
Pastor  Swicegood,  President  F.  L.  Conrad,  and  Dr.  J.  L.  Morgan. 

This  is  a  beautiful  brick  church,  with  ample  provision  for  the 
educational  work  of  the  congregation.  It  represents  a  cost  of  around 
$135,000.00.     The  first  and  only  air-conditioned  church  in  the  Synod. 

For  most  of  the  time  this  congregation  was  in  a  parish  with 
Lutheran  Chapel  Church,  but  by  1945  the  congregation  had  grown  to 
v/here  a  fulltime  pastor  was  called. 

A  new  brick  parsonage,  near  the  new  church  was  purchased 
in  1945. 

List  of  Pastors: 
Whitson  Kimball,  1876-1878  C.  A.  Brown,  1900-1901 

W.  H.  Cone,  1878-1880  J.  Q.  Wertz,  1902-1907 

B.  S.  Brown,   Sr.,  1881-1886  C.  A.  Brown,  1908-1924 
W.  Kimball,  Supply,  1887  E.  F.  K.  Roof,  1925-1928 

J.  L.  Buck,  1888-1889  C.  E.  Ridenhour,  1928-1945 

C.  A.  Marks,  1889-1896  D.  F.  Swicegood,  1945-1951 
J.  Q.  Wertz,  1896-1898  E.  L.  Misenheimer,  1951- 
W.  B.  Oney,  1898-1900 


CHRIST  CHURCH,  EAST  SPENCER 

Christ  Church  is  located  on  the  corner  of  North  Long  and  West 
Earnhardt  Streets,  in  East  Spencer;  however,  the  original  location  was 
on  the  Salisbury-Lexington  Highway,  about  a  mile  north  of  Spencer. 

The  congregation  was  organized  November  13,  1870,  by  Rev.  Simeon 
Scherer,  while  he  was  pastor  at  Union  Church.  Services  were  held  in 
the  old  Smith  Schoolhouse  on  Long  Street,  near  where  the  old  church 
v/as  located. 

A  congregational  meeting  was  held  at  Michael  Kluttz's  home 
January  15,  1872,  to  plan  for  a  church  building.  Soon  a  lot  was  pur- 
chased and  a  small  frame  building,  approximately  25x40  feet,  was 
constructed.  After  the  frame  was  set  up,  the  building  stood  for  a  few 
years  before  it  was  finished.  It  was  dedicated  in  1882,  while  Rev.  V. 
R.  Stickley  was  pastor. 

In  1898  a  new  location  was  secured  as  a  gift  from  Mr.  Newton 
Earnhardt,  one  of  the  members,  and  a  new  frame  church  30  x  60  feet 
was  constructed,  facing  Earnhardt  Street.  It  appears  that  Rev.  P.  L. 
Miller  was  pastor  at  that  time.  A  frame  parsonage  was  built  a  few 
years  later. 


182 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 


For  some  years  this  church  was  in  a  parish  with  Haven  Church  in 
Salisbury,  but  in  1918  Christ  Church  was  associated  with  Calvary 
Church  in  Spencer.  Rev.  F.  B.  Lingle  became  pastor  about  that  time. 
A  year  or  so  later  the  church  was  damaged  by  fire,  so  plans  were 
made  for  a  new  church.  The  building  was  erected  and  was  opened 
for  services  on  May  25,  1924.  This  is  a  brick  building  with  full  base- 
ment. 

This  congregation  called  a  pastor  for  fulltime  service,  beginning  in 
1944,  and  in  1948  a  seven-room  brick  parsonage  was  constructed  on 
Long  Street  near  the  church. 


List  of  Pastors: 


S.  Scherer,  1870-1875 
H.  M.  Brown,  1875-1880 
W.  J.  Smith,  1881-1882 
V.  R.  Stickley,  1882-1884 
C.  A.  Rose,  1884-1897 
W.  Kimball,  1897-1898 
P.  L.  Miller,  1898-1899 
W.  A.  Julian,  1899-1900 
H.  W.  Jeff  coat,  1900-1901 
J.  P.  Miller,  Sup.  1902- 
Jacob  L.  Morgan,  1902-1903 
Stu.  E.  P.  Conrad,  1903- 
C.  L.  Miller,  1903-1904 
Stu.  E.  L.  Ritchie,  1904- 
E.  C.  Witt,  1905- 


E.  L.  Ritchie,  1905-1907 
Stu.  R.  A.  Goodman,  1908- 

C.  L  Morgan,  Sup.,  1908-1909 
R.  A.  Goodman,  1909-1911 
G.  H.  Cox,  1912-1916 
Stu.  F.  B.  Lingle,  1917- 

F.  B.  Lingle,  1918-1931 
Stu.  R.  R.  Fisher,  1931- 
P.  C.  Sigmon,  1931-1932 

B.  J.  Wessinger,   1933-1944 
W.  B.  Aull,  Supply,  1944 

G.  S.  Bowden,  Jr.,  1944-1947 

E.  R.  Lineberger,  Sr.,  1948-1951 
G.  G.  Robertson,  1952- 


CHRIST  CHURCH,  STANLEY 

Christ  Church  is  located  in  the  town  of  Stanley,  in  Gaston  County. 
It  is  not  definitely  known  when  this  church  was  organized;  however, 
the  cornerstone  bears  the  date  1841.  The  congregation  celebrated  its 
hundredth  anniversary  on  October  5,  1941,  while  Rev.  J.  J.  Bickley  was 
pastor  here. 

The  first  building  was  a  frame  structure,  oblong  in  shape,  with 
two  doors  in  the  front  end.  It  stood  just  back  from  where  the  present 
building  now  is.  We  have  no  record  of  when  this  building  was  con- 
structed, but  the  records  show  that  it  was  used  a  while  before  it  was 
completed.  A  congregational  meeting  was  held  May  22,  1858,  to  author- 
ize its  completion.  Then,  several  years  later,  we  are  told  that  important 
repairs  and  improvements  were  made  on  the  building  after  which  it 
was  "Rededicated"  on  Saturday,  June  5,  1875.     This  would  indicate  that 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  183 

there  had  been  a  previous  dedication  when  the  church  was  first  com- 
pleted. The  dedication  service  was  conducted  by  their  Pastor,  Rev.  J. 
R.  Peterson,  assisted  by  Rev.  M.  L.  Little.  It  merits  our  notice  here 
that  "Father  Peterson",  as  he  was  affectionately  called,  served  this 
church  for  a  period  of  forty  years. 

In  1899,  under  the  pastoral  leadership  of  Rev.  W.  A.  Deaton,  plans 
were  worked  out  for  a  new  brick  church.  The  cornerstone  for  it  was 
laid  on  October  14,  1899,  and  the  building  carried  right  on  to  comple- 
tion. However,  it  was  not  fully  paid  for  until  some  ten  years  later,  while 
Rev.  R.  H.  Cline  was  pastor.  After  paying  off  the  church  debt,  Pastor 
Cline  led  the  congregation  in  building  a  parsonage  on  a  lot  next  to 
the  church.  Then,  in  1948,  a  new  brick  parsonage  was  built  on  a  new 
location  farther  from  the  church,  at  a  cost  of  $15,000.00,  and  the  old  one 
was  converted  into  an  educational  unit  of  the  church. 

We  have  not  been  able  to  learn  definitely  the  earlier  list  of  men 
who  preached  at  this  church.  It  is  thought  that  David  Henkel,  as  well 
as  others,  preached  here  before  a  regularly  established  church  was 
formed. 

List  of  Pastors: 
P.  C.  Henkel,  1846  A.  L.  Bolick,  1917-1919 

A.   J.   Fox,  1854-  C.  N.  Yount,  1919-1925 

J.  R.  Peterson,  1857-1897  D.  P.  Rudisill,  1925-1931 

M.  J.  Matthias,  Sup.,  1897-  J.  J.  Bickley,  1932-1944 

W.  A.   Deaton,   1898-1906  C.   E.   Bernhardt,   1945-1951 

J.  F.  Deal,  1906-1909  R.  B.  Cuthbertson,  1951- 

R.  H.  Cline,  1910-1915 


CHRISTIANA,  GRANITE  QUARRY 

Christiana  Church  is  located  in  Rowan  County,  one  mile  south  of 
Granite  Quarry  on  the  Albemarle  Highway. 

This  church  was  organized  on  January  23,  1871  with  seven 
charter  members  by  Rev.  Simeon  Scherer,  then  pastor  of  Union  Church. 
The  organizational  service  was  held  in  the  home  of  Nathan  Brown, 
who  lived  near  where  the  church  now  stands.  The  five  and  one-half 
acre  lot  owned  by  this  church  was  purchased  from  Nathan  Brown  and 
his  wife,  and  his  mother,  Mrs.  Amy  Brown,  for  $25.00. 

The  first  building  was  a  frame  structure  35  x  50  feet  for  which  the 
cornerstone  was  laid  July  25,  1871,  by  Revs.  W.  Kimball,  S.  Rothrock, 
S.  Scherer,  and  R.  L.  Brown  then  pastor  of  the  congregation.  The  build- 
ing was  completed  in  1874. 

The  second  church  was  also  a  frame  building  50x65  feet  con- 
structed in  1898  while  Rev.  C.  A.  Brown  was  pastor.    The  cornerstone 


184  History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

was  laid  September  17,  1898,  by  Rev.  C.  A.  Rose,  Rev.  R.  L.  Brown,  and 
the  pastor.  Rev.  C.  A.  Brown.  It  was  dedicated  January  1,  1899  by  Pastor 
C.  A.  Brown  and  Rev.  L.  E.  Busby,  D.D. 

Transepts,  with  ten  classrooms,  were  added  to  this  building  while 
Rev.  H.  A.  Trexler  was  pastor,  in  1925.  Their  brick  parsonage  was 
built  about  1931. 

The  church  was  completely  destroyed  by  fire  March  11,  1945. 
The  congregation  then  held  services  in  the  Granite  Quarry  School  Build- 
ing until  they  could  build  again.  Plans  were  made  for  a  beautiful  brick 
church  with  an  Educational  Building  and  a  full  basement  and  class- 
rooms. The  cornerstone  was  laid  November  7,  1948,  by  their  pastor. 
Rev.  P.  G.  Kinney;  Rev.  V.  R.  Cromer,  D.D.,  President  of  Synod;  and 
Rev.  G.  W.  McClanahan,  D.D. 

This  church  with  its  furnishings  cost  approximately  $120,000.00  and 
was  dedicated  free  of  debt,  April  17,  1949  by  Pastor  P.  G.  Kinney,  Dr. 
G.  W.  McClanahan,  Dr.  J.  L.  Morgan,  and  Dr.  P.  D.  Brown.  Special  ser- 
vices for  the  blessing  of  furniture  of  the  church  were  held  under  the 
direction  of  Rev.  W.  Gilmer  Boggs,  the  present  pastor,  on  September 
9,  1950. 

During  the  first  forty-five  years  of  the  congregation,  Christiana 
and  Union  Church  were  in  a  parish  together.  Then  for  a  few  years 
other  connections  were  made.  But  about  the  time  when  the  two 
Synods  reunited  Christiana  went  on  a  self-sustaining  basis  for  a  full- 
time  pastor.     A  recreational  building  is  now  under  construction. 

List  of  Pastors: 

Simeon,  Scherer,  1871-  B.  E.  Petrea,  Sup.,  1911- 

R.  L.  Brown,  1871-1884  R.  R.  Sowers,  1911-1913 

J.  M.  Hedrick,  1884-1885  N.  D.  Bodie,  1914-1918 

Harry  Yarger,  Sup.,  1885-  C.  B.  Miller,  1919-1921 

J.  W.  Strickler,  1886-1889  H.  W.  Jeffcoat,  1922-1923 

J.  Q.  Wertz,  1889-1894  E.  R.  Lineberger,  Sr.,  1923- 

C.  A.  Brown,  1894-1900  H.  A.  Trexler,  1924-1930 

J.  L.  Morgan,  Sup.,  1900-  G.  W.  McClanahan,  1931-1938 

J.  P.  Miller,  1900-1903  J.  W.  Iddings,  1938-1943 

N.  D.  Bodie,  1903-1907  P.  G.  Kinney,  1943-1949 

L.  B.  Spracher,  1908-1909  W.  G.  Boggs,  1950- 
J.  A.  Linn,  1909-1911 


COBLE'S.  GUILFORD   COUNTY 

Coble's  Church  is  located  in  Guilford  County  about  twelve  miles 
southeast  from  Greensboro.  It  was  organized  by  Rev.  Jacob  Scherer 
in  1812,  who  was  pastor  of  Lows  Church  and  travelling  missionary  of 
the  North  Carolina  Synod  at  that  time.     The  original  name  of  the  con- 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  185 

gregation  was  Zion,  and  the  deed  recorded  in  the  courthouse  has  it 
"Mt.  Zion,"  but  it  later  came  to  be  called  Coble's,  because  so  many 
ol  the  members  have  that  name. 

The  first  church  was  a  log  building  with  galleries  on  three  sides, 
and  the  pulpit  on  the  other  side.  It  was  used  jointly  by  Lutheran 
and  Reformed  alike  until  about  1847,  when  the  Reformed  people  built 
Mt.  Hope  Church  for  their  congregation  alone. 

Following  the  organization  of  the  Tennessee  Synod  in  1820,  a 
number  of  the  members  formed  a  congregation  in  connection  with 
that  body;  however,  they  continued  to  worship  in  the  same  building 
until  1921,  when  the  two  Lutheran  bodies  united. 

The  second  building  was  a  frame  structure,  which  was  erected 
in  1876,  and  was  dedicated  at  a  meeting  of  the  Tennessee  Synod  in 
1877.  This  building  was  later  moved  to  one  side  of  the  lot  and  fitted 
up  for  a  children's  department  of  the  Sunday  School. 

The  third  and  present  building  is  a  brick  structure  and  was 
erected  in  1927,  under  the  pastoral  leadership  of  Rev.  D.  I.  Offman,  at 
a  cost  of  about  $8,000.00.  An  Educational  Building,  costing  around 
$10,000.00,  was  added  to  the  church  plant  in  1946,  under  the  guidance 
of  Pastor  Q.  O.  Lyerly.  Their  modern  seven-room  brick  parsonage  was 
constructed  in  1940,  on  a  lot  given  by  Mr.  and  Mrs.  C.  A.  Coble,  just 
across  the  road  from  the  church. 

Cobles,  or  Zion  as  it  was  first  called,  which  belonged  to  the 
North  Carolina  Synod,  was  in  a  parish  with  Low's,  St.  Paul's,  and  Richland, 
congregations  until  the  merging  of  the  two  Synods  in  1921;  and  the 
Cobles  which  belonged  to  the  Tennessee  Synod  was  in  a  parish  with 
Melanchthon  and  Mt.  Pleasant. 

Then,  following  the  merging  of  the  two  Synods,  Cobles  and 
Zion  congregations  merged  into  one  church,  and  took  the  name  Cobles. 
This  church  was  then  placed  in  a  parish  with  Low's,  St.  Paul's,  and 
Mt.  Pleasant,  with  Rev.  D.  I.  Offman  as  pastor,  up  till  1940.  Richland 
congregation  was  placed  in  a  parish  with  Grace  at  Liberty,  and  Melanch- 
ton.  From  1940  to  1952  Cobles  and  Low's  churches  constituted  a  parish, 
with  Rev.  Q.  O.  Lyerly  as  pastor. 

Pastor  Lyerly  resigned,  effective  September  1,  1952,  to  accept  a 
call  to  Pilgrim  Church  near  Lexington,  N.  C,  at  which  time  Cobles  con- 
gregation decided  to  call  a  full-time  pastor.  Rev.  J.  E.  Smith  accepted 
a  call  to  Cobles  effective  December  15,  1952. 

List  of  Pastors: 
North  Carolina  Synod 
Jacob  Scherer,  1812-1829  W.  A.  Julian,  1865-1870 

William  Artz,  1829-1854  E.  P.  Parker,  1871-1882 

Simeon  Scherer,  1855-1858  A.  D.  L.  Moser,  1883-1886 

Bryant  C.  Hall,  1859-1864  W.  B.  Cronk,  1887-1891 


186  History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

H.  M.  Brown,  1891-1902  V.  R.  Stickley,  1909-1913 

R.  R.  Sowers,  1903-1904  H.  W.  Jeffcoat,  1914-1921 

C.  M.  Fox,  1906-1907 

List  of  Pastors: 

Tennessee  Synod 

Philip  Henkel,  1825-  M.  J.  Stirewalt,  1859-1862 

Daniel  Moser,  1831-  Thomas  Grouse,  1863-1866 

C.  G.  Reitzel,  1835-1837  M.  L.  Fox,  1867-1889 

J.  R.  Moser,  1838-  D.  I.  Offman,  1890-1902 

Henry  Goodman,  1844-  D.  J.  Settlemyre,  1903-1912 

Thomas  Grouse,  1848-1857  D.  I.  Offman,  1913-1921 

Pastors  since  the  merger  of  Synods  in  1921: 

D.  I.  Offman 1921-1940        Q.  O.  Lyerly 1940-1952 

J.  E.  Smith 1952- 


COLD  WATER,  CONCORD 

Gold  Water  Church  is  located  in  Gabarrus  County,  about  two  miles 
east  from  Concord,  near  Cold  Water  Creek.  This  church  dates  back 
to  1768,  when  Governor  Tryon  attended  services  there  on  August  21  and 
heard  Rev.  Samuel  Suther  preach.  He  was  a  German  Reformed  min- 
ister. It  is  not  stated  that  this  was  a  union  church  at  that  time; 
however,  it  most  probably  was.  From  the  North  Carolina  Historical 
Review  for  January  1930,  page  144,  in  referring  to  Rev.  Nussman  we 
quote  the  following:  "During  the  period  of  his  misunderstanding,  Mr. 
Nussman  also  served,  at  first,  a  congregation  with  an  admixture  of 
members  of  the  German  Reformed  Church,  whose  church  was  located 
six  miles  southwest  of  that  on  Buffalo  Creek."  The  time  referred  to 
m  this  statement  was  about  the  year  1775. 

According  to  Cox  and  Bernheim's  History  of  the  N.  C.  Synod,  page 
104,  land  for  a  church  site  was  deeded  to  the  congregation  in  the  year 
1792,  by  Adam  Bowers  with  Martin  Phifer  trustee.  The  house  was  of 
hewn  logs. 

Bernheim,  in  his  Lutherans  in  the  Garolinas,  page  346,  says:  "In 
1797  the  Rev.  Adam  Nicholas  Marcard,  who  had  been  laboring  in  the 
vicinity  of  Cold  Water  Creek,  a  newly  organized  church,  became  the 
pastor  of  Saint  John's  Church  and  labored  there  nearly  three  years,  and 
then  removed  to  South  Carolina."  All  this  would  seem  to  show  that 
Cold  Water  Church  was  a  regularly  organized  congregation  used  by 
Lutheran  and  Reformed  organizations  for  many  long  years. 

This  church  was  admitted  to  the  North  Carolina  Synod  in  1814. 
In  1843  a  large  number  of  the  members  withdrew  from  the  congre- 
gation and  organized  St.  James  Church  in  Concord,  which  left  the  con- 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 


187 


gregation  too  weak  to  keep  a  regular  pastor  for  a  number  of  years. 
Then  in  1871  the  work  was  reorganized  as  an  entirely  Lutheran  Church, 
while  the  Reformed  built  a  church  for  themselves  a  few  miles  away 
and  called  it  Mt.  Gilead. 

In  1888  a  new  house  of  worship  was  built  by  the  Lutherans  on 
the  old  grounds.     It  was  remodeled  in  1951. 

We  do  not  find  a  complete  list  of  pastors  for  this  church. 


List  of  Pastors; 


Adolph  Nussman,  about  1775 

Adam  N.  Marcard,  1797 

C.  A.  G.  Storch,  1810 

W.  G.  Harter,  1841 

P.  A.  Strobel 

L.  A.  Bikle,  1877 

S.  T.  Hallman,  1882 

J.  S.  Heilig,  1884 

Whitson  Kimball,  1885 

R.  W.  Petrea,  1887 

A.   D.    L.   Moser,   1888 

J.  M.  Hedrick,  1889-1893 

J.  D.  Shealy,  1894 

H.  A.  McCullough,  1895-1898 


M.  G.  G.  Scherer,  1898-1899 

Vacant,   1900-1912 

C.  R.  Pless,  1913-1915 

G.  H.  Cox,  1916-1918 

C.  H.  Day,  1919- 

J.  B.   Moose,  1920-1922 

L.  D.  Miller,  1924 

J.  H.  C.  Fisher,  1925-1929 

L.  D.  Miller,  1930-1933 

J.  A.  L.  Miller,  1934-1940 

G.  B.  Goodman,  1941-1945 

P.  B.  Cobb,  1946-1949 

Glenn  Barger,  1950-1951 

L.  A.  Sloop,  1951- 


CONCORDIA,  CHINA  GROVE 

Concordia  Church  is  located  in  Rowan  County,  on  the  Landis- 
Mooresville  highway,  about  five  miles  west  from  Landis. 

It  was  organized  in  1882,  with  eighty-two  charter  members,  by 
Rev.  W.  A.  Lutz  while  he  was  pastor  at  Enochville.  Preaching  services 
were,  at  the  beginning  of  the  work,  sometimes  held  in  a  grove  where  the 
parsonage  now  stands. 

The  first  church  was  a  frame  building  50x70  feet,  with  a  balcony 
over  the  front  entrance.  The  church  was  completed  and  was  dedicated, 
free  of  debt,  April  23,  1883  by  Pastor  Lutz,  assisted  by  Dr.  G.  D.  Bern- 
heim  and  Dr.  S.  T.  Hallman. 

In  1924,  Sunday  School  rooms  were  added,  and  the  interior  of 
the  church  redecorated.  On  Sunday,  March  1,  1942,  the  entire  building 
was  destroyed  by  fire.  After  that  occurred  services  were  held  in  the 
Enochville  school  auditorium  until  the  basement  of  the  new  church 
could  be  used. 

Inspired  by  their  Pastor,  Dr.  C.  P.  Fisher,  the  congregation,  at 
once,  proceeded  to  build  a  new  church.     This  is  a  brick  structure,  with 


188  History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

full  basement,  balcony  over  the  front  entrance,  and  ample  provision  for 
Sunday  School  and  other  activities.  The  building  cost  about  $40,000.00. 
It  was  dedicated,  free  of  debt,  May  9,  1943. 

In  1945,  Concordia  congregation,  which  formerly  carried  on  its 
v/ork  in  a  parish  with  some  other  congregations,  called  Rev.  H.  G.  Fisher 
as  fulltime  pastor  and   built  a  new  brick  parsonage. 

A  new  Electronic  Organ  with  chimes  was  installed,  after  Rev.  C. 
E.  Lutz  became  pastor,  and  was  dedicated  April  23,  1950. 

List  of  Pastors: 

W.  A.  Lutz,  1882-1883  S.  W.  Kuhn,  Sup.,  1909 

Holmes  Dysinger,  Sup.,  1883  M.  L.  Ridenhour,  1909-1911 

W.  Kimball,  1884-1885  C.  A.  Brown,  1912 

C.  B.  Miller,  Sup.,  1886  B.  S.  Brown,  Sr.,  1912-1915 

C.  A.  Brown,  Sup.,  1887  P.  E.  Shealy,  1916-1917 

D.  A.  Sox,  1887-1888  C.  I.  Morgan,  1917-1921 
W.  Kimball,  1889-1891  P.  D.  Risinger,  1922-1924 
C.  A.  Brown,  1892-1893  C.  O.  Lippard,  1924-1930 
H.  W.  Jeffcoat,  1894-1900  C.  M.  Fox,  Sup.,  1930 

C.  A.  Phillips,  Sup.,  1900  P.  G.  Kinney,  Sup.,  1930 

B.  S.  Brown,  Sr.,  1900-1904  C.  P.  Fisher,  Sr.,  1930-1944 
T.  C.  Parker,  1905-1908  H.  G.  Fisher,  1945-1948 
M.  L.  Ridenhour,  Sup.,  1908  W.  B.  Aull,  Sup.,  1948 

C.  B.  Miller,  Sup.,   1908-1909  C.  E.  Lutz,  1948- 


CONCORDIA  LUTHERAN  CHURCH,  CONOVER 

Concordia  Lutheran  Church  is  located  in  Conover,  N.  C,  in  Ca- 
tawba County.  The  beginning  of  this  congregation  runs  somewhat 
concurrently  with  that  of  Concordia  College  which  was  located  in  the 
same  place. 

Their  present  pastor,  Rev.  R.  F.  Lineberger,  says  that:  according 
to  the  best  information  he  can  get,  Concordia  Congregation  began  about 
1878,  when  a  group  of  members  of  St.  John's  Church  began  holding 
services  in  Conover.  It  is  believed  that  the  first  services  were  held  in 
a  small  school  building.  Later  the  group  met  in  Concordia  College 
auditorium,  until  about  1897,  when  the  present  brick  church  was  built. 
A.  few  years  ago  a  large  Parish  Building  was  constructed. 

This  congregation  was  a  member  of  the  Tennessee  Synod  from 
its  beginning,  until  1897,  when  it  withdrew  from  that  body  and  united 
with  the  Missouri  Synod.  It  appears  that  members  of  Concordia  College 
faculty  conducted  services  for  the  congregation  for  a  number  of  years, 
before  they  had  a  regular  pastor.  Anyway,  we  do  not  have  a  list  of  Ten- 
nessee Synod  pastors  who  served  it. 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 


189 


DANIEL'S,  LINCOLNTON 

Daniel's  Lutheran  Church  is  located  in  Lincoln  County,  about  five 
miles  northwest  of  Lincolnton.  The  fifty-acre  tract  of  land  owned 
jointly  by  the  Lutheran  and  Reformed  congregations,  which  included 
a  school  house,  was  a  grant  from  King  George  III  to  Matthew  Floyd 
dated  October  22,  1767.  This  in  turn  was  conveyed  on  July  15,  1768 
to  Nicholas  Warlick,  Frederick  Wise,  Urban  Ashebanner,  Peter  Statler, 
Peter  Summey,  and  Peter  Hafner  for  ten  pounds  sterling.  Then  on 
January  9,  1774,  those  six  men  conveyed  it  to  the  two  united  congre- 
gations of  Lutherans  and  Dutch  Presbyterians.  This  all  shows  that  there 
was  an  organized  congregation  there  as  far  back  as  1774,  if  not  earlier, 
since  there  was  a  schoolhouse  on  the  land  in  1768,  which  most  likely 


Daniel's  Lutheran  Church 
Lincoln  County,  North  Carolina 


was  used  for  church  purposes  as  well  as  for  schools.  It  was  because 
of  this  school  association  that  the  church  was  for  a  long  time  called  the 
School  House  Church,  which  name  was  continued  in  use  until  1830, 
when  it  was  changed  to  Daniel's. 

The  two  congregations — Lutheran  and  Reformed — worshipped  in 
a  log  house  until  1845,  when  a  frame  building  was  erected.  This  frame 
building  was  used  until  1888,  when,  under  the  leadership  of  Rev.  J.  A. 
Eudisill,  the  work  was  divided,  and  the  Lutherans  built  a  new  brick 
church  separate  from  the  Reformed  group,  while  the  Reformed  brethren 
remained  using  the  old  building  until  some  years  later  when  they  too 
built  a  new  church.  The  new  church  for  the  Lutherans  was  dedicated 
July  28,  1889,  under  the  direction  of  Pastor  Rudisill. 

In  1928,  while  Rev.  W.  H.  Roof  was  pastor,  a  fourteen-room  Edu- 
cational Building  was  put  up  as  an  annex  to  the  church,  which  was 
dedicated  July  31,  1938. 


190 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 


While  Rev.  D.  S.  Brown,  Jr.,  D.D.,  was  pastor  there,  a  Recreational 
Building  was  constructed  on  the  church  grounds.  Daniel's  congregation 
is  now  constructing  a  new  parsonage  on  land  donated  for  that  purpose. 

The  first  pastor  to  serve  this  church  was  Rev.  J.  G.  Arends,  who 
came  to  this  country  from  Germany  in  1773  and  lived  in  Rowan  County 
until  1785,  at  which  time  he  moved  to  Lincoln  County  and  took  charge 
of  all  the  Lutheran  churches  west  of  the  Catawba  River.  He  had,  how- 
ever, made  repeated  pastoral  visits  to  these  churches  while  yet  serving 
Organ  Church  in  Rowan  County.  He  continued  as  pastor  here  until  his 
death  in  1807.  Rev.  Philip  Henkel  was  called  to  this  work  in  1808  and 
continued  until  1814,  when  he  resigned  to  accept  a  call  to  a  parish  in 
Tennessee.  The  pastors  who  followed  here  are  listed  herewith.  How- 
ever, we  are  not  sure  of  the  dates  for  some  of  the  older  ones. 


List  of  Pastors: 


J.  G.  Arends,  1785-1807 
Philip  Henkel,  Ast.,  1805-1807 
Philip  Henkel,  1808-1814 
David  Henkel,  1814-1825 
Daniel  Moser,  1825-1834 
Adam  Miller,  Jr.,  1835-1846 
P.  C.  Henkel,  1847-1855 
A.  J.  Fox,  1855-1875 
J.  R.  Peterson,  1876-1882 
M.  L.  Little,  1882-1883 
J.  A.  Rudisill,  1884-1894 
J.  C.  Wessinger,  1894-1895 


E.  J.  Sox,  1895-1896 
M.  L.  Pence,  1896-1899 
J.  P.  Price,  1901-1906 
L.  L.  Lohr,  1907-1918 
L.  L.  Lohr,  1919-1922 
R.  M.  Carpenter,  1923-1925 
W.  H.  Roof,  1926-1939 
B.  S.  Brown,  Jr.,  1939-1946 
John  Hall,  Sup.,  1946 
H.  H.  Ritchie,  1946-1951 
O.  K.  Knight,  1952- 


DUTCHMAN'S  CREEK  (REFORMATION).  DAVIE  CO. 

Dutchman's  Creek  Church  was  first  located  in  Davie  (formerly 
Rowan)  County,  about  five  miles  east  from  Mocksville.  About  1760 
a  number  of  German  families  settled  in  that  vicinity,  some  of  them 
from  Heidelberg,  Germany,  and  so  the  church  was  often  called  the 
Heidelberg  Church. 

It  is  not  known  when  the  church  was  first  organized,  but  baptismal 
records  date  back  as  far  as  1766,  by  Rev.  Valentine  Beck,  Rev.  Paul 
Henkel,  and  others.  Rev.  Paul  Henkel  rendered  pastoral  services  here 
as  early  as  1785,  see  Bernheim  page  368.  The  old  Church  Record  Book 
is  labeled,  "Heidelberg  E.  Lutheran  Church  Register,"  which  carries  lists 
of  early  baptisms,  communions,  and  other  church  services. 

Their  church  was  a  log  building  which  has  long  since  given  way 
to  decay.    There  was  a  metal  raven  mounted  on  the  comb  of  the  roof, 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  191 

a  symbol  of  divine  providence,  which  was  discarded  when  the  old  church 
building  was  pulled  down,  but  which  was  later  picked  up  and  placed 
on  a  privately  owned  building. 

By  1815  this  congregation  decided  to  relocate.  A  lot  was  secured 
in  the  Jerusalem  settlement,  on  the  road  from  Salisbury  to  Mocksville, 
and  a  new  church  built  there.  Mr.  Nicholas  Click,  one  of  the  Lutheran 
members,  offered  to  give  the  lot  for  the  church.  After  the  church  was 
built,  a  meeting  was  held  to  decide  on  a  name  for  the  new  church.  Rev. 
Gottlieb  Schober  of  the  Lutheran  Synod  was  at  the  meeting.  The  name 
chosen  was  New  Jerusalem.  Lutheran  Ministers  who  served  the  church 
at  that  place  were:  Rev.  R.  J.  Miller,  Rev.  J.  B.  Anthony,  Rev.  Jacob 
Crim,  and  Rev.  L.  C.  Groseclose.  Trustees  for  New  Jerusalem  Church 
were:  Henry  Clement,  Sr.,  Nicholas  Click,  Jr.,  John  H.  Freeling.  The 
church  council  elected  July  28,  1861,  was:  Nicholas  Click  and  Matthias 
Miller,  Elders;  Daniel  Swicegood  and  David  Swicegood,  Deacons. 

In  1873  the  congregation  was  again  relocated.  One  of  the  leading 
Lutherans,  Mr.  Matthias  Miller,  offered  a  tract  of  land  about  two  miles 
east  from  the  Jerusalem  community,  which  was  accepted,  and  a  new 
frame  church  erected  there  about  that  time.  Again  the  church  was 
reorganized  and  was  named  Reformation;  however,  it  was  popularly 
called  Cherry  Hill.  Rev.  J.  D.  Bowles  and  Rev.  P.  E.  Zink  were  the  pastors 
who  assisted  in  this  reorganization.  Rev.  H.  M.  Brown  was  soon  called 
as  pastor,  and  the  work  went  on  encouragingly  for  a  number  of  years. 
Then,  members  moved  away,  and  by  1925  there  were  only  occasional 
services  held. 

The  following  brethren  served  the  Dutchman's  Creek  congrega- 
tion at  one  time  or  another: 

List  of  Pastors: 
At    Dutchman's    Creek: 
Paul  Henkel,  1785-1789  Paul  Henkel,  1800-1805 

Arnold  Roschen,  1789-1800  Ludwig  Markert,  1805-1816 

At   New   Jerusalem: 
Gottlieb  Schober,  1815-1821  Jacob  Crim,  1843-1860 

R.  J.  Miller,  1816-1821  L.  C.  Groseclose,  1861-1863 

Supplied,  1821-1843  Caleb  Lentz,  1863-1864 

J.  B.  Anthony,  Sup.,  1834  W.  R.  Ketchie,  1869-1870 

At  Reformation: 
J.  D.  Bowles,  1870-1873  P.  J.  Wade,  1895  and  in  1898 

H.  M.  Brown,  1874-1880  G.  H.  L.  Lingle,  1907-1909 

W.  A.  Julian,  1880-1885  J.  L.  Smith,  1911-1912 

J.  M.  Hedrick,  1885-1887  N.  D.  Bodie,  1912-1913 

R.  L.  Brown,  1888-1892  W.  C.  Buck,  1914-1915 

E.  P.  Parker,  1893-1894  M.  L.  Ridenhour,  1915-1916 

H.  E.  H.  Sloop,  1896-1897  M.  L.  Kester,  1918-1919 

Whitson  Kimball,  1897  C.  E.  Ridenhour,  1919-1925 


192  History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

ebenezer  church.  newton 

Ebenezer  Lutheran  Church  is  located  in  Catawba  County,  ten  miles 
east  of  Newton,  in  a  rural  community. 

The  date  given  for  the  organization  of  this  church  is  1889.  The 
congregation  has  had  two  houses  of  worship,  both  of  them  frame  struc- 
tures. The  first  church  was  built  about  the  time  the  congregation  was 
organized.  The  present  church  was  erected  in  1942,  and  was  dedicated 
August  20  of  that  same  year,  by  President  J.  L.  Morgan,  and  their 
pastor,  Rev.  E.  R.  Lineberger. 

This  church  is  in  a  parish  with  St.  James  near  Newton,  and 
receives  afternoon  preaching  services. 

List  of  Pastors: 
J.  L.  Cromer,  1899-1900  C.  L  Morgan,  1913-1917 

R.  A.  Yoder,  1901-1905  W.  J.  Boger,  1918-1936 

J.  A.  Arndt,  1906-1909  Leo  Smith,  Sup.,  19-36 

W.  D.  Wise,  Ast.,  1908-1909  E.  R.  Lineberger,  1936-1947 

W.  D.  Wise,  1909-1912  G.  L.  Hill,  1948- 


EBENEZER,   ROWAN   CO. 

Ebenezer  Church  in  Rowan  County  is  located  on  the  old  road 
from  Salisbury  to  Concord,  and  about  midway  between  Organ  Church 
and  China  Grove.  This  work  was  started  in  1866  when  a  number  of 
Lutherans  living  in  that  community  requested  Conference  to  authorize 
the  formation  of  a  new  congregation  in  that  area.  The  request  was 
granted,  and  Rev.  G.  D.  Bernheim,  Dr.  P.  A.  Sifferd  and  Capt.  J.  A.  Fisher 
were  appointed  a  committee  to  help  carry  out  the  organization.  The 
matter  was  approved  by  Synod  in  1867,  and  on  Sunday,  June  3,  that 
year  Ebenezer  Lutheran  Church  was  formally  organized  with  nineteen 
members.  Officers  elected  were  Dr.  P.  A.  Sifferd  and  Frederick  Stire- 
walt.  Elders;  and  Moses  J.  Barger  and  J.  A.  Eddleman,  Deacons. 

A  three  and  one-half  acre  lot  was  donated  by  Frederick  and  Paul 
Stirewalt,  and  in  1868  a  frame  church  40  x  60  feet  was  constructed. 
The  church  was  dedicated,  free  of  debt,  January  31,  1869  by  Pastor  G. 
D.  Bernheim  and  Dr.  L.  A.  Bikle. 

In  1879  this  church  was  placed  in  a  parish  with  Organ  Church, 
and  a  parsonage  was  built  at  Organ  Church,  Ebenezer  having  a  third 
interest  in  the  building.  This  arrangement  continued  until  about  1927, 
when  each  of  these  churches  went  on  a  fulltime  basis  for  a  pastor. 

In  1939,  under  the  pastoral  leadership  of  Rev.  P.  G.  Kinney,  the 
church  was  remodeled — a  full  basement  was  made  under  the  old  build- 
ing, the  entire  building  was  brick  veneered  on  the  outside,  and  the 
interior  completely  refinished,  and  refurnished.  The  building  was  re- 
opened and  a  cornerstone  laid  November  26,  1939.     The  remodeled  house 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  193 

of  worship  was  rededicated  May  30,  1943.  The  work  which  was  done 
cost  about  $10,000.00.  In  1947,  while  Rev.  L.  C.  Hahn  was  pastor,  a  new 
brick  parsonage  was  built  at  a  cost  of  $14,000.00. 

List  of  Pastors: 

G.  D.  Bernheim,  1867-1870  L.  L.  Lohr,  1918-1919 

L.   A.   Bikle,   1870-1875  M.  L.  Ridenhour,  1919-1922 

W.  Kimball,  1875-1876  P.  L.  Miller,  1922-1927 

R.  W.  Petrea,  1876-1877  B  S.  Brown,  Sr., 
S.  S.  Rahn,  1878-1879  Supply,  1927-1930 

S.  Rothrock,  1879-1885  Stu.  J.  W.  Iddings,  1927-1930 

W.  R.  Brown,  1886-1893  J.  W.  Iddings,  1930-1938 

G.  H.  Cox,  1894-1903  P.  G.  Kinney,  1938-1943 

C.  A.  Brown,  1904-1907  L.  C.  Hahn,  1943-1950 

H.  A.  Trexler,  1908-1913  G.  H.  Rhodes,  Sup.,  1951 

R.  R.  Sowers,  1914-1918  H.  F.  Lineberger,  1952- 


EMMANUEL  LUTHERAN  CHURCH,  DAVIDSON  COUNTY 

Emmanuel  Lutheran  Church  in  Davidson  County  was  located 
about  four  miles  south  of  Thomasville.  This  congregation  was  organ- 
ized in  1813,  as  a  so-called  union  church,  in  which  the  church  property 
was  owned  jointly  by  the  Lutheran  congregation  and  the  Reformed 
congregation. 

In  that  same  year,  1813,  three  acres  of  land  were  deeded  to  Philip 
Kanoy,  Jacob  Myers,  and  John  Bowers,  "Elders  of  the  Presbyterian  and 
Lutheran  German  Churches  or  their  successors  in  said  churches",  by 
John  Myers  and  his  wife  Elizabeth  for  a  consideration  of  five  dollars. 

In  1814  the  two  congregations  built  a  union  house  of  worship. 
Legend  has  it  that  one  Gottlieb  Grimes,  a  staunch  Lutheran,  struck  the 
first  lick  with  axe  in  felling  a  tree  for  this  church.  This  building  served 
the  two  congregations  until  1901,  when,  on  December  12,  it  was  de- 
stroyed by  fire.  A  new  and  more  modern  building  was  constructed  by 
the  combined  efforts  of  the  two  congregations  the  next  year. 

However,  in  1925,  the  Lutheran  congregation  sold  its  interest  in 
the  building  to  the  Reformed  Church  for  a  consideration  of  $400.00,  and 
the  fifty  or  more  Lutheran  members  transferred  their  membership  to 
neighboring  Lutheran  churches — some  to  Grace  Church  in  Thomasville, 
and  others  to  Holly  Grove. 

Sometime  after  the  Tennessee  Synod  was  organized,  Emmanuel's 
congregation  was  affiliated  with  that  body,  in  a  parish  with  the  Ten- 
nessee groups  in  Pilgrim  and  other  congregations  of  that  county. 
Hence  a  list  of  pastors  for  Emmanuel's  may  be  found  in  the  history  of 
Pilgrim  congregation. 


194  History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 


EMMANUEL,  HIGH  POINT 

Emmanuel  Lutheran  Church  in  High  Point  is  located  on  the  cor- 
ner of  North  Main  and  Howell  Streets.  However,  it  was  first  located 
on  English  Street,  and  was  called  the  Woman's  Memorial  Lutheran 
Church. 

This  work  was  started  in  1907,  when  a  number  of  Lutherans  in 
High  Point  petitioned  the  Executive  Committee  of  Synod  for  assistance 
in  establishing  a  church  there.  Rev.  J.  L.  Morgan,  Field  Missionary  of 
the  North  Carolina  Synod,  took  charge  of  the  work  July  4,  1907.  The 
first  service  was  held  in  the  old  Opera  House  on  North  Main  Street  on 
Sunday,  July  7,  1907,  with  an  attendance  of  26  persons. 

Beginning  with  January  1908,  the  Young  Men's  Reading  Room  on 
North  Main  Street  was  used  for  a  place  of  worship  until  the  new  church 
was  ready  for  use.  Formal  organization  of  the  church  was  effected  in 
the  Reading  Room  on  Sunday,  February  16,  1908,  with  forty-one  members. 

With  the  help  of  Synod,  a  lot  was  purchased  on  English  Street, 
and  on  September  10,  1908,  a  contract  was  let  for  a  brick  building  to 
cost  $4,600.00.  The  Women's  Missionary  Society  took  on  this  mission 
as  a  "Special"  and  contributed  liberally  toward  the  building  of  the 
church.  The  first  service  was  held  in  the  church  March  28,  1909,  when 
Rev.  J.  B.  Shoup — Mrs.  Morgan's  father — preached  from  Isaiah  6:8. 

After  the  church  was  completed.  Pastor  Morgan  moved  to  Moores- 
ville  to  direct  the  building  of  a  church  at  that  place.  His  last  sermon 
at  High  Point  was  on  September  19,  1909,  and  the  family  moved  Septem- 
ber 30th,  leaving  the  work  in  charge  of  Rev.  M.  L.  Canup. 

This  church  was  dedicated  April  24,  1910,  by  Dr.  V.  Y.  Boozer, 
then  President  of  Synod;  Missionary  J.  L.  Morgan;  and  Pastor  M-  L. 
Canup. 

Rev.  P.  D.  Brown  took  charge  of  the  work  May  15,  1913.  In  1915 
a  house  and  lot  were  purchased  on  English  Street  for  a  parsonage.  Due 
to  business  buildings  being  constructed  near  the  church  property,  it  was 
decided  to  relocate  the  place  of  worship.  The  church  was,  therefore,  sold 
on  August  2,  1919,  and  the  present  lot,  on  North  Main  Street,  was  pur- 
chased from  Dr.  C.  E.  Reitzel. 

The  new  church  building,  costing  about  $65,000.00,  was  begun 
June  4,  1920,  and  the  cornerstone  was  laid  October  31,  1920,  by  Pastor 
Brown  and  President  Morgan.  The  building  was  opened  for  services 
July  3,  1921,  and  one  week  later  Pastor  Brown  preached  his  last  sermon 
as  pastor  of  this  congregation,  after  which  he  moved  to  Columbia,  South 
Carolina. 

On  September  5,  1920,  the  name  of  the  church  was  changed  from 
Woman's  Memorial  to  Emmanuel  Lutheran  Church,  by  request  of  the 
Women's  Society. 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  195 

Rev.  F.  L.  Conrad  was  called  to  succeed  Rev.  Brown  and  took  charge 
August  1,  1921.  In  1922  the  parsonage  on  English  Street  was  sold  and 
a  new  brick  parsonage  was  built  on  the  south  end  of  the  church  lot. 
The  basement  of  the  church  was  completed  for  use  in  1924,  and  by 
1936  the  $35,000.00  debt  for  the  church  building,  as  of  1921,  was  paid 
off,  and  the  church  was  dedicated  December  6,  1936,  by  Pastor  Conrad 
and  President  J.  L.  Morgan. 

In  1937  the  parsonage  on  Woodrow  Avenue  was  purchased  for 
$6,000.00,  and  the  building  back  of  the  church  was  converted  into  educa- 
tional and  office  purposes. 

Dr.  Conrad,  having  been  elected  as  President  of  Synod  in  1949, 
relinquished  the  High  Point  parish  June  27,  1949.  Rev.  Harry  D.  Haw- 
thorne was  called  and  took  up  the  work  of  the  parish  October  1,  1949. 

On  April  20,  1952,  groundbreaking  services  were  held  for  a  new 
Educational  Building  in  place  of  the  old  parsonage  at  the  back  of  the 
church,  at  a  probable  cost  of  around  $70,000.00. 

List  of  Pastors: 
Jacob  L.  Morgan,  1907-1909  F.  L.  Conrad,  1921-1949 

M.  L.  Canup,  1909-1912  •         H.  D.  Hawthorne,  1949- 

P.  D.  Brown,  1913-1921 


EMMANUEL  LUTHERAN   CHURCH,   LINCOLNTON 

Emmanuel  Lutheran  Church,  formerly  known  as  the  Old  White 
Church,  is  located  right  in  the  center  of  the  town  of  Lincolnton,  in 
Lincoln  County.  This  congregation  originally  owned  its  property  jointly 
with  the  Reformed  congregation.  Their  first  building  is  said  to  have 
been  the  first  house  of  worship,  of  any  kind,  erected  in  this  town. 

We  do  not  know  definitely  when  this  church  was  organized,  how- 
ever the  date  given  for  it  in  the  more  recent  minutes  of  Synod  is  1787, 
which  is  probably  correct.  The  deed  for  their  first  tract  of  land  is 
dated  January  10,  1788,  when  Joseph  Dickson,  as  Trustee  for  Lincoln 
County,  conveyed  two  acres  and  sixteen  poles,  in  the  Southeast  Square 
of  the  Town  of  Lincolnton,  to  Christian  Reinhardt,  agent  for  the  Dutch 
Presbyterians  and  Andrew  Heedick,  agent  for  the  Dutch  Lutherans,  in 
a  part  of  which  the  Dutch  Meeting  House  for  public  worship  stood. 

It  is  stated  in  "Historical  Sketches  of  the  Reformed  Church",  page 
275,  that  this  Dutch  Meeting  House  was  a  small  one-story  log  building, 
but  that  in  1819  a  second  story  was  added,  a  gallery  constructed,  and 
that  it  was  then  weatherboarded  and  ceiled.  In  1830  the  building  was 
painted  white,  hence  called  the  Old  White  Church. 

This  Old  White  Church  is  associated  with  some  very  interesting 
history.    It  was  here  that  the   adjourned  meeting   for  organizing  the 


196 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 


Emmanuel  Lutheran  Church 

LiNcoLNTON,  North  Carolina 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  197 

North  Carolina  Synod  was  held  on  October  17,  1803.  Also,  the  annual 
meeting  of  the  N.  C.  Synod  of  1820  was  held  here,  which  eventuated 
in  the  organization  of  the  Tennessee  Synod  on  July  17,  that  same  year, 
in  Solomon's  Church,  Greene  County,  Tennessee.  Emmanuel  united  with 
that  Synod. 

However,  this  church  was  not  without  its  share  of  disappoint- 
ments also,  "for  it  must  needs  be  that  offences  come",  so  in  course  of 
time  it  became  necessary  to  call  on  the  church  at  large  for  help  to  meet 
current  expenses.  This  condition  was  due  to  a  lack  of  fulltime  pastoral 
services,  and,  consequently,  a  let  down  in  interest.  Beginning  about 
1830,  and  continuing  for  nearly  sixty  years,  this  congregation  had  to 
rely  on  supply  preaching  for  spiritual  leadership.  But,  by  1890  efforts 
were  made,  by  neighboring  pastors,  to  revive  the  congregation.  Dr.  L. 
A.  Bikle,  among  others,  began  holding  services,  at  stated  times,  in  the 
Old  White  Church. 

On  Saturday,  December  23,  1893,  the  Old  White  Church  went  up  in 
flames.  It  being  a  log  structure,  weatherboarded  and  ceiled  inside, 
burned  a  long  time  before  it  fell.  It  is  said  that  as  the  walls  swayed 
from  the  burning  heat  and  winds,  the  old  bell  in  the  tower  tolled  a 
heart  rending  wail. 

Services  were  held  in  the  Methodist  Church,  while  plans  were 
made  and  carried  out  for  a  new  building.  By  this  time  Rev.  J.  F.  Moser 
had  been  called  as  pastor,  who  reorganized  the  congregation  with  four- 
teen members,  and  led  them  successfully  in  building  their  new  house 
of  worship.  The  hearts  of  the  people  were  rejoiced  over  their  completed 
brick  church.  It  was  about  this  time  that  the  Lutherans  bought  the 
half  interest  which  the  Reformed  congregation  had  in  the  old  property, 
so  that  from  now  on  it  belonged  entirely  to  the  Lutherans. 

In  1910,  while  Dr.  R.  A.  Yoder  was  pastor  here,  the  church  nave 
was  enlarged  to  make  room  for  the  growing  congregation.  However, 
by  1917  it  became  necessary  to  plan  for  still  more  room.  So,  a  lot  for 
a  new  church  was  purchased  just  across  the  street  from  the  old  build- 
ing, and  plans  made  for  a  new  building.  But  World  War  I  delayed 
matters  until  1920,  when  the  new  church  was  built.  The  church,  a 
brick  structure,  with  modern  equipment,  including  a  ground  story  for 
educational  work,  was  completed  for  approximately  $65,000.00.  Rev.  W. 
J.  Roof  was  pastor  in  charge  of  the  work  at  that  time. 

This  building  was  dedicated,  free  of  debt,  in  October  1920,  and 
during  the  12th  to  the  16th  of  the  same  month  and  year,  the  Tennessee 
Synod  held  its  Centennial  Convention  here,  at  which  meeting  it  was 
decided  to  reunite  with  the  North  Carolina  Synod,  which  reunion  was 
happily  consummated  on  March  2,  1921,  in  St.  John's  Lutheran  Church, 
in  Salisbury. 

In  1924,  while  Dr.  V.  C.  Ridenhour  was  pastor  here,  the  old  par- 
sonage on  South  Aspin  Street,  opposite  the  church,  was  sold,  and  a  new 
brick  parsonage  was  built  on  East  Main  Street.    The  first  unit  of  the 


198  History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

new  Educational  Building  was  put  up  in  1942  under  the  pastoral  leader- 
ship of  Dr.  L.  A.  Thomas.  The  second  unit  is  now  being  planned  for 
early  construction. 

In  1951  the  congregation  disposed  of  a  portion  of  the  old  cemetery 
lands,  and  made  extensive  improvements  on  the  retained  portion,  in 
which  are  the  graves  of  the  first  pastor  and  his  wife  of  this  church,  the 
Rev.  and  Mrs.  John  Gottfried  Arends.  An  appropriate  historical  marker 
will  be  erected  to  direct  public  attention  to  these  graves. 

Pastor  Arends  served  this  church  from  1785  until  about  1805,  when 
failing  eyesight  compelled  him  to  turn  the  work  over  largely  to  an 
assistant  pastor,  however  he  remained  the  official  pastor  until  his 
death  in  1807. 

We  have  not  been  able  to  get  a  complete  list  of  pastors  for  this 
church,  or  accurate  dates  for  some  of  them.  Rev.  Mr.  Arends  comes 
first,  who  was  assisted  for  a  short  while  during  the  summer  of  1803  by 
Rev.  Paul  Henkel.  Rev.  Philip  Henkel  was  regular  assistant  1805-1807, 
and  then  in  1808  he  became  regular  pastor. 

List  of  Pastors: 

J.  G.  Arends,  1785-1807  J.  Allen  Arndt,  1898-1899 

Paul  Henkel,  As't,  1803  J.  C.  Dietz,  1900-1903 

Philip  Henkel,  As't,  1805-1807  H.  J.  Matthias,  1903-1905 

Philip  Henkel,  1808-1814  R.  A.  Yoder,  1905-1911 

Daniel  Moser,  1815-1820  Enoch  Kite,  1911-1918 

David  Henkel,  1821-1830  W.  J.  Roof,  1918-1923 

Adam  Miller,  Jr.,  1830-1840  V.  C.  Ridenhour,  1923-1930 

Supply  Services,  1830-1890  V.  R.  Cromer,  1930-1936 

L.  A.  Bikle,  Sup.,  1890  L.  A.  Thomas,  1936-1945 

J.  F.  Moser,  1892-1895  A.  H.  Keck,  Jr.,  1946-1948 

W.  P.  Cline,  Sup.,  1895  H.  A.  McCullough,  Jr.,  1948- 


EMMANUEL,  ROCKWELL 

Emmanuel  Church  is  located  in  Rowan  County,  about  two  miles 
south  from  Rockwell.  This  church  was  organized  on  Easter  Sunday, 
April  14,  1895,  with  sixteen  members.  The  name  chosen  was  Emmanuel. 
The  officers  who  were  elected  and  installed  that  day  by  Dr.  G.  H.  Cox, 
pastor  in  charge  of  the  organization  were:  Calvin  L.  Brown  and  M.  J. 
Earnhardt,  Elders;  and  Luther  C.  Miller  and  Julius  A.  Earnhardt, 
Deacons. 

Sunday  School  had  been  carried  on  in  this  section  for  more  than 
thirty  years,  using  the  Elm  Grove  School  House,  where  also  preaching 
was  held  occasionally.    The  congregation  was  organized  under  the  aus- 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  199 

pices  of  the  pastor  and  officers  of  the  Organ  Church  parish.  So,  the 
new  congregation  was,  for  the  first  year,  served  by  the  Organ  Church 
pastor — Dr.  G.  H.  Cox — with  afternoon  preaching  twice  each  month. 

A  two-acre  lot  was  purchased  right  away  from  Eli  Brown,  and 
the  house  of  worship  started  by  the  labors  of  the  members  themselves — 
young  and  old,  men  and  women.  The  cornerstone  of  their  new  brick 
church  was  laid  August  19,  1897,  and  on  the  fifth  Sunday  in  October 
1898,  the  church  was  dedicated  by  the  pastor,  Rev.  R.  L.  Brown,  assisted 
by  his  brother  Rev.  H.  M.  Brown,  Rev.  C.  A.  Brown,  and  others.  A 
steeple  was  built  to  the  church,  and  a  bell  installed  in  1915.  A  Sunday 
School  annex  was  built  in  1927,  under  Dr.  C.  P.  Fisher's  leadership. 
An  Organizational  Building  was  constructed  in  1944  on  the  old  Elm 
Grove  School  grounds.  This  church  was  in  a  parish  with  Faith  1903- 
1918,  and  then  with  St.  James  until  1949.  It  and  St.  James  purchased 
a  parsonage  in  Rockwell  in  1919,  but  later  sold  it  and  in  1948  built 
her  own  parsonage  at  Emmanuel's  church  for  $14,000.00.  Then,  on 
January  1,  1949,  they  called  Rev.  Glenn  A.  Yount  as  fulltime  pastor. 

List  of  Pastors: 

G.  H.  Cox,  1895-1897  J.  A.  Yount,  Supply,  1925 

R.  L.  Brown,  1897-1900  E.  R.  Trexler,  Supply,  1925 

J.  H.  C.  Fisher,  1900-1902  C.  P.  Fisher,  Sr.,  1926-1930 

C.  P.  Fisher,  Sr.,  1903-1918  J.  D.  Sheppard,  1930-1935 

M.  L.  Ridenhour,  Sup.,  1918  J.  E.  Walker,  1935-1942 

G.  O.  Ritchie,  1918-1919  E.  L.  Misenheimer,  1943-1948 

C.  R.  Pless,  1919-1922  G.  A.  Yount,  1949- 
E.  F.  K.  Roof,  1922-1925 


FAITH  CHURCH,  FAITH 

Faith  Lutheran  Church  is  located  in  the  town  of  Faith,  Rowan  County. 

A  group  of  Lutherans  living  at  Faith  asked  the  Southern  Conference, 
at  a  meeting  in  China  Grove,  in  the  fall  of  1898  to  send  a  minister  to 
organize  a  church  in  their  community.  The  Rev.  R.  L.  Brown  was  asked 
to  answer  their  request,  and  on  March  26,  1899,  he  organized  a  congre- 
gation with  fourteen  members  enrolled  that  day.  Two  weeks  later, 
on  April  9th,  nine  others  were  enrolled,  making  a  charter  membership 
of  twenty-three.  Officers  were  elected  as  follows:  H.  M.  L.  Anger,  G. 
W.  Hoffner,  W.  M.  Foil,  and  H.  W.  Cauble.  A  Building  Committee  was 
appointed  composed  of  H.  M.  L.  Agner,  W.  S.  Earnhardt,  and  D.  A. 
Wiley.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  D.  A.  Wiley  gave  the  lot  for  the  church,  and  ser- 
vices were  held  there  during  the  summer  under  a  brush  arbor.  A  frame 
building  about  28  x  50  feet  was  started  in  1899  and  completed  early  in 
the  next  year.  The  cornerstone  was  laid  February  17,  1900,  by  Rev.  C. 
E.  Miller,  president  of  Synod;  and  Rev.  R.  L.  Brown,  the  pastor.  The 
church  was  dedicated  October  5,  1902,  by  Dr.  R.  C.  Holland,  then  presi- 


200  History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

dent,  and  student  C.  P.  Fisher  who  was  to  become  the  first  regular  pastor 
after  graduation  the  next  spring. 

Faith  and  Emmanuel  churches  were  in  a  parish  together  during 
the  entire  time  when  Rev.  Fisher  was  pastor,  1903-1918,  but  in  1919 
during  the  pastoral  services  of  Rev.  G.  O.  Ritchie  Faith  became  self- 
sustaining. 

The  congregation  built  a  parsonage  in  1905,  located  about  two 
blocks  from  the  church.  Transepts  were  built  to  the  church  while  Pastor 
Fisher  was  with  them. 

During  the  pastoral  service  of  Rev.  John  L.  Morgan  plans  were 
begun  for  the  erection  of  a  new  church.  So  offerings  for  a  building 
fund  were  started  on  April  14,  1935,  when  $29.60  was  received  as  the 
first  offering  for  this  purpose.  However  it  was  under  the  pastoral  leader- 
ship of  Rev.  C.  N.  Yount  that  the  plans  for  the  new  church  were  per- 
fected and  carried  out.  The  ground-breaking  services  were  held  Janu- 
ary 16,  1949,  by  Dr.  V.  R.  Cromer,  president  of  Synod,  Dr.  J.  L.  Morgan, 
president  emeritus,  Pastor  Yount  and  others.  The  opening  services  in 
the  completed  church  were  held  February  11,  1951.  However  services 
were  held  in  the  auditorium  of  the  first  floor  beginning  July  16,  1950, 
until  the  building  was  completed.  The  cornerstone  was  laid  on  the  day 
VA'hen  the  first  services  were  held  on  February  11,  1951,  Dr.  F.  L.  Conrad, 
president  of  Synod,  Dr.  J.  L.  Morgan,  and  Pastor  Yount  officiating. 

This  is  one  of  the  best  and  most  churchly  houses  of  worship  in 
the  Synod.  It  has  a  full  basement  and  a  large  educational  annex  at 
the  back  of  the  main  church.  The  entire  plant  completely  furnished 
represents  a  cost  of  approximately  $200,000.00.  The  pipe  organ  is  a 
gift  of  the  Raney  Brothers  in  memory  of  their  parents,  Mr.  and  Mrs. 
R.  A.  Raney. 

List  of  Pastors: 

R.  L.  Brown,  1899-1901  G.  O.  Ritchie,  1918-1926 

Student  C.  P.  Fisher,  1902  L.  E.  Blackwelder,  1927-1933 

V.  Y.  Boozer,  Supply,  1902-1903  John  L.  Morgan,  1934-1936 

C.  P.  Fisher,  1903-1918  C.  N.  Yount,  1936- 


FIRST  CHURCH.  ALBEMARLE 

The  First  Lutheran  Church  in  Albemarle  is  located  right  in  the 
central  part  of  that  city.  Its  first  location  was  on  South  First  Street, 
just  west  one   block  from  the  present  church. 

Work  was  begun  here  in  1879  by  Rev.  Whitson  Kimball,  who 
was  authorized  by  Synod  that  year  to  investigate  the  possibilities  for 
a  Lutheran  church  in  that  place.  A  congregation  was  organized  Sep- 
tember 19,  1880,  with  five  charter  members — Mrs.  L.  C.  Lilly,  Mrs.  Jose- 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  201 

phine  Hearne,  Mrs.  Elizabeth  Heilig  Betts,  Mr.  J.  W.  Bostian,  and  Mr. 
S.  H.  Hearne.  Mr.  Bostian  was  elected  Elder,  and  Mr.  Hearne  was 
elected  Deacon  of  the  church. 

That  same  year,  a  lot  was  donated  by  Mrs.  L.  C.  Lilly,  and  a 
frame  house  of  worship  was  soon  erected  on  it,  which  was  dedicated 
on  the  third  Sunday  in  August  1881. 

The  congregation  became  self-supporting  as  to  pastor's  salary  in 
1905.  By  1907  it  had  grown  to  where  it  was  necessary  to  provide  for 
a  larger  building.  On  July  1,  1907,  Rev.  H.  A.  McCullough  became 
pastor  and  soon  a  new  location  was  secured  on  the  corner  of  Second 
and  South  Streets  for  $2,500.00  and  a  new  brick  church  was  erected  on 
it.  The  cornerstone  was  laid  July  2,  1908,  and  the  name  of  the  church 
was  changed  from  that  of  the  Albemarle  Lutheran  Church  to  the  First 
Lutheran  Church  of  Albemarle.  The  cost  of  the  new  church  was  ap- 
proximately $20,000.00.  There  is  a  basement  in  the  church  for  Sunday 
School  work,  and  other  activities. 

In  1912,  while  Rev.  V.  C.  Ridenhour,  D.D.,  was  pastor,  a  new  brick 
parsonage  was  built,  just  back  of  the  church,  on  South  Street.  This 
parsonage  has  more  recently  been  remodeled  and  made  into  an  ideal 
home  for  the  pastor.  The  remaining  debt  for  the  church  building  was 
paid  off  under  Pastor  Ridenhour's  leadership,  and  the  church  was 
dedicated  October  17,  1915,  by  Pastor  Ridenhour,  assisted  by  Dr.  H.  A. 
McCullough. 

In  1929,  Mr.  J.  S.  Efird,  a  leading  member  of  the  congregation, 
gave  the  church  a  lot,  adjoining  the  north  side  of  the  church  property, 
on  which  to  build  an  Educational  Building.  The  building  was  put  up 
during  1930-1931,  under  the  pastoral  supervision  of  Dr.  G.  H.  Rhodes, 
at  a  cost  of  approximately  $60,000.00. 

In  1951  the  main  church  building  was  completely  renovated  and 
redecorated,  under  the  pastoral  supervision  of  Pastor  J.  White  Iddings, 
at  a  cost  of  $30,000.00.  At  the  same  time,  a  three  manual  pipe  organ 
was  installed,  which  was  given  by  Mrs.  W.  H.  Morrow  as  a  memorial 
to  her  parents,  Mr.  and  Mrs.  John  S.  Efird. 

Although  this  church  was  begun  with  only  five  members,  it  has 
become  one  of  the  strongest  congregations  in  the  North  Carolina  Synod, 
with  an  outlook  for  continued  expansion. 

List  of  Pastors: 
Whitson   Kimball,   1880-1882  Vacant,  1897 

G.  F.  Schaeffer,  1883-1884  W.  Kimball,  1898 

A.  D.  L.  Moser,  1884-1886  P.  L.  Miller,  1898-1901 
J.  A.  Linn,  1887-1888  C.  B.  Miller,  1901-1902 
J.  H.  Wyse,  1889                                       A.  R.  Beck,  1903-1904 

J.  A.  Linn,  Sup.,  1890  G.  H.  Cox,   Sup.,  1904-1905 

B.  S.  Brown,  1892-1896  R.  R.  Sowers,  1905-1906 


202  History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

G.  H.  Cox,  Sup.,  1906-1907  L.  E.  Blackwelder,  S,  1925-1926 

H.  A.  McCullough,  1907-1911  G.  H.  Rhodes,  1927-1948 

V.  C.  Ridenhour,  1912-1923  J.  W.  Iddings,  1949- 
E.  C.  Cooper,  1923-1925 


FIRST  CHURCH,  GREENSBORO 

The  First  Lutheran  Church  in  Greensboro  is  located  on  West 
Market  Street,  near  the  central  part  of  the  city.  The  original  location, 
however,  was  on  Ashe  Street  near  Walker  Avenue. 

Work  leading  up  to  the  formation  of  this  church  was  begun 
during  the  summer  of  1907  by  Rev.  J.  L.  Morgan,  then  Field  Missionary 
of  the  North  Carolina  Synod.  The  first  worship  service  was  held  Octo- 
ber 27,  1907,  in  the  Y.W.C.A.  rooms  on  West  Market  Street  with  twenty- 
three  in  attendance.  Mrs.  J.  J.  Stone  played  the  piano  for  the  services. 
Arrangements  were  made  for  services  every  first,  third,  and  fourth  Sun- 
day afternoons.  Pastor  Morgan  preached  at  High  Point  and  other 
mission  places  at  the  morning  hours. 

After  meeting  for  some  Sundays  in  the  Y.W.C.A.  rooms,  arrange- 
ments were  made  to  hold  services  in  the  Christian  Church  on  Walker 
Avenue.  It  was  in  this  church  that  the  congregation  was  formally 
organized  on  Sunday,  September  27,  1908,  with  twenty-one  members, 
by  Missionary  J.  L.  Morgan. 

Pastor  Morgan  continued  to  serve  the  congregation  until  October 
1,  1909,  when  he,  having  completed  the  new  church  in  High  Point, 
moved  to  Mooresville  to  take  up  a  new  mission  point.  Rev.  M.  L. 
Canup  was  called  as  pastor  at  High  Point  and  supplied  Greensboro 
after  Pastor  Morgan  left. 

Then  in  1910  Rev.  J.  E.  Schenck  was  called  as  fulltime  pastor  at 
Greensboro.  Soon  after  he  accepted  the  call,  a  lot  for  a  church  was 
purchased  on  Ashe  Street  containing  a  frame  dwelling  house.  The 
property  cost  $4,000.00  and  was  largely  paid  for  by  the  Home  Mission 
Board  of  the  United  Synod  in  the  South. 

In  1911  a  brick  church  was  built  at  a  cost  of  $12,500.00,  toward 
which  the  Women's  Missionary  Society  of  the  North  Carolina  Synod 
contributed  $6,000.00.  The  balance  of  the  cost  was  carried  by  the 
congregation  under  the  pastoral  leadership  of  Rev.  E.  A.  Shenk  and 
was  fully  paid  off  in  1944  after  Rev.  S.  L.  Sox  became  pastor.  The 
church  was  dedicated,  free  of  debt,  October  22,  1944,  by  Pastor  Sox 
and  President  J.  L.  Morgan. 

Meanwhile,  soon  after  Rev.  C.  E.  Fritz  became  pastor  in  1935, 
the  congregation  purchased  a  house  and  lot  by  the  west  side  of  the 
church  for  parsonage  purposes.    But  in  1943  the  building  was  converted 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  203 

into  a  service  center,  and  a  new  parsonage  purchased   at  404  Aycock 
Street  for  $6,000.00,  which  is  still  occupied  by  Pastor  Sox  and  his  family. 

In  1945  a  large  lot  was  purchased  on  West  Market  Street  for 
$8,000.00  on  which  to  build  a  new  church.  The  lot  was  soon  paid 
for,  but  the  high  cost  of  building  delayed  construction.  Then,  in 
1951,  the  First  Baptist  Church  building,  on  West  Market,  was  offered 
for  sale,  and  the  First  Lutheran  Church  purchased  it  for  $105,000.00, 
which  will  provide  room  for  all  their  needs  for  many  years.  It  is  a 
brick   and   stone   building.     First  service  was   held   February   15,   1953. 

List  of  Pastors: 
J.  L.  Morgan,  1907-1909  Student  supply,  1917-1918 

M.  L.  Canup,  1909-1910  E.  A.  Shenk,  1918-1935 

J.  E.  Schenk,  1910-1915  C.  E.  Fritz,  1935-1939 

F.  B.  Lingle,  Sup.,  1915-1916  J.  A.  Ritchie,  Sup.,  1939-1940 

E.  L.   Folk,  1916-1917  S.  L.  Sox,  1940- 


FIRST  CHURCH,  LEXINGTON 

The  First  Lutheran  Church  in  Lexington  is  located  on  318  South 
State  Street. 

This  work  was  started  by  Dr.  E.  Fulenwider  in  1904,  who  was 
Field  Missionary  at  that  time.  The  church  was  organized  June  30,  1905, 
with  16  members  by  Pastor  Fulenwider. 

The  lot  on  State  Street  was  purchased,  and  a  building  was 
soon  started.  The  cornerstone  of  the  church  was  laid  June  8,  1906,  by 
Rev.  G.  H.  Cox,  D.D.,  then  President  of  Synod,  and  Pastor  Fulenwider. 
The  church  was  fortunate  in  having  the  liberal  support  of  Mr.  C.  M. 
Thompson,  a  loyal  member  of  the  congregation,  and  the  fine  coopera- 
tion of  the  entire  group. 

The  church  was  opened  for  its  first  service  November  25,  1906, 
with  the  sermon  by  the  pastor.  A  Sunday  School  was  begun  December 
9,  that  same  year,  with  37  members.  On  February  1,  1907,  Dr.  Fulen- 
wider became  fulltime  pastor  of  the  congregation  and  continued  so 
until  March  1,  1908,  when  he  was  called  to  the  College  Church  at 
Newberry,  S.  C. 

A  parsonage  was  built  on  the  lot  by  the  side  of  the  church  in 
1907.  This  was  replaced,  however,  by  the  present  new  one  in  1940, 
under  Rev.  C.  R.  Ritchie's  supervision. 

The  church  was  dedicated,  free  of  debt,  December  31,  1909,  by 
Rev.  V.  Y.  Boozer,  D.D.,  who  was  at  that  time  pastor  hjere  and  also 
President  of  Synod,  assisted  by  Dr.  M.  M.  Kinard.  In  1926  a  two-story 
brick  Educational  Building  was  constructed,  under  the  pastoral  direc- 
tion of  Rev.  B.  S.  Brown,  Jr.,  D.D.,  at  a  cost  of  $5,500.00. 


204  History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

Rev.  C.  Ross  Ritchie  was  given  a  leave  of  absence  from  August 
12,  1942,  to  February  10,  1946,  to  serve  as  chaplain  in  World  War  II. 
Dr.  J.  C.  Dietz  and  Rev.  W.  T.  Nau,  Ph.D.,  supplied  the  congregation 
during  that  time.     Rev.  M.  R.  Farris  became  pastor  May  1,  1951. 

List  of  Pastors: 
E.  Fulenwider,  1904-1908  C.  R.  Ritchie,  1939-1942 

G.  W.  Spiggle,  1909  J.  C.  Dietz,  1942-1944 

V.  Y.  Boozer,  1909-1916  W.  T.  Nau,  1944-1946 

P.  J.  Bame,  1917-1924  C.  R.  Ritchie,  1946-1950 

B.  S.  Brown,  Jr.,  1924-1939  M.  R.  Farris,  1951- 


FRIEDENS,  GIBSONVILLE 

Friedens  Church  is  located  in  Guilford  County,  about  three  miles 
west  of  the  town  of  Gibsonville.  It  is  one  of  the  oldest  Lutheran 
churches  in  North  Carolina;  however,  the  date  of  its  organization  is 
not  definitely  known.  Historians  tell  us  that  German  immigrants 
began  to  settle  in  that  section  as  early  as  1740,  or  earlier.  These  Ger- 
man settlers  were  lovers  of  their  church.  Some  of  them  were  Lutherans 
while  others  were  German  Reformed.  Dr.  R.  D.  W.  Connor,  in  his  Three 
Volume  History  of  North  Carolina,  Volume  I,  page  159;  says  that  there 
was  a  Lutheran  church  on  Haw  River  as  far  back  as  1745,  which  would 
have  had  to  be  Friedens  or  Lows,  or  maybe  St.  Paul's,  all  of  which  are 
located  not  too  far  from  Haw  River  or  its  tributaries.  Letting  that  be  as 
it  may,  the  organizational  date  carried  by  the  congregation  is  1745. 
It  is  interesting  to  note  here  that  Walter  Whitaker,  in  his  Centennial 
History  of  Alamance  County,  makes  this  statement:  "Two  miles  north- 
west of  Gibsonville  stands  Friedens  Evangelical  Lutheran  Church  which 
was  founded  as  a  union  Lutheran  and  Reformed  meeting  house  about 
1744."  Then  W.  T.  Whitsett,  who  lived  in  that  community  all  his 
life,  and  was  a  member  of  Friedens  Church,  says:  "While  the  early 
records  are  lost,  it  is  believed  that  the  first  rude  building  was  erected 
as  early  as  1744,  but  a  reorganization  took  place  in  1771  and  a  second 
house  of  worship  was  built  at  that  time  and  so  the  latter  date  has 
been  used."  Grave  stones  carry  dates  as  far  back  as  1751,  and  there 
are  others  whose  writing  has  worn  away,  which  may  be  even  older. 

At  the  first,  Friedens  owned  its  property  jointly  with  the  Re- 
formed Church;  however,  after  the  Revolutionary  War  the  Reformed 
congregation  was  without  a  pastor  so  long  that  it  became  only  a 
nominal  organization.  Then  in  1857  they  withdrew  and  built  a  church 
of  their  own  which  is  called  St.  Mark's. 

Friedens'  first  building  was  of  unhewn  logs,  and  stood  where  the 
old  graveyard  now  is,  and  is  supposed  to  have  been  built  in  1744. 
The  second  building  was  a  frame  structure,  on  the  same  grounds  as 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 


205 


the  first,  and  was  built  in  1771.  It  was  45  x  60  feet  in  dimensions, 
two  stories  high,  and  had  a  high  pulpit.  The  third  house  of  worship 
was  erected  in  1869,  which  was  of  brick  and  was  on  land  across  the 
road  from  the  old  church,  which  had  been  purchased  for  that  purpose  in 
1854.  In  1928,  an  eight-room  annex  was  added  to  this  building  for 
Sunday  School  purposes.  Unfortunately  the  entire  building  was  de- 
stroyed by  fire  on  January  8,  1939,  but  in  one  year's  time  a  new  build - 


Friedens  Lutheran  Church 
GiBSONviLLE,  North  Carolina 


ing  was  erected  on  the  same  grounds  and  was  dedicated,  free  of  debt, 
on  April  21,  1940.  Rev.  John  L.  Morgan  was  pastor  at  that  time,  and 
rendered  fine  service  in   rebuilding. 

Friedens  was  all  the  while  associated  with  one  or  more  neigh- 
boring Lutheran  congregations  in  a  parish  until  1950,  when  it  became 
a  parish  in  itself  alone.  For  a  while  she  owned  a  parsonage  in  co- 
operation with  St.  Paul's  in  Gibsonville,  but  she  later  bought  St.  Paul's 
part,  and  since  becoming  self-supporting  she  has  now  built  a  new 
parsonage,  about  half  way  between  Gibsonville  and  the  church. 


206 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 


Although  Friedens  began  her  work  at  a  very  early  date,  she  did 
not  secure  a  grant  for  the  fourteen  acres  of  land  on  which  her  first 
church  was  built  until  the  year  1797.  Later  on,  other  small  tracts  were 
purchased  in  addition  to  the  original  grant. 

Friedens,  like  many  of  the  other  old  churches,  was  organized 
and  developed  for  many  years  by  the  laity  of  the  church,  without 
pastoral  leadership.  There  were  no  Lutheran  ministers  residing  in 
North  Carolina  prior  to  1773.  Rev.  Samuel  Suther,  a  Reformed  minister, 
served  his  people  in  that  vicinity  during  1771  and  the  year  following 
and  preached  to  Lutherans,  as  well  as  to  the  Reformed,  as  he  found 
opportunity. 

Rev.  George  Soelle,  a  Dane,  who  was  ordained  as  a  Lutheran 
minister  in  Denmark,  in  the  year  1741,  and  later  came  to  this  country 
and  worked  with  the  Moravians,  repeatedly  visited  the  Friedens  com- 
munity and  preached  for  the  different  Lutheran  congregations,  but  he 
never  lived  in  that  section. 

The  first  Lutheran  minister  that  visited  the  Guilford  area  in  an 
official  capacity  was  the  Rev,  Adolph  Nussmann.  He  came  to  this 
county  in  1773,  and  located  first  in  Rowan  County,  and  then  in  1774 
moved  to  Cabarrus  County.  From  there  he  made  repeated  trips,  on 
horseback,  to  Guilford  and  other  sections  and  ministered  to  the  various 
congregations.  Pastor  Nussmann  was  followed  by  Rev.  J.  G.  Arends, 
who  likewise  lived  first  in  Rowan  and  then  in  Lincoln  County, 


List  of  Pastors: 


Adolph  Nussman,  Supervisor, 

1774-1789 
J.  G.  Arends,  Visitor,  1775-1785 

C.  E.  Bernhardt,  1789-1800 
Philip   Henkel,    1800-1805 
J.  L.  Markert,  1805-1810 

J.  Scherer  1810-1828 

D.  J.  Hauer,  1828-1829 
W.  A.  Artz,  1830-1852 

J.  Grieson,  Asst.,  1834-1839 
S.  Scherer,  1854-1858 
J.  D.  Scheck,  1859-1864 
L.  C.  Groseclose,  Sup.,  1865-1866 
S.  Rothrock,  Supply,  1867-1868 
C.  H.  Bernheim,  1868-1872 
S.  Scherer,  1873-1876 
W,  Kimball,  1877-1880 


J.  L.  Buck,  1881-1888 
C.  B.  Miller,  1890-1892 
J.  R.  Sikes,  1893-1895 

E.  P.  Parker,  1895-1900 
C,  A,  Brown,  1901-1904 

G.  H.  L.  Lingle,  1904-1906 

F.  M.  Harr,  1906-1909 
C.  J.  Sox,  1910-1913 

W.  G.  Cobb,  Sup.,  1913 
B.  S.  Dasher,  1913-1915 
y.  Von  A.  Riser,  1916-1920 

G.  W.  McClanahan,  1921-1931 
E.  H.  Kite,  1931-1935 

John  L.  Morgan,  1936-1943 
M.  R.  Farris,  1943-1951 
K.  J.  Beam,  1952- 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  207 


FRIENDSHIP,  ALEXANDER  CO. 

Friendship  Ciiurch  is  located  in  Alexander  County,  seven  miles 
southwest  from  Taylorsville.  The  date  given  in  the  Minutes  of  Synod 
for  the  organization  of  this  church  is  1833.  However,  it  may  be  older 
than  that  date,  forasmuch  as  a  lot  had  already  been  selected  and  a 
meeting  house  placed  upon  it.  Also,  church  officers  had  been  elected 
and  a  pastor  called  prior  to  that  date. 

The  first  pastor  here  wa^  Rev.  Adam  Miller,  Jr.,  and  the  first 
officers  were  Lewis  Hafer,  Samuel  Bowman,  Daniel  Fry,  and  George 
Deal.  Until  1847  this  church  was  in  Burke  County,  then  the  county 
line  was  changed,  and  Friendship  was  included  in  the  newly  formed 
Alexander  County. 

The  first  "Meeting  House"  was  a  small  log  building,  with  a 
gallery  for  slaves.  The  congregation  became  a  member  of  the  Ten- 
nessee Synod,  and  their  first  lay  delegate  to  that  body  was  Michael 
Friday,   in   the   year   1835. 

On  December  22,  1858,  a  one- acre  lot,  across  the  road  from  the 
old  church,  was  purchased  on  which  to  erect  a  new  and  larger  house 
of  worship.  A  frame  building,  octagon  in  shape,  was  built  of  the  best 
of  lumber,  and  is  still  in  regular  use.  It  was  dedicated  May  21,  1859, 
by  the  Pastor,  P.  C.  Henkel.  In  1933,  their  centennial  year,  an  eight- 
room  annex  for  Sunday  School  purposes  was  added  and  new  pews  in- 
stalled. The  interior  of  the  church  was  completely  renovated  in  the 
year  1945. 

Through  the  years  Friendship  has  been  associated  in  parishes 
with  St.  Peter's,  St.  Paul's,  St.  Stephen's,  St.  Luke's,  St.  John's,  and 
Shiloh  congregations.  From  1920  to  1947  she  was  with  St.  John's  and 
Shiloh,  with  a  parsonage  jointly  owned  in  Taylorsville. 

In  1947  the  old  parsonage  was  sold  and  a  new  home  built  near 
the  church.  In  the  same  year  Rev.  C.  F.  Kyles  was  called  to  full  time 
service  in  Friendship  alone.  In  1948  a  new  Minshall  Estey  Electric 
Organ  was  installed. 

Seventy  young  men  went  out  of  Friendship  congregation  into 
World  War  II,  five  of  whom  paid  the  supreme  sacrifice.  They  were: 
Fred  C.  Fox,  Raymond  Isenhour,  Rayford  D.  Bowman,  Marvin  Stafford, 
and  Thomas  Edsel  Jenkins. 

The  congregation  has  purchased  a  passenger  bus  in  which  to 
convey  people  to  and  from  Sunday  School  and  church  services. 

List  of  Pastors: 
Adam  Miller,  Jr.,  1833-1842  Timothy  Moser,   1862-1867 

C.  G.  Reitzel,  1842-1844  J.  M.  Smith,  1867-1877 

J.  R.  Moser,  1844-1845  P.  C.  Henkel,  1877-1886 

P.  C.  Henkel,  1847-1861  D.  J.  Settlemyre,  1886-1887 


208 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 


C.  H.  Bernheim,  1887-1889 
A.  L.  Crouse,  1890-1891 
J.  P.  Miller,  1891-1893 
G.  E.  Long,  1893-1896 
A.  L.  Crouse,  1897-1905 
J.  C.  Moser,  1906-1907 
J.  A.  Yount,  1907-1909 
A.  L.  Bolick,  1909-1912 
J.  A.  Yount,  1912-1918 
J.  P.  Price,  Sup.,  1919 
J.  A.  Yount,  1920-1924 


M.  L.  Pence,  1924-1926 
E.  J.  Sox,  Sup.,  1926-1927 
C.  E.  Lutz,  1927-1931 
E.  J.  Sox,  Sup.,  1931 
L.  P.  Boland,  1932-1940 

C.  W.  Harbinson,  1940-1943 
Albert  Reiser,  S.,  1943-1944 
H.  B.  Leonard,  1944-1946 

D.  P.  Rudisill,  Sup.,  1946-47 
W.  T.  Nau.,  Sup.,  1946-1947 
C.  F.  Kyles,  1947- 


GOOD  HOPE,  HICKORY 

Good  Hope  Lutheran  Church  is  located  in  the  eastern  suburbs  of 
Hickory.  This  work  was  begun  as  a  Sunday  School  in  a  small  frame 
house  south  of  the  railroad,  near  the  Highland  Cordage  Mills. 

Ministerial  students  from  Lenoir  Rhyne  College  assisted  in  this 
work.     On  July  1,  1923,  a  congregation  was  organized  with  35  members. 

After  finishing  his  school  work,  Rev.  C.  K.  Wise,  who  had  worked 
here  as  a  student,  was  called  as  regular  pastor  of  this  mission,  1924-1932. 
During  his  pastorate  a  new  Sunday  School  building  was  erected.  This 
entailed  a  considerable  debt,  which  was  paid  off  in  yearly  installments. 
Rev.  J.  C.  Deitz,  D.D.,  who  was  pastor  here  1932-1936,  deserves  credit 
for  paying  off  the  greater  part  of  this  debt;  however,  it  was  not  paid  in 
full  until  after  Rev.  P.  L.  Miller  became  pastor. 

For  some  years  Good  Hope  was  in  a  parish  with  St.  Paul's  Church 
at  Startown,  but  on  February  20,  1944,  the  congregation  voted  to  become 
self-sustaining  June  1  that  year. 

On  December  15,  1946,  the  congregation,  under  the  leadership  of 
Pastor  Paul  L.  Miller,  voted  to  purchase  a  two-acre  lot  on  Highway  70-A 
out  of  Hickory,  at  a  cost  of  $3,700.00,  for  a  new  church.  The  old  church 
was  sold  to  the  Highland  Cordage  Company  for  $5,000.00  to  which  the 
company  added  $5,000.00  as  a  donation. 

A  consecration  service  for  the  new  site  was  held  October  21,  1947, 
by  Pastor  Miller  and  the  congregation.  Work  was  begun  on  the 
new  building  the  last  week  in  October.  The  cornerstone  was  laid  July  4. 
1948,  by  Dr.  V.  R.  Cromer,  then  President  of  Synod,  and  Pastor  Miller. 
The  building  was  completed  November  1,  1948.  The  total  cost  of 
the  church  and  furnishings  was  about  $52,000.  It  has  a  seating  capacity 
of  about  400,  with  full  basement  for  Sunday  School  and  other  needs. 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  209 

On  April  10,  1949,  a  new  Hammond  organ,  the  gift  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  A.  D. 
Ecl^ard,   was   dedicated. 

List  of  Pastors: 
Rev.  C.  K.  Wise,  Sup.,  1923-1924  Rev.  J.  C.  Deitz,  1932-1936 

Rev.  C.  K  Wise,  1924-1932  Rev.  P.  L.  Miller,  1936- 


GOOD  SHEPHERD,  BREVARD 

This  field  was  surveyed  by  the  Board  of  American  Missions  and 
was  approved  for  occupancy  the  early  part  of  1950. 

On  September  1,  1950,  Rev.  David  F.  Cooper  was  called  here  as 
mission  developer,  under  the  direction  of  the  Board  of  American  Missions. 
The  old  Presbyterian  Church  and  parsonage  has  been  purchased  for 
$26,000.00  for  which  the  Board  of  American  Missions  loaned  the  congre- 
gation $16,000.00,  and  the  Loan  and  Gift  Fund  of  the  Brotherhood 
helped  liberally  on  the  balance  needed. 

The  church  was  organized  October  21,  1951,  under  the  guidance  of 
Pastor  Cooper  and  Dr.  F.  L.  Conrad,  President  of  Synod,  with  52  members. 

List  of  Pastors: 
Rev.  David  F.  Cooper,  1950- 


GOOD  SHEPHERD,  GOLDSBORO 

Good  Shepherd  Lutheran  Church  in  Goldsboro  is  located  on  the 
corner  of  Mulberry  and  Herman  Streets. 

This  work  was  started  in  1936,  when  Rev.  W.  H.  Hiller,  a  retired 
Lutheran  minister  living  in  Goldsboro,  began  holding  services  in  the 
County  Court  House.  Due  to  impaired  health,  Pastor  Hiller  was  not 
able  to  continue  the  services  very  long.  Rev.  C.  E.  Norman  of  Raleigh 
was  requested  by  Synod  to  continue  the  work  until  more  permanent 
arrangements  could  be  made. 

In  1938  Rev.  J.  K.  Lasley  was  called  as  regular  pastor  and  took 
charge  on  June  17  that  year.  Services  were  now  held  in  the  Palace 
Funeral  Home.  The  church  was  organized,  however,  in  St.  James 
Episcopal  Church  on  March  12, 1939,  with  50  members.  Pastor  Lasley  was 
in  charge  of  the  services  and  President  J.  L.  Morgan  preached  the 
sermon. 

The  lot  for  the  church  was  purchased  July  1,  1939,  for  $2,150.00, 
on  a  fifty-fifty  basis,  by  the  mission  and  the  Synod. 


210         History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

Groundbreaking  services  were  held  on  March  25,  1940,  and  the 
completed  church  was  opened  for  services  on  September  8,  1940.  The 
cornerstone  service  was  held  in  connection  with  the  opening  program. 
These  services  were  under  the  direction  of  Pastor  Lasley,  assisted  by 
Dr.  F.  L.  Conrad,  and  President  J.  L.  Morgan.  The  building  represents 
a  cost  of  $11,500.00. 

This  was  an  instance  in  which  the  mission  congregation,  the 
Missionary  Society,  the  Brotherhood,  the  Luther  League,  and  the  Synod, 
all  cooperated  in  providing  the  money  for  the  building.  It  worked 
beautifully.  The  Board  of  American  Missions  helped  on  the  pastor's 
salary.  i    ' 

The  church  was  dedicated  October  17,  1943,  by  the  pastor  and  the 
officers  of  Synod. 

Rev.  Leroy  C.  Trexler  became  pastor  here  October  9,  1945.  Under 
his  direction  a  new  brick  parsonage  was  built  in  1946  at  a  cost  of  $8,500.00. 

Rev.  Paul  L.  Morgan  took  charge  here  December  1,  1949.  During 
his  ministry  the  debt  on  the  parsonage  was  paid  off  in  full,  and  a  new 
pipe  organ  was  purchased  and  paid  for  when  installed.  Rev.  H.  M. 
Yoder  became  pastor  August  22,  1952. 

List  of  Pastors: 

Rev.  W.  H.  Hiller,  1936-  Rev.  L.  C.  Trexler,  1945-1949 

Rev.  C.  E.  Norman,  S.,  1937-  Rev.  P.  L.  Morgan,  1949-1952 

Rev.  J.  K.  Lasley,  1938-1945  Rev.  H.  M.  Yoder,  1952- 


GOOD  SHEPHERD,  MT.  HOLLY 

The  Lutheran  Church  of  the  Good  Shepherd  is  located  in  Gaston 
County  on  South  Main  Street  in  Mt.  Holly,  N.  C. 

The  church  was  organized  in  the  spring  of  1881.  In  that  year 
a  subscription  pledge  was  signed  by  thirteen  persons  for  a  new  church. 
Probably  the  first  services  were  held  by  Rev.  J.  R.  Peterson.  Rev.  Junius 
B.  Fox  became  the  first  regular  pastor  in  August  1882  and  served  until 
January  1884,  at  which  time  Rev.  J.  R.  Peterson  took  charge  and  served 
until  March  13,  1892.  It  was  in  the  latter  part  of  1881  that  the  first 
church  building  was  erected.  This  was  a  frame  building,  located  on  a 
lot  given  by  Mr.  A.  P.  Rhyne.  This  frame  building  was  used  by  the 
different  denominations  in  the  town,  each  using  a  particular  Sunday 
for  services.  This  continued  until  1903  when  each  denomination  made 
provisions  for  its  own  work.  At  that  time  the  frame  building  was  torn 
down  to  give  place  for  the  erection  of  the  brick  building  that  is  still  in 
use  with  some  additions. 

Rev.  John  F.  Moser  served  as  pastor  from  1892  to  1897.  Rev.  W.  J. 
Boger  succeeded  him,  taking  charge  June  8,  1897,  and  served  Good  Shep- 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  211 

herd  and  Lutheran  Chapel  which  were  in  a  charge  together  until 
November  12,  1909.  In  the  year  1903,  under  the  leadership  of  Pastor 
Boger,  the  brick  church  was  built.  From  1909  until  January  1,  1913, 
Pastor  Boger  served  Good  Shepherd  as  fulltime  pastor. 

Rev.  E.  H.  Kohn,  Ph.D.,  D.D.,  was  pastor  here  from  July  1,  1913. 
until  July  31,  1946,  a  total  of  thirty-three  years.  A  parsonage  was  pur- 
chased in  1913.  In  1916  the  church  was  remodeled,  and  some  additions 
were  made  to  it,  and  art  glass  windows  and  a  pipe  organ  were  in- 
stalled. A  rededication  service  for  the  remodeled  church,  and  the 
consecration  of  the  new  equipment,  were  conducted  on  June  23,  1921, 
by  Dr.  J.  L.  Morgan,  as  President  of  Synod,  and  Dr.  E.  H.  Kohn,  pastor. 

Rev.  Carl  H.  Fisher  became  pastor  here  November  1,  1946.  In  the 
year  1948,  a  new  Sunday  School  building  with  two  auditoriums,  thirteen 
class  rooms,  a  ladies  parlor,  choir  robing  room,  and  a  kitchen  were  added 
at  a  cost  of  $45,240.00.  In  1952  the  interior  of  the  church  was  re- 
decorated and  new  carpet  put  down,  altar,  pulpit,  lectern,  baptismal 
font,  pews,  and  lighting  fixtures  installed,  and  other  improvements 
made,  all  at  a  cost  of  $14,620.00.  These  improvements  add  greatly  to 
the  appearance  and  serviceableness  of  the  church  building. 

List  of  Pastors: 
J.  B.  Fox,  1882-1884  W.  J.  Boger,  1897-1913 

J.  R.  Peterson,  1884-1892  E.  H.  Kohn,  1913-1946 

J.  F.  Moser,  1892-1897  C.  H.  Fisher,  1946- 


GRACE,  BESSEMER  CITY 

Grace  Lutheran  Church  in  Bessemer  City,  Gaston  County,  N.  C. 
is  located  on  the  corner  of  Maryland  Avenue  and  North  Fourteenth 
Street. 

The  church  was  organized  with  19  members,  in  the  year  1903,  by 
Rev.  C.  I.  Morgan.  The  first  church  was  located  on  the  corner  of  Wash- 
ington Avenue  and  Eleventh  Street,  where  a  lot  was  purchased,  and  in 
1904  a  frame  church,  30  x  56  feet,  was  built  at  an  approximate  cost 
of  $1,000.00.  Sunday  School  rooms  were  added  in  1939,  while  Rev.  G.  W. 
McClanahan  was  pastor  there.  From  its  organization  up  until  1926  this 
church  was  in  pastoral  connection  with  Holy  Trinity  Church  in  Gastonia, 
except  for  two  years  when  it  was  with  Lutheran  Chapel.  It  was  then 
with  Shelby  for  twelve  years,  but  in  1938  this  congregation  called  a 
pastor  for  fulltime  work  in  that  one  congregation. 

The  pasonage  was  built  while  Rev.  N.  D.  Yount  was  pastor,  about 
1926. 

For  a  few  years,  plans  were  in  the  making  for  a  new  church,  so  in 
1949  a  new  location  was  secured  and  on  November  26,  1950,  the  corner- 
stone of  the  new  brick  house  of  worship  was  laid.  The  service  was 
by  President  F.  L.  Conrad  and  the  pastor,  Rev.  J.  Paul  Rimmer.     The 


212  History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

church  was  completed  and  on  November  5,  1951,  was  opened  for  divine 
services.    The  building  and  furnishings  cost  $65,000.00. 

List  of  Pastors: 
C.  I.  Morgan,  1903-1905  J.  L.  Yost,  1923-1924 

John  Hall,  1906-1912  N.  D.  Yount,  1925-1937 

M.  A.  Ashby,  1912-  G.  W.  McClanahan,  1938-1947 

L.  L.  Huffman,  1913-1914  J.  P.   Rimmer,   1948-1952 

J.  C.  Dietz,  1915-1923  H.  P.  Barringer,  1952- 

GRACE  LUTHERAN  CHURCH,  BOONE 

Grace  Lutheran  Church  is  located  in  the  town  of  Boone,  the  County 
Seat  of  Watauga  County,  at  the  intersection  of  the  Blowing  Rock  and 
Boone  Highways.  The  history  of  this  congregation  dates  back  several 
years  prior  to  the  organization  of  the  congregation,  during  which  time 
services  were  held  at  different  places  in  the  town.  The  congregation 
was  formally  organized  in  1925  by  Rev.  H.  W.  Jeffcoat,  who  was  then 
pastor  of  the  Watauga  Mission,  under  the  direction  of  President  J.  L. 
Morgan,  with  twenty -six  members. 

A  lot  for  a  church  was  purchased  here  several  years  prior  to 
the  organization  of  a  church,  by  a  number  of  interested  Lutheran 
laymen  in  Kings  Mountain  and  in  Cherryville,  who  held  the  property 
until  it  was  needed.  This  lot  was,  however,  taken  over  by  the  city 
for  public  school  purposes  at  a  consideration  of  $2,000.00.  A  second  lot 
was  purchased  with  the  proceeds  from  the  sale  of  the  first  one,  one 
block  back  of  the  Boone  Hotel,  but  it  was  later  disposed  of,  and  the 
money  for  it  was  used  to  pay  for  the  lot  the  church  now  owns.  The 
present  lot  was  purchased  about  1927,  when  the  Synod  advanced  the 
money  for  it,  until  the  congregation  could  sell  the  one  near  the  hotel. 

With  the  generous  help  of  the  Women  of  the  United  Lutheran 
Church  in  the  sum  of  $13,000.00,  the  congregation  managed  to  erect  its 
brick  church  and  parsonage,  for  which  both  labor  and  material,  as  well 
as  money,  were  donated,  by  members  and  interested  friends. 

The  cornerstone  of  the  church  was  laid  on  Thanksgiving  Day,  1928, 
by  the  pastor.  Rev.  J.  A.  Yount,  and  Dr.  H.  B.  Schaeffer  preached  the 
sermon  for  the  occasion.  The  completed  building  was  opened  for 
divine  services  on  May  26,  1929,  and  was  dedicated  the  same  day  by 
Dr.  J.  L.  Morgan,  President  of  Synod.  Pastor  Yount  was  in  charge  of 
the  liturgical  services,  and  Rev.  F.  F.  Fry,  D.D.,  then  Executive  Secretary 
of  the  Board  of  American  Missions,  preached  the  sermon.  The  parsonage 
is  located  on  a  part  of  the  church  lot. 

This  congregation  has  enjoyed  splendid  growth  under  the  pastoral 
leadership  of  Rev.  E.  F.  Troutman,  and  will  have  the  full  time  of 
its  pastor  by  1953,  who  also  serves  as  student  pastor  in  Appalachian 
Training  School  in  Boone. 

List  of  Pastors: 

Rev.  H.  W.  Jeffcoat,  1925-1926  Rev.  E.  F.  Troutman,  1938- 

Rev.  J.  A.  Yount,  1926-1937 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  213 


GRACE  CHURCH,  CATAWBA  COUNTY 

Grace  Church  is  located  in  Catawba  County,  about  eight  miles 
west  of  Newton.  German  families  settled  in  that  section  in  consider- 
able numbers  prior  to  and  following  the  Revolutionary  War,  but  they 
had  no  church.  Then,  on  January  14,  1797,  Samuel  Jarrett,  a  Lutheran, 
sold  three  acres  of  land  to  John  Yoder  and  John  Hoffner,  trustees,  for  the 
Lutheran  and  Reformed  congregations  for  church  purposes  for  $8.00. 

The  congregation  was  organized  that  same  year,  by  Rev.  J.  G. 
Arends,  or  it  could  have  been  organized  earlier,  for  as  much  as  trustees 
were   elected   already   for  the   two   congregations. 

The  first  house  of  worship  was  a  two-story  log  building  24x30 
feet  in  dimensions.  The  walls  were  put  up  and  a  roof  put  over  it  in 
1797  and  it  was  used  that  way  for  about  two  years  before  it  was 
completed. 

The  second  building  was  of  brick,  which  was  built  in  the  year 
1858,  during  the  pastoral  leadership  of  Rev.  A.  J.  Fox,  at  a  cost  of 
$1,400.00.  This,  like  the  log  church,  was  jointly  owned  and  used  by 
both  Lutheran  and  Reformed  congregations.  This  church  was  used 
jointly  until  1941,  when,  under  the  leadership  of  Rev.  B.  S.  Brown,  Jr., 
the  two  groups  mutually  agreed  that  each  should  have  its  own  fulltime 
house  of  worship.  The  Reformed  brethren  received  the  old  church,  and 
the  Lutherans  accepted  vacant  land  across  the  highway  as  their  part. 
The  graveyard  is  held  jointly  by  both  congregations. 

In  1941  the  Lutheran  congregation,  with  Rev.  B.  S.  Brown,  Jr.. 
pastor,  began  to  build  a  new  brick  church  with  basement,  and  all 
modern  equipment  was  installed.  The  church  was  completed  in  1942, 
and  on  Easter  of  that  year  the  first  service  was  held  in  it.  It  was  dedicated, 
free  of  debt,  June  6,  1943.  On  March  7,  1948,  this  building  was  totally 
destroyed  by  fire.  But  the  congregation,  guided  by  Pastor  Hoke  Ritchie, 
set  to  work  building  a  new  church  the  same  year,  which  was  completed 
in  1950.  The  new  building  is  similar  to  the  one  that  burned,  with  some 
additions.  On  September  16,  1951,  the  cornerstone  was  formally  laid, 
and  the  church  dedicated. 

Grace  Church  was  first  served  by  Rev.  J.  G.  Arends,  from  about 
1797  to  1807,  as  often  as  he  could  do  so.  Following  Rev.  Arends,  Rev. 
Philip  Henkel  served  the  church  for  some  years.  However,  for  many 
years  up  to  about  1827,  only  occasional  services  were  held  for  lack 
of  a  preacher.  Then,  about  1827,  Rev.  Henry  Graeber,  of  the  North 
Carolina  Synod,  came  and  effected  a  reorganized  group  of  a  small  num- 
ber which  he  served  for  a  few  years,  but  when  he  left  they  were  again 
without  a  pastor,  which  was  discouraging.  Many  of  them  moved  to 
other  Lutheran  congregations.  Then  about  1835  Rev.  Adam  Miller,  Jr., 
of  the  Tennessee  Synod,  was  called,  who  revived  the  congregation 
and  served  it  until  about  1846,  when  he  left  the  Tennessee  Synod.  How- 
ever, the  congregation  remained  in  the  Synod. 

Grace  congregation  was  for  many  years  in  a  parish  with  Daniel's 
Church,  but  during  a  period  of  vacancy  in  1952,  the  two  churches  decided 


214  History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

that  each  should  have  a  fulltime  pastor.  So  Grace  congregation  built 
a  nice  eight-room  parsonage  on  their  church  lot,  and  called  Rev.  H.  L. 
Gruber  as  their  first  fulltime  minister. 

List  of  Pastors: 

J.  G.  Arends,  1785-1807  M.  L.  Pence,  1896-1899 

Philip  Henkel,  Asst,  1805-1807  J.  P.  Price,  1900-1906 

Philip  Henkel,  1808-1814  L.  L.  Lohr,  1908-1923 

Henry  Goodman,  1827-1831  R.   M.   Carpenter,   1923-1925 

Adam  Miller,  Jr.,  1835-1846  W.  H.  Roof,  1925-1939 

P.  C.  Henkel,  1847-1854  B.  S.  Brown,  Jr.,  1939-1946 

A.  J.  Fox,  1855-1884  John  Hall,  Sup.,  1946 

R.  a.  Yoder,  1884-1895  H.  H.  Ritchie,  1946-1951 

E.  J.  Sox,  1895-1896  H.  L.  Gruber,  1952- 


GRACE.  HENDERSONVILLE 

Grace  Lutheran  Church  in  Hendersonville  is  located  at  the  corner  of 
Seventh  Avenue  and  Church  Street. 

Rev.  J.  H.  Wannemacher,  chairman  of  the  Mission  Committee  of  the 
Tennessee  Synod,  visited  Hendersonville  in  1914  and  inquired  as  to  the 
needs  for  a  Lutheran  Church  there.  A  small  number  of  Lutherans  were 
found,  and  occasional  services  were  thereafter  held  by  visiting  ministers, 
among  whom  were  Rev.  M.  L.  Stirewalt,  Student  M.  M.  Kipps,  Student 
Muller  Wingard,  and  others.  Rev.  F.  G.  Morgan  was  in  charge  of  the 
mission  during  part  of  the  time  in  1915-1916.  Dr.  C.  L.  Miller  supplied 
them   for   a   while   in   1916. 

It  appears  that  the  church  was  formally  organized  on  September  3, 
1916,  with  fifteen  members  by  Rev.  R.  S.  Patterson,  Superintendent  of 
Home  Missions  in  the  United  Synod,  South.  Due  to  war  conditions  affect- 
ing our  country,  and  a  shortage  of  available  ministers,  the  next  four 
years  turned  out  to  be  a  period  of  waiting  with  intermittent  supply 
preaching  in  various  buildings,  the  last  place  being  the  high  school 
building. 

At  long  last,  a  regular  resident  pastor  was  secured  in  the  person  of 
Rev.  J.  D.  Mauney,  April  1921,  who  found  a  congregation  of  fourteen 
members  to  welcome  his  coming. 

With  the  assistance  of  friends,  a  lot  was  purchased  on  August  8, 
1921,  at  a  cost  of  $5,000.00,  and  a  building  fund  amounting  to  $25,000.00 
or  more  was  donated  by  the  Mauney  family  —  in  memory  of  David  and 
Fannie  Mauney  —  and  soon  a  new  brick  church  was  under  construction. 
The  cornerstone  was  laid  on  August  17,  1924,  by  President  J.  L.  Morgan, 
assisted  by  Rev.  E.  Fulenwider,  D.D.,  Rev.  W.  H.  Greever,  D.D.,  and  Pastor 
J.  D.  Mauney.  Money  for  the  art  windows  in  the  church  was  given  by 
Pastor  Mauney's  father,  Mr.  Jacob  Mauney,  of  Kings  Mountain,  N.  C. 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  215 

Pastor  Mauney  resigned  May  31,  1928,  and  for  a  year  or  more  the 
church  was  supplied  by  Student  John  F.  Futchs  and  others. 

Rev.  A.  W.  Lippard  served  the  congregation  1929-1937,  during  which 
time  good  progress  was  made,  both  in  the  organized  work  and  in  the 
building  improvements.  During  Rev.  J.  A.  Linn's  pastorate  improve- 
ments were  made  on  the  basement  and  the  balance  of  the  debt  on  the 
church  was  paid  off,  and  the  church  dedicated  August  22,  1943,  by  Pastor 
Linn  and  the  President  of  Synod. 

In  1949,  while  Rev.  W.  F.  Hook  was  pastor,  the  basement  was 
redesigned  and  newly  equipped  for  educational  purposes.  The  debt  for 
this  educational  unit  is  about  paid  off.  An  attractive  sign  for  the  front 
lawn  has  been  purchased. 

List  of  Pastors: 

J.  H.  Wannemacher  and  R.  S.           J.  F.  Futchs,  Sup.,  1928- 

Patterson,  Sup.,  1914-1915  A.  W.  Lippard,  1929-1937 

M.  L.  Stirewalt,  Sup.,  1915-  J.  A.  Linn,  1938-1946 

M.  M.  Kipps,  Sup.,  1915-  J.  D.  Barringer,  1946-1948 

F.  G.  Morgan,  Sup.,  1916-  W.  F.  Hook,  1949-1951 

C.  L.  Miller,  Sup.,  1916-  J.  D.  Lindler,  1952- 
J.  D.  Mauney,  1921-1928 


GRACE,  LIBERTY 

Grace  Lutheran  Church  is  located  in  the  town  of  Liberty,  in 
Randolph  County.  Attention  was  directed  to  this  field  for  a  Lutheran 
Church  at  a  meeting  of  the  Northern  Conference  in  Peace  Church,  in 
August  1909.  As  a  result  of  this  report.  Rev.  J.  L.  Morgan,  synodical 
missionary,  was  authorized  to  visit  Liberty  and  investigate  the  situation, 
which  he  did  January  16,  1910.  A  service  was  held  in  the  M.  E.  Church 
and  J.  S.  Patterson,  J.  Rom  Smith,  and  David  Moser  were  appointed  as 
an  advisory  committee  in  the  matter.  Some  twenty  or  more  Lutherans 
were  found  in  Liberty  at  that  time. 

On  April  2,  1911,  Pastor  Morgan  again  visited  this  field  and  con- 
ducted services.  At  this  meeting  it  was  arranged  for  this  work  to  be 
associated  in  a  parish  with  Raleigh.  On  July  30,  1911,  a  congregation 
was  organized  by  Pastor  Morgan  in  the  Methodist  Protestant  Church 
with  ten  names  then  enrolled. 

On  April  28,  1912,  a  lot  was  purchased  on  the  corner  of  Greens- 
boro and  Graham  Streets,  for  $400.00,  and  plans  were  worked  out  for 
a  church  building.  Brick  work  was  begun  November  8,  1915,  and  by 
the  end  of  January  1916,  the  building  was  under  roof,  and  by  the  end 
of  August  that  year  it  was  practically  completed,  but  there  was  a  delay 
in  shipment  of  pews.  Services  were  first  held  in  the  church  October  1, 
1916,  when  a  Sunday  School  was  organized  with  thirty-seven  in  at- 
tendance.    Mr.  L.  H.  Smith,  Jr.,  was  chosen  superintendent. 


216  History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

About  this  time  Pastor  Morgan  was  called  to  devote  his  full  time 
to  the  new  church  in  Raleigh,  so  Rev.  H.  W.  Jeffcoat  was  secured  to 
carry  on  the  work  at  Liberty  in  connection  with  his  parish  obligations 
at  Richland  and  other  neighboring  congregations. 

In  the  fall  of  1921,  following  the  merger  of  the  two  Synods,  Grace, 
Melanchthon,  and  Richland  congregations  formed  the  Randolph  parish. 
Rev.  B.  A.  Barringer  was  called  as  their  first  pastor  and  began  his 
services  June  1,  1922.  Early  in  1950  Grace  congregation  withdrew 
from  the  parish  in  order  to  have  a  fulltime  pastor  of  her  own.  Rev. 
Harold  M.  Yoder  was  called  to  Grace  Church  alone  in  1950.  However, 
the  Grace  pastor  cooperated  with  Melanchthon  and  Richland  in  special 
services  and  in  pastoral  visits. 

In  the  year  1929,  during  the  pastorate  of  Rev.  Q.  O.  Lyerly,  a  new 
brick  parsonage  was  built  by  the  Liberty  or  Grace  congregation,  at  a 
cost  of  $3,500.00.  Within  the  past  few  years,  their  church  has  been 
redecorated  and  a  number  of  appropriate  interior  improvements  added, 
which  give  it  a  worshipful  atmosphere.  A  new  brick  educational 
unit  was  added  to  the  church  building  in  1951. 

List  of  Pastors: 

J.  L.  Morgan,  1911-1916  E.  A.  Schenk,  Sup.,  1937- 

H.  W.  Jeffcoat,  1916-1920  C.  H.  Fisher,  1937-1939 

B.  A.  Barringer,  Sup.,  1920-192^  E.  A.  Shenk,  1939-1941 

B.   A.   Barringer,   1922-1926  J.  C.  Dickert,  1941-1946 

P.  G.  Kinney,  Sup.,  1926-  J.  R.  Boggs,  1946-1948 

F.  P.  Cauble,  Sup.,  1927-  R.  B.  Sigmon,  1949-1950 

Q.  O.  Lyerly,  1928-1936  H.  M.  Yoder,  1950-1952 

W.   D.  Yount,   1936-1937  J.  K.  Linn,  1952- 


GRACE  LUTHERAN  CHURCH.  ROWAN  COUNTY 

Grace  Lutheran  Church  in  Rowan  County,  is  located  seven  miles 
southwest  of  Salisbury  and  three  miles  north  of  China  Grove.  This 
church  was  organized  on  the  second  Sunday  in  May,  1880,  with  twenty- 
two  members  by  Rev.  V.  R.  Stickley  and  Rev.  J.  B.  Davis,  D.D.  The 
organization  meeting  was  held  in  an  old  building  near  Wilhelm's 
graveyard.  The  name  chosen  for  the  new  congregation  was  Grace 
Evangelical  Lutheran  Church.  Officers  elected  were:  J.  C.  Bernhardt 
and  William  Lentz,  as  elders;  William  Smith  and  Elijah  Miller,  as 
deacons;  and  Capt.  J.  A.  Fisher,  as  secretary-treasurer. 

Their  first  house  of  worship  was  a  frame  structure,  35  x  60  feet 
in  dimensions.  The  cornerstone  for  this  building  was  laid  on  August 
25,  1880,  by  Rev.  W.  A.  Lutz.  Most  of  the  material  for  the  framing 
was  donated  by  different  friends  of  the  new  congregation.  The  building 
was  completed  without  delay,  and  was  dedicated  on  April  24,  1881,  by 
Rev.  V.  R.  Stickley,  Rev.  J.  A.  Linn,  and  Rev.  W.  A.  Lutz.    This  building 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  217 

was  remodeled,  first  in  1923,  and  again  in  1929  when  Sunday  School 
class  rooms  were  added  under  the  pastoral  supervision  of  Rev.  C.  A. 
Brown. 

This  building  was  destroyed  by  fire  on  Sunday,  March  30,  1947, 
but  the  congregation  at  once  set  itself  to  the  task  of  rebuilding.  Labor 
and  materials,  as  well  as  money,  were  freely  given  by  the  members  of 
the  congregation,  so  that  the  new  church  was  soon  completed.  This 
is  a  beautiful  brick  church,  which  is  fitted  out  with  modern  equipment 
for  Sunday  School  and  other  church  activities.  The  cost  of  the  building 
was  around  $60,000.00,  including  a  part  of  the  equipment.  A  consider- 
able amount  of  labor  and  material  were  given  without  charge,  by 
members  of  the  congregation. 

The  church  was  dedicated,  free  of  debt,  on  Sunday,  November  5, 
1949,  by  President  F.  L.  Conrad,  D.D.,  and  their  pastor,  the  Rev.  C.  S. 
King. 

Back  in  1939  a  choice  lot  was  donated  by  Mr.  A.  M.  Miller,  one 
of  the  members  of  the  congregation,  on  which  a  brick  parsonage  was 
built  soon  thereafter,  about  which  time  the  congregation  decided  to 
have  a  fulltime  pastor. 

List  of  Pastors: 

V.  R.  Stickley,  1880-1882  R.  T.  Troutman,  1918-1921 

J.  D.  Shirey,  1882-1887  J.  Arthur  Linn,  Sup.,  1921- 

D.  A.  Sox,  1887-1888  C.  M.  Fox,  Sup.,  1922- 

C.  A.  Brown,  Sup.,  1888-  C.  P.  Fisher,  Sup.,  1922- 

Whitson  Kimball,  1889-1892  W.  G.  Cobb,  1922-1923 

C.  A.  Brown,  1892-1894  C.  P.  Fisher,  Sup.,  1923-1925 

V.  Y.  Boozer,  1894-1895  C.  A.  Brown,  1925-1932 

H.  N.  Miller,  1895-1897  •  C.  F.  Kyles,  1932-1940 

H.  A.  Trexler,  1897-1907  C.  E.  Lutz,  1940-1949 

B.  S.  Brown,  Sr.,  1908-1911  C.  S.  King,  1949-1951 

O.  W.  Aderholdt,  1911-1912  J.  E.  Walker,  1951- 

G.  O.  Ritchie,  1913-1918 


GRACE.  THOMASVILLE 

Grace  Lutheran  Church  in  Thomasville  is  located  on  the  corner 
of  Salem  and  Guilford   Streets  in  the  central   part  of  the  city. 

Services  were  held  here  occasionally  by  visiting  ministers  for  a 
few  years  before  the  work  was  formally  organized. 

Rev.  V.  Y.  Boozer,  D.D.,  organized  the  congregation  on  November 
5,  1911,  while  he  was  pastor  of  the  church  in  Lexington.  There  were  28 
names  enrolled  at  that  service,  which  was  held  in  the  Reformed  Church. 

Rev.  J.  B.  Moose  was  the  first  regular  pastor,  who  took  charge  of 
the  work  in  1917,  and  served  the  mission  about  one  year.  On  September 
15,  1918,  Rev.   N.   D.   Bodie  was  called  by  Synod   as  Field   Missionary, 


218         History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

with  headquarters  in  Thomasville,  with  a  view  to  developing  that  mission. 
Then,  on  May  19,  1919,  he  was  called  as  regular  pastor  of  Grace  Church 
in  Thomasville. 

On  this  same  date  the  mission  congregation  and  the  Executive 
Committee  of  Synod  purchased  from  Dr.  J.  M.  Peacock  the  lot  we  now 
have  on  the  corner  of  Salem  and  Guilford  Streets.  Soon  thereafter  work 
on  the  construction  of  the  new  building  was  under  way,  and  the  build- 
ing was  opened  for  divine  services  on  July  2,  1922.  Guest  speakers  were 
Dr.  A.  D.  R.  Hancher,  Dr.  M.  L.  Stirewalt,  and  the  President  of  Synod, 
along  with  the  pastor,  Rev.  N.  D.  Bodie.  The  cornerstone  for  this 
building  seems  not  to  have  been  laid  until  April  8,  1923.  The  church 
was  dedicated  on  November  27,  1927,  by  Rev.  G.  O.  Ritchie,  who  was 
then  pastor  there,  and  President  Morgan. 

A  large  brick  parsonage  was  built  near  the  church  in  1930,  under 
the  pastoral  direction  of  Rev.  G.  O.  Ritchie  at  a  cost  of  $6,500.00.  Then, 
in  May  1937,  a  vacant  lot  was  purchased  on  Salem  Street  for  $3,500.00 
for  recreational  and  future  needs.  About  this  same  time  new  chancel 
funiture  was  installed  in  the  church,  and  other  improvements  were  made, 
including  a  new  organ.  Rev.  C.  R.  Patterson,  pastor. 

Under  the  guidance  of  the  present  pastor,  Rev.  C.  S.  Wessinger, 
on  August  15,  1950,  a  new  house  and  lot  were  purchased  for  a  parsonage, 
and  the  old  parsonage  was  converted  into  an  Educational  plant.  The 
new  parsonage  cost  $15,500.00.  A  series  of  15  stained  glass  windows  were 
installed  in  the  church  during  1952. 

List  of  Pastors: 

V.  Y.  Boozer,  Sup.,  1911-1915  G.  O.  Ritchie,  1926-1937 

P.  D.  Brown,  Sup.,  1916-1917  E.  F.  Troutman,  1937-1938 

P.  J.  Bame,  Sup.,  1917-  G.  D.  Conrad,  Sup.,  1938- 

J.  B.  Moose,  1917-1918  C.  R.  Patterson,  1938-1947 

N.  D.  Bodie,  1918-1926  C.  L.  Miller,  Sup.,  1947 

C.  R.  Ritchie,  Sup.,  1926-  C.  S.  Wessinger,  1947- 


HAVEN,  SALISBURY 

Haven  Church  is  located  on  West  Harrison  Street  in  what  used  to 
be  called  Chestnut  Hill,  Salisbury.  This  church  was  begun  in  1898, 
when  some  of  the  Lutheran  families  then  living  in  that  vicinity  started 
a  Sunday  School  there.  During  that  fall  and  winter  occasional  preach- 
ing services  were  held  by  Rev.  W.  A.  Julian,  who  was  then  pastor  at 
Christ  Church,  Spencer. 

The  church  was  organized  on  August  13,  1899,  under  the  pastoral 
direction  of  Rev.  Julian.  The  name  first  chosen  was  Mt.  Zion.  Rev. 
Julian  resigned  soon  after  the  church  was  organized,  and  Rev.  H.  W. 
Jeffcoat  was  called. 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  219 

The  first  church  was  a  frame  building  and  was  started  in  1900 
and  completed  in  1901.  The  cornerstone  was  laid  on  January  20,  1901 
by  Rev.  C.  B.  Miller,  President  of  Synod,  and  Pastor  Jeffcoat.  At  that 
time  the  name  was  changed  to  Haven  Lutheran  Church.  Rev.  Jeffcoat 
was  succeeded  as  pastor  by  Rev.  J.  L.  Morgan  in  1902. 

The  second  building  was  a  brick  structure,  with  full  basement  for 
Sunday  School  work.  The  cornerstone  for  it  was  laid  May  19,  1919  by 
the  pastor.  Rev.  G.  H.  L.  Lingle,  and  Rev.  J.  L.  Morgan,  President  of 
Synod.  The  building  was  completed  in  1920  and  was  opened  for  a  sunrise 
service  on  Easter  morning.  The  cost  was  around  $22,000.00.  A  frame 
parsonage  was  built  by  the  side  of  the  first  church,  about  1904,  but 
this  was  removed  when  the  brick  church  was  built  and  a  new  brick 
parsonage  constructed  on  a  lot  purchased  for  that  purpose. 

Two  major  developments  were  carried  out  by  Haven  Church 
during  Rev.  C.  A.  Phillips'  pastorate:  First,  an  Educational  Building 
was  constructed  in  1939,  which  was  opened  for  use  August  13 — their 
40th  anniversary.  Secondly,  the  church  was  remodeled  and  enlarged 
in  1949.  A  beautiful  chancel  was  built,  the  interior  of  the  church 
refinished,  and  the  front  of  the  building  redesigned.  A  new  corner- 
stone was  laid  August  17,  by  President  F.  L.  Conrad,  Pastor  Phillips, 
Dr.  J.  L.  Morgan,  and  Mr.  H.  E.  Isenhour,  chairman  of  the  committee. 
The  church  was  reopened  for  services  August  14 — their  50th  anniversary. 
Dr.  A.  K.  Hewitt  accepted  a  call  as  pastor  here  September  1,  1950. 

List  of  Pastors: 

W.  A.  Julian,  1899-1900  M.  L.  Kester,  1912-1913 

H.  W.  Jeffcoat,  1900-1901  G.  H.  L.  Lingle,  1914-1922 

J.  L.  Morgan,  1902-1903  G.  H.  Cooper,  1923-1926 

E.  P.  Conrad,  Sup.,  1903  B.  J.  Wessinger,  1927-1933 

C.  L.  Miller,  1904-1905  C.  A.  Phillips,  1933-1949 

C.  I.  Morgan,  1905-1911  A.  K.  Hewitt,  1950- 


HOLLY  GROVE,  DAVIDSON  COUNTY 

Holly  Grove  Church,  organized  by  Rev.  W.  P.  Cline  in  1885,  is 
located  in  Davidson  County,  four  miles  east  of  Lexington.  The  first 
building,  a  frame  structure  30  x  50  two  stories,  was  erected  in  1888.  The 
upper  story  was  used  as  a  nave  and  for  school  purposes.  The  first 
floor  was  divided  into  two  school  rooms. 

The  school,  founded  by  Rev.  W.  P.  Cline  with  Peter  Kepley,  Peter 
Younts,  Henry  Conrad  and  Haley  Myers  collaborating,  was  known  as 
Holly  Grove  Academy,  and  was  directed  by  the  pastor,  from  its  beginning 
in  1888.  Many  ministers  as  well  as  laymen  and  women  caught  the  thirst 
for  learning  at  Holly  Grove  Academy. 

The  second  church  building  is  a  brick  structure,  erected  in  1914 
while  Rev.  J.  M.  Senter  was  pastor.  It  is  a  splendid  building  with  seating 
capacity  for   around   350  people.     A  Sunday  School   annex  was   added 


220         History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

in  1940,  while  Rev.  Roy  L.  Fislier  was  pastor.  The  Holly  Grove  Parish 
built  a  frame  parsonage  in  1886,  on  a  lot  just  across  the  road  from  the 
Holly  Grove  Church.  This  was  replaced  by  a  large  brick  building  in 
1926,  under  Rev.  R.  B.  Sigmon's  leadership.  A  heating  system  was  in- 
stalled in  it  in  1951.  This  congregation  was  for  many  years  in  a 
parish  with  Beck's,  New  Jerusalem,  and  Lebanon,  but  it  is  now  with 
New  Jerusalem  only. 

The  Tennessee  Synod  met  in  Holly  Grove  Church  in  1888,  at  which 
time  the  building  was  dedicated. 

List  of  Pastors: 

W.  P.  Cline,  1885-1893  J.  F.  Deal,  1910-1911 

Jacob  Wike,  1893-1894  J.  M.  Senter,  1911-1918 

A.  R.  Beck,  1894-1896  R.  B.  Sigmon,  1919-1928 

Vacant,  1897-  R.  L.  Fisher,  1928-1942 

C.  L.  Miller,  1898-1903  C.  F.  Kyles,  1942-1947 

W.  P.  Cline,  1904-1905  C.  L.  Miller,  Sup.,  1948 

A.  L.  Bolick,  1906-1909  L.  O.  Roof,  1948- 


HOLY  COMFORTER,  BELMONT 

The  Lutheran  Church  of  the  Holy  Comforter  is  located  in  the  town 
of  Belmont,  in  Gaston  County,  N.  C. 

Services  were  first  held  in  this  place,  looking  to  the  establishment 
of  a  Lutheran  Church  by  Rev.  W.  J.  Boger,  D.D.,  then  pastor  at  Mt.  Holly, 
from  1910  to  1913.  Services  were  first  held  in  the  Presbyterian  Church 
and  then  in  a  school  building. 

Rev.  E.  H.  Kohn,  D.D.,  Ph.D.,  succeeded  Dr.  Boger  as  pastor.  A  lot 
for  the  church  was  given  by  the  Majestic  Mill  Company.  The  church 
was  organized  January  16,  1917,  by  Rev.  E.  H.  Kohn  as  pastor;  however, 
the  name  by  which  it  is  now  known  was  not  adopted  until  the  following 
December  9. 

Ground  was  broken  for  the  church  building  November  20,  1917, 
and  the  cornerstone  was  laid  April  15,  1918,  both  of  these  services  were 
in  charge  of  Pastor  Kohn.  The  first  service  was  held  in  the  new  church 
on  July  14,  1918.  This  work  was  carried  on  by  Dr.  E.  H.  Kohn  for  a 
number  of  years,  with  some  assistance  by  students  during  the  summer 
months.  The  church  was  dedicated  on  October  23,  1923,  by  Dr.  Kohn 
and  the  President  of  Synod. 

Dr.  E.  C.  Cooper  was  in  charge  of  this  work  as  field  missionary 
from  1927  to  1929.  The  parsonage  was  built  while  Rev.  R.  F.  Shelby 
was  the  pastor  in  1938. 

List  of  Pastors: 
W.  J.  Boger,  1910-1912  Student  J.  L.  Norris,  1924 

E.  H.  Kohn,  1912-1927  Student  E.  F.  Troutman,  1925 

Student  J.  E.  Stockman,  1921  Student  W.  J.  Moretz,  1926 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  221 

E.  C.  Cooper,  1927-1929  B.  L.  Trexler,  1941-1943 

Student  M.  R.  Farris,  1929-1930  R.  H.  Kepley,  1943-1949 

M.  R.  Farris,  1931-1936  F.  L.  Conrad,  Jr.,  1949-1950 

R.  F.  Shelby,  1936-1941  H.  H.  Robinson,  Jr.,  1951- 


HOLY  COMMUNION,  DALLAS 

Holy  Communion  Church  is  located  in  Dallas,  N.  C,  in  Gaston 
County. 

The  church  was  organized  in  November  1885,  with  nineteen  mem- 
bers, by  Rev.  M.  L.  Little.  Following  Rev.  Little,  Rev.  Jacob  Steck  of 
Maryland  supplied  the  newly  organized  congregation  for  about  six 
months.  The  new  organization  was  called  the  College  Chapel  Church, 
but  when  the  church  was  built,  the  name  was  changed  to  Holy  Com- 
munion. This  congregation  entertained  the  annual  convention  of  the 
Tennessee  Synod  in  1886. 

After  Rev.  W.  A.  Deaton  became  pastor,  work  was  started  on 
the  new  church,  which  was  built  of  handmade  brick  and  was  erected  at 
a  cost  of  $3,150.88.  This  low  cost  was  due  to  the  sacrificial  labors  of 
both  pastor  and  people  which  went  into  the  building  of  this  church.  A 
lot  had  been  given  by  the  town  of  Dallas,  as  it  did  for  other  churches, 
and  by  October  8,  1905,  the  building  was  opened  for  services. 

In  1906  the  United  Synod  in  the  South  met  in  this  church,  and 
it  was  counted  a  fine  meeting.  A  pipe  organ  was  installed  in  1917, 
which  was  in  part  a  gift  from  the  Carnegie  Foundation. 

A  Sunday  School  building  was  constructed  as  an  annex  to  the 
church  in  1924,  while  Rev.  C.  N.  Yount  was  pastor.  In  1948  a  new  brick 
parsonage  was  constructed,  under  the  leadership  of  Rev.  C.  E.  Riden- 
hour  at  a  cost  of  $20,000.00. 

At  the  present  time  plans  have  been  made  and  funds  are  being 
raised  for  a  new  building  to  be  added  for  worship  services,  at  a  cost  of 
approximately  $100,000.00. 

List  of  Pastors: 

Rev.  Jacob  Steck,  Sup.,  1885-1886  Rev.  P.  D.  Risinger,  1907-1911 

Rev.  M.  L.  Little  and  Rev.  L.  A.  Rev.  A.  R.  Beck,  1912-1917 

Bikle,  Sup.,  1886-1891  Rev.  C.  E.  Fritz,  1917-1919 

Rev.  J.  R.  Peterson,  1891-1892  Rev.  C.  N.  Yount,  1919-1925 

Rev.  S.  S.  Rahn,  1892-1893  Student  L.  E.  Blackwelder,  1925 

Rev.  J.  R.  Peterson,  1893-1897  Rev.  D.  P.  Rudisill,  1925-1931 

Rev.  H.  J.  Mathias,  Sup.,  1897-  Rev.  J.  J.  Bickley,  1932-1944 

Rev.  W.  A.  Deaton,  1897-1906  Rev.  C.  E.  Ridenhour,  1945- 


222  History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

holy  communion,  watauga  county 

Holy  Communion  Church  in  Watauga  County  is  located  on  Clark's 
Creek  Mountain,  two  miles  south  from  Valle  Crucis.  The  original 
location,  however,  was  near  Valle  Crucis. 

We  are  not  certain  when  this  church  was  first  started.  In  the 
"History  of  Watauga  County,"  by  John  Preston  Arthur,  page  112,  speaking 
of  the  Lutheran  church  says:  "One  was  established  at  Valle  Crucis  before 
Bishop  Ives  arrived  in  1842." 

The  Valle  Crucis  building  was  of  logs  and  stood  on  the  left  of  the 
road  going  from  Mast's  store  toward  the  Mission  School,  opposite  from 
the  site  of  the  Methodist  Church.  This  property  was  sold,  after  many 
years,  and  the  present  location  up  on  the  mountain  was  purchased 
instead  thereof. 

The  second  building  was  a  frame  structure,  and  the  date  on 
the  cornerstone  is  1884,  which  would  seem  to  indicate  that  the  change 
of  locations  took  place  about  that  time.  However,  the  records  show 
that  this  change  took  place  while  Rev.  J.  L.  Deaton  was  pastor,  which 
was  from  1895  to  1900. 

The  third  church  is  built  of  field  stone  and  is  also  located  on  Clark's 
Creek  Mountain.  This  building  was  built  largely  by  the  free  will 
labor  of  the  members  of  the  congregation.  Miss  Cora  Pearl  Jeffcoat, 
who  was  then  parish  helper  in  that  mission,  was  a  great  inspiration 
to  the  congregation  all  through  their  building  operations.  The  women 
of  the  ULCA  contributed  liberally  toward  the  building. 

Holy  Communion  has  all  the  while  been  associated  with  other 
congregations  in  a  parish.  For  many  years  there  was  no  regular  pastor 
located  in  the  parish,  but  different  ministers  visited  and  preached  for 
them  from  time  to  time.  Among  these  were  Reverends  Christian  Moretz, 
Henry  Goodman,  P.  C.  Henkel,  R.  A.  Yoder,  D.  A.  Goodman,  Jacob  Wike, 
W.  P.  Cline,  J.  C.  Moser,  J.  C.  Dietz,  and  P.  C.  Wike. 

List  of  Pastors: 
Rev.  J.  L.  Deaton,  1895-1900  Rev.  M.  L.  Carpenter,  1913-1917 

Rev.  John  Hall,  1901-1905  Rev.  N.  D.  Yount,  1918-1923 

Rev.  H.  A.  Kistler,  1906-1910  Rev.  H.  W.  Jeffcoat,  1923-1926 

Vacant,  1911-1912  Rev.  J.  A.  Yount,  1926-1937 

Rev.  J.  A.  Yount,  1912-1913  Rev.  E.  F.  Troutman,  1938-1952 


HOLY  TRINITY,  CHAPEL  HILL 

Holy  Trinity  Lutheran  Church  in  Chapel  Hill  is  located  on  East 
Rosemary  Street  and  Pickard  Lane. 

Our  work  in  Chapel  Hill  dates  back  to  the  time  when  Rev.  J.  L. 
Morgan,  as  synodical  missionary,  was  located  in  Raleigh,  1911-1919, 
and  made  pastoral  calls  on  Lutheran  students  in  the  State  University. 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  223 

Later  on,  Rev.  J.  L.  Thornburg,  while  pastor  in  Durham,  was  placed  in 
charge  of  student  work  in  Chapel  Hill,  about  1924-1927.  For  a  while 
seminary  graduates  wanting  to  do  advanced  study  in  the  university  here 
were  in  charge  of  this  work,  each  beginning  as  follows:  Rev.  J.  F.  Davis, 
1928;  Rev.  G.  A.  Metz,  1929;  Rev.  F.  P.  Cauble,  1931;  and  Rev.  R.  B. 
Fisher,  1934.  About  1936  Rev.  P.  G.  Kinney  was  pastor  here,  while 
doing  post  graduate  study  at  Duke  University.  At  different  periods,  and 
for  a  year  or  more  at  a  time,  Rev.  H.  A.  Schroder,  pastor  of  St.  Paul's 
Church  in  Durham,  served  this  mission,  his  work  continuing  up  to  1942. 

In  September  1942,  Rev.  D.  P.  Rudisill  took  charge  of  this  work 
while  pursuing  post  graduate  studies  in  Duke  University,  and,  upon 
completion  of  his  studies  at  Duke,  was  called  as  fulltime  pastor  in 
Chapel  Hill,  June  1,  1944.  St.  John's  Church  in  Cherryville,  and  St. 
Matthew's  Church  in  Kings  Mountain,  together  with  Holy  Trinity, 
Hickory,  cooperated  with  the  Synod  in  providing  the  pastor's  salary. 
Meantime,  the  Executive  Committee  of  Synod  authorized  the  purchase 
of  a  church  lot,  in  Chapel  Hill,  while  members  of  St.  John's  Church  in 
Cherryville  gave  $5,000.00  to  pay  for  it. 

At  the  Concord  meeting  of  Synod,  1944,  a  resolution  was  offered 
by  Mr.  W.  K.  Mauney,  authorizing  the  Brotherhood  to  raise  $50,000.00  for 
a  church  building,  and  also  the  appointment  of  a  Planning  and  Building 
Committee  to  have  charge  of  operations.  Holy  Trinity  Church  was 
organized  on  Sunday,  July  21,  1946,  with  thirty-two  members,  by  Pastor 
Rudisill  and  Dr.  J.  L.  Morgan,  President  of  Synod.  Services  were  held 
in  Gerard  Hall  on  the  university  campus. 

On  August  15,  1946,  Dr.  Rudisill  resigned  as  pastor  here,  in  order 
to  accept  a  Professorship  in  Lenoir  Rhyne  College,  and  on  September  15, 
the  same  year.  Dr.  E.  C.  Cooper  was  called  to  become  pastor  of  this 
field,  which  includes  students  in  the  university,  and,  along  with  his 
pastoral  work  to  help  to  raise  funds  for  a  church  building. 

A  lot  for  a  parsonage  was  purchased  by  St.  John's  Church  in 
Cherryville,  at  a  cost  of  $5,000.00,  and  a  $20,000.00  building  was  erected 
on  it.  Mr.  W.  K.  Mauney  gave  approximately  85  percent  of  the  money 
for  this  parsonage.  An  appreciable  sum  was  contributed  by  the  local 
congregation  also  for  this  purpose.  Additional  funds  were  raised  to  pay 
for  plumbing,  heating,  and  lighting. 

On  July  17,  1950,  the  contract  was  let  for  the  church  building, 
to  cost  $96,359.66.  It  is  a  brick  structure,  of  Gothic  design,  with  interior 
appointments  according  to  conservative  Lutheran  arrangement.  It  has 
a  full  ground  story  fitted  out  for  educational  and  social  activities  of  the 
church.  Groundbreaking  services  for  the  church  building  were  held  on 
July  23,  1950,  in  charge  of  Dr.  Cooper,  with  Dr.  D.  P.  Rudisill  and  Dr. 
J.  L.  Morgan  sharing  in  the  service. 

This  church  plant  is  a  distinct  credit  to  the  local  congregation  and 
its  pastor,  the  Synod,  the  Brotherhood,  the  Women's  Missionary  Society, 
the  Luther  League,  and  individual  friends,  all  of  whose  combined  efforts 
made  it  a  pleasing  reality. 


224         History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

The  opening  services  in  the  completed  church  were  held  on  Sun- 
day, January  6,  1952,  under  the  direction  of  Pastor  Cooper.  The  corner- 
stone was  laid  by  Dr.  J.  L.  Morgan  at  10  A.M.  Dr.  F.  L.  Conrad,  Presi- 
dent of  Synod,  dedicated  the  parsonage,  the  educational  rooms,  the 
organ,  and  the  chancel  furnishings,  and  consecrated  the  church  building 
as  a  House  of  God.  Rev.  Edgar  M.  Cooper  was  liturgist,  and  Dr.  D. 
P.  Rudisill  brought  the  message  for  the  occasion. 

The  following  is  a  list  of  pastors  who  ministered  to  the  students  in 
the  university,  from  time  to  time,  and  also  the  regular  pastors  of  the 
congregation. 

List  of  Pastors: 

J.  L.  Morgan,  1911-1919  Student  P.  G.  Kinney,  1936 

J.  L.  Thornburg,  1924-1937  H.  A.  Schroder,  1937-1942 

Student  J.  F.  Davis,  1928  Student  D.  P.  Rudisill,  1942-1944 

Student  G.  A.  Metz,  1929  D.  P.  Rudisill,  1944-1946 

Student  F.  P.  Cauble,  1931  E.  C.  Cooper,  1946- 
Student  R.  B.  Fisher,  1934 


HOLY  TRINITY,  CHARLOTTE 

Holy  Trinity  Lutheran  Church,  Charlotte,  is  located  on  the  corner 
of  The  Plaza  and  Belle  Terre  Avenue.  The  congregation  was  started 
as  a  Sunday  School  which  was  organized  February  15,  1914,  in  a  room 
over  Long's  Store  on  the  corner  of  Central  and  Pecan  Avenues,  sponsored 
by  the  Brotherhood  of  St.  Mark's  Lutheran  Church,  Charlotte,  Rev.  Robert 
L.  Patterson,  pastor.  Mr.  W.  L.  Dixon  was  the  first  Sunday  School 
Superintendent. 

The  congregation  was  organized  April  30,  1916,  with  twenty-eight 
charter  members.  The  organization  was  conducted  by  Rev.  C.  A.  Brown, 
President  of  the  North  Carolina  Synod. 

In  November  1916,  a  lot  was  purchased  on  the  corner  of  Central 
and  Thomas  Avenues  for  the  building  of  a  church.  On  January  28,  1917, 
Rev.  W.  A.  Lutz  was  called  as  the  first  regular  pastor.  The  church  was 
built  during  the  year  1917.  The  cornerstone  was  laid  in  April  of  that 
year.     It  was  dedicated  November  11,  1923.     The  cost  was  $25,000.00. 

In  the  year  1924  a  parsonage  was  built  by  the  side  of  the  church 
facing  Central  Avenue,  under  the  pastoral  leadership  of  Rev.  Roy  T. 
Troutman,  at  a  cost  of  $9,000.00. 

On  February  10,  1946,  the  congregation  voted  to  purchase  a  lot 
140  X 170  feet  on  the  corner  of  The  Plaza  and  Belle  Terre  Avenue  at  a 
cost  of  $5,000.00.  On  April  21,  1946,  the  congregation  voted  to  sell  the 
old  church  and  parsonage  for  the  sum  of  $25,000.00.  Groundbreaking 
services  for  the  new  church  were  held  June  25,  1950,  by  the  President  of 
Synod,  Dr.  F.  L.  Conrad;  assisted  by  Dr.  J.  L.  Morgan,  President-Emeritus; 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 


225 


and  Pastor  Olin  W.  Sink.  The  cornerstone  was  laid  December  10,  1950, 
by  President  Conrad  and  Pastor  Sink.  The  church  was  completed  in 
March  1951.  It  is  valued  at  $125,000.00,  including  the  furnishings.  It 
has  a  seating  capacity  of  350  and  an  educational  building  that  ac- 
commodates 300. 


Holy  Tritinity  Lutheran  Church 

Charlotte,  North  Carolina 


In  February  1951  a  new  parsonage  was  purchased  on  the  corner 
of  The  Plaza  and  Chestnue  Avenue,  one  block  from  the  church,  at  a 
cost  of  $13,000.00. 


List  of  Pastors; 


R.  L.  Patterson,  Sup.,  1914 
W.  P.  Cline,  Jr.,  Sup.,  1914 
J.  P.  Miller,  Sup.,  1914-1915 
E.  H.  Kohn,  Sup.,  1915-1916 
Student  F.  B.  Lingle,  1916 
A.  G.  Voigt,  Sup.,  1916-1917 
L.  G.  M.  Miller,  Sup.,  1916-1917 


W.  A.  Lutz,  1917-1924 
R.  T.  Troutman,  1924-1927 
J.  F.  Davis,  Sup.,  1927 
John  L.  Morgan,  1928-1934 
R.  L.  Patterson,  1934-1936 
Olin  W.  Sink,  1936- 


226         History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

HOLY  TRINITY,  GASTONIA 

Holy  Trinity  Lutheran  Church  in  Gastonia  is  located  on  South 
York  Street,  opposite  the  City  High  School.  The  original  location  was 
on  York  Street  near  the  Southern  Railroad. 

This  church  was  organized  in  the  YMCA  Building  on  April  30, 
1899,  with  twenty -two  members.  The  organization  was  in  charge  of  Rev. 
W.  J.  Boger,  D.D.,  then  pastor  of  Lutheran  Chapel  congregation  in  East 
Gastonia,  and  Rev.  W.  A.  Deaton,  D.D.,  then  pastor  of  Holy  Communion 
congregation  in  Dallas,  N.  C.  The  name  first  chosen  for  the  new  con- 
gregation was  Gastonia  Evangelical  Lutheran  Church,  but  it  was,  in 
1918,  changed  to  Holy  Trinity  Lutheran  Church. 

The  lot  for  the  first  church,  near  the  railroad,  was  purchased  on 
August  4,  1898,  nearly  a  year  before  the  church  was  organized,  at  a 
price  of  $540.00.  The  church  erected  on  this  lot  was  a  brick  structure, 
and  was  completed  in  1900.  The  District  Conference  of  the  Tennessee 
Synod  met  in  the  new  church  on  April  27,  1900. 

Sunday  School  rooms  were  added  in  1921,  under  the  pastoral 
direction  of  Rev.  J.  C.  Dietz,  D.D.,  and  a  pipe  organ  was  purchased  and 
installed  about  the  same  time.  The  parsonage  on  South  York  Street 
was  built  in  1925,  and  was  first  occupied  by  Rev.  J.  L.  Yost,  D.D.,  and 
family. 

The  lot  for  the  new  church  on  South  York  Street  was  purchased 
in  1939,  while  Rev.  Mr.  Bowden  was  pastor,  for  $4,250.00.  Ground- 
breaking services  for  their  new  house  of  worship  were  held  on  April 
9,  1950,  and  the  cornerstone  for  the  building  was  laid  on  November  5, 
that  same  year,  both  by  Dr.  F.  L.  Conrad,  President  of  Synod,  and 
their  pastor,  Rev.  Geo.  W.  Lingle,  who  was  assisted  by  his  father. 
Rev.  G.  H.  L.  Lingle. 

This  is  a  large  and  beautiful  church,  built  of  brick,  with  stone 
trimmings,  in  which  the  nave,  chancel,  and  furnishings  all  harmonize  in 
producing  an  atmosphere  of  worship.  It  has  a  ground  story  for  edu- 
cational and  other  programs  of  the  congregation.  The  estimated  cost 
of  the  building  and  equipment  is  approximately  a  little  over  $200,000.00. 

Opening  services  were  held  in  the  completed  building  on  Sunday, 
August  5,  1951,  with  a  sermon  by  the  President  of  Synod,  and  Pastor 
Lingle  conducting  the  liturgical  services,  assisted  by  his  father-in-law, 
Rev.  P.  J.  Bame. 

List  of  Pastors: 

W.  J.  Boger  and  W.  A.  Deaton,  John  Hall,  1905-1912 

Organizers,  1898-1900  M.  A.  Ashby,  1912-1913 

J.  L.  Cromer,  1900-1901  J.  C.  Dietz,  1914-1923 

W.  J.  Boger  and  J.  L.  Yost,  1923-1929 

W.  A.  Deaton,  Sup.,  1901-1902  G.  S.  Bowden,  1929-1944 

C.  L  Morgan,  1902-1905  Geo.  W.  Lingle,  1945- 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  227 

holy  trinity,  hickory 

Holy  Trinity  Church  in  Hickory  was  organized  on  Friday,  Septem- 
ber 22,  1876,  with  twenty-six  members.  The  meeting  was  held  in  the 
Town  Hall  of  Hickory. 

Following  the  adoption  of  a  constitution  and  the  election  of  of- 
ficers, formal  application  was  made  for  enrollment  in  the  Tennessee 
Synod,  and  they  were  enrolled  at  the  October  meeting  that  year. 

It  is  a  little  uncertain  who  the  minister  was  that  helped  this 
group  to  effect  the  organization;  however,  he  is  thought  to  have  been 
Rev.  A.  J.  Fox.  For  the  first  four  years  the  congregation  did  not  have  a 
resident  pastor.  Then  in  1880,  the  North  Carolina  Conference  of  the 
Tennessee  Synod  appointed  Rev.  A.  J.  Fox  to  take  charge  of  the  congre- 
gation. 

For  the  sake  of  clarity,  we  note  here  that  a  second  Lutheran 
Church  was  organized  in  Hickory  in  1880,  which  applied  to  the  North 
Carolina  Synod  for  admission  that  year.  The  name  of  this  congregation 
was  Christ  Lutheran  Church.  A  lot  was  secured,  and  on  December  31, 
1881,  the  cornerstone  of  the  church  was  laid.  The  pastor  of  this  church 
was  Rev.  J.  A.  Linn,  who  served  it  in  a  parish  with  Beth  Eden  Church 
in  Newton,  which  at  that  time  belonged  to  the  North  Carolina  Synod. 
However,  in  1884,  the  North  Carolina  Synod  advised  the  members  of 
Christ  Church  to  unite  with  the  Tennessee  Synod  congregation,  which 
they  did,  and  Christ  Church  was  discontinued.  Up  to  this  time  the 
Tennessee  congregation  in  that  town  had  been  referred  to  as  the  "Hickory 
Church",  but  in  1884  it  was  named  Holy  Trinity. 

In  1880  Rev.  A.  J.  Fox  accepted  a  call  from  Holy  Trinity  and  served 
it  along  with  a  number  of  other  congregations  until  his  death  on  June 
10,  1884. 

Mr.  Henry  W.  Robinson  gave  the  church  a  building  lot  in  1881, 
and  plans  were  soon  worked  out  for  a  house  of  worship.  The  building 
was  a  frame  structure  36  x  70  feet  with  a  vestibule,  steeple  for  a  bell, 
and  a  balcony  over  the  front  entrance. 

By  1904  a  new  brick  church  was  under  construction.  The  corner- 
stone for  this  building  was  laid  June  8,  1904,  and  on  the  first  Sunday 
in  November  1905  the  first  service  was  held  in  the  completed  building. 
The  church  was  dedicated  March  3,  1907,  the  service  being  in  charge  of 
their  Pastor,  J.  C.  Moser,  D.D.  The  building  is  fitted  out  with  rooms  for 
Sunday  School.  The  total  cost  for  the  church  and  furnishings  was  about 
$12,000. 

Up  to  this  time  Holy  Trinity  had  been  in  a  parish  with  one  or 
more  other  churches,  but  when  they  got  in  their  new  church  Pastor  Moser 
was  called  to  give  his  fulltime  service  to  this  one  congregation,  which 
he  did  until  near  the  time  of  his  death  in  1911. 

About  the  year  1935,  while  Rev.  V.  C.  Ridenhour,  D.D.  was  pastor, 
a  new  and  modern  parsonage  was  built  a  few  blocks  from  the  church, 
and  the  old  parsonage  was  converted  into  an  Educational  Building. 


228         History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

Now  the  congregation,  under  Pastor  H.  L.  Dressler's  leadership,  has 
again  outgrown  its  building.  A  new  lot  has  been  donated  by  the  Alfred 
Moretz  family,  and  a  new  and  larger  church  will,  in  a  few  years,  be 
built.     Pastor  Dressier  died  unexpectedly  on  November  10,  1952. 

List  of  Pastors: 

A.  J.  Fox,  1880-1884  C.  R.  W.  Kegley,  1919-1923 

B.  S.  Brown,  1887-1888  P.  E.  Monroe,  1924-1930 

J.  C.  Moser,  1888-1911  V.  C.  Ridenhour,  1930-1941 

J.  H.  Wannemacher,  1911-1915  Voigt  R.  Cromer,  1941-1947 

W.  E.  Murray,  1915-1919  Hugo  L.  Dressier,  1947-1952 


HOLY  TRINITY,  MT.  PLEASANT 

Holy  Trinity  Church  is  located  in  the  town  of  Mt.  Pleasant,  in 
Cabarrus  County.  The  church  was  organized  in  the  chapel  of  North 
Carolina  College  in  1868  by  Rev.  L.  C.  Groseclose,  then  pastor  of  St. 
John's  Church.  The  congregation  worshiped  in  the  college  chapel  for 
five  years. 

On  March  18,  1871,  a  lot  was  secured,  and  the  next  year  a  new 
brick  church  40  x  50  feet  was  constructed.  It  was  dedicated  on  Sunday, 
March  30,  1873,  during  a  meeting  of  Conference,  by  Pastor  D.  M.  Henkel 
and  Rev.  Nathan  Aldrich,  who  preached  the  dedicatory  sermon. 

In  the  year  1902,  a  steeper  roof  was  placed  on  the  building,  and  a 
tall  spire  built  to  the  tower.  But  by  1952  the  old  spire  was  replaced 
by  one  not  so  tall.  The  interior  of  the  church  was  refinished  while  Rev. 
J.  W.  Link  was  pastor  there,  and  new  pews  and  chancel  furniture  were 
installed. 

A  new  Educational  Building  was  constructed  in  1949,  during  Rev. 
D.  F.  Cooper's  term  of  service,  at  a  cost  of  $35,000.00.  This  building 
was  fully  freed  of  debt  under  the  leadership  of  Rev.  E.  R.  Trexler,  and 
was  dedicated  October  26,  1952. 

For  many  years  Holy  Trinity  was  the  spiritual  mother  to  students 
in  North  Carolina  College,  the  Collegiate  Institute,  and  in  Mont  Amoena 
Seminary. 

Their  first  parsonage  stood  on  the  east  side  of  the  street  in  close 
proximity  to  the  old  Mont  Amoena  Seminary.  This  building  was  de- 
stroyed by  fire  about  1910.  Meanwhile  a  house  and  lot  on  the  south  side 
of  the  church  was  secured  for  a  parsonage,  but  this  was  likewise  burned 
in  1915.    They  then  built  the  present  home  for  the  pastor. 

List  of  Pastors: 
L.  C.  Groseclose,  1868-1872  J.  H.  Wyse,  1888-1889 

D.  M.  Henkel,  1872-1875  J.  D.  Shirey  and  C.  L.  T. 

J.  B.  Davis,  1881-1887  Fisher,  Sup.,  1890-1892 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  229 

B.  S.  Brown,  Sr.,  1892-1895  R.  A.  Goodman,  1911-1921 

H.  N.  Miller,  1897-1898  C.  A.  Linn,  1922-1923 

P.  H.  E.  Derrick,  Sup.,  1897  C.  L.  T.  Fisher,  1923-1925 

J.  A.  Linn,  1898-1902  C.  L.  T.  Fisher,  Sup.,  1926 

L.  E.  Busby,  1902-1903  J.  W.  Link,  1927-1947 

H.  A.  McCullough,  1903-1907  David  F.  Cooper,  1947-1949 

J.  P.  Miller,  1907-1911  E.  R.  Trexler,  1950- 


HOLY  TRINITY,  RALEIGH 

Holy  Trinity  Church  in  Raleigh  is  located  at  624  Hillsboro  Street. 
This  church  was  started  and  established  by  Rev.  J.  L.  Morgan,  Synod- 
ical  Missionary  of  the  North  Carolina  Synod,  who  moved  to  Raleigh 
June  19,  1911. 

The  first  service  was  on  Sunday,  July  2,  1911  in  the  Chamber 
of  Commerce  Rooms  on  Fayetteville  Street.  The  attendance  that  day, 
besides  the  pastor  and  his  family,  was  two  —  Mr.  John  C.  Root  and  Mr. 
Moses  L.  Brown.  The  pastor  had  to  divide  his  time  with  other  mission 
points,  so  that  at  first  services  were  held  only  twice  per  month.  The 
church  was  organized  July  7,  1912  with  twelve  members.  The  officers 
elected  were:  A.  E.  Goodmar  fcnd  J.  C.  Root,  Elders;  O.  M.  Clark  and 
L.  R.  Detjen,  Deacons.     J.  C.   Root  was  elected  Secretary -Treasurer. 

On  July  19,  1913,  the  lot  on  Hillsboro  Street  was  purchased  for 
$4,750.00.  The  Home  Mission  Board  of  the  United  Lutheran  Synod  South 
assisted  in  this  purchase.  On  April  2,  1914,  work  was  begun  on  thf 
church  building.  Mr.  W.  H.  Germann,  a  member  of  the  Lutheran  Church, 
supervised  the  construction.  The  cost  of  the  church  was  approximately 
$10,000.00,  of  which  the  Women's  Synodical  Society  gave  $6,000.00. 

The  cornerstone  was  laid  August  5,  1914  by  Dr.  M.  M.  Kinard, 
President  of  Synod,  and  Pastor  Morgan.  The  first  service  held  in  the 
new  church  was  on  Sunday,  May  9,  1915,  with  an  attendance  of  125 
persons.  On  July  4,  1915  baptism  was  administered  for  John  Shipman 
Bost  and  for  Linus  Marcellus  Parker,  Jr.,  who  were  the  first  to  be 
baptised  in  the  new  church.  The  first  member  confirmed  in  the  church 
was  Pauline  Miller,  now  Mrs.  A.  M.  Huffman,  on  April  23,  1916,  Easter 
Sunday  morning.  The  church  was  dedicated  September  7,  1919,  by  Rev. 
M.  L.  Stirewalt  and  the  pastor,  Rev.  J.  L.  Morgan. 

Pastor  Morgan,  having  been  elected  as  fulltime  President  of  Synod 
in  May  1919,  resigned  Holy  Trinity  Church,  effective  September  30, 
1919,  and  moved  to  Salisbury  to  take  up  his  new  work.  Rev.  A.  M. 
Huffman,  just  back  from  World  War  I,  in  which  he  was  a  chaplain, 
was  called  to  Holy  Trinity  and  took  charge  October  1,  1919. 

On  July  1,  1922,  while  Rev.  Huffman  was  pastor,  the  house  and 
lot  by  the  side  of  the  church  were  purchased  for  parsonage  and  Sun- 


230         History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

day  School  purposes  at  a  consideration  of  $17,000.00.  A  pipe  organ 
was  purchased  and  installed  in  1925,  while  Rev.  E.  R.  McCauley  was 
pastor,  at  a  cost  of  $3,500.00.  A  number  of  improvements  were  made 
while  Rev.  C.  E.  Norman  was  pastor  there,  notwithstanding  the  hard- 
ships of  World  War  II.  Under  the  leadership  of  Pastor  Stroup,  the 
congregation  began  looking  forward  to  a  new  house  of  worship 

List  of  Pastors: 
Jacob  L.  Morgan,  1911-1919  R.  B.  Peery,  1931-1933 

A.  M.  Huffman,  1919-1924  C.  E.  Norman,  1933-1949 

E.  R.  McCauley,  1924-1929  H.  W.  Stroup,  1950-1952 

Student  F.  P.  Cauble,  1930 


HOLY  TRINITY,  TROUTMAN 

Holy  Trinity  Church  is  located  in  the  town  of  Troutman  in  Iredell 
County.  This  church  was  organized  January  5,  1924,  when  St.  Michael's 
Church  of  the  former  North  Carolina  Synod,  where  Rev.  John  L.  Morgan 
was  pastor;  and  St.  Martin's  Church  of  the  former  Tennessee  Synod, 
where  Rev.  D.  L.  Miller  was  pastor,  merged  into  one  congregation 
under  the  name  of  Holy  Trinity.    But,  back  of  this: 

St.  Michael's  Church  was  organized  in  1815  by  Rev.  Robert  J. 
Miller  in  the  Cambridge  Associate  Presbyterian  Church,  two  miles  south 
of  Troutman,  where  services  were  held  for  eight  years.  The  church  was 
received  into  the  North  Carolina  Synod  in  October,  1815,  as  New  Perth 
Lutheran  Church. 

In  1823  Michael  Walcher  donated  a  tract  of  land,  one  mile  south- 
east of  Troutman,  to  the  Lutherans  and  Episcopalians  for  a  church  site. 
A  log  church  25  x  36  feet  was  built  here  for  the  use  of  these  two  organi- 
zations. 

For  several  years  both  congregations  worshipped  here,  alternately, 
until  the  Episcopalians  withdrew  and  built  a  church  of  their  own.  St. 
Michael's  second  church  was  a  frame  structure  36  x  60  feet  and  was 
located  in  Troutman,  where  the  present  church  stands.  The  corner- 
stone for  it  was  laid  August  19,  1886.  It  was  dedicated  August  14,  1892 
by  Rev.  D.  W.  Micheal,  and  Rev.  J.  D.  Shirey,  D.D. 

St.  Martin's  Church  was  organized  June  28,  1833,  with  twenty-three 
members,  most  of  whom  came  from  St.  Michael's  congregation,  by  Rev. 
Henry  Goodman,  under  an  apple  tree  in  his  yard. 

William  Lippard  donated  a  tract  of  land  for  the  church,  about 
three  miles  northwest  from  Troutman.  A  small  frame  church  was  built 
here  which  was  later  replaced  by  a  larger  frame  building,  in  1853,  while 
Rev.  Timothy  Moser  was  pastor.  This  building  was  refinished  in  1902, 
and  served  their  needs  until  the  two  congregations  united  in  1924. 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 


231 


Following  the  merging  of  the  two  congregations,  a  call  was  ex- 
tended to  Rev.  John  L.  Morgan,  who  came  and  at  once  began  paving 
the  way  for  a  new  house  of  worship.  A  modern  brick  building  with 
basement  was  constructed  in  1927-1928.  The  cornerstone  was  laid  April 
3,  1927,  by  Pastor  Morgan  and  the  President  of  Synod.  The  new  church 
was  opened  for  services  in  1928.  It  was  dedicated  December  1,  1935, 
by  the  Pastor,  Rev.  P.  D.  Risinger,  Rev.  John  L.  Morgan,  and  the  Presi- 
dent of  Synod. 

A  new  brick  parsonage  was  built  by  Rev.  John  L.  Morgan  in  1924, 
which  was  later  taken  over,  in  a  trade,  by  the  congregation.  It  is  just 
across  the  street  from  the  church. 

From  here  came  the  following  ministers:  Revs.  Simeon  W.  Harkey, 
Luther  Goodman,  David  Goodman,  C.  K.  Lippard,  Carl  O.  Lippard, 
Wike  Lippard,  H.  C.  Haithcock,  Roy  T.  Troutman,  Edwin  F.  Troutman, 
C.  F.  Kyles,  and  J.  Paul  Rimmer. 

List  of  Pastors: 


At  St. 
R.  J.  Miller,  1815-1821 
John  Reck,  1825-1830 
J.  T.  Tabler,  1832 
Benjamin  Arey,  1837-1853 
S.  Scherer  and  John 

Swicegood,  Sup.,  1853-1856 
Paul  Kistler,  1856-1858 
J.  D.  Stingley,  1860-1862 
G.  D.  Bernheim,  1862-1865 
Whitson  Kimball,  1868-1870 
J.  H.  Fesperman,  1871-1877 
J.  B.  Anthony,  1878-1880 
H.  M.  Brown,  1882-1887 
Whitson  Kimball,  1888 


Michael's 

T.  H.  Strohecker,  1889-1891 
D.  W.  Michael,  1891-1894 
G.  S.  Diven,  Sup.,  1895 

B.  S.  Brown,  Sr.,  1896-1899 
R.  A.  Helms,  1899-1900 

C.  B.  King,  Sup.,  1901 

V.  C.  Ridenhour,  1901-1905 
R.  R.  Sowers,  1905-1907 
C.  R.  Pless,  1908-1909 
H.  W.  Jeff  coat,  1909-1912 
T.  C.  Parker,  1912-1914 
Student  C.  E.  Norman,  1915 
John  L.  Morgan,  1916-1923 


At  St.  Martin's 


Henry  Goodman,  1833-1841 
J.  W.  Hull,  1841-1848 
Timothy  Moser,  1848-1857 
J.  M.  Smith,  1857-1870 
Henry  Goodman,  1871-1873 
T.  Moser,  Sup.,  1873 
A.  J.  Fox,  1874-1875 
P.  C.  Henkel,  1876-1881 
J.  C.  Moser,  1881-1883 
C.  H.  Bernheim,  1883-1886 


D.  J.  Settlemyre,  1887-1891 
G.  A.  Romoser,  1892-1893 
W.  P.  Cline,  1894-1895 
W.  L.  Darr,  1896-1906 

C.  J.  Sox,  1907-1910 

W.  D.  Haltiwanger,  1913-1916 
F.  C.  Longaker,  Sup.,  1917 
J.  M.  Senter,  1918-1920 

D.  L.  Miller,  1921-1923 


At  Holy  Trinity 
John  L.  Morgan,  1924-1927  E.  Fulenwider,  1940-1947 

P.  D.  Risinger,  1928-1936  O.  G.  Swicegood,  1947- 

Q.  O.  Lyerly,  1936-1940 


232         History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 
holy  trinity,  watauga  county 

Holy  Trinity  Church  is  located  in  Watauga  County  at  Deep  Gap, 
ten  miles  east  of  Boone. 

For  many  years  we  have  had  a  group  of  faithful  and  loyal 
Lutherans  in  this  community.  Rev.  J.  L.  Deaton  preached  for  them  in 
a  school  house.  In  more  recent  years  a  frame  church  was  built,  about 
two  miles  north  from  the  present  location,  and  a  congregation  was 
organized  under  the  pastoral  supervision  of  Rev.  N.  D.  Yount  in  the 
year  1918.  This  church  was  dedicated  on  July  13,  1919  in  charge  of 
Pastor  Yount,  with  Rev.  J.  A.  Yount  preaching  the  dedication  sermon. 

Some  years  later  the  lot  on  the  main  highway  was  purchased, 
and  in  1939  a  nice  new  church  was  erected  at  that  place.  The  corner- 
stone laying  services,  the  formal  opening  of  the  new  church,  and  its 
dedication  all  took  place  on  Sunday,  July  23,  1939.  These  services 
were  in  charge  of  the  President  of  Synod,  together  with  Pastor  J.  A. 
Yount,  Rev.  W.  A.   Deaton,   D.D.,   and  Rev.  E.   F.  Troutman. 

This  congregation  is  associated  with  the  other  churches  of  the 
Watauga  Parish  and  has  an  interest  in  a  parsonage  at  Mt.  Pleasant 
Church,  where  a  new  building  was  recently  put  up  to  replace  the  one 
which  was  destroyed  by  fire. 

List  of  Pastors: 

N.  D.  Yount,  1918-1823  J.  A.  Yount,  1938-1939 

H.  W.  Jeffcoat,   1923-1925  J.  A.  Yount,  Sup.,  1939-1943 

W.  A.  Deaton,  1925-1931  H.  B.  Leonard,  1943-1944 

Students  D.  F.  Swicegood,  O.  G.  H.  H.  Ritchie,  1944-1946 

Swicegood,  and  others,  Sup.,  F.  M.  Speagle,  1947-1951 

1931-1934  H.  C.  Linn,  1951- 
H.  A.  Kistler,  1934-1937 


KIMBALL    MEMORIAL,    KANNAPOLIS 

Kimball  Memorial  Church  is  located  on  South  Union  Street  in 
Kannapolis,  N.  C. 

This  church  was  organized  February  15,  1914  in  the  Y.M.C.A. 
Auditorium,  with  twenty-three  members,  by  Rev.  C.  A.  Brown  of  China 
Grove,  N.  C,  then  President  of  the  N.  C.  Synod.  Rev.  G.  H.  C.  Park 
was  called  as  regular  pastor,  February  26,  1924,  to  take  charge  after 
his  ordination.  May  10,  1914.  Plans  were  at  once  made  for  a  house 
of  worship.  The  cornerstone  of  the  new  church  was  laid  May  20,  1917, 
by  Pastor  Park  and  Rev.  C.  A.  Brown,  president  of  Synod.  The  Church 
was  opened  for  divine  services  February  17,  1918. 

Rev.  Park  closed  his  work  as  pastor  here  May  1,  1922  and  was 
succeeded  by  Rev.  M.  L.  Ridenhour,  the  same  day.  At  this  time  the 
church  assumed  full  self-support.  Under  Pastor  Ridenhour's  leader- 
ship, it  became  necessary  to  provide  for  more  room,  so  the  transept  on 
the  north  side  of  the  church  was  extended  and  additions  were  made  to 
the  west  end  of  the  building  for  classrooms.    The  pipe  organ  was  pur- 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  233 

chased  and  installed  in  1934.     Pastor  Ridenhour  died  in  the  prime  of 
his  life,  May  10,  1937. 

Rev.  J.  L.  Norris  was  called  on  October  20,  1937.  During  his  pastor- 
ate, a  large  Parish  Education  Building  was  constructed.  Work  on  this 
building  was  begun  August  7,  1939,  and  it  was  ready  and  opened  for 
Sunday  School  work  on  January  21,  1940.  The  cost  of  this  building, 
which  has  six  assembly  halls,  and  thirty  class  rooms,  all  modernly 
equipped,  was  approximately  $25,000.00. 

Pastor  Norris  resigned,  effective  December  31,  1946,  to  accept  a  call 
to  Macedonia  Church  in  Burlington,  N.  C,  and  Rev.  R.  F.  Shelby  was 
called  to  Kimball  Memorial  effective  March  1,  1947. 

Soon  after  Pastor  Shelby  took  charge  of  this  work,  a  house  and 
lot  were  bought  for  a  parsonage  in  the  Jackson  Park  area,  but  in  1951 
the  congregation  purchased  the  houses  and  lot  by  the  north  side  of  the 
church  for  parsonage  purposes,  and  for  future  needs  for  a  new  church, 
at  a  cost  of  $37,500.00.  The  house  and  lot  in  Jackson  Park  were  sold 
in  1952. 

This  church  was  started  with  23  confirmed  members  in  1914,  and 
it  now  has  an  enrollment  of  940. 

List  of  Pastors: 

G.  H.  C.  Park,  1914-1922  J.  L.  Norris,  1937-1946 

M.  L.  Ridenhour,  1922-1937  R.  F.  Shelby,  1947- 


KURE   MEMORIAL,   KURE    BEACH 

Kure  Memorial  Lutheran  Church  is  located  at  Kure  Beach,  18  miles 
south  of  Wilmington,  North  Carolina,  and  3  miles  north  of  Fort  Fisher. 

A  frame  Chapel,  composed  of  two  old  army  barracks,  was  erected 
in  1946  on  a  lot  200  x  100  bequeathed  by  Hans  Kure,  a  Lutheran,  for 
religious  purposes. 

For  about  two  years.  Rev.  B.  D.  Wessinger,  D.D.,  a  retired  Lutheran 
minister,  formerly  of  the  North  Carolina  Synod,  conducted  worship 
services  in  the  Chapel. 

Kure  Memorial  Chapel  operated  as  non-denominational  until 
October  7,  1951,  at  which  time  Jack  Martin,  supply  student  from  the 
Southern  Seminary,  organized  Kure  Memorial  Lutheran  Church  with 
thirty-six  members.  The  church  was  received  into  the  North  Carolina 
Synod   at  the   1952   Convention. 

A  seven-room  frame  parsonage,  with  enclosed  garage,  was  built 
on  the  northeast  corner  of  the  lot  in  the  Spring  of  1952  at  a  cost  of 
$9,650.00.  The  Synod  making  a  grant  of  $5,000,  and  the  congregation 
assuming  the  remainder. 

Student  W.  Dexter  Moser,  Jr.,  supplied  during  the  summer  of  1949, 
and  student  Jack  Martin  during  the  summers  of  1950  and  1951. 
Rev.  David  F.  Johnson  became  Mission  Developer  on  June  1,  1952. 

Adult  membership  now  stands  at  sixty-five. 
List  of  Pastors: 
David  F.  Johnson 


234         History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

LEBANON,  DAVIDSON  CO. 

Lebanon  Church  is  located  in  Davidson  County,  six  miles  east 
of  Lexington.  It  is  not  known  when  this  church  was  organized;  how- 
ever, the  Old  Church  Book  records  baptisms  as  far  back  as  October  4, 
1834,  and  communion  services  in  1835.  Record  of  business  meetings 
are  also  carried  from  time  to  time,  for  instance,  in  1855,  1865,  1870, 
1874,  1880,  and  1890  for  the  election  of  officers  or  other  matters. 

The  original  name  by  which  this  congregation  was  known  was  the 
Arbor  Church,  but  about  1890  it  was  named  Lebanon  Lutheran  Church. 
This  indicates  that  for  a  while  the  congregation  worshiped  under  an 
arbor.  About  this  time,  1890,  a  frame  church  25x45  feet  was  started 
and  was  used  for  a  while  before  it  was  completed.  Up  to  this  time  the 
work  appears  to  have  been  carried  on  by  the  North  Carolina  Synod, 
but  a  group  of  Tennessee  Synod  members  petitioned  the  Northern 
Conference  of  the  North  Carolina  Synod,  at  a  meeting  at  St.  Luke's 
Church  in  Tyro,  July  28-29,  1893,  to  grant  the  Tennessee  Synod  brethren 
a  half  interest  in  the  church  property.  This  request  was  granted,  with 
the  provision  that  the  two  groups  would  cooperate  in  completing  the 
church  building  which  had  recently  been  started.  From  this  time  on 
most  of  the  services  were  by  pastors  of  the  Tennessee  Synod,  until 
1921,  when  the  Synods  reunited. 

In  1930,  the  church  was  remodeled  and  brick  veneered.  Transepts 
were  added  and  classrooms  built,  which  gives  it  an  attractive  appearance. 

In  1950  this  church  and  Silver  Valley  were  placed  in  a  parish 
together,  which,  since  that  arrangement,  have  purchased  a  house  and 
lot  at  Silver  Valley  for  a  parsonage. 

We  have  not  found  a  complete  list  of  pastors  for  this  congre- 
gation; however,  the  following  served  here  at  one  time  or  another: 

List  of  Pastors: 
W.  A.  Julian,  1854-1862  J.  M.  Senter,  1912-1918 

W.  H.  Cone,  1864-1865  R.  B.  Sigmon,  1919-1928 

J.  D.  Bowles,  1870-1874  R.  L.  Fisher,  1928-1942 

C.  H.  Bernheim,  1874-1878  C.  F.  Kyles,  1942-1945 

Jacob  Wike,  1891-1893  C.  R.  Patterson,  Sup.,  1946-1947 

C.  L.  Miller,  1898-1903  C.  R.  Ritchie  ,  Sup.,  1947-1948 

J.  C.  Wessinger,  1904-1905  C.  S.  Wessinger,  Sup.,  1948-1949 

A.  L.  Boliek,  1906-1909  C.  C.  Adderholdt,  1950-1951 

E.  F.  K.  Roof,  1953- 


LEBANON,  ROWAN  CO. 

Lebanon  Church   is  located  in   Rowan   County,   about  two   miles 
north  from  the  town  of  Barber. 

This  church  is  an  outgrowth  of   a  Sunday   School  which,   for   a 
few  years,  had  been  conducted  in  a  log  school  house  in  that  neighbor- 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  235 

hood.  This  congregation  was  organized  on  September  17,  1893,  in  the 
school  building,  with  eight  members  enrolled  that  day.  Rev.  B.  W. 
Cronk  was  in  charge  of  the  organization. 

A  lot  and  timber  for  a  church  were  given  by  Eli  Powlas,  and  the 
other  members  and  friends  had  the  timber  sawed  and  prepared  for 
use.  The  building  was  erected  largely  by  the  members  themselves, 
without  charge,  and  was  dedicated  free  of  debt,  December  22,  1896. 

Their  parsonage  was  built  near  the  church  about  the  time  Rev. 
Boland  became  pastor  in  1904,  by  the  members  of  the  three  congre- 
gations in  the  parish — Lebanon,  St.  Matthews,  and  Providence.  The 
lot  and  timber  for  the  framing  were  given  by  Eli  Powlas,  and  the  fin- 
ishing lumber  by  members  of  the  other  two  congregations.  The  carpen- 
ter work  was  done  mostly  by  free  labor  by  the  congregation.  Both 
the  church  and  parsonage  have  been  repaired  and  redecorated  during 
the  past  few  years. 

Lebanon  is  the  home  church  of  the  Powlas  sisters — eight  of  them — 
who  have  given  such  full  service  to  the  church,  both  at  home  and 
abroad. 

List  of  Pastors: 

B.  W.  Cronk,  1893-1894  G.  H.  Cox,  Sup.,  1922 
V.  Y.  Boozer,  1894-1895                           J.  L.  Yost,  Sup.,  1923 
H.  N.  Miller,  1895-1897  W.  G.  Cobb,  Sup.,  1924 
Student  W.  W.  J.  Ritchie,                     John  L.  Morgan,  Sup.,  1925 

Sup.,  1897  E.  F.  Troutman,  1926-1929 

H.  A.  Trexler,  1897-1904  C.  F.  Kyles,  1929-1932 

L.  P.  Boland,  1904-1908  r.  h.  Kepley,  1932-1935 

T.  C.  Parker,  1908-1913  O.  G.  Swicegood,  1935-1937 

Students  H.  S.  Petrea  and  John  h.  A.  Kistler,  1937-1938 

L.  Morgan  and  Pastors  L  E.  ^   ^   Misenheimer,  1938-1939 

m3^19M   ""■  ""■  ^''''''^'  ^''''■'  J-  ^-  Stoner,  1939-1945 

V.  R.  Stickley,  1915-1920  ^^^^^^  ^-  ^1°°?'  1948-1950 

C.  M.  Fox,  Sup.,  1921  ^-  Kenneth  Knight,  Sup.,  1951 

F.  C.  Trexler,  Sup.,  1952 


LOWS,  GUILFORD.  CO. 

Lows  Church  is  located  in  Guilford  County,  about  18  miles 
southeast  from  Greensboro,  and  two  miles  south  from  the  Alamance 
Battle  Ground.  It  is  situated  on  what,  at  that  time,  was  known  as  the 
Trading  Path,  leading  from  Hillsboro  to  Salisbury.  According  to  Colonel 
Byrd,  in  his  "History  of  the  Dividing  Line,"  this  road  was  in  use  in  1728, 
and  was  widely  used  by  Pennsylvania  immigrants  who  came  into  that 
section  of  the  state  in  large  numbers  from  1750  to  1760. 

It  is  not  definitely  known  when  this  church  was  organized.  The 
date  given  in  the  more  recent  Minutes  of  Synod  is  1771,  but  judging 


236 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 


from  the  number  of  German  families  which  settled  in  that  area  at  a 
much  earlier  time,  one  would  think  that  the  church  was  started  at  an 
earlier  date.  There  is  evidence  to  substantiate  the  claim  that  itinerant 
preachers  visited  and  preached  to  both  Lutheran  and  Reformed  groups 
at  repeated  intervals  from  1759  to  1764,  and  it  is  quite  likely  that  this 
church  was  organized  about  that  time,  if  not  earlier. 

Rev.  George  Soelle,  who  was  ordained  a  Lutheran  minister  in 
Denmark  in  1741,  later  came  to  America  and  worked  with  the  Moravian 
Brethren,  visited  in  the  Guilford  section  and  preached  for  the  churches 
there  about  1769  and  the  following  two  or  three  years.  Rev.  Adolph 
Nussmann  made  repeated  visits  to  Lows  and  other  churches  in  that 
section  and  ministered  to  the  spiritual  needs  of  those  people,  beginning 
about  1773. 

The  first  building  for  Lows,  of  which  we  have  definite  knowledge, 
was  a  log  structure,  and  was  used  by  both  Lutheran  and  Reformed 
congregations,  which  stood  about  where  the  present  Lows  Church  now 
stands.  It  is  thought  that  this  building  was  in  use  as  far  back  as 
1765  or  1770,  while  improvised  places  of  worship  may  have  been  used 
prior  to  that  time.  But  the  Reformed  congregation  withdrew,  after 
some  years,  and  built  a  church  of  their  own,  a  few  miles  away,  which 
is  now  known  as  Brick  Church. 

The  second  building  was  a  frame  structure,  built  in  1841,  by  the 
Lutheran  congregation  alone.  It  was  used  until  1889,  in  which  year 
the  present  frame  building  was  constructed.  This  is  their  third  building 
of  which  we  have  record.  In  1934,  under  the  leadership  of  Rev.  D.  I. 
Offman,  this  building  was  remodeled  and  provision  made  for  Sunday 
School  class  work  and  other  necessities  of  modern  church  activities.  A 
Recreational  Building  was  constructed  in  1950,  under  Rev.  Q.  O.  Lyerly's 
pastoral  leadership,  near  the  main  church. 

The  parsonage  for  the  parish  was  located  at  Lows  until  1940, 
however  the  pastor  did  not  always  live  there,  but  when  Cobles  built  a 
parsonage  near  that  church,  the  pastor  lived  at  Cobles.  In  1952  Lows  and 
Cobles  each  decided  to  have  a  full  time  pastor,  and  Lows  is  now 
building  a  new  parsonage  on  their  grounds. 


List  of  Pastors: 


Adolph  Nussmann,  1774-1789 
J.   G.  Arends,  1775-1789 

C.  E.  Bernhardt,  1789-1800 
Philip  Henkel,  1800-1805 
Ludwig  Markert,  1805-1810 
Jacob  Scherer,  1810-1828 
Jacob  Grieson,  Asst.,  1810-1854 

D.  J.  Hauer,  Asst.,  1827-1828 
William  Artz,  1829-1853 
John  Swicegood,  1854 
Simeon  Scherer,  1855-1859 
B.  C.  Hall,  1860-1864 


W.  A.  Julian,  1865-1870 
E.  P.  Parker,  1871-1882 

A.  D.  L.  Moser,  1883-1886 

B.  W.  Cronk,  1887-1891 
H.  M.  Brown,  1891-1902 
R.  R.  Sowers,  1903-1905 

C.  M.   Fox,  1906-1907 
V.  R.  Stickley,  1909-1913 
H.  W.  Jeffcoat,  1914-1921 

D.  I.  Offman,  1922-1940 
Q.  O.  Lyerly,  1940-1952 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  237 


LUTHERAN  CHAPEL,  CHINA  GROVE 

Lutheran  Chapel  Church  is  located  in  Rowan  County,  just  south 
of  China  Grove  on  the  east  side  of  the  Southern  Railroad.  It  is  not 
known  definitely  when  this  church  was  organized;  however,  reliable 
tradition  indicates  that  Pastors  Nussmann  and  Arends  held  regular 
services  in  this  community  prior  to  1780  and  that  a  congregation  was 
organized  about  that  time.  Pastor  C.  A.  G.  Storch  became  pastor  here 
January  7,  1789. 

In  "Historical  Sketches  of  the  Reformed  Church  in  North  Caro- 
lina" it  is  stated  that  the  first  building  was  of  logs,  afterwards  dis- 
placed by  a  larger  one  which  was  burned,  and  that  a  third  building 
was  then  erected.  It  was  at  that  time  called  Savitz  Church.  The  first 
building  of  which  we  have  record  was  erected  in  1799,  by  the  Lutheran 
and  German  Reformed  congregations  and  was  used  jointly  until  1834. 
It  was  at  the  old  grave  yard,  west  of  the  railroad.  Meanwhile,  following 
the  organization  of  the  Tennessee  Synod  in  1820,  a  number  of  the  Chape] 
members  formed  a  new  congregation  named  Mt.  Moriah  in  affiliation 
with  that  Synod,  which  also  worshiped  in  this  same  building. 

Then,  about  1836,  each  group  proceeded  to  provide  a  church  home 
for  itself.  About  1835  the  Lutheran  Chapel  congregation  purchased  two 
and  one-half  acres  of  land  adjacent  to  the  original  tract  from  Moses 
Linn  and  erected  a  frame  building  40  x  60  feet. 

The  original  unit  of  the  present  brick  church  was  erected  in  1866, 
while  Rev.  Whitson  Kimball  was  pastor.  Considerable  additions  were 
made  in  1892  while  Rev.  Marks  was  pastor,  and  in  1933  under  Rev. 
C.  E.  Ridenhour's  leadership,  for  Sunday  School  and  other  organizational 
work. 

A  parsonage  was  built  near  China  Grove  about  1881,  while  Dr. 
B.  S.  Brown,  Sr.,  was  pastor  there.  A  modern  brick  house  was  erected 
in  1951  on  the  west  side  of  the  railroad,  under  the  supervision  of  Dr. 
B.   S.   Brown,  Jr. 

In  1834  the  congregation,  under  the  pastoral  leadership  of  Rev. 
Henry  Graeber,  adopted  a  constitution  which  helped  to  guide  them  in 
their  future  worship  and  activities. 

This  church  has  had  different  names:  At  first  it  was  referred  to 
as  Savitz  Church,  while  the  correct  name  for  it  at  that  time  was  Luther's 
Chapel.  Then  in  1866,  when  the  cornerstone  for  the  new  brick  church 
was  being  readied,  the  name  was  changed  to  "Lutheran  Chapel". 

It  is  thought  that  this  church  was  one  of  the  original  congregations 
that  took  part  in  the  organization  of  the  Synod  in  Salisbury  in  1803. 

It  would  seem  of  interest  here  to  note  that  while  Rev.  John  D. 
Scheck  was  pastor  at  this  church,  he  was  made  postmaster  at  China 
Grove  from  1844  to  1849,  and  that  the  name  of  the  post  office  was  changed 
in  1846  from  China  Grove  to  Lutherville;  however,  it  was  changed  back 
in  1849. 


238         History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

This  church  might  well  be  called  a  mother  church,  because  from 
her  have  gone  out  so  many  members  to  help  organize  and  build  other 
surrounding  congregations.  But  with  it  all,  Lutheran  Chapel  is  stronger 
today  than  at  any  other  time  in  her  history. 

Fortunately  we  find  here  a  fairly  complete  list  of  pastors  who 
served  this  church. 

List  of  Pastors: 

A.  Nussmann  and  J.  G.  Whitson  Kimball,  1861-1877 
Arends,  1780-1789  W.  H.  Cone,  1877-1881 

C.  A.  G.  Storch,  1789-1820  B.  S.  Brown,  Sr.,  1881-1887 

Daniel  Scherer,  1820-1830  J.  L.  Buck,  1887-1889 

Jacob  Kaempfer,  1830-1833  C.  A.  Marks,  1889-1896 

Henry  Graeber,  1833-1837  J.  Q.  Wertz,  1896-1907 

J.  D.  Scheck,  1837-1854  C.  A.  Brov^,  1908-1924 

S.  Rothrock,  1854-1855  E.  F.  K.  Roof,  1925-1928 

B.  C.  Hall,  1855-1857  C.  E.  Ridenhour,  1928-1945 
William  Artz,  1859-1861  B.  S.  Brown,  Jr.,  1946- 


LUTHERAN  CHAPEL,  GASTONIA 

Lutheran  Chapel  Church  is  located  in  Gaston  County,  in  the 
eastern  extension  of  Gastonia. 

This  church  was  organized  by  Rev.  Abel  J.  Brown,  in  the  year 
1828.  Mr.  Caleb  J.  Lineberger,  who  was  born  in  1818,  used  to  say  he 
helped  to  haul  logs  for  the  first  church  when  he  was  ten  years  old. 
That  would  be  in  1828. 

Rev.  J.  R.  Peterson  was  pastor  when,  in  1872,  the  original  frame 
building  was  replaced  by  a  brick  church,  about  40  x  60  feet.  The  corner- 
stone of  this  building  was  laid  in  December  1872,  by  Rev.  A.  J.  Fox, 
President  of  the  Tennessee  Synod,  assisted  by  Pastor  Peterson,  and  Rev. 
Nathan  Aldrich,  Pastor  of  St.  Mark's  Lutheran  Church  in  Charlotte.  This 
was  the  first  brick  church  in  Gaston  County.  It  was  dedicated  on  June  1, 
1884,  by  Dr.  L.  A.   Bikle,   and  Pastor  Peterson. 

On  Monday  morning,  January  8,  1883,  the  interior  of  the  church 
was  burned  out,  leaving  the  walls  standing.  The  inside  of  the  building 
was  soon  rebuilt,  and  the  church  used  again.  Meanwhile,  Pastor  Peter- 
son had  resigned  before  the  building  was  burned,  and  so  preached  only 
one  time  after  the  fire.  Rev.  M.  L.  Little  succeeded  Rev.  Mr.  Peterson 
as  pastor,  and  served  the  congregation  until  he  was  killed  in  a  train 
wreck  on  February  16,  1891. 

In  1898,  members  of  Lutheran  Chapel,  led  by  their  pastor.  Rev.  W. 
J.  Boger,  took  an  active  part  in  organizing  Holy  Trinity  Church  in 
Gastonia.  On  March  1,  1922  Rev.  G.  H.  C.  Park  became  the  first  full- 
time  pastor  of  Lutheran  Chapel. 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  239 

In  1902,  1910,  and  1919  respectively,  three  tracts  of  land,  ad- 
joining the  church  property,  were  secured,  which  gives  the  church  in 
all,  about  eleven  acres. 

In  1922-1923  a  new  brick  church  was  constructed,  under  Rev. 
Park's  pastoral  leadership,  at  a  cost  of  around  $50,000.00  of  which  Mr. 
D.  E.  Rhyne  gave  an  initial  sum  of  $10,000.00.  This  building  has  a  full 
basement,  and  is  provided  with  equipment  for  modern  church  work. 
The  new  building  was  opened  for  services  in  the  summer  of  1923.  The 
1924  meeting  of  Synod  was  held  here  in  November  17-20.  This  church 
was  dedicated  November  8,  1936.  Meanwhile  the  parsonage  has  been 
modernized  and  made  inviting  for  the  pastor. 

List  of  Pastors: 

A.  J.  Brown,  1828  L.  L.  Huffman,  1914-1915 

J.  R.  Peterson,  1840-1883  A.  L.  Bolick,  1916-1921 

M.  L.  Little,  1883-1891  G.  H.  C.  Park,  1922-1926 

L.  L.  Lohr,  1891-1893  V.  Y.  Boozer,  1926-1931 

S.  S.  Rahh,  Sup.,  1894  C.  O.  Lippard,  1932-1933 

J.  A.  Rudisill,  1895  J.  F.  Davis,  1933-1938 

J.  F.  Moser,  1895-1897  F.  P.  Cauble,  1938-1941 

W.  J.  Boger,  1897-1909  C.  V.  Deal,  1941-1942 

John  Hall,  1910-1911  John  L.  Morgan,  1942-1947 

M.  A.  Ashby,  1912  L.  C.  Bumgarner,  1947-1952 


LUTHER'S  CHAPEL,  LINCOLNTON 

Luther's  Chapel  Church  was  located  in  Lincoln  County,  two  miles 
north  of  Lincolnton,  on  the  highway  leading  to  Maiden. 

The  church  was  organized  about  1885  with  twenty  members  in 
a  nearby  school  building  by  Rev.  M.  L.  Carpenter.  The  deed  for  the 
church  lot  bears  the  date  July  7,  1885. 

The  first  building  was  a  cheap  frame  structure,  probably  erected 
the  same  year  in  which  the  organization  was  effected.  In  1905  a  new 
and  better  frame  building  was  erected  and  dedicated,  which  was  used 
until  services  were  discontinued  there  in  1949,  after  which  it  was 
sold  and  dismantled.    The  proceeds  were  used  to  fix  up  the  graveyard. 

This  church  was  at  first  connected  with  the  Ohio  Synod,  but 
in  1912,  under  the  pastoral  leadership  of  Rev.  J.  M.  Senter,  it  applied 
for  membership  and  was  received  into  the  Tennessee  Synod.  It  was  for 
the  last  number  of  years  associated  with  the  Maiden  Parish,  but  when  St. 


240         History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

Martin's    became    self-sustaining,    no    further    pastoral    provision    was 
made  for  Luther's  Chapel,  so  in  1949  it  became  inactive  and  disbanded. 

List  of  Pastors: 
G.  A.  Derhammer,  1900-1902  J.  E.  Walker,  1942-1947 

J.  M.  Senter,  1903-1912  A.  H.  Keck,  Jr.,  Sup.,  1947-1948 

F.  M.  Speagle,  1914-1917  H.  A.  McCullough,  Jr.,  Sup., 

W.  D.  Wise,  1918-1921  1948-1949 


LUTHER'S  CHURCH,  ROWAN  CO. 

Luther's  Church  is  located  in  the  southeastern  part  of  Rowan 
County,  about  three  miles  west  of  the  Yadkin  River,  on  the  Stokes 
Ferry  Road. 

It  is  not  definitely  known  when  this  church  was  organized;  how- 
ever, the  Minutes  of  the  North  Carolina  Synod  for  1828,  page  7,  re- 
port: "Petition  from  the  members  of  the  congregation  of  Luther's 
Church,  Rowan  County,  which  was  lately  organized  through  the  instru- 
mentality of  Rev.  Daniel  Scherer,  to  be  received  into  connection  with 
this  body,  and  to  be  supplied  with  regular  preaching."  The  congre- 
gation was  received  and  Pastor  Scherer  was  asked  to  continue  to  serve 
the  new  congregation. 

The  first  church  was  a  log  building,  which  stood  between  the  place 
of  the  present  church  and  the  road.  The  second  building  was  a  frame 
structure  erected  in  1882,  when  Rev.  T.  H.  Strohecker  was  pastor.  This 
building  was  dedicated  September  7,  1883  by  Pastor  Strohecker,  Dr. 
Samuel  Rothrock,  and  others. 

A  third  building  was  undertaken  by  this  congregation  about  1910, 
which  also  was  a  frame  structure.  This  church  was  started  while  Rev. 
W.  A.  Button  was  pastor,  but  was  dedicated  while  Rev.  J.  B.  Moose  was 
in  charge,  on  April  25,  1914.  This  building  was  destroyed  by  fire  from 
lightning  on  July  22,  1930. 

The  fourth  building  was  constructed  of  brick.  It  was  carried  to 
completion  without  much  delay,  and  was  opened  for  services  on  Sunday 
morning,  August  9,  1931.  The  sermon  was  by  the  pastor,  Rev.  E.  R. 
Trexler.  The  cornerstone  of  the  building  was  laid  that  same  afternoon. 
The  church  was  dedicated  April  12,  1936. 

Sunday  School  rooms  were  added  to  the  church  a  few  years  after 
the  main  building  was  completed. 

M.  L.  Carpenter,  1885-1891  C.  R.  Patterson,  1922-1926 

B.  L.  Westenberger,  1891-1895  J.  L.  Norris,  1927-1937 

J.  H.  Wannemacher,  1895-1899  A.  W.  Lippard,  1938-1942 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 


241 


Luther's  congregation  has  an  interest  in  the  new  parsonage  at 
Richfield,  which  was  built  under  the  pastoral  leadership  of  Rev.  John 
L.  Morgan. 

List  of  Pastors: 


Daniel  Scherer,  1828-1830 
Jacob  Kaempfer,  1830-1833 
H.  Graeber,  1833-1841 
S.  Rothrock,  1841-1845 
J.  A.  Linn,  Sr.,  1846-1852 
W.  G.  Harter,  1853-1856 
J.  A.  Linn,  Sr.,  1856-1863 
L.  C.  Groseclose,  1866-1867 
R.  L.  Brown,  1868-1874 
W.  H.  Cone,  1875-1877 
J.  A.  Linn,  Jr.,  1878-1880 
T.  H.  Strohecker,  1881-1886 
H.  A.  Trexler,  1886-1888 
S.  Rothrock,  1888-1889 
C.  C.  Lyerly,  1891-1892 
J.  H.  C.  Fisher,  1894-1896 
C.  C.  Lyerly,  1897-1898 


P.  H.  E.  Derrick,  1898-1899 

P.  L.  Miller,  1899 

E.  W.  Leslie,  Sup.,  1901-1902 

C.  L.  T.  Fisher,  1903 

C.  R.  Pless,  1903-1907 

W.  A.  Dutton,  1907-1912 

J.  B.  Moose,  1913-1914 

J.  A.  Linn,  1914-1915 

C.  M.  Fox,  1916-1918 

H.  A.  Trexler,  1920-1923 

B.  D.  Castor,  Sup.,  1925 
E.  R.  Trexler,  1927-1931 

C.  Lee  Shipton,  1934-1938 
P.  E.  Moose,  1938-1943 

J.  L.  Lackey,  1944-1947 
John  L.  Morgan,  1947- 


MACEDONIA,  BURLINGTON 

Macedonia  Church  is  located  in  the  City  of  Burlington,  in  Alamance 
County.  This  church  was  organized  by  Rev.  W.  A.  Julian,  in  1869.  The 
place  was  then  called  Company  Shops,  because  the  Southern  Railroad 
shops  were  located  there  at  that  time. 

Synod  met  in  Frieden's  Church  that  year,  when  a  petition  from  a 
group  of  Lutherans  in  Company  Shops  was  presented  to  Synod,  asking 
for  a  minister  to  come  and  organize  a  church  at  that  place.  The  request 
was  granted,  and  Pastor  Julian  was  assigned  to  that  field. 

The  organization  was  soon  effected,  and  the  new  church  was 
received  into  Synod  at  a  called  meeting  at  Salem^  Church  in  Rowan 
County,  in  August  that  same  year. 

The  congregation  worshiped  in  a  union  chapel  for  a  number  of 
years.  But,  during  Rev.  Whiston  Kimball's  pastorate,  the  congregation 
moved  into  its  own  house  of  worship.  This  was  a  small  frame  building, 
but  served  a  fine  purpose.  A  parsonage  was  built  while  Rev.  C.  B.  Miller 
was  pastor  there  which  added  stability  to  the  cause. 

The  present  brick  church  was  built  in  1909,  under  the  pastoral 
leadership  of  Rev.  C.  B.  Cox.  It  was  dedicated  October  23,  1910,  by  Rev. 
V.  Y,  Boozer,  President  of  Synod;  Pastor  Cox,  and  Dr.  R.  C.  Holland. 

The  Adjourned  Meeting  of  the  Merger  Convention  of  the  United 
Lutheran  Synod  of  North  Carolina  was  held  in  Macedonia  Church,  June 


242         History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

8-10,   1921.     The  Parish   Building   Annex  was   built   during   Rev.   H.   P. 
Wyrick's  pastorate,  and  was  opened  for  occupancy  January  18,  1925. 

Property  for  a  playground  was  made  possible  by  a  generous  gift 
from  Mr.  and  Mrs.  B.  V.  May,  while  Rev.  Edward  Fulenwider  was  pastor. 
The  same  year,  when  Rev.  L.  Boyd  Hamm  became  pastor,  the  congregation 
purchased  a  new  parsonage  and  converted  the  old  one  into  a  church 
office  building. 

During  the  pastorate  of  Rev.  J.  L.  Norris,  the  congregation  has 
been  accumulating  a  fund  for  a  new  church  which  they  plan  to  build 
in  the  near  future. 

List  of  Pastors: 

W.  A.  Julian,  1869-1870  C.  B.  Cox,  1904-1912 

Simeon  Scherer,  1873-1876  C.  I.  Morgan,  1912-1913 

Whitson  Kimball,  1876-1880  T.  S.  Brown,  1913-1922 

J.  L.  Buck,  1882-1887  H.  P.  Wyrick,  1922-1930 

Stu.  C.  A.  Brown,  1889  E.  Fulenwider,  1930-1940 

C.  B.  Miller,  1890-1895  L.  Boyd  Hamm,  1940-1946 

V.  Y.  Boozer,  1895-1898  L.  D.  Miller,  Asst.,  1942 

W.  W.  J.  Ritchie,  1898-1903  J.  L.  Norris,  1947- 


MELANCHTHON,  RANDOLPH  CO. 

Melanchthon  Church  is  located  in  Randolph  County,  five  miles 
south  from  Liberty  on  the  highway  leading  to  Asheboro. 

The  old  Minutes  of  Synod  give  1824  as  the  year  when  this  church 
was  organized.  It  was  originally  a  part  of  Richland  congregation,  but 
withdrew  on  account  of  differences  in  teaching  and  practices,  and  formed 
a  new  congregation  in  connection  with  the  Tennessee  Synod.  The  new 
congregation  kept  the  old  name  —  Richland  —  and  continued  to  worship 
in  the  same  old  church  up  until  1851. 

During  1850  a  tract  of  land  was  secured  where  the  church  is  now 
located,  on  which  to  build  a  new  church.  It  was  a  :^rame  building 
24  X  30  feet,  which  stood  on  the  opposite  side  of  the  road  from  the  present 
building. 

On  August  9,  1851,  a  meeting  was  held  in  the  new  church,  and  the 
congregation  was  reorganized  and  called  Melanchthon.  Also  Calvin  C. 
Fox  and  Moses  Ruth  were  elected  and  installed  as  Elders  of  the  church. 

On  Sunday,  August  10,  1851,  the  church  was  dedicated  by  Rev. 
Thomas  Crouse.  Fifty  years  later  — 1900  or  1901  —  the  present  church 
was  built.  It  is  a  nice  frame  structure  about  30  x  50  feet.  Rev.  D.  I. 
Offman  was  pastor  at  that  time  and  helped  to  construct  this  building.  He 
was  present  also  in  1951  and  preached  their  anniversary  sermon. 

For  a  long  time  this  church  was  in  a  parish  with  Coble's  and  Mt. 
Pleasant  congregations.    From  1921  to  1950  Melanchthon,  Richland,  and 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  243 

Grace  congregations  were  together  in  the  Randolph  Parish.  But  after 
Grace  assumed  fulltime  for  its  own  pastor,  Melanchthon  has  had  only 
supply  services. 

Rev.  A.  J.  Fox,  M.D.,  and  Rev.  Michael  L.  Fox,  M.D.,  came  from  that 
congregation. 

List  of  Pastors: 

Daniel  Moser,  1831  D.  J.  Settlemyre,  1903-1912 

C.  G.  Reitzel,  1835-1837  D.  I.  Offman,  1913-1921 

J.  R.  Moser,  1838  B.  A.  Barringer,  1922-1926 

Henry  Goodman,  1844  Q.  O.  Lyerly,  1928-1936 

Thomas  Grouse,  1848-1857  W.  D.  Yount,  1936-1937 

M.  J.  Stirewalt,  1859-1862  C.  H.  Fisher,  1937-1939 

Thomas  Grouse,  1863-1866  J.  G.  Dickert,  1941-1946 

M.  L.  Fox,  1867-1889  J.  R.  Boggs,  1946-1948 

D.  I.  Offman,  1890-1902  R.  B.  Sigmon,  1949-1950 


MESSIAH,  SALISBURY 

Messiah  Lutheran  Church  is  located  on  the  corner  of  Lafayette  and 
Boundary  Streets  in  Salisbury. 

This  section  of  Salisbury  was  surveyed  in  1939  by  Miss  Juanita 
Horton,  under  the  direction  of  the  President  of  Synod.  About  350 
Lutherans  were  found  in  that  area,  of  whom  only  about  one-half  were 
members  of  churches  in  this  city. 

In  February  1942,  the  Mission  Committee  of  Synod  engaged  Stu- 
dent Vance  M.  Daniel  for  weekend  services  and  for  fulltime  work  during 
summer  vacation  in  this  field.  The  first  meeting  was  held  in  Cletus 
Fink's  home,  which  was  attended  by  five  members  of  the  local  com- 
munity, together  with  Mr.  Daniel  and  Mr.  H.  E.  Isenhour,  Secretary 
of  the  Mission  Committee  of  Synod. 

At  first,  services  were  held  in  private  homes  or  outdoors.  Then 
the  Synod  purchased  a  vacant  lot  for  that  mission,  and  Easter  services 
in  1942  were  held  on  that  lot  with  more  than  one  hundred  in  attendance. 

The  Lutheran  churches  of  Rowan  County  together  raised  $1,800.00 
to  help  put  up  a  frame  building,  and  the  local  men  did  most  of  the 
carpenter  work  during  off  hours  without  charge.  This  building  was 
opened  for  services  on  Sunday,  August  16,  1942,  at  which  time  the 
church  was  organized  with  87  members.  The  service  was  in  charge  of 
Mr.  Daniel,   assisted  by  officers  of  the  Mission  Committee. 

When  Mr.  Daniel  completed  his  seminary  school  work,  he  was 
called  as  regular  pastor  here,  effective  June  1,  1943,  and  served  until 
1944. 

Rev.  J.  Wilford  Lyerly  became  pastor  June  1,  1944.  Plans  for  a 
much  needed  larger  church  were  made,  but  war  conditions  delayed  the 
building  program.     Finally,  on  March  11,  1950,  the  contract  for  a  new 


244         History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

church  was  signed,  and  on  the  19th  of  the  same  month  groundbreaking 
services  were  held  in  charge  of  Pastor  Lyerly,  President  F.  L.  Conrad, 
and  Dr.  J.  L.  Morgan. 

The  cornerstone  was  laid  July  9,  1950  by  President  Conrad,  Pastor 
Lyerly,  and  Dr.  Morgan. 

This  is  a  brick  building  of  English  Gothic  design,  with  full  base- 
ment, and  an  Educational  Annex.  The  total  cost  for  the  church  and 
its  furnishings  is  approximately  $68,000.00.  The  Loan  and  Gift  Fund  of 
Synod  enabled  the  congregation  to  carry  the  building  to  completion. 

The  completed  church  was  opened  for  services  on  Sunday,  March 
18,  1951.  The  service  was  in  charge  of  Pastor  Lyerly  and  President  F. 
L.  Conrad  preached  the  sermon.  Greetings  were  given  at  the  after- 
noon service  by  the  various  auxiliaries  which  had  contributed  to  the 
construction  of  the  church. 

The  Lutherans  of  Rowan  County  and  a  host  of  friends  contributed 
towards  the  building  of  this  splendid  house  of  worship,  which  is  meeting 
a  spiritual  need  in  this  area  of  the  city. 

List  of  Pastors: 
Vance  M.  Daniel,  1942-1944  J.  Wilford  Lyerly,  1944- 


MORNING   STAR,   MECKLENBURG    CO. 

Morning  Star  Lutheran  Church  is  located  in  Mecklenburg  County, 
about  three  miles  northeast  of  the  town  of  Matthews,  in  a  rural  area. 

We  do  not  know  when  this  church  was  organized,  or  who  started  it. 
However,  in  the  old  records  of  St.  John's  Church  in  Cabarrus  County, 
we  find  that  Rev.  Adam  N.  Marcard,  who  was  pastor  of  St.  John's  from 
1797  to  1800,  served  this  church  in  connection  with  St.  John's  congre- 
gation. He  recorded  some  of  his  official  acts  for  Morning  Star,  then  call- 
ed Crooked  Creek  Church,  in  the  St.  John's  Record  Book,  from  which  we 
quote  the  following:  "As  deacons  in  the  congregation  at  Crooked  Creek, 
I  (A.  N.  Marcard)  installed  on  November  11,  1798,  Conrad  Cramm  and 
John  Herche.    Also,  on  that  day  the  church  there  was  dedicated  by  me." 

Pastor  Marcard  goes  on  to  record  in  St.  John's  Record  Book  the 
following  further  statement:  "On  November  11,  1798,  there  went  to  the 
communion  at  Crooked  Creek,  Conrad  Cramm,  George  Fischer,  Adam 
Fischer,  Andrew  Wenss,  Mary  Fischer,  Katherine  Wenss,  Mary  Fischer, 
Mary  Magdalene  Cramm,  Nicholas  Pfeiffer,  David  Pfeiffer,  Peter  Pfeiffer, 
Maria  Magdalene  Wenss,  and  Lydia  Wenss." 

Many  of  the  names  recorded  as  of  Crooked  Creek  by  Rev.  Marcard 
at  St.  John's  are  found  on  the  old  Record  Book  of  Morning  Star.  By 
reference  to  a  map,  it  will  be  seen  that  Morning  Star  is  located  near 
one  of  the  upper  branches  of  Crooked  Creek,  hence  the  name  for  the 
church. 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 


245 


All  this  substantiates  three  things: 

1.  There  was  an  organized  church  at  Crooked  Creek  as  early  as 
1798. 

2.  There  was  a  house  of  worship  there. 

3.  The  names  and  records  identify  this  Crooked  Creek  with  the 
present  Morning  Star  Church. 

A  few  years  later  the  church  is  referred  to  as  McCobbin's  Creek. 
This  may  be  intended  for  McAlpine  Creek  in  that  vicinity.  However, 
in  1815  McCobbin's  Church  was  enrolled  as  a  member  of  Synod  and  two 
delegates  from  that  church  were  enrolled  —  Jacob  Long  and  John 
Harkey,  from  Morning  Star  Church.  This  identifies  McCobbin's  Church 
as  Morning  Star. 

We  do  not  know  who  served  the  church  after  1800  to  1815.  In 
1815  and  for  four  years,  David  Henkel  visited  the  congregation  and 
preached,  baptized  children  and  adults,  gave  communion,  etc.  (See 
Morning  Star  Church  Records.) 

The  church  was  first  located  nearly  one  mile  east  from  the 
present  church.    The  place  is  marked  by  the  old  graveyard. 

The  first  building,  which  Rev.  Mr.  Marcard  dedicated  on  Novem- 
ber 11,  1798,  was  on  the  old  lot,  and  was  built  of  logs.  How  long  it  was 
used,  or  why  they  relocated,  we  do  not  know.  The  second  building  also 
was  a  log  structure,  but  it  was  on  the  present  lot.  No  one  seems  to 
know  when  it  was  built.  However,  the  third  or  present  church  was 
constructed  in  1906.    It  is  a  frame  building  and  is  still  in  good  condition. 

In  1951,  the  congregation,  encouraged  by  their  pastor,  the  Rev. 
C.  E.  Norman,  fitted  up  two  Sunday  School  class  rooms  in  the  rear  portion 
of  the  nave,  with  a  vestibule  in  between.  This  church  has  for  many 
years  been  associated  in  a  parish  with  St.  Luke's  congregation  in 
Monroe,  where  for  decades  the  different  pastors  have  lived. 

This  was  the  home  church  of  Rev.  Irenaeus  Conder,  a  highly  es- 
teemed minister  of  this  Synod,  who  served  in  that  capacity  from  1861  to 
1928  —  three  score  and  seven  years. 


List  of  Pastors: 


A.  N.  Marcard,  1797-1800 
David  Henkel,  1815-1818 
David  Henkel,  1830 
Nehemiah  Bonham,  1831 
Adam  Miller,  Jr.,  1831-1832 
Henry  Goodman,  Adam  Miller, 
Jr.,  A.  J.  Fox,  and 
A.  J.  Brown,  1833-1839 
Ephraim  Rudisill,  1840-1855 
Jacob  Killian,  1840-1855 
Timothy  Moser,  1856 
Christian  Moretz,  1860 
M.  Q.  Boland,  1902 


G.  D.  Bernheim,  1905-1907 
R.  H.  Cline,  1907-1910 
W.  J.  Boger,  1913-1918 
P.  L.   Miller,  1920-1922 
J.  E.  Stockman,  1923-1925 
J.  D.  Sheppard,  1929-1931 
C.  R.  Pless,  1931-1934 
C.  V.  Deal,  1934-1941 
F.  K.  Efird,  1941-1943 
H.  D.  Hawthorne,  1943-1944 
H.  F.  Lineberger,  1945-1949 
C.  E.  Norman,  1949- 


246 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 


MT.   CALVARY,  CLARE  MONT 

Mt.  Calvary  Church  is  located  in  Catawba  County,  in  the  town  of 
Claremont. 

This  church  was  organized  on  April  20,  1902,  in  the  Wike  School 
House  with  29  charter  members  by  Rev.  R.  A.  Yoder,  D.D.  The  first 
officers  were:  J.  H.  C.  Hewitt,  A.  L.  Hewitt,  George  Yount,  and  R.  L. 
Smyre.     A  lot  for  the  church  was   donated   by   George   Yount. 

Construction  on  their  first  house  of  worship  was  begun  in  July 
1902,  and  the  building  was  completed  in  1903.  This  was  a  frame 
structure.  The  first  service  in  the  new  church  was  on  Sunday,  January 
18,  1903,  by  Pastor  Yoder. 

The  building  was  dedicated  November  15,  1903,  free  of  indebted- 
ness. Rev.  J.  C.  Moser,  D.D.  preached  the  sermon  and  Dr.  Yoder  dedicated 
the  church. 

In  1912,  while  Rev.  W.  D.  Wise  was  pastor,  two  Sunday  School 
rooms  were  added  to  the  building.  Plans  for  a  new  parsonage  were  de- 
veloped while  Rev.  J.  J.  Bickley  was  pastor,  which  was  constructed  during 
Rev.  S.  L.  Nease's  pastorate.  A  Sunday  School  Annex  was  built  about 
1928. 

During  Rev.  R.  B.  Sigmon's  pastorate,  a  contract  was  signed  on 
September  15,  1939  for  their  new  brick  house  of  worship  and  Education 
Building.  The  building  was  completed  and  opened  for  divine  services  by 
March  31,  1940.  The  cornerstone  was  laid  on  the  opening  day  by  Pastor 
Sigmon  and  President  J.  L.  Morgan,  who  preached  the  sermon  for  the 
occasion. 

This  building  cost  approximately  $20,000.00.  It  was  dedicated, 
free  of  debt,  January  31,  1943,  by  their  pastor,  Rev.  R.  B.  Sigmon,  and 
the  President  of  Synod. 

A  new  pipe  organ  was  installed  in  1946,  while  Rev.  G.  A.  Phillips 
was  pastor  there  at  a  cost  of  $4,500.00.  Soon  after  the  coming  of  their 
present  pastor.  Rev.  L.  O.  Dasher,  a  new  parsonage  was  built  in  1948, 
at  a  cost  of  $22,500.00. 

List  of  Pastors: 


R.  A.  Yoder,  1902-1905 
J.  A.  Arndt,  1906-1908 
W.  D.  Wise,  1908-1911 
J.  C.  Moser,  1911 
W.  D.  Wise,  1912-1918 
J.  J.  Bickley,  1918-1920 
E.  J.  Sox,  Sup.,  1920-1921 
S.   L.   Nease,   1921-1924 


Stu.  H.  J.  Rhyne  and  Dr. 
J.  C.  Peery,  Sup.  1924-1925 
J.  C.  Deitz,  1925-1927 
Stu.  A.  K.  Hewitt,  Sup., 

1927-1928 
R.  B.  Sigmon,  1928-1943 
G.  A.  Phillips,  1944-1947 
L.  O.  Dasher,  1947- 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  247 


MT.  GILEAD,  CABARRUS  CO. 

Mt.  Gilead  Church  is  located  in  Cabarrus  County,  three  miles  east 
of  Mt.  Pleasant,  on  the  Albemarle  highway.  This  church  is  the  successor 
of  two  former  congregations  which,  in  the  year  1887,  merged  to  form 
one  church. 

The  older  of  these  two  congregations  was  Lutheran  Union  Church, 
located  two  miles  south  of  the  present  church.  This  congregation  be- 
longed to  the  Tennessee  Synod,  but  we  do  not  know  when  it  was  first 
organized.  Dates  of  deaths  carved  on  grave  stones  go  as  far  back 
as  1835.  The  building,  being  of  wood,  decayed  years  ago,  but  the  walled- 
in  graveyard  marks  the  location. 

The  other  of  those  two  churches  was  Mt.  Carmel,  located  a  mile 
west  of  Lutheran  Union,  and  two  miles  southeast  of  Mt.  Pleasant.  This 
congregation  belonged  to  the  North  Carolina  Synod.  It  was  received  into 
Synod  at  the  meeting  in  Newton  in  1853.  This  was  a  frame  building 
which  has  been  removed,  leaving  only  the  burying  ground  to  mark 
the  place. 

A  joint  meeting  of  those  two  congregations  was  held  January  1, 
1887,  and  they  agreed  to  merge  into  one  congregation.  By  a  ma- 
jority vote  of  one,  it  was  decided  to  unite  with  the  Tennessee  Synod, 
and  it  was  also  decided  to  call  the  merged  congregation  Luther  Union 
and  worship  at  that  place.  However,  services  were  held  at  Mt.  Carmel 
for  some  years  after  this  merger. 

At  a  congregational  meeting  on  January  19,  1889,  it  was  decided 
to  build  a  new  church  on  the  main  highway  and  call  it  Mt.  Gilead 
Lutheran  Church.  So,  a  frame  building  was  started  early  in  1889  and 
was  completed  in  December  1890.  The  church  was  dedicated  April  12, 
1891  by  the  pastor,  Rev.  J.  P.  Price. 

This  building  was  remodeled  in  1911,  while  Rev.  L.  D.  Miller  was 
pastor,  and  again  in  1935,  while  Rev.  J.  W.  Link  was  pastor.  It  was  re- 
dedicated  on  November  3,  1935.  On  October  30,  1949  a  Sunday  School 
Annex  and  a  number  of  new  furnishings  were  dedicated  by  Rev.  E. 
Fulenwider,  D.D.,  pastor;  and  Dr.  J.  L.  Morgan. 

On  October  28,  1951,  their  new  Martin  Luther  Hahn  Memorial  Sun- 
day School  Building  was  dedicated. 

List  of  Pastors: 

Timothy  Moser,  1887-1888  C.  A.  Linn,  1922-1923 

J.  P.  Price,  1888-1900  C.  L.  T.  Fisher,  1923-1925 

W.  H.  Little,  1900-1901  J.  H.  C.  Fisher,  Sup.,  1926-1932 

J.  F.  Deal,  1902-1906  R.  B.  Fisher,  Sup.,  1933 

H.  L.  Seagle,  1906-1908  J.  W.  Link,  1933-1947 

L.  D.  Miller,  1909-1918  E.  Fulenwider,  Sup.,  1947- 

D.  L.  Miller,  1919-1921 


248         History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 
mt.  hebron,  hilderbran 

Mt.  Hebron  Church  is  located  in  Burke  County,  in  the  town  of 
Hildebran. 

This  church  was  organized  September  12,  1903  in  Mr.  M.  E.  Rusi- 
sill's  Boarding  House  at  Henry  River  with  16  members  by  Rev.  J.  C. 
Moser,  D.D.  Officers  elected  were:  M.  L.  Aderholdt,  D.  W.  Aderholdt, 
and  M.  E.  Rudisill. 

Services  were  held  in  a  store  building,  at  Henry  River,  for  some 
time.  But  in  1918  the  congregation  moved  its  place  of  worship  to  the 
nearby  town  of  Hildebran  and  held  services  in  a  school  building  until 
the  church  was  ready  for  use.  A  lot  was  secured  there,  and  work 
begun  on  the  church  building  in  1920.  It  was  completed  in  1922  at  a 
cost  of  $10,000.00.  It  was  dedicated  at  a  meeting  of  conference  there, 
March  22,  1923,  by  Dr.  J.  L.  Morgan,  President  of  Synod;  assisted  by 
Pastor  F.  K.  Roof,  Rev.  W.  A.  Deaton,  D.D.,  and  Rev.  Enoch  Hite. 

In  1938  this  church  assumed  full  support  of  its  pastor,  when  Rev. 
J.  Wilford  Lyerly  was  called  as  pastor.  During  his  administration,  in 
the  year  1941,  a  Parish  Educational  Building  was  started,  which  was 
completed  the  following  year  and  was  dedicated  September  6,  1942. 
The  cornerstone  was  laid  in  connection  with  this  same  service,  all  in 
charge  of  Pastor  Lyerly,  assisted  by  Dr.  W.  A.  Deaton,  and  Dr.  J.  L. 
Morgan.  The  Sunday  School  used  this  new  school  building  for  the  first 
time  this  day,  to  the  joy  of  everyone  present.  Mr.  H.  E.  Isenhour  made 
a  talk  to  the  School  on  this  occasion. 

The  church  nave  was  refinished  in  this  same  building  project. 
The  whole  program  amounted  to  approximately  $10,600.00. 

A  modern  ten  room  brick  veneer  parsonage  was  built  under 
Pastor  R.  D.  Fritz's  leadership  in  1952  at  a  cost  of  approximately 
$21,000.00. 

List  of  Pastors: 

J.  C.  Moser,  1903-1904  Supplied,  1927-1929 

J.  L.  Cromer,  1905-1907  S.  L.  Sox,  1929-1932 

J.  P.  Price,  1907-1913  E.  J.  Sox,  Sup.,  1932 

W.  A.  Deaton,  1913-1920  D.  P.  Rudisill,  1932-1938 

F.  K.  Roof,  1920-1924  J.  W.  Lyerly,  1938-1944 

Stu.  E.  R.  Lineberger,  1924  F.  C.  Morehead,  1944-1950 

W.  A.  Craun,  1924-1927  R.  D.  Fritz,  1950- 


MT.  HERMAN,  CONCORD 

Mt.  Herman  Church  is  located  in  Cabarrus  County,  three  miles 
south  of  Concord,  on  the  highway  to  Monroe.  Services  were  held  in 
this  community  as  far  back  as  1868  by  Rev.  G.  D.  Bernheim  and  others 
at   intervals.     In   1880,   Rev.   S.   T.   Hallman,   then   pastor   of  St.   James 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 


249 


Church  in  Concord,  began  holding  services  regularly  at  afternoon  hours. 

Soon  a  lot  for  a  church  was  secured,  and  on  February  8,  1881,  the 
cornerstone  of  a  new  frame  church  was  laid  by  Pastor  Hallman.  The 
congregation  was  organized  April  17,  1881  with  twenty-five  members. 
The  church  was  dedicated  April  15,  1888  by  Rev.  A.  D.  L.  Moser,  then 
pastor  of  the  congregation. 

The  church  was  completely  overhauled  in  1941,  under  the  direction 
of  Rev.  P.  G.  Kinney,  their  pastor.  The  building  was  brick  veneered,  and 
new  furniture  installed.  The  church  was  rededicated  November  23,  1941 
by  Pastor  Kinney  and  the  President  of  Synod,  v/ith  greetings  from  other 
ministers. 

A  new  brick  veneer  parsonage  was  built  in  1947-1948  on  a  lot 
near  the  church,  which  was  given  by  one  of  their  members  for  that 
purpose.  It  was  dedicated  November  19,  1950  by  Pastor  Leroy  C. 
Trexler,  President  F.  L.  Conrad,  and  Dr.  J.  L.  Morgan. 


List  of  Pastors: 


S.  T.  Hallman,  1880-1883 
G.  F.  Schaeffer,  1884 
Whitson  Kimball,  1884-1886 
A.  D.  L.  Moser,  1886-1888 
J.  M.  Hedrick,  1888-1893 
P.  Miller,  1893-1894 
J.  D.  Shealy,  1894-1895 
H.  A.  McCullough,  1895-1898 
W.  B.  Oney,  1898-1900 
C.  A.  Brown,  1900-1901 
Stu.  J.  L.  Morgan,  1901 
E.  Fulenwider,  1902-1904 
J.  W.  Strickler,  1905-1907 
C.  R.  Pless,  1907 
V.  R.  Stickley,  1907-1908 
J.  P.  Miller,  Sup.,  1909 


C.  R.  Pless,  1909-1911 
C.  A.  Brown,  Sup.,  1912 
G.  O.  Ritchie,  Sup.,  1912 
H.  A.  Zimbeck,  1912-1914 
C.  P.  MacLaughlin,  Sup., 

1914-1916 
L.  D.  Miller,  Sup.,  1916-1918 
J.  B.  Moose,  1919-1923 
L.  D.  Miller,  Sup.,  1924-1925 
J.  H.  C.  Fisher,  1925-1930 
J.  W.  Iddings,  1930-1938 
P.  G.  Kinney,  1938-1943 
L.  C.  Hahn,  1943-1947 
J.  L.  Lackey,  1947-1949 
L.  C.  Trexler,  1949-1951 
J.  P.  Rimmer,  1952- 


MT.  HERMAN,  IREDELL  CO. 

Mt.  Herman  Church  is  located  in  Iredell  County,  about  six  miles 
west  of  Statesville  on  the  Lookout  Shoals  Road.  This  church  was 
organized  July  26,  1896  by  Rev.  W.  L.  Darr,  their  first  pastor,  with 
thirty-eight  members.  Rufus  P.  Pope,  Davidson  Eller,  and  W.  I.  Warren 
were  elected  Elders,  and  Quincey  A.  Hoover  and  J.  S.  Morrison  were  elect- 
ed Deacons. 

Mr.  Q.  A.  Hoover  donated  the  first  lot  in  1896,  which  was  en- 
larged by  purchasing  one-half  acre  in  1940.  The  first  church  was  a 
frame  building,  about  30  x  45  feet,  erected  the  same  year  in  which  the 
congregation   was   organized. 

The  present  building  was  constructed  in  1941,  while  Rev.  W.  H. 
Dutton  was  pastor.    The  old  building  was  moved  back  and  forms  a  part 


250         History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

of  the  new  plant.  The  nave  is  all  new,  and  the  entire  building  is  brick 
veneered.  Sunday  School  rooms  are  fitted  up  in  the  old  part.  This 
church  was  dedicated  on  Sunday,  August  23,  1942,  by  Pastor  Button, 
and  the  President  of  Synod. 

The  old  frame  parsonage  was  sold  in  1950,  and  a  new  brick  home 
for  the  pastor  was  built  in  1951,  near  the  church,  at  a  cost  of  $12,000.00, 
which  is  owned  jointly  by  Mt.  Herman  and  Sharon  congregations.  The 
parsonage  was  built  under  the  leadership  of  Student  Pastor  E.  W. 
Ridenhour,  who  later  became  regular  pastor. 

List  of  Pastors: 

W.  L.  Darr,  1896-1906  J.  L.  Thornburg  and  Stu. 

C.  J.   Sox,   1907-1910  Roscoe  Fisher,  Sup.,  1932 
W.  D.  Haltiwanger,  1911-1917  O.  G.  Swicegood,  1933-1935 
J.  M.  Senter,  1918-1821  P.  E.   Moose,   1935-1938 

D.  L.  Miller,  1921-1924  W.  H.  Button,  1939-1943 
W.  C.  Bolick,  Sup.,  1924  R.  M.  Carpenter,  1943-1950 
Q.  O.  Lyerly,  1925-1928  Stu.  E.  W.  Ridenhour,  1950 
R.  H.  Kepley,  1930-1932  E.  W.  Ridenhour,  1951- 


MT.  MORIAH,  CHINA  GROVE 

Mt.  Moriah  Church  is  located  in  Rowan  County,  near  the  north- 
western border  of  the  town  of  Landis. 

The  church  was  organized  on  Becember  30,  1824  by  Rev.  Bavid 
Henkel,  with  seventeen  members.  These  members  originally  belonged 
to  Lutheran  Chapel.  However,  the  newly  organized  group  continued  to 
worship  in  Lutheran  Chapel  for  about  fifteen  or  more  years. 

On  June  17,  1839,  the  congregation  bought  four  acres  of  land 
from  Noah  Partee  for  $6.75,  a  little  north  of  where  the  present  church 
stands,  on  which  their  first  house  of  worship  was  built.  It  was  a  frame 
structure  24  x  30  feet  and  was  completed  and  opened  for  services  in 
1840. 

In  1880,  under  the  pastoral  ledearship  of  Rev.  J.  C.  Moser,  a  new 
frame  church,  40  x  50  feet,  was  built.  In  1917,  while  Rev.  J.  S.  Wessinger 
was  pastor,  an  extension  of  10  feet  by  30  feet  wide  was  added  to  the 
building  and  a  steeple  constructed  with  the  doors  in  the  front  of  the 
building.  At  a  congregational  meeting  May  20,  1928,  it  was  decided 
to  build  a  new  brick  church.  While  the  new  building  was  under  con- 
struction. Rev.  Enoch  Hite  and  his  congregation  held  services  in  the 
Landis  High  School  auditorium.  The  cornerstone  was  laid  May  4, 
1929.  the  church  was  opened  for  services  on  May  5,  1929.  It  was 
dedicated  July  21,  1929  by  the  President  of  Synod  and  Pastor  Hite.  A 
Hammond  organ  was  installed  by  Rev.  E.  Ray  Trexler,  November 
20,  1938. 

The  congregation  owns  a  parsonage  on  the  main  highway  be- 
tween China  Grove  and  Landis.    Mr.  George  W.  Bostian  willed  a  tract 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 


251 


of  land  to  Mt.  Moriah  Church  before  entering  the  Civil  War,  where  he 
was  killed  June  5,  1864.  Also,  Mrs.  Mary  M.  Hess  willed  three  tracts 
to  this  church  before  her  death.  The  church  has  since  come  into 
possession  of  these  properties. 


List  of  Pastors; 


David  Henkel,  1823 
Ambrose  Henkel  and 
Daniel  Moser,  Sup.,  1824 
Philip  Henkel  and 

Christian  Moretz,  Sup.,  1825 
Daniel   Moser,  1826-1829 
Nehemiah  Bonham,  1830 
Philip  Henkel,  Geo.   Easterly, 

and  D.  Miller,  Sup.,  1831 
D.  Moser,  J.  N.  Stirewalt, 

A.  Miller,  H.  Goodman,  and 

Philip  Henkel,  Sup.,  1832 
Philip  Henkel,  Sup.,  1833 
J.  N.  Stirewalt,  1834-1836 
Jacob  Killian,  1837 
A.  J.  Fox,  1838 
Vacant,    1839-1840 
J.  W.  Hull,  1841-1842 
J.  M.  Wagner,  1848 
Adam  Efird,  1851-1852 


No  Record,  1853-1860 

I.  Conder,  1861 

D.  S.  Henkel,  1867-1869 

J.  R.  Peterson,  Sup.,  1871 

J.  C.  Moser,  1874-1881 

D.  J.  Settlemyre,  1883-1886 

R.  H.  Cline,  1887-1889 

A.  L.  Boliek,  Sup.,  1890 

J.  L.  Deaton,  1891-1892 

D.  J.  Settlemyre,  1892-1894 

J.  P.  Miller,  1895-1899 

J.  L.  Deaton,  1900-1902 

D.  I.  Offman,  1903-1913 

C.  H.  Pence,  1913-1914 

E.  Z.  Pence,  Sup.,  1915 

J.  S.  Wessinger,  1915-1928 
Enoch  Hite,  1928-1931 
O.  G.  Swicegood,  Sup.,  1931 
E.  R.  Trexler,  1931-1950 
W.  D.  Moser,  1950-1952 

D.  W.  Zipperer,  1953- 


MT.  OLIVE,  CABARRUS  CO. 

Mt.  Olive  Church  is  located  in  Cabarrus  County,  five  miles  north 
of  Mt.  Pleasant  in  No.  6  Township.  The  church  was  organized  April 
28,  1878,  with  forty-seven  members,  by  Rev.  R.  W.  Petrea,  then  pastor 
of  St.  John's  Church.  Mr.  John  Moose  offered  a  lot  at  the  Moose  School 
House,  and  some  lumber  was  placed  there  for  a  church,  but  it  was 
later  decided  to  locate  where  the  church  now  stands. 

A  frame  church,  40  x  50  feet,  was  started  August  24,  1878,  and  was 
ready  for  services  April  20,  1879.  It  was  dedicated  November  3,  1879. 
The  work  on  the  building  was  done  largely  by  the  laymen  themselves, 
of  whom  special  mention  is  made  of  Mr.  Isaac  Beaver.  In  course  of 
time  the  building  was  remodeled,  and  the  entrance  placed  in  the  opposite 
end  of  the  original  building.  In  1949  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Ray  W.  Cline  helped 
the  congreagtion  to  rearrange  the  nave  of  the  church,  and  install  new 
furniture. 

Since  1895  this  congregation  has  been  in  a  parish  with  St.  Stephen's 
—  the  parsonage  being  located  at  the  latter  place. 


List  of  Pastors; 


R.  W.  Petrea,  1878-1882 
W.  Kimball,  1882-1883 


C.  P.  Fisher,  Sup.,  1910 
G.  H.  L.  Lingle,  1910-1914 


252 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 


J.  B.  Davis,  1884-1885 

Vacant,  1885-1886 

A.  D.  L.  Moser,  1887 

G.  H.  Cox,  1888-1894 

J.  Q.  Wertz,  Sup.,  1894 

P.  H.  E.  Derrick,  1895-1896 

S.  D.  Steffey,  Sup.,  1896-1897 

C.  L.  Miller,  Sup.,  1897 

George  A.  Riser,  1898-1899 

W.  A.  Dutton,  1900-1907 

H.  E.  H.  Sloop,  1907-1909 


C.  M.  Fox,  1914-1916 
C.  P.  Fisher,  Sup.,  1916 
M.  L.  Ridenhour,  1917-1919 
M.  L.  Kester,  1919-1921 
Earl  K.  Bodie,  1921-1924 
J.  A.  Yount,  1924-1926 
W.  H.  Dutton,  1927-1938 
C.  A.  Misenheimer,  1939-1943 
G.  A.  Miller,  1944-1950 
G.  C.  Cruse,  1951- 


MT.  OLIVE,  HICKORY 

Mt.  Olive  Church  is  located  in  Catawba  County  about  three  miles 
north  of  Hickory  on  Highway  No.  127.  The  church  was  organized  in 
1885  by  Rev.  D.  C.  Huffman  and  was  received  into  the  Tennessee  Synod 
at  a  meeting  in  Holly  Grove  Church,  November  9,  1889.  Land  for  the 
church  was  donated  by  Nelson  Huffman  sometime  after  the  organi- 
zation and  their  first  church  was  built  about  that  time.  It  was  a  small 
frame   building   located    about   where   the    present    church    stands. 

The  second  church  was  a  brick  building  32  x  52  feet,  erected  in 
1901,  under  the  pastoral  direction  of  Rev.  E.  J.  Sox,  D.D.  The  brick  for 
the  building  were  handmade  by  members  of  the  congregation,  in 
1919,  this  building  was  struck  by  lightning  and  burned;  however,  the 
furniture  was  saved.  The  congregation  worshiped  in  the  Fairview 
School  House  until  the  church  was  rebuilt.  The  new  building,  which 
also  was  of  brick,  was  constructed  in  1920-1921.  This  church  was 
dedicated  October  9,  1921  by  the  Pastor,  Rev.  Enoch  Hite,  and  Dr.  J.  C. 
Peery. 

While  Rev.  C.  N.  Yount  was  pastor  there,  an  Educational  unit 
was  added  and  was  opened  for  occupancy  November  25,  1934. 

A  house  and  lot,  near  the  church,  was  purchased  after  Rev.  J.  A. 
Linn  became  pastor  and  was  fitted  up  for  a  parsonage.  The  first  par- 
sonage was  on  the  highway  toward  Hickory,  about  one  mile  south 
from'  the  church. 


List  of  Pastors: 


D.  C.  Huffman,  1885 
P.  C.  Henkel,  1889 

A.  L.  Crouse,  1890-1893 
W.  P.  Cline,  1893-1898 

E.  J.  Sox,  1899-1901 
W.  P.  Cline,  1901-1904 
W.  A.  Lutz,  Sup.,  1905 
R.  A.  Yoder,  1905 

C.  L.  Miller,  1905-1910 


J.  D.  Mauney,  1910-1914 
E.  J.  Sox,  1914-1920 
Enoch  Hite,  1920-1925 
C.  N.  Yount,  1925-1935 
John  Ritchie,  1935-1937 
W.  A.  Sigmon,  1937-1942 
J.  D.  Mauney,  Jr.,  1943-1945 
John  Hall,  Sup.,  1945 
J.  Arthur  Linn,  1946-1952 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  253 


MT.  PLEASANT,  ALAMANCE  CO. 

Mt.  Pleasant  Church  is  located  in  Alamance  County  about  one- 
half  mile  south  of  the  Graham-Liberty  highway,  seven  miles  from 
Graham. 

This  church  was  organized  about  1820,  from  members  of  St.  Paul's 
Church,  several  miles  away.  The  organization  took  place  in  Fogle- 
man's  School  House,  which  was  located  near  where  its  present  church 
stands.    The  charter  membership  comprised  twenty-seven  adult  members. 

The  first  two  buildings  were  log  structures,  which  stood  a  short 
distance  from  where  the  present  church  is  located,  but  on  the  opposite 
side  of  the  cemetery.  The  present  frame  building  was  erected  in  the 
year  1908.  The  congregation  had  all  along  been  in  a  parish  with  Coble's 
and  Melanchthon  churches  until  about  1940,  when  St.  Paul's  and  Mt. 
Pleasant  were  placed  in  a  parish  together.  This  arrangement  is  still 
in  operation,  with  Rev.  P.  G.  Kinney  pastor. 

Rev.  D.  I.  Offman  served  this  church  for  a  total  of  about  forty 
years;  however,  its  pastoral  connection  shifted  somewhat  during  that 
time. 

The  pastors  for  this  church  have  been  practically  the  same  as 
the  ones  for  Coble's,  up  until  about  1940. 

List  of  Pastors: 

Philip  Henkel,  Sup.,  1825  Thomas  Crouse,  1863-1866 

Daniel  Moser,  1831  M.  L.  Fox,  1867-1889 

C.  G.  Reitzel,  1835-1837  D.  L  Offman,  1890-1902 

J.  R.  Moser,  1838  D.  J.   Settlemyre,   1903-1912 

Henry  Goodman,  1844  D.  L  Offman,  1913-1946 

Thomas  Crouse,   1848-1857  C.  Lee  Shipton,  Sup.,  1947-1949 

M.  J.  Stirewalt,  1859-1862  P.  G.  Kinney,  1949- 


MT.  PLEASANT,  WATAUGA   CO. 

Mt.  Pleasant  Church  is  located  in  Watauga  County,  nine  miles 
northeast  of  Boone.  The  original  location  was  two  miles  west  of  the 
present  site,  where  Old  Mt.  Pleasant  is  located. 

This  church  was  originally  organized  by  Rev.  Jonathan  R.  Moser 
about  1845,  in  the  Jackson  School  House,  hence  it  was  called  the  Jack- 
son Church.  John  Moretz,  Sr.  and  James  Davis  were  chosen  as  the  first 
councilmen.  For  some  years  services  were  held  in  school  buildings 
and  private  homes  by  visiting  ministers,  among  whom  were:  Revs. 
Jonathan  Moser,  A.  J.  Fox,  Timothy  Moser,  Adam  Efird,  and  Henry 
Goodman.     Rev.  Goodman  was  their  first  regular  pastor. 

In  the  late  fifties  Jordan  Councill  donated  a  lot  for  a  church,  and 
some  preparation  was  made  to  build,  and  the  name  of  the  church  was 
changed  to  Mt.  Pleasant.  But  when  the  Civil  War  started,  all  efforts  to 
build  stopped  until  the  war  was  over.     Then,  in  1868  a  frame  church 


254         History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 


was  constructed.  This  building  was  remodeled  while  Rev.  J.  L.  Deaton 
was  pastor. 

A  second  building  was  dedicated  July  31,  1910  by  the  pastor,  Rev. 
H.  A.  Kistler.  On  Sunday,  January  4,  1920,  this  building  was  destroyed 
by  fire. 

Following  this  loss,  the  pastor,  Rev.  N.  D.  Yount,  and  certain 
members  of  the  congregation,  secured  a  lot  two  miles  east  of  the 
original  one  and  erected  a  frame  structure  there  during  the  year  1923. 
Meantime,  the  other  members  built  a  new  church  at  the  old  grounds, 
and  called  it  Old  Mt.  Pleasant. 

Meanwhile,  a  new  parsonage  was  built  by  the  parish  near  the 
Mt.  Pleasant  Church,  under  the  supervision  of  Rev.  H.  W.  Jeffcoat,  which 
was  destroyed  by  fire  in  1951.  In  1952,  under  the  leadership  of  Pastor 
H.  C.  Linn,  a  new  parsonage  was  erected  at  a  cost  of  $10,200. 


List  of  Pastors: 


J.  R.  Moser,  1845 

Timothy   Moser 

Henry  Goodman,  1849-1852 

Christian  Moretz,  1852-1868 

A.  J.  Fox,  1869 

Henry  Goodman,  1870-1872 

J.  R.  Peterson,  Sup.,  1872 

J.  M.  Smith,  Sup.,  1872 

G.  L.  Hunt,  1874-1876 

P.  C.  Henkel,  1880 

R.   A.   Yoder,  1881 

D.  A.   Goodman,  1881-1882 

M.  L.  Little,  Sup.,  1882 

P.  C.  Henkel,  Sup.,  1883 

P.  C.  Wike  and  C.  H. 

Bernheim,  Sup.,  1883-1884 
J.  A.  Rudisill,  Sup.,  1884 
P.  C.  Henkel,  W.  P.  Cline,  and 

R.  H.  Cline,  Sup.,  1885 
D.  A.  Goodman,  1887 
R.  A.  Yoder  and  Jeff 

Miller,  Sup.,  1888 
J.  A.  Rudisill  and  J.  C. 

Moser,  Sup.,  1889 
Jacob  Wike,  1890-1891 
J.  A.  Rudisill  and  J.  C. 

Wessinger,  Sup.,  1892 
J.  C.  Deitz,  1893 


G.  L.  Hunt,  J.  C.  Moser  and 

J.  L.  Deaton,  Sup.,  1895 
J.  L.  Deaton,  1896-1897 
P.  C.  Wike,  Jacob  Wike,  and 

J.  L.  Cromer,  Sup.,  1898 
J.  L.  Deaton,  1900 

E.  J.  Sox,  1901 
John  Hall,  1901-1905 

J.  Morehead,  Sup.,  1903 
H.  A.  Kistler,  1905-1910 
J.  A.  Yount,  1911-1912 
B.  L.  Stroup  and  A.  L. 

Boliek,  Sup.,  1912 
M.   L.   Carpenter,   1913-1918 
N.   D.   Yount,   1918-1923 
H.  W.  Jeffcoat,  1923-1925 
W.  A.  Deaton,  1925-1932 
O.  G.  Swicegood,  Sup.,  1932 
D.  F.  Swicegood,  Sup.,  1933 
J.  A.  Yount,  Sup.,  1933-1934 
H.  A.  Kistler,  1934-1937 
J.  A.  Yount,  1938-1939 
J.  A.  Yount,  Sup.,  1940-1942 
H.  B.  Leonard,  1943-1944 
H.  H.  Ritchie,  1944-1946 

F.  M.  Speagle,  1947-1951 
H.  C.  Linn,  1951- 


MT.  ZION,  RICHFIELD 

Mt.  Zion  Church  is  located  in  the  town  of  Richfield,  in  Stanly 
County.  This  work  was  started  by  Rev.  C.  C.  Lyerly  while  pastor  of 
Bethel  and  Luther's  Churches.  The  congregation  was  organized,  with 
thirty  members,  on  October  12,  1895,  and  the  cornerstone  was  laid  the 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  255 

same  day.  Rev.  B.  S.  Brown,  Sr.,  President  of  Synod,  and  Pastor  Lyerly 
were  in  charge  of  the  services.  Dr.  J.  D.  Shirey,  President  of  N.  C. 
College,  was  also  present. 

In  1929,  their  frame  building  was  remodeled,  brick  veneered,  and 
refinished  throughout,  and  class  rooms  added.  The  cornerstone  for  this 
building  was  laid  October  9,  1929,  by  the  President  of  Synod,  Pastor 
E.  Ray  Trexler,  and  Rev.  C.  P.  Fisher,  Sr.  The  cost  was  around  $10,000.00. 
The  church  was  dedicated  January  6,  1935,  by  the  President  of  Synod, 
Pastor  C.  Lee  Shipton,  and  Rev.  E.  Ray  Trexler. 

About  twenty-five  years  ago  the  Richfield  Parish  —  Mt.  Zion, 
Luther's,  and  New  Bethel  congregations  —  bought  a  parsonage,  but  they 
sold  it  and  built  a  new  one  during  1948-1949,  at  a  cost  of  $15,000.00. 
This  new  home  for  the  pastor  was  made  possible  by  the  leadership  of 
their  pastor.  Rev.  John  L.  Morgan.  The  building  was  dedicated  October 
2,  1949.    In  1952  a  Parish  Building  was  erected. 

List  of  Pastors: 

C.  C.  Lyerly,  1895-1897  C.  M.  Fox,  1916-1918 

J.  A.  Linn,  1898-1902  H.  A.  Trexler,  1920-1924 

F.  B.  Kuntz,  3  mos.  Sup.,  1903  B.  D.  Castor,  3  mos.  Sup.,  1925 

C.  R.  Pless,  3  mos.  Sup.,  1903  E.  R.  Trexler,   1927-1931 

Charlie  Fisher,  6  mos.  Sup.,  1904  C.  Lee  Shipton,  Sup.,  1932-1934 

C.  R.  Pless,  1904-1907  C.  Lee  Shipton,  1934-1938 

W.  A.  Button,  1907-1912  P.  E.  Moose,  1938-1943 

J.  B.  Moose,  1913-1914  J.  L.  Lackey,  1944-1947 

J.  A.  Linn,  1914-1915  John  L.  Morgan,  1947- 


MT.  ZION,  WATAUGA  CO. 

Mt.  Zion  Church  is  located  at  Meat  Camp  in  Watauga  County, 
about  four  miles  northeast  from  Boone.  The  church  was  organized 
in  1896  by  Rev.  J.  L.  Beaton,  while  he  was  pastor  of  the  Watauga 
Parish. 

The  first  building  was  a  small  frame  structure.  The  cornerstone 
for  it  was  laid  October  10,  1896,  by  Pastor  Beaton.  The  second  building 
was  erected  in  1940  while  Rev.  J.  A.  Yount  was  pastor.  The  lot  was 
given  by  Mr.  William  Winebarger.  The  formal  cornerstone  laying  took 
place  June  18,  1950,  and  the  church  was  dedicated  the  same  day  by  Br. 
F.  L.  Conrad,  President  of  Synod. 

List  of  Pastors: 

J.  L.  Beaton,  1896-1897  W.  A.  Beaton,  Sup.,  1934 

John  Hall,  1901-1905  H.  A.  Kistler,  1934-1937 

H.  A.  Kistler,  1906-1910  J.  A.  Yount,  1939-1940 

Vacant,  1911-1912  John  Hall,  Sup.,  1942 

J.  A.  Yount,  1912-1913  H.  B.  Leonard,  1943-1944 

M.  L.  Carpenter,  1913-1917  H.  H.  Ritchie,  1944-1946 

N.  B.  Yount,  1918-1923  F.  M.  Speagle,  1947-1951 

H.  W.  Jeffcoat,  1923-1925  H.  C.  Linn,  1951- 
W.  A.  Beaton,  1925-1931 


256         History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 


NAZARETH  CHURCH,  RURAL  HALL 

Nazareth  Lutheran  Church  is  located  at  Rural  Hall,  in  Forsyth 
County.  This  church  was  organized  by  Rev.  Adolph  Nussmann,  about 
the  year  1778.  Dr.  G.  D.  Bernheim,  in  his  History  of  German  Settlers 
and  the  Lutheran  Church  in  the  Carolinas,  says:  "Rev.  Mr.  Nussmann 
made  a  number  of  missionary  tours  to  Davidson,  Guilford,  Orange, 
Stokes,  and  Forsyth  Counties,  organizing  Lutheran  congregations,  and 
serving  them  occasionally,  particularly  in  the  last  two  mentioned 
counties." 

The  Minutes  of  Synod  for  1831,  page  8,  says:  "Mr.  Nussman, 
weak  as  he  was,  established  two  congregations  in  Surry  (now  Forsyth) 
County,    and    instructed    and    confirmed    old    and    young. 

In  a  recent  History  of  Forsyth  County,  page  129,  it  is  stated  that, 
"Hermanus  (Harmon)  Miller  entered  one  hundred  acres  of  land  in 
Surry  County,  lying  on  a  branch  of  Beaver  Dam  Creek  .  .  .  January  3, 
1778."  This  is  thought  to  be  the  same  tract  of  land  referred  to  in  the 
old  Church  Record  Book,  which  is  said  to  have  been  deeded  to  the 
church  by  Mr.  A.  Kiger,  on  condition  that  the  congregation  pay  him 
for  the  entrance  fee. 

This  seems  to  indicate  that  this  work  was  started  about  1778, 
which  is  the  date  on  the  cornerstone  of  the  present  church.  It  shows 
too  that  the  congregaion  was  at  first  called  Beaver  Dam  Church,  how- 
ever it  is  known  to  have  been  referred  to  by  old  people  as  the  Old  Dutch 
Meeting  House. 

Cox  and  Bernheim,  in  their  History  of  the  North  Carolina  Synod, 
say,  that  for  a  long  time  this  congregation  worshiped  in  a  school 
house,  then  a  log  church  was  built  on  the  land  deeded  by  Mr.  Kiger, 
and  finally,  a  brick  church  35  x  45  was  built  under  the  pastoral  leader- 
ship of  Rev.  W.  A.  Lutz,  in  the  year  1878,  just  one  hundred  years  after 
the  church  was  organized.  This  church  was  formally  dedicated  on 
November  27,  1879. 

The  congregation  sold  ninety-two  acres  of  its  land  in  1863,  in- 
tending to  use  the  money  from  it  in  the  building  of  a  new  church,  but 
the  money  was  misappropriated,  so  the  building  had  to  be  delayed. 

The  present  parsonage  was  built  in  1893,  while  Rev.  H.  A.  Trexler 
was  pastor  there.  It  has  been  remodeled  and  improved  in  recent  years. 
Sunday  School  rooms  were  built  to  the  church  in  1934,  during  Rev. 
W.  N.  Yount's  pastoral  services  there.  Since  the  coming  of  Rev.  B.  E, 
Petrea,  D.D.,  as  pastor,  the  church  building  and  grounds,  including 
the  grave-yard,  have  been  greatly  improved. 

During  its  earlier  years,  this  congregation  had  to  carry  on  with- 
out a  regular  pastor,  which  retarded  its  developments.  In  the  History 
of  Forsyth  County,  page  130,  we  read:  "There  was  a  scarcity  of  Lutheran 
ministers  from  1796  for  some  years,  so  that  Moravian  ministers  served 
this  congregation  by  request." 

In  1810,  Rev.  Gottlieb  Schober,  whose  home  was  in  Salem,  was 
ordained  by  the  North  Carolina  Synod,  and  accepted  a  call  to  this 
parish,  where  he  continued  a  general  oversight  for  many  years,  to  the 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 


257 


betterment  of  this  work.  It  has  been  out  of  the  question,  at  this  late 
day,  to  produce  a  full  or  accurate  list  of  the  pastors  who  served  this 
congregation,  however  the  following  ministers  are  believed  to  have 
preached  here. 

List  of  Pastors: 


Adolph  Nussmann,  1774-1787  H.  M. 

J.  G.  Arends,  1787-1788  H.  A. 

Arnold  Roschen,  1788-1800  R.  L. 

Paul  Henkel,  1800-1805  P.  E. 

Moravian  Supply,  1806-1810  C.  A. 

G.  Schober,  1810-1830  V.  R. 

D.  P.  Rosenmiller,  1830-1832  J.  W. 
Adam  Grimes,  1832-1836  J.  A. 
Jacob  Crim,  1837-1840  R.  T. 
Adam  Grimes,  1837-1847  W.  C 
J.  Swicegood,  1847-1853  C.  E. 
Whitson  Kimball,  1860-1861  R.  L. 
M.  M.  Miller,  1861  W.  J. 
J.  R.  Sikes,  1862-1864  O.  W 
J.  D.  Bowles,  1865  W.  N. 
J.  Swicegood,  1865-1867  W.  N. 
C.  H.  Bernheim,  1877-1878  W.  D. 
W.  A.  Lutz,  1878-1880  D.  B. 

E.  P.  Parker,  1882-1887  L.  O. 
W.  R.  Ketchie,  1887-1888  B.  E. 


Brown,  1888-1892 
Trexler,  1892-1897 
Bame,  1897-1899 

Monroe,  Sup.,  1900 
Phillips,  1902-1904 
Stickley,  1906 

Strickler,  1907-1909 
L.  Miller,  1909-1914 
Troutman,  Sup.,  1916 

Buck,  1917-1925 

Lutz,  Sup.,  1925 
Fisher,  Sup.,  1926 
Moretz,  1927-1931 
.  Sink,  Sup.,  1932 

Yount,  Sup.,  1933-1934 

Yount,  1935-1940 

Yount,  1940-1941 
Summers,  1942-1945 

Roof,  1945-1948 
Petrea,  1949- 


NEW  BETHEL,  STANLY  CO. 

New  Bethel  Lutheran  Church  is  located  in  Stanly  County,  about 
five  miles  west  from  Richfield,  and  near  the  old  Misenheimer  Springs. 
The  original  location  was  about  two  miles  west  from  the  present 
church,  where  Bethel  Reformed  Church  is  now  located.  This  church 
was  for  a  long  time  called  Bear  Creek,  because  it  was  first  located 
near  a  creek  by  that  name. 

This  was  at  first  a  union  church,  owning  property  jointly  with 
the  Reformed  congregation.  The  112  acre  tract  of  land  on  which 
Bethel  (Bear  Creek)  Lutheran-Reformed  church  was  originally  built  was 
donated  to  the  two  congregations  jointly  by  Christopher  Lyerly,  who 
was  a  Lutheran,  and  a  son  of  the  Christopher  Lyerly  who  went,  as 
one  of  the  two  commissioners,  to  Germany  to  secure  a  Lutheran 
preacher  and  a  school  teacher. 

The  first  church  was  a  log  building,  and,  according  to  the  old 
Church  Record,  was  erected  on  the  19th  and  20th  of  March  1806.  This 
was  in  keeping  with  ye  olden  times  "house  raising"  customs  in  putting 
up  log  buildings.  Considerable  time  elapsed  after  the  building  was 
under  roof  before  it  was  completed.     Meanwhile  an  appeal  was  made 


258 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 


for  assistance  in  the  undertaking,  and  the  Missionary  Society  in 
Charleston,  S.  C,  responded  with  a  timely  gift  of  three  cases  of  glass 
for  windows. 

About  1872  it  was  decided  that  the  Lutheran  and  the  Reformed 
congregations  should  each  have  its  own  house  of  worship.  In  the  re- 
adjustment the  Reformed  congregation  retained  the  old  church,  and  the 
Lutherans  purchased  land  about  two  miles  east  from  the  old  church  and 
built  a  new  house  of  worship,  which  they  appropriately  called  New 
Bethel.  However,  not  all  of  the  Lutherans  were  willing  to  leave  the 
old  church  and  grounds,  but  maintained  a  small  Lutheran  organization 
and  continued  to  worship  at  the  old  church.  This,  of  course,  called 
for  still  further  adjustments  of  property  ownership,  which  was  settled 
by  a  specially  appointed  committee  from  Synod,  upon  request  from  the 
local  groups,  on  an  equitable  basis.  The  group  which  remained  at  the 
old  place  eventually  disbanded. 

New  Bethel  Lutheran  Church  is  now  building  a  new  brick  church 
on  their  present  grounds,  under  the  leadership  of  their  pastor.  Rev. 
John  L.  Morgan.  At  one  time  they  owned  a  share  in  the  parsonage  at 
Misenheimer  Springs,  but  at  present  they  cooperate  in  maintaining  a 
parsonage  at  Richfield. 


List  of  Pastors: 


C.  A.  G.  Storch,  1806-1814 
J.  W.  Meyer,  1814-1817 
C.  A.  G.  Storch,  1819-1823 
Daniel  Scherer,  1824-1831 
Daniel  Jenkins,  1834-1836 
Benjamin  Arey,  1837-1838 
P.  A.  Strobel,  1838-1841 
W.  G.  Harter,  1841-1856 
J.  D.  Scheck,  1856-1857 
G.  D.  Bernheim,  1858-1860 
J.  B.  Anthony,  1860-1866 
L.  C.  Groseclose,  1867-1871 
W.  R.  Ketchie,  1873 
P.  A.  Strobel,  1874-1875 
J.  B.  Anthony,  Sup.,  1877 
S.  Rothrock,  1878-1879 
Whitson  Kimball,  1880-1883 
A.  D.  L.  Moser,  1885-1887 
G.  H.  Cox,  1888-1890 
C.  C.  Lyerly,  1890-1892 


J.  H.  C.  Fisher,  1893-1894 
C.  C.  Lyerly,  1894-1897 
J.  A.  Linn,  1898-1902 
F.  B.  Kuntz,  Sup.,  1903 
C.  R.  Pless,  1904-1907 
W.  A.  Dutton,  1907-1912 
J.  B.  Moose,  1913-1914 
J.  A.  Linn,  1914-1915 
C.  M.  Fox,  1916-1919 
H.  A.  Trexler,  1920-1923 

B.  D.  Castor,  Sup.,  1924 

C.  P.  Fisher,  Sup.,  1925 

B.  M.  Clark,  Sup.,  1926 
E.  R.  Trexler,  1926-1931 

C.  L.  Shipton,  Sup.,  1932-1933 
C.  L.  Shipton,  1934-1938 

P.  E.  Moose,  1938-1943 
J.  L.  Lackey,  1944-1947 
John  L.   Morgan,   1947- 


NEW  JERUSALEM.  DAVIDSON  CO. 


New  Jerusalem  Church  is  located  in  Davidson  County,  about  ten 
miles  east  from  Lexington,  near  the  Lexington-Asheboro  Highway. 

On  August  28,  1856,  Levi  Beck,  a  Lutheran,  deeded  a  tract  of  land. 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 


259 


in  that  vicinity,  to  Daniel  Foust,  A.  J.  Ward,  David  Beck,  and  David 
Swing,  Trustees,  to  be  used  by  the  Lutheran,  Reformed,  Methodist,  and 
Baptist  churches  as  a  location  for  a  church.  A  building  was  soon  erected, 
thereon,  by  the  Lutherans  and  Reformed,  so  New  Jerusalem  Church 
dates  her  organization  from  that  year,  1856.  This  conclusion  is  further 
substantiated  by  the  following  quotation  from  the  old  church  book, 
which  says:  "New  Jerusalem  Church,  November,  A.D.,  1856,  a  sub- 
scription list  for  the  support  of  the  Rev.  J.  M.  Wagner  and  T.  Grouse 
for  their  services  at  this  church."  The  records  show  that  Rev.  Mr. 
Wagner  served  the  congregation  from  its  beginning  in  1856  to  1860. 

The  old  building  was  replaced,  in  1910,  by  the  present  frame 
church,  by  Lutherans,  Reformed,  and  Methodist  Protestants.  This  build- 
ing is  still  used  by  Lutherans  and  Reformed  on  alternate  Sundays. 
This  church  belonged  to  the  Tennessee  Synod  and  was.  for  most  of  the 
time,  a  part  of  the  Holly  Grove  Parish. 


List  of  Pastors: 


J.  M.  Wagner,  1856-1860 

J.  E.  Seneker,  1860-1862 

I.   Conder,  1863-1866 

L.  A.  Fox,  1867 

Thomas  Crouse,  1868-1875 

C.  H.  Bernheim,  1877-1882 

W.  P.  Cline,  1883-1891 

Jacob  Wike,  1892-1894 

A.  R.  Beck,  1895-1896 

J.  A.  Arndt,  1897  and  in  1901 


J.  L.  Deaton,  Sup.,  1897 
C.  L.  Miller,  1898-1903 
A.  L.  Boliek,  1906-1909 
J.  F.  Deal,  1910-1911 
J.  M.  Senter,  1911-1918 
R.  B.  Sigmon,  1919-1928 
R.  L.  Fisher,  1928-1942 
C.  F.  Kyles,  1942-1947 
C.  L.  Miller,  Sup.,  1948 
L.  O.  Roof,  1948- 


NEW  JERUSALEM,  HICKORY 

New  Jerusalem  Church  is  located  in  Catawba  County,  on  the 
Startown  Road,  about  four  miles  from  Hickory. 

This  church  was  organized  on  October  29,  1905,  by  Rev.  C.  L. 
Miller,  with  twenty-nine  members.  Previous  to  this  time  a  congre- 
gation had  been  started  in  the  Killian  School  House,  about  1880,  by 
Rev.  D.  J.  Settlemyre,  but  the  organization  was  discontinued.  In  1893 
Rev.  W.  P.  Cline  effected  a  re-organization,  but  for  the  lack  of  a 
church  building,  it  soon  discontinued. 

The  present  organization  set  itself  to  work,  under  the  leadership 
of  Dr.  C.  L.  Miller,  and  in  a  short  time  built  a  nice  frame  house  of 
worship,  in  1906,  on  a  lot  donated  by  S.  E.  Killian  and  Mrs.  Frances 
Deal.  Members  and  friends  generously  donated  much  of  the  material 
used  in  the  building. 

In  1936,  while  Rev.  C.  E.  Lutz  was  pastor,  a  new  brick  church 
was  built,  costing  close  to  $20,000.00.  It  was  equipped  for  both 
church  and  Sunday  School  needs,  but  was  completely  destroyed  by 
fire  January  19,  1948.     Under  the  inspiring  leadership  of  their  pastor, 


260  History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

Rev.  B.  J.  Wessinger,  the  congregation  proceeded  at  once  to  rebuild. 
Fortunately  they  had  $20,000.00  insurance  on  the  building.  The  new 
building  represents  an  outlay  of  about  $70,000.00.  It  is  a  splendid 
church,  well  equipped  for  both  church  services  and  organizational  pro- 
grams. The  cornerstone  was  laid  and  the  building  dedicated  on  June 
5,  1949.  This  congregation  has  a  new  brick  parsonage,  which  cost 
$13,000.00,  and  is  supporting  a  fulltime  pastor. 

List  of  Pastors: 

C.  L.  Miller,  1905-1906  W.  G.  Cobb,  1926-1927 

J.  D.  Mauney,  1906-1908  G.  H.  L.  Lingle,  1927-1931 

B.  L.  Stroup,  1909-1915  C.  E.  Lutz,  1931-1940 

V.  L.  Fulmer,  1915-1917  G.  A.  Phillips,  1940-1943 

W.  D.  Haltiwanger,  1917-1925  B.  J.  Wessinger,  1944- 


OLD  MT.  PLEASANT,  WATAUGA  CO. 

Old  Mt.  Pleasant  is  located  in  Watauga  County,  eight  miles  north- 
east of  Boone.  The  background  of  this  church  is  the  same  as  that  of 
Mt.  Pleasant,  up  to  the  year  1922,  because  the  two  congregations  were 
all  one  prior  to  that  time. 

The  original  organization  was  effected  in  1845  by  Rev.  Jonathan 
Moser  in  the  Jackson  School  House  and  was  at  first  called  the 
Jackson  Church.  In  the  late  fifties,  the  name  was  changed  to  Mt. 
Pleasant,  and  a  lot  for  a  church  was  donated  by  Jordan  Councill. 
However,  the  Civil  War  delayed  building  until  1868,  when  a  frame 
church  was  erected.  It  was  remodeled  while  Rev.  J.  L.  Deaton  was 
pastor. 

A  second  building  was  constructed  in  1910  and  was  dedicated 
by  the  pastor.  Rev.  H.  A.  Kistler  on  July  31,  1910.  This  second  building 
was  destroyed  by  fire  January  4,  1920.  After  this  destruction  occurred, 
some  of  the  members,  with  the  pastor.  Rev.  N.  D.  Yount,  moved  to  a 
new  location  two  miles  east  of  the  original  grounds  and  built  a 
new  church  and  retained  the  old  name,  Mt.  Pleasant.  But  those 
members  who  did  not  move  to  the  new  location,  reorganized  them- 
selves into  a  congregation  under  the  name.  Old  Mt.  Pleasant,  and 
built  a  new  house  of  worship  at  the  old  place.  Both  buildings  were 
erected  in  1923. 

Old  Mt.  Pleasant  shares  in  the  ownership  and  upkeep  of  the 
parsonage,  and  hence  helped  to  replace  the  one  that  was  recently 
destroyed  by  fire. 

List  of  Pastors: 

J.  R.  Moser,  1845  J.  C.  Wessinger,  1892 

Timothy  Moser,  1847  J.  C.  Ditez,  1893 

Henry  Goodman,  1849-1852  J.  L.  Deaton,  1895-1897 

Christian  Moretz,  1852-1868  P.  C.  and  Jacob  Wike,  1898 

A.  J.  Fox,  1859  J.  L.  Deaton,  1900 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 


261 


Henry  Goodman,  1870-1872 

J.  R.   Peterson,  1872 

J.  M.  Smith,  1872 

G.  L.  Hunt,  1874-1876 

P.  C.  Henkel,  1880 

R.  A.  Yoder,  1881 

D.  A.  Goodman,  1881-1882 

M.  L.  Little,  1882 

P.  C.  Henkel,  1883 

P.  C.  Wike,  1883-1884 

J.  A.   Rudisill,   1884 

W.  P.  and  R.  H.  Cline  ,1885 

D.  A.  Goodman,  1887 

R.  A.  Yoder  and 

J.  P.  Miller,  1888 
J.  C.  Moser,  1889 
Jacob  Wike,  1890-1891 
J.  A.  Rudisill  and 


E.  J.  Sox,  1901 
John  Hall,  1901-1905 

H.  A.  Kistler,  1905-1910 
J.  A.  Yount,  1911-1912 
A.  L.  Boliek,  1912 
M.  L.  Carpenter,  1913-1918 
N.  D.  Yount,  1918-1921 
W.  A.  Deaton,  1923-1932 
W.  A.  Deaton,  Sup.,  1933-1934 
H.  A.  Kistler,  1934-1937 
J.  A.  Yount,  1938-1939 
John  Hall,  Sup.,  1940-1941 
H.  H.  Ritchie,  Sup.,  1942 
H.  B.  Lenoard,  1943-1944 
H.  H.  Ritchie,  1944-1946 

F.  M.  Speagle,  1947-1951 
H.  C.  Linn,  1951- 


ORGAN  CHURCH,  ROWAN  COUNTY 

Organ  Church  is  located  in  Rowan  County,  ten  miles  south  of 
Salisbury  and  a  few  miles  west  of  Rockwell,  on  the  road  leading  to 
Mt.  Pleasant. 

This  church  v/as  originally  named  Zion,  but  it  later  came  to  be 
known  as  Organ  Church  because  it  owned  a  pipe  organ,  which  was 
the  only  church  in  the  surrounding  country  that  had  such  an  instru- 
ment of  music  at  that  time.  The  organ  was  built  by  hand  by  Mr. 
(John)  Stirewalt,  a  member  of  the  congregation.  We  do  not  know 
when  the  organ  was  built,  but  we  do  know  that  it  was  used  in  the 
church  which  was  built  in  1774,  and  that  it  was  later  transferred  to 
the  present  stone  church  which  was  built  in  1792-1795. 

It  has  been  claimed  from  times  of  old,  by  both  Lutheran  and 
Reformed  writers,  that  Organ  Lutheran  Church  and  Lower  Stone  Re- 
formed Church  were  started  as  a  union  church,  meaning  thereby  that 
both  congregations  owned  and  worshiped  in  the  same  building.  How- 
ever, this  claim  has  in  recent  years  been  thought  by  some  to  be  un- 
founded. (See  Historical  Sketches  of  the  Reformed  Church  in  North 
Carolina,  page  193.) 

Just  when  Organ  Church  was  first  started,  no  one  now  living 
seems  to  know.  The  date  given  by  the  congregation  itself  is  1745.  This 
is  the  same  date  given  by  Lower  Stone  Church  for  its  organization  also. 
German  families,  of  both  Lutheran  and  Reformed  faith,  settled  in 
this  territory  at  a  very  early  date.  They  were  a  church  loving  people, 
and  it  would  have  been  in  keeping  with  their  religious  training  to 
provide  a  church  home  for  themselves  and  their  children  as  soon  as 
practicable.     So,  without  waiting  for  a  minister  to  come  and  lead  the 


262 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 


way,  consecrated  laymen  went  ahead  and  organized  congregations  and 
built  houses  of  worship,  and  secured  pastors  later. 

The  original  location  of  Organ  Church,  like  that  of  the  date  of 
its  organization,  is  not  certainly  known.  In  recent  years  some  think 
it  was  located,  as  a  union  church,  near  the  present  Lower  Stone  Church, 
but  this  claim  is  undetermined.  Dr.  Bernheim,  in  his,  "German 
Settlements  and  the  Lutheran  Church  in  the  Carolinas",  page  244,  as 
well  as  early  writers  of  the  Reformed  Church,  say  it  was  first  located 
where  St.  Peter's  Lutheran  Church  now  stands,  which  is  about  three 
miles  east  of  Rockwell.  These  writers  claim  that  the  original  church, 
was  built  of  hickory  logs,  and  that  for  that  reason  it  was  called  "the 
Hickory  Church",  and  that  it  was  used  by  both  denominations.  This 
location,  however,  was  said  to  have  been  only  temporary,  and  that 
permanent  locations  were  established  later. 

Organ  Church  records  show  that  on  August  16,  1786,  Lutwig  Seferd 
sold  a  ten  acre  tract  of  land  to  the  Elders  and  Trustees  of  the  Lutheran 


Organ  Lutheran  Church 
Rowan  County,  Salisbury,  North  Carolina 


congregation  belonging  to  the  Second  Creek  Organ  Meeting  House,  for 
five  pounds,  described  as  follows:  "On  the  waters  of  Second  Creek, 
beginning  at  a  white  oak,  George  Henry  Berger's  corner,  thence  south 
40  poles  to  a  white  oak  in  said  Berger's  line,  thence  east  40  poles  to 
a  stone,  thence  north  40  poles  to  a  black  oak,  thence  west  40  poles  to 
the  beginning,  containing  10  ocres  of  land,  including  the  said  meeting 
house,  school  house,  and  other  buildings." 

This  ten  acre  tract  of  land  lies  south  of  the  present  stone  church, 
and  includes  what  are  now  the  parsonage  lands.  It  will  be  noted 
that  when  this  tract  was  purchased,  there  were  already  a  "meeting 
house,  school  house,  and  other  buildings"  on  it.  When  this  meeting 
house,  school  house  and  other  buildings  were  erected,  it  is  not  stated. 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  263 

It  would  seem  reasonable  to  suppose,  however,  that  they  were  con- 
structed soon  after  settlement  was  first  made  in  this  community; 
possibly  soon  after  their  sojourn  at  the  old  hickory  log  place.  Regard- 
less of  when  the  buildings  were  erected,  they  were  built  on  govern- 
ments lands,  or  on  privately  owned  lands,  for  which  the  church  had 
not  yet  secured  title.  This  meeting  house  was  Organ  Church's  first  place 
of  worship  on  those  grounds. 

When  it  is  noted  that  a  new  church  building  was  under  con- 
struction in  1774,  one  naturally  wonders  if  the  old  meeting  house,  which 
no  doubt  was  built  of  logs,  may  not  have  decayed  from  age  by  that 
time.  As  to  a  new  building  in  1774,  Rev.  C.  A.  G.  Storch,  who  was  pastor 
of  Organ  Church,  1788-1823,  wrote  in  the  old  Church  Record  Book,  in  1789, 
the  following  statement:  "In  the  year  1774,  after  the  birth  of  Christ,  the 
following  members  of  our  congregation  began  to  build  the  so-called 
Organ  Church."     A  list  of  the  names  then  follows. 

The  building  erected  in  1774  was  either  of  logs,  or  else  a  frame 
structure,  probably  the  latter.  It  stood  on  a  different  tract  of  land  from 
the  one  where  the  old  log  meeting  house  stood.  The  old  members  of  the 
congregation  understood  that  it  was  located  right  where  the  present 
stone  church  now  stands.  It  seems  to  have  been  common  knowledge 
locally  that  this  frame  building  was  rolled  away,  a  little  to  the  north, 
to  make  room  for  the  new  stone  building.  The  old  building  was  then 
used  for  a  while  as  a  school  house,  and  later  as  a  meeting  place  for  the 
church  council. 

It  is  interesting  to  follow  the  line  of  procedure  by  which  the 
ten  acre  tract  of  land,  on  which  the  church  of  1774,  and  also  the  stone 
church  were  erected,  was  acquired.  In  1776,  Lewis  Seiferd,  Peter  Edle- 
man,  and  John  Stirewalt  purchased  218  acres  of  land  just  north  of  and 
including  the  present  Organ  Church  grounds,  which  they  sold  to  Rev. 
J.  G.  Arends,  their  pastor,  in  1779.  After  Pastor  Arends  moved  to 
Lincoln  County,  in  1785,  he  sold  the  land  to  John  Stirewalt  in  1786,  who 
held  it  until  1789,  when  he  and  his  wife,  Margaret,  sold  about  ten 
acres  of  the  same  218  acre  tract  to  the  Elders  and  Trustees  and  their 
successors  in  office  for  the  Lutheran  congregation  belonging  to  the 
Second  Creek  Meeting  House. 

Different  opinions  have  been  advanced  as  to  the  time  when 
the  present  stone  church  was  built,  some  thinking  the  congregation 
was  twenty  years  in  building  it.  This  assumption  resulted  from 
believing  that  the  building  erected  in  1774  was  the  stone  church,  and 
that  the  date  1794  in  the  gable  of  the  building  indicated  when  it  was 
completed.  But,  fortunately,  Pastor  Storch  clears  the  matter  for  us  in 
a  letter  which  he  wrote  to  Dr.  Velthusen,  December  19,  1791,  in  which 
he  says:  "The  congregation  of  the  Organ  Church  will  erect  a  new  build- 
ing next  summer,  and,  to  be  specific,  it  will  be  a  stone  church."  (See 
N.  C.  Historical  Review,  April  1930,  page  262.) 

Then  as  to  its  completion,  we  read  from  another  letter  by  Pastor 
Storch,  dated  February  25,  1796,  the  following::  "The  stone  church  of 
my   congregation   on   Second   Creek   was   completed    last   autumn    and 


264         History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

will  be  consecrated  on  Easter  of  this  year.  It  is  fifty  feet  long,  forty 
feet  wide,  and  about  twenty  feet  high.  It  cost  1100  to  1200  Spanish 
Taler."  (See  Review  for  October  1943,  page  339.)  Thus  it  will  be  seen  that 
this  stone  church  was  begun  in  1792,  completed  in  1795,  and  consecrated 
on  Easter  Sunday  1796.  The  date  in  the  front  gable  shows  when  the 
stone   masonry  was   completed. 

History  is  replete  with  the  story  of  Christopher  Rendleman 
of  Organ  Church  and  Christopher  Lyerly  of  St.  John's  Church  going 
as  Commissioners  to  Germany,  1772-1773,  and  securing  the  services 
of  Rev.  Adolph  Nussmann  as  minister  and  Mr.  J.  Gottfried  Arends  as 
school  teacher.  Rev.  M.  Storch,  as  pastor  of  Organ  Church  has  left  an 
entry  of  this  event  written  in  the  old  Organ  Church  Record  Book,  under 
date  of  January  31,  1789,  as  follows:  "Christopher  Rendleman  and 
Christopher  Lyerly  were  sent  as  the  deputies  of  the  congregation  to 
London,  thence  to  Hanover,  and  they  received  a  minister  and  a  school 
teacher,  namely  the  preacher,  Adolph  Nussmann,  and  Gottfried  Arends 
as  school  teacher." 

Some  indications  are  that  when  Rev.  Mr.  Nussmann  first  arrived 
in  North  Carolina,  he  resided  for  a  short  while  in  Salisbury.  But  if  so, 
he  later  located  in  the  vicinity  of  Organ  Church,  where  he  lived  until 
1774  or  possibly  early  in  1775,  when  he  moved  into  his  own  home  near  St. 
John's  Church  in  Cabarrus  County,  where  he  remained  until  called  by 
death  in  1794.  Rev.  Mr.  Arends  lived  on  his  own  farm  near  Organ  Church, 
now  known  as  the  Ketner  place,  until  he  moved  to  Lincoln  County.  Rev. 
C.  A.  G.  Storch  first  lived  near  Salisbury,  on  his  own  place,  near 
Crane  Creek.  Dr.  Rumple's  History  of  Rowan  County  says  it  was 
the  "Chilson  place",  on  the  Bringle  Ferry  road.  He  was  living  there 
as  late  as  February  5,  1805,  at  which  time  the  records  show  that  he 
sold  part  of  the  plantation  "where  he  was  then  living".  On  October  21, 
1805,  Pastor  Storch  bought  a  tract  of  land  on  the  old  Concord  road,  about 
one  mile  north  from  where  Ebenezer  Lutheran  Church  now  stands, 
and  lived  there  the  remainder  of  his  life.  The  old  house  has  been  re- 
modeled and  is  in  use  today.     A  spreading  oak  marks  the  place. 

The  old  four  story  brick  dwelling,  believed  to  have  been  built 
by  the  Mr.  Stirewalt  who  built  the  pipe  organ,  stands  about  four 
miles  west  of  Organ  Church.  The  date  "1766"  is  imprinted  on  a 
brick  in  the  wall  of  the  building,  which  is  supposed  to  mark  the 
year  in  which  it  was  built.  And  "October  11,  1811"  is  lettered  on  a 
marble  slab  on  the  front  of  the  house,  which  some  think  was  placed 
there  by  his  son,  John,  after  the  property  came  into  his  possession 
by  will. 

Sometime  after  the  organization  of  the  Tennessee  Synod,  a  division 
arose  among  the  members  of  Organ  Church,  in  which  some  favored 
one  Synod  and  some  the  other.  The  larger  group  was  in  sympathy 
with  the  North  Carolina  Synod,  and  remained  loyal  to  their  mother 
congregation.  But  about  1830  the  other  group  withdrew  and  formed 
a  new  congregation,  in  connection  with  the  Tennessee  Synod,  which 
they  called  Krauth  Memorial.    However,  it  was  later  named  St.  Peter's. 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 


265 


This  church  was  located  on  the  same  grounds  where  Organ  Church  is 
supposed  to  have  started. 

Another  group  went  out  from  Organ  Church,  possibly  a  few  years 
later,  and  organized  Phanuel's  Lutheran  Church,  also  in  connection  with 
the  Tennessee  Synod.  But  this  congregation  was  discontinued  more  than 
fifty  years  ago. 

While  Rev.  W.  R.  Brown  was  pastor  of  Organ  Church,  1886-1894, 
the  old  flagstone  floor  of  the  church  was  replaced  by  a  wooden  floor, 
and  the  high  pulpit  was  taken  down  and  a  smaller  one  installed.  At 
the  same  time  the  old  pipe  organ  was  removed  from  the  church  and 
allowed  to  be  destroyed.  Then,  about  1906,  while  Rev.  C.  A.  Brown 
was  the  pastor,  the  roof  of  the  church  was  made  steeper,  and  a  stone 
tower  was  built.  When  erected,  the  tower  faced  the  road,  but  later 
the  road  was  relocated  to  the  opposite  side  of  the  church,  so  that  now 
the  tower  is  in  the  back  of  the  building. 

A  stone  building  for  Sunday  School  purposes  was  put  up  in  1928, 
while  Rev.  Paul  L.  Miller  was  pastor  there.  It  is  a  two  story  building 
with   basement,   all   fitted   out   with   class   rooms    and   assembly   halls. 

The  old  parsonage,  built  while  Rev.  W.  R.  Brown  was  their 
pastor,  was  replaced  in  1939,  under  the  efficient  leadership  of  Rev. 
O.  W.  Aderholdt.  It  is  a  two  story  stone  building,  modernly  equipped, 
and  harmonizes  with  the  stone  church. 

Some  years  ago  a  pipe  organ  was  installed  in  the  church,  and  the 
entire  interior  was  refinished  and  redecorated,  under  the  direction  of 
Dr.  Aderholdt.  At  present  the  congregation  is  putting  up  a  concrete 
block  building  for  recreational  and  organizational  purposes  at  a  cost 
of  about  $5,000.00. 

It  would  seem  worthy  of  note  here,  that  a  Post  Office  by  the 
name  of  Organ  Church  was  established  near  that  church,  at  what 
is  known  as  the  Ketner,  (formerly  Arends),  place  in  1861,  which  was 
continued,  with  but  a  short  interval,  until  1896,  when  it  was  merged 
with  the  Rockwell  office. 

List  of  Pastors: 


Adolph  Nussmann,  1773-1774 
J.  G.  Arends,  1775-1785 
Adolph  Nussmann,  1785-1787 
C.  A.  G.  Storch,  1788-1823 
Daniel  Scherer,  1823-1829 
Jacob  Kempfer,  1829-1832 
Henry  Graeber,  1832-1843 
Samuel  Rothrock,  1844-1866 
W.  H.  Cone,  1866 
William  Artz,  1866-1867 
Samuel  Rothrock,  1867-1869 
Simeon  Scherer,  1869-1870 
W.  H.  Cone,  1870-1873 


W.  R.  Ketchie,  1873-1874 
P.  A.  Strobel,  1874-1875 
Samuel  Rothrock,  1876-1886 
W.  R.  Brown,  1886-1894 
G.  H.  Cox,  1894-1904 
C.  A.  Brown,  1904-1907 
H.  A.  Trexler,  1908-1913 
R.  R.  Sowers,  1914-1918 
L.  L.  Lohr,  1918-1919 
M.  L.  Ridenhour,  1919-1922 
P.  L.  Miller,   1922-1936 
O.  W.  Aderholdt,  1936- 


266  History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 


PEACE.  GIBSONVILLE 

Peace  Church  is  located  in  Guilford  County,  seven  miles  west 
from  Gibsonville,  on  the  road  leading  by  Friedens  Church. 

This  congregation  was  organized  in  1898,  by  Rev.  V.  Y.  Boozer, 
who  was  then  pastor  at  Burlington.  The  first  preaching  service  was 
conducted  in  April  of  that  year. 

The  charter  members  of  this  congregation  came  from  old  Frieden's 
Church,  hence  the  name  Peace,  which  is  the  English  for  Frieden. 

The  church  is  a  frame  structure,  35  x  50  feet,  which  was  built  the 
same  year  in  which  the  church  was  organized.  It  was  remodeled  and 
refinished  while  Rev.  John  L.  Morgan  was  their  pastor. 

This  church  was  for  many  years  in  a  parish  with  Frieden's  and 
Sharon,  but  in  January  1950,  Peace  and  Sharon  alone  called  Rev.  W.  J. 
Roof  for  those  two  congregations. 

List  of  Pastors: 

V.  Y.  Boozer,  1898-1899  Enoch  Kite,  1931-1939 

W.  W.  J.  Ritchie,  1899-1903  John  L.  Morgan,  1939-1943 

C.  Brown  Cox,  1903-1912  M.  R.  Farris,  1943-1949 

C.  I.  Morgan,  1912-1913  W.  J.  Roof,  1950-1952 

T.  S.  Brown,  1913-1921  Earl  K.  Bodie,  1952- 
G.  W.  McClanahan,  1921-1931 


PHILADELPHIA.  GASTON  CO. 

Philadelphia  Church  is  located  in  Gaston  County,  near  the  South 
Fork  of  the  Catawba  River,  about  three  miles  north  of  Dallas.  This 
church  was  organized  in  1767.  At  first  it  was  called  Kastner's  Church, 
after  the  name  of  Adam  Kastner,  one  of  its  chief  promoters,  who  located 
here  in  1750,  and  remained  here  until  his  death  in  1767.  He  was  the 
first  to  be  buried  in  the  church  cemetery.  In  1776  the  name  of  the 
church  was  changed  to  Philadelphia. 

The  first  building  was  of  hewn  logs,  which  was  built  about 
the  time  the  church  was  organized.  This  building  stood  until  1867, 
just  one  hundred  years,  when  a  new  frame  building  was  erected.  It 
was  dedicated  on  May  20,  1867,  the  sermon  for  the  occasion  was  by 
Rev.  Timothy  Moser.  This  building  was  ruined  by  the  flood  in  July 
1916  on  South  Fork  River,  and  all  their  records  were  lost.  In  1917  a 
new  frame  church  was  erected  on  land  farther  away  from  the  river, 
which  is  in  use  today.  This  church  has  sent  a  number  of  fine  men 
into  the  church  and  business  life,  and  has  furnished  scores  of  members 
for  other  churches,  among  whom  are:  Andrew  Costner,  a  promoter  of 
Gaston  Female  College  at  Dallas;  J.  M.  Rhodes,  a  textile  manufacturer; 
Rev.  John  Rhodes,  who  died  of  fever  in  1841. 

This  church  was  included  in  Rev.  J.  G.  Arends'  parish  of  eight 
or  nine  congregations  west  of  the  Catawba  River,  from  1785  to  his  death 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 


267 


in  1807.  Pastor  Arends  lost  his  eyesight  the  latter  years  of  his  life,  so 
he  asked  Rev.  Paul  Henkel  to  come  and  assist  him  in  his  work  in 
1803,  which  he  did  for  a  few  weeks.  We  do  not  have  a  complete  list 
of  pastors  for  this  church,  but  note  those  known  to  have  served  here. 


List  of  Pastors: 


J.  G.  Arends,  1785-1807 
Philip  Henkel,  1808-1814 
Daniel  Moser,  1814-1821 
David  Henkel,  1821-1830 
Adam  Miller,  Jr.,  1831 
George  Easterly,  1832 
Adam  Miller,  Jr.,  1833-1844 
J.  R.  Peterson,  1845-1897 
H.  J.  Matthias,  Sup.,  1897-1898 
W.  A.  Deaton,  1899-1907 
P.  D.  Risinger,  1907-1911 


A.  R.  Beck,  1912-1917 
C.  E.  Fritz,  1917-1919 
C.  N.  Yount,  1919-1922 

J.  L.  Thornburg,  Sup.,  1922 

E.  C.  Cooper,  Sup.,  1922 
C.  K.  Rhodes,  1922-1928 

B.  E.  Petrea,  1928-1932 

F.  M.  Speagle,  1932-1947 

C.  K.  Rhodes,  Sup.,  1947 
W.  H.  Dutton,  1947- 


PHILADELPHIA.  GRANITE  FALLS 

Philadelphia  Church  is  located  in  the  town  of  Granite  Falls,  in 
Caldwell  County. 

It  is  believed  that  this  work  was  begun  by  Rev.  Henry  Goodman, 
who  organized  the  congregation  in  a  school  house  about  three  miles 
south  from  the  present  location,  in  the  year  1876. 

The  first  church  was  built  in  1877,  under  the  pastoral  direction 
of  Rev.  M.  L.  Little  and  Rev.  P.  C.  Henkel.  The  lot  was  given  by  Dr. 
G.  H.  Jones  in  1877  and  is  the  same  one  now  occupied  by  the  present 
church.  The  present  church  was  built  in  1911,  while  Rev.  J.  P.  Price 
was  pastor.  It  was  greatly  enlarged  in  1933,  by  adding  an  Educa- 
tional Building  while  Rev.  R.  M.  Carpenter  was  pastor. 

Philadelphia  was  for  a  long  time  in  a  parish  with  St.  John's  at 
Hudson,  and  St.  Matthew's,  but  in  1949,  became  self-supporting. 


List  of  Pastors: 


Henry  Goodman,  1876 
M.  L.  Little,  1877 
P.  C.  Henkel,  1878 
D.  A.  Goodman,  1882-1884 
D.  J.  Settlemyre,  1886-1887 
C.  H.  Bernheim,  1890-1893 
J.  C.  Moser,  1893-1895 
W.  P.  Cline,  1897-1900 
J.  A.  Yount,  1900-1901 
J.  L.  Cromer,  1902-1904 


J.  P.  Price,  1906-1913 
J.  A.  Yount,  1915-1918 
F.  L.  Conrad,  1919-1921 
J.  J.  Bickely,  1922-1925 
Paul  Sigmon,  1925-1928 
C.  O.  Lippard,  1928-1930 
R.  M.  Carpenter,  1932-1941 
R.  B.  Sigmon,  1943-1949 
James  K.  Cobb,  1949-1952 
P.  L.  Morgan,  1952- 


268         History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 


PILGRIM  LUTHERAN  CHURCH,  DAVIDSON  CO. 

Pilgrim  Lutheran  Church  is  located  in  Davidson  County,  about 
three  miles  north  from  Lexington,  and  a  mile  west  from  the  Lexington- 
Thomasville  Highway.  The  original  location  of  the  church  was  about 
one  mile  south,  where  the  Lutherans  and  Reformed  members  owned  a 
church  together. 

It  is  not  known  definitely  when  this  work  was  first  begun.  The 
deed  for  the  original  church  land  is  dated  1783,  and  was  made  to  Philip 
Sowers,  Peter  Karn,  and  Martin  Shiddles,  Elders  in  trust  for  the  Dutch 
congregation.  History  tells  us  that  large  numbers  of  German  families 
settled  in  that  section  of  the  state  as  early  as  1740,  and  on  up  to  the  out- 
break of  the  Revolutionary  War.  These  German  settlers  were  either 
Lutherans  or  German  Reformed.  They  had  a  great  love  for  their  church, 
and  made  provision,  as  soon  as  possible,  for  church  services,  where  they 
and  their  families  could  meet  together  for  worship. 

The  old  Baptismal  Record  Book  is  still  extant,  in  which  baptisms 
are  recorded  as  far  back  as  1757,  which  would  lead  one  to  believe  that 
the  church  was  organized  at  least  at  that  time,  and  it  may  have  been 
a  few  years  earlier.  Be  that  as  it  may,  the  date  of  organization  claimed 
by  Pilgrim  Lutheran  Church  itself  is  1754,  which  date  is  likewise  claimed 
by  Pilgrim  Reformed  Church. 

The  first  house  of  worship  was  a  log  building,  with  a  balcony, 
and  a  high  pulpit.  The  second  building  was  a  frame  structure,  erected 
in  1807,  and  was  arranged  similarly  to  the  log  church.  Then,  in  1882,  a 
third  building  was  erected,  which  was  also  a  frame  structure,  but  larger 
and  more  modern  than  the  previous  one  had  been. 

This  third  building,  like  the  previous  ones,  was  owned  and  used 
by  both  Lutherans  and  German  Reformed,  without  question,  until  about 
the  close  of  the  last  century,  when  the  question  was  raised  as  to  the 
legal  right  of  the  Lutheran  congregation  to  ownership  in  the  church 
property.  The  case  was  taken  to  court,  which  ruled  in  favor  of  the 
Lutherans. 

After  that  question  was  settled,  it  was  mutually  agreed  to  sell 
the  property  —  all  except  the  burying  grounds  —  and  divide  the  pro- 
ceeds between  the  Lutherans  and  the  German  Reformed  on  a  fifty- 
fifty  basis.  The  property  was  put  up  for  sale  at  public  auction,  and  was 
bought  by  the  German  Reformed  congregation,  and  it  is  still  being 
used    by    that    body. 

The  Lutherans  then  secured  a  new  location  about  a  mile  north 
from  the  old  church  and  proceeded  to  erect  a  new  frame  house  of 
worship  for  themselves.  This  building  was  completed  on  October  the 
2nd,  1903,  and  was  the  fourth  church  for  the  Lutheran  congregation. 
But  that  very  night  after  its  completion,  it  was  entirely  destroyed  by 
fire.  This  experience  served  to  draw  our  Lutheran  families  closer 
together.  For  many  years  prior  to  this,  two  Lutheran  groups  — 
one  of  the  North  Carolina  Synod  and  the  other  of  the  Tennessee  Synod 
—  had  been  worshiping  in  the  old  church;   but  on  October  the  19th, 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 


269 


1903,  just  ten  days  after  the  fire,  the  two  groups  got  together  and  united 
in  one  Lutheran  congregation  in  the  North  Carolina  Synod.  It  should 
be  noted  here  that  through  these  trying  experiences  our  Lutheran 
brethren  had  the  good  fortune  of  having  wise  and  devoted  pastors  to 
lead  them  — Dr.  C.  L.  Miller  and  Rev.  P.  J.  Wade. 

So  this  united  Pilgrim  band  now  set  themselves  to  the  task  of 
building  another  house  of  worship.  On  May  17,  1904,  the  building  was 
dedicated,  free  of  all  indebtedness.  This  was  their  fifth  house  of 
worship. 

Then,  in  1943,  this,  their  fifth  house  of  worship,  was  likewise 
destroyed  by  fire.  But,  again  the  congregation  set  itself  to  work, 
under  the  leadership  of  Pastor  John  A.  Pless,  building  a  new  brick 
church  38  x  86  feet  in  dimensions  with  transepts  12  x  24  feet,  with  full 
basement,  all  modernly  equipped.  In  1934,  Pilgrim  and  St.  Luke's 
Churches  united  in  building  a  parsonage  at  Tyro.  However,  these 
churches  have  now  arranged  for  each  congregation  to  have  a  fulltime 
pastor,  and  Pilgrim  has  completed  a  new  seven  room  brick  parsonage. 
This  is  the  home  church  of  Rev.  F.  L.  Conrad,  D.D. 

We  do  not  have  a  complete  list  of  pastors  for  this  church,  but 
give  here  the  names  of  all  whom  we  know,  for  both  the  North 
Carolina  Synod  and  also  the  Tennessee  Synod. 

Rev.  Nussm.ann  and  Rev.  Arends  made  repeated  visits  and  preached 
for  this  congregation. 


List  of  Pastors: 


North  Carolina  Synod: 


C.  E.  Bernhardt,  1787-1788 
Arnold  Roschen,  1788-1800 
Paul  Henkel,  1800-1805 
Ludwig  Markert,  1805-1816 

G.  Schober,  Occasional  Supply 
J.  W.  Meyer,  1816-1817 
Daniel  Walcher,  1817-1821 
Jacob  Miller,  1824-1827 

D.  P.  Rosenmiller,  1830-1831 
John   Tabler,   1831-1833 
Daniel  Jenkins,  1833-1834 
Benjamin  Arey,  1837 

Jacob  Crim,  1839-1842 
J.  B.  Anthony,  1847-1848 
L.  C.  Groseclose,  1849-1854 
W.  A.  Julian,  1854-1863 
W.  H.  Cone,  1864-1865 
A.  D.  L.  Moser,  1867 
J.  D.  Bowles,  1871-1874 


C.  H.  Bernheim,  1874-1878 
P.  E.  Zink,  1878-1883 

R.  W.  Petrea,  1883-1885 
J.  M.  Hedrick,  1885-1886 

D.  W.  Michael,  1887-1891 
Whitson  Kimball,  1892-1894 
T.  H.  Strohecker,  1896 

P.  J.  Wade,  1898-1905 
G.  H.  L.  Lingle,  1906-1910 
J.  L.  Smith,  1911-1912 
N.  D.  Bodie,  1912-1913 
W.  C.  Buck,  1914-1918 
M.  L.  Kester,  1918-1919 
C.  H.  Day,  1920-1921 
C.  R.  Pless,  1922-1930 
W.  H.  Hiller,  1931-1933 
C.  R.  Pless,  1934-1940 
J.  A.  Pless,  1940-1951 
Q.  O.  Lyerly,  1952- 


270 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 


Tennessee  Synod: 

Rev.  Paul  Henkel  and  other  pastors  as  visiting  ministers  during 

1822-1832. 

Henry  Goodman,  1832-1848  C.  H.  Bernheim,  1877-1882 

Adam  Efird,  1849-1854  W.  P.  Cline,  1883-1891 

J.  M.  Wagner,  1854-1860  Jacob  Wike,  1891-1893 

J.  E.  Seneker,  1860-1861  A.  R.  Beck,  1893-1895 

I.  Conder,  1861-1866  C.  L.  Miller,  1897-1903 
Thomas  Grouse,  1866-1875 


PROSPERITY  CHURCH,  CABARRUS  COUNTY 

Prosperity  Lutheran  Church  is  located  in  Cabarrus  County,  about 
eight  miles  northeast  of  Concord.  This  church  was  organized  on  Sep- 
tember 27,  1879,  in  the  Rimer  School  house,  with  sixteen  members,  by 
Rev.  R.  W.   Petrea,   then   pastor  of  St.  John's   Church. 

Their  first  house  of  worship  was  a  frame  building,  about  30x40 
feet  in  dimensions,  which  was  erected  in  1881.  Most  of  the  material  for 
the  building  was  given,  and  the  work  was  done  by  the  members  of 
the  congregation.  The  building  was  soon  completed,  and  was  dedicated 
April  29,  1883,  by  Pastor  Petrea  and  Rev.  W.  A.  Lutz. 

In  1916  the  building  was  moved  about  one  hundred  yards  south 
from  the  original  location,  and  in  1923  a  tower  and  one  transept  were 
added. 

While  Rev.  C.  P.  Fisher,  Jr.,  was  pastor  there,  about  $35,000.00  in 
money,  and  much  of  the  material,  were  gathered  for  a  new  church. 
Then,  after  Rev.  H.  F.  Lineberger  became  pastor,  a  new  lot  was  pur- 
chased, a  short  distance  north  of  the  old  building,  and  in  1951  a  beautiful 
brick  church  was  constructed,  at  a  cost  of  approximately  $100,000.00. 
There  is  a  two  story  educational  annex  to  the  back  side  of  the  main 
church. 

The  cornerstone  of  the  new  church  was  laid  December  16,  1951, 
by  President  F.  L.  Conrad,  Pastor  H.  F.  Lineberger,  and  Dr.  J.  L.  Morgan. 
The  complete  church  was  formally  opened  for  divine  services  that  same 
day,  and  a  service  of  blessing  was  carried  out  by  Dr.  J.  L.  Morgan  for 
the  church  furnishings.  The  sermon  for  the  occasion  was  preached  by 
Dr.  F.  L.  Conrad,  President  of  Synod.  Pastor  Lineberger  was  in  charge 
of  services. 

List  of  Pastors: 


R.  W.  Petrea,  1879-1887 
S.  L.  Keller,  1887-1888 
J.  M.  Hedrick,  1888-1893 
B.  S.  Brown,  1894-1896 
S.  D.  Steffey,  1896 
R.  L.  Brown,  1897-1899 
J.  H.  C.  Fisher,  1900-1919 
J.  B.  Moose,  1919-1923 


C.  P.  Fisher,  Sr.,  1924 
C.  A.  Brown,  1925-1932 
P.  L.  Miller,  1932 
C.  F.  Kyles,  1932-1943 
C.  P.  Fisher,  Jr.,  1943-1949 
H.  F.  Lineberger,  1949-1952 
J.  L.  Peeler,  1952- 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 


271 


PROVIDENCE,  ROWAN  CO. 

Providence  Church  is  located  in  Rowan  County,  about  seven  miles 
north  of  the  town  of  Cleveland. 

The  congregation  was  organized  in  1871,  by  Rev.  J.  H.  Fesperman. 
The  most  of  the  original  membership  had  formerly  been  members  of 
St.  Matthew's  Church  in  Davie  County. 

Their  first  church  was  a  log  building,  constructed  soon  after  the 
organization,  and  was  used  for  many  years  but  never  completed.  Later 
a  new  frame  building,  30  x  45  feet,  was  built  and  is  still  in  use.  It  was 
dedicated  April  25,  1897  by  Rev.  B.  S.  Brown  and  Rev.  H.  W.  Jeffcoat. 
This  congregation  has  all  the  while  been  in  a  parish  with  other 
congregations. 

List  of  Pastors: 


J.  H.  Fesperman,  1871-1876 
W.  R.  Ketchie,  1878-1888 
R.  L.  Brown,  1889-1891 
W.  R.  Ketchie,  Sup.,  1892 
E.  P.  Parker,  1893 
H.  E.  H.  Sloop,  1894-1895 
Whitson  Kimball,  1896 
W.  R.  Ketchie,  Sup.,  1897 
B.  S.  Brown,  Sr.,  1898-1899 
R.  A.  Helms,  1899-1900 
Vacant,  1901-1903 


L.  P.  Boland,  1904-1908 
T.  C.  Parker,  1908-1913 
V.  R.  Stickley,  1915-1920 
E.  F.  Troutman,  1926-1929 
C.  F.  Kyles,  1929-1932 
R.  H.  Kepley,  1932-1935 
O.  G.  Swicegood,  1936-1937 
H.  A.  Kistler,  1937-1938 
C.  A.  Misenheimer,  1938-1939 
J.  D.  Stoner,  1939-1944 
L.  R.  Sloop,  1949-1950 


REDEEMER.  KANNAPOLIS 

Redeemer  Lutheran  Church  is  located  on  Central  Drive  in  Jackson 
Park,  Kannapolis. 

This  field  was  surveyed  and  approved  by  the  Board  of  American 
Missions  in  1937.  On  June  10,  1937,  Rev.  W.  Leo  Smith  was  called  to 
serve  this  mission  and  the  one  in  Blackwelder  Park.  The  lot  was  pur- 
chased by  Synod  for  the  mission. 

With  arrangements  for  a  loan  of  $5,000.00  from  the  Brotherhood, 
a  building  was  started  in  August  1938  and  was  completed  and  opened 
for  services  November  20,  1938.  This  is  a  brick  church,  with  basement 
for  Sunday  School.  The  Sunday  School  was  organized  on  the  opening 
Sunday  with  33  in  attendance.  The  church  cost  approximately  $10,000.00, 
and  was  formally  organized  November  27,  1938,  with  63  members.  Dr.  J.  L. 
Morgan  preached  the  sermon  and  assisted  Pastor  Smith  in  the  organiza- 
tion. 

Pastor  Smith  resigned  January  20,  1943,  and  Rev.  David  F.  Cooper 
took  charge  March  1,  1943. 

A   house   and    lot   were   purchased    for   a   parsonage    in   1944   for 


272  History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

$5,200.00.     A  loan  from  the  Board  of  American  Missions  was  received 
for  this  purchase. 

With  help  from  the  Missionary  Society  and  Luther  League,  to- 
gether with  gifts  from  various  friends,  the  entire  indebtedness  on  the 
church  building  was  paid  off  in  1945.  The  church  was  dedicated,  free 
of  debt,  November  18,  1945,  by  the  President  of  Synod,  assisted  by 
Pastor  Cooper,  Rev.  W.  L.  Smith,  and  Rev.  E.  K.  Bodie. 

Pastor  Cooper  resigned  July  1,  1947,  to  accept  a  call  to  Holy  Trinity 
Church,  in  Mt.  Pleasant,  and  Rev.  Stafford  L.  Swing  was  called  to  fill 
the  vacancy,  effective  September  15,  1947.  Up  to  this  time  Redeemer  had 
been  in  a  parish  with  Blackwelder  Park  —  now  known  as  St.  David's 
Church  —  but  the  call  for  the  new  pastor  was  for  fulltime  service. 

A  parish  building  was  constructed  in  1951,  at  a  cost  of  $12,000.00. 

List  of  Pastors: 

W.  L.  Smith,  1937-1943  S.   L.   Swing,   1947-1950 

D.  F.  Cooper,  1943-1947  J.  L.  Ballentine,  1951- 


REFORMATION   CHURCH,   TAYLORSVILLE 

Reformation  Lutheran  Church  is  located  on  West  Main  Street,  in 
Taylorsville,  Alexander  County.  Work  leading  up  to  this  organization 
was  begun  by  Rev.  H.  Belk  Leonard  in  1945,  while  he  was  in  charge 
of  a  rural  parish  in  that  community.  Services  were  held,  by  him,  in  a 
school  building  in  the  town. 

In  1946  a  house  and  lot  were  purchased  for  a  parsonage,  and  for 
a  church  location,  for  the  sum  of  $10,000.00,  on  a  fifty-fifty  basis  by  the 
mission  and  the  Synod.  Rev.  Leonard  resigned  in  1946,  and  Rev.  James 
K.  Cobb  was  called  to  become  fulltime  pastor. 

The  congregation  was  formally  organized  on  Sunday,  December  1, 
1946,  with  fifty-six  charter  members,  by  Pastor  Cobb,  assisted  by  the 
President  of  Synod.  The  services  were  held  in  the  Baptist  Church,  and 
the  sermon  for  the  occasion  was  by  Dr.  J.  L.  Morgan,  president. 

About  this  time  the  Associate  Reformed  Presbyterian  Church  be- 
came vacant,  and  their  house  of  worship  was  offered  to  the  newly 
organized  Lutheran  group  in  which  to  hold  services,  until  a  church 
could  be  built.  Rev.  Cobb  resigned  October  12,  1949,  and  on  January  1, 
1950,  Rev.  R.  B.  Sigmon  became  pastor  here. 

Plans  for  a  brick  church,  with  an  educational  annex,  were  soon 
made  and  approved.  Loans  from  the  Brotherhood  Loan  and  Gift  Fund, 
and  gifts  from  the  Women's  Synodical  Missionary  Society,  and  from 
other  sources,  enabled  the  congregation  to  go  ahead  with  their  build- 
ing. The  contract  was  let  July  7,  1950,  for  $48,809.00,  however,  that 
did  not  include  the  pews,  chancel  furniture,  art  glass  windows,  light- 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  273 

ing  fixtures,   Hammond   organ,   piano,   and  other  items,   all   of  which, 
with  the  main  church,  amounted  to  $59,400.00. 

Groundbreaking  services  were  held  July  23,  1950,  by  Pastor  Sigmon, 
President   F.    L.    Conrad,    and   Rev.   James   K.    Cobb. 

The  cornerstone  was  laid  October  22,  1950,  by  Pastor  R.  B.  Sigmon, 
President  F.  L.  Conrad,  and  Dr.  J.  L.  Morgan. 

The  new  church  was  opened  for  services  May  20,  1951,  by  Pastor 
Sigmon.  The  address  that  morning  was  by  Mr.  H.  E.  Isenhour,  Secre- 
tary of  the  Board  of  American  Missions  and  also  of  the  Mission  Com- 
mittee of  Synod.  President  F.  L.  Conrad  brought  the  message  that 
afternoon. 

List  of  Pastors: 

H.  B.  Leonard,  1945-1946  R.  B.  Sigmon,  1950- 

J,  K.  Cobb,  1946-1949 


RESURRECTION,  KINGS  MOUNTAIN 

Resurrection  Lutheran  Church  is  located  in  Crescent  Hills,  Kings 
Mountain,  N.  C. 

Work  in  this  field  was  requested  during  1950  by  Lutherans  living  in 
that  area. 

On  February  1,  1951,  the  Rev.  Vance  M.  Daniel  was  called  by  the 
Board  of  American  Missions  as  Mission  Developer. 

On  March  18,  1951,  the  church  was  organized  in  a  city  school 
auditorium  by  Pastor  Daniel  with  83  charter  members. 

A  lot,  approximately  two  acres,  was  donated  by  Fred  W.  Plonk  and 
his  brother,  Hal,  and  deeded  to  the  Synod,  on  which  the  Church  edifice 
was  erected  at  a  cost  of  $42,000.  The  cornerstone  was  placed,  and  the 
church  opened  on  December  2,  1951.  The  interior,  with  complete 
furnishings,  was  finished  by  March  15,  1953,  at  an  additional  cost  of 
$23,000. 

List  of  Pastors: 

Vance  M.  Daniel,  1951- 


RICHLAND,  LIBERTY 

Richland  Lutheran  Church  is  located  on  the  border  of  Randolph 
and  Guilford  Counties,  about  four  miles  northeast  of  Liberty. 

The  date  of  organization  for  this  church  is  not  definitely  known. 
Rev.  D.  I.  Offman,  who  has  spent  many  years  in  this  community, 
thinks  the  church  was  started  about  1776,  or  soon  thereafter,  by  both 


274         History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

Lutheran  and  Reformed  members  in  a  locality  about  a  mile  north  of 
Liberty.     This  church  was  called   Barton's  Meeting  House. 

The  Lutherans  and  Reformed  separated  after  some  years,  and  the 
Lutherans  located  where  the  present  church  now  stands,  after  which 
it  was  called  Richland  Lutheran  Church.  In  1789  Richland  joined 
with  Low's,  St.  Paul's,  and  Frieden's  congregations  in  calling  as 
pastor  Rev.  C.  E.  Bernhardt,  who  came  and  served  them  most  acceptably 
until  1800. 

The  deed  for  the  land  for  Richland  Church  was  made  by  John  and 
Margaret  Reitzel  in  the  year  1791. 

The  first  church  at  the  present  location  was  built  of  logs  about 
the  time  the  land  was  purchased.  The  building  was  about  25  x  35  feet 
in  dimensions,  with  a  gallery  and  a  high  pulpit,  and  is  said  to  have 
had  an  elevated  pew  built  expressly  for  the  officers  of  the  church. 

The  next  building  was  a  frame  structure  35  x  45  feet,  which  is 
still  in  regular  use,  but  we  do  not  know  when  it  was  built. 

For  a  number  of  years  this  congregation  shared  in  the  ownership 
of  a  parsonage  at  Low's  Church,  but  when  the  parish  connections  were 
changed,  different  arrangements  were  made  about  a  parsonage. 

At  one  time  this  congregation  enjoyed  a  strong  membership  of 
outstanding  families  in  the  community  whose  influence  was  felt  through- 
out the  Synod.  But,  during  more  recent  years,  most  of  these  families 
have  moved  to  other  places.  Since  the  withdrawal  of  Grace  con- 
gregation from  the  parish,  in  1950,  Richland  has  had  only  supply  services. 

It  should  be  noted  here  that  Melanchthon  Church  was  organized 
out  of  Richland  members  about  1824,  following  the  organization  of  the 
Tennessee  Synod  in  1820.  The  Melanchthon  organization  continued  to 
worship  in  the  same  old  building,  however,  until  1850,  when  they 
built  a  church  of  their  own  at  a  different  location.  This  explains 
why  Rev.  Philip  Henkel,  of  the  Tennessee  Synod,  was  on  a  church 
visit  to  Richland  in  1833  when  he  took  sick  and  died  in  that  community 
and  is  buried  in  the  Richland  cemetery. 

List  of  Pastors: 

C.  E.  Bernhardt,  1787-1800  R.  R.  Sowers,  1902-1905 
Philip  Henkel,  1800-1805  C.  M.  Fox,  1906-1907 
Ludwig  Markert,  1805-1810  V.  R.  Stickley,  1909-1913 
Jacob  Scherer,  1810-1828  H.  W.  Jeffcoat,  1914-1915 

D.  J.  Hauer,  1828-1829  Jacob  L.  Morgan,  Sup.,  1915-1917 
William  Artz,  1830-1852  H.  W.  Jeffcoat,  1917-1922 

J.  Grieson,  Asst.,  1834-1839  B.  A.  Barringer,  1922-1927 

Andrew  Sechrist,  1852-1854  P.  G.  Kinney,  Sup.,  1927 

John  Swicegood,  1854-1855  Q.  O.  Lyerly,  1928-1936 

Simeon  Scherer,  1855-1859  W.  D.  Yount,  1936-1937 

B.  C.  Hall,  1860-1864  C.  H.  Fisher,  1937-1939 

W.  A.  Julian,  1865-1870  E.  A.  Shenk,  Sup.,  1940-1941 

E.  P.  Parker,  1873-1881  J.  C.  Dickert,  1941-1946 

A.  D.  L.  Moser,  1883-1884  J.  R.  Boggs,  1946-1948 

B.  W.  Cronk,  1887-1891  R.  B.  Sigmon,  1949-1950 
H.  M.  Brown,  1891-1902 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  275 


SALEM,  LINCOLN  CO. 

Salem  Church  is  located  in  Lincoln  County,  about  five  miles 
north  of  Lincolnton  and  about  four  miles  southwest  from  Maiden.  It 
was  formerly  known  as  Old  Church,  and  is  so  listed  in  the  1810 
Minutes  of  the  North  Carolina  Synod. 

Dr.  L.  L.  Lohr  states  in  an  article  published  in  the  North  Caro- 
lina Lutheran  for  April  1936,  that  "an  organization  was  effected  in 
1796."    We  find  grave  stones  dated  as  far  back  at  1792. 

The  first  church  was  of  logs,  but  we  do  not  know  when  it  was 
built.  In  1814,  when  the  land  on  which  the  church  stands  was  con- 
veyed to  the  two  congregations  of  Lutheran  and  German  Reformed, 
it  was  decided  to  repair  the  old  church,  and  a  subscription  list  was 
gotten  out,  headed  "Repair  Fund  for  the  Old  Church."  This  would 
seem  to  indicate  that  the  church  had  been  in  use  quite  some  years. 
In  1835  an  addition  was  built  to  the  pulpit  end  of  the  meeting 
house,  13  feet  wide,  with  a  shed  roof,  one  story  high,  to  have  four  12 
light  windows,  one  outside  door;  and  that  three  logs  behind  the  pulpit 
are  to  be  cut  out  as  far  as  the  opening  of  the  gallery. 

In  1848  it  was  decided  to  build  a  brick  church,  which  was  to  be, 
like  the  old  one,  jointly  owned  by  Lutheran  and  Reformed  and  was 
to  be  35  X  45  feet  in  dimensions,  which  was  to  have  two  doors  and 
four-light  windows.  This  church  was  finished  and  dedicated  in  1849. 
In  1914,  it  was  agreed  by  Lutherans  and  Reformed  to  repair  the 
church  for  which  the  Lutherans  would  pay  three-fourths  and  the  Re- 
formed one-fourth  the  cost;  same  to  be  held  by  three  trustees — two 
Lutherans  and  one  Reformed — H.  F.  McCoslin,  F.  E.  Bost,  (Lutheran) 
and  C.  E.  Ramsour  (Reformed).  The  repair  program  included  a  tower 
and  bell,  new  interior  finish,  new  furniture  and  chancel  arrangements. 
Rev.  F.  M.  Speagle  was  pastor  at  that  time. 

In  1935,  the  two  groups  set  out  to  build  an  Educational  Annex 
Building,  which  was  completed  in  1937,  and  dedicated  in  1938  by  Pastor 
A.   W.   Lippard. 

We  have  not  been  able  to  find  a  complete  list  of  pastors  who 
served  this  church.  We  feel  sure  that  Rev.  J.  G.  Arends  ministered 
to  these  people  as  best  he  could  while  living  in  Lincoln  County  from 
1785  to  1807.  However,  we  have  no  record  of  this.  We  do  find  listed 
on  the  North  Carolina  Synod  Minutes,  for  1810,  that  Rev.  Philip  Henkel 
was  pastor  here,  and  that  it  was  in  the  same  parish  which  Rev.  Arends 
formerly  served.  Other  pastors  of  this  congregation  were  probably  the 
same  as  those  in  Rev.  Arends  parish,  which  was  composed  of  Zion, 
Grace,  Daniel's,  etc.  The  list  of  pastors  of  which  we  have  record  is 
as  follows: 

A.  J.   Fox,  1860-1884  W.  D.  Wise,   1918-1921 

R.  A.  Yoder,  1884-1899  C.  R.  Patterson,  1922-1926 

J.   A.   Arndt,   1899-1900  J.  L.  Norris,  1927-1937 

J.  C.  Dietz,  1900-1903  A.  W.  Lippard,  1938-1942 

H.  J.  Matthias,  1903-1905  J.  E.  Walker,  1942-1948 

J.  L.  Cromer,  1907-1913  John  Hall,  1948-1950 

F.  M.  Speagle,  1914-1917  W.  D.  Yount,  1950- 


276 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 


SALEM,  ROWAN  CO. 

Salem  Church  is  located  in  Rowan  County  about  six  miles  west 
from  Salisbury  on  the  Beatty's  Ford  Road.  It  was  organized  August 
IS,  1850,  by  Rev.  B.  N.  Hopkins,  when  he  was  preaching  at  Enochville. 
The  name  "Salem"  was  given  a  few  years  after  it  was  organized. 
Officers  elected  were:  Henry  J.  Barringer  and  Charles  Miller,  Elders; 
and  Peter  Barger  and  Jesse  Lyerly,  Deacons. 

Their  first  church  was  a  log  building  and  stood  a  little  to  the 
northeast  of  the  present  church.  The  thirty-acre  tract  of  land  owned 
by  the  church,  was  bought  from  Mr.  John  Barger  for  $100.00  on  April 
29,  1854.  The  second  church  was  a  frame  structure  36  x  50  feet,  for 
which  the  cornerstone  was  laid  December  16,  1882,  by  Rev.  V.  R.  Stickley 
and  Rev.  W.  A.  Lutz.  The  building  was  dedicated  on  Sunday,  November 
25,  1883,  at  a  meeting  of  Conference  held  in  the  new  church.  Rev. 
W.  A.  Lutz  preached  the  sermon.  Rev.  J.  D.  Shirey,  D.D.,  was  pastor. 
In  1906  a  tower  was  built. 

Salem  had  been  in  a  parish  with  one  or  more  churches  until  1923, 
when  it  called  Rev.  W.  G.  Cobb  as  fulltime  pastor  for  that  one  church. 
It  was  about  that  time  when  transepts  and  Sunday  School  rooms  were 
added  to  the  building.  This  church  was  destroyed  by  fire  on  Easter 
Sunday,  1950. 

On  February  19,  1950,  ground  was  broken  for  the  present  brick 
church.  Dr.  F.  L.  Conrad,  president  of  Synod;  and  Pastor  Paul  E. 
Moose  were  in  charge  of  the  services.  The  cornerstone  was  laid  on 
September  24,  1950,  by  President  F.  L.  Conrad,  Pastor  P.  E.  Moose,  and 
Dr.  Morgan.  This  is  a  beautiful  church,  with  full  basement  and 
Sunday  School  rooms  all  equipped  for  progressive  services.  The  property 
is  valued  at  $160,000.00.  This  building  commemorates  the  One  Hundredth 
Anniversary  of  the  congregation.  The  first  service  in  the  completed 
building  was  held  on  June  10,  1951,  with  sermon  by  the  Pastor,  Rev. 
P.  E.  Moose. 

The  congregation  has  built  two  parsonages,  the  first  in  1895  while 
Rev.  V.  y.  Boozer  was  pastor,  and  the  second  in  1935  during  Dr.  Boozer's 
second  pastorate. 


List  of  Pastors: 


B.  N.  Hopkins,  1850-1852 
J.  S.  Heilig,  1853-1858 
B.  C.  Hall,  Sup.,  1859 
Jacob  Crim,  1860-1862 
Simeon  Scherer,  1863-1868 
Samuel  Rothrock,  1869-1875 
V.  R.  Stickley,  1876-1882 
J.  D.  Shirey,  1882-1889 
H.  C.  Haithcox,  1890 
B.  W.  Cronk,  1891-1893 
V.  Y.  Boozer,  1894-1895 
H.  N.  Miller,  1895-1897 


H.  A.  Trexler,  1897-1907 
B.  S.  Brown,  Sr.,  1908-1910 
O.  W.  Aderholdt,  1911-1912 
G.  O.  Ritchie,   1913-1918 
R.  T.  Troutman,  1918-1920 
J.  Arthur  Linn,  Sup.,  1921 
W.  G.  Cobb,  1923-1926 
J.  M.  Senter,  1926-1931 
V.  Y.  Boozer,  1931-1935 
M.  R.  Farris,  1936-1943 
P.  E.  Moose,  1943- 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 


277 


SARDIS,  CATAWBA  CO. 

Sardis  Church  is  located  in  Catawba  County,  about  ten  miles  south 
from  Hickory.  This  church  was  organized  March  2,  1867,  by  Rev.  A. 
J.  Fox,  M.D.,  and  was  received  into  the  Tennessee  Synod  on  the  19th 
of  the  following   November. 

Their  first  building  was  constructed  of  hand-hewn  framing  and 
handdressed  weatherboarding  applied  vertically.  It  was  dedicated 
March  30,  1867.  The  present  church  was  built  while  Rev.  J.  P.  Miller 
was  pastor,  about  1891.  It  is  a  durable  frame  structure  of  heart  pine 
timber.  The  builders  were  Adly  Huffman  and  Alfred  Baker  in  that 
community. 

In  1950  Sardis  and  Salem  congregations  were  placed  in  a  parish 
together  and  called  Rev.  Wade  D.  Yount.  At  the  same  time  Sardis 
built  a  beautiful  new  parsonage  near  that  church. 


List  of  Pastors: 


A.  J.  Fox,  1867-1872 
M.  L.  Little,  1872-1882 
J.  A.  Rudisill,  1882-1890 
J.  P.  Miller,  1891-1894 
W.  P.  Cline,  1894-1896 
R.  A.  Yoder,  1896-1899 
J.  C.  Wessinger,  1899-1902 
W.  P.  Cline,  Supply,  1903 
R.  H.  Cline,  Supply,  1904 
W.  P.  Cline,  Supply,  1905 
J.  F.  Deal,  1906-1907 


M.  L.  Pence,  1908-1915 
F.  M,  Speagle,  Sup.,  1915 
D.  L.  Miller,  1916-1918 
J.  A.  Yount,  1919 
J.  J.  Bickley,  1920-1921 

B.  J.  Wessinger,  1922-1926 
L.  L.  Lohr,  1927-1930 

C.  K.  Wise,  Supply,  1931 
W.  A.  Sigman,  1931-1937 
W.  J.  Roof,  1937-1950 
Wade  D.  Yount,  1950- 


SHARON,  GIBSONVILLE 

Sharon  Church  is  located  in  the  town  of  Gibsonville,  in  Alamance 
County.  The  church  was  organized  October  28,  1894,  with  an  enrollment 
of  eight  members,  in  charge  of  Rev.  J.  R.  Sikes.  The  name  chosen  was 
Sharon  Evangelical  Lutheran  Church.  Pastor  Sikes  continued  to  serve 
the  congregation  until  his  death. 

Services  were  held  downstairs  in  the  Masonic  Lodge  Building. 
On  April  5,  1897,  a  lot  was  secured  on  the  corner  of  what  is  now  Sharon 
and  Burke  Streets,  and  a  frame  church  32  x  42  feet  was  constructed. 
The  cornerstone  was  laid  November  21,  1897  by  Pastor  E.  P.  Parker,  Rev. 
H.  M.  Brown  and  Rev.  D.  I.  Offman,  and  the  first  service  was  held  in 
the  new  church  January  23,  1898.  The  Northern  Conference  met  in  this 
church  on  November  20-22,  1903,  when  their  pastor.  Rev.  C.  A.  Brown, 
was   elected   president,   and   Rev.   J.   L.   Morgan   was   elected   secretary. 


278         History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

This  church  was  dedicated  on  Sunday,  November  22,  1903,  by  Dr. 
R.  C.  Holland,  President  of  Synod;  Rev.  C.  A.  Brown,  and  Rev.  C.  B. 
Miller. 

While  Rev.  Enoch  Hite  was  pastor,  it  was  decided,  in  1935,  to 
build  a  new  church,  but  Pastor  Hite  died  August  31st  that  year,  which 
delayed  the  building.  Rev.  John  L.  Morgan  became  pastor  March  1, 
1936,  and  soon  a  new  lot  was  purchased  and  a  new  brick  church  was 
constructed.  This  is  a  splendid  building,  with  full  basement,  and  is 
nicely  furnished.  The  cornerstone  was  laid  and  the  church  dedicated 
on  October  8,  1939,  in  charge  of  Pastor  Morgan  and  the  President  of 
Synod. 

In  1948  a  new  brick  parsonage  was  built  on  a  lot  next  to  the 
church.  For  many  years  this  church  was  in  a  parish  with  Friedens 
and  Peace,  but  in  1949  Friedens  decided  to  provide  for  its  own  fulltime 
pastor,  so  Sharon  and  Peace  formed  a  parish  and  called  Rev.  W.  J. 
Roof,  who  became  pastor  February  1,  1950. 

List  of  Pastors: 

J.  R.  Sikes,  1894  Y.  Von  A.  Riser,  1916-1921 

E.  P.  Parker,  1895-1901  G.  W.  McClanahan,  1921-1931 
C.  A.  Brown,  1901-1903                          Enoch  Hite,  1931-1935 

G.  H.  L.  Lingle,  1904-1905  John   L.   Morgan,   1936-1943 

F.  M.  Harr,  1905-1910  M.  R.  Farris,   1943-1949 
C.  J.  Sox,  1910-1913  W.  J.  Roof,  1950-1952 
W.  G.  Cobb,  Supply,  1913  E.  K.  Bodie,  1952- 

B.  S.   Dasher,  1913-1915 


SHARON,  IREDELL 

Sharon  Church  is  located  in  Iredell  County,  some  nine  miles 
west  from  Statesville,  and  about  three  miles  north  from  the  main  State 
highway  leading  to  Hickory. 

This  church  was  organized  in  1842,  by  Rev.  J.  W.  Hull,  then 
pastor  at  St.  Martin  Church,  in  that  county.  A  deed  for  six  and  one- 
half  acres  of  land  was  made  in  1854,  by  Eli  Bost,  Silas  Bost,  and 
Angeline  Massey,  to  Sharon's  Elders — Peter  Little,  Peter  Smith,  and 
William  Fulbright. 

A  small  brick  church  was  soon  erected,  but  was  used  for  some 
years  with  a  dirt  floor.  In  1882  Rev.  J.  C.  Moser  became  pastor,  and 
led  the  congregation  in  building  sixteen  feet  to  the  front  end  of  the 
church,  and  placing  a  floor  in  the  entire  building.  A.  T.  Smith  super- 
vised  the   work,    and   William   Cline  was  foreman   in   the   brick  work. 

In  1941-1942  —  their  centennial  year,  while  Rev.  Dutton  was  pastor 
—  a  five-room  annex  was  built  to  provide  Sunday  School  rooms.     The 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N,  C. 


279 


chancel   was   re-arranged,   new   floor   put   down,   the   entire   interior   of 
the  church  refinished,  and  a  new  roof  put  on  the  old  building. 

When  Mt.  Herman  Church  was  organized  in  1896,  most  of  those 
members  were  transferred  from  Sharon. 

For  a  number  of  years  Sharon,  St.  Martin's,  and  Mt.  Herman, 
were  in  a  parish  together,  but  after  re-uniting  of  the  two  Synods,  in 
1921,  Sharon,  Mt.  Herman,  and  St.  Paul's  were  placed  in  a  parish.  At 
present  Sharon  and  Mt.  Herman  constitute  the  parish. 

They  have  recently  built  a  nice  new  parsonage  near  Mt.  Herman, 
which  is  jointly  owned. 


List  of  Pastors: 


J.  W.  Hull,  1842-1846 
Daniel  Efird 
Adam  Efird 

Timothy  Moser,  1850-1858 
J.  M.  Smith,  1858-1874 
A.  J.   Fox,  1874-1876 
P.  C.  Henkel,  1876-1881 
J.  C.  Moser,  1882-1884 

C.  H.  Bernheim,  1884-1886 

D.  J.  Settlemyre,  1886-1891 
G.  A.  Romoser,  1891-1893 
R.  W.  Huebsch,  1893-1897 
W.  L.  Darr,  1898-1907 


,C.  J.  Sox,  1907-1910 


W.  D.  Haltiwanger,  1912-1917 
J.  M.  Senter,  1918-1920 

D.  L.  Miller,  1921-1924 
Stu.  W.  C.  Boliek,  1924 
Q.  O.  Lyerly,  1925-1928 
Stu.  R.  H.  Kepley,  1929 
R.  H.  Kepley,  1930-1932 
Stu.  R.  B.   Fisher,  1932 

O.  G.  Swicegood,  1932-1935 
P.   E.   Moose,   1935-1938 
W.  H.  Button,  1939-1943 
R.  M.  Carpenter,  1943-1950 
Stu.  E.  W.  Ridenhour,  1950 

E.  W.  Ridenhour,  1951- 


SHILOH.  ALEXANDER  CO. 

Shiloh  Church  is  located  in  Alexander  County,  on  the  highway 
from  Hickory  to  Taylorsville  near  Catawba  River.  The  original  church 
here  was  known  as  Pisgah  Lutheran  Church,  which  belonged  to  the 
Tennessee  Synod;  however,  we  do  not  know  when  it  was  organized. 
In  the  year  1886  a  division  arose  in  the  congregation,  and  as  a  result 
a  large  number  of  the  members,  under  the  pastoral  leadership  of  Rev. 
C.  H.  Bernheim,  organized  a  new  congregation  under  the  name  of 
Shiloh  Lutheran  Church. 

Their  first  church  was  built  in  1886-1887  and  was  dedicated  in 
the  year  1888  by  Pastor  Bernheim  and  Dr.  R.  A.  Yoder.  Their  present 
house  of  worship  is  a  beautiful  brick  structure,  built  under  the  in- 
spiring leadership  of  their  pastor,  the  Rev.  Cline  W.  Harbinson.  It  was 
opened  for  services  in  1952. 

When  this  church  was  first  organized,  it  was  placed  in  a  parish 
with   Friendship  and   Philadelphia  at   Granite  Falls,   but  at  present  it 


280 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 


is  in  a  parish  with  St.  Luke's  Church  in  Catawba  County.  The  two 
churches  have  a  new  brick  parsonage  located  a  short  distance  from 
St.  Luke's  Church. 


List  of  Pastors: 


C.  H.  Bernheim,  1886-1890 
J.  P.  Miller,  1890-1893 
A.  L.  Crouse,  1894-1896 
R.  L.  Fritz,  J.  L.  Cromer, 
and  E.  J.  Sox, 
Supply,  1896-1907 
J.  P.  Price,  1907-1909 
A.  L.  Bolick,  1909-1913 
J.  A.  Yount,  1913-1921 


M.  L.  Pence,  1924-1926 
C.  E.  Lutz,  1927-1930 
L.  P.  Boland,  1930-1939 
Cline  W.  Harbinson, 

1940-1943 
H.  Belk  Leonard,  1943-1946 
Cline  W.   Harbinson, 

1947- 


SHILOH,  FORSYTH   CO. 

Shiloh  Lutheran  Church  is  located  about  ten  miles  west  from 
Winston-Salem  in  Forsyth  County,  North  Carolina,  not  far  from  the 
village  of  Lewisville.  For  many  years  it  has  been  associated  in  a 
parish  with  Nazareth  at  Rural  Hall.  It  is  not  known  when  it  was 
organized;  however,  there  were  German  Lutheran  settlers  living  in 
that  section  long  before  the  church  was  organized,  and  prior  to  the 
coming  of  the  Moravians  in  1752.  It  is  supposed  to  have  been  organized 
by  Rev.  Adolph  Nussman  about  1777,  with  the  help  of  Rev.  Arends, 
For  this,  see  Minutes  of  Synod  1831,  pages  9  and  14.  It  was  first  called 
Muddy  Creek  Church. 

The  first  location  was  about  a  fourth  of  a  mile  north  of  the 
present  church.  There  is  a  fairly  large  cemetery  there.  The  first 
church  was  of  logs,  about  20  x  30  feet,  with  a  gallery.  The  present 
building  is  of  brick,  and  is  located  on  the  main  highway.  Its  dimen- 
sions are  about  32  x  46  feet.  It  was  erected  during  1880  and  1882, 
having  been  begun  while  Rev.  W.  A.  Lutz  was  pastor  there.  It  was 
dedicated  in  1884.  This  church  shares  in  the  ownership  of  a  parsonage 
at  Rural  Hall.  Sunday  School  rooms,  with  basement,  were  added  in 
1939,  and  new  chancel  arrangement  made. 

It  is  difficult  to  determine  the  list  of  pastors  for  this  congregation, 
as  records  are  incomplete;  however,  the  following  may  be  approxi- 
mately correct: 


List  of  Pastors: 


Adolph  Nussman,  1774-1787 
Arnold  Roschen,  1788-1800 
Paul  Henkel,  1800-1805 
Gottlieb  Schober,  1810-1830 
J.  R.  Rosenmiller,  1830-1832 
Adam  Grimes,  1832-1836 


H.  A.  Trexler,  1892-1897 
R.  L.  Bame,  1897-1899 
Stu.  P.  E.  Monroe,  1900 
C.  A.  Phillips,  1902-1904 
V.  R.  Stickley,  1906-1907 
J.  W.  Strickler,  1907-1909 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 


281 


Jacob  Crim,  1837-1840 
Adam  Grimes,  1840-1847 
John  Swicegood,  1847-1853 
Whitson  Kimball,  1860-1861 
M.  M.  Miller,  1861 
J.  R.  Sikes,  1862-1864 
J.  D.  Bowles,  1865 
John  Swicegood,  1865-1867 
C.  H.  Bernheim,  1877-1878 
W.  A.  Lutz,  1878-1881 
E.  P.  Parker,  1882-1887 
W.  R.  Ketchie,  1887-1888 
H.  M.  Brown,  1888-1892 


J.  A.  L.  Miller,  1909-1914 
R.  T.  Troutman,  Sup.,  1916 
W.  C.  Buck,  1917-1925 
Stu.  C.  E.  Lutz,  1925 
Stu.  R.  L.  Fisher,  1926 
W.  J.  Moretz,  1927-1931 
Stu.  O.  W.  Sink,  1932 
Stu.  W.  N.  Yount,  1933-1934 
W.  N.  Yount,  1935-1940 
D.  B.  Summers,  1942-1945 
L.  O.   Roof,.   1945-1948 
B.  E.  Petrea,  1949- 


SILVER  VALLEY,  DAVIDSON  CO. 

Silver  Valley  Lutheran  Church  is  located  in  Davidson  County 
twelve  miles  east  of  Lexington  on  the  Asheboro  highway. 

This  work  was  started  by  Rev.  Roy  L.  Fisher,  while  he  was 
pastor  of  the  Holly  Grove  Parish  in  this  county.  Week-day  Summer 
Schools  were  conducted  by  him  in  the  nearby  Silver  Valley  School  Build- 
ing, with  an  attendance  of  over  300  children.  From  this  beginning, 
work  was  carried  on  for  a  church  building  and  an  organized  con- 
gregation. 

A  lot  across  the  highway  from  the  school  building  was  donated 
tor  a  church,  and  in  September  1939  the  building  was  begun.  Much  of 
the  work  on  the  church  was  done  by  members  of  the  group  without 
charge.  Some  help  was  given  by  the  Synod,  the  Missionary  Society,  and 
other  organizations,  but  the  burden  of  the  work  was  by  the  local  mission. 

The  church  was  completed,  and  the  opening  service  was  held 
July  21,  1940.  This  is  a  splendid  brick  veneered  building  and  is  churchly 
in  appearance.  At  the  time  it  was  built,  it  was  valued  at  $8,000.00; 
however,  it  was  built  for  less  money.  After  the  house  of  worship  was 
completed  and  opened  for  services,  the  organization  of  the  church  was 
completed  on  Sunday,  September  1,  1940,  with  63  members.  Pastor 
Fisher  was  in  charge  of  the  organization,  assisted  by  Dr.  C.  L.  Miller, 
Rev.  Voigt  Sink,  and  the  President  of  Synod. 

In  1951,  while  Rev.  C.  C.  Adderholdt  was  pastor,  a  house  and  lot 
near  the  church  were  purchased  for  a  parsonage,  jointly  with  Lebanon 
congregation,  at  a  price  of  $7,000.00. 


List  of  Pastors  : 


R.  L.  Fisher,  1940-1942 

W.  B.  Aull,  1942-1943 

C.  R.  Patterson,  Sup.,  1944-1947 


C.  S.  Wessinger,  1947-1948 
C.  C.  Adderholdt,  1949-1952 
E.  F.  K.  Roof,  1953- 


282  History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 


ST.  ANDREWS,  ANDREWS 

St.  Andrews  Lutheran  Church  is  located  on  Main  Street  in  the 
town  of  Andrews,  Cherokee  County,  N.  C. 

A  Lutheran  Sunday  School  was  carried  on  in  this  place  for 
many  years  before  there  was  a  Lutheran  church.  The  work  was 
sponsored  largely  by  Mrs.  F.  P.  Cover.  A  congregation  was  organized 
here  on  October  22,  1924,  with  nine  members  enrolled,  by  Rev.  N.  D. 
Yount. 

The  lot  for  the  church  was  donated  to  the  North  Carolina  Synod 
for  church  purposes  by  Mrs.  Cover. 

The  cornerstone  was  laid  September  25,  1927,  by  President  J.  L. 
Morgan  and  Pastor  W.  H.  Lefstead.  This  is  an  attractive  brick 
building  with  a  full  basement  for  Sunday  School.  The  Women's  Mis- 
sionary Society  of  the  North  Carolina  Synod  gave  liberally  to  the 
building  of  the  church.  The  church  was  dedicated  by  the  President 
of  Synod  on  April  29,  1928,  assisted  by  Pastor  Lefstead  and  Dr.  W.  H. 
Greever.     The  church  with  its  furnishings  was  valued  at  $20,000.00. 

The  parsonage  was  built,  under  the  leadership  of  Rev.  Edwin  F. 
Troutman,  at  a  cost  of  $3,000.00.  It  was  ready  for  occupancy  August 
19,  1936. 

The  pipe  organ  is  a  gift  from  Mrs.  F.  P.  Cover,  who  gave  liberally 
to  the  building  of  the  church  also. 

List  of  Pastors: 

N.  D.  Yount,  1924-1925  C.  W.  Carpenter,  Sup.,  1941 

J.  F.  Davis,  Sup.,  1926-1927  Ernest  Felker,  1941-1945 

W.  H.  Lefstead,  1927-1929  W.  L.  Smith,  1945-1947 
E.  F.  Troutman,  1929-1937  Supplied,  1947-1949 

O.  G.  Swicegood,  1937-1938  W.  E.  Hall,  1949-1952 
K.  Y.  Huddle,  1938-1940 


ST.  ANDREW'S,  CONCORD 

St.  Andrew's  Church  is  located  on  West  Depot  Street  in  Concord. 
The  church  was  organized  September  10,  1893,  by  Rev.  G.  H.  Cox,  D.D., 
president  of  Synod. 

Their  work  was  started  and  at  first  was  financed  by  St.  James 
congregation  in  Concord,  under  the  direction  of  Rev.  W.  G.  Campbell. 

The  first  building  was  a  frame  structure  32  x  46  feet,  which  was 
completed  in  1890.  It  was  dedicated  November  7,  1897,  by  Rev.  V.  R. 
Stickley,    president    of    Synod;    Pastor    H.    A.    McCullough,    Rev.    C.    B. 


I 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 


283 


Miller,  and  Rev.  J.  Q.  Wertz.  A  nice  frame  parsonage  was  built  near 
the  church  in  1899.  It  was  destroyed  by  fire  on  September  21,  1900, 
but  was  rebuilt  right  away  by  the  congregation. 

On  August  15,  1902,  their  church  was  destroyed  by  a  wind  storm, 
but  the  congregation,  led  by  Pastor  E.  Fulenwider,  proceeded,  at  once, 
to  rebuild.  While  Rev.  L.  C.  Bumgarner  was  pastor,  a  new  brick  church, 
with  full  basement,  was  built  at  a  cost  of  around  $12,000.00.  The  cor- 
nerstone was  laid  June  1,  1941,  by  Pastor  Bumgarner  and  the  President 
of  Synod,  assisted  by  Dr.  C.  L.  Miller,  Dr.  V.  R.  Cromer,  and  Rev.  W.  T. 
Nau.  This  church  was  dedicated  November  8,  1942,  by  Pastor  Bum- 
garner and  the  President  of  Synod.  This  is  a  splendid  building.  A 
parsonage  was  recently  purchased  a  few  blocks  east  from  the  church. 

List  of  Pastors: 


G.  H.  Cox,  1893 

J.  D.  Shealey,  1894-1895 

H.  A.  McCullough, 

1895-1898 
W.  B.  Oney,  1898-1900 
C.  A.  Brown,  1900-1901 
J.  L.  Morgan, 

Supply,  1901 
E.  Fulenwider,  1902-1904 
J.  W.  Strickler,  1905-1907 
C.  R.  Pless,  Supply,  1907 
V.  R.  Stickley, 

Supply,   1907-1908 


C.  A.  Brown,  Supply,  1908 
,  J.  P.  Miller,  Supply,  1909 
C.  R.  Pless,  1909-1911 
G.  O.  Ritchie,  Supply,  1912 
S.  A.  Zimbeck,  1912-1913 
J.  H.  C.  Fisher,  Sup.,  1914 

B.  S.  Dasher,  1915-1917 

C.  H.  Day,  1918-1920 

J.  B.  Moose,  Sup.,  1920 
M.  L.  Kester,  1921-1928 
L.  C.  Bumgarner,  1928-1947 
J.  L.  Griffin,  1948-1950 
W.  D.  Wise,  1950- 


ST.  ANDREW'S  CHURCH.  HICKORY 

St.  Andrew's  Lutheran  Church  is  located  opposite  the  southwest 
corner  of  Lenoir  Rhyne  College  campus,  in  the  City  of  Hickory,  N.  C. 
This  church  was  organized  on  January  29,  1893,  with  thirty-eight 
members,  by  Rev.  A.  L.  Crouse.  Service  was  held  in  the  chapel  of 
Lenoir  College.  Officers  elected  were:  William  Yoder  and  Benjamin 
A.  Whitener,  Elders;  Rufus  Mosteller  and  A.  Y.  Sigmon,  Deacons;  and 
Reuben  Miller,  Treasurer. 

The  first  four  pastors  of  this  church  were  all  members  of  the 
college  faculty,  namely:  Rev.  A.  L.  Crouse,  Rev.  R.  L.  Fritz,  Rev.  R.  A. 
Yoder,  and  Rev.  W.  P.  Cline.  After  worshiping  for  about  ten  years  in 
the  college  chapel,  plans  were  worked  out,  under  the  pastoral  leader- 
ship of  Rev.  C.  L.  Miller,  for  a  church  building,  to  be  located  in  the 
southeast  section  of  the  college  campus.  Work  on  the  building  was 
started  in  May  1907,  and  the  cornerstone  was  laid  on  October  the  14th 
that   same   year.     The   building   was   of   brick,   and   was   large   enough 


284 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 


for  that  time,  but  it  was  lacking  in  Sunday  School  facilities.  The 
formal  opening  service  for  this  building  was  held  in  connection  with 
the  college  commencement  in  the  year  1910. 

Soon  after  Rev.  P.  J.  Bame  became  pastor  of  St.  Andrew's  con- 
gregation in  1924,  a  lot  was  bought  for  a  new  church,  at  a  cost  of 
$11,500.00 — the  same  lot  which  the  church  now  occupies — and  provis- 
ion was  made  with  the  Synod  to  solicit  funds  from  the  congregations 
over  the  Synod  to  help  carry  the  proposition  to  completion.  But,  the 
plan  was  not  carried  out,  and  the  lot  was  sold. 

Then  later,  at  the  annual  meeting  of  Synod  in  St.  Andrew's  Church 
in  1940,  the  need  for  a  new  and  larger  church  for  this  congregation  and 
the   college  was   again   brought   to   Synod's   attention,   whereupon   Mr. 


St.  Andrews  Lutheran  Church 
Hickory,  North  Carolina 

W.  K.  Mauney  offered  to  give  $1000.00  towards  a  Fifty  Thousand  Dollar 
Fund  for  such  a  building,  if  carried  out.  The  proposition  was  approved 
by  the  Synod,  and  a  committee  was  appointed  to  cooperate  with  St. 
Andrew's  Church  in  the  undertaking.  The  committee  appointed  by 
Synod  was:  The  President  of  Synod,  W.  K.  Mauney  and  Carl  V.  Cline, 
for  the  Synod;  and  P.  E.  Monroe  and  C.  M.  Yoder  for  the  college. 

A  committee  was  later  appointed  by  St.  Andrew's  congregation, 
composed  of:  M.  E.  Newton,  Garland  Davis,  E.  J.  Sox,  Albert  Keiser, 
and  F.  P.  Cauble,  to  cooperate  with  the  committee  appointed  by  Synod. 
These  two  committees  then  organized  into  a  Joint  Committee,  with  the 
President  of  Synod  as  chairman,  and  Dr.  Albert  Keiser  as  secretary. 
This  Joint  Committee  had  general  supervision  over  the  entire  under- 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  285 

taking,  while  a  local  Building  Committee,  composed  of  Dr.  Albert 
Keiser,  chairman,  E.  J.  Sox,  and  F.  P.  Cauble,  was  in  charge  of  build- 
ing operations. 

A  solicitation  for  $150,000.00  was  made  for  the  new  church,  on  a 
basis  of  one-third  from  the  local  congregation,  one-third  from  the 
college  or  its  friends,  and  one-third  from  the  congregations  over  the 
Synod.  The  contracts  for  the  erection  of  the  new  St.  Andrew's  Church 
called  for  an  expenditure  of  $260,000.00.  The  Mauney  Family  of  Kings 
Mountain  contributed  $55,000.00  towards  the  three  story  John  D.  Mauney 
Educational  Building,  and  the  Miles  Aderholdt  Family  gave  the  same 
amount,  mainly  towards  the  organ,  the  chapel,  and  the  balcony. 
The  whole  outlay  for  lots,  architect's  fees,  buildings,  and  furnishings 
amounted  to  $365,000.00. 

The  groundbreaking  service  for  this  new  church  was  conducted  on 
May  23,  1950,  in  charge  of  their  pastor.  Rev.  F.  P.  Cauble,  Ph.D.,  and 
Rev.  F.  L.  Conrad,  D.D.,  president  of  Synod,  together  with  a  number  of 
other  ministers.  The  cornerstone  was  laid  October  29,  1950,  by  Pastor 
Cauble,  Dr.  V.  R.  Cromer,  President  of  Lenoir  Rhyne  College,  and 
Rev.  Geo.  Frederick  Schott,  Secretary  of  Synod.  The  formal  opening  of 
the  completed  church  was  on  Sunday,  December  9,  1951,  with  Dr.  Cauble 
in  charge  of  the  service,  and  the  sermon  by  Dr.  Conrad,  President  of 
Synod. 

This  is  a  beautiful  Gothic  church,  designed  and  furnished  along 
conservative  Lutheran  lines  throughout.  It  has  basement,  equipped  for 
educational  and  other  present  day  needs  of  a  modern  church  building. 
There  is  also  a  beautiful  chapel  which  lends  itself  to  the  needs  of  small 
gatherings.  This  church  fills  a  long-felt  need  for  this  congregation,  the 
college,  and  the  Synod. 

List  of  Pastors: 

A.  L.  Crouse,  1893  J.  D.  Mauney,  1911-1917 

R.  L.  Fritz,  1894-1895  J.  C.  Peery,  1917-1920 

R.  A.  Yoder,  1896-1901  R.  B.  Peery,  1920-1924 

W.  P.  Cline,  1901-1904  P.  J.  Bame,  1924-1927 

R.  A.  Yoder,  1905  J.  D.  Mauney,  1928-1941 

C.  L.  Miller,  1905-1911  F.  P.  Cauble,  1941-1953 


ST.  ANDREWS,  NEW  BERN 

St.  Andrews  Lutheran  Church  in  New  Bern  is  located  on  Neuse 
Boulevard  and  Chattawka  Lane. 

This  field  was  brought  to  Synod's  attention  at  the  1947  Con- 
vention. Subsequently,  it  was  surveyed  and  approved  by  the  Board 
of  American  Missions.  Rev.  R.  B.  Cuthbertson  was  called  here  April 
1,  1948,  and  in  December  of  that  year  the  lot,  325  x  200  feet,  facing  on 


286  History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

Neuse  Boulevard  was  secured  for  $9,250.00  on  a  fifty-fifty  basis  by  the 
mission  and  the  Synod.  The  Brotherhood  loaned  the  mission  $2,000.00 
on  its  half  of  the  purchase  price. 

The  church  was  organized  January  9,  1949,  with  64  members  by 
Pastor  Cuthbertson.  The  service  was  held  in  the  reception  room  of  a 
business  building.  Dr.  V.  R.  Cromer,  then  President  of  Synod,  preached 
in  the  morning,  and  Dr.  J.  L.  Morgan  in  the  afternoon. 

The  building  is  a  brick  structure  with  a  nave  for  preaching  services 
and  assembly  and  classrooms  for  educational  purposes.  The  contract 
price  was  $35,000.00.  The  Board  of  American  Missions  and  the  Synodi- 
cal  Brotherhood  each  loaned  money  for  the  building,  and  liberal  donations 
were  made  by  the  Synodical  Missionary  Society  and  other  agencies  to 
help  pay  off  these  loans. 

Groundbreaking  services  were  held  July  2,  1950,  by  Rev.  F.  L. 
Conrad,  D.D.,  now  President  of  Synod,  and  by  Pastor  Cuthbertson.  The 
church  was  opened  for  services  March  11,  1951.  Pastor  Cuthbertson 
conducted  the  office  of  blessing  for  the  organ  and  chancel  furniture. 
President  Conrad  brought  the  message  that  morning,  and  Dr.  J.  L. 
Morgan  in  the  afternoon. 

List  of  Pastors: 

R.  B.  Cuthbertson,  1948-1950  G.  L.  Freeze,  1951- 


ST.  DAVID'S,  KANNAPOLIS 

St.  David's  Lutheran  Church  is  located  in  Rowan  County  at  the 
corner  of  22nd  Street  and  Plaza  Drive  in  the  northern  part  of  Kan- 
napolis.     It  was  originally  known  as  Blackwelder  Park  church. 

This  congregation  was  started  by  Rev.  J.  D  .Sheppard,  while  he 
was  pastor  of  Bethany  Church  in  Kannapolis,  in  the  spring  of  1937.  A 
lot  was  purchased,  and  a  small  frame  chapel  was  built,  most  of  the 
work  done  by  the  pastor  and  members.  The  church  was  opened  for 
services  on  July  4,  1937,  at  which  time  a  Sunday  School  was  organized. 

Rev.  Leo  Smith  became  pastor  of  this  mission,  along  with  Re- 
deemer in  Jackson  Park,  on  June  10,  1937.  The  congregation  was 
regularly  organized  January  2,  1938  with  thirty-seven  members.  Rev. 
Smith  resigned  January  20,  1943  and  was  succeeded  by  Rev.  David  F. 
Cooper  on  March  1,  the  same  year.  During  his  ministry  the  congre- 
gation grew  to  where  a  larger  church  was  needed.  He  resigned  July 
1,  1947,  at  which  time  the  church  went  on  a  fulltime  basis.  Rev.  J.  A. 
Ritchie  was  called  November  1,  1947. 

A  new  lot  was  purchased  for  a  parsonage  and  church  at  a  cost 
of  $2,200.00  on  a  fifty-fifty  basis  by  the  congregation  and  Synod.     The 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  287 

parsonage  was  built  in  1947-1948  at  a  cost  of  $12,000.00  for  which  $5,- 
000.00  was  loaned  by  the  Brotherhood,  but  was  soon  repaid. 

The  contract  for  the  new  church  was  let  November  28,  1949  for 
$33,500.00.  Groundbreaking  services  were  held  December  4,  1949,  by 
President  Conrad  and  Pastor  Ritchie.  The  cornerstone  was  laid  April 
16,  1950  by  President  F.  L.  Conrad,  Pastor  J.  A.  Ritchie,  and  Dr.  J.  L. 
Morgan.  The  new  church  was  opened  for  services  June  11,  1950  by 
Pastor  Ritchie  and  President  F.  L.  Conrad. 

This  is  a  beautiful  colonial  type  building  of  brick  construction 
and  was  made  possible  by  the  aid  of  a  $15,000.00  loan  from  the  Brother- 
hood. 

In  1950  the  name  was  changed  from  that  of  Blackwelder  Park 
church  to  St.  David's  church. 

List  of  Pastors: 

J.  D.  Sheppard,  1937  J.  A.  Ritchie,  1947-1951 

W.  L.  Smith,  1937-1943  W.  G.  Cobb,  1951- 

D.  F.  Cooper,  1943-1947 


ST.  ENOCH  CHURCH.  ROWAN  COUNTY 

St.  Enoch  Church  is  located  in  the  village  of  Enochville,  two  miles 
west  from  Kannapolis,  in  Rowan  County.  This  church  was  organized 
by  Rev.  P.  A.  Strobel  in  August  1835,  in  Mr.  Philip  Overcash's  home. 
The  land  for  the  church  was  given  to  the  congregation  by  Mr.  Jacob 
Overcash. 

The  first  church  building  was  a  frame  structure,  30x40  feet, 
which  is  said  to  have  cost  $1500.00.  It  was  built  during  the  fall  of 
1835,  and  was  dedicated  on  September  8,  1839,  by  Pastor  P.  A.  Strobel, 
Rev.  Samuel  Rothrock,  and  Rev.  William  Artz. 

The  first  unit  of  the  present  brick  church  is  50x70  feet  in  di- 
mensions, with  a  balcony  over  the  front  end.  The  brick  for  this  building 
were  made  by  hand  locally,  by  members  of  the  congregation,  and  the 
heavy  timbers  were  hand  hewn.  The  building  was  completed  in  1873,  and 
was  dedicated,  free  of  all  debts,  on  September  20,  1874,  by  Rev.  A.  D.  L. 
Moser,  Rev.  P.  A.  Strobel,  Rev.  Samuel  Rothrock,  and  Rev.  W.  A.  Julian. 

In  1941  a  three  story  Educational  Building  was  added  to  the  back 
of  the  church,  under  Rev.  D.  F.  Swicegood's  pastoral  leadership,  which 
provides  much  needed  facilities  for  Sunday  School  and  other  organi- 
zational activities.  A  tower,  with  electrically  lighted  spire,  was  also 
built  about  the  same  time.  In  1952  a  vestibule,  corresponding  to  the 
architecture  of  the  old  building,  was  added  to  the  front  of  the  church. 


288 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 


Also,    tower    chimes    have    been    installed    as    a    part    of    the    church 
equipment. 

The  old  parsonage,  which  was  constructed  jointly  by  St.  Enoch 
and  Trinity  congregations  many  years  ago,  was  sold  and  moved  away 
to  make  room  for  a  new  brick  parsonage  in  1939. 

St.  Enoch  Church  was  interested  in  the  education  of  her  young 
people,  and  lent  encouragement  to  the  establishment  of  one  of  the 
first  High  Schools  in  the  county — Enochville  High  School — conducted  by 
members  of  her  own  congregation,  among  whom  we  mention  Prof. 
R.  G.  Kizer,  Prof.  F.  B.  Brown,  and  Prof.  P.  E.  Wright.  This  was  the  home 
church  of  the  Deaton  brothers,  also  of  Jethro  Yost,  J.  L.  Smith  and  J.  E. 
Smith,  all  Lutheran  ministers. 


List  of  Pastors: 


P.  A.   Strobel,   1835-1841 
W.  G.  Harter,  1841-1849 
J.   H.   Coffman,   1849-1850 
B.  N.  Hopkins,  1850-1852 
J.  S.  Heililg,  1852-1866 
J.  W.  Barrier,  1866-1867 
A.  D.  L.  Moser,  1868-1873 
W.  A.  Julian,  1874-1879 
W.  A.  Lutz,  1880-1891 
V.   R.   Stickley,   1892-1903 


J.  L.  Morgan,  1903-1907 

C.  M.  Fox,  1908 

G.  H.  Cox,  1908-1911 
O.  B.  Shearouse,  1912-1917 
B.  S.  Dasher,  1918-1924 
L.  P.  Boland,  1924-1931 
G.   L.   Barger,   1932-1937 

D.  F.  Swicegood,  1938-1945 
G.  B.  Goodman,  1945- 


ST.  JAMES  LUTHERAN  CHURCH,  CONCORD 


St.  James  Lutheran  Church  in  Concord  is  located  on  the  corner 
of  Union  and  Corbin  Streets.  The  first  location,  however,  was  on  what 
was  then  known  as  Fayetteville  (now  Corbin)  Street,  leading  out 
towards  Mt.  Pleasant. 

This  church  was  organized  on  Sunday,  June  4,  1843  with  "about 
sixty  members",  by  Rev,  W.  G.  Harter,  who  was  then  pastor  of  Cold 
Water  Lutheran  Church,  from  which  most  of  the  members  came. 

On  January  23,  1845,  a  lot  was  purcased  on  Corbin  Street,  on 
which  their  first  church  was  built.  A  log  school  house  was  also 
built  there  about  the  same  time,  which  for  awhile  was  used  as  a 
place  of  worship,  until  the  church  was  ready.  The  church  was  a  frame 
structure,  almost  square,  with  two  entrance  doors — one  for  the  men  and 
the  other  for  the  women.  In  1874  a  bell  was  placed  in  the  tower,  and  an 
organ  was  purchased  for  the  church  that  same  year. 

The  North  Carolina  Synod  held  its  annual  meeting  in  this  church 
in    1844.     Then,    May   20-26,    1863,    this   congregation   was   host   to   the 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  289 

first  regular  convention  of  the  General  Synod  of  the  Lutheran  Church 
in  the  Confederate  States  of  America.  This  General  Synod  was  organized 
in  St.  John's  Lutheran  Church,  in  Salisbury,  N.  C,  May  17,  1862,  (due 
to  war  conditions),  with  representatives  from  the  Synods  of  Virginia, 
Western  Virginia,  North  Carolina,  South  Carolina,  and  Georgia.  In 
1886,  the  Women's  Synodical  Missionary  Society  was  organized  in  St. 
James  church. 

By  the  year  1880,  the  congregation  had  grown  to  where  it  felt 
the  need  of  a  larger  house  of  worship,  so  a  committee,  composed  of 
A.  J.  Blackwelder,  D.  R.  Hoover,  and  W.  H.  Bloome,  was  appointed  to 
secure  a  new  location  for  the  church.  The  corner  lot,  on  Corbin  and 
Union  Streets,  where  the  present  church  stands,  was  purchased  for 
$900.00.     This  was  on   October  27,   1880. 

Under  the  pastoral  leadership  of  Rev.  S.  T.  Hallman,  a  new  brick 
church  was  constructed.  This  building  was  provided  with  a  ground 
floor  under  a  part  of  the  structure,  for  Sunday  School  purposes.  The 
spire  was  115  feet  high,  in  which  a  bell  was  installed.  This  church 
was  dedicated  May  10,  1891,  by  Dr.  S.  T.  Hallman,  Rev.  J.  M.  Hedrick, 
Rev.  C.  A.  Rose,  and  their  pastor.  Rev.  W.  G.  Campbell. 

St.  James  Church  and  her  pastors  have  sponsored  the  organiza- 
tion of  three  other  congregations  in  or  near  Concord — Mt.  Hermon  in  1881, 
St.  Andrews  in  1893,  and  Calvary  in  1913. 

A  house  and  lot,  just  back  of  the  church,  facing  Corbin  Street,  was 
purchased  by  the  congregation  for  a  parsonage,  which  served  their  needs 
until  1927,  when  it  was  removed  to  give  room  for  their  church  expan- 
sion program. 

Under  the  pastoral  leadership  of  Rev.  L.  A.  Thomas,  D.D.,  a  new 
stone  church  was  begun  in  1927.  The  cornerstone  of  this  church  was 
laid  October  9,  1927,  by  Pastor  Thomas,  Dr.  H.  B.  Schaeffer,  and  Presi- 
dent J.  L.  Morgan.  This  is  a  beautiful  church,  with  full  ground  story, 
and  an  educational  plant  annexed  at  the  back  end  of  the  main  build- 
ing.    It  represents  an  outlay  of  around  $210,000.00. 

The  completed  building  was  first  opened  for  divine  services  on 
September  2,  1928.  Due  to  a  financial  depression  which  extended 
over  the  entire  country,  deferred  payments  on  the  building  had  to  be 
carried  for  a  number  of  years,  but  by  1942  the  church  was  freed  of  all 
indebtedness,  and  was  solemnly  dedicated  as  a  house  of  God,  on  Sun- 
day, June  13,  1943,  by  the  President  of  Synod,  assisted  by  Rev.  S.  W. 
Hahn,  D.D.,  who  was  then  pastor  of  the  congregation.  Dr.  L.  A.  Thomas, 
and  Dr.  P.  E.  Monroe. 

Meanwhile,  Mr.  A.  L.  Brown,  a  member  of  the  congregation,  made 
it  possible  to  install  a  new  pipe  organ,  and  the  Hendrix  family  paid 
for  a  set  of  chimes  for  the  church. 

In  1942  a  house  and  lot  on  Grove  Street  was  purchased  by  the 
congregation  and  fitted  up  for  a  parsonage.    This  church   enjoys  the 


290  History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

cooperative  support  of  a  large  number  of  capable  leaders,  in  both  the 
local  as  well  as  the  general  causes  of  the  Church. 

List  of  Pastors: 

W.  G.  Harter,  1843-1854  C.  B.  Miller,  1896-1902 

D.  I.  Dreher,  1854-1869  W.  H.  Hiller,  1902-1904 

W.  H.  Cone,  Sup.,  1869-1872  J.  E.  Schenk,  1905-1910 

C.  H.  Bernheim,  1872-1873  C.  P.  MacLaughlin,  1910-1916 

W.  W.  Bowers,  1873  M.  L.  Stirewalt,  1916-1922 

.  J.  H.  Harry,  1874-1875  L.  A.  Thomas,  1922-1930 
L.  A.  Bikle,  1876-1877                            .  P.  E.  Monroe,  1930-1934 

S.  T.  Hallman,  1880-1885  V.  R.  Cromer,  1936-1941 

G.  F.  Schaeffer,  1885-1886  S.  W.  Hahn,  1942-1950 

W.  G.  Campbell,  1886-1893  G.  R.  Whittecar,  1951- 
M.  G.  G.  Scherer,  1893-1896 


ST.  JAMES,  FAYETTEVILLE 

St.  James  Lutheran  Church  in  Fayetteville  is  located  on  the  cor- 
ner of  Morganton  Road  and  Dobbin  Avenue. 

This  field  was  surveyed  and  developed  by  Rev.  Roscoe  B.  Fisher, 
under  the  direction  of  the  Mission  Committee  of  Synod.  For  the  first 
several  months  the  financial  support  of  the  work  was  carried  by  the 
North  Carolina  Synod,  with  some  help  by  the  Board  of  American 
Missions. 

The  first  service  was  held  in  the  Y.M.C.A.  rooms  October  20, 
1935,  by  Pastor  Fisher  with  twenty-two  in  attendance.  The  church  was 
organized  on  June  28,  1936,  in  the  Y.M.C.A.  rooms  with  forty-seven 
members  by  Rev.  R.  B.  Fisher.  The  sermon  for  the  occasion  was  preached 
by  Dr.  J.  L.  Morgan,  the  President  of  Synod.  The  choir  of  St.  Paul's 
Church  in  Wilmington  assisted  in  the  music. 

On  September  16,  1936,  a  lot  100x200  feet  on  Morgan  Road  was 
purchased  for  $2,800.00,  same  to  be  paid  on  a  fifty-fifty  basis  by  the 
mission  and  the  Synod.  Funds  for  the  church  building  were  provided 
jointly  by  the  mission,  the  Synod,  the  Missionary  Society,  the  Brother- 
hood,  and  the  Luther  League,  amounting  to  about  $16,000. 

Groundbreaking  services  were  conducted  January  10,  1938  by 
Pastor  Fisher,  Rev.  G.  H.  Rhodes,  D.D.,  and  the  President  of  Synod. 
The  completed  church  was  formally  opened  on  Easter  Sunday,  April 
17,  1938,  in  charge  of  Pastor  Fisher.  The  sermon  was  by  the  President 
of  Synod.  A  new  Hammond  organ  was  installed  and  in  use  for  the 
opening  services. 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  291 

Pastor  Fisher  resigned  September  30,  1938,  and  was  succeeded  by 
Rev.  C.  L.  Miller,  D.D.,  as  supply  for  one  year.  Rev.  George  W.  Lingle 
became  pastor  June  1,  1939. 

In  November  1940,  the  congregation  purchased  the  house  and  lot 
just  back  of  the  church  lot  on  Dobbin  Avenue  for  $4,000.00  for  a 
parsonage. 

The  church  was  dedicated,  free  of  debt,  on  Palm  Sunday,  April 
IS,  1943,  by  the  President  of  Synod,  assisted  by  Pastor  Lingle,  and  two 
former  pastors — Rev.  R.  B.  Fisher  and  Dr.  C.  L.  Miller.  (Rev.  Lingle 
resigned  March  13,  1945,  and  on  May  12  Rev.  J.  D.  Mauney  took  charge 
of  the  work.) 

This  congregation  gave  helpful  service  in  looking  after  service- 
men during  World  War  II,  and  after  the  Service  Center  was  closed  in 
Fayetteville  in  1946,  the  congregation  constructed  a  Recreational  Build- 
ing to  be  used  by  soldiers  at  Fort  Bragg  and  for  the  social  needs  of 
the  church.  The  building  cost  $7,500.00.  In  1950  a  Lutheran  Parish 
Center  was  opened  here. 

List  of  Pastors: 

R.  B.  Fisher,  1935-1938  G.  W.  Lingle,  1939-1945 

C.  L.  Miller,  Sup.,  1938-1939  .  J.  D.  Mauney,  Jr.,  1945- 


ST.  JAMES,  NEWTON 

St.  James  Lutheran  Church  is  located  in  Catawba  County,  about 
two  miles  east  of  Newton. 

It  appears  that  this  congregation  was  first  started  in  what  was 
known  as  the  old  Haas  Church,  a  log  building,  which  stood  one  mile 
South  of  the  present  St.  James  Church. 

We  are  reliably  informed  that  in  the  year  1834  a  deed  was 
issued  from  Lincoln  County  in  the  name  of  David  Haas  and  George 
A.  Ikard  for  land  for  this  church. 

The  church  here  was  to  be  available  for  use  by  different  denomi- 
nations, so  both  Lutheran  and  Reformed  groups  worshiped  here  until 
1852,  when  the  Reformed  members  withdrew  and  built  a  church  of 
their  own  in  the  town  of  Newton.  The  Lutherans  continued  to  wor- 
ship at  the  old  place  until  after  the  close  of  the  Civil  War.  The  old 
log  building  has  now  given  way,  leaving  only  the  graveyard  to  mark 
the  place. 

The  change  from  the  old  location  to  the  present  one  occurred 
about  1867.  The  old  Communion  Record  Book  shows  that  a  communion 
service  was  held  in  the  Haas  Church  September  23,  1866,  and  that 
another  such  service  was  held  May  23,  1867,  at  St.  James  Church.  The 
names  of  the  communicants  were  practically  the  same  in  each  service. 

It  is  known  that  when  the  public  school  opened  at  the  St.  James 


292         History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

locality  in  the  fall  of  1867,  the  new  church  was  under  construction. 
The  land  on  which  this  church  was  built  was  deeded  to  the  church 
by  M.  M.  Hewitt. 

Rev.  Polycarp  Henkel  was  the  pastor  here  during  the  time  of 
relocation  and  construction  of  the  first  frame  church. 

The  present  concrete  block  building  was  put  up  while  Rev.  J. 
Allen  Arndt  was  pastor,  and  it  was  dedicated  on  May  8,  1910  by  Pastor 
W.  D.  Wise  and  Rev.  W.  J.  Boger,  D.D.,  then  President  of  the  Tennessee 
Synod.    This  is  a  splendid  building  and  churchly  in  its  arrangement. 

A  new  Educational  Building,  two  stories  and  a  basement  with 
classrooms,  was  constructed  in  1929,  under  the  pastoral  leadership 
of  Dr.  W.  J.  Boger. 

A  new  brick  parsonage  was  built  in  1948,  soon  after  the  present 
pastor,  Rev.  Garth  Lee  Hill,  became  pastor. 

List  of  Pastors: 

H.  Goodman,  1851  W.  D.  Wise,  Asst.,  1908-1909 

P.  C.  Henkel,  1851-1869  W.  D.  Wise,  1909-1912 

J.  M.  Smith,  1870-1879  C.  L  Morgan,  1913-1917 

R.  A.  Yoder,  1879-1896  W.  J.  Boger,  1918-1936 

J.  L.  Cromer,  1896-1900  Leo  Smith,  1936 

R.  A.  Yoder,  1901-1905  E.  R.  Lineberger,  1936-1947 

J.  A.  Arndt,  1906-1909  Garth  Lee  Hill,  1948- 


ST.  JAMES,  ROCKWELL 

St.  James  Lutheran  Church  is  located  in  Rockwell  in  Rowan 
County,  N.  C. 

This  church  was  organized  on  April  21,  1907,  with  50  members 
by  Rev.  J.  A.  Linn.  A  lot  was  soon  secured  on  the  main  highway  in 
the  southern  part  of  the  town,  near  the  bend  of  the  road.  A  neat  frame 
church  was  built,  and  on  March  18,  1908,  was  dedicated.  St.  James 
and  Emmanuel  Church,  together,  built  a  parsonage  in  1919,  which 
was  first  occupied  by  Rev.  C.  R.  Pless  and  family. 

Soon  after  Rev.  C.  P.  Fisher,  D.D.,  became  pastor,  January  1, 
1926,  a  lot  for  a  new  church  was  purchased  on  the  corner  of  the  main 
highway  and  the  road  to  China  Grove.  The  first  brick  for  the  new 
church  was  laid  July  6,  1926,  and  on  March  6,  1927  the  congregation 
began  holding  services  in  the  basement  of  the  new  church.  The  cor- 
nerstone was  laid  May  20,  1928,  by  Pastor  C.  P.  Fisher  and  President 
J.  L.  Morgan.  The  main  church  was  opened  for  divine  services  on  May 
19,  1929.  During  Rev.  J.  D.  Sheppard's  pastorate,  the  balance  of  the 
church  debt  was  paid  off,  and  the  church  dedicated  on  May  5,  1935, 
by  Pastor  Sheppard,  Rev.  C.  P.  Fisher,  D.D.,  and  Dr.  Morgan. 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 


293 


A  new  brick  parsonage,  by  the  south  side  of  the  church,  was 
built  at  a  cost  of  $14,000.00  while  Rev.  E.  L.  Misenheimer  was  in 
charge   of  the  work   in   1948. 

The  congregation  became  self-supporting  in  March  1949,  with 
Rev.  C.  P.  Fisher,  Jr.,  as  pastor. 

On  July  17,  1949,  the  new  parsonage  was  dedicated  by  Pastor 
Fisher  and  the  President  of  Synod.    Also  a  new  organ  was  installed. 


List  of  Pastors: 


J.  A.  Linn,  1907-1911 
R.  R.  Sowers,  1911-1913 
N.  D.  Bodie,  1914-1918 
C.  R.  Pless,  1919-1922 
E.  F.  K.  Roof,  1922-1925 


C.  P.  Fisher,  Sr.,  1926-1930 
J.  D.  Sheppard,  1930-1935 
J.  E.  Walker,  1935-1942 
E.  L,  Misenheimer,  1943-1949 
C.  P.  Fisher,  Jr.,  1949- 


ST.  JOHN'S,  ALEXANDER  CO. 

St.  John's  Lutheran  Church  is  located  in  Alexander  County,  about 
four  miles  southwest  of  Taylorsville. 

It  was  organized  September  12,  1915,  in  a  school  house  in  that 
community  by  Rev.  J.  A.  Yount.  Most  of  the  members  of  this  organi- 
zation came  from  Friendship  Church  about  four  miles  west  of  St. 
John's. 

The  church  building  is  a  frame  structure,  erected  in  1916,  under 
the  pastoral  supervision  of  Pastor  Yount. 

This  church  was  in  a  parish  with  Friendship  and  Shiloh  until 
1946,  when  the  parish  was  re- arranged  so  that  St.  John's  is  left  alone. 
Rev.  D.  P.  Rudisill,  Ph.D.,  at  Lenoir  Rhyne  College  is  supplying  the 
congregation. 

List  of  Pastors: 


J.  A.  Yount,  1915-1918 
J.  P.  Price,  Supply,  1919 
J.  A.  Yount,  1920-1924 
M.  L.  Pence,  1924-1926 
E.  J.  Sox,  Supply, 

1926-1927 
C.  E.  Lutz,  1927-1931 


E.  J.  Sox,  Supply,  1931 
L.  P.  Boland,  1932-1940 

C.  W.  Harbinson,  1940-1943 
Albert   Keiser, 

Supply,   1943-1944 
H.  B.  Leonard,  1944-1946 

D.  P.  Rudisill,  Supply,  1946- 


ST.  JOHN'S,  ASHEBORO 

St.  John's  Church  is   located  on  South  Park   Street  in  Asheboro, 
Randolph  County,  N.  C, 

In  April  1938  some  of  the  pastors  of  the  Eastern  Conference  made 
a  survey  of  Asheboro  to  ascertain  the  needs  for  a  Lutheran  Church  in 


294         History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

that  place.  The  findings  were  encouraging,  and  Rev.  Carl  H.  Fisher, 
then  in  charge  of  the  Liberty  parish,  was  asked  to  look  after  the 
field  until  definite  arrangements  could  be  made. 

The  mission  was  taken  up  by  the  Mission  Committee  of  Synod, 
and  on  September  1,  1938,  Rev.  Roscoe  B.  Fisher  was  placed  in  charge 
of  the  work.  The  first  service  held  here  was  on  October  30,  1938,  in 
the  Park  Street  School  Building.  From  that  time  on,  services  were 
held  at  different  places — school  buildings,  the  Carolina  Theater,  the 
Presbyterian  Church,  and  the  agricultural  Building,  respectively. 

This  field  was  surveyed  and  approved  by  the  proper  agencies  of 
the  Board  of  American  Missions. 

A  lot  138x200  feet  was  purchased  on  South  Park  Street  for 
$3,400.00,  same  to  be  paid  for  on  a  fifty-fifty  basis  by  the  mission 
and  the  Synod.  The  church  building  was  financed  jointly  by  the  mis- 
sion, the  Synod,  the  Missionary  Society,  the  Brotherhood,  and  the 
Luther  League.  The  building  was  started  early  in  the  year  1940  and 
was  completed  and  opened  for  services  on  October  27,  1940.  The  services 
were  in  charge  of  Pastor  Roscoe  B.  Fisher,  assisted  by  the  officers  of 
Synod.     The  total  cost  was  $19,500.00. 

The  parsonage,  just  back  of  the  church,  was  also  built  under  Rev. 
Fisher's  direction  at  a  cost  of  $6,690.00  in  1942. 

On  September  15,  1942,  Rev.  W.  N.  Yount  became  pastor  here 
and  led  the  congregation  to  paying  off  the  church  debt.  The  church 
was  dedicated,  free  of  debt,  June  24,  1945,  by  President  J.  L.  Morgan, 
Pastor  W.  N.  Yount,  and  Rev.  Roscoe  B.  Fisher,  with  greetings  by  other 
visiting  brethren.  At  the  same  meeting  the  new  pipe  organ  was 
dedicated  by  Pastor  Yount,  which  had  been  purchased  in  1944  at  a 
cost  of  $2,000.00. 

Pastor  Yount  resigned  May  31,  1951,  and  on  July  1,  1951,  Rev. 
C.  E.  Bernhardt  became  pastor.  Since  Rev.  Bernhardt  became  pastor, 
the  church  has  been  redecorated,  and  the  parsonage  dedicated  free 
of  debt. 

List  of  Pastors: 

R.  B.  Fisher,  1938-1942  W.  N.  Yount,  1942-1951 

C.  E.  Bernhardt,  1951- 


ST.  JOHN'S.  CABARRUS  CO. 

St.  John's  Church  is  located  in  Cabarrus  County,  six  miles  east 
of  Concord  on  the  highway  leading  to  Mt.  Pleasant. 

It  is  not  definitely  known  when  this  church  was  first  organized, 
but  it  is  known  to  be  one  of  the  oldest  Lutheran  churches  in  North 
Carolina.  The  congregation  itself  gives  1745  as  the  year  of  its 
organized  beginning,  as  noted  in  the  Minutes  of  Synod. 

When  first  organized,  this  church  owned  its  church  property 
jointly  with  a  German  Reformed  congregation.     Judging  from  the  writ- 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 


295 


St.  John's,  Cabarrus  County 


ings  of  different  historians,  these  two  denominations  were  sufficiently 
numerous  at  that  time  to  form  a  fairly  large  congregation. 

Their  first  place  of  worship  was  about  two  miles  north  of  Mt. 
Pleasant,  not  far  from  Buffalo  Creek.  Hence,  the  organization  was 
called  the  Dutch  Buffalo  Creek  Church.  The  building  was  of  unhewn 
pine  logs,  with  no  windows,  floor,  or  chimney. 

On  Thanksgiving  Day  1894,  a  stone  monument  was  unveiled  at 
that  place  to  mark  the  original  location.  The  stone  was  provided  by 
St.  John's  Church,  and  their  pastor.  Rev.  J.  Q.  Wertz,  and  Rev.  G.  H, 
Cox,  D.D.,  were  in  charge  of  the  services. 

The  second  church  was  located  three  miles  west  from  the  first 
place,  on  land  now  owned  by  Harry  Cline,  half  a  mile  east  of  the  present 
church.  This  building  was  also  of  logs,  not  much  better  than  the  first 
one.  We  have  no  record  of  the  dates  for  this  building.  The  old  grave- 
yard marks  the  location,  called  the  "Church  Piece." 

In  1771,  the  Lutherans  decided  to  build  a  church  of  their  own. 
A  location  was  selected  where  the  cemetery  is  now,  a  third  log  house 


296  History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

was  built  thereon.  It  was  larger  and  better  than  the  other  two. 
This  building  was  constructed  under  the  supervision  and  largely 
at  the  expense  of  one  member  of  the  congregation — Captain  John  Paul 
Barringer.  Out  of  appreciation  for  his  generosity  the  congregation  had 
a  special  pew  made  for  him  and  his  family.  The  builder  of  the  church 
was  Daniel  Jarrett. 

At  this  time  the  name  was  changed  from  Dutch  Buffalo  Creek 
'^Jhurch,  to  St.  John's  Lutheran  Church. 

The  next  major  aim  of  the  congregation  was  to  secure  a  pastor. 
Efforts  had  been  made  to  get  a  pastor  from  Pennsylvania,  but  none  was 
to  be  had.  So,  St.  John's  Church  cooperated  with  other  Lutheran  con- 
gregations in  securing  a  commission  from  Governor  Tryon  for  selected 
men  to  go  to  Germany  in  quest  of  a  minister  and  a  teacher.  The  com- 
mission was  issued  July  19,  1771,  authorizing  Christopher  Lyerly  and 
Christopher  Rendleman  to  visit  the  old  country  with  the  hope  of  find- 
ing a  minister  and  a  school  teacher,  and  at  the  same  time  find  financial 
help  for  their  church  work. 

The  two  commissioners  left  home  in  1772,  by  horseback  to  Char- 
leston, S.  C,  whence  they  sailed  to  London,  and  from  there  to  Hanover, 
Germany,  where  they  secured  the  services  of  Rev.  Adolph  Nussman  as 
minister,  and  Prof.  John  Gottfried  Arends  as  teacher.  The  return  trip 
was  made  in  1773.  Some  writers  think  that  Pastor  Nussman  made  the 
village  of  Salisbury  his  first  home  for  a  short  while  upon  landing  here, 
but  soon  moved  to  the  Organ  Church  commmunity.  Letting  that  be 
as  it  may,  he  moved  to  St.  John's  Church,  in  Cabarrus  County  (formerly 
Mecklenburg)  during  the  latter  part  of  1774  or  early  in  1775,  where  he 
lived  until  his  death  in  1794.  Prof.  Arends  settled  at  Organ  Church 
and  took  charge  of  the  church  schools,  until  1775,  at  which  time  he  was 
ordained  to  the  gospel  ministry,  and  became  pastor  of  Organ  Church 
for  ten  years. 

About  this  time  Jacob  Fegert,  Marx  House,  and  Jacob  Thieme 
entered  100  acres  of  government  land  in  trust  for  the  church,  under 
date  of  October  22,  1782.  This  is  the  land  on  which  they  had  already 
built  their  church,  in  1771,  and  on  which  their  present  church  stands. 
Pastor  Nussmann  wrote  a  Constitution  for  St.  John's  Church  about  this 
time,  which  the  church  adopted,  that  became  a  guide  in  both  doctrine 
and  practice  for  Lutheranism   in  those  trying  days. 

In  1784  pledges  were  received  for  funds  for  a  new  church.  This 
was  their  fourth  building,  and  was  a  frame  structure,  built  on  the  same 
ground  where  the  previous  one  stood,  but  much  larger. 

Captain  Barringer  showed  deep  interest  in  this  building,  just 
as  he  had  in  the  other  one,  and  we  are  told  that  the  special  pew  made 
for  him  and  his  family  was  placed  in  the  new  church  as  a  mark  of 
continued  appreciation  for  him  by  the  congregation.  This  church  was 
dedicated  July  4,  1785  by  Pastor  Nussman. 

The  present  brick  building  is  the  fifth  house  of  worship  for  this 
congregation.    It  was   built  in  1845,   and  may  have  been  intended  to 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 


297 


mark  their  first  centennial  year.  The  building  originally  was  55x80 
feet  in  dimensions,  with  a  gallery,  and  the  doors  in  the  sides  of  the 
building.     It  was  dedicated  August  22,  1846. 

In  1888  this  building  was  rearranged,  so  as  to  have  the  main 
entrance  door  at  the  west  end,  and  the  gallery  was  removed.  It  was 
rededicated  February  10,  1889,  by  Pastor  S.  L.  Keller. 

St.  John's  Church,  like  all  of  the  older  churches,  took  deep 
interest  in  schools  for  their  children.  Sixteen  young  men  from  that 
congregation  entered  the  Gospel  ministry:  They  are:  J.  W.  Barrier, 
Paul  Barringer,  D.  M.  Blackwelder,  V.  C.  Ridenhour,  E.  L.  Ritchie,  M.  L. 
Ridenhour,  G.  O.  Ritchie,  C.  P.  Fisher,  B.  E.  Petrea,  H.  S.  Petrea,  J.  B. 
Moose,  C.  E.  Ridenhour,  B.  A.  Barringer,  J.  E.  Walker,  J.  D.  Barringer, 
and  L.  David  Miller, 

A  three  story  brick  Educational  Building  was  added  to  the  old 
church  in  1937,  under  the  pastoral  leadership  of  Dr.  L.  D.  Miller.  Then 
in  1947,  while  Rev.  H.  W.  Cauble  was  pastor  here,  the  nave  of  the 
church  was  completely  rebuilt,  and  new  furniture  installed. 

A  granite  monument  was  placed  on  the  church  grounds  by  the 
congregation  in  memory  of  Rev.  Adolph  Nussman,  their  first  pastor, 
which  was  unveiled  November  10,  1935,  by  their  pastor.  Rev.  L.  D. 
Miller,  assisted  by  other  ministers  and  laymen. 

The  Two  Hundredth  Anniversary  of  the  organization  was  observed 
August  5,  1945  including  the  previous  week. 

Upon  calling  their  present  pastor.  Rev.  C.  Lee  Shipton,  the  con- 
gregation replaced  the  old  frame  parsonage  with  a  new  and  modern 
brick  home. 

St.  John's  Church  has  a  glorious  history,  but  space  forbids  us  to 
include  it  all  here. 

List  of  Pastors  : 


Adolph  Nussman,  1774-1794 
C.  A.  G.  Storch,  1796-1797 
Adam  N.  Marcard,  1797-1800 

C.  A.  G.  Storch,  1800-1821 
Daniel  Scherer,  1821-1831 
Henry  Graeber,  1832-1843 
John  D.  Scheck,  1844-1857 
G.  D.  Bernheim,  1858-1860 
J.  B.  Anthony,  1860-1867 
L.  C.  Groseclose,  1867-1872 

D.  M.  Henkel,  1872-1875 
R.  W.  Petrea,  1876-1887 
S.  L.  Keller,  1887-1890 
Peter  Miller,  1890-1893 


J.  Q.  Wertz,  1894-1896 

S.  D.  Steffey,  1896-1901 

H.  N.  Miller,  Supply,  1902 

T.  C.  Parker,  1904 

W.  H.  Hiller,  1905-1906 

V.  Y.  Boozer,  1908-1909 

J.  J.  Long,  1910 

C.  R.  Pless,  1912-1915 

G.  H.  Cox,  1916-1920 

R.  T.  Troutman,  1921-1923 

L.  D.  Miller,  1924-1944 

H.  W.  Cauble,  1944-1949 

C.  Lee  Shipton,  1949- 


298         History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 
st.  john's,  caldwell  co. 

St.  John's  Lutheran  Church  is  located  in  Caldwell  County,  six 
miles  east  of  Lenoir,  on  the  Taylorsville  highway. 

This  church  was  developed  in  connection  with  the  District  Synod 
of  Ohio.  Their  house  of  worship  was  built  in  1889.  It  is  a  small  frame 
building,  but  it  is  churchly. 

In  1925  the  congregation  applied  for  admission  into  The  United 
Lutheran  Synod  of  North  Carolina  and  was  so  received.  Rev.  P.  D. 
Risinger,  then  pastor  of  St.  Stephen's  Church  in  Lenoir,  gave  them 
pastoral  service.    This  arrangement  continues  to  this  time. 

List  of  Pastors  : 

P.  D.  Risinger,  1924-1928  R.  B.  Fisher,  1944-1952 

,  L.  S.  Miller,  1928-1943  C.  S.  King,  1952 


ST.  JOHN'S  CHURCH,  CATAWBA 

St.  John's  Lutheran  Church  is  located  in  Catawba  County,  about 
two  miles  northeast  of  Conover.  This  church  dates  back  to  the  time 
when  Rev.  J.  Gottfried  Arends  had  charge  of  all  the  Lutheran  churches 
west  of  the  Catawba  River.  If  Pastor  Arends  did  not  organize  the 
congregation,  he  certainly  fathered  it,  and  is  regarded  as  its  first  pastor. 

The  deed  to  the  land  for  the  church  is  dated  November  28, 
1798,  and  was  given  by  Henry  Bobe  (Pope),  "to  the  elders  of  the  United 
Congregation  and  their  successors  in  office  for  ever  in  trust  for  said 
congregation."  It  would  appear  that  there  was  an  organized  congre- 
gation here  for  some  time  prior  to  the  purchase  of  the  church  land, 
because  there  were  church  officers  at  that  time. 

From  the  beginning  it  was  a  union  church,  whereby  the  church 
property  was  owned  jointly  by  Lutherans  and  German  Reformed,  and 
possibly  by  others  for  awhile.  The  larger  number  of  the  members  who 
started  this  congregation  originally  belonged  to  St.  Paul's  Church,  west 
of  Newton,  but  who  lived  near  the  Catawba  River,  and  felt  the  need 
of  a  church  nearer  their  homes. 

The  History  of  the  Reformed  Church  in  North  Carolina,  states 
that  the  first  house  of  worship  was  built  in  1812.  Where  they  held 
services  from  the  time  they  organized  in  1798  until  this  time,  we  do 
not  know.  Their  first  building  was  of  logs,  and  had  a  gallery  for 
colored  people.  This  building  was  replaced  in  1883  with  a  large  brick 
building. 

About  the  middle  of  last  century  a  split  occurred  in  this  con- 
gregation, when  some  of  the  members  went  off  to  the  Joint  Synod  of 
Ohio;   however,  the  larger  number  remained  in  the  Tennessee  Synod. 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  299 

St.  John's  Church  was  organized  before  there  was  any  Synod  to  belong 
to;  but  when  the  North  Carolina  Synod  was  organized  in  1803,  this 
congregation  became  a  member  of  it,  and  it  is  believed  helped  to 
effect  its  organization.  When  the  Tennessee  Synod  was  organized  in 
1820,  St.  John's  declined  to  affiliate  with  either  body  for  four  years. 
Then  in  1824  it  united  with  the  Tennessee  Synod,  where  it  remained  until 
1897,  when  it  united  with  the  Missouri  Synod.  The  property  interests 
formerly  held  by  minority  groups  have  more  recently  been  purchased 
by  the  Missouri  Synod   congregation. 

In  1949,  the  old  brick  church  was  remodeled  and  enlarged,  but 
soon  after  it  was  completed,  it  was  destroyed  by  fire.  But,  without 
delay,  the  congregation  erected  a  new  and  better  church  than  the 
one  that  burned. 

Although  not  now  a  member  of  the  North  Carolina  Synod,  St.  John's 
has  occupied  an  important  place  in  the  life  of  this  Synod,  and  is  there- 
fore given  this  place  in  her  history.  Pastors  of  both  the  North  Caro- 
lina and  the  Tennessee  Synods  who  served  this  congregation,  prior  to 
its  connection  with  the  Missouri  Synod  are  as  follows: 

List  of  Pastors  : 

J.  G.  Arends  P.  C.  Henkel  Daniel  Moser 

Paul  Henkel  J.  M.  Smith  Adam  Miller,  Jr. 

Philip  Henkel  J.  C.  Moser  C.  H.  Bernheim 


ST.  JOHN'S,  CHERRYVILLE 

St.  John's  Church  is  located  on  West  Church  Street  in  Cherryville, 
Gaston  County.  Services,  looking  forward  to  an  organization,  were  first 
held  in  an  old  granary.  The  church  was  organized  in  1881.  One  of 
the  charter  members  was  still  living  in  March  1952 — Mrs.  Alice  Beam 
Craft.  The  church  lot  on  South  Church  Street  was  given  to  the  congre- 
gation by  Mr.  Henry  Summitt.  The  first  church  was  a  small  frame 
building,  on  the  same  lot  where  the  present  church  stands.  Mr.  Sum- 
mitt also  gave  the  old  cemetery  property,  which  for  a  while  was  used 
as  a  community  burying  ground. 

The  present  brick  church  was  built  in  the  year  1902,  while  Rev. 
R.  H.  Cline  was  pastor.  It  is  a  splendid  building,  but  needed  better 
Sunday  School  facilities.  So  classrooms  were  added  while  Rev.  B. 
D.  Wessinger,  D.D.,  was  pastor.  The  present  brick  parsonage  was 
also  built  while  Pastor  Wessinger  was  pastor  in  the  year  1921. 

A  second  addition  to  the  church,  for  Sunday  School  purposes 
was  built  in  1936  under  Rev.  W.  G.  Cobb's  pastoral  supervision,  and 
was  dedicated  in  1938  by  Pastor  Cobb  and  the  President  of  Synod. 
In  a  few  years  the  Sunday  School  was  again  calling  for  more  room, 
so  in  1949,  another  addition  was  built.  Like  the  previous  one,  this 
addition  is  two  stories  high  with  classrooms,  and  is  connected  to  the 


300         History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

main  building.    This  building  was  dedicated   May  27,  1951  by  Pastor 
Cobb  with  the  sermon  by  President  F.  L.  Conrad. 

This  congregation  has  contributed  liberally  to  the  cause  of  Chris- 
tion  higher  education  and  to  our  Synodical  home  missions.  Some  of  its 
members  took  a  leading  part  in  starting  a  Lutheran  Church  in  Chapel 
Hill. 

List  of  Pastors: 

M.  L.  Little,  1881-1891  J.  C.  Dietz,  1909-1912 

L.  L.  Lohr,  1892-1893  B.  D.  Wessinger,  1913-1924 

John  J.   George,  1893-1899  C.  A.  Linn,  1924-1927 

R.  H.  Cline,  1900-1903  W.  G.  Cobb,  1927-1951 

E.  H.  Kohn,  1904-1909  L.  C.  Trexler,  1952- 


ST.  JOHN'S,  HUDSON 

St.  John's  Church  is  located  in  the  town  of  Hudson,  in  Caldwell 
County. 

Work  was  carried  on  here  by  visiting  ministers  for  several  years 
prior  to  the  organization  of  a  congregation.  Their  first  church  was  built 
about  1904,  under  the  general  leadership  of  Rev.  J.  L.  Cromer,  with 
P.  M.  Throneburg,  John  L.  Sigmon,  and  M.  M.  Throneburg  giving  their 
financial  and  loyal  backing.  The  church  was  organized  by  Rev.  J. 
A.  Yount,  May  15,  1910,  with  12  members.  Up  until  1920  this  mission 
received  preaching  services  only  once  a  month.  Then  it  was  placed  in 
the  Granite  Falls  parish. 

During  Rev.  C.  O.  Lippard's  pastorate,  the  present  brick  church 
was  built.  Groundbreaking  services  were  held  April  28,  1930  by  Pastor 
Lippard  and  the  President  of  Synod.  During  the  building  period, 
services  were  held  in  a  nearby  school  building. 

The  cornerstone  was  laid  June  29,  1930  by  Pastor  Lippard  and 
Dr.  J.  L.  Morgan.  The  basement  was  soon  completed  and  was  opened 
for  worship  purposes  on  August  1,  1930.  Under  the  pastoral  leadership 
of  Rev.  R.  M.  Carpenter,  the  building  was  completed  in  1937  and  was 
dedicated  August  21,  1938  by  Pastor  Carpenter  and  the  President  of 
Synod. 

In  1950  the  congregation  decided  to  go  on  a  fulltime  pastoral 
basis,  and  called  Rev.  F.  C.  Morehead.  Following  his  coming  a  new 
parsonage  was  built;  also  additional  rooms  were  provided  for  the 
Sunday  School. 

List  of  Pastors: 

J.  A.  Yount,  1910-1911  C.  O.  Lippard,  1930-1932 

James  Deal,  1911-1912  R.  M.  Carpenter,  1932-1943 

J.  A.  Yount,  1913-1920  R.  B.  Sigmon,  1943-1949 

F.  L.  Conrad,  1920-1922  J.  K.  Cobb,  1949-1950 

J.  J.  Bickley,  1922-1925  F.  C.  Morehead,  1950- 
P.  C.  Sigmon,  1925-1930 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 


301 


ST.  JOHN'S,  SALISBURY 

The  first  location  of  St.  John's  Lutheran  Church  in  Salisbury 
was  on  North  Lee  Street.  It  was  later  located  on  North  Main  and 
Liberty  Streets;  then  it  was  moved  to  its  present  location  on  West 
Innes  and  Church  Streets.  We  do  not  know  when  this  church  was 
organized.  The  date  of  organization  carried  by  the  congregation  in 
her  records  is  1747.  This  date  has,  for  a  number  of  years,  been  listed 
in  the  Minutes  of  Synod. 

It  is  known  that  Lutheran  families  settled  in  this  vicinity  at  an 
early  date,  and,  being  a  church-loving  people,  they  would  be  interested 
in  establishing  a  place  of  worship  as  quickly  as  possible. 

One  of  the  early  Lutheran  settlers  here  was  John  Lewis  Beard, 
who  purchased  a  number  of  lots  in  the  town  in  the  year  1765.    Bern- 


St.  John's  Lutheran  Church 

Salisbury,  North  Carolina 


302         History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

heim,  in  his  "History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  the  Carolinas,"  tells 
us  of  a  bereavement  which  befell  this  Beard  family,  when  a  much 
beloved  daughter  was  taken  by  death  and  was  laid  to  rest  in  one  of 
her  father's  newly  purchased  lots. 

Soon  thereafter,  in  the  year  1768,  Mr.  Beard  deeded  the  lot,  hal- 
lowed by  the  new-made  grave,  to  the  Trustees  of  the  German  Lutheran 
congregation   on  which   to   build   a  Lutheran  Church. 

The  congregation  proceeded  at  once  to  build  its  first  house  of 
worship  on  this  lot,  which  lot  is  located  on  North  Lee  Street.  The  build- 
ing was  a  log  structure  and  was  the  first  church  of  any  kind  built  in 
Salisbury. 

The  deed  for  that  lot  provided  for  other  church  groups  to  hold 
services  in  the  building  when  not  used  by  the  Lutherans.  It  turned 
out  that  the  Lutheran  Church  became  vacant  for  some  years,  and 
about  1818  permission  was  granted  to  the  Episcopal  brethren  to  hold 
services  in  the  church  during  the  vacancy.  Meanwhile  the  old  log  church 
was  replaced  by  a  new  frame  building.  The  Episcopalians  contributed 
liberally  toward  the  building,  and  so  claimed  an  interest  in  the  property. 
In  order  to  clear  the  matter,  however,  the  Lutherans  reimbursed  the 
Episcopalians  for  what  they  had  contributed  toward  the  building,  and 
the  Lutherans  were  recognized  thereby  as  the  rightful  owner  of  the 
property  in  its  entirety. 

In  1849  a  new  location  was  secured  for  a  church  on  the  corner 
of  North  Main  and  Liberty  Streets.  This  was  their  third  building,  which 
was  constructed  of  brick,  at  a  cost  of  $2500.00.  There  was  a  basement 
under  the  building,  which  for  a  while  was  used  for  public  school  pur- 
poses. Rev.  J.  H.  Coffman  was  pastor  when  this  church  was  erected; 
however,  it  was  not  completed  until  1857,  after  Rev.  L.  C.  Groseclose 
became  pastor.    It  was  dedicated  on  May  26,  1857. 

The  fourth  building  was  put  up  in  1883,  on  the  same  lot  as  that 
for  the  previous  one.  This  was  also  a  brick  building.  Rev.  W.  J.  Smith 
was  the  pastor  when  this  building  was  started,  but  it  was  not  completed 
until  1884,  when  Rev.  William  Stoudenmire  became  pastor. 

On  October  1,  1886,  Rev.  C.  B.  King  became  pastor  of  this  church, 
but  upon  arriving  in  the  field  he  found  the  work  in  bad  condition,  with 
building  debts  facing  them.  But  he  soon  brought  about  an  improved 
condition,  and  by  the  third  Sunday  in  May  1889,  the  new  church  was 
dedicated  free  of  all  indebtedness.  Pastor  King  was  assisted  by  Dr. 
S.  W.  Bowman  in  the  dedicatory  service. 

While  Dr.  L.  E.  Busby  was  pastor  here,  additional  rooms  were 
provided  for  Sunday  School  purposes.  This  was  about  the  year  1899. 
Then,  under  Dr.  M.  M.  Kinard's  administration,  still  further  room  was 
provided. 

A  few  years  after  Rev.  E.  Fulenwider,  D.D.,  became  pastor  in  1920, 
the  lot  now  occupied  on  the  corner  of  Innes  and  Church  Streets  was 
purchased  on  which  to  build  their  fifth  house  of  worship.    Plans  were 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  303 

later  drawn  for  a  brick  structure  to  take  care  of  a  large  and  growing 
congregation  and  Sunday  School.  The  cornerstone  of  the  new  building 
was  laid  June  30,  1926  by  Pastor  Fulenwider  and  President  J.  L.  Mor- 
gan. This  church  with  furnishings  cost  approximately  $225,000.00.  It 
was  formally  opened  for  services  January  2,  1927. 

Dr.  Fulenwider  resigned  in  1930,  and  was  succeeded  by  Dr.  M. 
L.  Stirewalt.  For  the  next  several  years  the  congregation  was  constantly 
faced  with  a  heavy  building  debt,  during  a  nation  wide  business  de- 
pression. 

The  building  was  freed  of  all  debt  during  Dr.  P.  D.  Brown's  pas- 
torate and  was  dedicated  October  1,  1944.  President  J.  L.  Morgan  per- 
formed the  act  of  dedication,  and  Dr.  E.  Fulenwider  and  Dr.  M.  L.  Stire- 
walt, former  pastors,  brought  the  morning  and  evening  messages  for 
the  occasion.    Pastor  Brown  had  charge  of  the  program. 

This  church  was  redecorated  in  1946,  under  the  direction  of  Dr. 
Brown,  at  a  cost  of  $40,000.00. 

The  congregation  at  one  time  owned  a  parsonage  on  their  church 
lot  on  North  Main  Street.  However,  a  rented  house  was  used  most  of 
the  time  until  more  recent  years.  In  1931,  while  Dr.  M.  L.  Stirewalt 
was  pastor,  a  new  brick  parsonage  was  built  on  Marsh  Street  at  a 
cost  of  around  $12,000.00. 

St.  John's  Church  has  been  host  to  a  number  of  important  his- 
torical meetings,  among  them  we  mention  the  following: 

1.  The  Lutheran  Synod  of  North  Carolina  held  its  first  meeting 
here,  May  2,  1803,  at  which  time  the  Synod  was  organized. 

2.  A  meeting  of  representatives  of  Southern  Synods  was  held  here 
in  1862  to  plan  for  a  General  Synod  in  the  South. 

3.  In  1884  a  Diet  was  held  here,  composed  of  representatives  of 
Southern  Synods,  which  brought  about  the  formation  of  the 
United  Synod  in  the  South. 

4.  The  Quadri-Centennial  Celebration  by  the  United  Synods  in 
the  South  was  held  here  in  1917,  at  which  time  plans  were 
approved  for  the  merger  of  the  General  Synod,  the  General 
Council,  and  the  United  Synod  in  the  South  into  The  United 
Lutheran  Church  in  America. 

5.  The  Women's  Missionary  Society  met  here  in  1924. 

6.  The  Luther  League  met  here  in  1926. 

7.  The  Sesqui-Centennial  Celebration  of  The  United  Evangel- 
ical Lutheran  Synod  of  North  Carolina  May  4  -  7,  1953. 

Dr.  P.  D.  Brown  was  called  away  by  death,  August  3,  1952,  which 
brought  great  sorrow  to  the  entire  congregation.  The  work  was  then 
continued  by  their  assistant  pastor.  Rev.  H.  E.  Rhoads. 

List  of  Pastors: 
Adolph  Nussmann,  1773-1774  T.  W.  Dosh,  1876-1877 

J.  G.  Arends,  1775-1785  W.  J.  Smith,  1878-1883 

C.  A.  G.  Storch,  1788  William  Stoudenmire,  1884-1886 


304 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 


John  Reck,  1826-1831 

D.  P.  Rosenmiller,  1831-1832 
John  T.  Tablet,  Supply, 

1832-1833 
Samuel  Rothrock,  1833-1835 

E.  A.  Bolles,  Supply,  1835-1836 
Samuel  Rothrock,  1836-1839 

J.  D.  Scheck,  1840-1844 
Samuel  Rothrock,  Supply, 

1844-1845 
J.  B.  Anthony,  Supply,  1845-1846 
J.  H.  Coffman,  1848-1852 
Simeon  Scherer,  1852-1855 
L.  C.  Groseclose,  1857-1865 
N.  Aldrich,  1865-1867 
Simeon  Scherer  and 
W.  H.  Cone,  1867-1872 
J.  G.  Neiffer,  1872-1876 


C.  B.  King,  1886-1896 
L.  E.  Busby,  1896-1902 
J.  H.  Wilson,  1903-1906 
M.  M.  Kinard,  1906-1920 
E.  Fulenwider,  1920-1930 
M.  L.  Stirewalt,  1930-1938 
P.  D.  Brown,  1939-1952 
E.  L.  Misenheimer, 

Asst.  Pastor,  1940-1943 
H.  W.  Cauble, 

Asst.  Pastor,  1943-1944 
S.  L.  Swing,  Asst.  Pastor, 

1946-1947 
R.  H.  Terry, 

Asst.  Pastor,  1948-1950 
H.  E.  Rhoads, 

Asst.  Pastor,  1951- 


ST.  JOHN'S.  STATESVILLE 

St.  John's  Church  is  located  on  the  corner  of  West  Front  and  Mul- 
berry Streets  in  Statesville.  The  church  was  organized  April  8,  1888 
in  an  upstairs  room  over  Leonard's  Music  Store  on  Broad  Street  with 
eight  members  enrolled.  The  following  officers  were  elected:  J.  S. 
Frye  and  L.  C.  Dietz,  Elders;  and  E.  A.  Frye,  Deacon  and  Secretary.  Rev. 
D.  J.  Settlemyre,  then  pastor  at  St.  Martin's  and  Sharon,  was  in  charge 
of  these  services. 

A  lot  was  purchased  on  the  corner  of  Front  and  Meeting  Streets 
for  $350.00  and  on  July  12,  1890,  a  contract  was  let  for  a  church  building 
30  X  50  feet,  brick  structure,  with  a  tower.  The  cornerstone  was  laid  by 
the  Pastor,  Rev.  D.  J.  Settlemyre,  Rev.  A.  L.  Crouse,  and  Rev.  C.  H.  Bern- 
heim.  In  order  to  get  needed  money  to  carry  on  the  building,  three  of 
the  members — J.  S.  Frye,  L.  A.  Dietz,  and  M.  J.  Dietz — mortgaged  their 
homes  until  funds  could  be  raised  by  the  congregation.  The  building 
was  completed  by  the  end  of  1890,  and  January  8  - 11,  1891,  a  four-day 
preaching  service  was  held  in  the  new  church,  in  charge  of  Pastor  Settle- 
myre, Rev.  J.  C.  Moser,  and  Rev.  A.  L.  Crouse.  The  congregation 
numbered  twenty-three. 

By  August  8,  1908,  the  church  was  free  of  debt  and  was  dedicated 
by  the  pastor.  Rev.  W.  A.  Lutz,  and  others.  About  the  time  Rev.  O.  W. 
Aderholdt,  D.D.,  became  pastor,  April  1,  1920,  a  building  was  purchased 
for  a  parsonage.  Also  a  lot  for  a  new  church  was  purchased  on  the 
corner  of  Front  and  Mulberry  Streets  for  the  sum  of  $6,000.00.  In  1921 
a  contract  was  signed  for  building  a  new  church  at  a  cost  of  $32,659.00. 
The  cornerstone  was  laid  October  30, 1921,  by  Pastor  Aderholdt  and  others. 
The  church  was  completed  in  1922  and  was  formally  opened  on  Sunday, 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C,  305 

January  5,  1923,  by  the  Pastor;  Dr.  E.  J.  Sox,  and  Dr.  F.  C.  Longacre  guest 
speakers.  This  is  a  churchly  building,  with  basement  for  organizational 
work.  It  was  dedicated  November  7,  1926  by  Pastor  J.  D.  Kinard,  Dr. 
E.  J.  Sox,  and  the  President  of  Synod.  The  total  valuation  when  com- 
pleted was  $52,000.00. 

The  parsonage  was  worked  over  during  Pastor  Thornburg's  pas- 
torate. Funds  are  now  being  raised  for  an  Educational  Building.  The 
present  pastor,  Rev.  J.  K.  Lasley  reports  a  confirmed  membership  of 
about  500. 

List  of  Pastors: 

D.   J.   Settlemyre,   1888-1892  A.  R.  Beck,  1917-1919 

W.  P.  Cline,  Supply,  1893-1897  O.  W.  Aderholdt,  1920-1924 

J.  C.  Moser,  Supply,  1893-1897  J.  D.  Kinard,  1924-1929 

W.  L.  Darr,  1898-1905  J.  L.  Thornburg,  1930-1945 

W.  A.  Lutz,  1905-1916  J.  K.  Lasley,  1945- 


ST.   LUKE'S   CHURCH,   CATAWBA   COUNTY 

St.  Luke's  Church  is  located  in  Catawba  County,  on  the  Springs 
Road,  aboue  five  miles  northeast  from  Hickory.  This  church  was  or- 
ganized by  Rev.  J.  Alonzo  Yount,  August  18,  1921,  with  twenty-one 
members. 

Most  of  these  members  came  from  St.  Peter's  Church,  follow- 
ing a  division  in  that  old  congregation,  which  resulted  in  a  divided 
ownership  of  that  church  property,  as  well  as  in  members, — one  part 
adhering  to  the  Tennessee  Synod,  and  the  other  going  with  the  Mis- 
souri Synod.  The  Tennessee  group  organized  themselves  into  this 
St.  Luke's  congregation,  and  located  elsewhere,  while  the  Missouri 
group  remained  at  the  old  church,  each  holding  a  part  interest  in  the 
old  church  property.  Then,  under  the  pastoral  guidance  of  St.  Luke's 
present  pastor,  the  Rev.  Cline  W.  Harbinson,  St.  Luke's  sold  her  share  in 
the  St.  Peter's  property  to  the  Missouri  congregation  in  the  year  1947, 
for  $1,000.00,  thus  ending  the  dual  arrangement. 

St.  Luke's  was  first  located  about  a  mile  south  of  where  Sipes 
Orchard  is  now  located,  where  a  small  frame  church  was  built.  But, 
in  a  short  while,  another  location  was  selected,  in  the  Oxford  Ford 
section,  and  the  recently  constructed  church  was  dismantled  and  recon- 
structed at  the  new  location. 

But  this  second  house  and  lot  was  disposed  of  in  1949,  and  their 
present  location  secured.  With  the  cooperation  of  Synod,  the  Brother- 
hood, and  the  Missionary  Society,  a  nice  brick  church,  with  Sunday 
School    quarters,    was    constructed.      The    church    vv^as    completed,    and 


306  History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

on  February  20,  1949,  was  opened  for  divine  service.  The  corner- 
stone was  laid  at  the  opening  service,  on  February  20,  1949,  in  charge 
of  Pastor  Harbinson,  assisted  by  President  V.  R.  Cromer,  and  Dr.  J.  L. 
Morgan.    This  church  is  valued  at  $25,000.00. 

A  new  parsonage  for  this  parish  was  built,  in  the  St.  Luke's  com- 
munity, by  the  parish  composed  of  St.  Luke  and  Shiloh,  in  1947. 

Except  for  a  few  short  intervals.  Rev.  J.  A.  Yount  served  this 
church  as  pastor,  in  connection  with  other  congregations,  from  its  be- 
ginning in  1901  until  1923,  at  about  which  time  it  was  placed  in  a 
parish  with  the  church  in  Claremont. 

List  of  Pastors: 

J.  A.  Yount,  1901-1923  G.  A.  Phillips,  1944-1947 

J.  C.  Dietz,  1925-1927  C.  W.  Harbinson,  1947- 

R.  B.  Sigmon,  1928-1943 


ST.  LUKE'S,  CHARLOTTE 

St.  Luke's  Lutheran  Church  in  Charlotte  is  located  on  East  Boule- 
vard and  Dilworth  Road. 

This  church  was  organized  in  the  Dilworth  Grade  School  audi- 
torium with  eighty  members,  on  New  Year's  Day,  1928.  The  organiza- 
tion was  under  the  direction  of  Dr.  J.  L.  Morgan,  President  of  Synod; 
Dr.  A.  D.  R.  Hancher  of  the  Board  of  American  Missions;  and  Dr.  J.  F. 
Crigler,  pastor  of  St.  Mark's  Church. 

Student  A.  W.  Lippard  served  during  the  summer  of  1928.  Dr.  R. 
L.  Patterson  supplied  from  November  1,  1928,  to  June  30,  1929.  Rev. 
H.  P.  Wyrick  was  called  as  the  first  regular  pastor  July  1,  1929. 

The  original  brick  building  was  erected  in  1930  at  a  cost  of 
$23,125.00.  The  cornerstone  of  this  building  was  laid  June  22,  1930, 
by  Pastor  Wyrick  and  representatives  of  Synod.  The  building  was  open- 
ed for  services  November  30,  1930,  with  the  sermon  by  Pastor  Wyrick, 
and  Rev.  S.  White  Rhyne  in  charge  of  the  Liturgy. 

The  new  Educational  Building  was  erected  during  1947-1948  at 
an  approximate  cost  of  $60,000.00.  The  cornerstone  for  this  building 
was  laid  January  4,  1948,  by  Rev.  V.  R.  Cromer,  D.D.,  then  president 
of  Synod,  and  by  Pastor  Wyrick.  The  building  was  formally  opened  for 
religious  purposes  January  23,  1949. 

A  house  and  lot  was  purchased  on  East  Boulevard,  for  a  par- 
sonage, at  a  cost  of  $16,780.00,  which  was  first  occupied  by  Pastor 
Wyrick  and  family  on  July  2,  1951. 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  307 

St.  Luke's  congregation  has,  from  the  very  beginning  of  her  or- 
ganization, carried  on  her  work  without  calling  on  Synod  or  the  Mis- 
sion Board  for  current  assistance  in  financing  her  program. 

List  of  Pastors: 

Student  A.  W.  Lippard,  R.  L.  Patterson,  D.D., 

Supply,  1928  Supply,  1928-1929 

H.  P.  Wyrick,  1929- 


ST.  LUKE'S,  DAVIDSON  CO 

St.  Luke's  Lutheran  Church  is  located  in  Davidson  County,  N.  C, 
in  the  village  of  Tyro,  about  eight  miles  west  from  Lexington.  Origi- 
nally it  was  sometimes  referred  to  as  the  Church  of  the  German  Meeting 
House,  or  the  Sandy  Creek  Meeting  House,  and  Swicegood's  Meeting 
House.  The  first  of  these  names  indicates  the  nationality  of  the  peo- 
ple, the  second  that  of  the  location  on  Sandy  Creek,  and  the  third  the 
donor  of  the  land,  Adam  Swicegood  and  his  wife,  Mary  Cathron  Swice- 
good. 

It  is  not  known  in  what  year  the  church  was  organized.  While 
the  deed  for  the  land  bears  the  date  1790,  the  very  nature  of  this  deed 
shows  that  there  was  an  organized  body  there  prior  to  that  year,  which 
reads  in  part  as  follows:  "This  deed  made  the  eighth  day  of  January 
in  the  year  of  our  Lord  1790,  between  Adam  Swicegood  and  his  wife, 
Mary  Cathron,  of  the  County  of  Rowan  and  the  state  of  North  Carolina, 
Party,  of  the  one  part,  and  Henry  Clemmens  and  John  Gobel  of  said 
county  and  state.  Trustees  for  the  congregation  that  upholds  the  German 
Meeting  House,  known  and  designated  by  the  name  Sandy  Creek  Meet- 
ing House,  on  the  waters  of  Sandy  Creek,  Witnesseth  that  for  and  in 
consideration  of  the  good  will  and  regard  for  the  said  Adam  Swicegood 
and  Mary  Cathron,  his  wife,  hath  for  the  propagation  of  the  Gospel 
and  sundry  other  reasons  moving  thereto,  together  with  five  shillings 
sterling  by  the  said  Henry  Clemmens  and  John  Gobel,  Trustees  for  the 
Sandy  Creek  Congregation  in  hand  paid  by  the  trustees  in  behalf  of 
the  said  congregation,  to  the  sealing  of  these  presents,  the  receipt  and 
payment  whereof  is  hereby  acknowledged,  hath  granted,  bargained, 
sold,  aliened,  enfoeffed,  convey  and  confirm  unto  the  said  Henry  Clem- 
mens and  John  Gobel,  trustees  for  the  aforesaid  congregation  forever." 

Thus  it  will  be  seen  that  there  was  a  going  congregation  here  at 
the  time  the  land  was  purchased;  however,  we  do  not  know  how  far 
back  of  that  date  it  may  have  begun.  But  we  do  know  that  there  were 
German  settlers  in  that  territory  as  much  as  forty  years  prior  to  that 
time,  and  it  is  not  unreasonable  to  assume  that  they,  being  a  God- 
fearing and  church-loving  people,  would  have  made  provision  for  relig- 
ious services  during  those  years,  even  though  they  did  not  have  a  set- 


308  History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

tied  pastor.  This  congregation  was  from  the  first  entirely  Lutheran, 
and  held  exclusive  title  to  its  property.  It  belonged  entirely  to  the 
North  Carolina  Synod. 

Their  first  house  of  worship  was  made  of  logs,  24  x  30  feet,  but 
we  do  not  know  when  it  was  built.  It  was  destroyed  by  fire.  The 
second  building  was  patterned  after  the  first  one,  while  the  third  one 
was  a  frame  structure,  about  the  same  size  as  that  of  the  other  two. 
It  was  erected  in  1835.  The  fourth  building  was  also  a  frame  struc- 
ture, about  35x58  feet;  with  a  gallery,  annex,  and  vestry  rooms,  with 
a  seating  capacity  of  around  four  hundred.  It  was  erected  in  1861,  at 
a  cost,  at  that  time,  of  about  $1,300.00,  and  was  dedicated  the  same  year, 
by  Rev.  W.  A.  Julian.  This  building  was  later  improved  under  the 
pastoral  leadership  of  Rev.  D.  W.  Michael,  at  a  cost  of  $300.00. 

The  fifth  building  is  a  brick  structure  40x92  feet,  with  transepts 
extending  ten  feet  on  each  side.  It  has  a  seating  capacity  of  over 
four  hundred.  This  building  was  constructed  under  the  pastoral  lead- 
ership of  Rev.  C.  R.  Pless,  at  a  cost  of  $35,000.00.  It  is  located  on  the 
lot  that  was  formerly  occupied  by  an  Academy  belonging  to  St.  Luke's 
congregation,  in  the  village  of  Tyro,  one-half  mile  east  from  the  old 
church.  This  lot,  first  donated  by  Mr.  R.  F.  Thompson  for  school  pur- 
poses, was  later  given  by  his  son,  G.  M.  Thompson,  for  the  church's 
location.  In  1950  a  modern  Educational  Building  was  constructed,  un- 
der the  guidance  of  Rev.  John  A.  Pless. 

This  congregation,  along  with  Pilgrim,  Becks,  and  Bethany,  helped 
to  build  a  parsonage  in  Tyro,  in  the  year  1854.  Then,  in  1934,  while 
Rev.  C.  R.  Pless  was  pastor,  St.  Luke's  and  Pilgrim,  then  constituting 
the  parish,  built  a  new  parsonage,  near  the  present  St.  Luke's  church. 
However,  in  1951,  these  two  congregations  mutually  agreed  that  each 
should  have  a  full-time  pastor,  and  Rev.  John  A.  Pless  was  called  by 
St.  Luke's  to  give  his  full  time  to  that  congregation,  beginning  May  1, 
that  year. 

It  is  most  likely  that  St.  Luke's  Church  took  part  in  the  organi- 
zation of  Synod  in  1803,  forasmuch  as  their  pastor,  Rev.  Paul  Henkel, 
was  one  of  the  four  ministers  who  helped  to   effect  the  organization. 

In  1880,  while  Rev.  C.  H.  Bernheim  was  pastor  here,  an  Academy 
for  general  education  was  opened  in  Tyro,  under  the  auspices  of  this 
congregation.  A  lot  was  donated  for  the  purpose  by  R.  F.  Thompson 
and  his  wife,  members  of  St.  Luke's  Church,  and  a  building  was  erected. 
This  building  was  used  for  school  purposes  until  1921. 

It  is  most  probable  that  Rev.  Nussmann  and  Rev.  Arends  made 
pastoral  visits  to  these  people  from  time  to  time,  from  the  time  of  their 
arrival  in  North  Carolina  in  1773  up  to  the  coming  of  Rev.  C.  E.  Bern- 
hardt, who  was  the  first  regular  pastor  here.  Then,  beginning  with 
Rev.  Bernhardt,  the  list  of  pastors,  so  far  as  we  can  find,  is  as  follows: 

List  of  Pastors: 

C.  E.  Bernhardt,  1787-1788  C.  H.  Bernheim,  1874-1878 

Arnold  Roschen,  1788-1800  P.  E.  Zink,  1878-1883 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 


309 


Paul  Henkel,  1800-1805 
Ludwig  Markert,  1805-1816 
Gottlieb  Schober,  Suppdy,  1816 
J.  W.  Meyer,  1816-1817 
Daniel  Walcher,  1817-1821 
Jacob  Miller,  1821-1827 
D.  P.  Rosenmiller,  1830-1831 
John  Tabler,  1831-1833 
Daniel  Jenkins,  1833-1834 
Benjamin  Arey,  1837 
Jacob  Crim,  1839-1842 
J.  B.  Anthony,  1847-1848 
L.  C.  Groseclose,  1849-1854 
W.  A.  Julian,  1854-1863 
W.  H.  Cone,  1864-1865 
A.  D.  L.  Moser,  1867 
J.  D.  Bowles,  1871-1784 


R.  W.  Petrea,  1883-1885 
J.  M.  Hedrick,  1885-1886 
D.  W.  Michael,  1887-1891 
Whitson  Kimball,  1892-1894 
T.  H.  Strohecker,  1896 
P.  J.  Wade,  1898-1905 
G.  H.  L.  Lingle,  1906-1910 
J.  L.  Smith,  1911-1912 
N.  D.  Bodie,  1912-1913 
W.  C.  Buck,  1914-1918 
M.  L.  Kester,  1918-1919 
C.  H.  Day,  1920-1921 
C.  R.  Pless,  1922-1930 
W.  H.  Hiller,  1931-1933 
C.  R.  Pless,  1934-1940 
J.  A.  Pless,  1940- 


ST.  LUKE'S,  KINGS  MOUNTAIN 

St.  Luke's  Church  was  located  in  Cleveland  County  about  five 
miles  north  of  Kings  Mountain. 

This  church  was  organized  in  1895  by  Rev.  L.  A.  Bikle,  D.D.,  then 
pastor  of  St.  Matthews  Church  in  Kings  Mountain.  A  frame  church 
was  built  by  the  congregation,  and  regular  services  were  conducted. 
The  congregation  was  placed  in  a  parish  with  Kings  Mountain.  The 
congregation  was  made  up  of  fine  people,  but  the  number  was  small. 
So,  in  1948,  most  of  the  members  transferred  their  membership  to  St. 
Matthews  in  Kings  Mountain.  The  deed  for  their  property,  dated  April 
15,  1895,  is  made  to  trustees  of  that  church  "So  long  as  the  said  lands 
may  be  used  or  occupied  for  or  by  the  Evangelical  Lutheran  Church." 


List  of  Pastors; 


Dr.  L.  A.  Bikle,  1895-1904 
C.  K.  Bell,  1905-1918 
H.  B.  Schaeffer,  1919-1923 
A.  M.  Huffman,  1924-1929 


C.  K.  Derrick,  1930-1935 
L.  B.  Hamm,  1935-1940 
H.  G.  Fisher,  1940-1944 
W.  H.  Stender,  1945-1950 


ST.  LUKE'S,  LINCOLN  CO. 

St.  Luke's  Lutheran  Church  is  located  in  Lincoln  County,  ten 
miles  east  of  Lincolnton. 

It  is  not  known  when  this  church  was  organized,  but  it  is  believed 
to  have  been  organized  by  Rev.  J.  G.  Arends  while  he  was  pastor  of 
Organ  Church  in  Rowan  County  1775-1785. 


310 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 


The  fact  that  Pastor  Arends  built  his  home  near  this  church 
would  seem  to  indicate  that  the  church  was  already  there  when  he 
moved  to  Lincoln  County  in  1785. 

This  church  has  been  known  by  several  different  names.  It  is 
probable  that  the  original  name  was  Lebanon,  and  it  was  so  called  by 
Rev.  David  Henkel  and  others  in  his  day.  Later  on,  it  was  called  Liberty, 
which  name  was  continued  until  1858  at  which  time  a  new  frame  church 
was  built  and  dedicated  by  the  name,  St.  Luke's  Lutheran  Church.  It 
has  for  many  years  been  called  the  Ore  Bank  Church  by  the  local  com- 
munity because  of  iron  deposits  found  in  the  surrounding  hills  and  the 
forges  operated  there  years  ago. 

Some  have  referred  to  St.  Luke's  as  the  "Killian  Settlement",  but 
recent  investigation  definitely  shows  that  the  Killian  Settlement  or 
"Dutch  Meeting  House,"  as  it  was  often  called,  was  an  entirely  different 
church  from  St.  Luke's  at  Ore  Bank.  St.  Luke's  is  a  mile  or  so  north 
of  the  Arends  home,  whereas  Killian  Settlement  is  five,  or  so,  miles 
south  from  the  Arends  home.     (See  Register  of  Deeds,  Book  23,  page  146.) 

The  first  building  was  of  logs  and  most  likely  was  built  about 
the  time  the  congregation  was  organized.  The  second  and  present 
church  is  a  frame  structure  erected  in  1857-1858  and  was  dedicated  in 
May  1858,  at  which  time  the  name  was  changed  to  St.  Luke's. 

This  was  one  of  the  eight  or  nine  congregations  which  composed 
Pastor  J.  G.  Arends'  parish  in  Lincoln  County.  It  was  not  a  large 
church  numerically,  but  it  was  served  by  some  of  the  strongest  minis- 
ters of  the  Synod.  However,  the  church  now  feels  the  need  of  more 
permanent  pastoral  services  in  place  of  supply  arrangements. 

The  old  home  dwelling  of  Rev.  John  Gottfried  Arends  still  stands 
about  a  mile  south  of  this  church.  It  is  a  two-story  frame  structure. 
Although  showing  the  marks  of  neglect  at  this  time,  the  size  and  design 
of  the  building  would  compare  favorably  with  modern  homes. 

List  of  Pastors: 

Some  of  the  following  names  and  dates  are  listed  with  uncertainty, 
and  much  of  the  service  has  been  on  a  supply  basis: 


J.  G.  Arends,  1785-1807 
Philip  Henkel,  1808-1814 
Daniel  Moser,  1815-1820 
David  Henkel,  1821-1830 
Adam  Miller,  Jr.,  1834-1845 
J.  R.  Peterson,  1848-1854 
A.  J.  Fox,  1855-1875 
J.  A.  Rudisill,  1883-1885 
L.  L.  Lohr,  1890-1894 
W.  P.  Cline,  1895-1897 
J.  A.  Arndt,  1898-1899 
J.  C.  Dietz,  1900-1903 


H.  J.  Matthias,  1903-1905 
Jacob  Wike,  1907-1909 
J.  F.  Deal,  1910-1912 
Enoch  Hite,  1915-1918 
W.  J.  Roof,  1918-1923 
V.  C.  Ridenhour,  1923-1930 
V.  R.  Cromer,  1930-1936 
L.  A.  Thomas,  1936-1945 
A.  H.  Keck,  1945-1948 
C.  E.  Bernhardt,  1948-1951 
R.  B.  Cuthbertson,  1951-1952 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  311 


ST.  LUKE'S,  MONROE 

St.  Luke's  Church  in  Monroe  is  located  at  207  East  Jefferson 
Street.  This  church  was  organized  August  4,  1889,  with  thirteen  charter 
members  by  Rev.  J.  F.  Moser.  Officers  elected  were  A.  H.  Crowell,  Elder; 
and  C.  B.  Sikes  and  A.  M.  Crowell,  Deacons.  The  church  was  received 
into  the  Tennessee  Synod  in  November  that  same  year.  Col.  A.  H. 
Crowell  gave  a  lot  for  a  church  and  $1100.00  was  given  for  a  building. 
A  brick  church  36  x  61  with  a  basement  was  started  in  1890,  and  was 
completed  in  1892. 

On  May  17,  1908  Rev.  R.  H.  Cline,  J.  O.  Fulenwider,  Sr.,  and  A.  M. 
Crowell  were  elected  a  Building  Committee  to  direct  the  construction 
of  a  parsonage,  which  was  built  on  a  lot  on  the  west  side  of  the  church. 
This  lot  was  given  to  the  church  May  27,  1908,  by  A.  M.  Crowell.  A 
service  center  for  soldiers  at  Camp  Sutton  was  built  in  connection  with 
St.  Luke's  church,  during  World  War  II,  largely  by  the  help  of  the 
National  Lutheran  Council,  which  was  dedicated  November  1,  1942,  by 
Rev.  Frank  K.  Efird,  the  pastor,  and  the  President  of  the  Synod. 

List  of  Pastors: 

J.  F.  Moser,  1889-1895  Paul  L.  Miller,  1921-1922 

S.  S.  Rahn,  1896-1897  J.  E.  Stockman,  1923-1926 

Student  P.  D.  Risinger,  1897  J.  D.  Sheppard,  1928-1930 

Rev.  P.  D.  Risinger,  1898  C.  R.  Pless,  1930-1934 

M.  Q.  Boland,  1902-1903  Claude  V.  Deal,  1934-1941 

G.  D.  Bernheim,  Supply,  Frank  K.  Efird,  1941-1943 

1905-1907  H.  D.  Hawthorne,  1943-1944 

R.  H.  Cline,  1907-1910  H.  F.  Lineberger,  1945-1949 

W.  J.  Boger,  1913-1918  C.  E.  Norman,  1949- 


ST.  LUKE'S,  ROWAN  CO. 

St.  Luke's  Church  is  located  at  the  village  of  Bear  Poplar,  about 
ten  miles  west  from  Salisbury  in  Rowan  County.  The  church  was 
tentatively  organized  the  first  Sunday  in  January  1869,  with  eight 
members  enrolled,  by  Rev.  Samuel  Rothrock,  then  pastor  of  Salem 
Church.  This  service  was  conducted  in  a  grove  belonging  to  Mrs. 
Catharine  Kistler.  It  was  agreed,  at  the  same  meeting,  to  build  a  brick 
church,  and  the  following  were  appointed  as  a  Building  Committee: 
D.  M.  Barrier,  Alexander  Brown,  and  W.  L.  Kistler.  On  May  9,  1871, 
the  cornerstone  of  the  church  was  laid  by  Pastor  Rothrock,  Rev.  N. 
Aldrich,  and  Rev.  J.  G.  Neiffer.  The  building  is  of  solid  brick  40  x  60 
feet  and  originally  had  an  inclined  floor.  The  church  was  completed 
without  much  delay  and  was  dedicated  May  12,  1872,  by  Pastor  Roth- 
rock and  Rev.  J.  G.  Neiffer. 

In  1879,  a  two-story  parsonage  was  built,  about  half  a  mile  west 
of  the  church  on  land  which  P.  M.  Brown  had  given  for  that  purpose. 


312  History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

Then  in  1920,  a  different  tract  of  land  adjoining  the  church  lands,  was 
given  to  the  church  by  Hon.  B.  B.  Miller  and  Mr.  C.  A.  Brown  for  par- 
sonage purposes,  on  which  the  present  parsonage  was  built  the  fol- 
lowing year. 

In  1930,  soon  after  Rev.  M.  L.  Kester  became  pastor,  the  old  build- 
ing was  remodeled  and  completely  renewed,  inside  and  out,  and  a 
new  Educational  Annex  was  built,  all  at  a  cost  of  around  $18,000.00. 
The  cornerstone  of  the  renewed  building  was  laid  April  29,  1921,  by 
Pastor  Kester  and  the  President  of  Synod.  The  building  was  rededi- 
cated  December  12,  1943,  by  Rev.  Clyde  A.  Misenheimer,  the  present 
pastor;  Rev.  J.  L.  Yost,  D.D.;  and  the  President  of  Synod. 

During  1951  a  new  Educational  Building  40x80  feet  was  con- 
structed at  a  cost  of  $30,000.00. 

List  of  Pastors: 

Samuel  Rothrock,  1869-1875  I.  E.  Long,  1912-1916 

V.  R.  Stickley,  1876-1882  L.  A.  Thomas,  1917-1920 

J.  D.  Shirey,  1882-1889  J.  L.  Yost,  1921-1923 

H.  C.  Haithcox,  1890  M.  J.  Kluttz,  1924-1927 

B.  W.  Cronk,  1891-1894  M.  L.  Kester,  1928-1931 

H.  W.  Jeffcoat,  1894-1900  P.  G.  Kinney,  1931-1935 

Student  C.  A.  Phillips,  1900  J.  A.  Linn,  1936-1938 

B.  S.  Brown,  Sr.,  1900-1904  E.  K.  Bodie,  1939-1943 

T.  C.  Parker,  1905-1908  C.  A.  Misenheimer,  1943 
M.  L.  Ridenhour,  1908-1911 


ST.  MARK'S,  ASHEVILLE 

St.  Mark's  Lutheran  Church  is  located  on  the  corner  of  Chestnut 
and  Liberty  Streets  in  the  ctiy  of  Asheville. 

This  church  was  organized  in  the  Y.M.C.A.  auditorium  of  Ashe- 
ville on  July  15,  1923,  with  18  members  by  Rev.  N.  D.  Yount,  then  Western 
Field  Missionary  of  Synod.  The  first  officers  were:  Dr.  M.  L.  Stevens, 
Mr.  L.  E.  Fisher,  and  Mr.  L.  R.  Strieker.  A  Sunday  School  was  organ- 
ized that  same  day,  with  Dr.  L.  M.  Griffith,  superintendent;  and  Mrs. 
M.  L.  Stevens,  Sec.-Treas. 

On  June  1,  1925,  Rev.  E.  R.  Lineberger  became  pastor  and  served 
the  mission  at  Andrews  one  year  along  with  Asheville. 

The  church  lot  was  purchased  September  20,  1928  at  a  cost  of 
$20,250.00  by  the  mission  and  the  Synod  cooperating.  Plans  were  made 
for  a  brick  church  with  full  basement  to  cost  about  $20,000.00.  This, 
together  with  the  balance  due  on  the  lot,  was  made  possible  by  a  gift 
of  $10,000.00  from  the  Synodical  Missionary  Society,  a  loan  of  $10,000.00 
from  the  Board  of  American  Missions,  and  a  $5,000.00  loan  from  the 
Brotherhood  Loan  and  Gift  Fund. 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  313 

Groundbreaking  services  were  held  October  11,  1931,  in  charge 
of  Pastor  Lineberger,  assisted  by  Mrs.  J.  L.  Morgan,  and  construction 
began  on  the  Monday  following.  The  cornerstone  was  laid  on  Easter 
Sunday,  March  27,  1932,  by  President  J.  L.  Morgan,  Pastor  E.  R.  Line- 
berger, and  Rev.  A.  W.  Lippard.  The  church  was  opened  for  services 
May  22,  1932,  by  Pastor  Lineberger  in  charge.  Dr.  Morgan  preached  at 
the  morning  service,  and  Dr.  R.  L.  Patterson  in  the  afternoon.  Rev.  Ray 
R.  Fisher  was  called  January  1,  1937.  Soon  after  he  came  Dr.  and  Mrs. 
M.  L.  Stevens  gave  the  church  a  pipe  organ. 

The  brick  parsonage  by  the  side  of  the  church  was  built  in  1938- 
1939  at  a  cost  of  $6,460.00.  Following  the  resignation  of  Pastor  Fisher 
on  November  1,  1942,  Dr.  John  Hall  supplied  the  church  for  six  months. 
On  March  2,  1943,  Rev.  J.  White  Iddings  was  called  as  pastor. 

The  church  volunteered  to  become  self-supporting  January  1,  1944, 
and  by  October  of  that  year  the  balance  of  the  debt  was  paid  off.  The 
church  was  dedicated  November  4,  194.5,  by  President  Morgan,  assisted 
by  Pastor  Iddings,  Rev.  E.  R.  Lineberger,  who  preached  the  sermon,  and 
Rev.  Ray  R.  Fisher. 

The  church  parsonage  was  cleared  of  debt  in  1947  and  was  dedicated 
July  11,  1948,  at  their  Twenty-fifth  Anniversary  service,  under  Pastor 
B.  L.  Trexler's  leadership. 

A  large  Educational  Building  is  now  under  construction  at  the 
back  of  the  church,  which  will  cost  about  $60,000.00  when  completed. 

List  of  Pastors: 

N.  D.  Yount,  1923-1925  Dr.  John  Hall,  Supply,  1942-1943 

E.  R.  Lineberger,  1925-1936  J.  W.  Iddings,  1943-1949 

R.  R.  Fisher,  1937-1942  B.  L.  Trexler,  1949- 


ST.  MARK'S,  BLOWING  ROCK 

St.  Mark's  Lutheran  Church  is  located  in  Caldwell  County,  about 
three  miles  south  of  Blowing  Rock  at  what  was  formerly  called  Baily's 
Camp. 

There  was  a  small  frame  church  called  Herman's  Chapel,  about 
two  miles  southwest  of  this  place,  where  Lutheran  services  were  held 
several  years  ago,  but  it  was  off  the  main  highway,  and  so  was  not 
kept  up.  Services  were  occasionally  held  in  Blowing  Rock,  by  Rev.  J. 
L.  Deaton. 

In  1918,  Rev.  N.  D.  Yount  accepted  a  call  to  the  Watauga  Parish, 
v/hich  included  this  field.  Services  were  held  from  time  to  time  in 
Uncle  Marcus  Boliek's  home,  just  east  of  the  present  church.  The 
church  was  organized  by  Pastor  Yount  in  1922  and  was  named  St. 
Mark's. 


314  History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

The  lot  for  the  church  was  donated  by  Mr.  Jethro  Boliek.  The 
framing  timber  was  given  by  Uncle  Marcus  Boliek  and  was  processed 
under  the  direction  of  Rev.  H.  W.  Jeffcoat,  then  pastor  there.  /The 
building  is  a  frame  structure,  weatherboarded  with  chestnut  bark.  It 
was  built  in  1926,  under  the  supervision  of  Student  J.  D.  Sheppard,  at 
an  approximate  cost  of  $4,000.00.  The  Women's  Missionary  Society  of 
the  U.L.C.A.  contributed  a  liberal  part  of  the  cash  for  this  building. 
Miss  Cora  Pearl  Jeffcoat,  then  Parish  Helper  of  the  Watauga  Mission, 
organized  and  developed  the  Sunday  School  here  and  rendered  valuable 
services  in  carrying  on  the  work. 

Rev.  J.  A.  Yount  served  here  for  a  number  of  years.  Its  present 
pastor  is  the  Rev.  E.  F.  Troutman.  Up  to  this  time  this  work  has 
been  carried  on  in  connection  with  some  of  the  other  congregations  of 
the  Watauga  Parish. 

List  of  Pastors: 

N.  D.  Yount,  1922-1923  J.  A.  Yount,  1926-1937 

H.  W.  Jeffcoat,  1923-1926  E.  F.  Troutman,  1938- 

Student  J.  D.  Sheppard,  1926 


ST.  MARK'S,  CHARLOTTE 

St.  Mark's  Lutheran  Church  in  Charlotte  is  located  on  416  North 
Tryon  Street. 

This  church  was  organized  in  the  County  Court  House  in  Char- 
lotte, on  Monday,  January  31,  1859,  with  sixteen  members,  by  Rev.  G. 
D.  Bernheim,  D.D.  Dr.  Bernheim  had  gone  to  Charlotte  in  the  interest 
of  North  Carolina  College  at  Mt.  Pleasant,  N.  C,  and,  while  on  that 
mission,  met  a  number  of  influential  Lutherans  living  there,  who  ex- 
pressed a  desire  for  a  Lutheran  Church  in  that  city.  So,  arrangements 
were  made  for  a  Lutheran  service  in  the  First  Presbyterian  church  on 
Sunday,  January  30,  1859.  As  a  result  of  this  service,  a  business  meet- 
ing was  held  on  Monday  evening  in  the  Court  House,  January  31,  1859, 
when  the  church  was  organized  with  sixteen  members.  The  name 
chosen  was  St.  Mark's  Evangelical  Lutheran  Church. 

Their  first  place  of  worship  was  in  a  Methodist  Church  on  the  north- 
west corner  of  College  and  Seventh  Streets,  which  property  was  pur- 
chased by  the  Lutherans  for  $600.00  .  .  .  Their  second  building  was  on 
510  North  Tryon  Street.  This  lot,  with  some  building  lumber,  was 
traded  to  the  Lutheran  congregation  in  exchange  for  the  old  church 
which  they  had  recently  bought. 

A  new  church  was  soon  built  on  the  recently  acquired  lot.  The 
cornerstone  was  laid   July   8,   1870,   by   Rev.   Nathan   Aldrich,   and   by 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  315 

1872  the  building  was  completed,  and  was  formally  opened  and  dedi- 
cated. This  building  is  still  standing,  and  is  now  used  as  an  apartment 
house. 

Soon  after  Rev.  T.  Shannon  Brown  became  pastor,  a  new  location 
was  secured  on  416  North  Tryon  Street,  and  a  churchly  brick  building 
was  erected.  The  cornerstone  was  laid  October  31,  1885,  in  charge  of 
Pastor  T.  S.  Brown.  The  church  was  paid  for  in  about  five  years  and 
was  dedicated  October  31,  1890. 

During  the  pastorate  of  Rev.  J.  Fielding  Crigler,  D.D.,  the  church 
was  enlarged  and  a  three-story  Educational  Building  was  constructed. 
The  cornerstone  of  the  Education  Building  was  laid  March  7,  1920,  by 
Pastor  Crigler,  the  President  of  Synod,  and  Rev.  W.  A.  Lutz.  The  first 
service  held  in  the  new  building  was  in  the  fall  of  1920.  The  main 
church  was  reopened  October  1,  1922.  These  improvements  represent 
a  cost  of  around  $75,000.00. 

At  the  beginning  of  Rev.  W.  B.  Freed's  pastorate,  the  old  parson- 
age, by  the  side  of  the  church,  was  torn  down,  and  a  new  one  secured 
in  a  residential  part  of  the  city;  better  suited  to  the  pastor's  needs. 

While  Dr.  R.  L.  Patterson  was  pastor  of  this  church,  preliminary 
steps  were  taken  which  led  up  to  the  organization  of  Holy  Trinity 
Lutheran  Church  in  that  city.  The  charter  membership  of  St.  Luke's 
Congregation  came  largely  from  St.  Mark's,  while  Dr.  J.  F.  Crigler 
was  pastor. 

List  of  Pastors: 

Alexander  Phillippi,  1859-1860  W.  C.  Schaeffer,  Asst., 

G.  D.  Benheim,  1861-1865  1906-1908 

N.  Aldrich,  1865-1874  R.  L.  Patterson,  1908-1914 

A.  L.  Yount,  Supply,  1874-1876  J.  F.  Crigler,  1915-1948 

E.  A.  Wingard,  1876-1881  G.  D.  Conrad,  Asst.  Pastor, 

T.  H.  Strohecker,  Supply,  1939-1940 

1881-1882  D.  F.  Cooper,  Asst.  Pastor, 

T.  S.  Brown,  1882-1890  1941-1943 

W.  S.  Bowman,  1890-1897  W.  B.  Freed,  1948- 

C.  B.  King,  Supply,  1897-1898  W.  G.  Marz,  Asst.  Pastor,  1952- 
R.  C.  Holland,  1898-1906 


ST.   MARK'S,   CHINA  GROVE 

St.  Mark's  Church  is  located  on  Main  Street  in  China  Grove,  Row- 
an County.  In  October  1887,  three  Lutheran  girls  —  Ethel  Patterson, 
Agnes  Eddleman,  and  Beulah  Thom  —  living  in  China  Grove,  asked 
Mr.  J.  A.  Thorn  to  organize  a  Sunday  School  in  the  old  school  academy 
in  that  place.     This  school  was  continued  until  the  church  was  built. 

St.  Mark's  was  organized  in  the  spring  of  1894  by  Rev.  C.  A. 
Marks,  then  pastor  of  Lutheran  Chapel  Church,  near  China  Grove.  That 
same  year  a  lot  for  a  church  was  given  by  Mr.  I.  Frank  Patterson.    A 


316  History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

frame  building  was  soon  erected  and  was  opened  for  services  July  1, 
1894.  The  church  was  dedicated  on  the  second  Sunday  in  October  1896 
by  Rev.  J.  Q.  Wertz,  pastor,  and  Rev.  C.  B.  Miller.  Transepts  were  added 
to  the  building  in  1897. 

In  1902  the  congregation  called  Rev.  C.  B.  Miller  as  its  first  full- 
time  pastor.  Up  to  this  time  it  had  been  in  a  parish  with  Lutheran 
Chapel  and  Center  Grove.  A  parsonage  was  bought  when  Rev.  W.  B. 
Aull  became  pastor  in  1907. 

Soon  after  Rev.  W.  H.  Riser  became  pastor,  the  congregation  began 
planning  for  a  new  and  larger  church,  and  the  cornerstone  for  the 
new  building  was  laid  April  24,  1917,  by  Pastor  Riser  and  Rev.  C.  A. 
Brown,  president  of  Synod.  The  building  is  a  brick  structure  with  full 
basement  and  cost  about  $30,000.00.  The  church  was  completed  and 
opened  for  services  on  October  28,  1917.  It  was  dedicated  May  16,  1920, 
by  Pastor  C.  P.  Fisher  and  the  President  of  Synod,  during  the  meeting 
of  Synod  in  that  church  that  year. 

Sunday  School  rooms  were  added  in  1929,  and  a  new  parsonage 
built  in  1937,  during  Rev.  C.  R.  Patterson's  pastorate.  Rev.  W.  T.  Nau, 
Ph.D.,  was  pastor  during  the  celebration  of  their  Golden  Jubilee  and 
wrote  a  brief  history  of  the  congregation  for  that  occation.  The  present 
pastor  is  J.  L.  Griffin.  ' 

List  of  Pastors: 

C.  A.  Marks,   1894-1896  C.  P.  Fisher,  1918-1926 

J.  Q.  Wertz,  1896-1902  C.  R.  Patterson,  1926-1938 

C.  B.  Miller,  1902-1907  W.  T.  Nau,  1938-1944 

W.  B.  Aull,  1907-1910  J.  L.  Thornburg,  1945-1949 

W.  H.  Riser,  1911-1917  J.  L.  Griffin,  1950-1953 


ST.  MARK'S,  GROUSE 

St.  Mark's  Church  is  located  in  Gaston  County,  about  two  miles 
south  from  Crouse,  and  about  seven  miles  east  from  Cherryville. 

The  original  location  was  about  a  mile  east  of  the  present  church. 
The  congregation  went  by  the  name  of  "Beaver  Dam",  due  to  the  fact 
that  the  church  was  located  close  to  Beaver  Dam  Creek. 

It  appears  that  work  was  started  here  as  early  as  1791,  which  is 
evidenced  from  Rev.  J.  Gottfried  Arends'  Journal  which  says  he  held 
communion  services  here  in  that  year.  As  he  was  then  living  in  Lin- 
coln County,  it  is  most  likely  he  conducted  sevices  here  off  and  on, 
for  many  years.  In  fact  Beaver  Dam  became  a  part  of  his  parish  in 
course  of  time.  It  is  believed  that  Rev.  Paul  Henkel  also  preached  here 
at  an  early  time  in  his  ministry.  Rev.  David  Henkel  served  this  con- 
gregation regularly  from  1814  to  1830,  along  with  other  congregations. 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 


317 


This  congregation  appears  not  to  have  owned  property  for  the 
first  while,  but  on  March  6,  1819,  a  tract  of  land  was  purchased,  which 
"included  the  meeting  house  and  graveyard",  which  shows  that  meet- 
ings had  been  conducted  here  prior  to  the  purchase  of  this  land.  A 
church  was  soon  erected  on  this  land,  which  was  opened  for  a  com- 
munion service  October  17,  1819.  Then  on  May  10,  1856,  it  was  decided 
to  build  a  new  church  about  a  mile  west  from  the  old  one,  for  which 
land  was  secured.  This  was  a  frame  building  35  x  45  feet  in  dimen- 
sions. This  building  was  completed  and  dedicated  May  8,  1858,  and 
the  name  was  changed  from  Beaver  Dam  to  St.  Mark's.  Rev.  J.  R. 
Peterson  was  pastor  here  during  that  time. 

Then  in  August  1923  a  special  meeting  was  held  by  the  congre- 
gation to  consider  remodeling  the  church,  which  resulted  in  a  decision 
to  build  a  new  brick  veneer  church.  The  cornerstone  for  this  building 
was  laid  October  26,  1924,  under  the  pastoral  leadership  of  Rev.  C.  O. 
Lippard.  However,  Pastor  Lippard  was  called  elsewhere  before  the 
building  was  completed,  and  Rev.  F.  M.  Speagle  succeeded  him. 

This  church  is  in  a  parish  with  St.  Paul's  and  Bethel  of  the  Grouse 
parish.  The  congregation  has  contributed  commendably  to  the  for- 
mation of  new  congregations  in  its  surrounding  communities — at  Kings 
Mountain,  Cherryville,  and  Grouse. 


List  of  Pastors: 


J.  G.  Arends,  1791-1803 
Paul  Henkel,  Supply,  1803- 
Philip  Henkel,  1808-1814 
David  Henkel,  1814-1830 
Adam  Miller,  Jr.,  1835-1840 
J.  R.  Peterson,  1847-1865 
L.  A.  Fox,  Supply,  1866 
A.  J.  Fox,  1868-1872 
M.   L.  Little,  1874-1888 
L.  L.  Lohr,  1890-1893 
J.  J.  George,  1893-1895 
M.  L.  Pence,  1897-1899 


R.   H.   Gline,   1900-1903 

E.  H.   Kohn,  1904-1909 
J.  C.  Dietz,  1909-1914 

O.  W.  Aderholdt,  1915-1920 
G.  O.  Lippard,  1920-1924 

F.  M.  Speagle,  1925-1928 
J.  J.  Bickley,  1928-1932 
H.  P.  Baringer,  1932-1940 
W.  N.  Yount,  1940-1942 
R.  L.  Fisher,  1942-1943 
L.  S.  Miller,  1943- 


ST.    MARK'S    LUTHERAN    CHURCH,    LUMBERTON 

A  survey  of  this  field  was  made  by  Mr.  Ted  Goins,  a  Lenoir 
Rhyne  Gollege  student,  during  the  summer  of  1951,  under  the  direction 
of  the  Board  of  American  Missions.  Worship  services  were  begun  here 
by  Mr.  Goins  on  June  10,  that  year,  which  he  continued  through  August. 
Students  from  the  Southern  Seminary  conducted  Sunday  services  for 
two  months. 

On   November  1,   1951,   Rev.   E.   R.   Lineberger,   Sr.,   was   called  to 
this  field  as  missionary  developer,  under  the  direction  of  the  Synod  and 


318  History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

the  Board  of  American  Missions.  A  church  was  organized  on  June  1, 
1952,  with  fifty  confirmed  members,  under  the  name  of  St.  Mark's 
Lutheran  Church.  Pastor  Lineberger  was  in  charge  of  the  service,  and 
Dr.  F.  L.  Conrad,  President  of  Synod,  preached  the  sermon  for  the  oc- 
casion. The  service  was  held  in  the  chapel  of  the  Stephens  Funeral 
Home,  on  North  Elm  Street. 

A  lot  for  a  church  has  been  purchased  at  a  cost  of  $7,000  which 
is  196  X  210  feet  in  dimensions,  and  with  the  help  of  the  Synod,  the 
Brotherhood,  and  the  Missionary  Society  of  Synod,  plans  are  in  the 
making  for  a  church  building  in  the  near  future. 

List  of  Pastors: 
E.  R.  Lineberger,  1951 


ST.  MARK'S,  MOORESVILLE 

St.  Mark's  Church  in  Mooresville,  Iredell  County,  N.  C,  is  located 
on  Main  Street. 

The  first  service  here,  leading  up  to  an  established  Lutheran 
Church,  was  held  on  Sunday,  December  8,  1907,  by  Rev.  J.  L.  Morgan, 
Synodical  Missionary  of  the  North  Carolina  Synod.  The  service  was 
held  in  the  A.  R.  P.  Church. 

The  congregation  was  organized  on  December  13,  1908,  with  24 
members  by  Missionary  Morgan.  The  officers  elected  were:  S.  F. 
Ludwig  and  J.  M.  Goodman,  Elders;  W.  G.  Goodman  and  W.  P.  Car- 
penter,  Deacons;   and  A.  L.  Starr,  Sec.-Treas. 

At  the  time  the  work  was  begun,  the  pastor  lived  in  High 
Point  where  he  was  directing  the  establishment  of  a  Lutheran  Church. 
On  October  1,  1909,  he  moved  to  Mooresville  and  devoted  his  energies 
to  the  mission  here  and  at  Landis. 

The  church  lot  was  purchased  in  1908,  by  the  help  of  the  Synod, 
for  $800.00.  The  church  is  a  brick  structure  and  was  built  by  day  labor 
at  a  cost  totalling  a  little  more  than  $5,000.00.  The  brick  work  was 
begun  on  Thursday,  April  28,  1910,  and  the  church  was  practically  com- 
pleted in  that  year. 

The  first  service  held  in  the  new  church  was  on  January  29, 
1911.  Pastor  Morgan's  text  was  Psalm  122:1.  A  Sunday  School  was 
organized  on  the  same  day  with  63  members  present.  Dr.  P.  W.  Trout- 
man  was  elected  Superintendent,  and  Mr.  Floyd  Smith  was  chosen 
Sec.-Treas.  The  first  communion  service  held  in  the  church  was  on 
Palm  Sunday,  April  9,  1911.  Pastor  Morgan  closed  his  official  work 
here  May  28,  1911,  and  on  June  19  moved  to  Raleigh  to  open  a  new 
mission  church  in  that  city. 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  319 

St.  Mark's  was  associated  in  a  parish  with  St.  Luke's  at  Bear 
Poplar  for  a  year  or  two,  and  then  with  Trinity,  Landis.  But  on 
January  1,  1921,  this  congregation  called  Rev.  L.  A.  Thomas. 

The  first  parsonage  was  built  at  the  rear  of  the  church.  Then, 
in  1929,  this  building  was  converted  into  Sunday  School  usages, 
and  the  present  brick  parsonage  was  built,  under  the  supervision  of 
Rev.  C.  A.  Phillips,  at  a  cost  of  approximately  $8,000.00. 

Encouraged  by  a  special  gift  from  Mr.  Erastus  Barger,  a  well- 
arranged  Educational  Building  was  constructed  under  the  pastoral  super- 
vision of  Rev.  L.  E.  Blackwelder.  The  cornerstone  was  laid  June  27, 
1948,  in  charge  of  the  pastor,  assisted  by  President  V.  R.  Cromer,  Dr. 
J.  L.  Morgan,  and  Rev.  C.  A.  Phillips. 

A  special  service  was  held  on  November  28,  1948,  celebrating  the 
opening  of  the  new  building  for  services,  and  also  the  Fortieth  Anni- 
versary of  the  Congregation.  This  service  was  in  charge  of  the  pastor, 
Rev.  L.  E.  Blackwelder,  with  a  sermon  by  Dr.  J.  L.  Morgan,  who  spoke 
from  the  text  Deut.  2:7.  The  building  cost  $52,000.00.  Furnishing  of 
the  building  was  completed  after  Rev.  E.  L.  Misenheimer  became  pastor. 

List  of  Pastors: 

J.  L.  Morgan,  1907-1911  C.  A.  Phillips,  1927-1933 

I.  E.  Long,  1911-1916  L.  E.  Blackwelder,  1933-1948 

L.  A.  Thomas,  1917-1922  E.  L.  Misenheimer,  1949-1951 

.  G.  H.  L.  Lingle,  1922-1927  L.  E.  Bouknight,  1952- 


ST.  MARK'S,  ROWAN  CO. 

St.  Mark's  Church  is  located  in  Rowan  County,  about  six  miles 
west  from  Salisbury  on  the  Mooresville  highway.  The  church  was 
first  located  about  a  mile  south  of  the  present  church  where  the  old 
graveyard  is.  The  church  was  organized  in  1879,  with  eighteen  mem- 
bers, by  Rev.  J.  C.  Moser,  while  he  was  pastor  at  Mt.  Moriah. 

The  first  church  was  a  frame  building  30  x  45  feet  which  was 
built  in  1880,  and  was  dedicated  on  the  first  Sunday  in  October  that 
same  year.  In  1923  a  new  location  was  secured  on  the  main  highway, 
and  a  large  brick  church  was  built.  The  cornerstone  of  the  build- 
ing was  laid  on  September  30,  1923,  by  Pastor,  Rev.  J.  S.  Wessinger; 
Rev.  W.  G.  Cobb  and  Rev.  J.  L.  Yost.  The  first  service  held  in  the  new 
church  was  on  Sunday,  at  Thanksgiving  time,  in  1923  with  the  sermon 
by  Pastor  Wessinger.  The  church  was  dedicated  October  11,  1931,  by 
Pastor  Enoch  Hite,   Rev.  J.  S.  Wessinger,  and  the  President  of  Synod. 


320 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 


From  the  time  of  its  organization,  this  congregation  had  been 
in  a  parish  with  Mt.  Moriah,  but  at  the  beginning  of  1935,  Rev.  D.  F. 
Swicegood  became  their  first  fulltime  pastor.  At  the  same  time  a  new 
brick  parsonage  was  built. 

A  parish  building  was  constructed  in  1951  at  a  cost  of  $7,500.00. 


List  of  Pastors: 


J.  C.  Moser,  1879-1880 
Robert  Cline,  1881-1890 
D.  J.  Settlemyre,  1890-1892 
J.  L.  Deaton,  1892-1893 
D.  J.  Settlemyre,  1893-1894 
J.  P.  Miller,  1895-1901 
J.  L.   Deaton,  1901-1903 
D.  I.  Offman,  1903-1912 
C.  H.  Pence,  1912-1914 
J.  S.  Wessinger,  1914-1928 


Enoch  Hite,  1928-1931 
Stu.  O.  G.  Swicegood,  1931 
E.  R.  Trexler,  1931-1934 
Dermont  F.  Swicegood, 

1935-1938 
Wade  D.  Yount,  1938-1940 
W.  B.  Aull,  Supply,  1940 
J.   S.   Wessinger,   1940-1947 
W.  David  Wise,  1948-1950 
J.  A.  Seaboch,  1950- 


ST.  MARTIN'S,  CABARRUS  CO. 

St.  Martin's  Lutheran  Church  is  located  in  Cabarrus  County, 
about  eight  miles  southeast  from  Concord. 

It  is  not  known  when  this  church  was  first  started.  Rev.  A.  N. 
Marcard,  while  pastor  of  St.  John's  Church,  Cabarrus  County,  1797-1800, 
made  repeated  pastoral  visits  to  the  church  at  "Rake  River  (Rocky 
River)"  and  baptized  quite  a  number  of  children  and  then  recorded 
their  names  and  baptismal  records  in  the  St.  John's  Church  Record 
Book.  This  Rake  River  Church  was  undoubtedly  St.  Martin's  as  we 
know  it  now.  The  first  baptism  thus  recorded  by  Pastor  Marcard  "In 
the  church  at  Rake  River"  was  for  Henry  Hegler,  son  of  Philip  Hegler 
and  his  wife,  Magdalene  Hegler,  born  August  24,  1797,  and  baptized 
December  31,  1797.  Other  baptisms  are  recorded,  which  show  that  a 
church  was  located  here  as  far  back  at  1797.  However,  it  appears  that 
the  church  did  not  have  a  regular  pastor  for  a  number  of  years. 

On  November  16,  1819,  one  hundred  and  twenty  acres  of  land  were 
granted  by  Governor  Branch  of  North  Carolina  to  John  H.  Bost  and 
Daniel  Boger,  Trustees  for  St.  Martin's  Lutheran  Church.  (See  Register 
of  Deeds,  Book  44,  page  509.) 

Their  first  church  of  which  we  have  any  record  was  a  log  build- 
ing which  stood  on  the  east  side  of  the  road,  a  little  north  from  the 
present  building.  A  second  frame  church  was  built  after  a  number 
of  years,  which  is  still  in  use  by  the  congregation.  We  do  not  know 
when  it  was  built,  but  it  was  remodeled  in  1938,  under  the  leadership 
of  Rev.  J.  C.  Dietz,  D.D.  A  basement  was  excavated,  a  new  roof  put  on, 
the  entire  building  brick  veneered,  and  the  interior  completely  renewed. 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 


321 


Also  new  pews  and  other  furniture  were  installed.  The  building  and  its 
furnishings  were  dedicated  June  4,  1939,  by  Pastor  Dietz,  Rev.  W.  J. 
Boger,  D.D.,  and  the  President  of  Synod.  This  was  the  home  church  of 
Dr.  Boger. 

A  new  brick  parsonage  was  built  near  the  church  in  1950. 

We  do  not  find  any  records  of  the  first  pastors,  except  Rev. 
David  Henkel  and  Rev.  Adam  Miller  who  visited  the  congregation  on  June 
8,  1821,  and  held  a  communion  service,  when  forty-six  members  com- 
muned. Their  first  regular  pastor  was  Rev.  A.  J.  Fox,  M.D.  The 
present  pastor  is  Rev.  Luther  Sloop. 


List  of  Pastors: 


A.  N.  Marcard,  Supply, 

1797-1800 
David  Henkel  and 
Adam   Miller,   Sr.,   1821 
A.  J.  Fox,  1838-1841 
C.  G.  Reitzel,  1843-1846 
J.  R.  Moser,  1847 
Timothy  Moser,  1848-1887 
Henry  Goodman,  1887 
J.  P.  Price,  1888-1901 
W.  H.  Little,  1901 
J.  F.  Deal,  1902-1905 


H.  L.  Seagle,  1907 

L.  D.  Miller,  1909-1917 

.  D.  L.  Miller,  1919-1921 
E.  K.  Counts,  1922-1925 
H.  W.  Jeffcoat,  1926-1929 

.  James  E.  Walker,  1930-1935 
J.  C.  Dietz,  1936-1942 

.  W.  H.  Dutton,  1943-1947 
J.  S.  Wessinger,  1947-1949 
C.  K.  Rhodes,  Supply,  1950 
Luther  R.  Sloop,  1950- 


ST.  MARTIN'S,  MAIDEN 

St.  Martin's  Church  is  located  in  the  town  of  Maiden,  in  Catawba 
County.  The  church  was  organized  November  26,  1893,  by  Rev.  W.  P. 
Cline,  with  thirty-tw^o  charter  members.  Officers  elected  were:  J.  F. 
Rabb  and  M.  R.  Bost,  Elders;  and  R.  A.  Rudisill  and  L.  E.  Rabb,  Dea- 
cons. At  first,  services  were  held  in  the  old  Schrum  School  House, 
but  later  in  neighboring  churches. 

Work  was  started  on  the  church  building  in  1894  and  was  com- 
pleted in  1895  at  a  cost  of  $7,000.00.  The  church  was  dedicated  in 
1896  by  Pastor  Cline  and  Dr.  R.  A.  Yoder.  A  building  was  purchased 
in  1912  for  a  parsonage,  then  in  1919  a  lot  for  a  parsonage  by  the  side 
of  the  church  was  bought,  and  a  building  erected  at  a  cost  of  $5,000.00. 
Work  was  begun  on  a  new  Educational  Building  in  November,  1925, 
under  Rev.  C.  R.  Patterson's  leadership,  which  was  completed  in 
1926  at  a  cost  of  $7,500.00.  The  main  church  was  remodeled  and  a 
tower  erected  in  1940,  and  in  1943  new  pews  and  chancel  furniture 
were  installed. 

St.  Martin's  congregation  went  on  a  self-sustaining  basis  in 
1947,  under  the  leadership  of  Rev.  J.  E.  Walker. 


322         History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 


List  of  Pastors: 

W.  P.  Cline,  1893-1898  W,  D.  Wise,  1918-1921 

R.  A.  Yoder,  1898-1900,  C.  R.  Patterson,  1922-1926 

1901-1905  .  J.  L.  Norris,  1927-1937 
J.  L.  Cromer,  1900-1901,  A.  W.  Lippard,  1938-1942 

1905-1913  James  E.  Walker,  1942-1951 

F.  M.  Speagle,  1914-1917  .  Corley  Lineberger,  1951- 


ST.  MARTIN'S,  STANLY  COUNTY 

St.  Martin's  Church  is  located  in  Stanly  County,  about  halfway 
between  Albemarle  and  Oakboro.  Records  show  that  Rev.  David  Henkel 
held  services  for  the  "Group  in  Montgomery  County,"  (this  was  Mont- 
gomery County  then)  in  the  year  1822  in  Jacob  Eflrd's  home  and  ad- 
ministered communion  to  thirty  members.  It  is  believed  that  Pastor 
Henkel  organized  the  congregation  at  that  time.  The  name,  St.  Mar- 
tin, was  chosen  in  1828.  The  first  church  was  built  of  logs,  with  a 
balcony  and  a  high  pulpit.  This  building  was  later  removed  and  re- 
constructed for  a  barn  on  Mr.  Arthur  Efird's  farm. 

The  second  church  was  a  frame  building,  erected  about  1860. 
It  had  two  doors  in  the  front,  each  leading  into  an  aisle.  At  first, 
the  pulpit  was  placed  between  the  two  doors,  but  was  later  moved 
to  the  other  end  of  the  building,  and  the  pews  were  reversed. 

Agreeable  to  all  concerned,  St.  Martin's,  in  1902,  was  transferred 
from  the  Tennessee  Synod  to  the  North  Carolina  Synod.  Rev.  H.  M. 
Brown  was  called  as  pastor,  and  in  1908  a  new  brick  church  was  built. 
This  building  was  completed  in  a  short  time  and  was  dedicated  by 
Pastor  Brown  and  others. 

Their  new  Educational  Building  was  constructed  in  1949  while 
Rev.  J.  S.  Wessinger  was  pastor.  Their  first  parsonage  was  located 
about  a  mile  west  from  the  church.  It  was  built  about  1898  while  Rev. 
J.  P.  Price  was  pastor.  It  was  destroyed  by  fire  October  16,  1911,  but 
was  soon  rebuilt.  Then  in  1914  this  building  was  sold  and  a  new 
parsonage  was  built  near  the  church.  This  building  was  completely 
renovated  in  1951. 

List  of  Pastors: 

David    Henkel,    Occasional  Vacant,  1863-1865 

Supply,  1820-1828  D.  S.  Henkel,  1865-1867 

Henry  Goodman  and  Nehemiah  Timothy  Moser,  1867-1888 

Bonham,  Occasional  Supply,  J.  P.  Price,  1888-1900 

1831-1832  W.  H.  Little,  1901 

Nehemiah  Bonham  and  Adam  H.  M.  Brown,  1902-1912 

Miller,  Occasional  Supply,  J.  A.  L.  Miller,  1914-1919 

1832-1838  B.  S.  Brown,  Sr.,  1920-1921 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 


323 


A.   J.    Fox,    1838-1842 
J.  W.  Hull,  1842-1847 
Adam  Efird,  1848-1850 
Daniel  Efird,  1850-1854 
C.  Moretz,  Jr.,  1855 
Timothy  Moser,   1846-1859 
E.  E.  Smyer,  1860-1863 


E.  K.  Counts,  1922-1925 
H.  W.  Jeffcoat,  1926-1929 
James  E.  Walker,  1930-1935 
J.  C.  Dietz,  1936-1942 
W.  H.  Button,  1943-1947 
J.  S.  Wessinger,  1947-1950 
J.  E.  Smith,  1951-1952 
B.  D.  Castor.  1953- 


ST.  MATTHEWS,  CALDWELL  CO. 

St.  Matthews  Church  is  located  five  miles  east  from  Granite  Falls 
in  Caldwell  County.  It  was  organized  September  18,  1911,  at  the  home 
of  Catherine  and  Barbara  Clay,  near  the  present  church  location,  with 
fifteen  members  by  Rev.  A.  L.  Boliek.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  D.  M.  Henkel  gave 
a  deed  for  a  church  lot  at  that  same  time.  For  some  time  services 
were  held  in  the  Sherrill  School  House  near  the  present  church. 

The  church  is  a  frame  structure  and  was  built  in  1912-1913.  It 
was  dedicated  May  11,  1918,  by  Rev.  A.  L.  Boliek;  Dr.  A.  R.  Beck,  who 
preached  the  sermon;  and  Pastor  W.  A.  Deaton.  The  building  has 
recently  been  greatly  improved  and  redecorated. 


List  of  Pastors: 


A.   L.   Boliek,   1911-1916 
W.  A.  Deaton,  1917-1919 
F.  L.  Conrad,  1919-1921 
J.  J.  Bickley,  1922-1925 
P.  C.  Sigmon,  1925-1929 


C.  O.  Lippard,  1930-1932 
R.  M.  Carpenter,  1932-1943 
R.  B.  Sigmon,  1943-1949 
J.  K.  Cobb,  1949-1950 
R.  M.  Carpenter,  Sup.,  1950- 


ST.  MATTHEW'S,  DAVIE  CO. 

St.  Matthew's  Church  is  located  in  Davie  County,  six  miles  south 
of  Mocksville.  The  church  was  organized  in  1839  by  Rev.  Benjamin 
Arey.  The  number  of  members  is  not  given,  but  a  petition  from 
the  church  to  Synod  the  next  year  was  signed  by  forty-three  mem- 
bers.   The  church  was  received  by  Synod  in  1840. 

Their  first  church  was  a  log  building  36  x  50  feet,  which  was 
probably  built  about  1840;  however,  it  was  not  dedicated  until  1882 
by  Rev.  H.  M.  Brown,  pastor.  The  building  was  enlarged  while  Rev.  R.  L. 
Brown  was  pastor.  The  present  building  appears  to  be  a  frame  struc- 
ture, or  else  the  old  building  has  been  weatherboarded  and  ceiled. 


324 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 


List  of  Pastors: 


Benjamin  Arey,   1840-1845 
J.  Crim,  1845-1861 
W.    Kimball,   1861-1866 
W.  R.  Ketchie,  1866-1882 
H.  M.  Brown,  1882-1886 
R.  L.  Brown,  1888-1892 
E.  P.  Parker,  1892-1893 
H.  E.  H.  Sloop,  1894-1896 
W.  Kimball,  1896-1898 
B.  S.  Brown,  Sup.,  1898-1899 
R.  A.  Helms,  1899-1902 
L.  P.  Boland,  1904-1908 


T.  C.  Parker,  1908-1913 

V.  R.  Stickley,  1915-1920 

E.  F,  Troutman,  1926-1929 

C.  F.  Kyles,  1929-1932 

R.  H.  Kepley,  1932-1935 

O.  G.  Swicegood,  1935-1937 

H.  A.  Kistler,  1937-1938 

C.  A.  Misenheimer,   1938-1939 

J.  D.  Stoner,  1939-1944 

L.  R.  Sloop,  1948-1950 

J.  J.  Smith,  1951- 


ST.  MATTHEW'S  CHURCH,  KINGS  MOUNTAIN 

St.  Matthew's  Lutheran  Church  in  Kings  Mountain  is  located 
on  the  corner  of  Piedmont  and  Ridge  Streets.  This  church  was  organ- 
ized in  1876  with  thirteen  charter  members,  by  Rev.  J.  R.  Peterson. 
The  service  was  held  in  a  school  building  on  the  corner  of  Piedmont 
and  King  Streets,  where  the  Jacob  S.  Mauney  Memorial  Library  Building 
now  stands.  Most  of  the  members  came  from  St.  Mark's  Church  in 
Gaston  County. 

During  1878-1879  the  first  unit  of  the  church  plant  was  con- 
structed. The  cornerstone  of  the  building  was  laid  September  7, 
1878,  by  Pastor  Peterson.  The  building  was  completed  in  1879,  and 
was  dedicated  by  Rev.  A.  J.  Fox  and  Rev.  M.  L.  Little.  Services  were 
held  in  a  school  building,  where  the  central  school  is  now  located, 
until   the   church   was   ready   for   occupancy. 

In  1904,  the  congregation  remodeled  the  old  building,  by  con- 
structing a  chancel  and  a  vestry  room,  and  by  adding  Sunday  School 
rooms.  This  was  done  while  the  congregation  was  without  a  regular 
pastor,  however  Student  John  D.  Mauney,  a  son  of  the  congregation, 
supplied  the  church  during  that  time.  The  remodeled  church  was  dedi- 
cated September  3,  1905,  by  Rev.  J.  C.  Moser,  D.D.  In  1906  four  other 
class  rooms  were  added. 

Dr.  C.  K.  Bell  resigned  as  pastor  in  1918,  and  was  succeeded  by 
Dr.  H.  B.  Schaeffer  in  1919.  On  April  4,  1921,  the  cornerstone  was  laid 
for  a  new  Educational  Building,  in  charge  of  Pastor  Schaeffer,  with 
Dr.  R.  B.  Peery  preaching  the  sermon.  This  building  was  completed 
and  opened  for  services  on  November  13,  1921,  with  the  sermon  by 
Dr.  C.  K.  Bell. 

The  remodeled  church  was  rededicated  on  Sunday,  June  10,  1923, 
by  Pastor  Schaeffer  and  Rev.  J.  D.  Mauney,  and  the  new  Educational 


History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C.  325 

Building  was  consecrated  on  the  following  Sunday,  by  Dr.  Schaeffer 
and  the  President  of  Synod,  who  preached  the  sermon.  Other  units 
were  added  to  the  Sunday  School  department  a  few  years  later. 

During  the  services  of  their  Fiftieth  Anniversary  Celebration, 
held  on  June  21,  1925,  four  surviving  charter  members  of  the  congre- 
gation announced  that  provision  had  been  made  in  their  respective 
wills  for  a  combined  bequest  of  $37,000.00  for  a  new  church. 

St.  Luke's  Church,  which  was  organized  in  1895  by  Dr.  L.  A. 
Blkle,  then  pastor  of  St.  Matthew's  Church,  decided  in  1950  to  disband, 
and  many  of  their  members  moved  their  membership  to  St.  Matthew's. 
Then,  in  1951,  a  number  of  St.  Matthew's  members  helped  to  organize 
a  new  church  in  a  suburban  section  of  the  city,  under  the  name  of 
Resurrection  Lutheran  Church. 

About  the  time  the  present  pastor,  Dr.  W.  P.  Gerberding,  came  to 
this  parish,  a  new  brick  parsonage  was  constructed,  in  place  of  the 
old  frame  structure,  and  was  occupied  in  October  of  1951. 

Soon  after  Dr.  Gerberding  became  pastor  of  St.  Matthew's,  the 
congregation  decided  to  build  a  new  $200,000.00  church.  The  last  ser- 
vice in  the  old  building  was  held  October  26,  1952. 

List  of  Pastors: 

J.  R.  Peterson,  1876-1879  A.  M.  Huffman,   1924-1929 

N.  Aldrich,  1880  C.  K.  Derrick,  1930-1935 

W.  P.  Cline,  Supply,  1880-1881  L.  Boyd  Hamm,   1935-1940 

J.  B.  Fox,  1881-1883  H.  G.  Fisher,  1940-1944 

A.   J.    Fox,   1884  W.  H.  Stender,  1945-1950 

L.  A.  Bikle,  1884-1904  Student  Raymond  Bost  and 

C.  K.  Bell,  1905-1918  W.  T.  Nau,  Supply,  1951 

H.  B.  Schaeffer,  1919-1923  W.  P.  Gerberding,  1951- 


ST.  MATTHEW'S,  ROWAN  CO. 

St.  Matthew's  Church  is  located  in  Rowan  County,  ten  miles 
east  from  Salisbury  on  the  Bringle  Ferry  Road.  This  church  was 
organized  on  Sunday,  April  15,  1838,  by  Rev.  Benjamin  Arey,  who  at 
that  time  was  pastor  of  several  churches  in  Davidson  County.  Rev. 
Arey  visited  this  community  and  held  a  communion  service,  when 
thirty-three  communed,  on  March  1,  1838.  Then,  on  March  3rd,  he 
confirmed  a  class  of  twenty-five.  Meanwhile,  twenty  young  people  from 
the  community  attended  catechetical  instruction  for  two  weeks  at 
Organ  Church  by  Rev.  Henry  Graeber,  pastor  of  Organ  congregation 
and  were  afterwards  confirmed  as  members  of  St.  Matthew's   Church. 

We  do  not  have  a  charter  membership  list;  however,  it  is  most 
likely  that  the  congregation  was  at  first  made  up  of  those  listed  at 
the  communion  service  on  March  1  and  the  class  confirmed  on  March  3, 


326  History  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  N.  C. 

together  with  the  group  that  was  catechised  by  Pastor  Graeber.  The 
first  baptismal  record  is  for  Michael  Bame,  son  of  Samuel  and  Anna 
Bame  which  was  administered  in  a  barn  on  April  16,  1838,  by  Rev. 
Mr.  Arey. 

For  several  years  before  a  church  was  built,  the  congregation 
worshiped  at  different  places — sometimes  in  Abram  Hill's  barn,  half 
a  mile  east  of  where  the  church  now  is;  at  other  times  under  a  walnut 
tree  in  Mr.  Hill's  yard,  and  at  other  times  at  Rufty's  mill  near  where 
the  bridge  now  is  on  Second  Creek.  Finally,  on  February  21,  1845, 
John  and  Anna  Wilhelm  sold  to  the  church  three  acres  of  land  for 
$10.00  for  church  purposes;  hence,  the  church  was  for  many  years 
called  Wilhelm's  Church. 

The  first  house  of  worship  built  on  this  lot  was  a  frame  struc- 
ture with  a  gallery  on  three  sides  and  a  high  pulpit  in  the  north 
end.  It  stood  across  the  road  in  what  is  now  a  part  of  the  graveyard. 
This  church  was  dedicated  on  July  27,  1845,  by  Rev.  J.  D.  Scheck, 
Rev.  S.  Rothrock,  D.D.,  and  Rev.  Benjamin  Arey.  Rev.  Joseph  A.  Linn, 
then  pastor  of  this  church,  was  ordained  at  the  same  service.  St. 
Matthews  was  then  in  a  parish  with  St.  Paul's  and  Luther's  Church. 

On  April  12,  1882,  the  cornerstone  was  l